View Full Version : RIP Lawrie Reilly (merged)

Torto7062
22-07-2013, 07:52 AM
A TRUE gent and a bloody legend

rip

22-07-2013, 07:54 AM
Sad day, RIP Lawrie.

Hibby Cam
22-07-2013, 07:55 AM
RIP Legend

22-07-2013, 07:56 AM
Could this be the bad news for Hibs fans that has been alluded to?

I'd say this is just bad news, sad news, to anyone not just Hibs fans as it is always sad to hear this sort of thing. As ever, no matter who it is, thoughts go to his family.

Like most of us I am far too young to know much about LR but from what I have read and heard he was a top, top player, a gentleman and a real Hibs man.

Leishy1995
22-07-2013, 07:59 AM
Legends live forever. Rest in peace

22-07-2013, 07:59 AM
Up In Heaven We'll Be Singing,To The Angels High Above.

Rest In Peace Lawrie.

Legend.

Torto7062
22-07-2013, 08:00 AM
Could this be the bad news for Hibs fans that has been alluded to?

I'd say this is just bad news, sad news, to anyone not just Hibs fans as it is always sad to hear this sort of thing. As ever, no matter who it is, thoughts go to his family.

Like most of us I am far too young to know much about LR but from what I have read and heard he was a top, top player, a gentleman and a real Hibs man.

true words too many claimed as LEGENDS too soon

McPhisto2
22-07-2013, 08:00 AM
Sad, sad day. The ultimate Hibs legend of all the Hibs legends. RIP sir!:boo hoo:

Hibs07p
22-07-2013, 08:02 AM
A TRUE gent and a bloody legend

rip

Very sad news regarding a true Hibs legend. condolences to the Reilly family,
RIP Lawrie.

Deek01
22-07-2013, 08:02 AM
Absolute gentleman when I met him last year, a true legend and massive part of the Hibernian family.

RIP Laurie Riley, all thoughts to his family and close friends.

22-07-2013, 08:03 AM
Sad news, RIP Lawrie.

Leishy1995
The man is a real hibs legend.

HibeeSince85
Sad, sad day. The ultimate Hibs legend of all the Hibs legends. RIP sir!:boo hoo:

A sad day.

R.I.P to a true Hibs legend and on the few occasions I had the pleasure to meet him a lovely man.

22-07-2013, 08:04 AM
*sigh*

22-07-2013, 08:05 AM
Gutted to hear this news, a true hibernian legend.

22-07-2013, 08:05 AM
So sad he never saw us win the cup in the last two years before he was taken.

RIP.

Could Hibs manage any pre-Malmo or Motherwell tribute better than they did for Eddie Turnbull?

22-07-2013, 08:06 AM
One of our greatest ever, very sad news indeed.

A true Hibs legend, RIP Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 08:07 AM
RIP Lawrie.

Hibs class.

MichelleHibs
22-07-2013, 08:08 AM
Very sad news condolences to his family

Rip Lawrie, a real legend

wazoo1875
Very sad news indeed a true gentleman and a real legend of the game. The big man upstairs has some forward line now.
RIP Mr Reilly it was a pleasure to have met you

Sad news. Had the pleasure to meet him in the last few years on a few occasions

22-07-2013, 08:09 AM
RIP Lawrie, hibs legend

BigKev
22-07-2013, 08:09 AM
Rip Lawrie. Very sad news indeed.

He was Hibernian to the core. He will be sadly missed.

22-07-2013, 08:10 AM
Has this been confirmed anywhere? Or is it just a case of someone hearing of bad news and putting 2 and 2 together?

Hibby-Nessie
22-07-2013, 08:12 AM
RIP Lawrie, condolences to family.

22-07-2013, 08:13 AM
Now he WAS a legend.

22-07-2013, 08:15 AM
RIP Lawrie.

A true gentleman and a true Hibs legend.

That's some fitba team in the sky.....

green glory
22-07-2013, 08:17 AM
RIP Lawrie.

THE Hibs legend.

22-07-2013, 08:17 AM
Where on earth did my post go? Very odd.

Anyway, I'd seen a few of these rumours circling on Twitter this morning but wasn't sure of their validity.

If it is true, a proper legend of the game has passed and it's a sad day for all of Scottish Football, as well as Hibs.

aussie_hibee
22-07-2013, 08:18 AM
RIP Lawrie - meeting you was a true privilege.

brian6-2
Rip lawrie.

True hibernian fc legend.

Complete gentleman, will be very sadly missed by all the hibernian family.

hibees59
A true legend. I met him on a few occassions and can confirm that he was a true gentleman, he will be sadly missed.

Liams
22-07-2013, 08:19 AM
True legend

22-07-2013, 08:19 AM
R.I.P Lawrie Reilly. You may be gone but never forgotten.

A true legend!

22-07-2013, 08:20 AM
R.I.P. a true Hibernian legand. Very sad news.

22-07-2013, 08:20 AM
RIP Lawrie, it was a real pleasure talking fitba wi ye.

Gone but never ever forgotten.

Hibernian Legend.

HibeeSince82
22-07-2013, 08:21 AM
Horrible news to hear this morning.

R.I.P Lawrie.

As everyone says was a true gent.

Will be missed by all the hibs family

22-07-2013, 08:23 AM
Legend.

djs69
22-07-2013, 08:24 AM
RIP - true legend

True legend of Hibernian.

Scottish legend as well let's hope the newspapers give him a fitting obituary deserving of someone with his international record.

A legend, using the term in its true sense not what gets passed for legend status recently.

22-07-2013, 08:25 AM
Sad sad news. RIP Lawrie Reilly.

RoscoHibby
Such sad news. Part of Hibs gone today, but never forgotten.

R.I.P

Hibby Gav
A Hibby through and through, the word Legend is to often diluted these days this man is a true Legend...rest in peace Lawrie and thanks from all Hibs fans........................... one of the family has passed..... GGTTH

22-07-2013, 08:26 AM
RIP Lawrie Reilly.

22-07-2013, 08:27 AM
Terrible news. A true legend.

22-07-2013, 08:29 AM
Was a great man to talk to and one of the all time greats for both club and country. Hibernian legend and part of the famous five.

James.
RIP Lawrie Reilly.

Hibernian Legend.

R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly

Hal Jordan
22-07-2013, 08:30 AM
Sad day. Legend. RIP.

ruthven_raiders
22-07-2013, 08:30 AM
Such sad news, RIP Lawrie Reilly, true legend and a great gentleman. Now he can chat to my dad about the good old days when Hibs were truly great 😥

SaudiHibby
22-07-2013, 08:32 AM
Requiescat in pace Lawrie. You were a gentleman and a true Hibby.

grammyb111
Only got to meet the great man a couple of times. His quirky humour made his company all the more pleasurable. A sad day indeed. RIP

Sad day for the Hibs family and football generally, legend in the real sense of the word.

RIP, thoughts are with his family.

22-07-2013, 08:33 AM
Sad to hear , was lucky enough to meet him ,will be sadly missed .

Legend is an understatement .

22-07-2013, 08:33 AM
Lawrie - You embodied everything that this club stands for...Your memories are with us forever. Glory Glory! Hope they "gie you a ba'" up there....

22-07-2013, 08:34 AM
RIP Lawrie. Total gent who always had time for a chat.

22-07-2013, 08:34 AM
Has this been confirmed anywhere on the news ?

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk 2

22-07-2013, 08:35 AM
He spoke for us all when he said he was born a hibs supporter and he'd die a hibs supporter. RIP lawrie, legend.

sadtom
22-07-2013, 08:37 AM
Sad news indeed.
R.I.P. Lawrie. Arguably the greatest of all the Hibernian greats.

DoonTheSlope
22-07-2013, 08:37 AM
Dreadful news.

hibbill2002
22-07-2013, 08:41 AM
RIP Lawrie
Legend

G-Reg
Many stories from my dad telling me just how good he was

Rip Lawrie

absolutely gutted, RIP "last minute reilly"

manx hibee
22-07-2013, 08:42 AM
R.I.P Lawrie. legend and gentleman
condolences to his family

justlikebrazil
22-07-2013, 08:43 AM
Now he was a LEGEND. RIP

22-07-2013, 08:44 AM
Comes as a hell of a shock to me, a gentleman and a Hibernian legend

RIP Lawrie.

portyhibernian
22-07-2013, 08:48 AM
RIP Lawrie Reilly, a true Hibernian and Scottish football legend. Hopefully the club will pay him the tribute he deserves.

22-07-2013, 08:52 AM
Lawrie wasn't one of those Hibs legends who you would only see at ER but also a travelling fan. He scored a hat trick at Wembly IIRC, which on it's own should be enough for Legend status but I'll remember him for being a Hibs gentleman in all ways. Will miss seeing him around. RIP.

scottp1875
22-07-2013, 08:53 AM
Sad news RIP Lawrie Hibs legend

22-07-2013, 08:53 AM
Gutted. A true legend and a gentleman. It'll be an honour that I'll treasure for the rest of my days to have been in his presence a couple of times.

TowerHibs
22-07-2013, 08:54 AM

Just mentioned it to my english anti-football girlfriend who immediately said "Aw, is that gie the baw tae Reilly"

Enjoy ur game up in the clouds - legend

Ell_Chrisso
22-07-2013, 08:56 AM
Rip Mr Lawrie. A true Hibernian great

son of haggart
22-07-2013, 08:57 AM
Really sorry to hear that

Had my first ever pint in the right wing (undercover jambo) in the sawdust on the floor days

My uncle , who passed away a few years back was a great admirer of Reilly, took me to Hibs European games in the 60s and told me all about the famous five, tho it didn't work!

22-07-2013, 09:00 AM
RIP Lawrie Reilly

gegs70
22-07-2013, 09:01 AM
Sad news indeed.

A brilliant local player, kept his feet firmly on the ground. His book was an interesting read well worth it....get along to the Malmo game and give him a cheer then nip to the hibs shop and buy his book!!

Havent seen this on the official sit yet? If true my regards to his family.

jon paul jones
22-07-2013, 09:03 AM
Thank you Lawrie for all that you have achieved in the game and for feeling so strongly about our club, Hibernian.

Its an incredibly sad day for Hibs fans, lets do him proud on Thursday evening, Pat

So sad to hear this, RIP Lawrie you will always be a legend at Easter Road. :not worth

great interview with him on youtube

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1t9hnRRZe08

think the interviewer mentions Lawrie as being 68 at the time of interview so must have been 1996

22-07-2013, 09:09 AM
Gutted, I met him a couple of times doing hospitality at ER. It's a sad day when a legend leaves us. RIP.

22-07-2013, 09:13 AM
A sad day, the hibernian family has lost a true hibernian legend. Thoughts go out to his family and friends on this sad day.

R.I.P Lawrie, thanks for being part of the best forward line hibernian and the country has ever seen! Never forgotten and will forever be remembered as one of the greatest hibs players of all time.

GIE THE BAW TAE REILLY!

Hedlund12
22-07-2013, 09:13 AM
Very sad day for Lawries family.
I spent many a drunken night in Lawries pub in Leith with other Scot Eq employees (over 20 years ago...)
Would someone mind posting a link to the news on this please...I'm still on holiday in Sweden and can't find anything online about this? Thanks

22-07-2013, 09:14 AM

A great story in the Scotsman last year reminded me of how he came from nearer Tynie and during his early years as a pro used to get the No.1 bus to Easter Road.

A true great and we'll never see the likes again.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/interview-lawrie-reilly-retraces-journey-to-leith-1-2670166

Lawrie Reilly retraces journey to Leith

Juice-Terry
22-07-2013, 09:17 AM
Very sad. Commiserations to Lawrie's immediate family and to his extended family: Hibbies throughout the world. Legend.

22-07-2013, 09:18 AM
Very sad day for Lawries family.
I spent many a drunken night in Lawries pub in Leith with other Scot Eq employees (over 20 years ago...)
Would someone mind posting a link to the news on this please...I'm still on holiday in Sweden and can't find anything online about this? Thanks

http://news.stv.tv/east-central/233658-hibs-famous-five-legend-lawrie-reilly-dies-overnight-in-hospital/

Hibs Famous Five legend Lawrie Reilly dies overnight in hospital

Former Hibs player Lawrie Reilly has died overnight in hospital.

He was the last of the Famous Five, the group of players which helped Hibs win three league championships in 1948, 1951 and 1952.

Reilly missed the last Scottish Cup Final because he was in hospital.

On Monday, friends confirmed the 83-year-old died overnight.

Friend Stuart Crowther said: "He passed away overnight. It was very sudden and has come as a bit of a shock.

"His death is a very, very sad loss for the Hibs community. He was a very nice man and I spent a lot of very happy times with him during the times I worked at Hibs.

"He was such a gentleman.

"I would take football and he would take golf – they were the two loves of his life. He was a Hibs man through and through.

"The whole community will be very, very sad this morning."

22-07-2013, 09:20 AM
Lawrie was the only one of the 5 who was a Hibs fan from birth. One of our own.....a sad day.

22-07-2013, 09:21 AM
R.I.P Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 09:22 AM
Lawrie - You embodied everything that this club stands for...Your memories are with us forever. Glory Glory! Hope they "gie you a ba'" up there....

:agree: RIP Mr Hibs. The Famous Five are now back together again.

crewetollhibee
22-07-2013, 09:24 AM
That's the lads reunited now; what a 5-a-side team over the rainbow eh ? RIP Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 09:26 AM
R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly

Hedlund12
22-07-2013, 09:27 AM
Thanks very much for this. Brings a tear to my eye. RIP Lawrie...I have my old drink of vodka,soda and a wee spit of blackcurrant tonight in your memory. A true legend. RIP. XxX

22-07-2013, 09:28 AM
R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly and thoughts with his family.

Pat 0-7
22-07-2013, 09:29 AM
Very sad news.

RIP Lawrie Reilly - true Hibernian legend.

22-07-2013, 09:30 AM
God Bless and keep you Lawrie Reilly. Condolences to the family. He was very much one of our own.

Sweet Left Peg
22-07-2013, 09:32 AM
I never saw him play but he was a very nice man when I met him. Wish I had the pleasure of seeing him play.

Thoughts are with firstly his and also with the Hibs family.

hibernian36
22-07-2013, 09:32 AM
Sad news i had the pleasure of drinking in his pub in the early 90's when i worked down at Leith Links and he was an absolute gentleman. He will be sadly missed by all the Hibernian family "gie the baw tae Reilly" will be sung even louder now r.i.p

Leithal Sauzee
22-07-2013, 09:33 AM
Truly sad news. RIP Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 09:33 AM
Sad sad day indeed.

In a word

LEGEND

RIP Lawrie

22-07-2013, 09:34 AM
Very sad day indeed. Gutted. :(

RIP Lawrie.

Hedlund12
22-07-2013, 09:37 AM
[QUOTE=YehButNoBut;3682555]

Thanks v. Much for this much appreciated.

GreenPJ
22-07-2013, 09:40 AM
Very sad day indeed, the closure of an era and the loss of a true gentleman.

RIP Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 09:42 AM
Rest in Peace. A Legend and a Gentleman.

https://fbcdn-sphotos-b-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-ash3/p480x480/22010_10153049775710051_1395474480_n.jpg

22-07-2013, 09:42 AM
RIP - a true legend for Hibs AND Scotland.

Did Laurie not hold some sort of record for scoring goals vs England at Wembley???

Certainly he had a phenomenal scoring record against them - anyone got any details of that???

Moon unit
22-07-2013, 09:43 AM
Gentleman and Legend!

22-07-2013, 09:43 AM
Gone but never forgotten. You'll be sadly missed Lawrie, a true Hibernian legend of the highest calibre.

22-07-2013, 09:44 AM
Condolences to Mr. Reilly loved ones.

Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.

22-07-2013, 09:45 AM
Sad news :(

RIP Lawrie

Just_Jimmy
22-07-2013, 09:45 AM
As always, he played to the last minute.

Sad sad news.

Rest easy sir. You'll be missed.

22-07-2013, 09:49 AM

Did Laurie not hold some sort of record for scoring goals vs England at Wembley???

Certainly he had a phenomenal scoring record against them - anyone got any details of that???

Reilly is Hibernian's most capped player ever and is fourth in the Scotland national team's top ever goalscorers . He also boasts an international strike rate of 61%, greater than that of Kenny Dalglish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenny_Dalglish), Denis Law (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denis_Law) and Joe Jordan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Jordan_(footballer)), and second only to that of Hughie Gallacher (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hughie_Gallacher) amongst those capped more than 10 times.[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly#cite_note-2010_interview-1) He won a total 38 caps for Scotland, scoring 22 goals.[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly#cite_note-2010_interview-1) Late goals against Northern Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland_national_football_team) and England (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England_national_football_team) in the 1953 British Home Championship (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1953_British_Home_Championship) meant that Reilly earned the nickname of "Last-minute Reilly".[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly#cite_note-4) Reilly also scored 14 goals in as many appearances for the Scottish League XI (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_League_XI).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly

HibbySpurs
22-07-2013, 09:51 AM
RIP Lawrie, sympathies with the family.

A black day for the whole Hibs Family.

A true Hibs legend.

22-07-2013, 09:54 AM
Terrible terrible news Thoughts with the Reilly family and all connected

Never shall we see your like's again RIP Lawrie

happiehibbie
22-07-2013, 09:55 AM
Had the pleasure of sitting next to him last season what a gent he was great stories and a Nod of the head

tartanhibee
22-07-2013, 09:56 AM
R.I.P. Lawrie

A true footballing great.

Taz_hibee
22-07-2013, 09:57 AM
RIP Lawrie,

sympathies with the family

A true Hibs legend

Dav1986
22-07-2013, 09:57 AM

Hibernian legend and truly one of our own!!

Thoughts are with his family!

aarsan
22-07-2013, 10:00 AM
Why still nothing on the official website?

bruno
22-07-2013, 10:01 AM
Yet another from that wonderful era of Scottish and in particular Edinburgh football to pass away

I have heard nothing but good things about this gentleman first, footballer second.

Whenever interviewed showed his love of Hibs, then Scottish football ,and always spoke with dignity and respect for the game and all players from that era

Great respect to him and a sad loss

22-07-2013, 10:03 AM
RIP Lawrie.

Legend.

Thoughts with the family.

Sad day for the Hibs Family.

Dan Sarf
22-07-2013, 10:04 AM
Saw him play many times - and even got his autograph. A wonderful player who never gave up. Condolences to his family and friends.

HibsNZ
22-07-2013, 10:10 AM
Heaven has just made the signing of the summer. God bless Lawrie, one of Hibernian's finest!

Fred Perry
22-07-2013, 10:10 AM
RIP Lawrie - thoughts are with his family at this sad time.

Hibtastic
22-07-2013, 10:12 AM
RIP Lawrie Reilly. Big respect for this man. About to start his book.

Hibee Ryan
22-07-2013, 10:12 AM
RIP Lawrie - A true great and will be missed by everyone at Hibs. You'll always be remembered

22-07-2013, 10:14 AM
RIP Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 10:15 AM
R.i.p Lawrie, as much of a Hibs legend as you get.

Dunderhall
22-07-2013, 10:16 AM
Why still nothing on the official website?

First item on latest news links to this (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130722/lawrie-reilly_2262950_3324417).

gogsy23
22-07-2013, 10:18 AM
Rip old boy

lugz
22-07-2013, 10:20 AM
Absolutely gutted to hear this news.
Legend is thrown about far too easy these days but he is a true hibs legend!!!

RIP Lawrie

22-07-2013, 10:20 AM
So sad at hearing this.

An absolute gentleman of utmost Hibs class.

Rest In Peace Lawrie Reilly - Hibernian Legend.

EskbankHibby
22-07-2013, 10:21 AM
R.I.P. Lawrie, absolute gentleman.

22-07-2013, 10:21 AM
First item on latest news links to this (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130722/lawrie-reilly_2262950_3324417).

That article is a fitting tribute to the man, well done hibs.

22-07-2013, 10:26 AM
Deeply saddened to hear this. Lawrie was THE definitive Hibs man, a true gentleman who loved the club and is immortalised as one of the Famous Five Legends. Our thoughts are with his family and friends.

DarrenSQH
22-07-2013, 10:26 AM
RIP Lawrie

The Leith Dutch
22-07-2013, 10:28 AM
As a footballer and a Hibs man his record speaks for itself and the fact that everyone who met him came away thinking what a gentleman speaks volumes about the kind of man he was.

There's a bit on one of the DVDs and he's kicking a ball around with some kids behind the stadium.
The kids are finding it tough to get the ball off him even though he's in his 70's - fiercely competitive even at that age.

And whoever posted about not being sad it's over but smiling cause it happened :top marks

RIP Mr Reilly sir - Hibs legend.

22-07-2013, 10:33 AM
Sad news indeed.

22-07-2013, 10:35 AM
R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly, the last of the gang to die - a true Hibernian and Scotland legend, and it's not over egging it, given the status of Hibs and Scottish football at the time, to say: one of the world's great strikers and footballing stars.

DAVE1875
22-07-2013, 10:35 AM
R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly and R.I.P. to the Famous Five, together once again

22-07-2013, 10:37 AM
RIP Lawrie. Great article by Hibs there.

TomoHFC
22-07-2013, 10:39 AM
R.I.P Lawrie gone but not forgotten

22-07-2013, 10:41 AM
Condolences to Mr. Reilly loved ones.

Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.

As a footballer and a Hibs man his record speaks for itself and the fact that everyone who met him came away thinking what a gentleman speaks volumes about the kind of man he was.

There's a bit on one of the DVDs and he's kicking a ball around with some kids behind the stadium.
The kids are finding it tough to get the ball off him even though he's in his 70's - fiercely competitive even at that age.

And whoever posted about not being sad it's over but smiling cause it happened :top marks

RIP Mr Reilly sir - Hibs legend.

doddsy
22-07-2013, 10:41 AM
Probably like many others on here, Lawrie Reilly was one of my dad's favorite player's

God bless you Lawrie Reilly.

I was also very pleased to see that hearts fans on jambo kickback have a page with solid good things written about him.

Good on you jambos!

22-07-2013, 10:52 AM
RIP Lawrie, God Bless You, GGTTH

22-07-2013, 10:54 AM
Rip.

Capt Mainwaring
22-07-2013, 11:01 AM
Such sad news. A true gentleman and Hibernian legend

A footballing great for both Hibs and Scotland

Rest in peace Lawrie

22-07-2013, 11:01 AM
That's the last one of my late dad's heroes gone now - sad, sad day, RIP Lawrie - GGTTH

22-07-2013, 11:02 AM
Well there is a dilemma for God. Does he go with 6 up front to include the Baker Boy?

Word in Malmö was that he was extremely ill. Like most of my age I have met Lawrie a few times through Jibs functions and book signings etc. A legend in every sense of the word.

RIP.

Castle Hibs
22-07-2013, 11:02 AM
RIP Lawrie. Wonderful service to the club.

Gerard
22-07-2013, 11:06 AM
RIP Lawrie. Wonderful service to the club.

RIP lawrie Reilly. You will always be remembered as a legend, being part of the 'Famous Five' forward line.
Gerard

Bobo
22-07-2013, 11:07 AM
The last of the Five has finally gone :( each one of them truely "Legends" for their remarkable services to our club, unlike many modern day players who are wrongly given that accolade.

Today's passing of Lawrie Reilly not only sees the loss of a great man but the loss of a massive part of our history, let's hope Lawrie's memory and those of his Famous Five team mates can continue to inspire future Hibs teams to aspire for the greatness they once held.

Hibernian were once truely GREAT, recognised and reveared throughout European football, due in no small part to the abilities of the Famous Five, whos likes we'll sadly never witness again....... Let their memory never be forgotten.

RIP.

cam2644
22-07-2013, 11:08 AM
Legend in the truest sense of the word.

TAHibby
22-07-2013, 11:09 AM
Rest in peace Lawrie.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EBz7Ne5XnQk

BH Hibs
RIP Lawrie

GlenrothesHibee
So so sad. RIP Lawrie. Hibernian great

22-07-2013, 11:10 AM
RIP Mr Reilly...:-(

GoldenEagle
22-07-2013, 11:10 AM
Met Lawrie a few times at Hibs functions and games. A true gentleman, legend and very much the Father of Hibernian.

22-07-2013, 11:14 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23403337

http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/68878000/jpg/_68878846_reillytwo_sns.jpg

CyberSauzee
22-07-2013, 11:20 AM

He did indeed. I'll post something when I get home tonight. Very, very sad day not just for his family and Hibs but also for Scottish football.

22-07-2013, 11:20 AM
Genius on the pitch.
Gentleman of the pitch.
Top guy. Top Hibby.

Rest in Peace Lawrie Reilly.

Bowtow
22-07-2013, 11:22 AM
RIP Lawrie Reilly true Legend and Gentleman

22-07-2013, 11:24 AM
RIP Lawrie, great man, great footballer, great Hibbie.

JOD
22-07-2013, 11:27 AM
GOD BLESS Lawrie sad news but what a great career he had. Luvely to read the tributes on Kickback as well.He had the respect of everyone.A true Hibs/Edinburgh/Scottish legend. RIP.

22-07-2013, 11:31 AM
RIP Lawrie Reilly

Greatest ever Hibby.

22-07-2013, 11:31 AM
Far too young to remember him play but met him once and he was an absolute gentleman, only too willing to chat about Hibs and football.

Had a horrible feeling that this was the news alluded to last night but really wanted to be wrong, sadly not.

Hopefully Hibs do something similar to what we did for Eddie Turnbull to allow fans to pay their respects.

RIP.

22-07-2013, 11:32 AM
Very, very sad day.

Gie the baw tae Reilly.

Wish I could be at the game on Thursday, will be a very emotional evening.

derek0762
22-07-2013, 11:37 AM
I nearly got interviewed by the dude fae the stv news outside the shop when collecting an extra 3 tickets..........how would I have explained that to the boss after he watched the news the night!

onionman
22-07-2013, 11:40 AM
I remember one time at a christmas party (think it was Hibs kids or something) I was there with my mum and we were just taking a wee seat at one of the tables after meeting some players and Lawrie was walking past and took some time to speak to me about Hibs. It was such a small gesture for him but meant a lot to me and showed the type of gentleman he was.

R.I.P

SurferRosa
22-07-2013, 11:40 AM
The last of the five.
R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly.

http://youtu.be/qAezcyyfsck

Engels74
22-07-2013, 11:43 AM
He was the meaning of a true Legend and a gentleman

R.I.P Lawrie Reilly

sad day for the Hibernian family

derek0762
22-07-2013, 11:46 AM
R.I.P Lawrie Reilly, I was not fortunate enough to have seen you playing myself, but you along with the late great Gordon Smith were my late dads Hibs Heroes so that will do for me,

"Forever I'll be singing to the angels high above"

Gie the ba' tae Reilly!

Robinho08
22-07-2013, 11:46 AM
R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly.

22-07-2013, 11:50 AM
RIP Lawrie Reilly.

The legend will live on.

Tom Hart RIP
22-07-2013, 11:52 AM
Very sad to hear the news. I met the great man several times, the last being at Davie Gibson's book signing at the Hibs Club. When Lawrie and Iris came in and sat down, I offered to get them a drink. They both had orange juice, but when I got back, Lawrie tried to give me money, but obviously I told him that it was an honour for me and wouldn't accept it. When they left, they both made a point of coming over to my table to say thanks. He will be sorely missed. RIP Lawrie

A real gentleman........a man who loved Hibs and whose face lit up whenever Hibs (or football) was being discussed. I had the privilege of meeting him more than once and in my earlier days playing footie in the same team as his son (Lawrie). Also quite handy as I recall!

Very few meet the criteria for legend, a label too often used these days too describe ordinary people. Lawrie Reilly was not one of those. His understated humility disguised the greatness of the man, his achievements, his passion and the regard he was held in by not only Hibs supporters but fans across the boundaries - including our City rivals.

I'll miss his quiet irony and mischievious observations on today's "greats". There was no better pin to prick the bubble of pomposity than the Reilly one..........delivered quietly with more than a twinkle of the eye.

A sad day............but the memories are there in abundance to keep this legend alive in the minds of many.

aussie_hibee
I imagine his trip "upstairs" being like this:
Lawrie walks through the pearly gates and God is outside a changing room pacing up and down before seeing Lawrie and rushing him inside where Smith, Johnstone, Turnbull and Ormond are sitting there getting changed. They look up together and smile, welcoming an old friend before saying "hurry up and get changed then, we've got a game to win!" Lawrie smiles, sits down and gets his boots out.

The famous 5, together again.

andudare2
22-07-2013, 11:53 AM
R.I.P MR. REILLY. A TRUE HIBERNIAN!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!:flag::flag::flag:

22-07-2013, 11:55 AM
Great man, will be missed by all who met him.

22-07-2013, 11:58 AM
RIP Sir

Now sadly you are all together again can you once again "gie the ba tae Reilly"

22-07-2013, 12:02 PM
Never seen Mr Reilly play nor indeed ever met him.

However, I was present in the room when my Grandfather(a life long Hibs supporter born in St Mary's St in the Cowgate), received a call from the great man on the occasion of my Grandfather's retirement. To see a man I adored reduced to tears by the call was a special moment and made me realise how special a man this Mr Reilly was.

Condolences to Mr Reilly's family and thank you for the memories.

22-07-2013, 12:08 PM
The greatest from back when Scottish football wasn't a joke, but one of the best leagues in Europe.

A Hibs legend passes on, and I hope this will give extra vim and vigour to the every rendition of "Glory Glory" next season.

bodoglimt
22-07-2013, 12:14 PM
Condolences to the Reilly family.

A great player according to my dad but more importantly a man of integrity and a genuine lover of Hibernian

Gie the baw to Reilly.

PJ IronHIbee
22-07-2013, 12:15 PM
R.i.p

green.and.white
22-07-2013, 12:18 PM
RIP Legend

Sanger
22-07-2013, 12:20 PM
Met him a few times - a man of great dignity and a legend for Hibs and Scotland. RIP>

lugz
22-07-2013, 12:22 PM
Was just in the shop collecting my European tickets and I got chatting to an old man in the queue. He was telling me of stories of when he went to go watch Reilly and the famous 5 and I could see from his face he was genuinely gutted to hear of his passing. It was amazing to hear those stories from someone who got to see genuine legends. Again RIP Lawrie you will be sadly missed.

Fergos
22-07-2013, 12:23 PM
Gone but never forgotten and sadly missed already.

A True Hibernain Legend & Gentleman.

Thoughts and condolences to family and freinds.

RIP Mr Lawrie Reilly.

22-07-2013, 12:23 PM
Saw him outside the main entrance once or twice but never got to speak to him. From all accounts an exceptional player and human being.

RIP Mr Reilly

Condolences to all his family

22-07-2013, 12:27 PM
Very sad news RIP Lawrie Reilly, a true Hibee legend

22-07-2013, 12:48 PM
Rest in Peace Lawrie, and sympathies to his wife, family and others close to him.

A sad day for the club but hopefully an opportunity to celebrate his life and career in the coming days.

22-07-2013, 12:52 PM
RIP Lawrie Reilly, glory glory

LeithBoozy
22-07-2013, 12:52 PM
God bless you Lawrie, gone but never to be forgotten.

HibeeMG
22-07-2013, 01:00 PM
My Dad used to take me into the Bowlers Rest, Lawrie's pub, after he'd finished work.

I was only a small kid but I was already a Hibs fan at that point. I knew Lawrie had played for Hibs but didn't know how much of a legend he was at that time.

He used to come through to the pool room and try to teach me how to play even although I was probably better than him anyway. :)

He always made time to talk to me and I'll never forget the days being in his company, talking about Hibs.

RIP Lawrie

mikethehibee69
22-07-2013, 01:04 PM
one of life's true gentlemen, a legend in the green and white and a true Hibee. RIP Lawrie and thoughts are with your family and friends. Lets give him the send offs of send offs on Thursday night.

hibeenicol
22-07-2013, 01:07 PM
R.I.P Lawrie Reilly

Played a major part in our great clubs history and is the one player I wished I could of witnessed playing both for hibs and scotland.

22-07-2013, 01:12 PM
A Hibs man through and through and one of the greatest ever players to wear the green and white.
He played at a time when Scottish football was as good as any in the world and Hibs were right up there with the best. As he sat in the stand I often wondered what he thought of the present standard of Scottish football yet I dont think he ever had a bad word to say about the club. A true legend.

22-07-2013, 01:21 PM
RIP, still the 4th highest goalscorer for scotland and a true hibs legend. Pity they dont make them like that anymore

Miguel
22-07-2013, 01:22 PM
Met Lawrie a few times, most memorably when he accepted an invitation to present a cup in his name at a primary school football tournament I ran. Did a note about his career for the programme and, researching it, became fully aware of the scale of his achievements both for Hibernian and Scotland. It's become a cliche, but while 'legend' is an overused and, as a result, devalued word, in his case it really is fully merited in its real sense. RIP Lawrie and my condolences to the Reilly family.

telfordhibby
22-07-2013, 01:24 PM
Was told the sad news when I arrived at work this morning....My sister in law cared for him in ward 50 in the Western and she says he was a gentleman and never complained right to the end...Over the years when he was in the Western I took him a few times for scans and xrays and he was always happy to talk about Hibs past and present....
Legends are born...Legends never die....God Bless Lawrie Reilly....

Eaststand
22-07-2013, 01:27 PM
Lawrie Reilly, one of the very best to have played the beautiful game :not worth

Gone but never forgotten

Tha Cabbage Kid
22-07-2013, 01:32 PM
Lawrie Reilly, Hibs Class and now an angel for sure.

all thoughts and wishes to his family!

22-07-2013, 01:38 PM
Tributes on here and social media have been unreal. Just shows you how strong and together the Hibernian family are. Sad day indeed, we have lost one of our own but the famous five are finally reunited and i'm sure will forever watch over Easter Road and put sunshine on Leith.

InterviewLoI
A legend, so sorry to hear of his passing! RIP Mr. Reilly!

Legend for Hibs and Scotland. I was brought up on stories of the Famous Five. The passing of an era. RIP.

22-07-2013, 01:42 PM
Let's celebrate his life and sing all the songs that hail the glory that came through his and others' greatness. He gave his best to make our team one of Scotland's and the world's greats. Condolences and respects to his family, friends and all those he made happy. Long may he live on.:flag:

HappyHibby93
22-07-2013, 02:41 PM
A true Hibs great, and a legend forever. His memory marches on..

RIP Lawrie Reilliy

:flag::flag::flag::flag:

cal-d hibs
22-07-2013, 02:49 PM
RIP Lawrie Reilly, a GREAT Hibernian.

22-07-2013, 02:55 PM
Reilly is Hibernian's most capped player ever and is fourth in the Scotland national team's top ever goalscorers . He also boasts an international strike rate of 61%, greater than that of Kenny Dalglish (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kenny_Dalglish), Denis Law (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Denis_Law) and Joe Jordan (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Joe_Jordan_(footballer)), and second only to that of Hughie Gallacher (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hughie_Gallacher) amongst those capped more than 10 times.[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly#cite_note-2010_interview-1) He won a total 38 caps for Scotland, scoring 22 goals.[1] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly#cite_note-2010_interview-1) Late goals against Northern Ireland (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Northern_Ireland_national_football_team) and England (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/England_national_football_team) in the 1953 British Home Championship (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/1953_British_Home_Championship) meant that Reilly earned the nickname of "Last-minute Reilly".[4] (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly#cite_note-4) Reilly also scored 14 goals in as many appearances for the Scottish League XI (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_League_XI).

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lawrie_Reilly

Thanks for that - but am still curious as to his scoring record vs England at Wembley and sure it was something like 5 in 3 appearances (?!?)

I remember thinking it must be some kind of record or very close to it .

Pure legend - pure gentleman - will be sorely missed - RIP Laurie :not worth

jakeshibs
22-07-2013, 03:00 PM
You have given us so much, on the park and off the park. A real legend who played for the jersey, with pride, passion and flair, you will forever be sorely missed, born a Hibs supporter and died a Hibs Legend. "ge the ba tie reilly"

22-07-2013, 03:10 PM
We have lost a true legend today. You will be sorely missed. "Gie the baw tae Reilly" - RIP Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 03:33 PM
RIP, legend and a gentleman

OxoHibby
22-07-2013, 03:39 PM
Only Just heard this and truly shcked.
Never met the man ot saw him play but heard so much about him that I feel like I know him.

Sad Sad Day - They don't make football people like him anymore.

RIP Lawrie - Legend

kevo1875
22-07-2013, 03:40 PM
In a world where the word legend I feel is used too easily Lawrie Reilly u was a real LEGEND R.I.P

Greendub
22-07-2013, 03:44 PM
Thanks for that - but am still curious as to his scoring record vs England at Wembley and sure it was something like 5 in 3 appearances (?!?)

5 in 5!

Reilly soon became a national hero after playing and scoring in Scotland's famous 3-1 win over the celebrated England team of 1949 at Wembley Stadium.

Thereafter the English national stadium would prove a lucky hunting ground for Reilly and he still holds the Scottish record of having played five and scored five at the famous old ground.

R.I.P Lawrie

GGTTH!!

The Green Machine
22-07-2013, 03:49 PM
Met the great man once or twice and even although he didn't know me from Adam he was chatted away like an old friend. A true gentleman may you Rest in Peace Lawrie. You will be missed by everyone connected to the Hibernian family. TRUE LEGEND!!!

22-07-2013, 03:49 PM

Reilly's Scotland scoring record here

http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/football_player_profile.cfm?page=2492&playerid=113527

22-07-2013, 03:51 PM
R.I.P. a true legend who will live on in Hibernian hearts forever.

blaikie
22-07-2013, 03:54 PM
RIP heard nothing but great things, Really special part of Hibernian History, thoughts are with the family of Lawrie.

Ricky Bobby
22-07-2013, 04:06 PM
RIP Mr Reilly

BoB the Hibby
22-07-2013, 04:07 PM
A true legend RIP Mr Reilly

Condolences to all his family

22-07-2013, 04:08 PM
An absolute legend.

RIP Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 04:20 PM
Sad news today, again I'm too young to have seen the great man play but met him a few times and was always warm and loved his football, and the hibees of course. Although I never saw him play I have always been aware of who he was mostly due to my old mans stories of him and of course when I was really young only knowing the "GEE THE BAW TAE REILLY" part of the song.

RIP Lawrie Reilly your a true legend at this club along with the four others who were taken before you. Lets get ER rocking for this man on Thursday night!!!!!

Stringer
22-07-2013, 04:24 PM
RIP Lawrie, true legend of the club

greengnome
22-07-2013, 04:26 PM
I had the pleasure to meet the great man many years past, a lovely person, and yes, a Legend of the likes that our Hibernian Football Club will probably never see the likes of again.

Thank you Lawrie, for being a true Hibby...And a gentleman!

RIP.

22-07-2013, 04:27 PM
Real shame that I wasn't old enough to see him play. I hope he is resting in peace now and is reunited with his famous five pals up there.

Some lovely comments from Hearts fans over on kickback also. Heartening to see.

oldbiker
22-07-2013, 04:27 PM
Thanks for the stories and part you played in our very proud history

Thoughts with his family

RIP Last Minute Reilly

22-07-2013, 04:31 PM
My grandad used to tell stories of the famous five and Lawrie was his clear favourite.

Rest in peace sir, a true Hibernian legend.

22-07-2013, 04:32 PM
Some nice stories and tributes over on kickback. I know we are rivals and all that, but it's nice to read many hearts fans saying how he was a true legend and how both teams had great players back then. The likes we will never see again if I'm honest.

So I'd just like to say thanks to the fans who have left nice messages to one of our own. Some even saying they would do a minutes applause. We talk about class and have a dig at them, but for me that's true class. So if any are looking in well done lads, it's appreciated. By me anyway.

22-07-2013, 04:33 PM
Real shame that I wasn't old enough to see him play. I hope he is resting in peace now and is reunited with his famous five pals up there.

Some lovely comments from Hearts fans over on kickback also. Heartening to see.

It was the same on kickback after Eddie Turnbull died and on here following the deaths of Jim Cruikshank and John Cumming.

Sometimes it's wise to take a step back and remember there is more important things than football rivalry.

22-07-2013, 04:35 PM
Some nice stories and tributes over on kickback. I know we are rivals and all that, but it's nice to read many hearts fans saying how he was a true legend and how both teams had great players back then. The likes we will never see again if I'm honest.

So I'd just like to say thanks to the fans who have left nice messages to one of our own. Some even saying they would do a minutes applause. We talk about class and have a dig at them, but for me that's true class. So if any are looking in well done lads, it's appreciated. By me anyway.

It is refreshing for their to be a little respect between the two clubs, because most of the time....

22-07-2013, 04:40 PM
It is refreshing for their to be a little respect between the two clubs, because most of the time....

Makes you wonder when it started to get out of hand so to speak. I have many Hearts mates to be honest and all good lads. Most like us just want to watch their team and not go into all the hatred stuff. We all get a bit carried away but if hearts did do a minutes applause then I can safely say I'd respect the club a lot more than I currently do.

22-07-2013, 04:41 PM
He lived the dream. RIP

Greendub
22-07-2013, 04:41 PM
Seen a coupe of jambos on Facebook say they are going to go to the game on Thursday and put footballing differences aside as a show of respect.

22-07-2013, 04:47 PM
The end of an era.
Truly one of the greatest players ever to put on the green and white.
RIP, Lawrie

"...we won't see again, but their memory marches on"

22-07-2013, 04:49 PM
Glad to have met the man in Livingston, a true gent and legend. RIP

squire
22-07-2013, 04:53 PM
Really sad to hear the news this morning. The last of the 5 gone but never forgotten.

Gie the baw tae Reilly. RIP

22-07-2013, 04:54 PM
Makes you wonder when it started to get out of hand so to speak. I have many Hearts mates to be honest and all good lads. Most like us just want to watch their team and not go into all the hatred stuff. We all get a bit carried away but if hearts did do a minutes applause then I can safely say I'd respect the club a lot more than I currently do.

Agree, building bridges never goes amiss. Did football in general started getting out of hand in the 70s(?). I dont remember reading or hearing about too much trouble/hooliganism etc before then. Mercer situation didnt really help though.

22-07-2013, 04:58 PM
Really saddened to hear the news of Lawrie's passing. The 5 back together again - he'll have good company up there.
Sad day for us all. Condolences to Lawrie's family and friends.

RIP Lawrie

22-07-2013, 05:03 PM
Really saddened to hear the news of Lawrie's passing. The 5 back together again - he'll have good company up there.
Sad day for us all. Condolences to Lawrie's family and friends.

RIP Lawrie

Couldn't have put it better myself, really sad news about a genuine club LEGEND. RIP Lawrie, just sad I never had the opportunity to see you and the rest of the Famous Five in your prime

andy1875
22-07-2013, 05:05 PM
R.I.P to a Hibs legend.

My Gran passed away in April and Lawrie was her all time favourite. His autograph was pride of place in her dining room, he made her a very happy woman with that wee gesture. Lawrie also signed for Gordon Smith that day. (SC Final against Celtic in 2001)

This echoes everything people have said already, a total gent and all round good guy.

GlenrothesHibee
22-07-2013, 05:06 PM
Never saw him play or met the man but i grew up listening to the stories from my dad about the famous 5 and thats where my love of Hibs really started. There will have been a few tears shed by fellow Hibbys today. Lawrie Reilly is Hibs personified to me.

Gala Foxes
22-07-2013, 05:07 PM
Amazing ambassador

True Gent

Hibs legend

Thoroughly nice guy who always had time to talk to fans

Sad sad day

22-07-2013, 05:13 PM
At the festival cup at tynecastle for the Gordon smith match i walked onto the pitch with lawrie Reilly at ht. walking onto their pitch alongside Reilly was a moment I will never forget.

Rip lawrie

22-07-2013, 05:13 PM
rest in peace lawrie, sad loss from the hibs family :not worth

22-07-2013, 05:14 PM
R.I.P Lawrie. spoke to him a couple of times at functions at the club. a real gentleman, and just oozed class.

TomTheHibbyBev
22-07-2013, 05:21 PM

Hibernian legend and truly one of our own!!

Thoughts are with his family!

22-07-2013, 05:26 PM
Just been announced on STV news that Club will have a show of respect at Thursdays game

22-07-2013, 05:29 PM
Lawrie epitomised what Hibernian Football Club is all about, on and off the football field.

Full of grace, wit, humour, humility and above all class.

Tell you what, there will be some game of fitba' just kicked off up in heaven tonight with that famous forward line united again.

Rest in peace Lawrie, Ned and the boys will look after you. One of the last true Hibernians.

mrdependable
22-07-2013, 05:29 PM
A true great and a gentleman. My condolences to his family and friends

22-07-2013, 05:31 PM
Too young to have seen him play but heard great things about him from relatives and friends . A great player and a great Hibernian in general . RIP .

McLeod1875
22-07-2013, 05:33 PM
Just been announced on STV news that Club will have a show of respect at Thursdays game

Applause or a silence?
Either way they will both work but IMO it must be an applause to show respect and to also celebrate his achievements at the club and for the country.

rossevenil
22-07-2013, 05:40 PM
RIP Lawrie....A Loyal servant and a Legend!