View Full Version : RIP Lawrie Reilly (merged)

Pages : 1 [2]

22-07-2013, 05:44 PM
Applause or a silence?
Either way they will both work but IMO it must be an applause to show respect and to also celebrate his achievements at the club and for the country.
Both, for me. Mourn his passing and then celebrate his legacy.

22-07-2013, 05:49 PM
minute silence :agree:, with a swedish translator to explain to any swedish fans the reason for it

22-07-2013, 05:53 PM
I think silence is far more respectful....imho applause is to drown out the neandrethals in supports who can't show respect....can't see that happening on this occasion.

Sorry...RIP Laurie

ripvanwinkle
22-07-2013, 05:54 PM
I was lucky enough to see Lawrie play and also spend some time talking to him many years later.
His detailed memory of games he starred in for Hibs and Scotland was amazing.
He had time for everybody and showed a great deal of humility and humour.
Thoughts with his family
RIP the great Lawrie Reilly you will always be remembered.

22-07-2013, 05:55 PM
I think silence is far more respectful....imho applause is to drown out the neandrethals in supports who can't show respect....can't see that happening on this occasion.

Sorry...RIP Laurie

my thoughts exactly :agree:

Green Cabbage 7
22-07-2013, 05:58 PM
RIP Lawrie Reilly, A true legend and inspiration

22-07-2013, 05:58 PM
R.I.P. Lawrie Reilly. The passing of a man and the end of an era.

22-07-2013, 06:02 PM
I'm actually in tears as I type this and I don't normally post on these types of threads. Only met him twice but he was a gentleman on both occasions. I was brought up on the tales of the Famous Five and Lawrie in particular was the faveourite. I named my eldest daughter after him. It feels worse than any of the others as he was the last of the five to go, a sad day for his family and for the wider Hibs family.

RIP Lawrie, a legend for Hibs and Scotland in the true sense of the word.

Both, for me. Mourn his passing and then celebrate his legacy.

Minutes silence then burst into Glory Glory.

RIP you true Hibernian.

22-07-2013, 06:09 PM
My grandad used to talk about Lawrie all the time and he was a part time jambo. Too young to see him myself but a huge part of Hibernian heritage right up to recent times.

RIP Lawrie Reilly.

McLeod1875
22-07-2013, 06:09 PM

Both could definitely work, can't disagree. We all need to give him a proper send off!!

A true Hibs legend.

Galahibby
22-07-2013, 06:10 PM
Don't cry because it's over, smile because it happened.

I love this sentiment. Rest in Peace Lawrie, a proper legend in every respect.

22-07-2013, 06:16 PM
So sad to hear of Lawrie's passing today. As everyone says he was and always will be a true LEGEND and a HIBS man till the end. When you spoke with him his sheer love for the HIBS shone through like a beacon of light. His class and humility is so far removed from today's so called legends.

A one team player who loved his club as both a supporter and a player. His like we wont find again but the memories will linger on for ever.

Like others i was too young to see that forward line play but i too have heard the stories and seen the old black and white films showing them destroying defences galore.

Present day players could do worse than hope they will ever be able to emulate his historic s a true legend and a lovely man with a wicked sense of humor.

So glad to have known him and to have had him as "my pal" i will miss him but treasure his friendship.

RIP Lawrie, God's chosen eleven is now complete.

Thanks for the memories!

GIE THE BAW TAE REILLY!!!

John_the_angus_hibby
22-07-2013, 06:21 PM
Just heard. Sad day. RIP Lawrie. Legend gets used too easily nowadays. A true legend.

22-07-2013, 06:43 PM
A legendary player and an even better person by all accounts. My condolences to his family and friends. RIP Lawrie Reilly.

22-07-2013, 07:06 PM
I felt quite emotional when I heard about this news this morning and I never met him or obviously saw him play. I'm just really sad that we couldn't win the Scottish Cup for him before he passed away.

It really is the end of an era with the news of his passing and with that comes a realisation that we will almost certainly never see his likes again at Easter Road.

Hibs legend
Hibs hero
Hibs class

God bless Lawrie Reilly and may he rest in peace.

22-07-2013, 07:13 PM
Tonight I'll be watching anything I can get my hands on about the Famous Five and raising a dram of fine whisky to the man. When he was such an inspirational man all I want to do is celebrate his life than mourn his death.

'Gie the baw to Reilly!'

22-07-2013, 07:16 PM
RIP Lawrie and thanks for all the memories you gave my dad and many others in the Hibernian family.
Lawrie was Hibs personified.

CyberSauzee
22-07-2013, 07:20 PM
In response to a post from this morning on his goalscoring feats against England:

Lawrie was one of our guests at the London Hibs Burns Night back in 2005. We did a bit of research and got in touch with the SFA about his outstanding record. The SFA provided a few bits and pieces for Lawrie, amongst them was this letter acknowledging just how good he was. Apologies for the quality, I'll try and find a better one this week.

An absolutely outstanding human being in every sense of the word.

22-07-2013, 07:23 PM
Just heard. Very sad news. RIP

22-07-2013, 07:33 PM
Lawrie signed an autograph for my Daughter in 2002 .."To Stacie, best wishes Lawrie Reilly" ..like many on here, I never got to see Lawrie play but just being in his company was a pleasure, a true gentleman who took time to chat to both myself & my Daughter who was 11 at the time ..

Sleep tight legend ..

1875hibee
22-07-2013, 07:34 PM
Rip lawrie Reilly

Hibernian legend
One of our own
Our Thoughts are with his family!

franks
22-07-2013, 07:37 PM
A great man and a great footballer and a man of principal. A true Hibs Legend.

Always a Hi-bee. Gie the baw tae Reilly

22-07-2013, 07:38 PM
Like many others on here, I was fortunate enough to have met Lawrie on a few occasions. He was a true gentleman who always had time to chat to anyone, and it's clear he loved our club as much as anyone ever has or ever will.

He lived the dream we all wanted to, playing for the Hibs. And didn't he make the most of that opportunity.

There's a few goalies up above having a torrid time this evening - rest in peace Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 07:42 PM
R.I.P to an absolute legend! I've seen a few forums today and nobody has a bad word to say about him, even Sevco of Midlothian are signing Lawries praises

22-07-2013, 07:43 PM
The last of the line. We'll never see the likes again. Such great memories. RIP.

22-07-2013, 07:48 PM
Never saw Lawrie play but have spoken to some who did and all we read about him is true. A wonderful footballer and a wonderful man.

I was very lucky to spend time with him in his home a few years back, as we chatted about his career. Much probing was required as typically he wanted to talk about his team mates rather than himself.

You will be sorely missed Lawrie

steviehibsleith
22-07-2013, 07:49 PM
Hibernian Legend. True Gent

killie-hibby
22-07-2013, 07:50 PM
Rest in Peace Lawrie. I consider myself lucky and privileged to have seen you play.

22-07-2013, 07:54 PM
Very sad news. A huge loss for the Hibs family. A legend.

RIP, Lawrie.

22-07-2013, 07:59 PM
Sad news. But at least Lawrie lived most of his life knowing he was one of this club's greatest ever legends and was able to see how much in high esteem Hibs fans held him.

R.I.P Lawrie

22-07-2013, 08:06 PM
RIP Lawrie

Hibernian Great

Total Gent and superb ambassador

Thursday night at some point the chant has to be

Lawrie Reilly he's one of our own

Lets lift the roofs guys

The whole stadium has to join in

22-07-2013, 08:26 PM
just read a few comments on the hearts kickback , and some make very interesting reading, saying how the rivalry back then wasnt hatred as it is now, and edinburgh had the privelege of seeing some great footballers back then, not like the dummies we watch now. still we can never go back , rip lawrie.:flag:

22-07-2013, 08:36 PM
In response to a post from this morning on his goalscoring feats against England:

Lawrie was one of our guests at the London Hibs Burns Night back in 2005. We did a bit of research and got in touch with the SFA about his outstanding record. The SFA provided a few bits and pieces for Lawrie, amongst them was this letter acknowledging just how good he was. Apologies for the quality, I'll try and find a better one this week.

An absolutely outstanding human being in every sense of the word.

What a nice thing to do for him and what a lovely letter. Hibs class.

22-07-2013, 08:40 PM
RIP Lawrie

22-07-2013, 08:50 PM
'Gie the final ba' tae Reilly'
A fine Hibee, a finer player, but above all, the finest of men. He truly was one of our own.
Loved by us and warmly respected by our rivals.
RIP Lawrie

22-07-2013, 08:52 PM
just read a few comments on the hearts kickback , and some make very interesting reading, saying how the rivalry back then wasnt hatred as it is now, and edinburgh had the privelege of seeing some great footballers back then, not like the dummies we watch now. still we can never go back , rip lawrie.:flag:

Never like reading that site but would appreciate a link on this topic. On the rivalry front I'd say there are a number of reasons it's reached the stage it has and amongst the most likely is the advent of messageboards, facebook and twitter

Manxhibs
22-07-2013, 08:54 PM
http://youtu.be/pGrjIG6GPLY

the last 10 seconds of this clip shows how much Lawrie cared about Hibs. He deserves every kind word that is being said about him, he was a TRUE legend!

I would like us a club to take some time to think about the best way to honour him, as he deserves the best. That being said, lets all get down to Easter road on Thursday and cheer the current crop on, as that's what Lawrie would want! (Obviously by singing plenty of songs about him as a tribute to how great he was)

andudare2
22-07-2013, 09:02 PM
Real shame that I wasn't old enough to see him play. I hope he is resting in peace now and is reunited with his famous five pals up there.

Some lovely comments from Hearts fans over on kickback also. Heartening to see..spot on re. hearts fans comments,total respect shown&given. !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

22-07-2013, 09:04 PM

and preferably sung at the right pace....not some of the versions that i've heard lately which appear to be sung like it's a race to get to the end of it :(

kdhibees1
22-07-2013, 09:07 PM
Never like reading that site but would appreciate a link on this topic. On the rivalry front I'd say there are a number of reasons it's reached the stage it has and amongst the most likely is the advent of messageboards, facebook and twitter
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/130618-lawrie-reilly-passes-away/ Very decent comments!!! :agree:

22-07-2013, 09:08 PM

To be fair to them, every comment has been respectful.

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/130618-lawrie-reilly-passes-away/

roondheid
22-07-2013, 09:14 PM
There's one more star in the sky tonight.

RIP Mr Hibernian

jamieross
22-07-2013, 09:33 PM
The best of the best. Not old enough to have ever seen him play

RIP to a REAL legend.

22-07-2013, 09:33 PM

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/130618-lawrie-reilly-passes-away/

Thanks for this

Massive credit to those who posted such warm thoughts and tributes.

BarneyK
22-07-2013, 09:34 PM
An absolute legend. RIP sir!:flag:

NGH
22-07-2013, 09:37 PM
A very sad day indeed.

OsloHibs
22-07-2013, 09:43 PM
Whatta man. Whatta legend. R.I.P

erin-go-bragh87
22-07-2013, 09:54 PM
Gutted. The man epitomised what Hibs are. I would loved to have seen him play. I was lucky enough to have him sign a calendar one year. I even named my dog after him!

"Gie the baw tae Reilly!"

22-07-2013, 10:10 PM
A life-long Hibby and a true legend. RIP.

capitals_finest
22-07-2013, 10:13 PM
I was born well after his playing days but the name Lawrie Reilly became familiar from an early age.

A great player but most importantly a great person and a great Hibs man.

RIP Lawrie Reilly.

22-07-2013, 10:41 PM

Just looked at the tributes to Lawrie from across the road. Have to say well done to all those who've posted in such warm-hearted fashion about Lawrie. Losing one of the game's greats surely brings out the best in real football fans.

7 Up
22-07-2013, 10:55 PM
Nothing to add apart from my own condolences.

RIP Lawrie Reilly.

tbfhibs
22-07-2013, 11:11 PM
RIP Lawrie

Whos-the-poster
23-07-2013, 12:06 AM
Wish I could've been around to see him play in the flesh.

RIP to a PROPER legend

23-07-2013, 12:04 PM
Was never lucky enough to see him play, but I did have the pleasure of shaking his hand before the 2001 Scottish Cup Final. He had the aura of a legend but the demeanour of an absolute gentlemen and was kind and gracious to the dozens of Hibbies that were shaking his hand and speaking to him at the time (must have been hundreds overall that day).

He played a huge part in most of the proudest moments in our history, and we have the perfect opportunity to show our appreciation on Thursday.

RIP Lawrie.

cheltenhamhibee
23-07-2013, 04:15 PM
I can hear the angels singing in heaven high above, the 5 are back together playing for the team that we all love, R.I.P Lawrie Reilly, deepest sympathies and condolences go to all your loved ones

23-07-2013, 04:42 PM
I never read kickback but took time to read that thread - would like to thank all the Hearts fans for the respect they have shown there.

Think its a measure of the man he was and obviously how much he'll be missed.

23-07-2013, 06:56 PM
applause it is then

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130723/minutes-applause-confirmed_2262950_3325526

Minute's Applause Confirmed

Hibernian can confirm the club will mark the passing of all-time great Lawrie Reilly at Thursday's Europa League second qualifying round second leg tie against Malmo FF at Easter Road (25 July, kick off 7.45pm) with a further celebration of his life planned for the Motherwell game

tonyhib7
23-07-2013, 07:03 PM
Sad day for the hibs family but the famous 5 back together RIP Lawrie

...WentToMowAnSPL
23-07-2013, 07:15 PM
I'd also like to thank the respect from hearts fans shown so far ... GGTTH agree with the famous five statue as well

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

Torto7062
23-07-2013, 08:13 PM
I hear ER is nearly a sellout

...WentToMowAnSPL
23-07-2013, 08:19 PM
I hear ER is nearly a sellout

Wish I could make it down for the game

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

24-07-2013, 07:01 AM
As it sinks in the realisation that this is the final passing of those from our greatest era fills me with sadness.

RIP Lawrie. Truly one of our own. God certainly blessed us with sublime talent in those days.

Time For Heroes
24-07-2013, 07:21 AM
RIP Lawrie

24-07-2013, 10:24 AM
The name Lawrie Reilly or indeed the term "The Famous Five" meant absolutely nothing to me some twenty odd years ago. My late father in-law began my education and to listen to some of his stories it very quickly became apparent the importance to him and indeed to Hibs fans of "The Famous Five"

RIP Lawrie :not worth

TheDude
24-07-2013, 11:08 AM
Nice obituary article in today's Guardian;

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/jul/22/lawrie-reilly?CMP=twt_gu

ano hibby
24-07-2013, 11:45 AM
Nice 8 page pullout in tonughts EN on the Famous 5.
The appearances/goalscoring records are incredible:

Smith 636/303
Johnstone 263/142
Reilly 355/238
Turnbull 487/202
Ormond 506/189

Astonishing really. May Lawrie RIP along with the others.
We will never see their likes again.

Feed McGraw
24-07-2013, 12:05 PM
Revered by different generations of Hibs fans, what a player and an absolute gentleman. R.I.P. Lawrie.

Tom Hart RIP
24-07-2013, 12:40 PM
Excellent obituary in Scotsman from Tom Wright. I also liked Guardians but Brian Glanville spelt his name wrong.

steino1875
25-07-2013, 12:32 AM
sad news a legend r.i.p

hibsfan7
25-07-2013, 12:42 AM
Too young to see him in the flesh but the storie i have been told of the famous five are something else
rest in peace lawrie a true legend

Hedlund12
25-07-2013, 04:19 PM
minute silence :agree:, with a swedish translator to explain to any swedish fans the reason for it

I was contacted by a Swedish Fans website today and asked to complete a wee questionnaire on being a Hibs fan and to share my views on the 1st leg game etc..... http://www.svenskafans.com/fotboll/camp-connery-hibs-vi-vinner-med-3-0-483715.aspx This won't mean much to anyone on Hibs.net (as it's in Swedish) but I put a bit in at the end about Lawrie and what he meant to the club. I've also mentioned about there being a minutes applause at the game as a mark of respect to Lawrie and his family.

25-07-2013, 04:45 PM
I was contacted by a Swedish Fans website today and asked to complete a wee questionnaire on being a Hibs fan and to share my views on the 1st leg game etc..... http://www.svenskafans.com/fotboll/camp-connery-hibs-vi-vinner-med-3-0-483715.aspx This won't mean much to anyone on Hibs.net (as it's in Swedish) but I put a bit in at the end about Lawrie and what he meant to the club. I've also mentioned about there being a minutes applause at the game as a mark of respect to Lawrie and his family.

good one D...and good interview(via the translator) :greengrin

Conrad Gray
25-07-2013, 04:46 PM

RIP Mr Reilly - a class act both on and off the park.

Hibby Gav
25-07-2013, 05:00 PM
Flags at Easter Road rightfully at half mast. Hibs Class

25-07-2013, 05:01 PM
Hope we give a fantastic rendition of Glory Glory, he deserves it

25-07-2013, 05:28 PM
Have read this thread and also had a look over at the other sides Forum. Tear to a glass eye and hop Lawrie gets a fantastic send off tonight.

26-07-2013, 11:20 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130726/lawrie-reilly_2262950_3328343

A service in celebration of the life of Lawrie Reilly will be held at 11am on Friday 2 August at St Andrews and St Georges West Church, George Street, Edinburgh.

Ted Brack, Grant Stott and Pat Nevin will pay tribute to Lawrie's life-time of achievements.

At the end of the service, the funeral cortege will travel to Easter Road Stadium where the cortege will travel up the walkway behind the East Stand to inspect the scarves, shirts, flowers and other tributes which have already been received in large numbers from supporters to mark the passing of a club legend.

Until the day of the funeral, tributes to the greatest ever Hibee, Lawrie Reilly are being accepted at the West Stand reception on the railings provided.

The tributes will be placed near the Hall of Fame and memorial stones behind the East Stand next Friday. This would be a suitable gathering point for supporters who wish to pay their respects but prefer not to attend the service.

The cortege will then travel on to Warriston Crematorium for a short service of committal at 1pm.

esdxc37
26-07-2013, 09:54 PM
Sorry have been on holiday with no internet access.
my respects and condolences to Lawrie Reilly's family a gentleman and a tremendous footballer who I have the had the pleasure to watch in the flesh.
A more humble and genuinely nice man you will never meet again.
a loss not only to the Hibs family but also to the whole of British football.

RIP Laurie your like will never be seen again.

David

29-07-2013, 10:07 AM
The last few days should have been about remembering our greatest player, Lawrie Reilly; his outstanding achievements as a player and his life long dedication to the club he loved. He was a shining example to anyone fortunate enough to pull on a Hibs jersey and we should not let last Thursday's disgraceful tribute by the current Hibs team deflect our thoughts (too much).

GreenPJ
29-07-2013, 10:40 AM
The last few days should have been about remembering our greatest player, Lawrie Reilly; his outstanding achievements as a player and his life long dedication to the club he loved. He was a shining example to anyone fortunate enough to pull on a Hibs jersey and we should not let last Thursday's disgraceful tribute by the current Hibs team deflect our thoughts (too much).

Lester B
29-07-2013, 02:41 PM

Agreed. I was on holiday last week when Lawrie died with no internet access. Anyone who met the man, as I was fortunate to on one occasion with my late dad who idolised Lawrie, knows that he was not only a truly great player but a warm, wonderful, charming man. A Hibs man to the soles of his shoes.

Perhaps the greatest Hibbie of them all.

jakeshibs
29-07-2013, 03:01 PM
Agreed. I was on holiday last week when Lawrie died with no internet access. Anyone who met the man, as I was fortunate to on one occasion with my late dad who idolised Lawrie, knows that he was not only a truly great player but a warm, wonderful, charming man. A Hibs man to the soles of his shoes.

Perhaps the greatest Hibbie of them all.

totally agree, fantastic post,

29-07-2013, 04:20 PM

Well said that man.

29-07-2013, 04:23 PM

Long term view, class is permanent

29-07-2013, 04:28 PM
Everyone is welcome, if they so wish, to donate and help with the fundraising for an East Stand Stone, in celebration of the great man. PMs did the same last year for Eddie Turnbull :agree: If you are not a PM, and wish to contribute, please send me a private message :aok: £280 collected so far :thumbsup:

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?269110-Lawrie-Reilly-East-Stand-Stone

Edit: Stone now fully paid for :aok:

29-07-2013, 04:33 PM

Well said.

I'm sure plenty of the Hibs family will turn out at the church and ER on Friday to give him the send off he deserves.

29-07-2013, 07:15 PM
Does anyone know the details of Friday?

Hedlund12
29-07-2013, 07:32 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/lawrie-reilly-funeral-hibs-fans-to-pay-respects-1-3016852 The funeral will take place at St Andrew’s and St George’s West Church in George Street before the hearse carrying Mr Reilly’s coffin drives past the East Stand en route to Warriston Crematorium. The church service and tributes will be held at 11am followed by committal at the crematorium’s Lorimer chapel at 1pm. The cortege is expected to pass the Easter Road stadium at around 12.15pm.

29-07-2013, 08:58 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/lawrie-reilly-funeral-hibs-fans-to-pay-respects-1-3016852 The funeral will take place at St Andrew’s and St George’s West Church in George Street before the hearse carrying Mr Reilly’s coffin drives past the East Stand en route to Warriston Crematorium. The church service and tributes will be held at 11am followed by committal at the crematorium’s Lorimer chapel at 1pm. The cortege is expected to pass the Easter Road stadium at around 12.15pm.

30-07-2013, 12:15 PM

Is that the church that often has book fairs outside it next to Standard Life's old Head Office by St Andrew Square?

Hedlund12
30-07-2013, 01:29 PM
Is that the church that often has book fairs outside it next to Standard Life's old Head Office by St Andrew Square?

Yes that's the one.

30-07-2013, 01:38 PM
Yes that's the one.

Thanks, I'll make a point of being outside.

30-07-2013, 02:04 PM
Agreed. A true hibs legend and true gentleman who will forever be remembered as one of the greatest in this football clubs history.

RIP Lawrie Reilly - Gone but NEVER forgotten

The Godfather
31-07-2013, 07:02 PM
I'm not a moan and I usually always let the little things go. The thing is I follow @HibernianFC on twitter and most of the time they send out insightful information. However, I just received the following tweet,

@HibernianFCClub: TV: A Tribute To Lawrie Reilly is now available to watch on #hiberniantv sign up and subscribe today http://t.co/uYOMzQHWVS

ok I might be being sensitive but his reads like the club (or someone at the club) has not thought his through properly. Using the death of the legend that was Lawrie to entice fans to sign up to the TV channel.

like I said I could be being sensitive, but I not known for being like that but this seems a little insensitive.

The Godfather
31-07-2013, 07:06 PM
After a wee moan to the @hibernianfc account the following reply was sent, well done whoever it was that sent it as they have clearly seen the mistake.

@HibernianFCClub: @lecturerscott Hi Scott, tribute will be aired for free via our Hibernian TV YouTube channel tomorrow morning, thanks, HFC

MassHibsteria
31-07-2013, 07:06 PM
I'm not a moan and I usually always let the little things go. The thing is I follow @HibernianFC on twitter and most of the time they send out insightful information. However, I just received the following tweet,

@HibernianFCClub: TV: A Tribute To Lawrie Reilly is now available to watch on #hiberniantv sign up and subscribe today http://t.co/uYOMzQHWVS

ok I might be being sensitive but his reads like the club (or someone at the club) has not thought his through properly. Using the death of the legend that was Lawrie to entice fans to sign up to the TV channel.

like I said I could be being sensitive, but I not known for being like that but this seems a little insensitive.

I agree, it is a bit crass trying to cash in on the back of the death of a club legend.

Hibs History
02-08-2013, 05:49 AM
The Hibernian Historical Trust present a tribute video to Hibernian and Scotland legend Lawrie Reilly

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/blog/item/164-lawrie-reilly-tribute-video

Lawrie was a true gentleman both on and off the park and will be sadly missed

02-08-2013, 05:56 AM
Thanks for this.

Does he actually say 'born a Hibby' etc rather than 'born a Hibee' as usually quoted?

Juice-Terry
02-08-2013, 07:04 AM
Get yourself down to the East stand around noon today (Friday):

02-08-2013, 07:26 AM
Fantastic tribute

This video should come with a warning :boo hoo:

R.I.P. Lawrie :not worth

hibbybrian
02-08-2013, 08:15 AM

I'm over for my mums funeral .. She was outside the church at Lawries wedding! So I,ll be at ER today for Lawrie :hnet:

Dan Sarf
02-08-2013, 08:27 AM
A beautiful tribute. Thank you to those responsible.

Juice-Terry
02-08-2013, 08:32 AM
I'm over for my mums funeral .. She was outside the church at Lawries wedding! So I,ll be at ER today for Lawrie :hnet:

Sorry to hear about your mum's passing. GGTTH!

02-08-2013, 08:32 AM
Thank you for this.

02-08-2013, 08:33 AM
Beautifully done.

Well done to all involved.

02-08-2013, 08:33 AM
A moving tribute to a great man. RIP Lawrie.

02-08-2013, 08:34 AM
I'd be absolutely stunned if there wasn't a good turnout at ER today.

I'll be heading down on my lunch break.

Juice-Terry
02-08-2013, 08:46 AM
I'd be absolutely stunned if there wasn't a good turnout at ER today.

I'll be heading down on my lunch break.
:agree: :flag:

02-08-2013, 08:46 AM
Absolute MAGIC

Got a tear in ma eye watching that. RIP Lawrie

Hibby Gav
02-08-2013, 08:59 AM
It would have been good if Hibs TV were to video the memorial service and cortege past ER, I cant get of work like many others I guess, but it would have been good to hear and see the tributes paid to our best number 9..........rip

Love the Green
02-08-2013, 09:00 AM

A sad day beckons but a great chance for the Hibs Family to "Keep the Faith" The Pav Hi-bees will be there. . :agree:

02-08-2013, 09:19 AM
Think I'm gonna head down for this with a shirt are we still allowed to place them outside the stand.

JIm
02-08-2013, 09:22 AM
Ill also be heading down for this. Despite never seeing the great man play what he did for our club deserves at least 30 minutes of my time. Very least I can do is pay my respects. RIP

Just_Jimmy
02-08-2013, 09:45 AM
That's top notch.

Makes you well up.

02-08-2013, 09:57 AM
Think I'm gonna head down for this with a shirt are we still allowed to place them outside the stand.

They've moved all the shirts etc to outside the East but sure you'll be able to put one down. There's a few folk outside stand already.

02-08-2013, 10:02 AM
They've moved all the shirts etc to outside the East but sure you'll be able to put one down. There's a few folk outside stand already.

Brilliant thanks for that just heading down now. Lets get as many folk down there to pay their respects to a legend of our club. GTBTR!!!!

Juice-Terry
02-08-2013, 10:42 AM
Bump.

02-08-2013, 11:10 AM
Outside waiting when a kind security bod gave me this...

02-08-2013, 11:12 AM

02-08-2013, 11:13 AM

Credit to you for being there.

'We won't see their like again' indeed.

02-08-2013, 11:17 AM
Are they handing these out??? I haven't seen anyone with the books

02-08-2013, 11:21 AM
Are they handing these out??? I haven't seen anyone with the books

No they were not being handed out I was just in the right place at the right time sorting my 11 month son out.

02-08-2013, 11:39 AM

Didnt feel right to take pics of the mourners but it was a big funeral saw STF, Rod, Jamie Marwick, Brian Houston, Bruce Langham, Carrying coffin Jackie Mac Snr. Also there Murdo and Ian Murray I didn't catch the first team (perhaps left via another exit?) about 50-100 folks over the street by my reckoning

hibeeswph
02-08-2013, 12:09 PM

i also got one off these good crowd in george st seen all you mentioned plus the gaffer mcpake wee mickey tom farmer etc......

Tom Hart RIP
02-08-2013, 12:11 PM
Pat Stanton, Alex Cropley, Kano, Jackie Macnamara carrying coffin.
First team and under 20s there in training gear.
Alan Maybury also with them but in a suit.
Many former players there as well.
Grant Stott very emotional during tribute.

PapillonVert
02-08-2013, 12:18 PM
Pat Stanton, Alex Cropley, Kano, Jackie Macnamara carrying coffin.
First team and under 20s there in training gear.
Alan Maybury also with them but in a suit.
Many former players there as well.
Grant Stott very emotional during tribute.

Well done to all those who managed to go and pay their last respects.

RIP Lawrie. We certainly won't see your like again.

02-08-2013, 12:22 PM
RIP Lawrie, you will never be forgotten :not worth

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BQqSiwRCEAMvsna.jpg:large

02-08-2013, 12:37 PM
Nice service and very well attended. A mark of how well-respected the great man was.

Grant Stott, Pat Nevin and Ted Brack all spoke very well.

God bless Lawrie Reilly.

Juice-Terry
02-08-2013, 12:37 PM

hibeerealist
02-08-2013, 12:51 PM
Can't think of anything that has not been said already!! Although I never saw Lawrie play I met him several times in the hospitality at HFC, what a gentleman. A true legend RIP Lawrie :not worth

norhfc
02-08-2013, 01:23 PM
RIP Lawrie Reilly....last of The Legends

IFONLY
02-08-2013, 01:33 PM
Really wanted to be at E.R. today but couldnt due to work. My thoughts where with him and his family today. God bless. We will never see his likes again.

02-08-2013, 02:23 PM
That's top notch.

Makes you well up.

Just watched again

Brilliant :flag:

Bobo
02-08-2013, 02:40 PM
Very moving and very well put together, a fine tribute to a great man.

Gerard
02-08-2013, 02:52 PM
Thanks

OxoHibby
02-08-2013, 03:36 PM
Great work.

Moving tribute.

If only we had a few like him now.

RIP Lawrie

02-08-2013, 03:43 PM
Class player
Class gentleman
Class video
Thanks

02-08-2013, 04:10 PM
sad day for the hibernian family!

God Bless Lawrie Reilly - a true gentleman and true legend who will never be forgotten at this great football club and will always be remebered as one of the greatest players ever to wear the famous green and white of Hibernian. Thoughts go out to his family and loved ones on this sad day and well done to the hibees who turned out at ER today to say farewell and pay respects to this great great man.

RIP Lawrie - Gone but certainly never forgotten!

02-08-2013, 04:58 PM
I couldn't attend today but I was thinking of him. This tribute is very moving and I don't mind saying it brought me to tears.

A lovely man who will be sorely missed

RIP Lawrie

02-08-2013, 05:13 PM
Thank you for everything, Lawrie, and it's a very sad goodbye. Heroes get remembered, legends never die. :not worth

02-08-2013, 06:39 PM
A very fitting tribute to a genuine Hibernian legend.

02-08-2013, 06:51 PM
A touching tribute that any Hibee will appreciate, football fan even!. :not worth

Also from STV News tonight. Again, touching piece..........

http://player.stv.tv/programmes/news-at-six-edinburgh-east-full/2013-08-02-1800/

Hedlund12
02-08-2013, 08:11 PM
http://news.stv.tv/east-central/234841-funeral-of-former-hibs-player-lawrie-reilly-takes-place-in-edinburgh/ My son was delighted to see his scarf and message for Lawrie on the news today - he was given this by the two guys behind us at the Malmo - Hibs game in Sweden, he wanted to pass it on to Lawie and hopes the people who game him it don't mind! Bless.....

Miguel
03-08-2013, 12:36 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FUsCc0Rw2x0&feature=youtube_gdata_player
A proper tribute to Lawrie, not like the crap 15 seconds on Reporting Scotland, although fair play to Stv.

Tom Hart RIP
03-08-2013, 08:24 AM
Good to see the first team and youth players listening as Ted Brack told of lawrie's record especially his view that we would have been european champions had the tournament started a few years earlier. Also about beating man utd 5-0. If they didn't know before what a great club they have joined then they do now.
Also good to see many former players there. I spotted billy Hunter, Tommy Preston, Pat Stanton, Alex Cropley, Eric Stevenson, John Fraser, Pual Kane, Mickey Weir, Murdoch McLeod, John Brownlie, John Blackley, Tony Higgins and Jimmy Orourke. There were probably more.
Also spotted Alex Miller there. I was never his biggest fan but well done to him for attending. Also Alan Maybury.
Grant Stott was clearly upset and all three speakers did well
I couldn't get down to Easter Road but it looked good on Tv.

03-08-2013, 09:06 AM
is that paul kane one of the pallbearers ? cant quite make the face out

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-23549391

The team will also wear shirts embroidered with his name during the league game with Motherwell this weekend

anyway, RIP Lawrie :(

ano hibby
03-08-2013, 09:51 AM
A proper tribute to Lawrie, not like the crap 15 seconds on Reporting Scotland, although fair play to Stv.

Excellent tribute, thanks for posting, well worth a listen. Quite emotional.

OrdHibby
03-08-2013, 09:56 AM
I've a nice picture of the wee one sitting between Lawrie & Pat Stanton at a book signing at the ocean terminal a couple of years back. Absolute legend and gentleman.

03-08-2013, 10:01 AM
Thanks, Miguel

That is a superb tribute.

Hedlund12
03-08-2013, 10:54 AM

Absolutely brilliant tribute well done on posting this.... I hope it's one they keep on record at ER.

03-08-2013, 11:56 AM

The team will also wear shirts embroidered with his name during the league game with Motherwell this weekend

It was indeed.

ruthven_raiders
03-08-2013, 12:31 PM
Absolutely brilliant tribute well done on posting this.... I hope it's one they keep on record at ER.

World football World Service BBC podcast is always a good listen, very balanced as great news from all around the world and the tribute to Lawrie Reilly was superb.

SonOfDavidFrancey
03-08-2013, 01:07 PM
Was just trawling the English papers for the obituaries. Nothing particularly new though some lovely pictures.

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/obituaries/lawrie-reilly-one-of-scottish-footballs-greatest-centreforwards-8728958.html

http://www.theguardian.com/football/2013/jul/22/lawrie-reilly

http://www.thetimes.co.uk/tto/opinion/obituaries/article3824379.ece

Miguel
03-08-2013, 01:22 PM

This is the best radio and tv obit I have found. BBC World Service.

03-08-2013, 01:22 PM
Love the goalies top. Great pics

03-08-2013, 02:58 PM

Sure Kano runs the former players association so reckon him and Lawrie would have been quite close.