View Full Version : Match Updates Malmo 2 v 0 Hibs

Pages : [1] 2 3

18-07-2013, 04:00 PM
Hibs line-up v Malmo: Williams; Stevenson, McPake, Forster, Hanlon; Handling, Tudur Jones, Taiwo, Thomson, Craig; Vine

Harris on the bench.

18-07-2013, 04:03 PM
Is that a 4-5-1 or a 4-4-2 formation?

18-07-2013, 04:04 PM
SUBS: Murdoch, Harris, Cairney, Robertson, Horribine, Mullen, Caldwell

18-07-2013, 04:04 PM
Is that a 4-5-1 or a 4-4-2 formation?

4-4-1-1. Or something like that?

Not risking Harris got a wee knock

18-07-2013, 04:07 PM
Hibs line-up v Malmo: Williams; Stevenson, McPake, Forster, Hanlon; Handling, Tudur Jones, Taiwo, Thomson, Craig; Vine

Harris on the bench.

That's actually quite worrying.

Not trying to be uber negative but that team consists of a goalkeeper, 3 central defenders, 5 central midfielders and 2 forwards. At least 3 players playing out of position and a forward who has played zero football since last season.

I hope i'm wrong but i worry it could be a long night.

StarMan10
Think it will be a 4-5-1 most likely, room for change if need be though

Not a huge fan of lewis at right back, but we don't really have much else of a choice.

nribs
18-07-2013, 04:09 PM
Trying to work out the back 4 stevenson right back or left back? Forster RB or CH l? Hanlon CB or LB?

18-07-2013, 04:10 PM

Not trying to be uber negative but that team consists of a goalkeeper, 3 central defenders, 5 central midfielders and 2 forwards. At least 3 players playing out of position and a forward who has played zero football since last season.

I would imagine handling will play between the midfield and vine

18-07-2013, 04:12 PM
Maybe lewis is left back hopefully

CapitalHibs
18-07-2013, 04:13 PM
Shambles! Definetly not ready for this:bitchy:

18-07-2013, 04:14 PM
Surprised Harris is out, and formation have no idea, but hopefully we can do it. Mon Hibees. :thumbsup:

18-07-2013, 04:14 PM

I agree sadly - very static and non penetrating full backs, no pace or natural width, very narrow in midfield.

Seems we are setting up to defend and sneak a goal. The positive with the line up however is height and presence at set pieces. Forster, McPake, Hanlon, Jones and Vine are all big laddies - Liam Craig to be the taker.

They have a wee front man who looks absolutely lightening quick - looks very decent player, think he is South African.

If we come away with an away goal in a draw or a one goal defeat it will be a great night's work in my opinion. Malmo look a decent side.

TomoHFC
18-07-2013, 04:17 PM
i take it we'll be playing 4-5-1

18-07-2013, 04:18 PM
I would imagine handling will play between the midfield and vine

Isn't Vine meant to play between the midfield and forward? At least that where he says he likes to play. I don't know how Taiwo can still get in the team when Fenlon has signed so many other midfielders over the last few months. Basically, Fenlon has made six signings yet our defence still looks the same and we now have next to no goal threat up front.

I'm hoping I get contradicted and we end up pulling off a Videoton style away result. It really would be a bloody miracle though.

18-07-2013, 04:21 PM
Surprised Harris is out, and formation have no idea, but hopefully we can do it. Mon Hibees. :thumbsup:
Sure I read somewhere that Harris was nursing a hamstring injury picked up against Raith Rovers ...

DAVE1875
18-07-2013, 04:22 PM
Mullen not 100%?

18-07-2013, 04:23 PM
Isn't Vine meant to play between the midfield and forward? At least that where he says he likes to play. I don't know how Taiwo can still get in the team when Fenlon has signed so many other midfielders over the last few months. Basically, Fenlon has made six signings yet our defence still looks the same and we now have next to no goal threat up front.

I'm hoping I get contradicted and we end up pulling off a Videoton style away result. It really would be a bloody miracle though.

just my opinion, but i think Taiwo was one of our better midfielders the last several games of last season :dunno:

18-07-2013, 04:24 PM
It's a 4-4-1-1

Lewis is at RB with Hanlon at LB

Handling will play in the hole and Vine as the striker to hold the ball up and bring Hanling and Craig into play.

Williams has opted to go in goal.

18-07-2013, 04:24 PM
Not a huge fan of lewis at right back, but we don't really have much else of a choice.

Maybe he's on the left and Forster is RB. I'm not sure why Fenlon bothered to sign Mullen though if he isn't going to play him. If we were going to sign a RB at all, surely it should be someone ready to go straight into the team, especially as Clancy appears to be a right-off injury wise now.

18-07-2013, 04:25 PM
Maybe he's on the left and Forster is RB. I'm not sure why Fenlon bothered to sign Mullen though if he isn't going to play him. If we were going to sign a RB at all, surely it should be someone ready to go straight into the team, especially as Clancy appears to be a right-off injury wise now.

Mullen's carrying a knock.

18-07-2013, 04:26 PM

Don't understand your TT comment but after his performances last season I would find it very hard to leave him out. My opinion mind

18-07-2013, 04:27 PM
Must just be me that looked at that team and thought it wasn't that bad :dunno:

Another Striker like Pat says.

18-07-2013, 04:27 PM
It's a 4-4-1-1

Lewis is at RB with Hanlon at LB

Handling will play in the hole and Vine as the striker to hold the ball up and bring Hanling and Craig into play.

Williams has opted to go in goal.

Yikes. There is at least a lot of experience in the first 11 - hopefully enough to stick to a game plan, keep things tight, and then maybe open up a wee bit in the last 30 mins.

18-07-2013, 04:28 PM

He is nursing an injury :rolleyes:

Eternal Hibbie
Looking at that team injuries aside I get the impression PF fancies his chances here.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Must just be me that looked at that team and thought it wasn't that bad :dunno:

Another Striker like Pat says.
same, I think its decent enough to bring a good score back to ER.

18-07-2013, 04:30 PM

Eh! Read the thread ... Mullen not 100%

18-07-2013, 04:31 PM
Don't understand your TT comment but after his performances last season I would find it very hard to leave him out. My opinion mind
Mine too. [ and I suspect quite a few others as well]

MagicSwirlingShip
18-07-2013, 04:33 PM
Kaman the cabbage - got plenty faith in this team, here's hoping we show up!

18-07-2013, 04:34 PM
just my opinion, but i think Taiwo was one of our better midfielders the last several games of last season :dunno:

:agree: With Claros and Griffiths gone Taiwo is easily the first name on the teamsheet for me.

18-07-2013, 04:34 PM

Definitely.

Taiwo and Forster would have been the 1st names on my team sheet.

18-07-2013, 04:36 PM
Definitely.

Taiwo and Forster would have been the 1st names on my team sheet.

Changed that for you PB.

Forster is hopefully going to get better and better. McPake and Hanlon better watch their backs this season cos if this guy gets a chance in the starting 11 I believe the others ma struggle to get their place back

Stringer
18-07-2013, 04:37 PM

Agreed. Tom would be first on my team sheet. Great at breaking up the play, and was the only one in the final to make attacking runs into the opposition box.

Thomson left mid? I really hope not.

Probably not the night for creativity but if you take Harris out of the team it seems to lose a lot of its attacking edge - quite a bit of pressure on a young guy next season.

Hopefully we manage to get something tonight, but I think it highlights that the team still needs a lot of work before the start of the league season.

Hibeescott
18-07-2013, 04:38 PM
Formation etc looks obvious to me. RB = Stevenson, CB = McPake and Forster, LB = Hanlon............. CM = Thomson, Taiwo and Tudor Jones......AMR = Handling......... AML = Craig.........ST = Vine. Exactly what I thought it would be, other than McGivern injured and Handling for Harris.

18-07-2013, 04:38 PM
Dilemma - to fire up the streaming on the scotrail train when the coverage starts or to wait until KO - mefinks stream-hoggers get kicked off the wifi. Dunno if 3G on the move will handle it... Hmmm

18-07-2013, 04:41 PM
Looking at that line up, the best we can hope for is to bore Malmo to death, dare I say it - Jambo style?

18-07-2013, 04:42 PM
Thomson left mid? I really hope not.

Nope Craig will be wide left, handling on right.

OTJ TT and KT in the middle

18-07-2013, 04:42 PM
810 Medium wave for live radio coverage.

18-07-2013, 04:43 PM
Wonder what size their squad is, set pieces could be our answer if we can get a decent ball into the box.

Leighonel
18-07-2013, 04:48 PM
Does anyone know if Stanton is fit? I thought his technical ability would be useful and at least get him on the bench.

18-07-2013, 04:49 PM
Craig will score - I can feel it in my water, although it may just be dehydration.

18-07-2013, 04:50 PM
Wonder what size their squad is, set pieces could be our answer if we can get a decent ball into the box.

Hope so mate - I have a tidy wee sum on young Jordon bursting the net for a debut Hibs goal tonight. Have a wee feeling we will score from a set piece.

18-07-2013, 04:54 PM
Hiya Hearts fans, what are you creeps up to tonight? Sat in your stained briefs praying the wee team get pumped?

Enjoy yer Eastenders, Emmerdale, yer minus 15 points and your football-head of a white knight shafting you paupers for a tenner a month. Pleasing.

Still, 1v5 Big Team 1902 eh? Bwahaha :faf:

18-07-2013, 04:55 PM
Hibees!

:pfgwa

18-07-2013, 04:55 PM
Can folk with radio/tv update this with how things are going / chances as im stuck with this thread for all the updates. :thumbsup:

Greendub
18-07-2013, 04:58 PM
Mick Cooke out, Fenlon in!

Piqué
18-07-2013, 04:58 PM
Who is Fenlon? Mick Cooke is our manager according to the Malmo stream..

jamiehibee
18-07-2013, 04:59 PM
HIBEES! HIBEES!

18-07-2013, 05:02 PM
gie the baw tae reilly :flag::flag::flag::flag:

BarneyK
18-07-2013, 05:02 PM
Just watching the Twitter feeds and it occurs to me that although Jim Spence is Tweeting from the Saints game, no one seems to be doing the same from Malmo (for the Beeb). Do they actually have someone there?

18-07-2013, 05:04 PM
Just watching the Twitter feeds and it occurs to me that although Jim Spence is Tweeting from the Saints game, no one seems to be doing the same from Malmo (for the Beeb). Do they actually have someone there?

The Hibs game is the live commentary on the BBC so we cant complain too much!

Prawn Sandwich
18-07-2013, 05:04 PM
Also on Sky channel 0116 Radio Scotland

BarneyK
18-07-2013, 05:05 PM
The Hibs game is the live commentary on the BBC so we cant complain too much!

Fair play. Stuck in work so couldnae say.

18-07-2013, 05:05 PM
Malmo fans belting out the Mercer song.

18-07-2013, 05:06 PM
What's with all the negativity

Strongest team possible with the injuries

C'mon the hibs

Glesgahibby
:pfgwa Sounds loud and proud on bbc comentry :thumbsup:

Malmo fans belting out the Mercer song.

TheReg!
18-07-2013, 05:07 PM
I'm at 36000ft on a flight to Belize, keep the updates up fellas :-)

18-07-2013, 05:07 PM
No real chances. About 500 Hibees. Free kick in dangerous area

18-07-2013, 05:08 PM
Jones header over the bar, decent chance that!

Nearly!!!! :flag:

What a chance for tudor jones

Great chance for Jones, should have done better

18-07-2013, 05:09 PM
Commentators suggesting OTJ should have done better there. Set pieces could be a good chance for us with Craigs delivery and the likes of OTJ in the box.

Poor effort over the bar IMO - we won't have many chances we have to make better use of them

Glesgahibby
Mcpake booked

McPake booked

18-07-2013, 05:10 PM
McPake booked .. Free kick Malmo .... Goal from free kick :-(

18-07-2013, 05:10 PM
10 mins gone dearie ****** me :rolleyes: can anyone else spot where our problems lie

18-07-2013, 05:11 PM

Mcpake gets too many booking for that type of foul! Not enough concentration

Hibs caught napping badly at the back - everyone out of position, McPake fouls Swedish guy - excellent free-kick position for Malmö - and an easy goal!! 1-0

Malmo counter attack, McPake brings someone down edge of the area, yellow card.

Goal Malmo, Free kick. 1-0.

FFS McPake gives away a free kick just outside the box and gets booked. Malmo score from the free kick. 1-0 Malmo.

Glesgahibby
Smeg!!freekick after mcpake foul 1 nil malmo

Does anyone know if McPake's been booked?

LeithSqualk
Ffs

marjoriebanks
McPake at fault

Oh well, gonna be a long night. Off for some food now, better be a good result when I check tonight! :grr: c'mon Hibs!

18-07-2013, 05:12 PM

Jesus Christ

Bob Box Fish
Mcpake selling the jerseys ten min into new season same old.

**** sake Hibs this is a joke :rolleyes:

2-0 :rolleyes:

2-0 in 13 mins - getting humped out of Europe 1st game :rolleyes:

Does anyone know if McPake's been booked?

Yellow

Ffs!!!!!

SmallvilleHibee
Jeezo :rolleyes:

Oh well always next year 2-0 Malmo, it's gonna be a long night.

2!

Double ****

Bob Box Fish
Two already what a waste of a tenner.

2-0 - Hibs making usual schoolboy errors!

18-07-2013, 05:13 PM
**** sake

Oh dear .... Defence no better than last year ... **** !!

Game over.

Should have been 1 up and we are now 2 down.

McPake seriously needs to have a word with hikself.

O dear. 90 seconds of madness.

Finger oot hibs. Still 80 mins to go.

marjoriebanks
Hibs at fault

brian6-2
call the cops. rape in sweden. cricket score coming up........

Jesus, Mary and Joseph.

Malmo ripping the complete pish. Horrid defending. Stevenson destroyed at right back.

Jeezo indeed, this isn't going to be good!!

SmallvilleHibee
18-07-2013, 05:14 PM
James McPake is useless! Captaincy should be given to KT

call the cops. rape in sweden. cricket score coming up........

marjoriebanks
Faither at fault

18-07-2013, 05:15 PM
Even if we get beaten 3-1 it isn't a disaster. Only 15 minutes played out of a possible 180.

Glesgahibby
Nightmare,really need to stay in this!!

Dan Sarf
Jesus, Mary and Joseph.

Good idea. What positions would you play them?

Yellow

Pity the ref never done us a favour and sent him off.

erin-go-bragh87
If James mcpake never plays for Hibs again after this it'll be too soon.

brian6-2
stevenson v one of the brightest talents in swedish football, if i ken this why the **** doesnt wee pat?

Two already what a waste of a tenner.

I was just thinking that

18-07-2013, 05:16 PM
We always try our best to do things the hard way lol

Malmo ripping the complete pish. Horrid defending. Stevenson destroyed at right back.

Shock

Shouldn't be on the park at this level

What has happened to Mcpake? From hero to liability in the space of season.

Stevenson shouldn't at RB either, move him to LB and slide the defence along. He's too left footed IMO

Shore up at the back and try and nick a goal. Come on hibs this isn't over!

Oh dear god, folk thinking we will pump hearts etc are in for a real shock. First game or not you don't lose 2 goals in 13 mins ****ing embarrassing.

ffs hibs

What is Stevenson doing at RB ? It's the first game of the season and we've resorted to this ???

We have to dig in and not lose the place but that team are mentally and match fit while our lot look they still have to get their holiday snaps back from the chemists.

18-07-2013, 05:17 PM

Not like us to bottle it big time whenever it matters. Deary me.

This site shall be fun after FT

I like Stevenson but he's no right back, we should have given Maybury another year, at least he's a natural RB

BarneyK
Oh dear god, folk thinking we will pump hearts etc are in for a real shock. First game or not you don't lose 2 goals in 13 mins ****ing embarrassing.

:agree: Yep. Too many chickens getting counted for the derby.

Let's just hope Malmo take the foot off the gas thinking this will be too easy and we can nick a goal. If we can get away with a 2-1 or 3-1 defeat it still gives us a chance....................................wishful thinking I know.

marjoriebanks
Grandfaither at fault:brickwall

Not surprised to see that McPake's going to carry the can for this - some folk have been waiting for the chance to hammer him.

18-07-2013, 05:18 PM
McPake needless foul gives away the first goal. Second goal, defence was all over the place and they took the pish.

Even if it stays 2-0 I still don't fancy that teams chances next week.

Pic of the fans:

If James mcpake never plays for Hibs again after this it'll be too soon.
Behave yersel' jeezo some people cannae half over-react

seanshow
saints 1 up

St Johnstone 1 up at Rosenberg

We're already doing worse than Drogheda.

Meanwhile, St Johnstone have just scored.

HibbySpurs
Even if we get beaten 3-1 it isn't a disaster. Only 15 minutes played out of a possible 180.

I always love your optimism Sergy:top marks...... To compound things St. JOhnstone are a goal up, set up by Spoony FFS.....

18-07-2013, 05:19 PM
St Johnstone 1-0 up, header from a Spoony corner :greengrin

AL-Qaholik
Very fortunate that, after a gruelling 180 minutes against well paid, full-time professional footballers, Malmo are being treated to a nice wee run-out against a team of part-timers!
Oh no, hang on... :brickwall

Full time score will be 3-2 Hibs.

Craig, vine and McPake with the goals. In that order :greengrin

Not surprised to see that McPake's going to carry the can for this - some folk have been waiting for the chance to hammer him.

His performances have given folk the chance time and time again.

just as well the men at the top only see the Europa cup as an extra friendly game :agree:

st.johnstone winning 1-0 good for them :agree:

Stringer
A part time team did better than us, FFS. Mcpake is finished.

jamiehibee
Wotherspoon puts in a corner, Wright scores
Saints 1 nil up

marjoriebanks
The church's stance on contraception at fault:embarrass

St J 1-0 up at Rosenburg. Jealous? Aye

DAVE1875
18-07-2013, 05:20 PM
Hibs in Europe

http://fmacskasy.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/johnstewart_facepalm.gif

1-0 to St Johnstone. Frazer Wright stabs in from David Wotherspoon corner from three yards after 19 minutes.

We have to dig in and not lose the place but that team are mentally and match fit while our lot look they still have to get their holiday snaps back from the chemists.

Do chemists still dae that :greengrin I thought we'd gone all digital nowadays

18-07-2013, 05:21 PM
Spoony assist for Saints goal in the other game. I feared Patwas going to play Lewis at RB after the Raith game. Agree with comments on McPake. looks a bombscare to me and has donr for a long time

Not watching or listening to the game but are we playing bad or is it just a case of, again, we are honking at the back?

no commentary from Hibs tv either :rolleyes: WTF is happening at oor club get it sorted ffs

18-07-2013, 05:22 PM
Not watching or listening to the game but are we playing bad or is it just a case of, again, we are honking at the back?

What's the difference?

SmallvilleHibee
Shock

Shouldn't be on the park at this level

What! You wouldn't have Lewis Stevenson playing at all? He's playing at RB not his preferred position of CM. Have a word :grr:

Hibs 100/1 to win it!!! Malmo 20/1 for 6-0 8/1 for 5-0

marjoriebanks
Eve in the Beechgrove garden with the apple that where this problem started. Not McPake!!!!!!!:flag:

The church's stance on contraception at fault:embarrass

That would be an ecumenical matter.

18-07-2013, 05:23 PM
His performances have given folk the chance time and time again.

He's not played for months but he was still frontrunner for the "get rid off him" award.

brian6-2
18-07-2013, 05:23 PM
I like Stevenson but he's no right back, we should have given Maybury another year, at least he's a natural RB

id rather see jessie j at right back than alan maybury. or lewis stevenson for that matter.

18-07-2013, 05:24 PM
Spoony assist for Saints goal in the other game. I feared Patwas going to play Lewis at RB after the Raith game. Agree with comments on McPake. looks a bombscare to me and has donr for a long time

I honestly don't care what anyone says, McPake is done and will be shown up most games he plays. Lewis RB? WTF!!! Get a grip Fenlon.

anyone got a stream of this?

Glesgahibby
Vine hits the post

Hibdan12
vine hits post!

Vine hits the post!!

We started off ok.

Tudor Jones missed a free header from about 8yards. McPke gave away a daft free kick that they scored from, defence was all over the shop and they hit us with a sucker punch a minute later. Since then Malmo hav been ripping the pish and we can't get near the ball.

hibs4thecup1988
Off the post ohhhhhhhh

So so close.

Barsteward.

TC, a blind man and his dog saw Hibs needed pace up top and at the back - even at my age I fancy skinning Lewis or Paul. As I said pre match, very flat, non penetrating back four and super narrow midfield.

Long night and I predict a drubbing. Could have done with Pat signing a winger or two and a pacey midfielder - don't think it's in Pat's mindset to get in searing pace however.

18-07-2013, 05:25 PM
To be fair, it was a good freekick. Although McPake shouldn't have gave the foul away.

Second goal was woeful defending. Malmo ran at us and we shat it.

Vine unlucky there hits the inside of the post, we do need to score now. C'mon Hibees :flag:

Hibdan12
two chances for both sides only difference they scored theirs

That was nearly a cracking goal! Great shot by vine!

id rather see jessie j at right back than alan maybury. or lewis stevenson for that matter.

Is Mullen ineligible? And I'm not a fan of the 460 formation either.

marjoriebanks
Hard lines Vine so near

hibs4thecup1988
18-07-2013, 05:26 PM
I honestly don't care what anyone says, McPake is done and will be shown up most games he plays. Lewis RB? WTF!!! Get a grip Fenlon.

I would agree. McPake should be on the bench now. Forster and Hanlon centre halves for me.

As for Lewis I agree with you. I like Lewis but it should be midfield or left back especially against a good european winger!!

And if people think thats making these guys scape goats so be it.

Cannot understand Stevenson at RB, otherwise I thought it looked a pretty strong line up. Clearly, we have learned nothing about defending though.

Just went to kitchen for a fag and missed vine hitting the post defo waste of a tenner

hibs4thecup1988
Is Mullen ineligible? And I'm not a fan of the 460 formation either.

Hope not - he is on the bench!

We look terrified every time they run at us.

McPhisto2
anyone got a stream of this?

Been looking, can't find anything mate.

18-07-2013, 05:27 PM
So now that Vine's it the post is the general level of bed wetting going to lower?

Hope this does not end up 5-1 :-( c'mon Hibs

seanshow
looks like the stream is a bit behind live as people are posting here behind time...glad i saved a tenner :greengrin

Hibs 100/1 to win it!!! Malmo 20/1 for 6-0 8/1 for 5-0

Stuck a fiver on Hibs at those odds!

And then Vine hits the post!

Greendub
Some nice passing there, just missing match sharpness, hopefully that's us getting In to the game now :greengrin

18-07-2013, 05:28 PM
We look terrified every time they run at us.

Just like last season then !!!

marjoriebanks
Apart from the goals - which are fairly important - the team has looked reasonable some decent passing and Vine is certainly getting on the ball. C'mon Hibs

hibee19

Some folk don't actually give a **** who plays given that they do well for Hibs. Its been over a year since McPake did anything for us.

sixtwo
They are a decent team ahead of us in match sharpness
But fenlon is well out of his depth IMO .
This performance shows a lack of motivation, lack of fitness and worst of all a lack of understanding of our opposition. I feel sorry for the fans that made the trip.

18-07-2013, 05:29 PM

He's got a cheek bitching about supporters, he's ****ed. Bombscare. I rate Stevenson and would always accommodate him in the side but he ain't a right back in a million years.

18-07-2013, 05:29 PM
I would agree. McPake should be on the bench now. Forster and Hanlon centre halves for me.

As for Lewis I agree with you. I like Lewis but it should be midfield or left back especially against a good european winger!!

And if people think thats making these guys scape goats so be it.

Exactly. McPake defo bench, as for Lewis I rate him but not playing there in such a big game for us.

Purehibee_MYB
18-07-2013, 05:30 PM
This performance shows a lack of motivation, lack of fitness and worst of all a lack of understanding of our opposition. I feel sorry for the fans that made the trip.

We're half an hour in.. Calm down!

Good save by Williams.

marjoriebanks
Well saved Big Ben

He's got a cheek bitching about supporters, he's ****ed. Bombscare. I rate Stevenson and would always accommodate him in the side but he ain't a right back in a million years.

Spot in Sean. Agree with Lewis. I like him he's was solid last year but talk about ****ing him up by playing RB?!!!

Stringer
18-07-2013, 05:31 PM

He does all this research on the opposition then plays the same team and deploys the same tactics, don't get it.

18-07-2013, 05:31 PM

He can only play what he has available ...

18-07-2013, 05:32 PM
Nice wee bit of football again but very little options up top so ends with a nothing cross thats easy for the keeper.

18-07-2013, 05:32 PM
Radio link anyone :thumbsup:

18-07-2013, 05:33 PM
Been looking, can't find anything mate.

yeh, checked all the usual sites, seems to be the only game not streamed.

Stringer

st J are beating Rosenburg, their best player is probably spoony.

What! You wouldn't have Lewis Stevenson playing at all? He's playing at RB not his preferred position of CM. Have a word :grr:

He's always said LB is his preferred position. I wouldn't blame him either for playing poorly elsewhere - it's the managers fault if we don't have a good enough squad.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/21267690

hibee19
18-07-2013, 05:34 PM

He's had 4 transfer windows to be fair

18-07-2013, 05:34 PM
Holding at an attacking corner. Jesus. :rolleyes:

18-07-2013, 05:35 PM
Corner hibs, decent build up play

cwilliamson85
Anyone got a radio link that works on iPhone/ipad?

Cannot understand Stevenson at RB, otherwise I thought it looked a pretty strong line up. Clearly, we have learned nothing about defending though.

Again, surely the responsibility rests at manager's door by now. A couple of Scottish international defenders have joined smaller teams than us in the last week. Fenlon's probably still trying to sign more midfielders.

On a positive note Vine has looked a good hold up type so far.

Corner Hibs.

Mcpake looks like he's not gotten any better since last season. We'll continue to ship goals galore with him in the team. Dosent help that we've played Stevenson at RB, surely made sense to stick Forster at RB and Lewis at LB.

Hero76

He the most experienced Manager in Europe we've had for a long time

hibs4thecup1988
18-07-2013, 05:36 PM

No disrespect but thats a load of cack!

Of course they are ahead of us in fitness and everything. God sake they are half way through their league, they are riding high, just won 4-0, Sweden are a good country. We haven't played a competitive game, full of youngsters with a bit of experience, lost our last competitive game 3-0, Scotland are a s**t country.

Fenlon could have sat and watched them for hours and days and weeks we would have toiled with this game today.

Give it a break

marjoriebanks
He can only play what he has available within a budget that has ensured that we do not suffer the same fate of several other clubs. Patience is required.

He the most experienced Manager in Europe we've had for a long timeAny diddy can take an Irish team to Europe.

18-07-2013, 05:37 PM
Craig & Handling swapped sides

Malmo don't look comfortable defending set pieces, that's a couple they have looked a bit dodgy at. There could well be a goal in this for us, just need to keep it tight at the other end now.

Again, surely the responsibility rests at manager's door by now. A couple of Scottish international defenders have joined smaller teams than us in the last week. Fenlon's probably still trying to sign more midfielders.

Isn't this the case regardless of our manager anyway?

I know it is easy to say in hindsight but feel the team has a better balance/understanding with a back 4 of - Mullen Forster Hanlon Stevenson [ obviously l/b would be McGivern when fit but with players currently available that back 4 would perform better than the 4 we are playing tonight].

There are some total bed wetters on this thread. We're short of match sharpness and playing a side who are half way through their season and are top of their league.

We've matched up ok apart from the second goal and have been unlucky not to score twice.

There is a very long way to go in this tie.

Settle down like.

18-07-2013, 05:38 PM
Any diddy can take an Irish team to Europe.

Oh right sorry, I bow to your superior knowledge:rolleyes:

18-07-2013, 05:39 PM
Good hold up and lay off by Vine, Handling has an effort easily saved by the keeper.

Decent wee spell of football again.

And then more slapstick defending sees Williams have to make a great save.

18-07-2013, 05:40 PM
Should be 3

hibs4thecup1988
Craig & Handling swapped sides

And back again :greengrin

shot by handling saved.

Malmo down the other end cut back from the byline williams saves with his feet over for a corner.. resulting corner malmo free header 8yrds out wide of williams left post.

18-07-2013, 05:41 PM
Free header from the corner, Williams looks like he's about to explode, going ****ing mental at the defence.

Thanks. :aok:

Hero76
I am totally loosing patience with our manager. We are getting ripped for arsepaper Lewis is murder at RB surely a half fit Mullen would be the better option.
We are making Malmo look good they are a average side, Liam Craig will be wondering why the **** he came to hibs.

18-07-2013, 05:42 PM

Link not working for me

erin-go-bragh87
Behave yersel' jeezo some people cannae half over-react

Good one. He's been shocking for a while. No over reaction here.

There are some total bed wetters on this thread. We're short of match sharpness and playing a side who are half way through their season and are top of their league.

We've matched up ok apart from the second goal and have been unlucky not to score twice.

Settle down like.

if we put everything down to the opposition being half way through their season, yada yada yada, we may as well not bother turning up as more often than not we get drawn against teams who have started their seasons. These 'bed wetters' are worried About problems that seem to have been present, but not dealt with, for a few seasons.

18-07-2013, 05:43 PM
Link not working for me

Working now cheers

hibs4thecup1988
18-07-2013, 05:43 PM
I am totally loosing patience with our manager. We are getting ripped for arsepaper Lewis is murder at RB surely a half fit Mullen would be the better option.
We are making Malmo look good they are a average side, Liam Craig will be wondering why the **** he came to hibs.

Losing patience with the manager because of a game that is really a warm up game for the leauge? Sure...

18-07-2013, 05:44 PM
Losing patience with the manager because of a game that is really a warm up game for the leauge? Sure...

Warm up game for the league! That must be a new one! Maybe the players think the same?

18-07-2013, 05:45 PM
ref just stopped play and ran 30yards to be face to face with the malmo keeper to tell him to stop time wasting... WTF!

brian6-2
18-07-2013, 05:45 PM

its a qualifier for the europa league mate! welcome to the 90's.

hibs4thecup1988
18-07-2013, 05:46 PM
if we put everything down to the opposition being half way through their season, yada yada yada, we may as well not bother turning up as more often than not we get drawn against teams who have started their seasons. These 'bed wetters' are worried About problems that seem to have been present, but not dealt with, for a few seasons.

You are probably right we probably shouldn't bother turning up. Until the Scottish game gets re-jigged and we are playing football at the same time as Scandanavian countries we will never get that far in these competitions.

Strange 1st half.

We started ok, lost 2 stupid goals to errors, had the pish ripped for about 15 mins, had a few nice wee spells of football and had a couple of chances of our own and Vine was very unlucky, we still look well shaky at the back and it's nigh on impossible to imagine we won't concede again over the course of the tie.

There is a goal in this for us imo but we need one tonight. Sadly I think the defence will cost us this tie over the course of the 2 legs.

AL-Qaholik
Wow, that was a truly depressing statistic - of our 59 goals last season, 44 were scored by players who are no longer at the club...

How many did Vine, Craig & OTJ score between them last year...?

18-07-2013, 05:47 PM
Get in to half time at 2-0. Regroup and in all fairness, we've been okay! 90 seconds of complete ***** but apart from that we've created some decent chances. All we need to do is keep it tight at our own end and try and nick a goal. You would think we were 4 or 5 nil down at this point judging by some posts. Obviously, it's not ideal but we're not out of this by any stretch of the imagination... Come on Hibs!

18-07-2013, 05:47 PM
Thomson looks like the only one with any idea. IMO anyway...

hibs4thecup1988
18-07-2013, 05:48 PM
its a qualifier for the europa league mate! welcome to the 90's.

What I mean by that is that in all honesty there was no way we were going to get through this game. We were always praying to get the game back to Easter Road next week. This is about getting fitness up.

18-07-2013, 05:48 PM
We are playing well, silly mistakes have cost us. Vine unlucky hitting the post. Getting an away goal is a must now.

18-07-2013, 05:49 PM
Malmo player taking interview in the tunnel for malmo tv at halftime.

18-07-2013, 05:49 PM
Not a great half...but if we don't concede again, it's still game on next week.... the open 15 mins in second half will be important.

People need to stop jumping on the negative vibe, just because it's not going well....if we get a goal back it completely changes the tie.

bandylegs_jLeighton
18-07-2013, 05:50 PM
We were always going to have to carry a lot of luck against a team top of their league when they are streets ahead of us in match practice.

It's a pity we have had to shuffle the pack and play Lewis at right back because that's where they are getting most joy.

If we can grab a goal and not concede anymore we'll give ourselves a chance to progress.

I think Thomson has looked most comfortable at this level.

Dobosz83

Settle down like.

This is the post that has calmed me down tonight. Last time I checked (around the draw) Malmo FF where 4th in the table. I had no idea they had climbed to the top at the midway point of their season and where Champions literally 3 years ago.

the standard of football in Sweden is better than here, unfortunately. I am upset about the situation so far but the reality is the back for is a mash up with McGivern, Mullen and Clancy all unavailable and the entire squad is pissing against the wind considering they are match fit at a much higher level.

I'm disappointed in that we seem to be missing out on transfer targets at the moment and are basically treating this tie as nothing more than a friendly but that's the way it is.

Here's hoping the club have some transfer targets in due course as we are woefully short of a decent pack. Anyone laughing at Hearts should hold fire until we actually sort ourselves out in terms of a half decent playing squad. Drawing with Dumbarton/Raith in uneventful matches doesn't leave me wanting to cough up for a ticket next week.

McPake having a howler just makes it more annoying that we couldn't get McManus.