View Full Version : Match Updates Malmo 2 v 0 Hibs
18-07-2013, 06:52 PM
Okay. Could easy have been worse. It's still on. Looking forward to next week.
****ing
BOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO
Glesgahibby
Aw well,it could have been a lot worse.
still in it but really need to defend a lot better.
Right, in office, have we played ok and is it worth driving up next week from Halifax? have we got a change of going through?
18-07-2013, 06:53 PM
We'll have to play a lot better at ER but 2-0 certainly not impossible to turn round, will need a clean sheet though but can see us getting a 2-0 and taking it to extra time.
2-0
oh well.
Athens all over again!
thank god for Ben Williams tonight. Kept Hibs in this tie.
2-0.
Take that all things considered.
Looking forward to next week as I think we can run them close.
BarneyK
Need an early goal at ER for anychance, Malmo will almost certainly score though.
That's the spirit.
Id have taken 2-0 at the start. Lets pack ER and give it a right go.
:dunno: Easter Road will be a long way from packed next week.
Would have taken 2-0 before the game, and bitten your hand off for it after 13 minutes.
Looking forward to next week.
Emerald
I actually think we have looked like scoring at times, certainly created a few chances/half chances.
It's the silly goals that have and will cost us.
That's the problem though, if we had conviction in games we would cause a lot more problems rather than being on the back foot for the majority of games we play. Euro ties are different though, so the tactics are understandable in that respect. We got out of jail at 2 - 0 and its happened to better teams than us. Not pretty but we have a chance to get a 3 - 1 next week and get put out on away goals :greengrin.
18-07-2013, 06:54 PM
Why would we need 4?
Because if they get an away goal we would need 4 to go through.
2-0.
Take that all things considered.
Considering what?
Stringer
Williams performance only positive from that match.
I will go to ER, not expecting anything much better. I won't be shouting abuse thou.
FT could/should have been a lot worse
well done st.johnstone winning
could easily have been 5-1:agree:
still, they don't sound anything special. Lets get big crowd along next week and do them !!!
marjoriebanks
Not pretty but did show in the last ten that we can get at them. Another week to prepare. Are we able to sign anyone in between?
Purehibee_MYB
18-07-2013, 06:55 PM
Have to remember Drogheda made them panic when they played them in Ireland so this tie isn't over
Bob Box Fish
18-07-2013, 06:55 PM
Disappointing, overall played ok but bombscare sold us out again.
18-07-2013, 06:56 PM
They weren't a million miles ahead of us in terms of quality though they are a better team. You could tell they were much fitter than us though. We're still in it. Hopefully a big crowd next week and make a game of it.
Considering what?
The defensive performance.
It could have been a lot worse. Going forward we looked ok in spells imo.
Well I would have taken that half way thro the first half
Lets rock Easter road as we did against Athens .... And you never know !!!
Not pretty but did show in the last ten that we can get at them. Another week to prepare. Are we able to sign anyone in between?
Think we can play 1 more signed player.
18-07-2013, 06:57 PM
looking forward to next week now. they were decent but were still in with a slim chance
18-07-2013, 06:58 PM
Why would we need 4?
If Malmo score next week we could win 3-1 and they'd still got through on away goals. And they will score next week.
The defensive performance.
It could have been a lot worse. Going forward we looked ok in spells imo.
I see what you mean, i misinterpreted your post :wink:
youre right though
18-07-2013, 06:58 PM
Great result for St. Johnstone :agree:
we are still in the tie on paper only, no way malmo wont score at ER, it was Williams v 11, mcPake can retire.
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 06:59 PM
If Malmo score next week we could win 3-1 and they'd still got through on away goals. And they will score next week.
Will they? I'll no bother then. Cheers for the heads up :wink:
18-07-2013, 06:59 PM
looking forward to next week now. they were decent but were still in with a slim chance
Same - but I sincerely doubt we have three goals in us.
Glasgow Hibee
18-07-2013, 07:00 PM
Don't know if they were tiring or just wanting to see out the game but looked to me as if we were much more of a threat after Harris came on. Hopefully if he is healthy for next week we might be able to put a bit more pressure on them....then who knows !
Makaveli
18-07-2013, 07:01 PM
What's this "no way they won't score at Easter Road" chat all about?
They didn't score in the last 77 minutes there, and our defence will be stronger next week (Mullen or Clancy RB, Stevenson LB, McPake nowhere near the park).
Easy to say Ben kept us in it, but he'll be there again next week. :wink:
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:03 PM
What's this "no way they won't score at Easter Road" chat all about?
They didn't score in the last 77 minutes there, and our defence will be stronger next week (Mullen or Clancy RB, Stevenson LB, McPake nowhere near the park).
Easy to say Ben kept us in it, but he'll be there again next week. :wink:
:agree: I've got to say it's hard enough following Hibs in the first place without worrying about goals that haven't been scored yet.
So according to some it should have been 5-1 (a rather strange score to pluck out of the air) and next week they are bound to score while we have no chance of scoring.
I'm definitely not going now.
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:05 PM
So according to some it should have been 5-1 (a rather strange score to pluck out of the air) and next week they are bound to score while we have no chance of scoring.
I'm definitely not going now.
McDiarmid Park's the place to be :thumbsup:
Williams performance only positive from that match.
I will go to ER, not expecting anything much better. I won't be shouting abuse thou.
Predictable result and performance. Sadly, most of our players will be using next week as a pre-season warm up and you can put money on Malmo scoring at ER and progressing.
Hibby 2005
Time for another change.
Handling off for Harris, if he's able, for me.
Harris should have been risked tonight either from the start or at least at half-time. If he plays from the start next week we have a very small chance of doing something. They will score again and only Harris could possibly score and create the 4 goals we'll no doubt need.
18-07-2013, 07:06 PM
Think Malmö will be disappointed with only 2-0, they could have had 6 or so - an early goal for us at ER however, and they would become nervous as they were in the last 15 minutes here. Mind you I have no idea who is going to score for us - none of this lot on this showing. Maybe Harris will be fitter and offer more - he looked good the short time he was on. Williams had a brilliant game - kept us in it. Good result for St Johnstone this evening and by all accounts Wotherspoon had a great game ....
Emerald
18-07-2013, 07:06 PM
That is the attitude we need to take, lets create an atmosphere, get a crowd in and be possitive and FFS tell Fenlon to ATTACK, that's if he has it in him to give us a bit of entertainment. This is not in any way a pre season friendly and progress could make a big difference to our finances. :aok:
18-07-2013, 07:10 PM
If we somehow manage to identify and sign a reasonably decent striker before next week, would they be allowed to play in the return leg?
18-07-2013, 07:10 PM
Think we went into the game with the wrong attitude in the first place. From media interviews the players and manager were all saying as long as we were still in the tie. We should have went in thinking we could have won. Would have helped.
FastEddieFelson
18-07-2013, 07:11 PM
But what the **** Is going on here??? I mean we are seriously pish,I never travelled obviously but spent a tenner watching this pish and been to Sweden before watching Hibs in boras,I'm seriously giving up on this dross I mean one striker signed before this game!! This is probably the fans biggest game of the season and some have spent more getting to this game than the price of a season ticket and we are getting served this pish a
What on earth did you expect?
ionahibby
18-07-2013, 07:14 PM
The OP is jumping the gun a tad but in a minor way he has a point. We weren't very well prepared at all for tonight imo.
18-07-2013, 07:14 PM
Same - but I sincerely doubt we have three goals in us.
I can only see us scoring one TQM, and conceding two or three. Malmo were miles ahead of Hibs on every level. Shame the players didn't grasp the importance of tonight and remained switched on for the full 90 minutes.
Malmo will be kicking themselves however there is nothing creatively for them to fear. Is there signs up at East Mains saying in bold letters 'stand at least ten yards off the opposition player so it's easier to admire them' ?
Home and away, Hibs should have been tight, in their faces, playing at tempo and with two up top. Simple as that. Games in Europe are won with away goals and we tried to sneak one via the back door and play on the counter - ridiculous when you have no pace and only one player up front.
Malmo will cruise this tie next week, easily - sorry to be brutal and blunt, but Hibs should have had creative players bought and signed and ready for this adventure. They've showed next to no ambition and yet again it'll be a couple of deadline day last hour deals to appease fans. Have the days gone where Hibs look at getting a central midfielder who has a bit of exciting drive, pace and skill ? There are plenty about, some even in the First Division (Tidser for example at Morton, little Scougall, etc etc).
Hibs play horrible industrial football under Pat and I was hoping this window we would see a little invention and pace - we ain't getting any clearly and that is hugely hugely disappointing.
Give me 4-3-3 all the time, any game, home or away, against any opposition, with a winger or two. Sod this one up top nonsense Patrick :fenlon
18-07-2013, 07:16 PM
We had a proper team back then with European experience and quality in all positions. Malmo would have to seriously **** up not to go through against this current Hibs team.
NYHibby
18-07-2013, 07:18 PM
If we somehow manage to identify and sign a reasonably decent striker before next week, would they be allowed to play in the return leg?
No
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:18 PM
We had a proper team back then with European experience and quality in all positions. Malmo would have to seriously **** up not to go through against this current Hibs team.
To be fair, Malmo are no AEK Athens either. They didn't score in Ireland yet it's going to be a cricket score at Easter Road :dunno: They may well beat us easily, I just think there's no point counting the goals against just yet before we've even taken to the field.
18-07-2013, 07:19 PM
I can only see us scoring one TQM, and conceding two or three. Malmo were miles ahead of Hibs on every level. Shame the players didn't grasp the importance of tonight and remained switched on for the full 90 minutes.
Malmo will be kicking themselves however there is nothing creatively for them to fear. Is there signs up at East Mains saying in bold letters 'stand at least ten yards off the opposition player so it's easier to admire them' ?
Home and away, Hibs should have been tight, in their faces, playing at tempo and with two up top. Simple as that. Games in Europe are won with away goals and we tried to sneak one via the back door and play on the counter - ridiculous when you have no pace and only one player up front.
Malmo will cruise this tie next week, easily - sorry to be brutal and blunt, but Hibs should have had creative players bought and signed and ready for this adventure. They've showed next to no ambition and yet again it'll be a couple of deadline day last hour deals to appease fans. Have the days gone where Hibs look at getting a central midfielder who has a bit of exciting drive, pace and skill ? There are plenty about, some even in the First Division (Tidser for example at Morton, little Scougall, etc etc).
Hibs play horrible industrial football under Pat and I was hoping this window we would see a little invention and pace - we ain't getting any clearly and that is hugely hugely disappointing.
Give me 4-3-3 all the time, any game, home or away, against any opposition, with a winger or two. Sod this one up top nonsense Patrick :fenlon
It's HT ffs :rolleyes:
18-07-2013, 07:20 PM
Amazingly, many posters are criticising the attitude of the team whilst claiming that we have no chance next week.
NYHibby
18-07-2013, 07:22 PM
Give me 4-3-3 all the time, any game, home or away, against any opposition, with a winger or two.
Sod this one up top nonsense Patrick
Which three of our players do you think we should play upfront?
Talk about nonsense.
18-07-2013, 07:23 PM
Think we went into the game with the wrong attitude in the first place. From media interviews the players and manager were all saying as long as we were still in the tie. We should have went in thinking we could have won. Would have helped.
:agree: We know our place.
18-07-2013, 07:24 PM
:agree: We know our place.
Yeah, always the wee team .......... :wink:
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:25 PM
Forever in Malmo's shadow.
Emerald
18-07-2013, 07:26 PM
To be fair, Malmo are no AEK Athens either. They didn't score in Ireland yet it's going to be a cricket score at Easter Road :dunno: They may well beat us easily, I just think there's no point counting the goals against just yet before we've even taken to the field.
Trouble is Hibs are on a different planet to the team the played AEK. We can't even keep the ball these days. These excuses folk are drudging up to save Fenlon's arse are starting to wear thin TBH.
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:27 PM
Trouble is Hibs are on a different planet to the team the played AEK. We can't even keep the ball these days. These excuses folk are drudging up to save Fenlon's arse are starting to wear thin TBH.
If we were still paying that kind of wage we'd be on a 2 for 1 deal with the yams for BDO's services.
18-07-2013, 07:28 PM
Amazingly, many posters are criticising the attitude of the team whilst claiming that we have no chance next week.
18-07-2013, 07:29 PM
Bet you Pat sets up with only one up top next week Barney mate - game needs chased, early goal(s) are crucial, however I'll wager he'll go all cautious and try and play counter football if Alex is fully fit.
I'd play Vine, Caldwell and Harris (if fit), with Taiwo the combative midfielder, OTJ the sitter, and Cairney allowed some freedom right and left. Pat won't though - he'll set up 4-5-1.
I know I'm being awfully negative after tonight but Hibs this window have infuriated me and the boards lack or real ambition is plain as the nose on the end of Skacel's face. Cup finals, cup runs, stadium bricks, Hibs Lotto, season tickets - the fans have invested enough cash, time for the Board to do the same and get some excitement back to Easter Road. Other than young Alex, I see not one player who will get me off my seat in the 90 minutes. A squad needs three or four of these kinds of players.
Get used to a lot of side to side uninspired football next season.
18-07-2013, 07:30 PM
If we start the home tie how we finished tonight's game, we have a chance.
That said, we started playing well after Malmo missed about 4 or 5 clear cut chances.
HibeeJoxy
18-07-2013, 07:30 PM
For me and I'll probably be shot down for saying it but.......... good result and decent performance in the circumstances.
Yes an away goal would have put the icing on the cake and yes is going to be bloody hard to get through, but we've always known that and at least we have a fighting chance at ER.
Facts;
Malmo play in a league (which they are currently top off) where they have a realistic chance of winning it.
Swedish national team currently outclasses the Scottish (by a long way)
1 of our team have regular experience of playing in Europe
Malmo are well into their season, players not only match fit but, playing to stamp their mark and catch their managers eye(and others club managers eyes). They want to keep their place in the team and need to be a part of a fantastic season they are likely to have.
We are building a team on a limited budget and were playing with kids and new signings
We finished 7th in the SPL last year
Now it's true that we wouldn't be in the game if it weren't for Williams, but it's surely a positive that we have a great shoot stopper (if only he were as good at cross balls!). It's also true that the defence looked like it could have been cut with a cheese knife, but it wouldn't have been the choosen lineup and we only lost 2 goals.
I know it's a forum and everyone wants to get things off their chest, but this place is one of my only places to keep up to speed and it amazes me the amount of negativity that flies round in here. Fenlon for me is building a good team and attracting good players, in my 30 or so years supporting hibs through thick and thin, most of the great players that have played for Hibs have been Hibees. Not a bad thing but a small pot to pick from. My line of work is customer service in the entertainmnt industry and the most important thing is to be positive. How the hell can we expect OUR team to go into these games with a positive mentality if the fan base aren't backing them.
Right rant over, 2 goals down and a bloody mountain to climb, but there is always a chance :thumbsup:
18-07-2013, 07:31 PM
We had a slim chance as it was but turning up with a makeshift defence and our best attacking midfielder injured didnt help matters. We'll not score goals playing 3 defensive midfielders.
18-07-2013, 07:32 PM
Which three of our players do you think we should play upfront?
Talk about nonsense.
I've posted - Vine, Ross and Alex up top. Vine played all last season on the flank for Saints and scored 7 goals, Alex is the one huge bright spark in the side and has bags of pace, Ross is strong and bursting to play first team football. Easy peezy lemon squeezy mate :agree:
18-07-2013, 07:32 PM
Sadly, we just cannot defend. That was ok last season when we had Griffiths' goals to make up for our defensive frailties but Petrie/Fenlon have failed to replace and we'll pay for that. It will take Malmo 10 mins to kill the tie off at ER.
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:34 PM
Bet you Pat sets up with only one up top next week Barney mate - game needs chased, early goal(s) are crucial, however I'll wager he'll go all cautious and try and play counter football if Alex is fully fit.
I'd play Vine, Caldwell and Harris (if fit), with Taiwo the combative midfielder, OTJ the sitter, and Cairney allowed some freedom right and left. Pat won't though - he'll set up 4-5-1.
I know I'm being awfully negative after tonight but Hibs this window have infuriated me and the boards lack or real ambition is plain as the nose on the end of Skacel's face. Cup finals, cup runs, stadium bricks, Hibs Lotto, season tickets - the fans have invested enough cash, time for the Board to do the same and get some excitement back to Easter Road. Other than young Alex, I see not one player who will get me off my seat in the 90 minutes. A squad needs three or four of these kinds of players.
Get used to a lot of side to side uninspired football next season.
Don't disagree with much of that tbh. There is of course an argument to be made that since an away goal would be a killer, to be too gung-ho would be utterly foolhardy. The plan may be easy at the beginning, good and solid, and then really go for it in the second half if occasion demands. Good and solid is of course a bit of a stretch for us at the moment, but that will probably be the plan.
I'm hoping Vine will be a wee bit different class-wise, he certainly has a decent background, if not scoring record.
18-07-2013, 07:35 PM
Match fitness is the only real difference between the teams, they are very beatable. 3-0 I've seen it done.
18-07-2013, 07:35 PM
Didn't think Malmo were very good tbh. Feared the worst in the first half when we were obviously not match fit. Second half we got more into the game as our touch improved and we could have nicked a late away goal. That said we could also have been buried earlier.
It's a long shot but the tie is still live.
The point about Fenlon's tactics and mindset still holds though. I think the more adventurous approach we showed in the last 10-15 would have been profitable earlier.
Anyway, looking forward to the second leg at ER and I really didn't think I'd be saying that after 13 mins.
green.and.white
18-07-2013, 07:36 PM
My take on events
1. First half was awful, we barely touched the ball and looked a bit scared.
2. Started shaky in the second half and should have been further behind soon after HT.
3. Came onto a game and looked dangerous, I really like Liam Craig and Robertson was excellent too, we controlled the ball well in the last half hour.
4. Tie isn't over by a long shot, they looked pretty average towards the end of the game
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:36 PM
Sadly, we just cannot defend. That was ok last season when we had Griffiths' goals to make up for our defensive frailties but Petrie/Fenlon have failed to replace and we'll pay for that. It will take Malmo 10 mins to kill the tie off at ER.
Aw come on, first we're being told they'll definitely score, and now the time :greengrin
Glasgow Hibee
18-07-2013, 07:38 PM
I'm sure we could compete with teams like Malmo if we were well into our season. For the forseeable future most Scottish teams will start European competitions at this time of year. We need any advantage we can get and so if we want to compete with the likes of Elfsborg, Maribor or Malmo then we should move to a summer league.
Emerald
18-07-2013, 07:38 PM
If we were still paying that kind of wage we'd be on a 2 for 1 deal with the yams for BDO's services.
Aw well, we can forget Europe then. At least I have memories of when we didn't care where they were from or how good they were, the Hibs gave them a roasting at Easter Road. That's what I would expect from any Hibs manager but I have my doubts about Pat, but I still live in hope.
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:39 PM
Aw well, we can forget Europe then. At least I have memories of when we didn't care where they were from or how good they were, the Hibs gave them a roasting at Easter Road. That's what I would expect from any Hibs manager but I have my doubts about Pat, but I still live in hope.
Got to live in hope, mate. It's the Hibs way. :thumbsup:
18-07-2013, 07:39 PM
Look forward to having another go next week, hopefully with a few more options (McGivern etc). Malmo are the better side, but a rethink given what we know about their strengths/weakness gives a shot. Minor miracles aside, and barring a humiliation next week, the tie should be good for getting Hibs up to speed for the season start.
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 07:41 PM
Look forward to having another go next week, hopefully with a few more options (McGivern etc). Malmo are the better side, but a rethink given what we know about their strengths/weakness gives a shot. Minor miracles aside, and barring a humiliation next week, the tie should be good for getting Hibs up to speed for the season start.
:agree: Let's beat them first and foremost and see where that takes us.
Does anyone know if there's a bounce game planned for the start of next week, to build match fitness?
Certainly that's one scenario, the alternative is another 6-0 landslide Hibs, evoking the spirit of '71.
Emerald
18-07-2013, 07:42 PM
Got to live in hope, mate. It's the Hibs way. :thumbsup:
You canny beat the fitba season for opinions (and a moan), its great :thumbsup:
Emerald
18-07-2013, 07:44 PM
Does anyone know if there's a bounce game planned for the start of next week, to build match fitness?
Swedish team looking for bounce game I hear (shhh but let's roast them) :thumbsup:
18-07-2013, 07:45 PM
Didn't think Malmo were very good tbh. Feared the worst in the first half when we were obviously not match fit. Second half we got more into the game as our touch improved and we could have nicked a late away goal. That said we could also have been buried earlier.
The point about Fenlon's tactics and mindset still holds though. I think the more adventurous approach we showed in the last 10-15 would have been profitable earlier.
Anyway, looking forward to the second leg at ER and I really didn't think I'd be saying that after 13 mins.
Is it not easier to be adventurous when the opposition take the foot off the gas? Malmo sounded like they were all about killing the tie and giving it their all for the first hour-and we werent good enough to stop them doing so.
Hibby 2005
18-07-2013, 07:47 PM
For me and I'll probably be shot down for saying it but.......... good result and decent performance in the circumstances.
Yes an away goal would have put the icing on the cake and yes is going to be bloody hard to get through, but we've always known that and at least we have a fighting chance at ER.
Facts;
Malmo play in a league (which they are currently top off) where they have a realistic chance of winning it.
Malmo are well into their season, players not only match fit but, playing to stamp their mark and catch their managers eye(and others club managers eyes). They want to keep their place in the team and need to be a part of a fantastic season they are likely to have.
We are building a team on a limited budget and were playing with kids and new signings
Now it's true that we wouldn't be in the game if it weren't for Williams, but it's surely a positive that we have a great shoot stopper (if only he were as good at cross balls!). It's also true that the defence looked like it could have been cut with a cheese knife, but it wouldn't have been the choosen lineup and we only lost 2 goals.
I know it's a forum and everyone wants to get things off their chest, but this place is one of my only places to keep up to speed and it amazes me the amount of negativity that flies round in here. Fenlon for me is building a good team and attracting good players, in my 30 or so years supporting hibs through thick and thin, most of the great players that have played for Hibs have been Hibees. Not a bad thing but a small pot to pick from. My line of work is customer service in the entertainmnt industry and the most important thing is to be positive. How the hell can we expect OUR team to go into these games with a positive mentality if the fan base aren't backing them.
Right rant over, 2 goals down and a bloody mountain to climb, but there is always a chance :thumbsup:
The fans that went over for the game were positive but it made no difference as Fenlon had set his team out to be cautious and paid the price.
It's like the SC semi-final all over again where Fenlon will have to completely change his whole game plan. It hardly inspires confidence hence the understandable flak he's getting tonight.
18-07-2013, 07:48 PM
:agree: With what you are saying and we could have ended up on the wrong end of a sore one.
I'm just not ready to throw in the towel just yet, and if, we turn this around I just hope that the team get the praise that they will deserve.....
As Mixu said on the radio, it's not a fair playing field for Scottish teams if they (and other counties) get drawn against Scandinavian teams........ Perhaps at ER next Thursday we won't give a flying f*** :aok:
18-07-2013, 07:52 PM
Is it not easier to be adventurous when the opposition take the foot off the gas? Malmo sounded like they were all about killing the tie and giving it their all for the first hour-and we werent good enough to stop them doing so.
Don't get me wrong, I thought Hibs were (sadly are) poor, but Malmo didn't impress me either. It was obvious they were going to try and kill it early, with their superior match fitness. We couldn't stop them, but they couldn't quite put us away. I wouldn't stay the tie is in the balance because I believe they'll prevail, but they are nothing like AEK Athens or Maribour in quality, and they won't be entirely comfortable with that result, given how ragged they looked at the end of the game.
18-07-2013, 07:53 PM
honest to God what on earth are you all jumping up and down about?
This is our first competitive match of the season. Malmo are midway through theirs, we have a team of young inexperience young laddies playing in Hibs' tops.
What did you really expect? I take it that all of you who are predicting a beating next week wont be there to support your team.
Malmo tonight were better, quicker to the ball and used their players well, but they are no Athens, as someone pointed out, and we are not the Hibs team that played them. We are the same supporters though and those young laddies in Hibs strips are your present team.
I wonder if by some miracle, we scrape through, will the same moaners on here tonight be back on the bandwagon?
Give yourselves a shake please and try and take a step back from tonight and have a long hard look at yourselves why support a team if you cant take the ups and the downs of supporting Hibs then you had better give up now!
18-07-2013, 07:54 PM
I didn't see it mate - but texts and other posts suggest we got off lightly with 2. I agree we lack pace and skill.
We are also not prepared again though IMHO.
We made some early signings (and the manager said we'd have players in early) yet the area of the team we've been light in since January eg strikers is still not addressed.
18-07-2013, 07:54 PM
I'm shocked - I thought that they had died, that we had killed them as a club, back in 1971, with 6-0.
18-07-2013, 07:58 PM
honest to God what on earth are you all jumping up and down about?
This is our first competitive match of the season. Malmo are midway through theirs, we have a team of young inexperience young laddies playing in Hibs' tops.
What did you really expect? I take it that all of you who are predicting a beating next week wont be there to support your team.
Malmo tonight were better, quicker to the ball and used their players well, but they are no Athens, as someone pointed out, and we are not the Hibs team that played them. We are the same supporters though and those young laddies in Hibs strips are your present team.
I wonder if by some miracle, we scrape through, will the same moaners on here tonight be back on the bandwagon?
Give yourselves a shake please and try and take a step back from tonight and have a long hard look at yourselves why support a team if you cant take the ups and the downs of supporting Hibs then you had better give up now!
Not disagreeing with the general point but the inexperienced young laddies isn't really true.
Of the starting 11 tonight Williams, McPake, Stevenson, Hanlon, Craig, Tudor Jones, Thomson, Taiwo and Vine are all experienced 1st team players. Only Handling and Forster could be described ss novices.
BarneyK
18-07-2013, 08:00 PM
I'm shocked - I thought that they had died, that we had killed them as a club, back in 1971, with 6-0.
18-07-2013, 08:00 PM
Don't get me wrong, I thought Hibs were (sadly are) poor, but Malmo didn't impress me either. It was obvious they were going to try and kill it early, with their superior match fitness. We couldn't stop them, but they couldn't quite put us away. I wouldn't stay the tie is in the balance because I believe they'll prevail, but they are nothing like AEK Athens or Maribour in quality, and they won't be entirely comfortable with that result, given how ragged they looked at the end of the game.
Bob my man, you always look on the bright side of (Hibs) life, your posts always lift the mood - however unless Malmo's pre-match meal is a couple of Bain's mince rounds, with Aunt Bessie's roasties and Bob's ******* beans on the side, with my sadly departed grannies treacle sponge and custard to follow as dessert, eaten an hour before kick off, Malmo will cruise through bud.
Hibs looked good and lively when young Alex came on and played with no fear - we simply haven't gone out and done the transfer business early enough in my opinion and haven't shifted onto other targets when it was clear top targets had moved elsewhere/remained undecided. Added to that, we could have had a couple of our targets in January (which is why I am so unusually annoyed tonight after the result).
I'll away and gorge myself on Vienetta and come back with a more positive attitude to next week's game :greengrin:agree:
Anyone who witnessed the match against Raith last Friday won't be surprised at the lack of performance tonight. We made an average team look a hell of a lot better than they are!! Why only start to try and push forward and pressurise them in the last 10 minutes?
For the majority of the game it was oh so familiar ..... sideways, back pass, bad pass, too slow and little movement or creation. Vine was unlucky when he hit the post and there was a couple of half chances but precious little else throughout the 90 minutes, why? We can't blame lack of fitness for it as St Johnstone were in the same boat tonight against an argubly a better side, they won and kept a clean sheet.
For me, at 2-0 the tie is all but over with the defence we have. There's no way we'll keep a clean sheet next week with that back four. Even if we managed to score 4 goals, highly unlikely, there's no guarantee we'd progress.
Hope I'm proved wrong.
18-07-2013, 08:08 PM
We were poor in the first half but I've seen enough to think that the tie is still alive and we can do them in Leith.
It was always going to be a struggle since they're half way through their season and sitting top of the league.
18-07-2013, 08:11 PM
Bob my man, you always look on the bright side of (Hibs) life, your posts always lift the mood - however unless Malmo's pre-match meal is a couple of Bain's mince rounds, with Aunt Bessie's roasties and Bob's ******* beans on the side, with my sadly departed grannies treacle sponge and custard to follow as dessert, eaten an hour before kick off, Malmo will cruise through bud.
Hibs looked good and lively when young Alex came on and played with no fear - we simply haven't gone out and done the transfer business early enough in my opinion and haven't shifted onto other targets when it was clear top targets had moved elsewhere/remained undecided. Added to that, we could have had a couple of our targets in January (which is why I am so unusually annoyed tonight after the result).
I'll away and gorge myself on Vienetta and come back with a more positive attitude to next week's game :greengrin:agree:
I agree about Harris, what a player he's going to be (or already is) but i don't agree this tie is as hopeless as you're suggesting. A two nil lead can be a funny one, all it takes is one goal and they start to question whether to defend the lead or attack and hopefully do neither, we get the momentum behind us and who knows what can happen, i agree with Bob, Malmo weren't anything special.
This won't go down well with the masses but i think we need to remember fenlon is building a squad here on a limited budget, IMO we didn't deserve to be in europe yet as we didn't earn it through league position so being here just now is us ahead of schedule. This time next year i'd like us to be in europe on the back of a successfull SPL season, if we do that we'd be far better equipped for an early european tie.
18-07-2013, 08:19 PM
I agree about Harris, what a player he's going to be (or already is) but i don't agree this tie is as hopeless as you're suggesting. A two nil lead can be a funny one, all it takes is one goal and they start to question whether to defend the lead or attack and hopefully do neither, we get the momentum behind us and who knows what can happen, i agree with Bob, Malmo weren't anything special.
This won't go down well with the masses but i think we need to remember fenlon is building a squad here on a limited budget, IMO we didn't deserve to be in europe yet as we didn't earn it through league position so being here just now is us ahead of schedule. This time next year i'd like us to be in europe on the back of a successfull SPL season, if we do that we'd be far better equipped for an early european tie.
Bingo, it's the mood I'm in mate, it'll pass and I'll be back to a more positive spin soon - but Hibs are poor, they've lost a rake of goals at the end of the season, and the business hasn't been done quickly enough. The fact the players got to two cup finals, especially after the 1-5 game, I think merits praise and the Euro place - the cup run last season was really entertaining and I certainly don't grudge the lads the Euro spot.
But Hibs lack genuine, searing pace - Alex has it but like Laudrup makes it look like a glide. We need that on the other flank, and we do need a wee Zemmama type who can jink, twist, drive and excite. A luxury yes, but it's required for all sorts of reasons. A Euro 'run' also creates money and merchandising - so that's why getting through this tie is important in my eyes. It could after all make the difference in who we sign in the next week or 2 week period.
I like Pat as a person, I like the fact that Hibs have more togetherness as a team, and the fans have really really united and been superb in their support. But the football is bland in nature and over cautious. My huge huge fear is the goals we've lost from the side - and we could have had Leigh and Lyle signed up on contracts in January (in my opinion and from who I've spoken to).
The vienetta is working though - Harris double, Vine curler, with a Liam Craig screamer to top it off in a 4-1 win :greengrin:thumbsup:
18-07-2013, 08:20 PM
Fair enough, lets hope we can put them on the back foot from the start. A an early Hibs goal certainly makes it interesting.
18-07-2013, 08:24 PM
I hope petrie has malmos idea of streaming game must have made a fortune tonight
18-07-2013, 08:32 PM
Doesn't mean cos we haven't got as good a team these days that we shouldn't back them to the hilt right from the off !!
18-07-2013, 08:33 PM
Bingo, it's the mood I'm in mate, it'll pass and I'll be back to a more positive spin soon - but Hibs are poor, they've lost a rake of goals at the end of the season, and the business hasn't been done quickly enough. The fact the players got to two cup finals, especially after the 1-5 game, I think merits praise and the Euro place - the cup run last season was really entertaining and I certainly don't grudge the lads the Euro spot.
But Hibs lack genuine, searing pace - Alex has it but like Laudrup makes it look like a glide. We need that on the other flank, and we do need a wee Zemmama type who can jink, twist, drive and excite. A luxury yes, but it's required for all sorts of reasons. A Euro 'run' also creates money and merchandising - so that's why getting through this tie is important in my eyes. It could after all make the difference in who we sign in the next week or 2 week period.
I like Pat as a person, I like the fact that Hibs have more togetherness as a team, and the fans have really really united and been superb in their support. But the football is bland in nature and over cautious. My huge huge fear is the goals we've lost from the side - and we could have had Leigh and Lyle signed up on contracts in January (in my opinion and from who I've spoken to).
The vienetta is working though - Harris double, Vine curler, with a Liam Craig screamer to top it off in a 4-1 win :greengrin:thumbsup:
Hard to argue with any of that. I think we do seem to drag our heels with signing players, was Mullen here at the start of pre-season? If not he should have been and if he was why wasn't he fit for tonight?
Danny Handling doesn't impress me at all, i know he's not a natural winger but he just never seems to offer any sort of threat, just find it pointless him being out there.
18-07-2013, 08:44 PM
Has the Norwegian league started yet?
When do we start the chat about how good a team Malmo are and discuss how far they'll go on Europe (like we did with Maribor)?
18-07-2013, 08:47 PM
Has the Norwegian league started yet?
When do we start the chat about how good a team Malmo are and discuss how far they'll go on Europe (like we did with Maribor)?
I hope we don't, Malmo weren't a great side IMO, better than us but not great.
St Johnstone are a better side than us, that's why they got a better result tonight, i hope fenlon builds a team this season that's capable of over taking them this season but as it stands right now they're likely to be better. (pressumably that's why you mentioned the Norwegian league)
18-07-2013, 08:48 PM
I can only go by what I heard on the radio.
For most of the first half I thought Hibs hadnt turned up, unless we had signed a load of Scandinavian players prior to the game, because every name mentioned was a Swedish one.
In the second half it sounded exactly the same until the last 20 minutes or so.
There is no doubt that their match fitness was a big factor, but what does bug me is that Hibs never went for broke and tried harder to score an away goal sooner. 3 - 1 would have been a hell of a lot better than 2 - 0.
We can do it next week with a lot of luck and an early goal ... but I just cant see us keeping a clean sheet TBH. Oh, and anybody looking forward to an AEK type atmosphere can forget it .... 13,000 will be a really good turn out and it wont be under floodlights.
Still ... you never know eh!
Well done St Johnstone.
18-07-2013, 08:53 PM
Hard to argue with any of that. I think we do seem to drag our heels with signing players, was Mullen here at the start of pre-season? If not he should have been and if he was why wasn't he fit for tonight?
Danny Handling doesn't impress me at all, i know he's not a natural winger but he just never seems to offer any sort of threat, just find it pointless him being out there.
Danny seems to need a fair bit to go physically, which could make all the difference. Would be good to have other options in the meantime...
HibeeJoxy
18-07-2013, 08:55 PM
The fans that went over for the game were positive but it made no difference as Fenlon had set his team out to be cautious and paid the price.
It's like the SC semi-final all over again where Fenlon will have to completely change his whole game plan. It hardly inspires confidence hence the understandable flak he's getting tonight.
So lets get a new manager, we haven't tried that before! FFS
And travelling fans seemed to me to be enjoying themselves. There is no shame in getting beat 2 - 0 away from home, it happens to the best of them:pfgwa
18-07-2013, 08:56 PM
St Johnstone are a better side than us, that's why they got a better result tonight, i hope fenlon builds a team this season that's capable of over taking them this season but as it stands right now they're likely to be better. (pressumably that's why you mentioned the Norwegian league)
I read a few posts saying we didn't have a chance because the Swedish league had started and was wondering if st Johnstone were in the same situation with rosenborg.
It's disappointing how prepared we are for this game, it's almost as if they forgot we qualified.
18-07-2013, 08:59 PM
Last season the buzz phrase from quite a few seemed to be "Fenlon has made us harder to beat" or "Fenlon has made us tighter at the back". Neither of which I agreed with, and still have major doubts going in to the new season.
I hope there are still signings of real quality to come as I currently believe we will have a similar season to last, without the one man show that was Leigh. Which is a scary and depressing thought. An opinion that isn't solely based on tonight's result/performance.
18-07-2013, 09:03 PM
I read a few posts saying we didn't have a chance because the Swedish league had started and was wondering if st Johnstone were in the same situation with rosenborg.
It's disappointing how prepared we are for this game, it's almost as if they forgot we qualified.
Don't know TBH, i imagine the Norwegian league has started but not sure. I think St Johnstone were better equipped to get a better result tonight because they've built a better team over a number of years, i hope that's what Fenlon is doing now.
I personally thought we'd get beat because i expected Malmo to be a better team than us and i was right, i thought the fact there season had started would make it even more difficuilt for us and i think i was right about that as well.
I don't think they were that much better though that next weeks game is impossible to turn round, we probably won't because of the reasons mentioned above but we've got a chance. Malmo weren't anywhere near as good as Maribor or AEK Athens IMO.
18-07-2013, 09:10 PM
Norway league are 16 games into their season and Rosenberg are top, makes St J result even better.
18-07-2013, 09:16 PM
Really :confused::confused::confused:.
They've lost their manager and a kite load of players from last season, including two to us.
18-07-2013, 09:21 PM
Really :confused::confused::confused:.
They've lost their manager and a kite load of players from last season, including two to us.
Yes, really.
When a club does well it builds momentum so they play with a confidence, even if some players leave the ones that come in play up to that standard as that standard is driven by the players that are still there. It's not often you see a team go from say 2nd or 3rd to 10th or 11th, if there is a drop in quality then it's more likely to be a gradual thing but attitude and confidence can take you a long way, especially in one off games like St Johnstone did tonight.
jiggerman
18-07-2013, 09:23 PM
I have not seen any of the game tonight but I'll be honest, even if I may get abuse!:greengrin
I don't think there is a bats chance in hell of us progressing.
1. We need at least 2 goals (would rather 3!) to have a chance of progressing and I'm afraid that is simply not happening at the moment - had Leigh remained with us you always have a chance, but not now.
2. We simply will concede next week making point 1 even more difficult.
I'm not suggesting we give up of course, Fenlon should have his team fired up and hopefully ER will be buzzing (although I will be nothing like AEK!) and we can have an entertaining night.
The thing that bothers me most about Fenlons regime is our predictability, predictability in results (conceding early goals in big games is becoming laughable. see tonight, scottish cup semi and final), predictability in weaknesses (defending crosses, exposed full backs?) and predictability in forward play (unbelievable performances from Griffiths blasting goals in from 30 yards regularly papers over the cracks). We have no strategy or intentional style under Fenlon and very few creative players to execute any sort of attacking potency had we knew what we trying to do in any case!
Facts;
My line of work is customer service in the entertainmnt industry - you sell the popcorn or the ice cream :greengrin
19-07-2013, 06:18 AM
Yes, really.
When a club does well it builds momentum so they play with a confidence, even if some players leave the ones that come in play up to that standard as that standard is driven by the players that are still there. It's not often you see a team go from say 2nd or 3rd to 10th or 11th, if there is a drop in quality then it's more likely to be a gradual thing but attitude and confidence can take you a long way, especially in one off games like St Johnstone did tonight.
Hibs did that last season
19-07-2013, 06:20 AM
I have not seen any of the game tonight but I'll be honest, even if I may get abuse!:greengrin
I don't think there is a bats chance in hell of us progressing.
1. We need at least 2 goals (would rather 3!) to have a chance of progressing and I'm afraid that is simply not happening at the moment - had Leigh remained with us you always have a chance, but not now.
2. We simply will concede next week making point 1 even more difficult.
I'm not suggesting we give up of course, Fenlon should have his team fired up and hopefully ER will be buzzing (although I will be nothing like AEK!) and we can have an entertaining night.
The thing that bothers me most about Fenlons regime is our predictability, predictability in results (conceding early goals in big games is becoming laughable. see tonight, scottish cup semi and final), predictability in weaknesses (defending crosses, exposed full backs?) and predictability in forward play (unbelievable performances from Griffiths blasting goals in from 30 yards regularly papers over the cracks). We have no strategy or intentional style under Fenlon and very few creative players to execute any sort of attacking potency had we knew what we trying to do in any case!
:top markssad but true.
19-07-2013, 08:03 AM
At this point in time, looking at the players we've lost versus the players recruited, we're no better than we were last season. It's only 20 months into Fenlon's reign though and these things take time.
19-07-2013, 08:23 AM
At this point in time, looking at the players we've lost versus the players recruited, we're no better than we were last season. It's only 20 months into Fenlon's reign though and these things take time.
On the back of one competitive game that is some conclusion you have come to.
19-07-2013, 08:30 AM
On the back of one competitive game that is some conclusion you have come to.
I could have told you that before we played our one competitive game so last night only confirmed rather than made up my mind.
Lost - Griffiths, Claros, Wotherspoon, Doyle, Maybury
Recruited - Craig, Tudur-Jones, Vine, Mullen
Defensive frailties not addressed, strikeforce a lot weaker, midfield probably static. There's still 6 weeks of the window left though.
Or we can stick our heads in the sand and pretend that, as things stand, we'll be challenging for second place....
19-07-2013, 12:30 PM
I could have told you that before we played our one competitive game so last night only confirmed rather than made up my mind.
Lost - Griffiths, Claros, Wotherspoon, Doyle, Maybury
Recruited - Craig, Tudur-Jones, Vine, Mullen
Defensive frailties not addressed, strikeforce a lot weaker, midfield probably static. There's still 6 weeks of the window left though.
Or we can stick our heads in the sand and pretend that, as things stand, we'll be challenging for second place....
So we're certs to be relegated then :boo hoo::eek::worried:
19-07-2013, 01:09 PM
So we're certs to be relegated then :boo hoo::eek::worried:
You should be a bit more positive. We finished seventh last season and are only marginally weaker at the moment.
19-07-2013, 03:35 PM
Last season the buzz phrase from quite a few seemed to be "Fenlon has made us harder to beat" or "Fenlon has made us tighter at the back". Neither of which I agreed with, and still have major doubts going in to the new season.
I hope there are still signings of real quality to come as I currently believe we will have a similar season to last, without the one man show that was Leigh. Which is a scary and depressing thought. An opinion that isn't solely based on tonight's result/performance.
Fenlon has made Hibs harder to beat, no question about it. in 11/12 season we lost 21 games, last season we lost 13 - a one-third reduction in a season is pretty clear progress. In fact, the last time we lost less than 13 games was the 2000/01 season.
Eternal Hibbie
19-07-2013, 06:34 PM
See this is the bit I just don't get with us, had we signed the two or three players we obviously need we may, just may have been in a far better situation going into the home leg of this tie - a few thousand more on the gate, better chance of going through to a very lucrative (possibly full house) game in the next round against Swansea, richer club, happy supporters, everyone's a winner and we need these players for the season ahead regardless.
We've known for a while now the Griffiths deal wasn't happening, didn't offer enough for Taylor and we're down to our umpteenth choice now.
Posted regarding this in the past but surely a wee bit investment before this game would have been sensible, possibly self-financing.
Tin hat time.
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
Greendub
19-07-2013, 06:43 PM
That's not to say we tried, players chose who they play for, going for obvious choices isn't going to help us because we're not alone in looking for them to sign.
have faith in Pat, too many people think we are doomed because we don't have another striker, just chill guys.
he has said he wants another player in, so lets just wait for that, then we can pass judgement.
IMO of course
19-07-2013, 07:24 PM
Just back.
Fantastic few days away :top marks
19-07-2013, 09:31 PM
See this is the bit I just don't get with us, had we signed the two or three players we obviously need we may, just may have been in a far better situation going into the home leg of this tie - a few thousand more on the gate, better chance of going through to a very lucrative (possibly full house) game in the next round against Swansea, richer club, happy supporters, everyone's a winner and we need these players for the season ahead regardless.
We've known for a while now the Griffiths deal wasn't happening, didn't offer enough for Taylor and we're down to our umpteenth choice now.
Posted regarding this in the past but surely a wee bit investment before this game would have been sensible, possibly self-financing.
Tin hat time.
I think you have a good point. R Petrie seems to have no concept of how to invest to enthuse. He would appear to work according to a rigid strict system - which is fine most of the time - but if just now and again he did something a little risky it might pay off in terms of supporters taking an interest.
Eternal Hibbie
19-07-2013, 09:40 PM
I think you have a good point. R Petrie seems to have no concept of how to invest to enthuse. He would appear to work according to a rigid strict system - which is fine most of the time - but if just now and again he did something a little risky it might pay off in terms of supporters taking an interest.
Hooray, thank you.
Removing my tin hat again.
19-07-2013, 09:46 PM
Hooray, thank you.
Removing my tin hat again.
Not wise on here mate, snipers everywhere..:greengrin
Up The Bracket
20-07-2013, 08:56 PM
Highlights anywhere?
21-07-2013, 05:02 AM
What on earth did you expect?
Maybe for Hibs to take the only decent tournament they're in this season seriously and at least recruit a goalscorer in time for the game?