View Full Version : Riordan playing for Dumbarton

18-07-2013, 11:26 AM
Just seen this on the BBC

Dumbarton say they are not in the market to sign former Hibs striker Derek Riordan, despite fielding him as a trialist in a recent friendly.

Mark79
18-07-2013, 11:27 AM
Think we should bring him back.

18-07-2013, 11:28 AM

Oh God, what have you started?! :shocked:

18-07-2013, 11:28 AM
Good luck to him.

Mark79
18-07-2013, 11:29 AM
Oh God, what have you started?! :shocked:

I reckon a ten pager.

Robinho08
18-07-2013, 11:31 AM

Agreed, on a pay per play deal. :cb

18-07-2013, 11:46 AM
Who was the friendly against and how did he do?

18-07-2013, 11:50 AM
Played against Brechin on Tuesday. Quote from the Dumbarton website "Gilhaney and Prunty gave way to Mitch Megginson and Derek Riordan. The latter has been training with Dumbarton as part of his fitness regime"

18-07-2013, 12:00 PM
Played against Brechin on Tuesday. Quote from the Dumbarton website "Gilhaney and Prunty gave way to Mitch Megginson and Derek Riordan. The latter has been training with Dumbarton as part of his fitness regime"

The website mentions that they are playing a closed doors game against Queens Park tonight. Reiterates that they are only offering Deek fitness and that he won't play.

Sounds like a couple of chances fell his way against Brechin...

It is positive for him, and Dumbarton I imagine, that he is training in that environment.

Nice one Ian.

18-07-2013, 12:05 PM
Would be a good move for him if he went there imo.

If he still has anything left he would score goalsfor fun and get his confidence up, he'd be playing for a guy he knows and a decent move is still there if he wants and earns it.

18-07-2013, 12:08 PM
Who was the friendly against and how did he do?

Non Hibs friendlies thread, page 8 :aok:

18-07-2013, 03:22 PM
Non Hibs friendlies thread, page 8 :aok:

:fishin: You caught one :greengrin

gillythehibby
18-07-2013, 03:36 PM
just to throw this out there.....

Has anybody had a definative answer from Paddy why the deeks is not at least getting to train or play for free, to at least give him a chance? I'm not saying we definately should, but unless Paddy has a master plan to bring Leigh back in a wee while, then surely a good player is not to be sniffed at. Would give us options as well. aye/naw ??

18-07-2013, 03:37 PM
Without starting a ten pager, I'd take him back on a pay as you play and have it written into his contract that if he's in any bother then he is sacked straight away.

Handy player to have in the team still. Not going to happen though.

Juice-Terry
18-07-2013, 03:42 PM
Bring him back. He WOULD do a job. FACT. END OF.

18-07-2013, 04:21 PM
Not good enough to sign for Dumbarton, but could still do a job for us IMO. :agree:

18-07-2013, 04:26 PM
Good luck to him.

And that is that
END OF THREAD PLEASE :rolleyes:

18-07-2013, 04:32 PM
:fishin: You caught one :greengrin

??

18-07-2013, 04:58 PM
And that is that

If only life were that simple...

:wink: :greengrin

18-07-2013, 04:59 PM
Agreed, on a pay per play deal. :cb

How much do you think he can afford to pay to play for us??

18-07-2013, 05:43 PM
And that is that

Until we actually sign a couple of real forwards, who can score goals regularly at a decent level, people like Riordan will still be discussed.

The fans can't help being desperate at the moment!

18-07-2013, 05:49 PM

Has anybody had a definative answer from Paddy why the deeks is not at least getting to train or play for free, to at least give him a chance? I'm not saying we definately should, but unless Paddy has a master plan to bring Leigh back in a wee while, then surely a good player is not to be sniffed at. Would give us options as well. aye/naw ??

It's probably because he's a striker who has scored one goal in two years, has failed to impress at his last three clubs.

He has nothing left to offer at SPL level.

18-07-2013, 06:14 PM
It's probably because he's a striker who has scored one goal in two years, has failed to impress at his last three clubs.

He has nothing left to offer at SPL level.

Sounds perfect for us.

19-07-2013, 06:13 AM
Might as well. :greengrin

Off the bar
19-07-2013, 06:39 AM
Fenlon out. Riordan in as player manager.

19-07-2013, 07:07 AM

Has anybody had a definative answer from Paddy why the deeks is not at least getting to train or play for free, to at least give him a chance? I'm not saying we definately should, but unless Paddy has a master plan to bring Leigh back in a wee while, then surely a good player is not to be sniffed at. Would give us options as well. aye/naw ??Derek would have a club if he was still this.