View Full Version : Dunbar End

Bobo
13-07-2013, 06:10 PM
Was walking through Lochend Park to the stadium today and noticed that the path from the park through the new houses to the back of the south stand is now open.

Anyway, I took this photo on the way, didn't realise that part of the old factory was still there.

13-07-2013, 06:41 PM
Was walking through Lochend Park to the stadium today and noticed that the path from the park through the new houses to the back of the south stand is now open.

Anyway, I took this photo on the way, didn't realise that part of the old factory was still there.

That brings back a lot of memories :thumbsup:

13-07-2013, 06:44 PM
Not seen that in years, :thumbsup: can you walk all the way round the ground now?

AngusHibby
13-07-2013, 06:50 PM
I am the grandson of James Dunbar, any questions about the company are welcome!

13-07-2013, 06:58 PM

Awesome.

13-07-2013, 07:01 PM
Not seen that in years, :thumbsup: can you walk all the way round the ground now?

give the guy a break eh, he's probably got things to do ya bam.

13-07-2013, 07:01 PM
Silly place to paint the name wi the windaes bein there ...must have been cooncil painters ...:crazy:

Bobo
13-07-2013, 07:03 PM

Yeh, you can get right round it but have to walk through the new flats at the south end to do it.

13-07-2013, 07:15 PM

Is there any amnesty for all those much younger hibbies who used to climb the gates and nick the bottles?

13-07-2013, 07:17 PM
give the guy a break eh, he's probably got things to do ya bam.

Is there any amnesty for all those much younger hibbies who used to climb the gates and nick the bottles?

:lips seal

AngusHibby
13-07-2013, 07:20 PM

There is a bounty on all of their heads

13-07-2013, 07:23 PM

Could you get me a dozen bottles of Red Kola.

The pish ye get nowadays.

:sick:

AngusHibby
13-07-2013, 07:35 PM
Could you get me a dozen bottles of Red Kola.

The pish ye get nowadays.

I'm afraid not, the recipe's probably kicking about somewhere though. I'm guessing you aren't too committed to great tasting red kola though, making your own batch would be true dedication.

13-07-2013, 07:37 PM

Why do you not get juice lorries anymore?

The juice lorry coming round was one of the best parts of the week as a bairn.

13-07-2013, 07:40 PM

I'm guessing Dunbars was available in Scotland only?

The juice lorry was Alpine in the pool when I was a kid.

AngusHibby
13-07-2013, 07:44 PM

The company was bought over by Dunn's in the late 70's early 80's so i'm afraid with the death of the company, came the death of the juice lorries

Lanzahibby
13-07-2013, 07:45 PM
I'm guessing Dunbars was available in Scotland only?

The juice lorry was Alpine in the pool when I was a kid.

I remember Alpine and Bon-Accord. Oh happy days :agree:

https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/318861_525455627482109_160856698_n.jpg

13-07-2013, 08:04 PM

https://sphotos-a.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-ash4/318861_525455627482109_160856698_n.jpg

Round our way Bon Accord ruled the roost but they charged about 18p per bottle with a 5p deposit which was too pricey for my mum and dad so we never were allowed to use them. Then Alpine came along charging 13p with a penny deposit and suddenly we were allowed fizzy juice every week . A few years later in my first job I did the banking for the local Bon Accord firm, and the amount of cash they brought in each week was amazing.

13-07-2013, 08:09 PM

Did he supply the glass that was cemented in to the top of the wall at the Dunbar end, if so he is due me compo. :thumbsup:

13-07-2013, 08:20 PM
There is a bounty on all of their heads

Obviously if I see any of them I will let you know straight away!

AngusHibby
13-07-2013, 08:22 PM
Did he supply the glass that was cemented in to the top of the wall at the Dunbar end, if so he is due me compo. :thumbsup:

He is due you it, but he's deid. Hard lines mate

13-07-2013, 08:32 PM

Oh Christ! I remember those days, you have just transported me back in time.

13-07-2013, 08:38 PM
This picture might be of interest10507

Ricky Bobby
13-07-2013, 08:49 PM
Nae juice of a lorry for me when i was a kid.

https://encrypted-tbn3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQeqSf656cZEQe0jQ03w8nEOi-dzK0ZIyfjnm4kF1N3XVBMYcJI

My maw was too tight.

13-07-2013, 08:49 PM
That's a lot of angst right there.

13-07-2013, 09:00 PM
I remember the excitement when the juice lorry arrived, my favorite was pinaple.
I reckon soda stream was the final nail in the coffin for juice lorrys

Johnny Clash
14-07-2013, 01:05 PM
Aw... I mind a bunch of us sweaty first years at Leithy leaving Hawkhill playing fields one summer afternoon and stumbled on a 'juice lorry' parked up outside the sunblest factory! We were like blue and white locusts!

14-07-2013, 01:35 PM

The juice of my entire youth. My dad sold Dunbar's in his shop in Porty, first and probably still best:not worth

14-07-2013, 01:44 PM
What's all this talk of 'Dunbar' and 'Juice Lorries'?

Couldn't you just go to the shop and get Coke for 59p? :devil:

14-07-2013, 01:48 PM

The same Jim Dunbar that used to live in Pitlochry?

14-07-2013, 01:58 PM
Hendrys....... #1 :aok:

14-07-2013, 02:02 PM

Ah memories. The Bon-Accord lorry would come round Muirhouse on a Saturday morning and you'd stock up on your juice for the week.

Strangely enough the Bon-Accord lorry came up in conversation just last week with somebody.

HibsMax
14-07-2013, 02:04 PM
Memories. :). Alpine and Bonacord both frequented out area. Silly question perhaps but I've been a way for a while. Do you guys still get milk delivery?

14-07-2013, 02:16 PM
Memories. :). Alpine and Bonacord both frequented out area. Silly question perhaps but I've been a way for a while. Do you guys still get milk delivery?

Nah, not seen a milk cart for years.

My auld boy used to get a shovel full of dung after the Co-Op horse cart had gone up the street, for his roses in the front garden!

14-07-2013, 02:32 PM

I've seen bottles of milk on folks doorstops now and again but it's no common.

AngusHibby
14-07-2013, 02:36 PM
The same Jim Dunbar that used to live in Pitlochry?

That same one! Did you know him?

Hibs07p
14-07-2013, 02:56 PM
Hendrys....... #1 :aok:

Globes was pretty good too. Hendry's in Bowling Green Street, Globes in West Bowling Green Street, we were spoilt for choice. In response to the Leithy assault on a juice lorry at sunblest, Bonnington primary football team used to get the 34 / 35 bus up to Hawkhill. There was a juice lorry parked at the colonies in Lochend Road beside the bus stop, and as it was near our departure point, we used to stand at the "open end" ready to get off. That lorry lost a few bottles that day as well.

14-07-2013, 03:06 PM
That same one! Did you know him?
Yes. He was at Edradour Distillery the same time my wife was there. Jim was well liked tour guide.

14-07-2013, 03:24 PM

I do :greengrin

Minder
14-07-2013, 03:35 PM
Round our way Bon Accord ruled the roost but they charged about 18p per bottle with a 5p deposit which was too pricey for my mum and dad so we never were allowed to use them. Then Alpine came along charging 13p with a penny deposit and suddenly we were allowed fizzy juice every week . A few years later in my first job I did the banking for the local Bon Accord firm, and the amount of cash they brought in each week was amazing.

Brings back memories of the Morris dynasty-wonder what happened to the moggies.

AngusHibby
14-07-2013, 03:44 PM
Yes. He was at Edradour Distillery the same time my wife was there. Jim was well liked tour guide.

Fond memories of seeing him whizz off to the distillery on his moped while wearing his kilt

Also worth noting it would have been his 82nd birthday today!

tamsonsbairn
14-07-2013, 04:34 PM
when i was but a youth i used to work on the juice lorry's. if i remember it was Robbs from Ballgreen that used to be the ones that would go round the schemes selling juice. you had to be fit in those days especially if there was a lot of stairs on the round. i used to work a thursday night and a saturday afternoon, and if i remember right the wages were about £3.00 for both days. I think Alpine priced them out of the market. :pfgwa

14-07-2013, 06:42 PM
Brings back memories of the Morris dynasty-wonder what happened to the moggies.I'd be very surprised if they didn't end up doing time.

14-07-2013, 06:46 PM
I've seen bottles of milk on folks doorstops now and again but it's no common.

My mother still gets milk delivered. As you say though, it's not common any more, so you won't see an old-school milk float. These days it's a guy in a van covering a much bigger area.

14-07-2013, 06:59 PM
My mother still gets milk delivered. As you say though, it's not common any more, so you won't see an old-school milk float. These days it's a guy in a van covering a much bigger area.

Milk floats still going strong around here.

14-07-2013, 08:36 PM

ahh, what memories....

my old neighbour had weekly purchase from those very lorries. was always envious of them getting the quality fizzy drinks

14-07-2013, 08:58 PM
Could you get me a dozen bottles of Red Kola

Cream Soda

14-07-2013, 09:03 PM
The Alpine Bottles were great for home brew, the top had a rubber seal inserted so we had 40 bottles we kept for years for my Dad's home brew.

Miguel
14-07-2013, 10:55 PM
Juice lorries were still going into the late 1990s around my way, but haven't seen a milk float in years and didn't think you could still get it delivered. They used horse and cart around Bryson Road/Yeaman Place well into the 1980s. Fish van disappeared from street in early 2000s, but still calls at Craigentinny shops one afternoon a week (Thursdays I think). Find ice cream van coverage very patchy now too - they seem to have gone downhill since they were banned from selling fags. Lastly, the best chips I've ever had came from the vans that used to come to Niddrie in the 1960s...
A mate of mine got made redundant from Drybrough Brewery in the 1980s and got turned down for a mobile off license he planned to open with his pay off. Seemed a good idea at the time..,

14-07-2013, 11:33 PM
Juice lorries were still going into the late 1990s around my way, but haven't seen a milk float in years and didn't think you could still get it delivered. They used horse and cart around Bryson Road/Yeaman Place well into the 1980s. Fish van disappeared from street in early 2000s, but still calls at Craigentinny shops one afternoon a week (Thursdays I think). Find ice cream van coverage very patchy now too - they seem to have gone downhill since they were banned from selling fags. Lastly, the best chips I've ever had came from the vans that used to come to Niddrie in the 1960s...
A mate of mine got made redundant from Drybrough Brewery in the 1980s and got turned down for a mobile off license he planned to open with his pay off. Seemed a good idea at the time..,

Fish van at fourboys and the top of Mountcastle still around.

Nae traditional milk floats but Wiseman van makes a racket about midnight each night delivering milk to a few houses round my way.

Also still have a regular ice cream van.

Sadly no Bon accord though...like a few on here I mind them well....mainly cause my parents were too tight to EVER get anything from it. Alpine arrived later and seem to remember they had strange white tops.

Mobile offy....not the worst idea I've ever heard!!!

Seanair
16-07-2013, 08:33 PM

Seem to remember that GLOBE was the big rival of Dunbar in Leith and they had lorries. Also think that they made the juice in Bowling Green Street.
Which company made AMERICAN CREAM SODA?

16-07-2013, 08:53 PM
Seem to remember that GLOBE was the big rival of Dunbar in Leith and they had lorries. Also think that they made the juice in Bowling Green Street.

I think it was Hen(d)ry's :confused: :greengrin

Tinribs
16-07-2013, 10:37 PM

Big thanks for that pic mate, really did bring a tear to my eye :big grin:

My Mum let my brother and i get a couple of bottles of American cream soda from those lorries every week...as you said, happy days :agree:

17-07-2013, 08:44 AM
Cream Soda

Bona-cola.

(s****** :rolleyes:)

Miguel
17-07-2013, 10:47 PM

I thought it was Barr's (who still do).
Perfect for an ice cream float!
If anyone has a can of Barr's special cream soda, name your price!