View Full Version : Match Updates Raith Rovers 0 v 0 Hibs

muthillhibee
11-07-2013, 09:57 PM
Anybody planning to be dancing in the streets of Raith tomorrow night?

Will we be made to sit in the away end behind the goals? Have a thing that we don't like going behind goals.

11-07-2013, 10:18 PM
I'll be there.

5.42 train from Waverley, time for a pint in Raith.

I'd assume we will be behind the goals, reckon we'll have decent numbers.

stormchild
11-07-2013, 10:23 PM
Ye will be there :thumbsup:

11-07-2013, 10:25 PM
Yep, can't wait!

muthillhibee
11-07-2013, 10:26 PM
How many new signings will we see though?

11-07-2013, 10:39 PM
I'll be there :thumbsup: Cannae wait.

11-07-2013, 10:41 PM
£50 package if you were planning on making a Night of it, seen as it is Friday:

http://www.raithrovers.net/9185/friendly-fun.htm

Due to the amount of requests we have received we have decided to offer hospitality at some of our scheduled friendly matches.

The package is £50 per person and you will receive:

Match ticket
Match programme and team sheet for each guest
Full complimentary bar
Buffet
Half time snacks
Reserved seating in the main stand
This hospitality offer is available for the following games:

Sheffield United – Wednesday 10th July
Hibernian – Friday 12th July
Hearts – Wednesday 17th July
To book your place please contact the Commercial Team on 01592 263514 (between 9am and 4pm) or email commercial@raithrovers.net

11-07-2013, 10:44 PM
+1

12-07-2013, 05:53 AM
With all the excitement about player signings, we still have a game tonight

Raith Rovers (or Faith Rivers as my iPad just tried to autocorrect) vs Hibs

Stark's Park k.o. at 7:45

£10 for adults and £5 for concessions

Should be another good weather day so looking forward to it

12-07-2013, 06:28 AM
4 of us going.

12-07-2013, 06:29 AM
£50 package if you were planning on making a Night of it, seen as it is Friday:

http://www.raithrovers.net/9185/friendly-fun.htm

Due to the amount of requests we have received we have decided to offer hospitality at some of our scheduled friendly matches.

The package is £50 per person and you will receive:

Match ticket
Match programme and team sheet for each guest
Full complimentary bar
Buffet
Half time snacks
Reserved seating in the main stand
This hospitality offer is available for the following games:

Sheffield United – Wednesday 10th July
Hibernian – Friday 12th July
Hearts – Wednesday 17th July
To book your place please contact the Commercial Team on 01592 263514 (between 9am and 4pm) or email commercial@raithrovers.net

that's a great deal.

Hibby Riki
12-07-2013, 06:46 AM
Yip looking forward to it :flag:

12-07-2013, 07:09 AM
Are we adding on the extra half from the abandoned monsoon-fest under Yogi? HT 1-0 floodlight failure. Tade scored after a mixup between Makalamby and Gattuseauwhatsisface.

12-07-2013, 07:25 AM
Aye 3 of us heading thru :greengrin

12-07-2013, 07:38 AM
I was all set for this tonight, howeve, now working a bit later, so I'll be relying on good ol' .Net updates for scores.

WellingtonHibby
12-07-2013, 07:58 AM
Fifty bucks for a free bar...? Smash that

12-07-2013, 08:17 AM
Won't find out the score tonight until I land back in Glasgow :(

12-07-2013, 08:43 AM
I'll be making the long trek from Buckhaven

Teapot
12-07-2013, 09:34 AM
Really looking forward to this. The Rovers have made a few good signings and should be a good test for us.

Getting there nice and early for a good few beers as well :aok:

12-07-2013, 09:41 AM
Just read on twitter that apparently the guy that didnt give Sparkys free kick is running the line tonight......:jmcp:

12-07-2013, 09:46 AM
Just read on twitter that apparently the guy that didnt give Sparkys free kick is running the line tonight......:jmcp:

Hopefully he can hold off long enough and save his kit-kat for half time.

12-07-2013, 10:26 AM
FranckSuzy is going alongwith the West Lower masseeve! :greengrin

Edit: Fishy site info re roadworks and TITP traffic http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130712/raith-rovers-ticket-travel-info_2262950_3235822

12-07-2013, 10:30 AM
Aye 3 of us heading thru :greengrin

Ditto.

Greendub
12-07-2013, 11:16 AM
Hibs TV commentary?

for the hibbies all over the world?

Hibby Gav
12-07-2013, 11:29 AM
Hibs TV commentary?

for the hibbies all over the world?

Yes...Live audio commentary is on Hibs TV from 7:45pm

Greendub
12-07-2013, 11:47 AM
Yes...Live audio commentary is on Hibs TV from 7:45pm

Excellent, cheers mate :thumbsup:

Hibby Gav
12-07-2013, 12:06 PM
Excellent, cheers mate :thumbsup:

no problem :aok:

12-07-2013, 01:06 PM
Stuck at work just now and it's very busy so I don't know what time I'll finish at. If I finish before 5 or 5:15 then I'll scoot up to the Waverley with my little brother but not sure. Would like to see a good team if we go, so I'd go for: Murdoch, Mullen, Forster, McGivern, Stevenson, Harris, Tudur-Jones, Craig, Stanton, Handling, Caldwell. And, then bring on the likes of McPake, Hanlon, Thomson etc... :agree:

12-07-2013, 03:17 PM
Didn't we take about 3,000 to a friendly at EEP last season? I wonder how many we'll get at Starks Park.

12-07-2013, 03:43 PM
Didn't we take about 3,000 to a friendly at EEP last season? I wonder how many we'll get at Starks Park.

I'll wager we'll have more there tonight than at almost all away games next season.

A wee break and the sunshine with decent prices eill attract plenty along.

LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 03:51 PM

A lot more if it had been Sat at 3pm.

12-07-2013, 04:26 PM

will McManus play tonight?

12-07-2013, 04:44 PM
A hope we keep focused on the match and dont get carried away with transfers

12-07-2013, 04:59 PM
Let's see who watches the game from the stand ;)

12-07-2013, 05:19 PM

Yes, if this was 1990

12-07-2013, 05:57 PM
No sign of KT or Vine (i may be blind though...)!

Notahappyhibee
12-07-2013, 05:58 PM
http://img.tapatalk.com/d/13/07/13/jeqa4atu.jpg
I'm wearing shorts for a evening game in fife unheard of GGTTH !!!!

12-07-2013, 05:58 PM
Hibernian: Williams, Stevenson, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Taiwo, Jones, Craig, Handling, Caldwell Subs: Murdoch, Gold, Horribine, Cairney, Donaldson, Forster, Mullen, Stanton

Notahappyhibee
12-07-2013, 05:59 PM
No sign of KT or Vine (i may be blind though...)!

I don't even know what Vine looks like so could say if he here or not

12-07-2013, 06:05 PM
Don't think that will be far off the team for malmo tbh. Looks ok, but would rather see a right footer in at right back. Pretty young bench too.

12-07-2013, 06:07 PM
When did we sign Kirk Brandon!

12-07-2013, 06:08 PM
Foster is very unlucky to not be a starting CH ....

12-07-2013, 06:14 PM
10501Is Miss Hibs in attendance ?

12-07-2013, 06:21 PM
Hibernian: Williams, Stevenson, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Taiwo, Jones, Craig, Handling, Caldwell Subs: Murdoch, Gold, Horribine, Cairney, Donaldson, Forster, Mullen, Stanton

happy enough if that's the starting XI in august

12-07-2013, 06:22 PM

Looking at the team lines he's not...

12-07-2013, 06:23 PM
10501Is Miss Hibs in attendance ?

Helen Flanagan?

;)

DAVE1875
12-07-2013, 06:25 PM

Sort of looks like Raul Meireles, has the same what looks like a dead rat haircut (at least he did when I last saw him)

Dunderhall
12-07-2013, 06:26 PM
Don't think that will be far off the team for malmo tbh. Looks ok, but would rather see a right footer in at right back. Pretty young bench too.
Agree with RB, would like to see Mullen get some decent time tonight as that starting 11 has to be close to Pat's choice at this time.

12-07-2013, 06:29 PM
Filling up nicely.

Steak pies highly recommended. Spoke to Matty afore he bought his usual dozen. Heard many a groan from those stuck behind him in the queue :wink:

It must be the Fife holidays as Rovers have about 50 fans scattered around their end.

Mon the Cabbage :thumbsup:

the stig
12-07-2013, 06:31 PM
Nice warm weather , good hibs crowd, let's hope for a good performance! GGTTH!

12-07-2013, 06:32 PM
Filling up nicely.

Steak pies highly recommended. Spoke to Matty afore he bought his usual dozen. Heard many a groan from those stuck behind him in the queue :wink:

It must be the Fife holidays as Rovers have about 50 fans scattered around their end.

Mon the Cabbage :thumbsup:

Steak pies are good... Can't comment on Matty, I was in the queue early! :-)

12-07-2013, 06:40 PM
Calum Booth playing?

12-07-2013, 06:43 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 55m

Subs: Murdoch, Gold, Horribine, Cairney, Donaldson, Forster, Mullen, Stanton #hibees
Expand
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 56m

Hibernian: Williams, Stevenson, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Taiwo, Jones, Craig, Handling, Caldwell #hibees

12-07-2013, 06:43 PM
Calum Booth playing?

Yeah

the stig
12-07-2013, 06:45 PM
Looks 442. Craig left Harris right.

12-07-2013, 06:48 PM
Great Hibs support.

Lively start from both teams, one good run from Harris, no real chances.

nribs
12-07-2013, 06:52 PM
No Robertson?

Stringer
12-07-2013, 06:55 PM

That looks horribly like 4 4 2 .

Plus Forster should be starting.

12-07-2013, 06:58 PM

Horribly? Also, its a warm up game!!!!

12-07-2013, 07:00 PM
No Robertson?

He's injured, back spasm

12-07-2013, 07:01 PM

Id have Forster ahead of Hanlon too..Just a friendly right enough but id bw thinking about my starting 11 for the new season.

12-07-2013, 07:01 PM

Typical Fenlon. Get him oot, he has lost the plot!

the stig
12-07-2013, 07:02 PM
Its actually more 4411. Handling playing a bit behind Caldwell. Raith with a chance after long ball. Poor shot easily saved.

12-07-2013, 07:02 PM
Linesman getting a bit abuse. Which is nice.

Stringer
12-07-2013, 07:03 PM
Horribly? Also, its a warm up game!!!!

Aye, 4 4 2 is rank.

Also, we should take warm up games seriously considering we are in Europe.

12-07-2013, 07:04 PM
Linesman getting a bit abuse. Which is nice.

Yas! Hibees!

12-07-2013, 07:05 PM

It is - and agreed.

nribs
12-07-2013, 07:05 PM
He's injured, back spasm cheers

12-07-2013, 07:06 PM
Aye, 4 4 2 is rank.

Yep but also about getting squad ready for season. I think Forster has played every pre season game so far.

12-07-2013, 07:07 PM
It is - and agreed.

So McPake shouldn't bother then?

12-07-2013, 07:08 PM
Yas! Hibees!

Don't post things like that! I thought we scored

hibee19
12-07-2013, 07:09 PM
Aye, 4 4 2 is rank.

Surely you choose a formation based on the players you have at your disposal?

Gibby the Hibby
12-07-2013, 07:11 PM

me too....never post that!

12-07-2013, 07:12 PM

me too....never post that!

I quite clearly quoted a post celebrating the abuse of a presumably deserving assistant referee. Do pay attention. :cb

Gibby the Hibby
12-07-2013, 07:13 PM
Typical Fenlon. Get him oot, he has lost the plot!

easy now..bit harsh

12-07-2013, 07:13 PM
Williams obviously not spent the summer working on dealing with cross balls.

12-07-2013, 07:14 PM
So McPake shouldn't bother then?

I was thinking RB - is that ok Arsene? :wink: :greengrin

Gibby the Hibby
12-07-2013, 07:14 PM
I quite clearly quoted a post celebrating the abuse of a presumably deserving assistant referee. Do pay attention. :cb

do respond appropriately then ;0)

12-07-2013, 07:20 PM
Get on wi the match updates!!!!

Notahappyhibee
Seeing nothing to get excited about :-(

Celtc losing to Berlin's other team at half time.

12-07-2013, 07:21 PM
Get on wi the match updates!!!!

Not a lot to get on with.

Pretty poor stuff so far, standard pre season.

12-07-2013, 07:22 PM
Pretty dull so far.
P.s. only had 1 pie.

No - very typical pre-season friendly (so far)

Gibby the Hibby

apt username the now then, lets hope that changes soonhttp://1.2.3.11/bmi/www.hibs.net/images/smilies/fahne8.gif

12-07-2013, 07:23 PM
It's a bit warm, so I guess there aren't any gritters driving by 😃

Gibby the Hibby
12-07-2013, 07:24 PM

they are playin awful over in germany, I read that team they got humped wi hadnt won at home in 15months...frinedly I know but still....http://1.2.3.12/bmi/www.hibs.net/images/smilies/greengrin2.gif

Stringer
12-07-2013, 07:25 PM
Surely you choose a formation based on the players you have at your disposal?

4 4 2 isn't the only option.

We need to pack the midfield against Malmo.

12-07-2013, 07:25 PM
Tom Taiwo putting himself about and always available for a pass.Pretty decent.

Notahappyhibee
12-07-2013, 07:26 PM
Louis is going to get a nose bleed playing higher than ever. good from their keeper

12-07-2013, 07:26 PM
they are playin awful over in germany, I read that team they got humped wi hadnt won at home in 15months...frinedly I know but still....http://1.2.3.12/bmi/www.hibs.net/images/smilies/greengrin2.gif

Good.

Lesser Greens.

Notahappyhibee
12-07-2013, 07:29 PM
Half time nil nil

the stig
Half time. Pretty dull

Yet most of last year 442 was the only option wanted on here.

hibee19
12-07-2013, 07:31 PM

Away from home at least but setting up against Raith the way we're going to set up against Malmo wouldn't help prepare for that game.

Twiglet
It's a bit warm, so I guess there aren't any gritters driving by 😃

Nope. None sighted. Couple of trains though. :-D

Stringer

Most people on hear want Deek back. Your point is?

Stringer
12-07-2013, 07:33 PM
Away from home at least but setting up against Raith the way we're going to set up against Malmo wouldn't help prepare for that game.

Why not? Gets players used to the playing style.

Gibby the Hibby
12-07-2013, 07:33 PM

not in malmo though. sure most agree but when we get another striker .....

Tollhouse Hibee
12-07-2013, 07:35 PM
Why not? Gets players used to the playing style.

We are pretty awful tonight. Mostly long balls with an occasional foray by Harris or handling. Mcpake and Hanlon pretty poor with their 2 big strikers. On this show we will really struggle next wk

Gibby the Hibby
12-07-2013, 07:36 PM

wantin deek back is crazy imo

Stringer
12-07-2013, 07:38 PM
We are pretty awful tonight. Mostly long balls with an occasional foray by Harris or handling. Mcpake and Hanlon pretty poor with their 2 big strikers. On this show we will really struggle next wk

Not surprised. I am really worried about next week.

I am going to the home tie, hopefully that game will mean something.

12-07-2013, 07:39 PM

His point is most people on here last season were asking we play 4-4-2.

FWIW very few wanted or want Deek back

12-07-2013, 07:40 PM
2 pies and a coke for a fiver. Pies are a 7.5/10.

Highlight of the game so far.

12-07-2013, 07:40 PM
Does anyone know if McManus is at the game tonight? & how are OTJ & Craig playing, decent?

Stringer
12-07-2013, 07:42 PM
wantin deek back is crazy imo

I agree. I was pointing out some .net posters have some insane opinions.

Not mentioning names :whistle:

green glory
Fairly dismayed to see a UKIP advertising board. Turnbull Hutton just went down in my estimation.

Gibby the Hibby
His point is most people on here last season were asking we play 4-4-2.

FWIW very few wanted or want Deek back

well aware of his poiny, but cheers, most were screaming for 442 to give LG a partner las season..

12-07-2013, 07:44 PM
Cairney for Harris @ HT

12-07-2013, 07:45 PM
Hopefully Sam Stanton gets on.

12-07-2013, 07:46 PM

Now 2-0. 'Mon the Union.

12-07-2013, 07:48 PM
McPake just over with a header.

12-07-2013, 07:50 PM
Front two linking up well.

12-07-2013, 07:51 PM
Front two linking up well.

Handling needs to be more direct imo.

Really, really tentative.

12-07-2013, 07:57 PM
Raith looking the more likely..

12-07-2013, 07:58 PM
Not totally sure what Tudor Jones is going to bring to the party based on tonight if i'm honest.

12-07-2013, 08:00 PM
GIE THE BA TAE REILLY,,,,RP,,,muttering,,,weve scheduled a flight SWEDEN FOR THIS????????,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,:greengrin:greengr in:greengrin:greengrin

12-07-2013, 08:04 PM
Forster for McPake

Twiglet
12-07-2013, 08:04 PM
Not totally sure what Tudor Jones is going to bring to the party based on tonight if i'm honest.

He played well against Dumbarton. Not really getting a chance to get into the game the way we're playing.

12-07-2013, 08:06 PM
He played well against Dumbarton. Not really getting a chance to get into the game the way we're playing.

Agree he was ok against Dumbarton but he seems anotherbin the steady yet unspectacular mode.

12-07-2013, 08:10 PM
Horribine for Taiwo

12-07-2013, 08:10 PM

Aerial presence. :dunno:
He is a good player, but with Thomson supposedly signing, Claros potentially coming back (Honduran reports) and with Tawio and Robertson already in the squad, it did surprise me when we signed him.

12-07-2013, 08:18 PM
Half decent chance for Cairney.

Forster looked cool and composed since coming on.

12-07-2013, 08:18 PM
Now 2-0. 'Mon the Union.

Full time, Lessers beat 3-0.

12-07-2013, 08:21 PM
is this PFs tactics WHERE MALMO think its gonna be EASY,,,then we will unleash our mystery strikers,,,never mind its all a big training exercise:wink::wink::wink:
have the yams went bust yet????? they still cannae be going yet shorely:aok::aok::aok:
bt

12-07-2013, 08:21 PM
Full time, Lessers beat 3-0.

They've been pummeled so far in pre-season:cb

12-07-2013, 08:22 PM
Raith should have scored. Guy hit it early and it was a real chance, luckily for us he delayed to take the extra touch.

12-07-2013, 08:26 PM
Zzzzzzzz

Att: 2,050

12-07-2013, 08:27 PM
Somebody really needs to tell them to have a shot at goal.

So hesistant.

12-07-2013, 08:31 PM
Pretty dull fare.

4/10.

12-07-2013, 08:32 PM
FT: 0-0 :rolleyes:

12-07-2013, 08:35 PM
Will there be bloodletting or did we avert that by not conceeding?

Nothing quite like a bit of blood letting afore a European tie ;)

LeighLoyal
Two strikers please Petrie.

Somebody really needs to tell them to have a shot at goal.

So hesistant.

Maybe were looking too be the DRAW KINGS,,,Dumbarton,,now Roth Ravers,,,,Malmo for the treble chance!!!!!!!!! EUFA CUP WON by penalties,,,,BRILLIANT STUFFF,,,,:aok::aok::aok::aok:
BT

12-07-2013, 08:36 PM
Couple of strikers please, Pat.

12-07-2013, 08:36 PM
Will there be bloodletting or did we avert that by not conceeding?

Nothing quite like a bit of blood letting afore a European tie ;)

Can we not have a wee bloodletting? Pleeeease?

12-07-2013, 08:37 PM
Can we not have a wee bloodletting? Pleeeease?

Aw ok right who be the sacrificial yam?

Hibstrooper
12-07-2013, 08:38 PM
Couple of strikers please, Pat.

Need it to be a busy couple of hours for Rod considering we can only register one player for Europe after today and still no news on Thomson or Vine

12-07-2013, 08:39 PM
It's clear that we're going to be struggling for goals.

Either we get a couple of decent forwards in, or we'll be in for a mediocre season at best.

12-07-2013, 08:39 PM
Been to more than my fair share of dreadful pre-season friendlies over the years (hence why I don't go to them anymore) and yet seen us have a decent season when the real stuff starts, so I wouldn't read too much into tonights game.

12-07-2013, 08:41 PM
Need it to be a busy couple of hours for Rod considering we can only register one player for Europe after today and still no news on Thomson or Vine

Why do I get the impression (too early to tell with PF) that previous managers from mixu on have been forced to play the likes of (Keenan/Morias - sorry) to almost demonstrate to Rod - see they just can't cut the mustard? Am I the only one? Why else persist ?

12-07-2013, 08:42 PM
Good work out, no injuries, no freak result, players getting to know each other, getting steadily fitter - job done, results whilst important in any game, absolutely not the be all and end all pre-season - Celtic have had a calamitous pre season but will be champs easily again. Actually got me into a heated debate with someone about the Beeb's fascination with Mixu's 'can't score a goal' pre season - not one negative vibe from the boys at the Been about Lenny's Hapless Heroes this pre season - typical !

12-07-2013, 08:47 PM
So Speedway has Rowan Vine signed as you stated earlier or are you talking nonsense as usual?

12-07-2013, 08:52 PM
Sign a striker Rod to shut up these moany *******s :greengrin

12-07-2013, 08:52 PM
Sack the Board.

12-07-2013, 08:54 PM
If you're looking in Rod, I'm available and not terribly expensive. More of a number 10, but if you need me to lead the line then I will.

I've already bought this year's home kit, so a few quid saved there. Look after the pennies, eh Rod?

12-07-2013, 08:54 PM
FFS, the Europa league is a wee bonus. we might get 1 or 2 rounds max. PF has to get the team ready for Motherwell in 3 weeks time. But even then the transfer window is open for another 6 weeks. Far to early for crap like this

Precisely.

12-07-2013, 09:00 PM
Sack the Board.Got my new ST yesterday and I'm sending it back the morn. :agree:

12-07-2013, 09:00 PM
I think we knew that we needed a couple of new strikers before tonight's match anyway so nothing's really changed.

We're not going to start the season with just Ross Caldwell and Danny Handling available to go up front, the club will be fully aware of what's required.

I won't be getting too uptight about the score in a meaningless pre-season kickabout.

12-07-2013, 09:04 PM
It's fair to say we lacked a bit up front but can I
Say I am really really disappointed at the comments
From some of the Hibs fans tonite.

Dear dear why go if that's all you are going to do the whole game

12-07-2013, 09:06 PM
FFS, the Europa league is a wee bonus. we might get 1 or 2 rounds max. PF has to get the team ready for Motherwell in 3 weeks time. But even then the transfer window is open for another 6 weeks. Far to early for crap like this

I've got mixed feelings on this one lucky.

On one hand you are right, Motherwell on August 4th and the rest of August to bring players in.

On the other hand if Hibs aren't going to make the effort to put out a competitive team to try and get through a couple of rounds then come out and tell the fans that. Then it would save the guys trying to work out the best way to get to Malmo to follow a club who basically aren't interested.

We make a big thing out of qualifying for Europe (which it is in my eyes) and I will feel let down if we don't get a striker or two in to help the laddies. We have known for months that Sparky was iffy and that Doyle and Kuqi were going.

I'm hoping we have already registered a couple and are just waiting to announce them.

Bob Box Fish
12-07-2013, 09:07 PM
How did booth and Craig perform tonight?

12-07-2013, 09:16 PM
Devils advocate time. OK we didn't get a win tonight , but also we didn't lose either.

Maybe the lads put in a shift, maybe they didn't. However what would we all prefer, they knock their pan in playing a friendly, and maybe pick up a few injuries, or they play a game, keeping up fitness but not taking any risks knowing we have a euro tie to play.

Maybe even a little reverse psychology for any Malmo staff looking in??

As for me, I'm still trying to stay positive, I'd love to see a couple of new signings (strikers) as much as anyone, but I'm not writing off the team.

I've got mixed feelings on this one lucky.

On one hand you are right, Motherwell on August 4th and the rest of August to bring players in.

On the other hand if Hibs aren't going to make the effort to put out a competitive team to try and get through a couple of rounds then come out and tell the fans that. Then it would save the guys trying to work out the best way to get to Malmo to follow a club who basically aren't interested.

We make a big thing out of qualifying for Europe (which it is in my eyes) and I will feel let down if we don't get a striker or two in to help the laddies. We have known for months that Sparky was iffy and that Doyle and Kuqi were going.

I'm hoping we have already registered a couple and are just waiting to announce them.

Pat has said it. Priority is right players for long term and not for the European games.

Feed McGraw
Sack the Board.Yeah, your tongue is in your cheek Andy, but if it wasn`t for John Park`s talent spotting making them money, this non football board probably would`ve ( should`ve) been sacked a couple of years ago. Sadly for them and us, John is long gone to the lesser greens.

erskine-hibby
12-07-2013, 09:23 PM
So had we won 10-0 tonight all would have rosey in the garden?
Friendlies are just that, friendlies. Meaningless as far as results go.
Worrying though that we haven't got more strikers in. We can't afford to rely on the 2 young guys, unfair.

12-07-2013, 09:24 PM
Not just forwards.

Need someone with a bit craft and guile as well.

12-07-2013, 09:30 PM
Pat has said it. Priority is right players for long term and not for the European games.

I understand that Andy but European football is a big thing for many Hibs fans and a guilt edged opportunity to try and coin a few quid into the coffers.

12-07-2013, 09:30 PM
Not just forwards.

Need someone with a bit craft and guile as well.

Zemmama :greengrin

12-07-2013, 09:32 PM
Zemmama :greengrinsomebody who did it every week or at least every other week would be better.

12-07-2013, 09:39 PM

Yeh ....... exactly

Exactly why outside of Celtic's recent efforts Scotland's stock in European football has fallen to about the same level as Iceland.

We are never, ever going to win the league so it doesnt matter a bugger how long we wait to sign a striker as far as that is concerned.

We had Leigh Griffiths ( a great striker ) up front in the last two Scottish Cup finals and never even got close.

We havn't made a dent in the League cup since 2007 and if PFs team selection against QOTS last season is anything to go by its not high on his list of priorities.

So the whole point in having decent players, the right players must be to finish high enough up the SPL to qualify for the Europa Leage. But we are already there now !!! ................ so why is it OK to treat it as " a wee bonus " when our only reasonable measure of success for next season is to qualify for the self same competition?

Nobody is pretending we will ever have a hope of getting to the latter stages of the Europa league, but we must at least show some ambition to try and at least make the group stages .... if not then whats the bloody point !!!

I mean .... What is the bloody point !!!!!

12-07-2013, 09:44 PM
Yeh ....... exactly

Exactly why outside of Celtic's recent efforts Scotland's stock in European football has fallen to about the same level as Iceland.

We are never, ever going to win the league so it doesnt matter a bugger how long we wait to sign a striker as far as that is concerned.

We had Leigh Griffiths ( a great striker ) up front in the last two Scottish Cup finals and never even got close.

We havn't made a dent in the League cup since 2007 and if PFs team selection against QOTS last season is anything to go by its not high on his list of priorities.

So the whole point in having decent players, the right players must be to finish high enough up the SPL to qualify for the Europa Leage. But we are already there now !!! ................ so why is it OK to treat it as " a wee bonus " when our only reasonable measure of success for next season is to qualify for the self same competition?

Nobody is pretending we will ever have a hope of getting to the latter stages of the Europa league, but we must at least show some ambition to try and at least make the group stages .... if not then whats the bloody point !!!

I mean .... What is the bloody point !!!!!

Perhaps it's about trying to ensure we qualify every year. Through league position. Maybe make a proper impact when we get there?

12-07-2013, 09:50 PM
Defence looks **** hot so far

12-07-2013, 09:52 PM
How did booth and Craig perform tonight?

Craig looks decent - willing to run at defenders and have a shot or two.

Booth was virtually anonymous.

12-07-2013, 09:54 PM
Anyone fancy settling some arguments with my in-laws?

Crowd of 2050, an accurate split was...?

The better team was...?

12-07-2013, 09:59 PM

The better team was...?

550 Rovers

Rovers :greengrin

Perhaps it's about trying to ensure we qualify every year. Through league position. Maybe make a proper impact when we get there?

I see what you mean ...... we sign the lad from Falkirk in 2 weeks time and he scores 20 goals next season. As an added bonus Caldwell hits that 2nd gear like Riordan did and scores 19. We finish 2nd / 3rd in the league and get into Europe next year along the way winning the League Cup and losing the Scottish Cup final 4 - 2 to Celtic.

Guid stuff, now we can make an impact in the Europa League ..... oh wait a minute, the Falkirk lad has gone to Celtic for £1,000,000 and Caldwell to Birmingham City for £500,000. Just as well coz we need to repair the West Stand roof and pay off a bit of the debt that might not have been so big if we had made the Europa League group stages in 2013 /14.

Ah well ... back to square one. Never mind, we might get one or 2 games in the 2014 / 15 Europa Leage ... what a wee bonus that will be.

The better team was...?
1500 Hibbies.
Hibs the better side

12-07-2013, 10:08 PM
Just as well coz we need to repair the West Stand roof

That's the PBS you're thinking of. If we did sell Taylor (veering wildly into the hypothetical here, obviously) or Caldwell, then that money would be immediately available to reinvest into the team.

Seriously though, what do you expect from Hibs? To magic money out of nothing?

pedroorange1875
12-07-2013, 10:10 PM
1500 Hibbies.
Hibs the better side

Did we ask to split the gate? i hear all the big teams do that:agree:

12-07-2013, 10:14 PM
Yeah, your tongue is in your cheek Andy, but if it wasn`t for John Park`s talent spotting making them money, this non football board probably would`ve ( should`ve) been sacked a couple of years ago. Sadly for them and us, John is long gone to the lesser greens.

:rolleyes: bollocks - prove your statement

12-07-2013, 10:17 PM

The better team was...?

I would say roughly 1400 Hibs fans and they looked the better team. It looked to me they were playing at 100% and we were going through the motions. Lets hope we can click up a few gears when needed.

I hope Pat is seriously considering starting Forster. He looks so much more composed than McPake and also stronger in the air and the tackle. Horribine looked lively enough and a couple of nice bits of skill from Danny and Ross up front. Harris showed enough to think last season wasn't a flash in the pan.Cairney added a bit of craft when he came on but still struggles when we don't have the ball. Some good deliveries from Craig but thought he was pretty anonymous other than that. I thought Tudor Jones did OK and showed some nice touches but if he dwells on the ball in the big leagues like he did tonight it will cause all sorts of bother. Tom and Lewis were as steady and reliable as ever and Hanlon won nearly everything in the air.

On the negative side I thought McGivern was poor and their right winger put in far too many crosses for my liking. Crosses are not a strong point for our defence and Williams got caught a few times again tonight. Similar to last season was the complete lack of movement at times in the game. Hanlon was getting it tight from a guy next to me but it must be murder looking up three times at green statues and trying to play a pass.

All in all a bit of a snore fest but it served its purpose. Great away support for a friendly and loved the abuse the blind lino took. Booing even when we got the decisions from him.

For me we need more pace in the side particularly out wide and up front. Ross and Danny have a part to play but there is no way they are ready to be our strike force.

12-07-2013, 10:22 PM
Anyone at the game able to say that we are well prepared for our first competitive game next Thursday or are we miles off?

12-07-2013, 10:23 PM
Half decent chance for Cairney.

Forster looked cool and composed since coming on.

significant improvement on JmcP tonight - McGivern also not great - given all the clamor for forwards I actually have more concerns about defensive balance

LeithBoozy
12-07-2013, 10:24 PM
Maybe as well we did not win 0-6 tonight, with the young lads scoring a couple each. It is hard enough to get Rod to splash the cash, he is tighter than a ducks chuff. :rolleyes:

12-07-2013, 10:34 PM
Probably worth mentioning a few positive from tonight.

Thought Craig looked decent, Forster played well when he came on (he'd be the 1st defenderon the teamsheet imo), Cairney looked lively after coming on and Taiwo put in his usual good shift and wanted the ball.

12-07-2013, 10:48 PM
I would say roughly 1400 Hibs fans and they looked the better team. It looked to me they were playing at 100% and we were going through the motions. Lets hope we can click up a few gears when needed.

I hope Pat is seriously considering starting Forster. He looks so much more composed than McPake and also stronger in the air and the tackle. Horribine looked lively enough and a couple of nice bits of skill from Danny and Ross up front. Harris showed enough to think last season wasn't a flash in the pan.Cairney added a bit of craft when he came on but still struggles when we don't have the ball. Some good deliveries from Craig but thought he was pretty anonymous other than that. I thought Tudor Jones did OK and showed some nice touches but if he dwells on the ball in the big leagues like he did tonight it will cause all sorts of bother. Tom and Lewis were as steady and reliable as ever and Hanlon won nearly everything in the air.

On the negative side I thought McGivern was poor and their right winger put in far too many crosses for my liking. Crosses are not a strong point for our defence and Williams got caught a few times again tonight. Similar to last season was the complete lack of movement at times in the game. Hanlon was getting it tight from a guy next to me but it must be murder looking up three times at green statues and trying to play a pass.

All in all a bit of a snore fest but it served its purpose. Great away support for a friendly and loved the abuse the blind lino took. Booing even when we got the decisions from him.

For me we need more pace in the side particularly out wide and up front. Ross and Danny have a part to play but there is no way they are ready to be our strike force.

YOu must've been watching a different game from me mate.. OTJ was rotten , time after time gave the ball away and was Raith's best player...

stormchild
12-07-2013, 10:54 PM
significant improvement on JmcP tonight - McGivern also not great - given all the clamor for forwards I actually have more concerns about defensive balance
Personally speaking I wouldn't have given McGivern a contract. He's been poor for months and we persisted with him. I think pat seems to think because he came from Man City he would be a player but not for me.
Saying that his best work tonight came on a nice interplay with cairney and was unlucky. Before someone shoots me down its only my opinion.

12-07-2013, 10:57 PM
Anyone at the game able to say that we are well prepared for our first competitive game next Thursday or are we miles off?

Miles off, unless we were just holding back!

Personally I think they'll tear us a new one.

davhibby
12-07-2013, 11:00 PM
Well I'd rather we didn't rush into buying someone for two games that didn't work out, it was always going to be tough if our first couple of targets didn't work out to get someone in on time.

Mr Grieves
12-07-2013, 11:01 PM
YOu must've been watching a different game from me mate.. OTJ was rotten , time after time gave the ball away and was Raith's best player...

The next Derek Townsley :dunno: :wink:

12-07-2013, 11:07 PM
Typical pre season friendly really. Taiwo looked decent and so did Horribine when he came on imo. We badly need a striker though

12-07-2013, 11:30 PM
Probably worth mentioning a few positive from tonight.

Thought Craig looked decent, Forster played well when he came on (he'd be the 1st defenderon the teamsheet imo), Cairney looked lively after coming on and Taiwo put in his usual good shift and wanted the ball.

:agree: Thought Harris and Danny were good also. Disappointed in the CHs - Forster looks more composed that both Hanlon and McPake. OTJ looked very ordinary.

13-07-2013, 12:36 AM
Absolute disgrace!

13-07-2013, 01:30 AM
Sack the Hibs.net admins.

13-07-2013, 07:25 AM
So Speedway has Rowan Vine signed as you stated earlier or are you talking nonsense as usual?

Yes and yes, in that order.

BarneyK
13-07-2013, 07:45 AM
Yes and yes, in that order.

Tollhouse Hibee
13-07-2013, 08:59 AM
after last nights performance, a couple of my observations are

why do Forster and McPake not start together - I just dont think hanlon is good enough - he just lumps the bal forward.

Midfield is an issue. OTJ is like derek townsley - not sure thats a good thing, and him and taiwo too similar. i think robertson or thomson are essential in there. Liam craig and Harris were our best players first half.

There was NOBODY on the bench to replace Caldwell when he ran out of steam. We NEED strikers!

GlenrothesHibee
13-07-2013, 09:03 AM
I know friendlies are to get match sharpness up etc so not reading too much into it but the fact we play a European tie next week is worrying. I thought Craig was by far our best player last night, looks confident and intelligent on the ball. Harris played well and looked dangerous on the wing. I thought OTJ had a very poor game. We really need KT or Claros to sign. Mcpake still seems to dive wholeheartedly into everything when he doesn't have to. I'm a bit concerned we saw our full strength team last night.

Big Ed
13-07-2013, 09:06 AM
My match marks for the starting XI last night:

• Williams – suspect on crosses, but good handling 5
• Stevenson – did better than I thought he would at RB against a winger 7
• McGivern - I quite like the big man, but thought he was lethargic 5
• McPake – a couple of good clearing headers from corners, but otherwise poor 4
• Hanlon – baled McPake out a few times. Steady 7
• Harris – looked dangerous early on, but got starved of the ball. Took a knock before HT 6
• Tudor-Jones – another CM who likes to slow the game down. Started ok, but faded 5
• Taiwo – he’s really grown on me, but hardly any influence the game 5
• Craig – Starved of possession in the first half, he looks like a competitor if nothing else 6
• Handling – looked lively at the start of the game, but faded 6
• Caldwell - next to nothing 4

I can't agree with the earlier analysis that we were better than Rovers. We started fairly well, but after about 20-25 minutes, I felt they had a grip of the game.

We seemed to run out of ideas and the tempo we played at was pedestrian.

Oh well...only a friendly.

13-07-2013, 09:14 AM
I thought Rovers had the better of the first half but thought we were in control 2nd half.

13-07-2013, 09:16 AM

Thanx, some good analysis for a change, agree with Forster comment, his career is on an upward trajectory while I'd say McPake is on the downturn

13-07-2013, 09:41 AM
That's the PBS you're thinking of. If we did sell Taylor (veering wildly into the hypothetical here, obviously) or Caldwell, then that money would be immediately available to reinvest into the team.

Seriously though, what do you expect from Hibs? To magic money out of nothing?

No I dont, which is exactly the point I was making. The original post I replied to was making a case for taking time to find the right strikers in order to make a sustained challenge over a number of seasons and therefore improve our chances of doing well in Europe. But we all know that if we uncover a gem or two they wont be at ER for more than 2 seasons before they are sold and we have to start from scratch again.

Which is why I would prefer Hibs to concentrate on the here and now as far as this years Europa League is concerned, but its a busted flush now anyway. With what we have up front at the moment I will be very very surprised if we get past Malmo, who lets face it in European terms are not as bad a draw as we could have had.

I seriously want to be proved wrong and would be delighted to be on here in two weeks time eating humble pie .... but I doubt it.

13-07-2013, 10:22 AM
Seriously guys, did anyone really ever think we'd beat Malmo? To me, these two games are just attractive pre-season fixtures and we should treat them as such. A way to prepare our team for the real (domestic) action.

13-07-2013, 01:19 PM
Why was Thomson not in the squad last night.

13-07-2013, 01:44 PM
Seriously guys, did anyone really ever think we'd beat Malmo? To me, these two games are just attractive pre-season fixtures and we should treat them as such. A way to prepare our team for the real (domestic) action.
Great attitude, seems pointless having a good league campaign to get Europe then just treat it as a pre-season friendly!

13-07-2013, 04:15 PM
Sooooo, anyway........... how was the game?

13-07-2013, 04:25 PM
Sooooo, anyway........... how was the game?

And why did Thomson not play.

14-07-2013, 02:10 PM
Pat Fenlon sounded very unhappy with the performance on the Hibs TV interview; good to see him being upfront and honest about it.

Determined to put in a performance in Sweden next week too.

18-07-2013, 03:01 PM
See Hearts beat Raith 5-0 last night. Hearts shaping up alright or Raith having an off night or neither, just a fitness exercise?:cb