View Full Version : Beer thread

Pages : 1 [2]

12-02-2016, 11:21 PM
Planning to start a homebrew project very soon - also building a pizza oven for my garden so planning on treating visitors to the NH residence to home made beer and home made pizza later in the year.

Anyone with advice on where to start in sourcing homebrew stuff? Anyone done it before?

Edit: also been drinking two very good beers recently, one is a smoked German beer with a really meaty, smoked bacon flavour;http://images1.phoenixnewtimes.com/imager/u/745xauto/7426404/schlenkerla-fowle.jpg

And Gooseberry Cove - a sour pale ale from Buxton flavoured with gooseberry. Fantastically refreshing sour beer.

12-02-2016, 11:28 PM
Planning to start a homebrew project very soon - also building a pizza oven for my garden so planning on treating visitors to the NH residence to home made beer and home made pizza later in the year.

Anyone with advice on where to start in sourcing homebrew stuff? Anyone done it before?

Love the idea of the pizza oven.

13-02-2016, 06:22 AM

Edit: also been drinking two very good beers recently, one is a smoked German beer with a really meaty, smoked bacon flavour;http://images1.phoenixnewtimes.com/imager/u/745xauto/7426404/schlenkerla-fowle.jpg

And Gooseberry Cove - a sour pale ale from Buxton flavoured with gooseberry. Fantastically refreshing sour beer.

Never done it myself but i believe there's a good homebrew shop in newington on clerk st.

13-02-2016, 08:05 AM
Never done it myself but i believe there's a good homebrew shop in newington on clerk st.

https://www.brewstore.co.uk/

in Aberdeen

http://www.highergroundshop.co.uk/

there is also one on King Street Aberdeen.

You owe me a pint :wink:

24-02-2016, 06:43 PM
It's surprisingly easy, and quite satisfying. The only tedious bit is cleaning the bottles.

This stuff, if done properly is superb. It's very much a clone of goose island ipa and my last batch tipped the scales at 6.5%

http://www.brewstore.co.uk/american-beers-american-ipa-beer-kit

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

24-02-2016, 07:21 PM
It's surprisingly easy, and quite satisfying. The only tedious bit is cleaning the bottles.

This stuff, if done properly is superb. It's very much a clone of goose island ipa and my last batch tipped the scales at 6.5%

http://www.brewstore.co.uk/american-beers-american-ipa-beer-kit

Sent from my HTC One M9 using Tapatalk

Nice one degenerated. The main reason I've never done it is i can't keep beer in the house without drinking it at a rate that isn't healthy :drunk:

Brewing my own might be good for my wallet... but would definitely be bad for my liver :greengrin

rodhibs55
07-04-2016, 10:46 AM
Jarl from Loch Fyne Brewery is pretty decent stuff.

Godsahibby
07-04-2016, 12:10 PM
Inns and Gunn just announced the purchase of Inveralmond Brewery

07-04-2016, 12:33 PM
Inns and Gunn just announced the purchase of Inveralmond Brewery

Will continue under he same management and also continue to produce Inveralmond beers, will be expanded to also produce I&G ales

07-04-2016, 03:22 PM
Just had a lovely pint of This Is Lager in brewdog Soho served by Calvin of these boards. Nice pint.

07-04-2016, 03:48 PM
Maybe more a bar/pub question than beer specifically but I've just moved to Glasgow - recommendations for the best place to get a good pint of beer?

07-04-2016, 04:59 PM
Maybe more a bar/pub question than beer specifically but I've just moved to Glasgow - recommendations for the best place to get a good pint of beer?

I don't know glasgow pubs very well but the one place I've been that i particularly enjoyed was the west brewery beerhall. On the edge of glasgow green i think and they serve all their own beers, st mungo, wild west, dunkel etc which are brewed on site. You can see the brewing equipment downstairs and I'm told it's heaving outside in good weather (it was hosing down the day i was there naturally :greengrin ). Good food too :aok:

07-04-2016, 05:23 PM
Depends where you are.

I've not lived here for that long but central choices for a good beer for me usually are Max's on Queen St or The Drum & Monkey. Fly and The Pig is also quite good, but my memories of being there are rather hazy.

West end you have Brewdog, Lebowskis, Three Judges on dumbarton rd, loads on and around Byers Rd and Ashton Lane - I quite enjoy The Wee Pub.

08-04-2016, 05:55 AM
I don't know glasgow pubs very well but the one place I've been that i particularly enjoyed was the west brewery beerhall. On the edge of glasgow green i think and they serve all their own beers, st mungo, wild west, dunkel etc which are brewed on site. You can see the brewing equipment downstairs and I'm told it's heaving outside in good weather (it was hosing down the day i was there naturally :greengrin ). Good food too :aok:

Depends where you are.

I've not lived here for that long but central choices for a good beer for me usually are Max's on Queen St or The Drum & Monkey. Fly and The Pig is also quite good, but my memories of being there are rather hazy.

West end you have Brewdog, Lebowskis, Three Judges on dumbarton rd, loads on and around Byers Rd and Ashton Lane - I quite enjoy The Wee Pub.

Cheers both. I'm actually living in Lanark but we're in Glasgow everyday for work up at the West End and then centre on the way home. Once the house is unpacked, we're looking to explore some tippling establishments, so the recommendations are welcome! :aok:

The Pointer
11-05-2016, 10:11 PM
Jarl from Loch Fyne Brewery is pretty decent stuff.

This is my go to/if all else fails/treat myself/I don't mind if I do/lose, draw, win/ cheers - thank fck I'm a Hibbie, favourite beer. Slightly chilled it's like an explosion of citrus fruit in yir mooth.

Lager cannae touch it on a hot day.

And I pass the brewery every time I head east.

The Pointer
11-05-2016, 10:46 PM

In addition to the others mentioned, there's the Bon Accord between the Mitchell Theatre and West Coast Harley which is one of Glasgow's oldest real ale bars.

In the West End you've got Tennents at the junction of Byres Road and Highburgh Road (which, despite the name sells decent beer), the Ubiquitous Chip (in Ashton Lane behind Byres Road) which is a famed eatery cum bar frequented by quite a smart set, and Oran Mor at the top of Byres Road which is a good place for a night out. The clientèle is quite varied at times (think actors/musos/ broadcasters, rugby players) but it's usually busy and there's a reasonable selection of beers.

LustForLeith
19-06-2016, 11:08 AM
Right...here goes.

Not usually a big drinker but for some reason I've been drinking every weekend since the 21 May :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Hit a bit of a brick wall now. I know I’ll get lambasted for this but I love Budweiser. Sorry.

Recently I drank quite a lot of mixed fruit ciders but I was drinking it last night and I've hit a wall. Bagged up and didn't really enjoy it. Now I feel rough!

I need a new drink but not a fan of gin so I'm avoiding the whole craze for it just now. Wine gives me heartburn so that's ruled out.

Might go back to Bud but open to offers. Quite like a Cearars Augusta (is that it). Will be drinking in places like the Dockers and the Hibs Club so nothing too funky!

Also, anyone know of any shops or bars in Edinburgh that stocks Mickeys beer? The House of Pain used to go on about it and randomly back in the nineties Scotmid used to stock it. Small, screw cap 5.5% lager that was pretty decent.

Cheers!

hibs#1
19-06-2016, 04:42 PM
Right...here goes.

Not usually a big drinker but for some reason I've been drinking every weekend since the 21 May :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

Hit a bit of a brick wall now. I know I’ll get lambasted for this but I love Budweiser. Sorry.

Recently I drank quite a lot of mixed fruit ciders but I was drinking it last night and I've hit a wall. Bagged up and didn't really enjoy it. Now I feel rough!

I need a new drink but not a fan of gin so I'm avoiding the whole craze for it just now. Wine gives me heartburn so that's ruled out.

Might go back to Bud but open to offers. Quite like a Cearars Augusta (is that it). Will be drinking in places like the Dockers and the Hibs Club so nothing too funky!

Also, anyone know of any shops or bars in Edinburgh that stocks Mickeys beer? The House of Pain used to go on about it and randomly back in the nineties Scotmid used to stock it. Small, screw cap 5.5% lager that was pretty decent.

Cheers!

I also like budweiser your not alone

20-06-2016, 02:26 PM
Right...here goes.

Cheers!

I remember that stuff!

I had been banging onto someone a few weeks ago about the beer that used to come in a little green jar and that must have been it (when I googled it I saw that it came in a "wide-mouthed" bottle).

I remember drinking it quite a lot when I'd just moved up to Dundee in 1995.

I'm afraid I can't help you locating it here though.

The best beer I've drunk in recent years is "Shiner Bock". I was over visiting my girlfriend's brother and his family in Houston a couple of years ago - it's all over the place there.

Brilliant beer, I've been craving it.

Need to get back over for another visit I think.

27-06-2016, 07:20 AM
Enjoy Brewdog s Punk I P A

LustForLeith
30-06-2016, 07:38 PM
I remember that stuff!

I had been banging onto someone a few weeks ago about the beer that used to come in a little green jar and that must have been it (when I googled it I saw that it came in a "wide-mouthed" bottle).

I remember drinking it quite a lot when I'd just moved up to Dundee in 1995.

I'm afraid I can't help you locating it here though.

The best beer I've drunk in recent years is "Shiner Bock". I was over visiting my girlfriend's brother and his family in Houston a couple of years ago - it's all over the place there.

Brilliant beer, I've been craving it.

Need to get back over for another visit I think.

Proper dynamite stuff it was! Hoping it's still on the go, might have a word about and see what I can find!

30-06-2016, 07:47 PM
Quite liked the cans from vocation brewery over the last year. Was surprised to see tesco stocking there american pale ale, hopefully theyl gwt their ipa's next.

08-07-2016, 11:11 PM
When we were in the Lake District we had a beer called Elephant's Backside. It tasted great.

11-07-2016, 03:16 PM

Its maybe not what you are looking for but I brew my own ginger beer. I live in Thailand so ginger costs nothing. It is so simple and I have adjusted it to my taste.I much prefer it to the usual beers here (which are pretty decent as far as lagers go). I dont even bother with fancy bottles or anything. If you want info just pm me and Ill give you more details.

04-01-2017, 09:40 PM
First time visit to The Antiquary on St Stephen Street over the holidays, I loved it and enjoyed several pints of East Coast IPA.

05-01-2017, 09:06 PM
First time visit to The Antiquary on St Stephen Street over the holidays, I loved it and enjoyed several pints of East Coast IPA.

I lost 7 years of my life in there

06-01-2017, 05:36 AM
My regular beers are from Strathbraan Brewery.

Go West, Look East, Due South, True North with Eighty Bob a good ale.

I'm not sure where else they are available, but the Old Mill in Pitlochry usually have one or tow on tap, rotating with guest ales such as Cromarty Brewery.

06-01-2017, 10:59 AM
I've been drinking loads of Fierce beers lately, based in Dyce.

Their fruit beer is superb. Personal favourites from their range are Cranachan Killer and Ginja Ninja

06-01-2017, 11:20 AM
I lost 7 years of my life in there

Used to love The Antiquary back in the day. Punks on one side, disco dancers on the other, all getting along happily, great mixture of tunes on the jukie.

Wish it was 1978 again.....

15-02-2017, 03:57 PM
Used to love The Antiquary back in the day. Punks on one side, disco dancers on the other, all getting along happily, great mixture of tunes on the jukie.

It was a great place. Baillie was always good too.

hibbybob
15-02-2017, 05:04 PM

I'd have been somewhere in the middle playing Space Invaders!

Simple Simons (now Hamiltons) was also a favourite in those days and the Regular Music Monday nights in Tiffanys were great!

15-02-2017, 05:13 PM
Not everyone's cup of tea I know,but I really enjoy the brew dog pale ale selection in cans. Take it on the train with me every month, a lovely drink in my opinion.

15-02-2017, 07:29 PM
I'd suggest a trip to Wellington, NZ for any craft beer aficionado. Panhead APA and IPA are delightful.

15-02-2017, 07:35 PM
As a coeliac I would recommend Vagabond by Brewdog.

16-02-2017, 07:05 PM
Anyone else tried Shilling Brewing Co. in Glasgow yet?

Rapidly becoming one of my favourite brewpubs in Glasgow! Their on-site production beers are excellent and the food (specialising in stone-fired pizzas) is very good, and reasonable!

04-03-2017, 08:28 PM
I've been drinking loads of Fierce beers lately, based in Dyce.

Their fruit beer is superb. Personal favourites from their range are Cranachan Killer and Ginja Ninja

Their 'Dirty Sanchez' chipotle beer is excellent.

Currently drinking Wild Beer Co. 'Billionaire'. A very dark stout infused with caramelised miso. A very big hitting stout with both real stout bitterness and a caramel sweetness to it, it's a fantastic beer.

05-03-2017, 06:37 PM
Tempest - drop kick me jesus. Realy nice sour with citrus and tropical fruits.

Had a realy nice banoffe one by tiny rebel recently as well.

Green Man
06-03-2017, 11:36 AM
I had a pint of Tiny Rebel Cwtch recently. It won CAMRA's champion beer a couple of years ago and was very enjoyable, a hoppy red ale.

06-03-2017, 12:38 PM
It looks like my other half is forcing me to go to the Hanging Bat on Wednesday :wink:

06-03-2017, 05:12 PM
I had a pint of Tiny Rebel Cwtch recently. It won CAMRA's champion beer a couple of years ago and was very enjoyable, a hoppy red ale.

Had that a can of that recently and really enjoyed it also. Wasn't too keen on their tropical IPA that cloisters had on keg a couple weeks ago though, found it a bit too sweet.

23-03-2017, 07:13 PM
Was given a couple of sample bottles from Inveralmond Brewery. Currently drinking Ossian a golden ale, pretty decent.

23-03-2017, 07:35 PM
Had a couple of pints of Wychwood King Goblin @ Wetherspoon's Beer Fest yesterday, pretty strong but, went down very nicely.

24-03-2017, 06:34 PM
Was given a couple of sample bottles from Inveralmond Brewery. Currently drinking Ossian a golden ale, pretty decent.

Just tried a second bottle LIA FAIL a dark beer very good also.

24-03-2017, 06:38 PM
Just tried a second bottle LIA FAIL a dark beer very good also.

Lidl often have a good selection of Inveralmond beers at a very decent price.

24-03-2017, 07:03 PM
Lidl often have a good selection of Inveralmond beers at a very decent price.

Good to know, cheers PB.

27-03-2017, 10:29 AM
Went to the heriot watt beer festival on friday where they had an excellent choice. Stand outs were apa's by weird beared and leeds.Cardoman sour by chorlton was pretty decent as well. Had 80 taps with a £1.50 token getting a half pint, a limited number of the beers came in thirds. Definitely reconmend it for anyone whos no been before.

01-05-2017, 08:05 AM
Anyone going to the festival at the biscuit factory on Cup final weekend? Looks pretty good and I just happen to be in town.

Calvin
01-05-2017, 08:11 AM
Anyone going to the festival at the biscuit factory on Cup final weekend? Looks pretty good and I just happen to be in town.

If I wasn't at a wedding the weekend after I'd definitely be coming up for it. Beer lineup is class, music will be great and LCBF is always fantastic so I have no doubt the Edinburgh version will be just as good.

01-05-2017, 11:01 AM

Aye looking forward to it. Got saturday early birds so atleast geting knocked out the cup has a silver lining.

Sure i read buffalo food truck are there. Definately recommend their chicken burgers.

29-05-2017, 06:22 PM
I realy enjoyed the festival on saturday night, everything about it was excellent. Hopefully it returns next year. I might even go for a full weekend ticket.

yonder1875
30-05-2017, 04:05 PM
Was in Cologne recently and I must say that their locally brewed lager Kölsch was fantastic.

30-05-2017, 08:22 PM
I realy enjoyed the festival on saturday night, everything about it was excellent. Hopefully it returns next year. I might even go for a full weekend ticket.

Went on Saturday afternoon and it was good. The inclusive drinks were a real bonus rather than mucking about with cash/tokens etc. As ever with these things, hard to even recall many of the beers I had or what my favourites were! I know there were some goodies though!

31-05-2017, 08:06 PM
Went on Saturday afternoon and it was good. The inclusive drinks were a real bonus rather than mucking about with cash/tokens etc. As ever with these things, hard to even recall many of the beers I had or what my favourites were! I know there were some goodies though!

The inclusive drinks definately added to the experience. I'm likewise in forgetting a number of the things i tried, were definately more highlights than disapointments though

31-05-2017, 08:42 PM
German Bier Tent in Princes Street Gardens from 1-4 June, £3 per half pint, no ta!

Calvin
02-06-2017, 09:06 AM
Glad to hear it - I know the guys behind it so had no doubt it would go well. Definitely need to make it up the road next year - looking forward to the London edition in early August though!

02-06-2017, 10:15 PM
Glad to hear it - I know the guys behind it so had no doubt it would go well. Definitely need to make it up the road next year - looking forward to the London edition in early August though!

My only minor gripe was the programme - clearly a well put together publication, but far too big and impossible to carry around all day. I ditched it in the end. A small brochure with a map and brief description of each beer is all that is needed at these things IMO.

03-06-2017, 04:57 PM
Tennent Caledonian of all people have 3 cracking new beers on sale in Tesco just now. Caledonia 3 Hop, Outpost Ale (I think) and a whisky cask one. Can't quite believe how good they and only £1.65. When I saw they were Tennents I wasn't going to pick them up which is poor on my part but luckily I gambled!

25-06-2017, 11:49 AM
I've been drinking Shipyard American pale ale recently. Mostly from Sainsbury's but I have seen it in a couple of pubs. Tastes a bit like Camden Pale Ale if anyone has had that.

25-06-2017, 12:02 PM
Had a couple of abashiri blue beer.

It's a blue beer.

From japan.

Tasty but very expensive.

25-06-2017, 03:53 PM
Had a couple of abashiri blue beer.

It's a blue beer.

From japan.

Tasty but very expensive.

Never heard of blue beer before but will keep an eye out for it. How would you describe it?

25-06-2017, 04:40 PM
Never heard of blue beer before but will keep an eye out for it. How would you describe it?

Probably bitter!

25-06-2017, 06:40 PM
Probably bitter!

Tee hee! I see what you did there.

26-06-2017, 06:47 PM
Had a few realy nice things over the last couple weeks. The cloudwater helles and citra dipa were both excellent.

The six d north/12 triangles - sourdough, was a bit strange but enjoyable as well. Sour to begin then followed by rye, good summer session beer for the 2.2% abv.

Thornbridge - Tart, was another good sour. Being stocked in tesco at realy reasonable prices.

Cornelluous had added Goller - kellerbier, to their German section last week. Not a style ive drunk much of but was realy good.

Had a couple good ipas recently in Brewski - Pango, and basqueland brewing project - impareable.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
04-07-2017, 03:28 PM
Just recently discovered this thread so apols if already mentioned.

Absolutely love Tempest Unforgiven, amazing dark, smokey flavour - but it seems to hsve disappeared from the face of the earth. Used to have it in Holyrood 9a but not anymore.

Agree about Innis & Gunn lager, really enjoy that.

Im starting to get into porters and stouts - quite enjoy Brewdog Black Heart and ive been recommended Orkney Porter which i need to try.

The Brass Monkey on Leith Walk does a mean pint of Schiehallion too.

The rate of change and variety is brilliant, and it must be brillisnt for all of these small local breweries.

04-07-2017, 04:11 PM
Im starting to get into porters and stouts......

Get yourself a bottle of Black Gold and have it at room temperature, not from the fridge. The major supermarkets all have it.

04-07-2017, 05:38 PM
Get yourself a bottle of Black Gold and have it at room temperature, not from the fridge. The major supermarkets all have it.

March of the Penguins is my favourite stout. One of the few Scottish stouts I can actually get over here fortunately.

04-07-2017, 06:08 PM
Just recently discovered this thread so apols if already mentioned.

Absolutely love Tempest Unforgiven, amazing dark, smokey flavour - but it seems to hsve disappeared from the face of the earth. Used to have it in Holyrood 9a but not anymore.

Almost certain beets on Bernard Street had that in stock last week. Is a realy nice beer.

04-07-2017, 06:22 PM

I'm not really sure to be honest... it's heavier than a lager, but not particularly heavy. Its worth a drink anyway. Only seem to be able to order it online. £20 for 8 cans though!!

Had some hop house 13 recently too and they were quite nice. Nothing special but decent enough.

Drank a Becks I got bought. F me it was bogging!

05-07-2017, 09:00 AM
March of the Penguins is my favourite stout. One of the few Scottish stouts I can actually get over here fortunately.

I like that one too although its not really a summer drink. Midnight Sun is good too.

05-07-2017, 09:19 AM
As an aside The Scottish Real Ale Festival is on at The Corn Exchange this week (6th-8th), £6 entry.

13-05-2019, 07:56 AM
Had a few bottles of "****ing Hell" last night. It's called "****ing" after the Austrian town of the same name and "Hell" because that's German for light in colour". Wasn't too bad a brew.

13-05-2019, 09:09 AM
I am in a book club where subscribers can choose between crime or non-fiction and for £10 a month plus postage you are sent a new book and 2 cans or bottles of beer. Great way of finding new breweries

13-05-2019, 09:20 AM
Non-alcoholic beers can be so hit or miss, but I actually tried one over the weekend that I really enjoyed (and it was only 36 calories a can, which is fine as I'm currently trying to lose some weight).

Infinite Session was the brewery, and I really enjoyed their American Pale Ale.

I also quite liked the Brooklyn effort that our local Tesco are currently stocking and I tried last week.

StevesFamau5
15-05-2019, 09:14 AM
Non-alcoholic beers can be so hit or miss, but I actually tried one over the weekend that I really enjoyed (and it was only 36 calories a can, which is fine as I'm currently trying to lose some weight).

I also quite liked the Brooklyn effort that our local Tesco are currently stocking and I tried last week.

Still yet to find one I actually enjoy, Becks Blue is vile, Heineken & Bud prohibition brew are tasteless.

I did try the Camden Brewery week nite (low alcohol), really enjoyed it but at £1.80 a tin and 7 quid for a 4 pack, it's a tad pricey.

Hate to admit it but I actually am enjoying Micheleob Ultra atm, the USA cans not the poor UK effort

15-05-2019, 09:31 AM

I have tried most on the market and concluded that I enjoy drinking Lime and Soda far more than any of them.

15-05-2019, 01:25 PM

Just come back to this as I don't even remember having posted in here!

The beer was fine, I'm not a huge lager fan (I'll happily drink tennents tbh). It was interesting enough though!

15-05-2019, 04:09 PM
Still yet to find one I actually enjoy, Becks Blue is vile, Heineken & Bud prohibition brew are tasteless.

I did try the Camden Brewery week nite (low alcohol), really enjoyed it but at £1.80 a tin and 7 quid for a 4 pack, it's a tad pricey.

Hate to admit it but I actually am enjoying Micheleob Ultra atm, the USA cans not the poor UK effort

I was the same until someone introduced me to Krombacher alcohol free Weizenbier with a shot of pink grapefruit juice. Absolutely delicious and great served ice cold on a hot day.

17-05-2019, 03:19 AM

Try the Brewdog one. Though it might be 0.5%. It was surprisingly nice I thought.

17-05-2019, 07:35 AM
Try the Brewdog one. Though it might be 0.5%. It was surprisingly nice I thought.

It's called Nanny State and is not bad at all.

Calvin
20-05-2019, 01:12 PM
It's called Nanny State and is not bad at all.
Have a try of Punk AF too. There's a sour called Raspberry Blitz also - all 0.5%.

23-05-2019, 10:07 PM
Have a try of Punk AF too. There's a sour called Raspberry Blitz also - all 0.5%.

Tried 2 pints of the Punk AF in the Doghouse in Glasgow today. For an alcohol free beer, it's really good!

I also tried a bottle of Moretti Grani Antichi (from my local Tesco of all places) tonight, and it was absolutely glorious! Quite like a blonde Leffe, but much more intense. One of the tastiest beers I've ever tried, but at £5 for a 750ml bottle, it's not cheap.

24-05-2019, 11:28 AM
I see Fierce are opening a bar on Rose Street this weekend. Definitely one on my list of places to try.

24-05-2019, 01:22 PM
Anyone know of a decent place for a drink in Dingwall? Seems to be a choice of the Mallard or Caledonian.

24-05-2019, 04:29 PM
Craft Beer Festival at The Biscuit Factory this w-end, if I'm reading the t&c's correctly it seems awfy dear for a 6 pint limit.

Bangkok Hibby
24-05-2019, 04:45 PM
Anyone know of a decent place for a drink in Dingwall? Seems to be a choice of the Mallard or Caledonian.

Good while since I've been in Dingwall but that's pretty much it. Oscars is/was a not bad sports bar but it's a bit out, on the Strathpeffer road.

Bangkok Hibby
24-05-2019, 04:47 PM

The Royal and National hotels have bars. Wouldn't bother really but the Royal is just across the road from the Caley

24-05-2019, 05:10 PM
The Royal and National hotels have bars. Wouldn't bother really but the Royal is just across the road from the Caley

Cheers guys. Had a pint of average ipa in the caledonian and now in the Mallard and have eaten and on the second pint of an OK pint of Belhaven derived ale.

24-08-2019, 04:36 PM
Enjoying a nice cold bottle of Northern Light from Orkney, really nice pale ale

Saturday Boy
24-08-2019, 07:23 PM
The pre-match pint of Belhaven Best in the Hoppy was very brisk. Somewhere around 3 glasses poured to get one proper pint. After a minor mix up at the taps, my pint had a quick injection of Strongbow. Amazingly, it didn’t taste any worse.

Not something I would order again though. 😂

24-08-2019, 07:38 PM
I had a pint of Melba by Thornbridge in the Bow Bar yesterday. Peach IPA, very decent. Also had a pint of something dark and very malty, proper Scottish heavy type beer in the Guildford but I was too pished to remember the name by that point. I think it was good though.

24-08-2019, 08:07 PM
Also had a pint of something dark and very malty, proper Scottish heavy type beer in the Guildford but I was too pished to remember the name by that point. I think it was good though.

That's the sort of stuff I tend to go for if getting involved in beer, very rarely in the summer months though, March of the Penguins and Midnight Sun from Williams Bros or Orkney Dark Island.

24-08-2019, 10:08 PM
I had a couple of Stewart Brewing's "First World Problems" earlier - didn't realise quite how strong it was on top of other stuff I'd drunk, so I'm currently on water....lovely tipple though!

25-08-2019, 11:15 AM
I had a couple of cans from Lost Pier Brewing, Apa Actually American pale ale and Paddleboarder Pale Ale. I got them through the book club I'm a member of...

Books and Beer, monthly parcel of a crime novel and 2 cans of different beers, £10 plus postage a month 😎📖🍺

09-06-2020, 07:07 PM
I've switched to a lot of alcohol free beer in the past couple of weeks (alcohol doesn't mix with new medication I'm on). Cap tipped to Brewdog - they have a growing, and really nice variety of alcohol free beer. I already liked their Nanny State, but their Punk AF, Hazy AF, Lost Lager AF are all very good imitations.

Prior to that, I was doing my best to keep the Edinburgh Beer Factory in business - I've gone through about 5 cases of their Paolozzi since lockdown started back in March.

Also, I was lucky enough to get a box of the Brewdog Barnard Castle Eye Test, which arrived today - it's the one exception I've made to alcohol free in the last 14 days and it was very tasty indeed.

10-06-2020, 10:26 AM
I've switched to a lot of alcohol free beer in the past couple of weeks (alcohol doesn't mix with new medication I'm on). Cap tipped to Brewdog - they have a growing, and really nice variety of alcohol free beer. I already liked their Nanny State, but their Punk AF, Hazy AF, Lost Lager AF are all very good imitations.

Prior to that, I was doing my best to keep the Edinburgh Beer Factory in business - I've gone through about 5 cases of their Paolozzi since lockdown started back in March.

Also, I was lucky enough to get a box of the Brewdog Barnard Castle Eye Test, which arrived today - it's the one exception I've made to alcohol free in the last 14 days and it was very tasty indeed.

I’ve bought the Barnard Castle Eye Test as well. Looking forward to it arriving!

vein
10-06-2020, 03:12 PM

I went a few weeks earlier in the year alcohol free and ended up trying the punk and hazy AF. Wasn’t a huge fan of the punk but the hazy AF was good and I would happily drink a few at a bbq or whatever if I had to stay sober.

Best one I found though was the Erdinger Alkoholfrei, tasted just like normal beer and it’s isotonic so I’m pretty confident it was good for me too :-)

ACLeith
17-07-2020, 06:15 PM
Started on beers from Winton Brewery in Dunbar. Can get draft on takeaway from Station Yard. My first Swally of draft last week was bliss, simple pleasures these days. Going to trying a few of their offerings.

17-07-2020, 08:29 PM
Started on beers from Winton Brewery in Dunbar. Can get draft on takeaway from Station Yard. My first Swally of draft last week was bliss, simple pleasures these days. Going to trying a few of their offerings.

Beer Garden is available for bookings.

ACLeith
18-07-2020, 06:37 AM
Beer Garden is available for bookings.
I live in Leith, visit the town for family and golf, so sadly can’t use the garden and then drive home 😡

HibbyDave
19-07-2020, 09:49 AM

M&S are selling alcohol free beer from Staropramen. It’s labelled as Czech Lager and 0.5%.
It’s very good £1.50 per bottle .

19-07-2020, 12:58 PM
I'd love a beer but I'm waiting till The Abbotsford opens. My favourite pub. I wouldn't go into any of the pubs around Corstorphine. Too many old tossers coughing their livers out.

19-07-2020, 01:26 PM
Not just old tosses that cough there livers out

19-07-2020, 01:27 PM
I'd love a beer but I'm waiting till The Abbotsford opens. My favourite pub. I wouldn't go into any of the pubs around Corstorphine. Too many old tossers coughing their livers out.

I was in Winstons yesterday, not an old tosser or a cougher to be seen. Just a landlord and his team giving great service and great beer to a limited capacity of 23 customers.

19-07-2020, 05:03 PM

The Cumberland and Guildford are both open so wouldn't imagine the Abbotsford will be far off reopening.

22-07-2020, 12:12 PM
I was in Winstons yesterday, not an old tosser or a cougher to be seen. Just a landlord and his team giving great service and great beer to a limited capacity of 23 customers.

It's a bit cliquey. Sorry if you're one of them! I always feel I'm entering someone's living room.

The staff are good, I admit. It's a well run place, or used to be.

22-07-2020, 06:31 PM
Is there a reason that alcohol free beers always have low levels of alcohol in them? Is it to do with the brewing process?

22-07-2020, 06:43 PM
Is there a reason that alcohol free beers always have low levels of alcohol in them? Is it to do with the brewing process?

Not sure but I believe it is because it all starts the process as normal beer until the boiling process burns off the alcohol, the trace is to retain the flavour of beer.

Calvin
29-07-2020, 12:59 AM
Not sure but I believe it is because it all starts the process as normal beer until the boiling process burns off the alcohol, the trace is to retain the flavour of beer.
You're quite right in that most alcohol free beers are close to normal beers but with the alcohol stripped out at the end. There are a few ways to do this but whatever way it happens, it's traditionally been an illogical process as you have to make something whole and then destroy a bit of it. For example, the amount of grain it takes to ferment a beer up to 4% is a lot more than it would take to ferment a beer to 0.5%. Therefore a more modern way of doing it is just to strip down the malt bill, lessening the amount of sugars available for fermentation and stopping the ABV getting higher. This also comes with the benefit of not stripping anything out and retaining better flavour.

For the original question, having the 0.5% leeway allows for better flavour and a low level of fermentation while still not clocking in as an alcoholic drink. It's pretty impossible to make beer that is 0.0% using a good method (in much the same way that orange juice isn't 0.0% due to the nature of the ingredients.)

G15 Hibs
31-07-2020, 10:06 AM
I've no vested interest in this, but I see that Broughton Brewery in the Borders has started a crowdfunder to help them keep afloat through the difficulties they're experiencing as a business due to Covid. I'd imagine there'll be a few in the same boat. I've always had a soft spot for Broughton as they were the first small, localish brewery I was aware of in my early boozing days, thanks to my old man. They've always done pretty interesting beers their Greenmantle was probably my introduction to anything other than fizzy lager, and it would be a shame to see them go down the tubes, so to speak.

Details of the crowdfunder is here: https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/save-the-brewery-broughton

StevesFamau5
01-08-2020, 07:08 AM
I've no vested interest in this, but I see that Broughton Brewery in the Borders has started a crowdfunder to help them keep afloat through the difficulties they're experiencing as a business due to Covid. I'd imagine there'll be a few in the same boat. I've always had a soft spot for Broughton as they were the first small, localish brewery I was aware of in my early boozing days, thanks to my old man. They've always done pretty interesting beers their Greenmantle was probably my introduction to anything other than fizzy lager, and it would be a shame to see them go down the tubes, so to speak.

Details of the crowdfunder is here: https://www.crowdfunder.co.uk/save-the-brewery-broughtonAye I saw that as well.

Grew up in the village so I was introduced to Greenmantle and Auld Jock at a young age.

It would be a damn shame if they were to fold.

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

28-10-2020, 07:48 PM
Thought I'd bring this thread back to life just in case anyone likes a nice dark beer. If so, Brewgooder have recently collaborated with Pact coffee to do a limited run coffee stout. I've cracked one open tonight and I can highly recommend it.

https://shop.brewgooder.com/product/impact-coffee-vanilla-stout/

If you've not ordered direct from Brewgooder before I've a discount code you can use at checkout - IAN10

Enjoy

ErinGoBraghHFC
28-10-2020, 09:11 PM
Thought I'd bring this thread back to life just in case anyone likes a nice dark beer. If so, Brewgooder have recently collaborated with Pact coffee to do a limited run coffee stout. I've cracked one open tonight and I can highly recommend it.

https://shop.brewgooder.com/product/impact-coffee-vanilla-stout/

If you've not ordered direct from Brewgooder before I've a discount code you can use at checkout - IAN10

Enjoy

Love a Guinness during the colder weather, how does this compare? Obviously a bit dearer without the discount, worth it?

29-10-2020, 10:39 AM
Has anyone given tennents light a go? Not exactly one for all you horrendous beer snobs right enough 😉

StevesFamau5
29-10-2020, 01:22 PM
Has anyone given tennents light a go? Not exactly one for all you horrendous beer snobs right enough [emoji6]Yes I had some at the weekend... I was pleasently surprised.

Not as gassy as I thought and a wee bit less sweet than Bud Light. Also tasted the Zero alcohol one as well... Very nice. Like San Miguel but crisper

Sent from my VOG-L09 using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
11-03-2022, 10:47 PM
Resurrecting this as I'm sat with an ice cold Newcastle Brown and a takeaway.

12-03-2022, 06:49 AM

Oooooh that’s far to mass produced for snobs on here!

Bridge hibs
12-03-2022, 12:55 PM
Resurrecting this as I'm sat with an ice cold Newcastle Brown and a takeaway.Not a big drinker nowadays but I havent seen it on the shelves for a while now, thought they stopped brewing it

12-03-2022, 01:12 PM
Not a big drinker nowadays but I havent seen it on the shelves for a while now, thought they stopped brewing it

Still widely available, my old man's go to in the boozer if they don't sell McEwans 80.

Mike Berry
12-03-2022, 01:17 PM
I hadn't had that in years but I was in South Shields not long ago and someone got me one, was nicer than I remembered. Nothing wrong with a nooky broon.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

12-03-2022, 02:33 PM

Great when you are making a Christmas Cake. :wink:

12-03-2022, 02:36 PM
Can I give a shout out for Wasted Degrees brewery?

https://www.wasteddegrees.com/shop/beer

As 'local' as you can get, it started in a garage 80m from me. :wink:

12-03-2022, 03:23 PM
I hadn't had that in years but I was in South Shields not long ago and someone got me one, was nicer than I remembered. Nothing wrong with a nooky broon.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

It went really downhill for a whole when they moved brewing to Tadcaster but it's improved in recent years since they moved it abroad. They have tweaked it a bit to suit the different water.

I know hops are all the rage and the more hops, the rarer the hops and the more bitter the better in some peoples eyes. I still like a good old fashioned malty beer though and something like NBA does the job.

If I can find a pub that still has a traditional heavy on tap then there's a good chance I'm ordering it.

Stairway 2 7
12-03-2022, 03:40 PM
It went really downhill for a whole when they moved brewing to Tadcaster but it's improved in recent years since they moved it abroad. They have tweaked it a bit to suit the different water.

I know hops are all the rage and the more hops, the rarer the hops and the more bitter the better in some peoples eyes. I still like a good old fashioned malty beer though and something like NBA does the job.

If I can find a pub that still has a traditional heavy on tap then there's a good chance I'm ordering it.

Theres more places recently that have a decent 80 shilling on tap, which I've been going for a bit since I'm scunnered with hops. Was down London and the fullers London pride was really good

ErinGoBraghHFC
12-03-2022, 04:06 PM

Probably, braw as **** though

Bridge hibs
13-03-2022, 08:04 AM
Still widely available, my old man's go to in the boozer if they don't sell McEwans 80.Ah, certainly not on the shelves at shops near me, thats why I thought it had stopped being brewed, has it ever been on draught or just bottles or cans ?

Bridge hibs
13-03-2022, 08:06 AM
Probably, braw as **** though

Ive tried a couple of bottles of Tennents Light, my Daughter got me a couple to try last summer, surprisingly quite refreshing when nice and chilled

Mr Grieves
13-03-2022, 08:21 AM
Absolutely spoiled for microbreweries in Leith nowadays - pilot, campervan, west barns, moonwake. My favourite pint has to be Pilot's Vienna pale, lovely stuff.

13-03-2022, 09:01 AM
Ah, certainly not on the shelves at shops near me, thats why I thought it had stopped being brewed, has it ever been on draught or just bottles or cans ?

It used to be, not anymore though I don't think, although I think it's still available in the states.

Stubbsy90+2
13-03-2022, 02:59 PM
Ive tried a couple of bottles of Tennents Light, my Daughter got me a couple to try last summer, surprisingly quite refreshing when nice and chilled

Tennents light is nice to take the edge off a hangover.

Other than that though I’d always stick to the real stuff.

green leaves
15-03-2022, 09:25 PM
I have Coeliac disease and have to eat a 100% gluten free diet,which rules out most beers although there are a few on the go.
By far the best is Bellfield brewery in Abbey Hill,all the beers are amazing and it was started by 2.coeliac Hibs fans

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-06-2023, 06:56 PM
Time to revive this thread, sure I saw someone a wee while ago talking about radlers. Well recently I’ve tried a grapefruit radler from Stiegl which was braw. However, I’ve found the winner. West brewery, I’m sitting in their pub right this second, have brought out a lemon radler for summer. Beautiful.

18-06-2023, 11:36 PM
A pint of ColdTown Water Melon and Hibiscus Sour was certainly very interesting! I didn’t have a second one.

19-06-2023, 07:38 AM
A pint of ColdTown Water Melon and Hibiscus Sour was certainly very interesting! I didn’t have a second one.

My wife likes the sours but I'm not that keen.

19-06-2023, 06:57 PM
Vault City do some lovely sours but I REALLY need to be in the mood for them.

19-06-2023, 10:16 PM
Anyone got a perfect draft machine? Had mine 6 months, so far cannot fault it.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-06-2023, 10:19 PM

Yep, love it. Usually stick to the Vitamin T but sometimes splash out a wee bit on Spaten or Hertog Jan, lovely stuff

speedy_gonzales
19-06-2023, 10:24 PM
Anyone here got a Pinter?
I was involved in an early crowd-fund but didn't follow through on buying one due to poor and maybe over-critical reviews on brewing forums.
But, was takiyng to someone last Friday who has 4 gen-3's and he swears by the presses.
Really considering buying one now all the flaws have (apparently) been ironed out.

ErinGoBraghHFC
19-06-2023, 10:27 PM
I was involved in an early crowd-fund but didn't follow through on buying one due to poor and maybe over-critical reviews on brewing forums.
But, was takiyng to someone last Friday who has 4 gen-3's and he swears by the presses.
Really considering buying one now all the flaws have (apparently) been ironed out.

Hadn’t heard of it but had a look there, it’s a nice idea but I couldn’t be arsed mucking about brewing it myself[emoji28] I grudge waiting on the kettle to boil

20-06-2023, 01:31 AM
Glad I don’t drink alcohol.

20-06-2023, 05:05 AM

I've had mine for over 18 months (I think 🤔).

I've tried a lot of ales and lagers and can't think of one I haven't liked. I'm normally a cider drinker and wish the did something different than Orchard Pig. Although it's one of the better ones it's no the best.

Asda doing kegs could be a game changer for the better in terms of choice and price.

20-06-2023, 05:50 AM
Really considering buying one now all the flaws have (apparently) been ironed out.Yup :-)

The original Pinter worked really well, there was a wee knack to getting a perfect pour though.
Only real downside was the connection between the "dock" (where all the dead yeast etc drops too during brewing) and the Pinter, mine was starting to crack, if it hadn't been for Pinter 2 coming along I'd have been looking for a warranty replacement.

Pinter 2, a really solid unit and they have the Dock connection perfected , only issue now is that they seemed to have taken a step back in the "pour quality " when they upgraded the tap, clearly they realised this and introduced a further upgraded tap!

The above setup looks to have finally got things sorted, I was about to purchase the new tap when Pinter 3 was announced (reluctantly I might add as I felt I was paying to fix a problem they'd created)

As it stands I'm waiting on delivery of a shiny new Pinter 3! :-)

With regards to the actual beers, I've never had a bad one (excepting the foam issues with P2).
Personal favourites are Space Hopper, an IPA style 7% abv or Dark Matter, a very Guinness like stout at 5% abv.

On the kettle watching, for.the Dark Matter its 7 days!

If you are interested, this link will give you.£20 off.
(In return I get a voucher to spend on some beer! :greengrin )

https://tinyurl.com/20-off-Pinter3

Good Luck if you go for it!

ErinGoBraghHFC
20-06-2023, 08:30 AM
Glad I don’t drink alcohol.

Okay

20-06-2023, 01:10 PM
Okay

Are you.

21-06-2023, 12:38 PM
I've had mine for over 18 months (I think 🤔).

I've tried a lot of ales and lagers and can't think of one I haven't liked. I'm normally a cider drinker and wish the did something different than Orchard Pig. Although it's one of the better ones it's no the best.

Asda doing kegs could be a game changer for the better in terms of choice and price.

I think Perfect draft are tied in with certain breweries which, for the time being you don't see the likes of Moretti, Guinness etc.

Tennents has been my staple purchase however the last 2 have been Goose Island lager, nice stuff. Lost lager probably next.

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-06-2023, 08:56 PM
Are you.

Yes thanks

ErinGoBraghHFC
21-06-2023, 08:58 PM
I think Perfect draft are tied in with certain breweries which, for the time being you don't see the likes of Moretti, Guinness etc.

Tennents has been my staple purchase however the last 2 have been Goose Island lager, nice stuff. Lost lager probably next.

Yep PD is tied in with ABinbev I’m sure and the blade, can’t remember what company makes it, is in with Heineken, that’s why you get Moretti etc on the blade but not the PD

StevesFamau5
29-06-2023, 01:57 PM
Just back from a week in Spain and I know it's probably no to everyone's taste but the amount of brilliant lagers I drank was just amazing.

I wish we could get more Mahou, Cruzcampo and Victoria Malaga here. Also shout out to Estrella Del Sur which was amazing.

My liver is pretty sore still but worth it.

Stubbsy90+2
29-06-2023, 03:30 PM
Just back from a week in Spain and I know it's probably no to everyone's taste but the amount of brilliant lagers I drank was just amazing.

I wish we could get more Mahou, Cruzcampo and Victoria Malaga here. Also shout out to Estrella Del Sur which was amazing.

Cruzcampo is excellent.

You can get Victoria Malaga in Tesco. Looks like it’s got Trump on the bottle :greengrin

bringbackbenny
29-06-2023, 06:57 PM

Cruzcampo is excellent.

You'll both be pleased to hear Cruzcampo is currently being launched in the UK, lots of taps soon!

https://www.theolivepress.es/spain-news/2023/04/07/top-spanish-beer-cruzcampo-launches-in-uk-as-iberian-brands-continue-british-invasion/

29-06-2023, 07:21 PM
Not a beer but, I'm particularly partial to a bottle of Aspalls Cider this summer.

Stubbsy90+2
29-06-2023, 08:08 PM
You'll both be pleased to hear Cruzcampo is currently being launched in the UK, lots of taps soon!

https://www.theolivepress.es/spain-news/2023/04/07/top-spanish-beer-cruzcampo-launches-in-uk-as-iberian-brands-continue-british-invasion/

Lovely :aok:

Green Man
29-06-2023, 08:11 PM

My local just announced that they have Cruzcampo on now!

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2023, 08:19 PM
My local just announced that they have Cruzcampo on now!

Is this Cruzcampo stuff good? Never heard of it, where’s it from?

Also, get Keo on tap in the UK. Give the people what they want.

Stubbsy90+2
29-06-2023, 08:35 PM
Is this Cruzcampo stuff good? Never heard of it, where’s it from?

Also, get Keo on tap in the UK. Give the people what they want.

It’s from Seville. You get it all over Spain (maybe even elsewhere in Europe) in shops but I’ve only ever seen it on draft in Seville.

ErinGoBraghHFC
29-06-2023, 08:47 PM
It’s from Seville. You get it all over Spain (maybe even elsewhere in Europe) in shops but I’ve only ever seen it on draft in Seville.

I do usually like Spanish beers so I’ll give it a try.

Got Spaten in the PD at the minute, it’s alright but (no laughing) I prefer Tennents. Best I’ve had on the PD so far is Stella Unfiltered, Hertog Jan and Tennents.

29-06-2023, 08:50 PM

Malaga, or anywhere around Andalucia also serve it up on draft.

I think it's piss-water FWIW, but it's quite refreshing under a hot, southern Spanish sun.

Stubbsy90+2
29-06-2023, 08:54 PM

I think it's piss-water FWIW, but it's quite refreshing under a hot, southern Spanish sun.

When I was in Seville it was 38 degrees or so so you might be right!

Stubbsy90+2
29-06-2023, 08:55 PM
I do usually like Spanish beers so I’ll give it a try.

Got Spaten in the PD at the minute, it’s alright but (no laughing) I prefer Tennents. Best I’ve had on the PD so far is Stella Unfiltered, Hertog Jan and Tennents.

As much as some people will turn their nose up I honestly don’t think I’d choose any beer in the world over a tennents.

29-06-2023, 10:19 PM
Not a beer but, I'm particularly partial to a bottle of Aspalls Cider this summer.

After extensive research I agree it's one of the best ciders.

On a cruise between San Francisco and Sydney I drank them dry 😆

29-06-2023, 11:16 PM
After extensive research I agree it's one of the best ciders.

On a cruise between San Francisco and Sydney I drank them dry 😆

Sounds a bit more exotic than me drinking Wetherspoons dry of it! 😀

Stairway 2 7
30-06-2023, 07:08 AM
As much as some people will turn their nose up I honestly don’t think I’d choose any beer in the world over a tennents.

I prefer German beers but T is a nice pint. People that prefer IPAs saying they don't like it or prefer an x IPA is as useful as a cider drinker saying they prefer cider. It's a lager and a different drink completely.

30-06-2023, 08:28 AM
Home bargains sell Mahou and have done so for a while.

30-06-2023, 08:31 AM

You can get it all over Spain. Drank it on draft in Tenerife and Ibiza and you'll always find it in the big supermarkets.

Green Man
30-06-2023, 10:07 AM
I prefer German beers but T is a nice pint. People that prefer IPAs saying they don't like it or prefer an x IPA is as useful as a cider drinker saying they prefer cider. It's a lager and a different drink completely.

I love hoppy IPAs, imperial stouts, fruited sours and all that craft beer nonsense. But Tennents is a well made lager, and sometimes when you want a refreshing pint it’s hard to beat.

30-06-2023, 10:56 AM
I'm kind of the opposite to your average beer drinker's trajectory. When I was in my teens/20s/early 30s I was all about the real ale, brown ales, craft beer, etc. and would only really have a lager on holiday or if it was all that was on offer. My peers would mostly be into lager. Generally people get into the craft stuff, ales, etc. as they get older. I'd now rather have a lager most times... I still drink the other stuff but can't drink a lot of it. I would have definitely turned my nose up at a Vitamin T a few years ago, now it is probably what I have most if I'm buying a beer out.

I do enjoy trying stuff on the PD though. Had the Camden Hells lager in most recently but it was probably the worst one I've had for the PD (I've liked it when I've had it out before). I had bought a Camden Pale at the same time and I popped that in last night for the weekend. Hopefully that is better.

The German ones are really good on the PD (particularly the Oktoberfest editions). The continental strength Stella and Stella unfiltered are also good.

Stairway 2 7
30-06-2023, 12:05 PM
I love hoppy IPAs, imperial stouts, fruited sours and all that craft beer nonsense. But Tennents is a well made lager, and sometimes when you want a refreshing pint it’s hard to beat.

Yep same foe all of that. Guinness is a nice mass produced drink too, London pride also

Stubbsy90+2
30-06-2023, 12:56 PM
I'm kind of the opposite to your average beer drinker's trajectory. When I was in my teens/20s/early 30s I was all about the real ale, brown ales, craft beer, etc. and would only really have a lager on holiday or if it was all that was on offer. My peers would mostly be into lager. Generally people get into the craft stuff, ales, etc. as they get older. I'd now rather have a lager most times... I still drink the other stuff but can't drink a lot of it. I would have definitely turned my nose up at a Vitamin T a few years ago, now it is probably what I have most if I'm buying a beer out.

I do enjoy trying stuff on the PD though. Had the Camden Hells lager in most recently but it was probably the worst one I've had for the PD (I've liked it when I've had it out before). I had bought a Camden Pale at the same time and I popped that in last night for the weekend. Hopefully that is better.

The German ones are really good on the PD (particularly the Oktoberfest editions). The continental strength Stella and Stella unfiltered are also good.

I like Camden Hells but the prices of it for a pint are mad.

Queens Arms is £7 a pint.

30-06-2023, 05:15 PM

I’m not a big lager/beer drinker, too many bubbles for me. However in the Canaries they do a beautiful lager. Tropical Lager on draft is lovely to drink, light and refreshing. Don’t think you can get it in the UK

ErinGoBraghHFC
30-06-2023, 07:55 PM
I’m not a big lager/beer drinker, too many bubbles for me. However in the Canaries they do a beautiful lager. Tropical Lager on draft is lovely to drink, light and refreshing. Don’t think you can get it in the UK

Day to Day Blantyre Main Street will have it if you’re ever through there

01-07-2023, 03:53 PM

I'm drinking it in The Union Club in Innerleithen on draught, 4.5% instead of the bottled 5.5%, quite decent though.

02-07-2023, 08:45 AM
Day to Day Blantyre Main Street will have it if you’re ever through there

Thanks I’m through in the West regularly

ErinGoBraghHFC
06-07-2023, 12:53 AM

I’ll be heading up there tomorrow afternoon to stock up for the weekend, will check they’ve got it and let you know to save you the journey

ErinGoBraghHFC
07-07-2023, 10:28 PM

Didn’t see it when I was up there yesterday btw but they do have a really good selection of imported Weissbier, Lager, IPA and Pale Ales if anyones ever nearby. Fully recommend.

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-08-2023, 09:19 PM
Jubel Grapefruit lager this evening, lovely

05-08-2023, 09:22 PM

Fair few places in Blackpool had Cruzcampo on draft last week. I may or may not have liberated one of the very nice glasses from a bar at the end of the night.

Stubbsy90+2
06-08-2023, 08:06 AM
Fair few places in Blackpool had Cruzcampo on draft last week. I may or may not have liberated one of the very nice glasses from a bar at the end of the night.

You get it in The Barony on Broughton Street now. Great lager, great glass :agree:

08-08-2023, 05:34 PM
Is the stuff in the UK 'brewed under license' here? If so, it's not even close to the real thing - see most other current European lagers available in the UK...

That being said, our local restaurant had it on draft last week and I fair enjoyed a pint of it.

08-08-2023, 05:37 PM
Is the stuff in the UK 'brewed under license' here? If so, it's not even close to the real thing - see most other current European lagers available in the UK...

That being said, our local restaurant had it on draft last week and I fair enjoyed a pint of it.

It's UK brewed. Owned by Heineken.

08-08-2023, 07:49 PM
Obviously not beer but, Spoons have started selling bottles of 7% Perry, takes me back to Vilnius 🥴

15-08-2023, 02:38 PM
Tesco have started selling Cruzcampo. Just picked up 8 cans. Design needing sorted though as looks crap and nothing like their usual cans. If it wasn't for the fact I like Cruzcampo it wouldn't appeal to me at all. Very poor marketing.

RCNG
25-08-2023, 10:19 AM
Just ordered this 4 pack. Love what Pilot do and their increasing association with our club recently. Anyone going to pick some up? Trouble will be choosing whether to drink them or keep them on show :greengrin

https://pilotbeer.co.uk/cdn/shop/files/PHOTO-2023-08-21-12-40-21_900x.jpg?v=1692712168

31-08-2023, 06:27 AM
Just ordered this 4 pack. Love what Pilot do and their increasing association with our club recently. Anyone going to pick some up? Trouble will be choosing whether to drink them or keep them on show :greengrin

https://pilotbeer.co.uk/cdn/shop/files/PHOTO-2023-08-21-12-40-21_900x.jpg?v=1692712168

That peach melba is absolutely divine

31-08-2023, 11:55 AM
Camden Hells for me everyday of the week

MagicSwirlingShip
31-08-2023, 03:39 PM
Camden Hells for me everyday of the week

Love it

17-09-2023, 07:43 AM
Picked up some Mcewans Champion on Friday in Lidl. Had a bottle on Friday and it was rank. It was sickly sweet but the after taste was so bitter it was undrinkable. I tried another one last night and I’m happy to report that it was much much better than Friday nights.

17-09-2023, 11:46 AM
Picked up some Mcewans Champion on Friday in Lidl. Had a bottle on Friday and it was rank. It was sickly sweet but the after taste was so bitter it was undrinkable. I tried another one last night and I’m happy to report that it was much much better than Friday nights.

Not had Champions Ale in ages. Might need to pop out and get some this week!

Donegal Hibby
17-09-2023, 12:06 PM
Football special beer .
https://www.donegaldaily.com/2023/09/09/donegals-famous-football-special-turned-into-a-beer/

17-09-2023, 12:59 PM
Noticed Aldi have Spaten in stock just now. £1.99 for 500ml bottles, very decent Munich beer. It's one of my go to beers for the perfect draft.

They also have Paulaner oktoberfest bier.

17-09-2023, 12:59 PM

It's a heavy brew.

18-09-2023, 04:05 PM
Draught Tennents is all right but open a can and it's like someone let off.

18-09-2023, 04:23 PM
Draught Tennents is all right but open a can and it's like someone let off.

It's pretty good on PerfectDraft ... much to my surprise!

ErinGoBraghHFC
18-09-2023, 10:17 PM
Football special beer .
https://www.donegaldaily.com/2023/09/09/donegals-famous-football-special-turned-into-a-beer/

Jesus Donegal I’ve been laying off it for a while, but you know what my feelings are towards football special. Father in law is getting sent a text in the morning with an order for a crate of that stuff [emoji23]

19-09-2023, 12:42 PM
It's pretty good on PerfectDraft ... much to my surprise!Agree there Jack. I wouldn't give the stuff in cans to my dug but the 2 times I've had perfect draft kegs it's been nice.

alhibby
19-09-2023, 07:04 PM
Noticed Aldi have Spaten in stock just now. £1.99 for 500ml bottles, very decent Munich beer. It's one of my go to beers for the perfect draft.

They also have Paulaner oktoberfest bier.Cheers, must go get some tomorrow, hopefully local Aldi have some left, loved this beer on draft back in my oktoberfest days

Sent from my SM-G988B using Tapatalk

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-09-2023, 12:02 AM

They also have Paulaner oktoberfest bier.

Not a fan of Spaten but I can’t get enough of Lowenbrau, their oktoberfestbier on PD is unbelievable

ErinGoBraghHFC
22-09-2023, 12:03 AM
Not sure if it’s been mentioned before but Vocation Life & Death is lovely

stuart-farquhar
29-09-2023, 02:56 PM
Donzoko festbier deep gold.

In Tuechters landing. Very nice indeed.

30-09-2023, 11:59 AM
Guinness 0.0 is really good as an alcohol free option. Tastes almost exactly like the real stuff.

Stubbsy90+2
30-09-2023, 01:10 PM
Guinness 0.0 is really good as an alcohol free option. Tastes almost exactly like the real stuff.

Don’t like Guinness myself but everyone I’ve spoke to has said the same thing. Apparently excellent.

Donegal Hibby
06-10-2023, 09:43 PM
Jesus Donegal I’ve been laying off it for a while, but you know what my feelings are towards football special. Father in law is getting sent a text in the morning with an order for a crate of that stuff [emoji23]

That's why I posted it mate 😂

Stairway 2 7
06-10-2023, 10:08 PM
Not a fan of Spaten but I can’t get enough of Lowenbrau, their oktoberfestbier on PD is unbelievable

Love lowenbrau beautiful stuff. Not sure if I drank it last year at Octoberfest, not sure of anything, hofbrau was the best tent and beautiful beer

07-10-2023, 06:10 AM
Love lowenbrau beautiful stuff. Not sure if I drank it last year at Octoberfest, not sure of anything, hofbrau was the best tent and beautiful beerNot been to Octoberfest, seems just too busy for my liking, I was at Canstatter Volksfest in Stuttgart a few years back and that was fun. Been to hofbrau place in Munich and it's decent beer. I do like lowenbrau a lot, I usually get lowenbrau, Spaten and unfiltered Stella for the perfect draft

Would still say that of all beers that Augustiner Helles beer is the king.

Stairway 2 7
07-10-2023, 07:23 AM
Not been to Octoberfest, seems just too busy for my liking, I was at Canstatter Volksfest in Stuttgart a few years back and that was fun. Been to hofbrau place in Munich and it's decent beer. I do like lowenbrau a lot, I usually get lowenbrau, Spaten and unfiltered Stella for the perfect draft

It's bizarre but surprising calm for hundreds of thousands of drinkers, can't see it in uk. About 8 massive tents of 5k plus and other smaller tents. Some tents deliberately very quite, some tents a party. No sure I'd do again but more pleasant than I expected, although I probably am not the best judge after a few litres

07-10-2023, 07:48 AM
It's bizarre but surprising calm for hundreds of thousands of drinkers, can't see it in uk. About 8 massive tents of 5k plus and other smaller tents. Some tents deliberately very quite, some tents a party. No sure I'd do again but more pleasant than I expected, although I probably am not the best judge after a few litresCanstatter in Stuttgart is the 2nd biggest and definitely worth a visit. I was on a jolly with a supplier and we had a table in one of the big massive chalets. Was pretty lively inside.

Just remember walking in to a wall of heat and an oompah band playing AC/DC songs and stuff like that.

ErinGoBraghHFC
08-11-2023, 07:50 PM
Few Guinness through the nitrosurge as I’m off tomorrow. Cheers guys [emoji482]

12-11-2023, 07:27 PM
Sierra Nevada Pale Ale.

When I first started drinking, American beers over here were all pretty similar bland light beers from the multinationals... changed times.

Rolling Rock was nice when they imported it. Really refreshing. Then they started brewing it under license in burton-on-Trent and it tastes like all the other slop that comes out of that town.

20-11-2023, 12:02 PM
Rolling Rock was nice when they imported it. Really refreshing. Then they started brewing it under license in burton-on-Trent and it tastes like all the other slop that comes out of that town.

This is becoming quite a problem for many beers. Finding beers that are genuine imports from Europe or North America is getting increasingly difficult. One of my favourite beers has always been Leffe, but I noticed the 4 pack x 330ml bottles have started being brewed under license in the UK and there's a notable difference in taste.

I've always been a sucker for Czech lagers, but again, finding a genuinely produced Staropramen or Budvar from Czechia is becoming increasingly difficult. Pilsner Urquell remains superstar tier for me, and thankfully that still seems to be genuine import still...

The craft beer revolution that swept the US happened about the time I started drinking and we used to get all sorts of truly lovely stuff readily imported from the US, but the options have been significantly throttled in recent years - even finding previous staples like Sam Adams, Sierra Nevada, Brooklyn is becoming harder - even then, I think both Sam Adams and Brooklyn are both UK produced!

It all comes down to the water - the chemistry of the UK's water sources is completely different to that which produces beers in Belgium, Germany, East/West of the USA, so you can replicate the brewing process to the letter, but with a change in the base ingredient, you're never going to properly recreate these beers.

20-11-2023, 04:49 PM
This is becoming quite a problem for many beers. Finding beers that are genuine imports from Europe or North America is getting increasingly difficult. One of my favourite beers has always been Leffe, but I noticed the 4 pack x 330ml bottles have started being brewed under license in the UK and there's a notable difference in taste.

I've always been a sucker for Czech lagers, but again, finding a genuinely produced Staropramen or Budvar from Czechia is becoming increasingly difficult. Pilsner Urquell remains superstar tier for me, and thankfully that still seems to be genuine import still...

The craft beer revolution that swept the US happened about the time I started drinking and we used to get all sorts of truly lovely stuff readily imported from the US, but the options have been significantly throttled in recent years - even finding previous staples like Sam Adams, Sierra Nevada, Brooklyn is becoming harder - even then, I think both Sam Adams and Brooklyn are both UK produced!

It all comes down to the water - the chemistry of the UK's water sources is completely different to that which produces beers in Belgium, Germany, East/West of the USA, so you can replicate the brewing process to the letter, but with a change in the base ingredient, you're never going to properly recreate these beers.

Definitely.

You even see it when beers move to different regions of the UK. McEwans was never going to win many plaudits from the beer aficionados but 70 and 80 were solid cask and latterly keg beers when brewed in Edinburgh. Since moving down south they are markedly different and not for the better imo.

With foreign beers there is almost an element of deception to it. A beer like Madri takes that to the extreme but even among beers that were originally imported the 'brewed under license in the UK' information is usually so small and tucked away that you need a magnifying glass to see it. All the marketing alludes to them still being an imported and genuine product and they just aren't.

Dmas
21-11-2023, 05:51 AM
Not been to Octoberfest, seems just too busy for my liking, I was at Canstatter Volksfest in Stuttgart a few years back and that was fun. Been to hofbrau place in Munich and it's decent beer. I do like lowenbrau a lot, I usually get lowenbrau, Spaten and unfiltered Stella for the perfect draft

Do you know anywhere to get the helles beer in Uk? had a few bottles of this randomly in Munich a few years ago actually think I got them from a vending machine in a bakers or something for back at the hotel room and they where incredible

21-11-2023, 05:59 AM
Do you know anywhere to get the helles beer in Uk? had a few bottles of this randomly in Munich a few years ago actually think I got them from a vending machine in a bakers or something for back at the hotel room and they where incredibleBeer hive on Rodney street used to have them.

21-11-2023, 07:43 AM
A warning for folk with the Philips PerfectDraft.

On the Facebook page I'm on there seems to be a lot of machines breaking down around the 2 year mark. The liklihood of it breaking down is increased if the machine is switched off for a period of 3 or 4 weeks or more.

It's apparently a simple fix if you know how or £50 by Philips if you're outwith the 2 year manufacturers warranty.

Mine broke down with a week to go till that warranty ended and by official underhand means which others are unlikely to get, I'm getting a new machine!

21-11-2023, 07:44 AM
Do you know anywhere to get the helles beer in Uk? had a few bottles of this randomly in Munich a few years ago actually think I got them from a vending machine in a bakers or something for back at the hotel room and they where incredible

As Degenerated has said the Beer Hive on Rodney Street stock it. They have a great selection of German and Czech lagers, pilsners etc along with their wider craft offering.

Stairway 2 7
21-11-2023, 09:55 AM
Sell it in Brauhaus. If you want a similar Edinburgh beer Paulozzi beer is great. Can get it lots of bars also in Aldi and Sainsbury's. They have a bar and restaurant on Forest Rd, restaurant is a nice modern Italian. If in the Weej St Mungos lager by West brewery is a great German style beer, can get it a few pubs now and also Lidl

Dmas
21-11-2023, 12:51 PM
Sell it in Brauhaus. If you want a similar Edinburgh beer Paulozzi beer is great. Can get it lots of bars also in Aldi and Sainsbury's. They have a bar and restaurant on Forest Rd, restaurant is a nice modern Italian. If in the Weej St Mungos lager by West brewery is a great German style beer, can get it a few pubs now and also Lidl

St Mungos is nice, never tried the Paulozzi though I’ll give that a go, lidls also stock the Victoria Malaga now mentioned further up the thread looks like trump is on the label a decent drop as well

Dmas
21-11-2023, 12:53 PM

On the Facebook page I'm on there seems to be a lot of machines breaking down around the 2 year mark. The liklihood of it breaking down is increased if the machine is switched off for a period of 3 or 4 weeks or more.

It's apparently a simple fix if you know how or £50 by Philips if you're outwith the 2 year manufacturers warranty.

Mine broke down with a week to go till that warranty ended and by official underhand means which others are unlikely to get, I'm getting a new machine!

Thanks for heads up I will probably fall foul to this since mine is off more than it’s on, think it’s been in the cupboard since early summer

22-11-2023, 08:37 AM

Thanks for this. Good to know (although I think I must be just over the 2 years and mine is more often on than not). I have a Perfect Draft and a Sub Compact. The Sub broke a month after the warranty ended. Two things actually went wrong. The handle unit wouldn't go flush with the machine meaning it didn't stop pouring when you lifted it back to the resting position. Now it doesn't cool the beer/cider at all.

On the imported beer point, you notice a difference with these machines. Stella, for example is the higher strength Continental version on the Perfect Draft. Stella is my father-in-law's favoured pint and he brought some over. We had the tail end of a Stella keg from the machine followed by the cans he brought. Like night and day.

22-11-2023, 10:16 AM
Thanks for this. Good to know (although I think I must be just over the 2 years and mine is more often on than not). I have a Perfect Draft and a Sub Compact. The Sub broke a month after the warranty ended. Two things actually went wrong. The handle unit wouldn't go flush with the machine meaning it didn't stop pouring when you lifted it back to the resting position. Now it doesn't cool the beer/cider at all.

On the imported beer point, you notice a difference with these machines. Stella, for example is the higher strength Continental version on the Perfect Draft. Stella is my father-in-law's favoured pint and he brought some over. We had the tail end of a Stella keg from the machine followed by the cans he brought. Like night and day.

Yeah, the Stella is the real deal. Others, like Corona are brewed under licence. I might do myself a wee table of real deal/brewed under licence 😆

22-11-2023, 06:16 PM
St Mungos is nice, never tried the Paulozzi though I’ll give that a go, lidls also stock the Victoria Malaga now mentioned further up the thread looks like trump is on the label a decent drop as well

Paolozzi is probably one of my favourite beers - used to order boxes of the stuff during lockdown as they did home delivery.

Spent many a night utterly ******ed on the stuff.

Edited to add - they used to sell the unfiltered stuff by the tank in Brewhemia, but no longer stock it sadly. You can still get their unfiltered stuff in cans (direct from Edinburgh Beer Factory's website), and it's very tasty indeed.

EBF's other stuff is a bit hit or miss for me - Paolozzi definitely their superstar.

Stubbsy90+2
23-11-2023, 10:21 AM
Had Paolozzi a couple times and I can’t say I see what the fuss is about. Usually horrendously over priced and imo an average at best lager.

23-11-2023, 10:33 AM
Had Paolozzi a couple times and I can’t say I see what the fuss is about. Usually horrendously over priced and imo an average at best lager.

That what I thought too.

Trinity Hibee
25-11-2023, 05:44 AM
Anyone been to the pilot taproom at bonnington? Looking to buy some cans of peach sour and the Hibs ones