View Full Version : Petition against MP wage rises.
hibby rae
11-07-2013, 09:16 AM
https://submissions.epetitions.direct.gov.uk/petitions/44225
After all 'we're all in it together'.
11-07-2013, 09:54 AM
Where to start.
It's not the MP's that are suggesting this. It's an independent body that has recommended it; that body was set up as the result of public outrage at the expenses affair.
The MP's have the power to reject it, indeed reports I have read suggest that this is likely to be the case. In any event, it wouldn't take effect until after the next election.
In the small print, allowances are proposed to be cut. Also, the £33k (?) pay-off for retiring MP's is proposed to be abolished.
Headlines, eh? :greengrin
hibby rae
11-07-2013, 10:21 AM
Where to start.
It's not the MP's that are suggesting this. It's an independent body that has recommended it; that body was set up as the result of public outrage at the expenses affair.
The MP's have the power to reject it, indeed reports I have read suggest that this is likely to be the case. In any event, it wouldn't take effect until after the next election.
In the small print, allowances are proposed to be cut. Also, the £33k (?) pay-off for retiring MP's is proposed to be abolished.
I hope they do and a petition such as this will allow them to know what the public mood is regarding the proposal.
Although this Guardian article from the start of the year reports that a majority of MPs believe they should get an increase when answering a survey conducted by the IPSA.
http://www.guardian.co.uk/politics/2013/jan/10/mps-call-pay-rise-survey
In saying that, I think we'd all like an increase in our wages! But we're not the ones who should be setting an example.
11-07-2013, 10:56 AM
I think they should be paid more. £60-odd thousand, whilst big against the average wage, is a pretty rubbish wage for the nation's legislators. The equivalent in the US is over £115,000 whilst the likes of Ireland, Germany, the Netherlands and Italy all earn more than the UK.
There should be more accountability though - MP recalls, restrictions on how much work they can do elsewhere etc etc
11-07-2013, 11:02 AM
I think they should be paid more. £60-odd thousand, whilst big against the average wage, is a pretty rubbish wage for the nation's legislators. The equivalent in the US is over £115,000 whilst the likes of Ireland, Germany, the Netherlands and Italy all earn more than the UK.
There should be more accountability though - MP recalls, restrictions on how much work they can do elsewhere etc etc
That was one of the points highlighted in the review.
Where to start.
In years gone by the civil service also had an independent pay review body. Successive governments have all chosen to ignore that when it suited them and that body is currently suspended.
I also recall at the start of my civil service career MPs demanding that their salaries were linked to a civil service grade. That grade has a current max of around half what MPs are currently earning.
In short they've been quick enough to shaft their own workforce while looking after themselves quite nicely.
11-07-2013, 11:40 AM
In years gone by the civil service also had an independent pay review body. Successive governments have all chosen to ignore that when it suited them and that body is currently suspended.
I also recall at the start of my civil service career MPs demanding that their salaries were linked to a civil service grade. That grade has a current max of around half what MPs are currently earning.
In short they've been quick enough to shaft their own workforce while looking after themselves quite nicely.
This !
I have spent over 30 years within the same government department, in its various guises, anddue to the overspending by a previous Chief Executive and being a self funding agency I am currently going through my 5th year with a pay freeze.
I find it disgusting the way staff have been treated and think this is disgrace on whoever suggested this.
hughio
11-07-2013, 11:57 AM
I agree.
The knee jerk reactors will win the argument against us Beefy and the cowardly politicos will run for cover too scared to propose anything so inflammatory.
IMO thought we should pay them a lot more but monitor the expense accounts and directorships better.
That way we should get a better calibre of candidate.
In the new Scotland I am all for paying MSPs double.
Controversial I know and the politicians will all be too feart to propose it for fear of the knee -jerkers. But how else are you going to attract serious- minded, high- calibre candidates and end this cycle of numpties who are the only ones interested in applying? Folk with decent well- paid jobs don't need the hassle of quite demanding parlamentary duties for the sort of salary currently offered even with the perks...I assure you.
11-07-2013, 09:52 PM
They're meant to be our representatives but how can you represent someone you can't relate to? Attract "better" MPs? IMO if someone only wants to represent the people based on the size of the paycheque then I doubt their heart is in it.
11-07-2013, 10:09 PM
MPs cannot block it because they handed control of the decision to the independent body in the wake of the 2009 expenses scandal.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-23262503
11-07-2013, 10:13 PM
They're meant to be our representatives but how can you represent someone you can't relate to? Attract "better" MPs? IMO if someone only wants to represent the people based on the size of the paycheque then I doubt their heart is in it.
I guess everyone in the Hibs first team earn more than an MP does.
We manage to relate to them easily enough. We look upon some of them as heroes.
yeezus.
12-07-2013, 11:07 AM
I never thought I would be sitting clapping Michael Gove but good on him for saying they can "stick it."
12-07-2013, 11:36 AM
I never thought I would be sitting clapping Michael Gove but good on him for saying they can "stick it."
Easy enough to say that when you can cope without it. He's already rich enough.
Nick Clegg is also against it. You clapping him too :greengrin
yeezus.
12-07-2013, 01:57 PM
Haha, when I was in Aberdeen Gove came to visit - I think he went to RGU or something. Ever since watching that video of him slipping I just feel really sorry for him!
12-07-2013, 02:03 PM
Haha, when I was in Aberdeen Gove came to visit - I think he went to RGU or something. Ever since watching that video of him slipping I just feel really sorry for him!
He went to Robert Gordon's school. Nowt wrong with that. His University was Oxford though, he was far to grand for the Tech.
12-07-2013, 03:33 PM
Is Gove rich? He worked in the press and wrote a couple of books before becoming an MP. Even if he is wealthy, it's all earned so good on him.
yeezus.
12-07-2013, 04:12 PM
He went to Robert Gordon's school. Nowt wrong with that. His University was Oxford though, he was far to grand for the Tech.
Ah right cheers, I wasn't sure. When I watched the 10 o'clock news last night I wasn't expecting to see him pop up and say they can "stick it" that's all :greengrin
12-07-2013, 04:46 PM
Is Gove rich? He worked in the press and wrote a couple of books before becoming an MP. Even if he is wealthy, it's all earned so good on him.
I'm not criticising him because he earned his wealth, I'm simply saying its easy to turn down a pay rise when you don't need one.
12-07-2013, 05:10 PM
Ian Murray is an MP, anybody think half witted idiots like that are worth more than they already get? He isnae worth half of what he gets now. If the wages are tae rise so should the standard of some of the elected representatives receiving them. That idiot isnae worth thirty bob an hour.
12-07-2013, 06:46 PM
Ian Murray is an MP, anybody think half witted idiots like that are worth more than they already get? He isnae worth half of what he gets now. If the wages are tae rise so should the standard of some of the elected representatives receiving them. That idiot isnae worth thirty bob an hour.
Ultimately, the quality of the representative is down to the electorate. I'd love better MPs but it would mean either a break away from voting for the same party all the time and/or every party holding open primaries for every constituency with removal of power from constituency parties (which would go down like a cup of cold sick with the blazers and cardigans that populate these groups).
I think you're absolutely right and 6 grand isn't going to make any difference.
The main issue I have with most MPs just now is that its seen as a career - almost from school.
School to University to study politics.
University to researcher or some sort of lacky to a party or politician.
Then to a MP.
Experience of actually working for a living, or even just living, in the big bad world - zilch.
14-07-2013, 05:20 AM
Tend to agree.
Their NZ counterparts are also paid more, and there's only 4 million people to govern here! http://www.stuff.co.nz/national/politics/5981530/MPs-get-pay-rise-package-of-7000
If I'm not mistaken, the NZ PM gets a fair bit more than the UK PM too, which doesn't seem right really.
14-07-2013, 05:24 AM
I think you're absolutely right and 6 grand isn't going to make any difference.
The main issue I have with most MPs just now is that its seen as a career - almost from school.
School to University to study politics.
University to researcher or some sort of lacky to a party or politician.
Then to a MP.
Experience of actually working for a living, or even just living, in the big bad world - zilch.
Rather simplistic view is it not? Being an MP is their job, and is surely counted as 'working for a living'?? :confused:
I rather agree its rather simplistic :)
The point I was making was a lack of 'real life' diverse experience both individually and collectively as more and more of them are produced by a single system. Perhaps this is one of the reasons its becoming more difficult to even distinguish between the parties?
In the past, from my memory only, MPs showed charisma, leadership, original thought with the likelihood of a rebel slipping though and mixing things up. See Malcolm Chisholms career as a example.
Compare that to the current bunch of processed dullards hiding behind the corporate line. See Ian Murray (I'm a) MP as an example of clueless dullard.
14-07-2013, 03:36 PM
In the past, from my memory only, MPs showed charisma, leadership, original thought with the likelihood of a rebel slipping though and mixing things up. See Malcolm Chisholms career as a example.
Kate Hoey, David Davis, Bill Cash, Zac Goldsmith, Douglas Carswell, Frank Field, Paul Flynn (and lots more) could all be be classed as rebellious MPs with charisma and intelligence (agreeing with them is another matter).
There have always been independent-minded MPs and there has always been 'lobby fodder'. It wasn't any different a couple of decades ago IIRC.