View Full Version : England v Aussies Ashes Series

10-07-2013, 08:45 AM
The First Test begins at Trent Bridge this morning, really looking forward to it.

Don't know why, but, for some reason cricket must be about the only sport I like to see England winning at! :)

10-07-2013, 09:28 AM
England won the toss and will bat first.

10-07-2013, 10:08 AM
And we're off. Looking forward to this.
C'mon England.

10-07-2013, 10:14 AM
The First Test begins at Trent Bridge this morning, really looking forward to it.

Don't know why, but, for some reason cricket must be about the only sport I like to see England winning at! :)

Probably because we all know they are not really England:)

10-07-2013, 11:32 AM
Cook out for 13, England now moved on to 74-1, looking forward to seeing KP bat in a test match again.

10-07-2013, 11:40 AM
Root out bowled for 30, England now 78-2, nervous 20mins ahead for England.

10-07-2013, 12:44 PM
KP out for 14, that didnae last very long!
102-3

10-07-2013, 12:54 PM
I am watching it in spells on sky go from the office.

Lets hope for a big innings from Bell.

10-07-2013, 01:01 PM
Quite surprised Cook decided to bat first given the conditions at 1030, I suppose it means The Aussies will be batting last which might help England judging by the comments re the wicket from Beefy et al.

10-07-2013, 01:22 PM
Trott bowled out for 48, England 124-4.

10-07-2013, 02:20 PM
Bell gone for 25.

England 178 for 5. Aussies ahead on points.

10-07-2013, 02:21 PM
Bell out for 25, England 178-5, Siddle getting the ball to swing, the England bowlers will probably be quite content to see that.

10-07-2013, 02:26 PM
What a catch. Prior away for 1.

Siddle has a five for.

10-07-2013, 02:26 PM
Oh dear, Prior out for 1, 180-6.

10-07-2013, 02:32 PM
Vintage Australia breaking up every partnership before it gets established and no one player running up a score.

10-07-2013, 03:25 PM
Broad out c&b for 24, Bairstow bowled for 37, England now 213-8

DarrenSQH
10-07-2013, 03:26 PM
Come on Australia. No a bad start the day

10-07-2013, 03:28 PM
Finn out for a duck, strange review by Finn he must've known he hit it.

10-07-2013, 03:31 PM
213-9! Good entertainment. Think Anderson will start a fight back with the ball this evening.

10-07-2013, 03:40 PM
Finn out for a duck, strange review by Finn he must've known he hit it.

What did he think was going to happen ?

Off the bar
10-07-2013, 03:41 PM
215 all out, collapse. last 4 wickets for 2 runs

10-07-2013, 04:04 PM
Watson gone for 13, 19-1

Off the bar
10-07-2013, 04:05 PM
19-2 second bowler on a hat trick today! can Finn do it?

10-07-2013, 04:06 PM
Cowan out golden duck, 19-2, good stuff!

10-07-2013, 04:08 PM
This is good fun!

10-07-2013, 04:20 PM
This is good fun!

It sure is. 22-3 now.

10-07-2013, 04:21 PM
Clarke gone for a duck, what a delivery by Anderson, 22-3

10-07-2013, 05:28 PM
I have watched last hour it has been great fun. Shame i have to work tomorrow.

10-07-2013, 05:30 PM
75-4 @ close of play, two wickets for Jimmy, good stuff!

10-07-2013, 07:26 PM
I am going to the 1st day of the 3rd test!

Lookinf forward to it!

11-07-2013, 10:30 AM
Smith out for 53, another wicket for Jimmy, 108-5

11-07-2013, 10:35 AM
Great start for Swan, Haddin bowled out for 1, 113-6

11-07-2013, 10:41 AM
Siddle gone for 1, Anderson again, 114-7!

11-07-2013, 10:46 AM
Easy catch dropped by Swann with Starc on 0.

11-07-2013, 10:49 AM
Starc out caught on 0, Jimmy again, 114-8

11-07-2013, 10:50 AM
Interesting first 50 mins!

11-07-2013, 10:53 AM
Excellent stuff.

11-07-2013, 10:56 AM
Pattinson lbw Swann 2,117-9

11-07-2013, 10:58 AM
It just gets better and better. :thumbsup:

11-07-2013, 11:20 AM
Englands bowlers too good or the ozzie batsmen that bad?

11-07-2013, 11:22 AM
England's innings not looking too shabby now.

11-07-2013, 11:41 AM
What a strange sport this can be, 47 run partnership for the final wicket so far.

11-07-2013, 11:44 AM
Englands bowlers too good or the ozzie batsmen that bad?

Bowlers too good until they started bowling differently to the no.11, nae idea why they changed the tactics, its obviously not working though Agar has batted well.

11-07-2013, 11:57 AM
Agar is now the highest scoring no.11 on Test Match debut in the history of the game. A record that goes back to 1902, I'm sure that year carries some significance!

11-07-2013, 12:29 PM
Fantastic mornings entertainment!

Aus 229-9! Crazy stuff!

11-07-2013, 12:33 PM
Fantastic mornings entertainment!

Aus 229-9! Crazy stuff!

And shows why test cricket is much more exciting than 20/20. Great entertainment

11-07-2013, 12:45 PM
I am just gutted to be sat at work and can't watch it. :rolleyes:

DarrenSQH
11-07-2013, 01:46 PM
I am just gutted to be sat at work and can't watch it. :rolleyes:

Same, This last wicket stand sounds incredible.

117-9 to 278-9 and counting. Incredible.

Agar on 96

11-07-2013, 01:53 PM
Shame Agar didn't get the century but what an innings.

11-07-2013, 02:43 PM
What a turnaround again, Root out for 5, Trott out lbw first ball, England 11-2 @ tea.

12-07-2013, 05:39 AM
England coming over all Neil Lennon, asking for "clarification" about Trott's dismissal. Here's your clarification guys: it was plumb lbw and there was no clear evidence he hit the ball. Capisce?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cricket/23280652

http://www.espncricinfo.com/the-ashes-2013/content/story/650383.html

I still think they'll win despite being a bunch of torn faced gits who are nowhere near as good as a) they think they are or b) they were 2-3 years ago.

12-07-2013, 07:45 AM
Cricket seems to be more entertaining than it was back in the day. It's like a onedayer all the time.

12-07-2013, 09:06 AM
England coming over all Neil Lennon, asking for "clarification" about Trott's dismissal. Here's your clarification guys: it was plumb lbw and there was no clear evidence he hit the ball. Capisce?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cricket/23280652

http://www.espncricinfo.com/the-ashes-2013/content/story/650383.html

I still think they'll win despite being a bunch of torn faced gits who are nowhere near as good as a) they think they are or b) they were 2-3 years ago.

I thought the ball quite clearly moved off the bat in the super slo mo pictures. According to the SKY commentators there was a problem with the Hot Spot system which resulted in the deflection of the ball not being recorded.

12-07-2013, 10:58 AM
KP out for 64 playing on to his stumps, 121-3

12-07-2013, 11:09 AM
Cook out for 50, 131-4, England in big trouble now methinks.

12-07-2013, 11:11 AM
Agar is certainly enjoying himself. I wouldn't write England off yet after events so far but it doesn't look good for them.

12-07-2013, 11:13 AM
The coverage that SKY has brought to cricket has been fantastic, with a nod to C4 when they got rights a few years ago. Commentators are fantastic though they could do with some Aussie input during the match.

Bumble - charismatic, informative, witty, intelligent and funny. What Mark Lawrenson tries to be and fails miserably.

Calvin
12-07-2013, 11:41 AM
I've really enjoyed this test so far, so much so that I'm gonna get my act together and head down to Durham for a day.

I also support England at cricket (only sport that I can bear to see them win at) however all the chirping about the third umpire yesterday has put me right off.

Hank Schrader
12-07-2013, 12:15 PM
Bumble - charismatic, informative, witty, intelligent and funny.

The man is an absolute legend. :aok:

12-07-2013, 04:57 PM
England now 248 ahead. Looking a lot better just now.

Stonewall
12-07-2013, 05:23 PM
The coverage that SKY has brought to cricket has been fantastic, with a nod to C4 when they got rights a few years ago. Commentators are fantastic though they could do with some Aussie input during the match.

Bumble - charismatic, informative, witty, intelligent and funny. What Mark Lawrenson tries to be and fails miserably.

A good few years ago he spoke at the Hillhead CC dinner and was absolutely hilarious, one of the best after dinner speeches I've heard. Didn't touch a drop all night and was happy to chat away with anyone. He was as you describe him and I'd add humble to the list. Genuinely very modest.

Stonewall
12-07-2013, 05:27 PM
260 ahead on a tricky wicket at the end of play, think England have just about enough now.

12-07-2013, 06:54 PM
Poor decision by Broad to not walk. You generally expect cricketers to be a little more honest than many other sportsmen.

Notahappyhibee
12-07-2013, 07:02 PM
When a Aussie walks then they will have a right to moan at the level they are playing the umpire should see it. A bit different in EOS div 8 when one of your young lads umpiring

13-07-2013, 07:40 AM
Poor decision by Broad to not walk. You generally expect cricketers to be a little more honest than many other sportsmen.

But cricketers haven't "walked" for a long time. I can't think of a contemporary cricketer whom I'd expect to walk.

Back in the day most of them did and people like Boycott were the exception. Yesterday I heard him s******ing in the background at the fact that the Aussies had no more challenges left.

13-07-2013, 10:41 AM

He wasn't dishonest though, he just waited for the Umpires call. There would have been no complaints from him if the Umpires had called him out.

13-07-2013, 10:42 AM
What should England be looking to declare on here?

13-07-2013, 10:48 AM
What should England be looking to declare on here?

Doubtful if declaration, this is only the 1st session of the 4th day.

Caveat: of course they wouldn't want to bat all day.

Edit: think they have enough already anyway.

13-07-2013, 11:00 AM
306 ahead with two wickets remaining, they should be safe enough methinks.

13-07-2013, 11:22 AM
Aussies set a target of 311 to win the match. If Swann bowls well it should be relatively straightforward for England, not taking anything for granted in this match though.

13-07-2013, 11:24 AM
Aussies set a target of 311 to win the match. If Swann bowls well it should be relatively straightforward for England, not taking anything for granted in this match though.

Would like to see the Aussies get to 150 with only two or three down, give a good test match the finish it deserves.

13-07-2013, 01:21 PM
If oz can upset the odds and win this then it really will set up the rest of the series.

13-07-2013, 02:38 PM
Aussies 111-2 @ tea, Root instead of Swann getting one for the spinners.

13-07-2013, 04:35 PM
Clarke out 23, 161-4. No reviews left for The Aussies.

13-07-2013, 04:38 PM
2 wickets in 2 deliveries, 161-5

13-07-2013, 04:42 PM
It's been some Test match. Great entertainment.

13-07-2013, 04:51 PM
164-6, Swanny has turned up now, taken the last two wickets.

13-07-2013, 04:53 PM
Agar comes in at number 8, lets see how he does 2nd time around.

Stonewall
13-07-2013, 05:31 PM
This is great stuff. Think I'm going to have to find away to get down to the Durham test.

13-07-2013, 05:55 PM

When a Aussie walks then they will have a right to moan at the level they are playing the umpire should see it. A bit different in EOS div 8 when one of your young lads umpiring

But cricketers haven't "walked" for a long time. I can't think of a contemporary cricketer whom I'd expect to walk.

Back in the day most of them did and people like Boycott were the exception. Yesterday I heard him s******ing in the background at the fact that the Aussies had no more challenges left.

He wasn't dishonest though, he just waited for the Umpires call. There would have been no complaints from him if the Umpires had called him out.

You're all right to a degree. But there are some sports where cheating is practically a given, not least of which is football, and others where there is a greater tradition of self policing, and generally I'd include golf, snooker and cricket within that. It's maybe unfair to be too critical of Broad, but it is undoubtedly a little saddening. And for a recent example of someone renowned for walking irrespective of the umpire's decision, you need look no further than Adam Gilchrist, coincidentally an Australian.

14-07-2013, 10:27 AM
Been a great test. Hope it goes to the wire.

Got tix the other day for scots v Australia at the grange in September. Canny wait

14-07-2013, 10:50 AM
Quick straw poll. Five mins to midday. England need four wickets. Australia need 105 runs.
Who wins ?

14-07-2013, 10:55 AM
England take the new ball, Agar gone for 14, 207-7

Off the bar
14-07-2013, 10:57 AM
Quick straw poll. Five mins to midday. England need four wickets. Australia need 105 runs.
Who wins ?

with agar just gone, England by 50 runs

14-07-2013, 11:00 AM
with agar just gone, England by 50 runs

Was thinking Aussies might sneak it. England before lunch now.

14-07-2013, 11:05 AM
Jimmy strikes again, Starc gone for 1, 211-8

14-07-2013, 11:31 AM
3 catches by Cook and 3 wickets for Jimmy this morning, Siddle out for 11, 231-9

14-07-2013, 11:53 AM
Brad Haddin playing the Davy Crockett role.

14-07-2013, 11:54 AM
This is getting close.

14-07-2013, 12:04 PM
30 needed. Great stuff. Wasn't really worried who won but an Aussie win would be great for the series.

14-07-2013, 12:10 PM
Fantastic test match, whatever the outcome.

14-07-2013, 12:20 PM
So far in this Test, Australia's last wicket has added 213 for 1. Rest of the team - 348 for 18.

14-07-2013, 01:21 PM
England win the test, quite clearly a loud noise on snicko, great match, 10 wicket match for young James!

Thought it was audible enough watching it live.

14-07-2013, 01:22 PM
That was a fantastic contest. Roll on the 2nd test.

14-07-2013, 01:23 PM
England win the test, quite clearly a loud noise on snicko, great match, 10 wicket match for young James!

Was that snicko though or just the original audio ?

14-07-2013, 01:25 PM
Snicko confirms.

mrdependable
14-07-2013, 01:25 PM
snicko has confirmed the audio. Fantastic drama

14-07-2013, 01:27 PM
Was that snicko though or just the original audio ?

I was just basing it on the original audio, but, the noise couldnae have been anything else.

14-07-2013, 01:30 PM
I was just basing it on the original audio, but, the noise couldnae have been anything else.

That looked the case when on replay the bat was nowhere near the pads or the crease.

14-07-2013, 05:22 PM
I am a bit of an old codger where cricket is concerned but I must say the test match served up a pretty tense ending.

What I don't like is all these "challenges". The umpire's word should be final - even if he's an idiot.

I also don't care for the singing of patriotic songs before the sessions. What is that all about? The Barmy Army?

The main problem with cricket now is that it's not on terrestrial TV any more.

The last one that was on the telly (Channel 4) - I think 2005 - was very exciting with Flintoff offering his hand to Lee etc etc

I've ignored cricket since then but maybe I'll bite the bullet and get into it again.

14-07-2013, 05:57 PM
As someone posted earlier SKY have taken tv coverage onto another level. Something they've pretty much managed to do with every sport they've taken under their wing.

14-07-2013, 06:21 PM
Get in there. :thumbsup:

Calvin
15-07-2013, 02:23 PM
No changes to the England squad for the second test. Good call I think, would have been easy to drop Finn but he'll come good on his own wicket.

16-07-2013, 12:35 PM
No changes to the England squad for the second test. Good call I think, would have been easy to drop Finn but he'll come good on his own wicket.

Makes sense. I like Finn as a bowler - he may not be quite as dangerous as Broad and Anderson, but when he's in the groove he's very difficult to play against. Reminds me a bit of Geoff Arnold, another underestimated bowler in the days of Bob Willis and Chris Old.

That Test was a very close-run thing, and England did very well to come through as winners. It ould easily have gone the other way and the fact that they did win speaks volumes for Cook's captaincy and the character of the team. It would have been unjust and unwise to drop anyone IMO.

Second Test will show us what the Aussies are made of. My feeling is that England (weather permitting) will go 2-0 up and cruise the rest of the series.

16-07-2013, 12:57 PM
Well done Stuart Broad for being a cheat and winning his team the game. Hopefully we can now forget all this 'gentlemans' game pish as it's clear that Cricket is just the same as Football, Rugby etc when it comes to winning at ALL costs.

16-07-2013, 01:54 PM
Well done Stuart Broad for being a cheat and winning his team the game. Hopefully we can now forget all this 'gentlemans' game pish as it's clear that Cricket is just the same as Football, Rugby etc when it comes to winning at ALL costs.

I'm not so sure that is true or fair Dave. When a pack of snarling players surrounds the umpire and tells him in the foulest terms possible that he got a decision wrong then Cricket will have reached the same level as Fitba etc. It was unfortunate that he didn't just walk off but he was within his rights to wait for the Umpires call.
I wouldn't say that his actions won England the game either. That was an epic five day contest with so many twists and turns you couldn't really say that one incident determined the result.

16-07-2013, 02:02 PM
I'm not so sure that is true or fair Dave. When a pack of snarling players surrounds the umpire and tells him in the foulest terms possible that he got a decision wrong then Cricket will have reached the same level as Fitba etc. It was unfortunate that he didn't just walk off but he was within his rights to wait for the Umpires call.
I wouldn't say that his actions won England the game either. That was an epic five day contest with so many twists and turns you couldn't really say that one incident determined the result.

Like Mike Gatting and Shakoor Rana you mean :greengrin OK, it wasn't a pack but Gatting is big enough to qualify as a pack.

I don't mind Broad standing there - If he wants to cheat so blatently that's his decision - but it's a bit rich of England to moan about Trott and his LBW then sit smugly back and watch him cheat his way to another 40 or so runs.

16-07-2013, 02:26 PM
Like Mike Gatting and Shakoor Rana you mean :greengrin OK, it wasn't a pack but Gatting is big enough to qualify as a pack.I don't mind Broad standing there - If he wants to cheat so blatently that's his decision - but it's a bit rich of England to moan about Trott and his LBW then sit smugly back and watch him cheat his way to another 40 or so runs.

18-07-2013, 08:06 AM
The 2nd Test begins at Lords this morning, if its half as good as the Trent Bridge test we are in for a treat. Not so many updates from me today as I'll be consuming some alfresco pints down Leith pre Malmo first leg screening!

18-07-2013, 09:31 AM
England win the toss and bat first.

18-07-2013, 10:35 AM
Cook out for 12 lbw Watson, 18-1

18-07-2013, 10:42 AM
Root out lbw 6, 26-2. Here we go again!

18-07-2013, 10:47 AM
KP out caught behind 2, 28-3

18-07-2013, 11:07 AM
KP out caught behind 2, 28-3

Oh dear!

18-07-2013, 11:08 AM
The 2nd Test begins at Lords this morning, if its half as good as the Trent Bridge test we are in for a treat. Not so many updates from me today as I'll be consuming some alfresco pints down Leith pre Malmo first leg screening!

Hijacking the thread.... where you watching it?

18-07-2013, 12:15 PM
Hijacking the thread.... where you watching it?

Harp & Castle, nae Strongbow though, unfortunately for me.

18-07-2013, 12:18 PM

Cricket has always been schizophrenic - "gentlemen" and "players" both taking part, and the "gentlemen" just as competitive as the professionals. W G Grace was notorious for taking as much advantage as he could in order to win a match - and he was one of the "gentlemen". His encounter with Charles Kortrght in 1898 - and Kortright was a ferociously intimidatory bowler - is a classic of late-Victorian cricket. "You're not going yet, Doc - there's one stump still standing ..." Grace claimed he had never been so insulted in his life, and said so to an Essex committee member, who told him not to be so silly - of course he had.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Charles_Kortright

The batsmen has always had the right to stand and await the umpire's decision - during the Lord's test during the first South African series after they were re-admitted to Test cricket Mike Atherton stood his ground after Allan Donald caught his outside edge. He was given not out, and that led to one of the most absorbing hours of cricket I've ever seen - Donald bowling over after over of the most hostile deliveries imaginable, and Atherton defending doggedly until finally Cronje took Donald off exhausted.

And then of course there was Dougie Jardine and the Bodyline series ...

Sportsmanship> I don't think so. At one point Jardine complained to the Bill Woodfull the Australian captain that one of the Aussies had called him (Jardine) a "*******". Bill agreed that this wasn't on, and offered to sort it out right away. So he took Jardine into he Aussie dressing-room, called for silence, and asked the Aussie players, "All right, which one of you *******s called this ******* a *******?"

And then there was the great Aussie fast bowler Lillian Thomson ...

The first Ashes series I watched throughout involved the Chappell brothers, Ray Illingworth, and Geoffrey Boycott, it was so long ago. Never since then have I seen a batsman, English or Australian, walk unless his stumps have been flattened or scattered to the four winds. You just don't do it, mate - not in the Ashes.

Cricket isn't a gentleman's sport, Dave - it's fun.

The Lord's wicket in this weather is a lovely wicket for a seamer, and with the bowlers on show this could be a very interesting match.

18-07-2013, 12:40 PM
Good stuff Doddie, but at the end of the day Broad cheated plain and simple. Plenty of sport commentators out there are quick to criticise footballers for diving, fouling off the ball and so on, but by your definition they have the right to do that as its the referee's decision?

Let's apply the same things to football and cricket et al. You can't call Suarez a cheat for falling over in the penalty box, yet give Broad credit for standing his ground.

18-07-2013, 02:27 PM
I appreciate that, Dave, but this has always been part of the 'code' - a batsman is entitled to stand his ground, but if the umpire raises his finger, then the batsman has to go. I'm actually more peeved by this idea of appeals being allowed - when I first started watching, the umpires were always right even when they were wrong.

I think the problem is when some idiot starts talking about cricket as if it were somehow different from (and morally superior to) any other sport. It isn't and never has been. There's always an edge in the Ashes - the stories of Aussie sledging of English batsmen, and English batsmen getting them back, are legion.

Merv Hughes used to stop in the middle of the wicket after a delivery, look at the batsman, and tell him, "Hey, mate, there's some **** on the end of your bat." And when the batsman would raise his bat to look at the toe of the bat, Merv would say, "No, mate - other end." :greengrin

Have you ever heard THIS before?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DrCNUrnsu2s

18-07-2013, 02:35 PM
I appreciate that, Dave, but this has always been part of the 'code' - a batsman is entitled to stand his ground, but if the umpire raises his finger, then the batsman has to go. I'm actually more peeved by this idea of appeals being allowed - when I first started watching, the umpires were always right even when they were wrong.

I think the problem is when some idiot starts talking about cricket as if it were somehow different from (and morally superior to) any other sport. It isn't and never has been. There's always an edge in the Ashes - the stories of Aussie sledging of English batsmen, and English batsmen getting them back, are legion.

Merv Hughes used to stop in the middle of the wicket after a delivery, look at the batsman, and tell him, "Hey, mate, there's some **** on the end of your bat." And when the batsman would raise his bat to look at the toe of the bat, Merv would say, "No, mate - other end." :greengrin

haha, that's a belter :greengrin

Like you, I'm getting a bit bored with DRS and the reviews. Beginning to agree with Aggers that 1 review per innings is the best option which takes away the 'hope I get lucky here' option.

18-07-2013, 03:54 PM

:agree: Snooker and golf like to pretend this is the case as well. Two sports where you put on shoes to play.:wink:

18-07-2013, 06:14 PM
:agree: Snooker and golf like to pretend this is the case as well. Two sports where you put on shoes to play.:wink:

Actually, I'd say it's the poseurs who try to keep those pretensions going.

If cricket were genuinely gentlemanly, it would be rather tedious - after you, Claude, no, after you Cecil - but it's the bite that makes it fun. I mean, cricket involves fast bowlers launching a solid, very hard projectile at a batsman's soft and tender body at something between 75 and 100 mph. I mean, that hurts.

I agree totally about golf and snooker and I could also add fencing, of which many years ago I was a moderately accomplished practitioner.

Many people assume that it's all about skill and good fellowship - you know, your opponent drops his sword, so you step back and allow him to retrieve it..

Bull****. If your opponent drops his sword, you skewer him.

There IS a code - you don'd cheat like Onishenko did in the 76 Olympics without being hammered big time, but it's a combat sport and there's absolutely no need to be silly and lose unnecessarily ....

However, to get back to the point of the thread, this Test's nicely poised now. I still think England will win it.

And as for Broad, there's something about him I just don't quite like - he reminds me of Damien in "Drop The Dead Donkey".

Damien:

http://imados.fr/history/0/9/1/stephen-tompkinson.jpg
Stuart Broad:

http://e1.365dm.com/13/02/16-9/20/165012893_2194168716001_901868133-682-1362040796106.jpg

(Or maybe it's the other way round ....)

18-07-2013, 06:41 PM
And as for Broad, there's something about him I just don't quite like - he reminds me of Damien in "Drop The Dead Donkey".

Never taken to Broad myself.

18-07-2013, 08:29 PM
Never taken to Broad myself.

I didn't see the incident when he stood his ground, but I have a feeling he would have made it rather obvious he was 'at it'.

On the other hand, I have a huge regard for Anderson.

I was also rather taken with the discussion between Strauss and (I think) Hussein when Strauss was adamant that he would have taken Steve Smith off and asked for the new ball.

Nice call, Andrew - Smith takes another two cheap wickets, takes the gloss of what had up till then been a good day for England, and leaves everything nicely balanced. :rolleyes:

There's mileage in this series yet, I think.

19-07-2013, 10:02 AM
Bresnan out first ball of the day 289-8

Off the bar
19-07-2013, 10:24 AM
313/9 Anderson out, Swann coming in unusually far down the order! These two need to smash 30-40 to get England to a respectable total.

19-07-2013, 10:55 AM
361 All Out

19-07-2013, 12:05 PM
Watson lbw 30 Bresnan final delivery of the session, 42-1 @ Lunch

Off the bar
19-07-2013, 12:05 PM
42/1 Watson gone lbw to Bresnan, another shocking review from the Aussies

19-07-2013, 01:04 PM
Rogers lbw Swann 15, 53-2

19-07-2013, 01:06 PM
Hughes gone for 1, 53-3

19-07-2013, 01:07 PM
Reviews all over the place today!

19-07-2013, 01:28 PM
Khawaja out for 14, 69-4.

Off the bar
19-07-2013, 02:03 PM
Smith gone for 2 86-5 and as I write Clarke gone! 90-6 can they avoid the follow on? would you inforce if they don't make it?

19-07-2013, 02:11 PM
Smith gone for 2 86-5 and as I write Clarke gone! 90-6 can they avoid the follow on? would you inforce if they don't make it?

Cook nearly got the declaration wrong against NZ, bit of a safety first captain though that could be as he is in the infancy of his leadership. He'd rather have the decision made for him but either way this test looks Englands all the way.

Off the bar
19-07-2013, 02:38 PM
Cook nearly got the declaration wrong against NZ, bit of a safety first captain though that could be as he is in the infancy of his leadership. He'd rather have the decision made for him but either way this test looks Englands all the way.

96/7 now, Aussie's falling apart for what its worth I would'nt enforce follow on, it's mucking hot here in London and I'd make them field for a day and a half and leave them 2 days to survive chasing an impossible 450-500

19-07-2013, 03:08 PM
Nipped to McDonalds with my wee nephew for an hour, looks like i'm missing all the fun!

19-07-2013, 03:13 PM
Siddle gone for 2, 104-8

19-07-2013, 03:18 PM
Haddin out for 7, 104-9

19-07-2013, 03:51 PM
Aussies 128 All Out! 5 wickets for Swanny

19-07-2013, 04:46 PM
Cook drags the ball onto the stumps, out for 8, 22-1

19-07-2013, 04:55 PM
Trott drags on too, out for a duck 22-2

19-07-2013, 06:29 PM
England 31-3 @ close of play.

20-07-2013, 09:27 AM
Can't see anything other than an English victory ... Australia were rank rotten with the bat yesterday like

20-07-2013, 11:04 AM
Can't see anything other than an English victory ... Australia were rank rotten with the bat yesterday like

Very much so. England are effectively 303-3, even if they only score another 100 runs it'll be game over.

20-07-2013, 12:22 PM

Very much so. England are effectively 303-3, even if they only score another 100 runs it'll be game over.

Game's over now barring weather and I don't think that'll save them, and I can see Botham's prediction for this series coming true - this Australian team's the poorest I can remember - they have an awful lot of work to do to be even half-ready for the return series in the winter.

20-07-2013, 12:22 PM
England 114-3 @ lunch.

20-07-2013, 01:27 PM
Bresnan goes for 38, 129-4.

20-07-2013, 01:39 PM
I thought the Durham test was the 3rd but it's the 4th.

From a purely selfish point of view, I hope the Aussies win the 3rd test.

20-07-2013, 01:49 PM
Game's over now

Deffo, England still have 6 wickets in hand and are well beyond the highest score a team has made in the 4th innings to win a Lords Test Match.

21-07-2013, 10:17 AM
England 349-7 dec, Root out for 180, 582 ahead.

21-07-2013, 10:58 AM
Watson goes for 20, 24-1

21-07-2013, 11:14 AM
Rogers bowled out for 6 by Swann, 32-2, I think Swann will be the main man in this innings.

21-07-2013, 11:36 AM
Hughes out lbw 1, bowled Swann, 36-3

21-07-2013, 11:38 AM
It wasn't much of a contest anyway but this must be desperately hard for the Aussies to watch.

21-07-2013, 02:20 PM
Clarke out for 51, 134-4

21-07-2013, 02:33 PM
Khawaja goes for 54, 135-5, 2nd wicket for Root.

21-07-2013, 02:38 PM
Smith gone for 1, 136-6 @ Tea.

21-07-2013, 03:14 PM
Agar goes for 16, 154-7

21-07-2013, 03:41 PM
Haddin gone for 7, 162-8

21-07-2013, 04:40 PM
Anderson bowls Siddle for 18, 192-9

21-07-2013, 05:18 PM
After a great start to the ashes it's looking like its gonna be very one sided

21-07-2013, 05:42 PM
England win the 2nd Test by 347 runs.

21-07-2013, 05:54 PM
Compulsive viewing again. Shame it was seen by toggling with the Open but got the last half hour or so uninterrupted. This series is becoming a bit of a procession, so would be nice to see the Aussies make more of a match of it in the third.

23-07-2013, 12:30 PM
Compulsive viewing again. Shame it was seen by toggling with the Open but got the last half hour or so uninterrupted. This series is becoming a bit of a procession, so would be nice to see the Aussies make more of a match of it in the third.

Yup. I honestly can't see it happening unless there's a major upheaval in their camp, but there again this is Australia and the Ashes and surely their batsmen will find some spine soon.

the bowlers are actually doing not too badly - they just haven't had any sort of target to bowl at. Pattinson is a big loss - I wasn't surprised to hear about his back as he was nowhere near his best - and they're really lacking a spinner.

Personally, I don't think much of the captain. I'm beginning to wonder whether he really has a clue.

England have been patchy, and some of their batsmen need to waken their ideas up big time, but they have room to get better, and the signs were beginning to show in this last Test. The stand between Root and Bell in the second innings was a joy to watch, and I think the bowling has been pretty good, though with some of the airy-fairy Aussie batting ....

Funny - when I was 15 I used to girn about the cricket interrupting the golf. Now I just ignore the golf. I can honestly say I don't know who won it yet. And I really don't care. :greengrin

01-08-2013, 09:30 AM
3rd Test @ Old Trafford about to begin. I wonder if The Aussies can make a game of it with Warner back in the team.

Aussies win the toss and will bat first, game on!

01-08-2013, 11:22 AM
Watson out for 19, 76-1, decent start for The Aussies, wicket just arrived at the right time for England.

01-08-2013, 11:51 AM
Khawaja gone for 1 after a DRS. Strange decision by the 3rd umpire. 82-2.

01-08-2013, 12:09 PM
How could the umpires get that one so wrong? Even watching it in real time without the technogy it was clear he had not hit the ball.

01-08-2013, 12:48 PM
How could the umpires get that one so wrong? Even watching it in real time without the technogy it was clear he had not hit the ball.

The umpires are doing a grand job of making a total ****ing erse of this series.

01-08-2013, 12:59 PM
The umpires are doing a grand job of making a total ****ing erse of this series.

A wee bit of retraining should see them reffing in the SPFL next season.

01-08-2013, 01:33 PM
Rogers gone for 84, 129-3.

01-08-2013, 05:33 PM
Rogers gone for 84, 129-3.

HUTCHYHIBBY updates few and far between today. Draw currently trading at 1.76. No chance of 40 wickets this test and can't see any attacking declarations.

01-08-2013, 05:35 PM
HUTCHYHIBBY updates few and far between today. Draw currently trading at 1.76. No chance of 40 wickets this test and can't see any attacking declarations.

Was too busy stuffing my face @ Jimmy Chungs, not long back!

01-08-2013, 06:22 PM
Khawaja gone for 1 after a DRS. Strange decision by the 3rd umpire. 82-2.

Absolute shocker. :agree:

01-08-2013, 11:03 PM
Listened to a lot of today's play on TMS. I wonder why boycotts mum never played test cricket. She would have been England's leading wicket taker if she had.

02-08-2013, 10:54 AM
Should test matches really be played on this type of wicket? Batsmens paradise so far, might change over the next couple of days I suppose.

02-08-2013, 11:10 AM
Spin pays instant dividends, Smith gone for 89. 343-4.

Warner on now, should be fun judging by his reception.

02-08-2013, 11:28 AM
What a stupid review by Warner. He got so much on the ball it must have removed a layer of linseed.

Ball is turning. Shane warne would have a field day here.

02-08-2013, 11:48 AM
Ball is turning. Shane warne would have a field day here.

I bet they wish they had picked Monty for this game as well now.

02-08-2013, 02:26 PM
Someone else can do the updates, I'm in the boozer! cheers!

02-08-2013, 02:47 PM
507 - 7 at tea.

03-08-2013, 06:01 AM
Big day today. Aussies need to take wickets but if England are only 5/6 down at stumps then they will have just about retained that wee trophy.

03-08-2013, 05:07 PM
7 for 292 - England should save the follow-on now. That would very probably be the series drawn at worst.

05-08-2013, 10:40 AM
Cook out 0-1, what a bizarre review! crazy stuff.

05-08-2013, 11:08 AM
Wasn't sure about Strauss on the SKY team but really delivering now. Enjoyed him and Shane Warne talking about the 2005 third test (I think) that ended in a draw.

05-08-2013, 11:42 AM
22-2 and Clarke drops a dolly from Root. Terrific ball by Siddle and no reward.

05-08-2013, 11:48 AM
27-3, England in a bit of bother, might need a bit of rain later on.

stu in nottingham
07-08-2013, 01:56 PM
Another controversy erupts, this time regarding Kevin Pietersen and alleged bat-tampering.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/cricket/23598798

The use of technology in sport is not always the be-all and end-all. Cricket umpires have traditionally, through history, been some of the elite most accomplished officials in professional sports. I feel they are being undermined by current 'Hot Spot' technology for example, which is indeed showing itself to be entirely fallible, ironically.

08-08-2013, 09:42 AM
According to the report the tape isn't banned so its a bit of a non-story really.

08-08-2013, 08:48 PM
Looking forward to going tomorrow.

Hope it doesnae pish down!

08-08-2013, 09:19 PM
Im going to Wembley and was hoping this Test would be at one of the London grounds so that I could attend day 5, I suppose it was asking too much for that to fit in with my plans!

Have a good day though!

08-08-2013, 10:03 PM
Cheers Hutchy.

09-08-2013, 09:30 AM
England win the toss and will bat first.

Off the bar
09-08-2013, 09:31 AM
next test starting this morning, England win the toss and will bat first

edit; too late! got to get up early to beat Hutchy with the cricket updates!

09-08-2013, 10:33 AM
next test starting this morning, England win the toss and will bat first

edit; too late! got to get up early to beat Hutchy with the cricket updates!

I'm staying at The LSE Building on Hoxton Square on Tues night if you fancy a pint, I've got a first class train ticket though, so, I might be a bit messy when I get to London at about 1900, planning on heading to Simmons and then Millers (both on Caley Road at KX) on arrival.

Sergio sledge
09-08-2013, 10:45 AM
What is it with test cricket these days, all matches used to start on a Thursday and finish on a Monday, now we've got on starting Friday, the first test started on a Wednesday and the final test starts on Wednesday too. It's just not cricket.....

09-08-2013, 10:51 AM
What is it with test cricket these days, all matches used to start on a Thursday and finish on a Monday, now we've got on starting Friday, the first test started on a Wednesday and the final test starts on Wednesday too. It's just not cricket.....

Youngster.

In my day, they started on a Thursday, played Friday/Saturday, off Sunday, and played Monday/Tuesday.

Off the bar
09-08-2013, 10:58 AM
I'm staying at The LSE Building on Hoxton Square on Tues night if you fancy a pint, I've got a first class train ticket though, so, I might be a bit messy when I get to London at about 1900, planning on heading to Simmons and then Millers (both on Caley Road at KX) on arrival.

Nice one HH, I'm normally in Hoxton during the day as my studio is just across from Hoxton overground, but I've got heaps of work on at the moment so I can stay late on tuesday and grab a pint after, drop me a pm when you know when you're gona be in the area.

G

09-08-2013, 11:18 AM
Why did Root not walk, its getting silly now, the noise was so loud when watched live first time around.

34-1

09-08-2013, 12:02 PM
War of attrition so far, 57-1 @ Lunch.

09-08-2013, 12:15 PM
According to the report the tape isn't banned so its a bit of a non-story really.

Noticed on the replays of Root's dismissal that he has tape on his bat, didnae do him much good!

09-08-2013, 01:30 PM
Trott gone for 49, 107-2

09-08-2013, 02:20 PM
KP out for 26, pity, he was looking in the mood to do a bit of damage.

149-3

Off the bar
09-08-2013, 02:37 PM
cook gone now 153-4, England need a good partnership now, really at least 100 to build the foundation of a good total 400ish would be target I'd guess

09-08-2013, 03:33 PM
Bell gone now too, 183-5

I'm sure they said nobody has scored over 300 batting first @ CLS so far this season, so, they'll probably be happy enough to reach that.

09-08-2013, 04:25 PM
Prior gone for 17 after DRS turns over yet another on-field decision.

189-6

09-08-2013, 04:28 PM
What you think mate?

Not the best one to be at from my perspective! Good day though!

09-08-2013, 04:45 PM
Bairstow out now too.

England have gone from 107-1 to 194-7, poor stuff.

09-08-2013, 04:48 PM
What you think mate?

Not the best one to be at from my perspective! Good day though!

By all accounts the fact that the Aussies bat last might save England, poor effort today though I would think.

09-08-2013, 06:26 PM
England finished the day on 238-9.

09-08-2013, 10:09 PM
Youngster.

In my day, they started on a Thursday, played Friday/Saturday, off Sunday, and played Monday/Tuesday.

This was getting discussed during a break in play at old Trafford. Beefy was talking about how hammered the players would get on a Saturday night.

10-08-2013, 09:26 AM
Looking forward to going tomorrow.

Hope it doesnae pish down!

How was your day y'day?

10-08-2013, 10:19 AM
England lose their final wicket without adding to the total.

10-08-2013, 10:57 AM
Aussies 30-2, decent start for England.

10-08-2013, 11:00 AM
34-3 now, or not! More DRS nonsense. Umpire on the field gave Rogers out caught, The Aussies appealed and the 3rd umpire said it was the man on the fields call re lbw instead of the catch as there was no contact between bat and ball, so, its not out! crazy stuff!

10-08-2013, 11:40 AM
Clarke gone now, 53-3. All 3 wickets to Broad.

10-08-2013, 12:03 PM
Aussies finish up on 75-3 @ lunch.

10-08-2013, 12:47 PM
Smith gone for 17, 76-4.

10-08-2013, 04:30 PM
Watson gone for 68, 205-5.

12-08-2013, 10:37 AM
Think the finish to this test is going to amazing. Two quick ones for Harris. England 251-7 lead by 219.

12-08-2013, 01:29 PM
England finished the 3rd innings 298 runs ahead. Aussies 11-0, raining just now.

12-08-2013, 02:13 PM
DRS win for Aussies saving Chris Rogers and Swann can't hang on to Rogers chance at slip.

Ashes gone but Aussies putting down markers here.
39-0 chasing 299.

12-08-2013, 05:24 PM
Aussies now 175-5.

12-08-2013, 05:28 PM
Aussies have made an erse of it.

12-08-2013, 05:33 PM
179-6

12-08-2013, 05:39 PM
181-7

12-08-2013, 05:40 PM
Craig Thomson umpiring this ? Aussies not getting the onfield calls.

12-08-2013, 06:02 PM
199-8

12-08-2013, 06:41 PM
Aussies all out for 224. England win The Ashes, good stuff.

12-08-2013, 08:01 PM
Great win, 3 up. :thumbsup:

12-08-2013, 08:19 PM
I had finished day 3 of my 5 day tour. Drove up the quiraing in Skye and sat listening to tms for a bit. 150 odd for 1. Drove back to Portree for the night and lost radio reception. Checked in hotel and before I could get wifi working it was game over. What a turnaround.

3-0 doesn't do oz justice but when they have a bad session it's usually at an important stage of a test.

12-08-2013, 08:45 PM
Days gone by Taylor, Hayden and the Waugh twins would've knocked the run chase in 50 overs.
Changed days, England coming up with all the answers when asked.

13-08-2013, 05:40 PM
I had finished day 3 of my 5 day tour. Drove up the quiraing in Skye and sat listening to tms for a bit. 150 odd for 1. Drove back to Portree for the night and lost radio reception. Checked in hotel and before I could get wifi working it was game over. What a turnaround.

3-0 doesn't do oz justice but when they have a bad session it's usually at an important stage of a test.

They won't be popular back home ....

21-08-2013, 10:00 AM
Day 1 of the 5th Test, Aussies win the toss and bat first.

21-08-2013, 10:19 AM
11-1, Warner out for 6

21-08-2013, 11:42 AM
Kerrigan getting smacked round the park by Watson just now.

21-08-2013, 12:01 PM
112-1 @ Lunch

Watson 80no

21-08-2013, 12:02 PM
How was your day y'day?

Sorry, never noticed this.

Was a really good day, the only thing I'd say is that the folk watching aren't that bothered.....it's just a bevvy so you're constantly on your feet whether it's letting them out for a beer or a piss!! :greengrin

21-08-2013, 12:56 PM
118-2

21-08-2013, 12:59 PM

Was a really good day, the only thing I'd say is that the folk watching aren't that bothered.....it's just a bevvy so you're constantly on your feet whether it's letting them out for a beer or a piss!! :greengrin

I enjoyed the experience when I went to The Oval but, I find cricket much easier to follow on tv, the old eyes arnae what they used to be! :-)

21-08-2013, 01:24 PM

Been to see Surrey in the Oval and the amount of pished up ********s annoys the crap out of me. More interested in paying £4 a pint for flat lager in a plastic cup than the cricket!

21-08-2013, 01:43 PM
144-3, Clarke gone for 7.

21-08-2013, 05:02 PM
289-4, Watson gone for 176, great catch from KP.

22-08-2013, 12:21 PM
No play on the 2nd morning due to rain.

23-08-2013, 08:07 PM
Been working away this week so missed this test. Caught the highlights on ch5. Truly awful. Three scud up in the series and so defensive. The oval is a run Fest normally and England short changed the punters today

25-08-2013, 05:39 PM
Interesting end to the 5th Test, England need 82 more runs to win from 14 overs. KP in full flow, half century and counting from 36 balls.

25-08-2013, 06:02 PM
KP out for 62, probably be a draw now.

Benny Brazil
25-08-2013, 06:23 PM
Eng still got a chance - a run a ball 35 from 35

25-08-2013, 06:41 PM
Bad light stops play with England needing 21 from the final 4 overs.

3-0 series win for England.