View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs 1 v Nottingham Forest 2

06-07-2013, 11:04 AM
Should be a good test......

http://mobile.nottinghamforest.co.uk/news/article/billy-looks-at-hibs-897871.aspx?pd=635086404000000000

Bob Box Fish
06-07-2013, 11:16 AM
Today's team may be the one that lines up in europa league game?

Williams

Mullen
Mcpake
Hanlon
Mcgivern

Thomson
Craig
Jones
Harris
Taiwo

Caldwell

Thoughts?

JustSimplyHibs
06-07-2013, 11:29 AM

Williams

Mullen
Mcpake
Hanlon
Mcgivern

Thomson
Craig
Jones
Harris
Taiwo

Caldwell

Thoughts?

I'd go with McPake out to start with and have McGirven in his place with Stevenson in at LB.

Take Taiwo out for Handling, playing him at the top of midfield where he will nip your head all day long by hassling you in midfield...with his main aim to support Caldwell.

06-07-2013, 11:43 AM

Williams

Mullen
Mcpake
Hanlon
Mcgivern

Thomson
Craig
Jones
Harris
Taiwo

Caldwell

Thoughts?

I take it these are your thoughts and not Pat Fenlons

Bob Box Fish
06-07-2013, 11:48 AM
I take it these are your thoughts and not Pat Fenlons

Yeah, what I think is our strongest eleven given they are fit.

06-07-2013, 12:00 PM
A team that looks set up not to get beat?

LeighLoyal
06-07-2013, 12:12 PM
A team that looks set up not to get beat?

Can only piss with nob you've got.

06-07-2013, 12:14 PM
Can piss with nob you've got.

Quite

06-07-2013, 12:25 PM
Looks a strong team

06-07-2013, 12:55 PM
What time's k/o?

Really needs Harris and Craig on song to help out Caldwell. Feel a bit sorry for Lewis that he misses out for Jones, but he is losing out by about 2 foot!

steviehibsleith
06-07-2013, 12:56 PM
Hope im wrong but i dont see goals from open play in that team.
But with the squad we have i dont know what i could change......worrying

06-07-2013, 01:10 PM
What's the weather like? :)

06-07-2013, 01:12 PM

Caldwells goal vs hearts told me we have a talent there. Can't think of many spl strikers that would show that composure/ talent to score that goal. Most would have just put the head down and smacked it- into the oncoming defenders.

It's early days tho obviously

kdhibees1
06-07-2013, 01:13 PM
Mon the Hibees!!!!:pfgwa

06-07-2013, 01:18 PM

Caldwell is more than capable to score goals in the SPL IMO.

Also, with Craig and Harris, we have 2 midfielders who provide a real threat themselves. I'd argue that all areas apart from upfront (which we are yet to improve) carry more of a goal threat than last year, even in defence with Mullen. Owain Tudur-Jones has a good strike on him and with Handling and Stanton moving up the ranks too, we should have a better spread of goals next year. That's without knowing what strikers we will bring in.

Daz1875
06-07-2013, 01:28 PM
Can anyone tell me is the game on Hibs TV or radio anywhere?

:hibees:pfgwa

06-07-2013, 01:49 PM
Hibs are 12/5 with B365, probably better elsewhere too but this seems generous to me. Will it be Forest's first friendly or did they start before us?

Greendub
06-07-2013, 01:57 PM
This is their first game, their first training session was yesterday

06-07-2013, 02:14 PM
Cheers Greendub. 12/5 does seem best price with a bookie, no complaints there. Chucked a bit on and dabbled with 5/1 Hibs HT/FT.

'Mon the Cabbage! Been a long time since I backed Hibs with my hard-earned!

:flag::pfgwa

06-07-2013, 02:22 PM

Exactly! Despite knowing for weeks (if not longer) that we would not be able to keep Griffiths there seems to be no sign of any experienced striikers coming to ER. If we think relying on Caldwell is a viable option, especiallly heading into Europe, then our management is a joke quite frankly. Getting the right players in ON TIME is part of their job and they apppear to have failed. Aberdeen, DUFC and Motherwell all seem to mange it, what's our problem?

06-07-2013, 02:30 PM
Apart from an out-of-form Goodwillie what have any of the other teams done to manage it? They may have rushed and signed players that aren't good enough or don't fit in.

It'd be ideal to have someone in for Europe but it seems our top 2 targets aren't available. Even if we get someone in the next few days it may be worth sticking with Caldwell as the players are more familiar with him.

More players out of contract players will come into our price range once they aren't being offered deals from the English clubs that are only just returning and loan options are beginning to become available.

06-07-2013, 02:41 PM
Can we keep this thread for match updates and not ruin yet another thread with chat about strikers?

06-07-2013, 02:43 PM
Was it 2-0 Hibs Fulltime?

06-07-2013, 02:43 PM
Wit time is ko

06-07-2013, 02:44 PM
Wit time is ko

8pm.

06-07-2013, 02:45 PM
I've picked it up wrong, the young lads won 2-0.

06-07-2013, 02:47 PM
This'll be a decent test I think. Forrest are a decent side. Hopefully we stuff them though, on behalf of a Leicester supporting mate of mine! :thumbsup:

djs69
06-07-2013, 03:20 PM
It's currently 31 degrees, and currently on the N125 to Vila Real SA :-)

06-07-2013, 03:34 PM

Pfft, 32 degress in my backgarden in South Queensferry!!!

06-07-2013, 04:34 PM
8pm.

Local time or our time?

hibs4thecup1988
06-07-2013, 04:41 PM
8pm our time. Not sure local time though. And the above team is NNOT the official team that is the OP thoughts.

12/5for hibs is huge. Ething on that

06-07-2013, 04:44 PM
Local time or our time?Both the same.

Purehibee_MYB
06-07-2013, 05:00 PM

Was 34 degrees here in Vancouver the other day, too early to say what it is today though :wink:

06-07-2013, 05:01 PM
According to Live Score, the game starts a 21:00? Would like to see the starting team be Williams, Mullen, Forster, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Craig, T.Jones, Stanton, Handling, Caldwell. Not been to many youth Hibs games what so ever but heard from a couple of Hibby pals that Sam Stanton could be amazing? Anyway, will be a tough test but we should be more prepared than them and can see us winning 2-0. :agree:

KdyHby
06-07-2013, 05:10 PM
http://www.nottinghamforest.co.uk/news/article/billy-looks-at-hibs-897871.aspx

Nottingham Forest manager Billy Davies has spoken to Forest Player ahead of his side's first pre-season friendly of the summer.
The Reds will tomorrow evening travel from their Portuguese training base in Portimao across country to Vila Real de Santo Antonio, where they will take on Scottish Premier League side Hibernian (VRSA Stadium, kick-off 8pm).

Forest landed at Faro airport yesterday afternoon and conducted their first training session in the Algarve this morning.

Davies was delighted with what he saw.

He said: "It was exactly what we wanted - a very, very difficult morning. It was a great response from the players who got through a lot of work over the two-hour period.

"It was nice to see them working and reacting the way they did, the new boys fitted in very well and the spirit in the camp was excellent."

Preparations are now well underway for the clash with Hibs - an occasion The Reds' boss is relishing.

He said: "I'm looking forward to it. We know that the Scottish clubs are a little ahead of us in their preparations for the new season and Hibs should give us a good workout. They have a good squad of players and an excellent staff - a big fan base as well.

"They're the type of club that will give us a really good game and I'm sure that they will be looking forward to it as much as us."

Read more at http://www.nottinghamforest.co.uk/news/article/billy-looks-at-hibs-897871.aspx#iituSxvLSX5VJbwg.99

Nottinghamforest.co.uk will be running a free live text commentary service from the VRSA Stadium and Forest Player will have extended highlights and post-match reaction.

Read more at http://www.nottinghamforest.co.uk/news/article/billy-looks-at-hibs-897871.aspx#iituSxvLSX5VJbwg.99

West hamBERNIAN
06-07-2013, 05:15 PM
Local time or our time?

Local

06-07-2013, 05:16 PM
Local

Portugal and the UK are the same time

06-07-2013, 05:36 PM
Many palm trees around? :greengrin

darwenhibby
06-07-2013, 05:42 PM
Many palm trees around? :greengrin

Loads of palm trees in Darwen:cool2:

06-07-2013, 05:57 PM
Retweeted Hibernian FC (@HibernianFCClub):

Hibernian: Williams, Stevenson, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Craig, Taiwo, Tudur Jones, Harris, Handling, Caldwell ‎#hibees

06-07-2013, 05:59 PM
Is there anywhere doing a beam back?

Any pubs in Edinburgh city centre or leith?

06-07-2013, 05:59 PM

SUBS: Murdoch, Donaldson, Forster, Cairney, Stanton, Horribine, Gold, Mullen ‎#hibees

Bob Box Fish
06-07-2013, 06:01 PM
No Thomson?

06-07-2013, 06:02 PM
No Thomson?

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m
Kevin Thomson is rested while Scott Robertson (back) and Tim Clancy (groin) are unavailable for selection #hibees :wink:

06-07-2013, 06:03 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 1m
Kevin Thomson is rested while Scott Robertson (back) and Tim Clancy (groin) are unavailable for selection #hibees :wink:

Thomson rested, he's only played 1/2 a game so far in pre season I think?

darwenhibby
06-07-2013, 06:11 PM

Hibernian: Williams, Stevenson, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Craig, Taiwo, Tudur Jones, Harris, Handling, Caldwell ‎#hibees

Not a bad team. Lets see what Ross & Danny Can do. Happier with midfield

06-07-2013, 06:14 PM

4 4 2?

06-07-2013, 06:14 PM
Anyone know if any commentary on Hibs TV ?

Purehibee_MYB
06-07-2013, 06:17 PM
Anyone know if any commentary on Hibs TV ?

Official site says there is no audio commentary only twitter updates

06-07-2013, 06:19 PM
Thomson rested, he's only played 1/2 a game so far in pre season I think?

wearethehibs
06-07-2013, 06:22 PM
Is there anywhere doing a beam back?

Any pubs in Edinburgh city centre or leith?

Was this a serious question? We dont even get beam backs of competitive games.

06-07-2013, 06:23 PM
Official site says there is no audio commentary only twitter updates

Thanks

06-07-2013, 06:32 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 3m
Nottingham Forest's starting line-up: Alrashidi, Lichaj, Harding, Lascelles, Collins, Moussi, Tudgay, Cox, Blackstock, Lansbury, McLaughlin

Hero76
06-07-2013, 06:33 PM
Who is playing RB ?

06-07-2013, 06:33 PM
Who is playing RB ?

Lewis I think

Hero76
06-07-2013, 06:35 PM
Lewis I think

Either that or 3 at the back , I don't understand why they will play Lewis out of position when there are 2 RB'S on the bench.

06-07-2013, 06:38 PM
Either that or 3 at the back , I don't understand why they will play Lewis out of position when there are 2 RB'S on the bench.

Good point, but with Clancy injured, maybe Pat thinks going into a European game with a rookie right back is a risk. Lewis played right back last season, and defensively did well

Hero76
06-07-2013, 06:43 PM
Good point, but with Clancy injured, maybe Pat thinks going into a European game with a rookie right back is a risk. Lewis played right back last season, and defensively did well

I think its just to give Ryan & Lewis game time I don't think that will be the back 4 for the Europa game.

06-07-2013, 06:45 PM
Seems like a decent back 9. Just not convinced about the front two yet. Though that's not really a revelation.

Purehibee_MYB
06-07-2013, 07:05 PM
Liam Craig left-footed shot is blocked just outside the area - fairly even in the opening few minutes #allezallezoverseas (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23allezallezoverseas&src=hash) #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Purehibee_MYB
06-07-2013, 07:11 PM
‏@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub)24s (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/353592529045819393)
Very closely contested opening 12 minutes in the Algarve - no real chances at either end. Hibs competing well #allezallezoverseas (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23allezallezoverseas&src=hash) #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

06-07-2013, 07:13 PM
Liam Craig left-footed shot is blocked just outside the area - fairly even in the opening few minutes #allezallezoverseas (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23allezallezoverseas&src=hash) #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Boooooo!!!!!!

06-07-2013, 07:15 PM
Some pics from Hibs twitter

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOgy5NSCMAAcMeH.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOgze53CIAE8WLZ.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOg3E6hCMAEiXDs.jpg

06-07-2013, 07:16 PM
Some pics from Hibs twitter

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOgy5NSCMAAcMeH.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOgze53CIAE8WLZ.jpg

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BOg3E6hCMAEiXDs.jpg

Well done to all the Hibs fan who are at the game, wish I was there too

06-07-2013, 07:17 PM

for once, its hotter here today than Portugal/ Spain!

06-07-2013, 07:24 PM
Forest one up Pen

06-07-2013, 07:25 PM
"allezallezoverseas" - are they mad? As if we've not got enough problems with this song already, the club is suggesting yet another version. Petrie, get it sorted or the choir practice at The Meadows is going to end up a boxing match. :greengrin

Nice to see one of our midfielders getting a shot in. :thumbsup:

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 2m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/353595413795844096) Best chance for Hibs so far - Liam Craig's low shot saved by Evtimov after great wing play from Alex Harris on 22 minutes #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

Purehibee_MYB
Penalty for Forest - Stevenson judged to have fouled Blackstock inside the area

Hibernian 0 Nottingham Forest 1 (Blackstock penalty 27)

1-0 to Forest. Penalty by blackstock, foul by Stevenson

06-07-2013, 07:26 PM

Fenlon out Davies in

06-07-2013, 07:29 PM

Hibs twitter not even mentioned the Forrest goal. :rolleyes:

for once, its hotter here today than Portugal/ Spain!

Its actually about 5/10 degs C hotter on the Algarve but your gardens probably a sun trap. Next 3 days on Algarve 33/35 degs, way too hot.

used to like Notts F as a kid. classy team back in the day.

BarneyK
06-07-2013, 07:30 PM

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 5m
Hibernian 0 Nottingham Forest 1 (Blackstock penalty 27) :rolleyes:

Purehibee_MYB
06-07-2013, 07:30 PM

aye they did!

@HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub)6m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/353595847247798272)
Penalty for Forest - Stevenson judged to have fouled Blackstock inside the area

06-07-2013, 07:31 PM

Im a Lewis fan for his dedication & application but a left footed RB is never a good idea.

CyberSauzee
06-07-2013, 07:31 PM
**** me - nearly 600 guests on a pre season friendly thread. Notice also a registered Yam is on here. Must be wondering how teams with a bit of money do their pre-seasons.

06-07-2013, 07:32 PM
used to like Notts F as a kid. classy team back in the day.

:agree: Loaded with Scots, too.

KdyHby

HibernianFCClub 7m
Hibernian 0 Nottingham Forest 1 (Blackstock penalty 27)
Collapse Reply Retweet Favorite More

Its actually about 5/10 degs C hotter on the Algarve but your gardens probably a sun trap. Next 3 days on Algarve 33/35 degs, way too hot.

next 3 days hot here too! unusually hot today in Scotland. Too hot to sit out!

CyberSauzee
06-07-2013, 07:33 PM
Im a Lewis fan for his dedication & application but a left footed RB is never a good idea.

Evening B, thought you might have been over there at the villa hosting an after match piss up for the players? :wink:

06-07-2013, 07:33 PM

Makes sense if he's up against a right footed left winger that cuts inside, the only problem is if the other manager is able to swap wingers so a lefty is on the left then we're ****ed

06-07-2013, 07:34 PM
next 3 days hot here too! unusually hot today in Scotland. Too hot to sit out!

You can say that again.

I ended up with proper, bright red stinging sunburn after golf today.

06-07-2013, 07:40 PM
Fenlon out Davies in

Good call. Can't wait to use them earplugs down at ER at the next available opportunity!

06-07-2013, 07:41 PM
Evening B, thought you might have been over there at the villa hosting an after match piss up for the players? :wink:

It was seriously considered Scott but I had a golf tourney yesterday & it was too tight. Villa Real's only an hour away from my place.

06-07-2013, 07:42 PM
Good call. Can't wait to use them earplugs down at ER at the next available opportunity!

06-07-2013, 07:47 PM
Hibs narrowly behind to the twice European Champions

Dalkeith
06-07-2013, 07:49 PM
You can say that again.

I ended up with proper, bright red stinging sunburn after golf today.
46 here in the part of turkey im in and has been in 40s all week with more of same next week

06-07-2013, 08:00 PM
a nice 30° in menorca. not too hot just perfect. keep updates coming.

06-07-2013, 08:01 PM
Hibs narrowly behind to the twice European Champions

#allisbarry

:cb

AndyB_70
06-07-2013, 08:10 PM
Hot....Bloody 36C in Valencia today. It was magic but the kids didn't half moan about it.

06-07-2013, 08:11 PM
Nice to see one of our midfielders getting a shot in. :thumbsup:

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 2m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/353595413795844096) Best chance for Hibs so far - Liam Craig's low shot saved by Evtimov after great wing play from Alex Harris on 22 minutes #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

2 shots at goal from one of our midfielders, must be a record. :greengrin

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 2m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/353606800941125632) Craig goes close with an effort - over the top on 55 minutes. Hibs applying the pressure again in sweltering heat #hibees (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibees&src=hash)

06-07-2013, 08:13 PM
Of Hibs Twitter is being impartial its a travesty we're behind. Though I'm not convinced it is.

djs69
06-07-2013, 08:21 PM
1-1 Tudor jones get in

06-07-2013, 08:23 PM
@HibernianFCClub: The green giant was put through and the Welshman kept his nerve to poke the ball into the net from close range #hibees

:confused: The green giant

1-1, c'mon hibs you can take this

Nice lovely day here in Sweden too.. Come on Hibs :scarf:

GoldenEagle
06-07-2013, 08:24 PM
1-2

BarneyK
1-1, c'mon hibs you can take this

Naw we cannae :rolleyes:

New players getting amongst the goals? Nice!

06-07-2013, 08:29 PM
We are always most vulnerable after we score...

06-07-2013, 08:31 PM

Arnt all teams?

06-07-2013, 08:32 PM

Made 2 changes in back 4 just before they scored, not had time to settle.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub 6m (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub/status/353610976098136064) Just before the goal Forster replaced McPake and Mullen replaced McGivern

06-07-2013, 08:33 PM
**** sake Mullen. :grr:

06-07-2013, 08:35 PM
Bit of bother at halftime I'm hearing...?

06-07-2013, 08:36 PM
**** sake Mullen. :grr:

Hertz ****:greengrin

06-07-2013, 08:39 PM

Sure it was mentioned on the Forrest site as well.

06-07-2013, 08:40 PM

In what respect?

06-07-2013, 08:44 PM
In what respect?

Not enough pies

06-07-2013, 08:44 PM

If you do a search for "hibs fighting" on twitter it seems a few different sources are saying the game was held up for a bit due to fighting between rival fans?

BarneyK
06-07-2013, 08:45 PM
1.2 ft

staium looks empty on twitter pics, just be a couple of pissed up ex-pats trying to re-live there youths.

Not enough pies

Shocking

06-07-2013, 08:47 PM
forest fans saying it was Hibs fans

BarneyK
06-07-2013, 08:49 PM
staium looks empty on twitter pics, just be a couple of pissed up ex-pats trying to re-live there youths.

:agree: A couple ay bampots getting carried away and Twitter goes mental with it :rolleyes:

06-07-2013, 08:52 PM
If you do a search for "hibs fighting" on twitter it seems a few different sources are saying the game was held up for a bit due to fighting between rival fans?

The game finished right on time :confused:

06-07-2013, 09:24 PM
@jamesholland700: Fighting temporarily halts and interrupts forest v HIBS game, police back in control and forest lead 1-0 at half time. #nffc

@jamesholland700: Ps that wasn't a joke, Barriers ripped up and riot police and batons involved. Don't think we'll be coming back o Portugal again :-(

06-07-2013, 09:30 PM
A young looking female Hibs fan is tweeting about being hit by a baton.

Weir7
06-07-2013, 09:30 PM
@jamesholland700: Fighting temporarily halts and interrupts forest v HIBS game, police back in control and forest lead 1-0 at half time. #nffc

@jamesholland700: Ps that wasn't a joke, Barriers ripped up and riot police and batons involved. Don't think we'll be coming back o Portugal again :-(

Defo bother at game. Mate just phoned me from game.

Zondervan
06-07-2013, 09:40 PM
@davidfriel81: #Hibs 1-2 Forest in Algarve. Fair to say the fighting in the main stand during first half marred the game just a touch. Crazy scenes.

06-07-2013, 10:07 PM
My mate who is as laid back as they come text me to say Hibs fans were outnumbered 5 fold but the forest fans were being ********s in the Que, infront of kids and women and the police stepped in to sort it out sharpish

EH75
06-07-2013, 11:48 PM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/hibernian-1-2-nottingham-forest-supporters-clash-1-2992429

Sectarian chanting? WTF?

06-07-2013, 11:52 PM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/hibernian-1-2-nottingham-forest-supporters-clash-1-2992429

Sectarian chanting? WTF?

If there is no evidence of sectarian chanting to be had then Hibs should get this nipped in the bud with the press ASAP. We did it before when the late Paul McBride QC made similar unfounded allegations and assuming this is a similar allegation then the same action should be taken now as was taken then.

07-07-2013, 12:13 AM
unacceptable losing to those nomarks, if it wasnt for the hertz we would be stick ons for relegation, Fenlon OUT.

duffers
07-07-2013, 12:20 AM
I never heard one sectarian song. Shoddy reporting as usual from the evening news

07-07-2013, 01:12 AM

Sectarian chanting? WTF?

It will have been English v Scottish sort of stuff which of course the papers will report as sectarian in an effort to subliminally convince people that we're similar to Sevtic.

Hibs07p
07-07-2013, 03:38 AM
If there is no evidence of sectarian chanting to be had then Hibs should get this nipped in the bud with the press ASAP. We did it before when the late Paul McBride QC made similar unfounded allegations and assuming this is a similar allegation then the same action should be taken now as was taken then.

Who was on the receiving end of the alleged sectarian chanting?

07-07-2013, 07:00 AM
It will have been English v Scottish sort of stuff which of course the papers will report as sectarian in an effort to subliminally convince people that we're similar to Sevtic.

Correct, still sad to hear though.

07-07-2013, 07:16 AM
So according to the press it was their fans that charged towards the Hibs fans? An official statement will be interesting from both clubs.

07-07-2013, 08:23 AM

see the comments from a jambo re last weekends events in royal mile.....he doesn't even get day correct for a start. If he also paid close attention to the video, he'd see Canonmills' ageing Hun thug Sandy Thomson at the forefront of the action. But maybe the jambo is livid because its Thomson who got the sore face after a boot from his counterpart. if the hun/orange casuals can't embrace defeat from their junior rivals then time to shut it!

MontrealHibs
07-07-2013, 08:34 AM
see the comments from a jambo re last weekends events in royal mile.....he doesn't even get day correct for a start. If he also paid close attention to the video, he'd see Canonmills' ageing Hun thug Sandy Thomson at the forefront of the action. But maybe the jambo is livid because its Thomson who got the sore face after a boot from his counterpart. if the hun/orange casuals can't embrace defeat from their junior rivals then time to shut it!

I've seen Sandy getting a few hidings in Leith over the years one day be might get old enough to realise he cant fight!

Leishy1995
07-07-2013, 08:46 AM
An 18 year old lassie I know got punched by a Forest fan whilst at the game, seems a bit bizarre.

Hibs07p
07-07-2013, 11:03 AM
So according to the press it was their fans that charged towards the Hibs fans? An official statement will be interesting from both clubs.

Certainly looks like it in the photo with this report.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/hibs-1-nottingham-forest-2-2034786

Juice-Terry
07-07-2013, 11:09 AM

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/hibs-1-nottingham-forest-2-2034786

The Hibs boys look like they're taking it in their strides. Cool, calm, collected. Hibs class. :greengrin

Well...two of them anyway.

07-07-2013, 11:20 AM

Some great moobs out in that picture. If you're going to act like tits you might as well have a good pair too.

07-07-2013, 11:41 AM
I've never heard sectarian chanting at a Hibs game since the early 80s...I can't believe that would have happened ...anyone spread any light on this ??

07-07-2013, 11:45 AM
unacceptable losing to those nomarks, if it wasnt for the hertz we would be stick ons for relegation, Fenlon OUT.

You'll need a rod and reel with the bait you've just put out. Tight lines and tin hat at the ready mate. ;)

hibIBZ
07-07-2013, 11:48 AM
I've never heard sectarian chanting at a Hibs game since the early 80s...I can't believe that would have happened ...anyone spread any light on this ??

This, don't think I have ever heard hibs fans chanting sectarian songs. Been going since the early 90. Nationalistic chanting doesn't surprise me esp with all the independence stuff at the moment. IMO Scotland V England at wembley is a recipe for more of this

Zondervan
07-07-2013, 12:15 PM
The sectarian chanting was from the Forrest fans and was "No Surrender to the IRA". Hear there was also the usual Scotland / England banter going on.

07-07-2013, 12:22 PM
The sectarian chanting was from the Forrest fans and was "No Surrender to the IRA". Hear there was also the usual Scotland / England banter going on.

Why am I even thinking that the Forest fans may have been infiltrated by an element of THE Rangers support?

07-07-2013, 12:27 PM
Why am I even thinking that the Forest fans may have been infiltrated by an element of THE Rangers support?

No need to think it, England fans sing that song all the time.

Zondervan
07-07-2013, 12:27 PM
Think it was mentioned in the lead up to the game on Forrest forums that we like to think of ourselves as an Irish team "just like Celtic". Of course nothing could be further from the truth, but the Notts Neanderthals took it as gospel.

Hibs07p
07-07-2013, 12:31 PM

I hope that turns out to be correct.
It was never reported that there was sectarian chants specifically from our fans, but comments on brokeback, newspaper forums and on this thread even, had a go criticising our fans for sectarian singing. Why did people automatically jump on the band wagon to have a dig at us? Is it because sectarian songs are still universally accepted as still being a problem in the Weege, that then tars the whole of Scotland with the same brush. I believe the report in the Scotsman was unnamed, but whoever wrote it appears to have another agenda, is Banderson in Portugal by any chance?

Juice-Terry
07-07-2013, 12:34 PM
I hope that turns out to be correct.
It was never reported that there was sectarian chants specifically from our fans, but comments on brokeback, newspaper forums and on this thread even, had a go criticising our fans for sectarian singing. Why did people automatically jump on the band wagon to have a dig at us? Is it because sectarian songs are still universally accepted as still being a problem in the Weege, that then tars the whole of Scotland with the same brush. I believe the report in the Scotsman was unnamed, but whoever wrote it appears to have another agenda, is Banderson in Portugal by any chance?

Speaking of which, what is Allisbarry up to these days? Haven't heard anything from him for the last week or so.

07-07-2013, 12:42 PM
You'll need a rod and reel with the bait you've just put out. Tight lines and tin hat at the ready mate. ;)

Hibs07p
07-07-2013, 12:48 PM
Speaking of which, what is Allisbarry up to these days? Haven't heard anything from him for the last week or so.

I believe he is on holiday, I just wonder where?

07-07-2013, 12:55 PM
The last sectarian chant I heard from Hibs fans at a scottish game was over 10 years ago and in response to about an hour of chants coming our way from Rangers fans. The chant didn't really get going so we went back to singing about football after that. I like to think that it'll be the last one ever at ER, unless anti-Glasgow chants start being classed as sectarian.

Wasn't at the Forest game but a remember we played Bolton a few years ago and there were a few too many fannies on either side with some Scotland vs England chants. Started off as good banter but got a bit out of hand and there was a bit of fighting outside. Embarrassing for the club.

07-07-2013, 12:57 PM
I noticed a hun post on sevco media saying that the sectarian chanting must be investigated...

bring it on

07-07-2013, 01:32 PM

Nothing wrong with that, the IRA are ***m. However football is neither the time nor the place to express such views.

As for the Scotland/ England banter I've no problem and it certainly adds an edge to the atmosphere, Bolton away was fantastic.

07-07-2013, 01:35 PM
It's what happens when you allow football supporters alcohol in the ground

LeighLoyal
07-07-2013, 01:51 PM
Huns demanding sectarian chant investigations, you couldn't make it up.

07-07-2013, 01:57 PM
Huns demanding sectarian chant investigations, you couldn't make it up.

I'm all for that, nothing to fear in my opinion.

07-07-2013, 01:57 PM
As for the Scotland/ England banter I've no problem and it certainly adds an edge to the atmosphere, Bolton away was fantastic.

Totally agree, many games where there's a Scotland / England component I end up in the pub wi mates, 80/20 English balance... We have some great banter and wind ups and I wouldn't have it any other way!

07-07-2013, 02:03 PM
PS along the same lines ..... It's the ONE reason I'd be chilled about the yams surviving in one form or another... Then I end up in the pub with yams who I don't know and get all the usual guff and end up wanting them totally dead again.... They just can't help themselves!

07-07-2013, 02:16 PM
Some great moobs out in that picture. If you're going to act like tits you might as well have a good pair too.

The classic balding 50 something fat barsteward who's clearly never heard of UV rays prominent in the picture.

Bet he packed a red England away top for his holiday.

07-07-2013, 02:18 PM

Nonsense, idiots are idiots regardless. If alcohol played any part ( I suspect like me you have no idea ), it would be more likely down to drinking all day in high temperatures rather than a beer or 2 in the ground. The biggest problem with any element of the Hibs support is the Casuals & they usually avoid alcohol!

07-07-2013, 02:41 PM
Nonsense, idiots are idiots regardless. If alcohol played any part ( I suspect like me you have no idea ), it would be more likely down to drinking all day in high temperatures rather than a beer or 2 in the ground. The biggest problem with any element of the Hibs support is the Casuals & they usually avoid alcohol!

Looks like I got a :a bite: :greengrin

I'm all for that, nothing to fear in my opinion.

Same with me, I doubt Hibs fans were going all out singing and chanting something anti-Protestant, as another poster mentioned the Forest fans were saying that Hibs were just a mini-Celtic and seen ourselves as Irish. I just wonder though what has actually caused the charge and what the tipping point was for it.

Zondervan
07-07-2013, 05:33 PM
This is how it started according to my source:

It all kicked off when he got the top off and had a pleasant chat with a couple of fat forrest fans to see who was the fattest......oh the banter !!! The Forrest fans were singing "he's fatter than you, he's fatter than you, we're Notts Forrest, he's fatter than you".

Copied verbatim from the text I received!

H1bs6H3arts2 FC
07-07-2013, 05:56 PM

H1bs6H3arts2 FC
07-07-2013, 06:03 PM
The last sectarian chant I heard from Hibs fans at a scottish game was over 10 years ago and in response to about an hour of chants coming our way from Rangers fans. The chant didn't really get going so we went back to singing about football after that. I like to think that it'll be the last one ever at ER, unless anti-Glasgow chants start being classed as sectarian.

Wasn't at the Forest game but a remember we played Bolton a few years ago and there were a few too many fannies on either side with some Scotland vs England chants. Started off as good banter but got a bit out of hand and there was a bit of fighting outside. Embarrassing for the club.

the Scotland/England banter was just that - its to be expected considering our history!...the trouble after was nowt to do with that, it was an organised hooligan event that normal fans unfortunately got caught up in! :agree:

07-07-2013, 06:05 PM
the Scotland/England banter was just that - its to be expected considering our history!...the trouble after was nowt to do with that, it was an organised hooligan event that normal fans unfortunately got caught up in! That's pretty much on the button ..

KdyHby
07-07-2013, 06:29 PM
Match highlights:

http://www.dailymotion.com/video/x11loyd_highlights_shortfilms

07-07-2013, 07:19 PM
Match highlights:

Hard to judge much from that but......

Was good to see the central midfielders in attacking positions and one getting a goal. Nice wee run and cross by Cairney at the en as well.

On the negative the 2nd goal was a poor one to lose and we almost got caught with a similar ball at least another twice. If we are going to insist on playing such a high defensive line then the midfield really has to push right up and put pressure on the opposition when we aren't in possession.

07-07-2013, 07:28 PM
Match highlights:

Neat wee finish from Tudur-Jones there, it's good to see midfielders getting forward. :aok:

07-07-2013, 07:52 PM
just a bit fun in the sun.

08-07-2013, 03:12 AM
performance more than result is the big thing in these knockabouts but please pat fenlon - lewis stevenson is not a fullback on either side.

08-07-2013, 03:20 AM
I've seen Sandy getting a few hidings in Leith over the years one day be might get old enough to realise he cant fight!

I have seen him taking a few 'battle of Hastings'. In fact, I've given him a slap myself. I quite like Sandy.

brian6-2
08-07-2013, 07:05 AM
looks like handbags.

see the yams having a field day with it on sickback, its nae wonder we hate them so much with the rubbish they spew oot.

08-07-2013, 08:41 AM
performance more than result is the big thing in these knockabouts but please pat fenlon - lewis stevenson is not a fullback on either side.

Seriously? I recall him playing full back most of last season when he was selected and he was as consistent as anyone IMO? :confused:

Matty_Jack04
08-07-2013, 09:07 AM
Seriously? I recall him playing full back most of last season when he was selected and he was as consistent as anyone IMO? :confused:

Most committed whole hearted performer in the hibs squad over the last 2 seasons at least, we'd be worse without Stevenson in the squad IMO some folk just can't wait to have a go at the guy

08-07-2013, 09:11 AM

No alcohol served in ground. In fact no soft drinks served either

08-07-2013, 09:11 AM

Utter nonsense

08-07-2013, 09:17 AM

Aye, he is a good solid squad player, something every club needs and we should be grateful we have him. Sure, he ain't flashy but he is dependable. Some will just knock him at every opportunity. Funny how so many managers of our club have recognised him as somebody we should keep isn't it?

brian6-2
08-07-2013, 09:21 AM
Aye, he is a good solid squad player, something every club needs and we should be grateful we have him. Sure, he ain't flashy but he is dependable. Some will just knock him at every opportunity. Funny how so many managers of our club have recognised him as somebody we should keep isn't it?

Lewis is a smashing player, always happy to play anywhere and never moans or groans about it, smashing player and a great lad. :agree:

08-07-2013, 09:23 AM
No alcohol served in ground. In fact no soft drinks served either

I was only stirring the pot Baldy, it didn't really work though! I wonder why there were no soft drinks especially as it must have been roasting.

08-07-2013, 09:25 AM
I was only stirring the pot Baldy, it didn't really work though! I wonder why there were no soft drinks especially as it must have been roasting.

I was gutted Could have murdered a juice or a water:wink:

08-07-2013, 09:44 PM

What an utterly stupid comment to make even before a ball has been kicked in earnest!

You must have been missing last season when this lad ran his heart out for his team. He consistently showed his versatility at full back and in midfield. He was just as committed as any of the others in a green and white jersey.

So he gave away a penalty on Saturday..... so what...... it wont be the last one Hibs give away next season and it wont be Lewis thats getting the blame either.

For GAWDS sake let the lad get pre season out of the way and hopefully settle into the team. Having negative rubbish aired about him on here is NOT going to help him or your team.

Get behind them all and support them and stop your continual moaning !!!!

09-07-2013, 12:37 AM

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/hibs-condemn-fans-violent-clash-2037187

HIBS last night condemned fans who brawled with rivals at a pre-season friendly in Portugal.

The situation was only calmed when Forest fans, who outnumbered the Hibs contingent by around four to one

big bullies in numbers

lEXO
09-07-2013, 02:07 AM
I was gutted Could have murdered a juice or a water:wink:I was stuck out at half time with 3 pints as the cops wouldn't let anybody out after the mini Bannockburn. I managed to struggle through 2 of them before the cops got fed up and told me to get inside or I wasn't getting back in. Great to meet you mate/ :aok:

lEXO
09-07-2013, 02:15 AM
My mate who is as laid back as they come text me to say Hibs fans were outnumbered 5 fold but the forest fans were being ********s in the Que, infront of kids and women and the police stepped in to sort it out sharpishThe Forest fans in the que were ****s. Asking guys if it,s true that catholic priests are peado,s and crap like that in front of their kids. Guys standing next to me coming up and saying we hate Hibs, but when I laughed at them they didn't have a clue what to do. I,m glad we didn't have a bigger support there, it would have been carnage. Also seeing a 50 odd year old Hibs fan getting hit by a cop with his baton as he was walking away was disgusting as well as annoying. I see this guy at most away games I go to(and that's a lot) and he wasn't causing bother. Forest are now on my sh/t list.

09-07-2013, 05:54 AM
The Forest fans in the que were ****s. Asking guys if it,s true that catholic priests are peado,s and crap like that in front of their kids. Guys standing next to me coming up and saying we hate Hibs, but when I laughed at them they didn't have a clue what to do. I,m glad we didn't have a bigger support there, it would have been carnage. Also seeing a 50 odd year old Hibs fan getting hit by a cop with his baton as he was walking away was disgusting as well as annoying. I see this guy at most away games I go to(and that's a lot) and he wasn't causing bother. Forest are now on my sh/t list.

Wish i could have went mate but judging by your Facebook update it sounds like you had another of your great trips!!

Mind you if Wee Tam had got wind of it he would have been on at good old Uncle to take him haha

brian6-2
09-07-2013, 05:56 AM
Read on a football facebook page that one forest fan glassed another forest fan as well and he ended up with 90 stitches. muppets.

09-07-2013, 08:42 AM
I wasn't there but from what I'm reading the Forest fans are all cockwombles. I'm glad their club has faded into an irrelevance in English football. They're now on my teams that I hate so much I won't ever pick them on Fifa :greengrin

The other teams that share this honour are: Hearts, The Rangers, Celtic, Chelsea, Man Utd and now Forrest.

09-07-2013, 08:45 AM
It's Nottingham FOREST & James FORREST that is all! :)

09-07-2013, 10:05 AM
**** Forest, ****ty, irrelevant English no-marks. England's Aberdeen, living in the past.

09-07-2013, 08:53 PM
**** Forest, ****ty, irrelevant English no-marks. England's Aberdeen, living in the past.

I think I said this in an earlier post. Your spot on though.
long may they live in Ingerland's doldrums!

09-07-2013, 09:06 PM
England's Aberdeen, living in the past.

I think that's pretty accurate.