06-07-2013, 10:06 AM
Pitiful clown.

06-07-2013, 10:45 AM
Flute playing erse

06-07-2013, 11:31 AM
Out of interest, does anybody still feel sympathy for him?

06-07-2013, 11:37 AM

Flute playing erse

Pitiful clown.

Twat should be jailed.

06-07-2013, 11:38 AM

No not anymore. The man is a clown and so many people have tried to help him. All that time and effort and he just continues to hit the self destruct button. How many more times are we going to see on the news he's got hammered lashed out or even end up hurting someone.

Sorry but he's had more than his share of chances and I couldn't care less about him. He's a waste of space.

06-07-2013, 11:44 AM
Whilst in no way do I condone what Gazza has done, I keep coming back to the fact that he's ill. Alcoholism is a terrible disease and very complicated. I fear for anyone who suffers from it and for their friends and family. The problem is that he's in the public eye and his every move is being scrutinised. Although, because of his public profile he has received more assistance than others, it doesn't take away from what he is sufering from: an illness. IMHO of course :wink:

06-07-2013, 11:46 AM

Not really. It's a tricky one. How do people handle addiction?

This is a guy who should have all the resources to fight his demons - but hes blown them. He seems to have no shortage of friends who are willing to help him - but each time they try to pick him up, he falls back down. He's also a kind of tragic clown figure: the Raoul Moat chicken incident amongst many others.

He probably deserves some sympathy but it's got to a stage now where it's more pity. He's what, 42-45? He'll be doing well to reach 50 at this rate and yet again, the world will lose someone who was as much a genius at what they did for a living as they have a talent for self annihilation.

06-07-2013, 11:47 AM
Whilst in no way do I condone what Gazza has done, I keep coming back to the fact that he's ill. Alcoholism is a terrible disease and very complicated. I fear for anyone who suffers from it and for their friends and family. The problem is that he's in the public eye and his every move is being scrutinised. Although, because of his public profile he has received more assistance than others, it doesn't take away from what he is sufering from: an illness. IMHO of course :wink:
Agreed

06-07-2013, 11:59 AM
He will go the same way as George Best.

06-07-2013, 12:17 PM

I dont think anyone does.how many times has he said he was getting help and will get better.
I have a feeling we will pick up the papers one day and read about his death at a young age.
Beyond help now.

06-07-2013, 12:38 PM
Shame on the guy , legend in my eyes for football reasons obviously

06-07-2013, 01:01 PM
Gascoigne is an erse when drunk or sober. It's difficult to feel sympathy towards him but I just keep thinking that's someone's little boy. Hope he wins his battle, he'll probably still be an erse afterwards though.

06-07-2013, 01:05 PM

Nope.

I found it shocking that papers ran a campaign to help this 'hero' get back in his feet, when normal members of the public would get treated like **** for being alcoholics by the same papers.

Double standards at its best.

kdhibees1
06-07-2013, 01:10 PM
It's an illness that affects so many people. Must be horrible waking up each day with only one thing on your mind. The help he has received has not worked in any way and I can't see him living more than a year.

LeithBoozy
06-07-2013, 01:41 PM
I feel for the guy, the same as I would for anyone with the curse of alcoholism to try and deal with. Not only will it affect Paul, but also his family and friends, so good-luck to the guy from me.

06-07-2013, 01:45 PM
As mentioned above, yes the guy has an illness and an addiction that is very hard to beat but hes been given many many chances to help himself and every time he messes it up. It's his kids and family who I really feel for.

The guys an arse drunk and sober.

06-07-2013, 01:46 PM
I feel for the guy, the same as I would for anyone with the curse of alcoholism to try and deal with. Not only will it affect Paul, but also his family and friends, so good-luck to the guy from me.

I see what your saying mate. But as much as its an illness it's no excuse for hitting a woman. This annoys me. My uncle was a terrible alcoholic and often lashed out at family members. We tried so hard to help him and the toll it took was draining on all.

Illness or not, you can only help these people if they want help. Gazza has seen what he's done to his family and friends yet still continues to drink. Rehab and hours spent talking to the guy he still turns his back. So for me I couldn't care less what he does anymore.

06-07-2013, 01:47 PM

And me. :top marks

06-07-2013, 02:09 PM
waste of space

06-07-2013, 03:43 PM
Fanny. I feel it hard to have any sympathy for him, he's had more help than he deserves, dead within 6 months IMO.

06-07-2013, 04:10 PM
I see what your saying mate. But as much as its an illness it's no excuse for hitting a woman. This annoys me. My uncle was a terrible alcoholic and often lashed out at family members. We tried so hard to help him and the toll it took was draining on all.

Illness or not, you can only help these people if they want help. Gazza has seen what he's done to his family and friends yet still continues to drink. Rehab and hours spent talking to the guy he still turns his back. So for me I couldn't care less what he does anymore.
Yep, totally right. Narrow minded as it may seem, I have no sympathy for a wife-beater and never will. And the first time he battered her was when he was still playing for Rangers. One of my best friends was an alcoholic, but she's been sober for 17 years now. It CAN be done if you follow the 12 step program.

HiBremian
06-07-2013, 04:26 PM

I was working with his sister back in the Toon days. He was surrounding himself with phannies, leeches and various other hangers-on then, and we "sensible" types didn't get a look-in with the "grown up" advice about not letting the money and booze take over. A disease, yes, but a social disease as well. These cold turkey clinics really need to treat both, and get their patients out of their previous "friendships". Not easy, and no coincidence that he took Der Hun's pieces of silver on his way to where he is now. Sad.

06-07-2013, 05:04 PM
Yep, totally right. Narrow minded as it may seem, I have no sympathy for a wife-beater and never will. And the first time he battered her was when he was still playing for Rangers. One of my best friends was an alcoholic, but she's been sober for 17 years now. It CAN be done if you follow the 12 step program.

Admit that you're powerless and turn yourself to the "higher power"?

Aye, ok then.... :rolleyes:

06-07-2013, 05:10 PM
Admit that you're powerless and turn yourself to the "higher power"?

Aye, ok then.... :rolleyes:

What may not be for you, doesn't mean it's not for another bud. I think everyone is different and what ever people do to get off the drink and keep off it then good on them.

06-07-2013, 06:19 PM
Shows the ethics of some folk that he's obviously still got a network of associates / local boozers all too happy to keep helping him pour the drink down his throat.

06-07-2013, 06:55 PM
Shows the ethics of some folk that he's obviously still got a network of associates / local boozers all too happy to keep helping him pour the drink down his throat.

:agree: I don't know about now but it certainly used to be against the Licensing Act to serve a known alcoholic/someone who is drunk.

06-07-2013, 07:03 PM
I'll show some humility and wish him well, he suffers from a terrible illness and can't seem to escape the vice like grip it holds over so many.

06-07-2013, 07:10 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-beds-bucks-herts-23208749

Gascoigne also released without charge.

It's a shame but this is only going to end one way in my opinion.

06-07-2013, 07:20 PM
I'll show some humility and wish him well, he suffers from a terrible illness and can't seem to escape the vice like grip it holds over so many.

ask his ex all about his vice like grips.

06-07-2013, 07:22 PM
ask his ex all about his vice like grips.

Aye very good :rolleyes: I'm talking about his alcohloism!

06-07-2013, 08:07 PM
I feel sorry for him, of course I do. He is guilty of only one thing and that is suffering from a terrible disease. I am sure when he does eventually pass there will be plenty of remorseful comments made by the same folk with the £&@k him attitude that they are showing tonight. I would to wish his situation / life on anyone. He has tried and failed to recover, I hope his next attempt is successful.

06-07-2013, 08:21 PM
I feel sorry for him, of course I do. He is guilty of only one thing and that is suffering from a terrible disease. I am sure when he does eventually pass there will be plenty of remorseful comments made by the same folk with the £&@k him attitude that they are showing tonight. I would to wish his situation / life on anyone. He has tried and failed to recover, I hope his next attempt is successful.

Can we stop the pish that because its an "Illness" this condones battering his wife. There are millions of people out there with alcohol problems who are genuinely nice people. Gazza is a grade a trumpet who's not only abused his own body but others too.

Yes it's a horrible disease I've seen it first hand myself. Doesn't mean I have to feel sorry for him after Christ knows how many attempts folk have tried to help. He's been very fortunate to have had the best care money can buy while other alcoholics don't get anywhere near the amount of help he's had.

Do I wish death? Course not? Not in a million years. Will I take back anything I've said though about him if it happens? No!!

He's a ******** of a man that a lot of folk are getting tired of hearing the same stories about him. I'd leave him alone now let him do what he feels like.

06-07-2013, 08:33 PM
Can we stop the pish that because its an "Illness" this condones battering his wife. There are millions of people out there with alcohol problems who are genuinely nice people. Gazza is a grade a trumpet who's not only abused his own body but others too.

Yes it's a horrible disease I've seen it first hand myself. Doesn't mean I have to feel sorry for him after Christ knows how many attempts folk have tried to help. He's been very fortunate to have had the best care money can buy while other alcoholics don't get anywhere near the amount of help he's had.

Do I wish death? Course not? Not in a million years. Will I take back anything I've said though about him if it happens? No!!

He's a ******** of a man that a lot of folk are getting tired of hearing the same stories about him. I'd leave him alone now let him do what he feels like.

sums it up correctly.

06-07-2013, 09:08 PM
Hes had a gid life, lots of cash, fame, burds half the folk on here would swap places

Chibs
06-07-2013, 09:40 PM
It's his life let him get on with it.
What I'd like to know are the odds on him outliving the **** of Midlothian.

SmallvilleHibee
06-07-2013, 09:45 PM
Hope they lock him up and throw away the key. No room for wife beaters on planet Earth

06-07-2013, 09:55 PM
Hes had a gid life, lots of cash, fame, burds half the folk on here would swap places

Each to their own but there is no way I would swap places with one of Gazza's girlfriends.

06-07-2013, 10:48 PM

Good life?

Have you actually ever read anything about his childhood?

If you have then obviously our definition of a good life differs.

07-07-2013, 12:39 AM
Hope they lock him up and throw away the key. No room for wife beaters on planet Earth

Or husband beaters

SmallvilleHibee
07-07-2013, 12:44 AM
Or husband beaters
Especially husband beaters:wink:

07-07-2013, 12:45 AM

Spot on

07-07-2013, 07:11 AM
Why has he not been jailed?

Surely a stretch in the clink would be good for him. Cold turkey, and access to treatment.

07-07-2013, 07:18 AM
Sympathy for alky's or smackheads? Not from here, its a lifestyle choice as far as I'm concerned and the last time I checked, having an illness or disease wasn't a choice!!

07-07-2013, 07:46 AM
Why has he not been jailed?

Surely a stretch in the clink would be good for him. Cold turkey, and access to treatment.

Cold turkey. End of.

07-07-2013, 07:57 AM

If it was an illness or disease, you could see it in blood tests, or under a microscope. It is a lifestyle choice.

It's funny, no matter how bad these people's illness becomes, they still manage to stumble on till their next drinking bout.

Maybe a short spell in chokey would finally make Gascoigne face up to the fact that he isn't a special person, and that the same rules apply to him as everyone else.

07-07-2013, 08:01 AM
If it was an illness or disease, you could see it in blood tests, or under a microscope. It is a lifestyle choice.

It's funny, no matter how bad these people's illness becomes, they still manage to stumble on till their next drinking bout.

Maybe a short spell in chokey would finally make Gascoigne face up to the fact that he isn't a special person, and that the same rules apply to him as everyone else.

So addiction is a lifestyle choice?

Alcoholism is medically considered a disease is it not?

07-07-2013, 08:01 AM
Cheese. :agree:

Ersehole when he's sober, bigger ersehole when he's pished. A lot of people would have been glad of the help he's had.

He's just a waste of skin and oxygen.

07-07-2013, 08:07 AM
So addiction is a lifestyle choice?

It's not an illness, that's for sure. But by calling it an illness it turns the sufferer into someone who has no control over the situation. It's no more a disease than jealousy or loneliness.

By making them ill, we take away their control over the situation. It's not his fault, it's the booze. If he murders someone whilst drunk, does it take away his responsibility?

07-07-2013, 08:10 AM
It's not an illness, that's for sure. But by calling it an illness it turns the sufferer into someone who has no control over the situation. It's no more a disease than jealousy or loneliness.

By making them ill, we take away their control over the situation. It's not his fault, it's the booze. If he murders someone whilst drunk, does it take away his responsibility?

It's medically considered a disease from what I have read about it!

07-07-2013, 08:34 AM
When he was younger he came across as more than just a wee bit simple. I wonder now where the actual value in these stories are because it has been a long time since it was footballer gets drunk and now it is drunk gets drunk.

07-07-2013, 08:37 AM

But medial science and fact have no place on .net!

07-07-2013, 10:13 AM

I've read quite a lot about illness as well. It's fair to say that there is mixed opinion. It's a matter of doing the scientific thing, and looking at the evidence.

There is no evidence that it is a disease, other than the subjective opinions of some doctors. A profession that has failed woefully to make any headway in treating the pseudo illness they invented.

Doctors would like to call it a disease, so that they can then treat it. The fact is it meets none of the criteria whereby you can call something a disease. Probably the reason there is no medical intervention that has worked.

There is no drug that can cure it, no surgery that can cure it, there is no bacillus or virus or physiological malfunction that can be shown to cause it. Yet doctors still say its a disease.

Tells you a lot about doctors.

At the end of the day it's about responsibility and choice. If someone rapes a six year old when they are drunk, do they have an excuse. If someone crashes their car during an epileptic fit, do they have an excuse.

People need to get away from using medicine a reason for their badness or stupidity. Saying Gascoigne, or any other drunk, has an excuse, is like saying they are possessed by the devil.

Society has more to worry about than cleaning up the wreckage of those that will not take responsibility for their actions. The medical profession is creating more illnesses every year, using science as a justification, yet failing to provide any scientific evidence.

07-07-2013, 10:16 AM
But medial science and fact have no place on .net!

Sorry, you have scientific evidence that this is a disease? I'll see your (as yet) unnamed source, and raise you Thomas Sasz.

Just because a man in a white coat says you are ill, doesn't mean you are.

hibbiedon
07-07-2013, 10:23 AM
Wow ex hun / hun gets drunk and batters his wife ! never thought i would see that happen

07-07-2013, 11:12 AM
I've read quite a lot about illness as well. It's fair to say that there is mixed opinion. It's a matter of doing the scientific thing, and looking at the evidence.

There is no evidence that it is a disease, other than the subjective opinions of some doctors. A profession that has failed woefully to make any headway in treating the pseudo illness they invented.

Doctors would like to call it a disease, so that they can then treat it. The fact is it meets none of the criteria whereby you can call something a disease. Probably the reason there is no medical intervention that has worked.

There is no drug that can cure it, no surgery that can cure it, there is no bacillus or virus or physiological malfunction that can be shown to cause it. Yet doctors still say its a disease.

At the end of the day it's about responsibility and choice. If someone rapes a six year old when they are drunk, do they have an excuse. If someone crashes their car during an epileptic fit, do they have an excuse.

People need to get away from using medicine a reason for their badness or stupidity. Saying Gascoigne, or any other drunk, has an excuse, is like saying they are possessed by the devil.

Society has more to worry about than cleaning up the wreckage of those that will not take responsibility for their actions. The medical profession is creating more illnesses every year, using science as a justification, yet failing to provide any scientific evidence.

Fair enough, I'm not an expert and your post raises some very valid points with regards to it being a disease, I am only basing my opinions on what I have read on the subject of it being a disease, I have never really looked in to the counter argument. It's quotes similar to this one that I have often read and accepted:

“Alcoholism is a primary chronic disease with genetic, psychosocial and environmental factors influencing its development and manifestations. The disease is often progressive and fatal. It is characterized by impaired control over drinking, preoccupation with the drug alcohol, use of alcohol despite adverse consequences, and distortions in thinking, mostly denial. Each of these symptoms may be continuous or periodic.”

I will now look at the counter argument in more detail :aok:

07-07-2013, 11:31 AM
Fair enough, I'm not an expert and your post raises some very valid points with regards to it being a disease, I am only basing my opinions on what I have read on the subject of it being a disease, I have never really looked in to the counter argument. It's quotes similar to this one that I have often read and accepted:

“Alcoholism is a primary chronic disease with genetic, psychosocial and environmental factors influencing its development and manifestations. The disease is often progressive and fatal. It is characterized by impaired control over drinking, preoccupation with the drug alcohol, use of alcohol despite adverse consequences, and distortions in thinking, mostly denial. Each of these symptoms may be continuous or periodic.”

I will now look at the counter argument in more detail :aok:

Don't get me wrong. I am not saying that alcoholics don't suffer. It's just that by medicalising it, it removes the persons free will. That in turn, leads them to miss the point that how they live with the addiction is in their own hands.

IMO, making it an illness has been disastrous for those afflicted. At the same time, doctors have shown very little progress in curing the illness they invented.

As for Gascoigne, maybe one day the penny will drop that actions have consequences. So far, he has been allowed to play the victim. There comes a time when some balance has to come into things, and we start to focus on those harmed by his behaviour.

Maybe a spell in jail will bring it home to him that if he behaves in a certain way, he had to take the fall out. Just now, he plays the sick card. It wasn't so long ago his excuse was that he is bi polar.

He is nothing more than a drunk. And a poor role model for others who refuse to grow up.

LeithBoozy
07-07-2013, 11:52 AM
There is no doubt in my mind, If this thread was about W Hamilton, G Best or some of the other poor buggers who have fell victim to this Illness, there would be a lot more sympathy shown. Scouse Hibee and the other lads who have shown they can look beyond the fact he once played for Rangers, well done to you, for showing real Hibs class.

07-07-2013, 12:01 PM
There is no doubt in my mind, If this thread was about W Hamilton, G Best or some of the other poor buggers who have fell victim to this Illness, there would be a lot more sympathy shown. Scouse Hibee and the other lads who have shown they can look beyond the fact he once played for Rangers, well done to you, for showing real Hibs class.

What's playing for Rangers got to do with it? He battered his wife, had the best care money can buy. Other alcoholics would do anything for that help. He's thrown it back at everyone. He's an arse of a man simple as that and if he had played for Hibs he'd still be an arse.

07-07-2013, 01:13 PM
I watched him play for all his career, and he's up there with the best players i have ever seen live.

I have no gripe at all with him playing for sevco, but there does come a time when sympathy runs out for someone who has had as much help as he has, but does not help himself.

07-07-2013, 02:41 PM
I have sympathy for those who care for him as they are having to watch him self destruct. But despite that fact that he clearly suffers from an addiction, I no longer have any sympathy left for him because he has had far more support than most people with his addiction could dream of, yet is unable or unwilling to use that support to help himself.

Being a wife-beater makes him a reprehensible failure of a person, but neither that nor the fact that he is an ex-Hun(RIP) influence how I view his health issues.

07-07-2013, 03:12 PM
I think his alcoholism possibly stems from or at least exacerbates underlying mental health issues that have affected him most of his life. I do have some sympathy for him but like others I can't see him ever sorting himself out now unfortunately.

kdhibees1
09-07-2013, 12:49 PM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/uk-world-news/rangers-legend-paul-gascoigne-hospital-2039576 I said earlier in the thread that I would give him a year to live. Try a couple of months. He looks terrible!

09-07-2013, 04:16 PM

The evidence is absolutely abundant in the scientific literature - hundreds, if not thousands of papers which address the medical arguments for considering alcoholism as a disease - here are some examples:

Hill S., (1985), The disease concept of alcoholism: A review, Journal of Drug and Alcohol Dependence, Vol 16, Issue 3, 193-214

Miller L., (1990), Neuropsychodynamics of alcoholism and addiction: Personality, psychopathology and cognitive style, Journal of Substance Abuse Treatment, Vol 7, Issue 1, 31-49

Larsen E.W., (1991), Alcoholism: The disease and the diagnosis, The American Journal of Medicine, Vol 91, Issue 2, 107-109

Kasperowicz-Dabrowiecka A. and Rybakowski J.K., (2001), Beyond the Winokur concept of depression spectrum disease: which types of alcoholism are related to primary affective illness, Journal of Affective Disorders, Vol 63, Issues 1-3, 133-138

Lesch O.M., Dietzel M., Musalek M., Walter H. and Zeiler K., (1988), The course of alcoholism: Long-term prognosis in different types, Forensic Science International, Vol 36, Issues 1-2, 121-138

Eichner E.R., (1973), The hematological disorders of alcoholism, The American Journal of Medicine, Vol 54, Issue 5, 621-630

Glatt M.M., (1988), Alcoholism is a disease and a Challenge, The Lancet, Vol 272, Issue 7054, 1014-1025

And what's more, doctors don't have "subjective" opinions - they have professionally derived opinions which are based on 7+ years of practice, education, research and hard work which makes their opinion on what is and is not a disease exorbitantly higher than anyone else.

All it tells you about doctors is that they have limitations to their knowledge and abilities! They're not God (though some do suffer from the Complex). Many people have your same attitude about a lot of diseases which are primarily based in neuropsychology and have unclear origins, manifestations and ability to be cured or treated - some other classic examples are depression, chronic fatigue syndrome, dysautonomias, fibromyalgia, electromagnetic hypersensitivity and Kawasaki syndrome.

Society has more to worry about than cleaning up the wreckage of those that will not take responsibility for their actions.

I would agree in this sense that alcoholism is used as an excuse for diminished responsibility but when you consider the abundance of literary references which outline the impacts of alcoholism on behavioural function, it's hard to say comprehensively that there is not a degree of blame which can be placed at the door of alcohol. Having said that, a rational and normally well behaved human being would not suddenly rape a child, commit horrible acts of murderous violence simply because they were drunk. There has to be some trait to a person's character which would predispose them to such actions in the first place.

The medical profession is creating more illnesses every year, using science as a justification, yet failing to provide any scientific evidence.

As technology advances, understanding improves, communication between scientific research and practitioners enhances and more localised diseases become global with reduced travel times it's absolute ignorance to suggest that the medical profession "creates" illnesses.

10-07-2013, 10:35 AM
Just watched the BBC3 programme Football's Suicide Secret which was shown last night.

Clarke Carlisle presents, he's a very intelligent footballer, who suffered from depression, attempted suicide and is now the current chairman of the Professional Footballers' Association.

Was a great insight into how the highs & lows in the game can effect some players, very emotional and certainly worth a watch on iPlayer if you missed it.

Makes you think that what Gascoigne is suffering from is certainly a mental illness.

21-07-2013, 05:38 PM
charged now

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-beds-bucks-herts-23397027 (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-beds-bucks-herts-23397027)

Mr Gascoigne, of Gateshead, was also charged with two counts of common assault by British Transport Police.