View Full Version : Greggs Lyle Taylor
09-07-2013, 08:30 AM
Jeez so Falkirk turn down £200,000 from Rotherham and accept £80,000 from Hibs. I bet you would be delighted if we ran our club that way.
Don't know how true this is but stating that they have accepted£130k.
Inside The SPFL @AgentScotland So the price is set, Falkirk accept £130k from Rotherham for Lyle Taylor, FFC rejected £80k from Hibs last Thursday
gegs70
09-07-2013, 08:32 AM
Its really up to the player, we could up our bid but still offer less money (possibly where we fall down). However we only have a few days till our euro game and still no striker I would have said this was a priority...we dont seem to get anywhere fast...hopefully we dont make a panic signing like last time with matt done!!
gegs70
09-07-2013, 08:34 AM
Inside The SPFL @AgentScotland So the price is set, Falkirk accept £130k from Rotherham for Lyle Taylor, FFC rejected £80k from Hibs last Thursday
£200k on bbc website...? Not sure how accurate these things are?
They might go back with £100k and add ons, that might settle the deal.
Its really up to the player, we could up our bid but still offer less money (possibly where we fall down). However we only have a few days till our euro game and still no striker I would have said this was a priority...we dont seem to get anywhere fast...hopefully we dont make a panic signing like last time with matt done!!
Matt Done who just signed for...Rotherham :)
Rochdale I think!
09-07-2013, 08:57 AM
Rochdale I think!
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23234651
gegs70
09-07-2013, 08:58 AM
Rochdale I think!
He was terrible anyway .... we signed him when we missed out on other players
I believe we may now be back in the game for LT. It seems as if Falkirk have now settled for £130k having supposedly been looking for £300k & turning down offers of £200k. As another poster said we can now decide whether to match or come close to that offer, at least we now have an idea re price required. FWIW, I posted some time ago that everyone at Falkirk, including LT, expected him to be a Hibs player in the summer. If he thinks his expectations/ambitions are not met by going to Rotherham then we may yet see him at ER.
PS, why would anyone want to be managed by the odious Steve Evans?
Posh Swanny
09-07-2013, 09:23 AM
He and his agent turn round and tell Falkirk he's not going to Rotherham in Div2, they then might reconsider Hibs bid. He'll know all about our bid and if he wants to come here, then he could just hold out until he gets the move he wants, if he's happy at Rotherham in the lower leagues then bye bye.
Don't diss The Millers! They're flying high in League One these days!
09-07-2013, 09:51 AM
Without question we need a striker. I think that our top three scorers lat term were Griffiths, Doyle and Wotherspoon... Where are the goals gonna come from?
Yet again, UEFA qualifying ties seem to be treated as pre-season friendly, almost an acceptance that we'll lose (we will) but its ok because we want to make sure we will be ready for the start of the League season.
09-07-2013, 10:04 AM
A bit sad if we now don't stick in a higher bid or match Rotherhams.
09-07-2013, 10:08 AM
Why?
Don't diss The Millers! They're flying high in League One these days!
Aye forgot they were promoted last season.
andrew70
09-07-2013, 11:03 AM
Taylor has apparently knocked back the offer from Rotherham.
09-07-2013, 11:04 AM
Taylor has apparently knocked back the offer from Rotherham.
Mon Roderick. Make your move...
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23242571
09-07-2013, 11:10 AM
I have only seen him once live, and the odd clip on the tv, and to be honest he did impress me during the semi final. He held the ball up well, although he was only playing against Hibs. :wink:
Now our defence was not the best last season, but his general hold up play was good. We need a player of that ilk, if its him i will obviously want him to do well, but i wont be suicidal should he choose somewhere else.
09-07-2013, 11:10 AM
:agree: If Hibs think he's the right guy to spearhead our attack for the season, £50k extra is absolutely nothing. If Hibs are not prepared to up their bid, then it tells you a lot about our scouting and confidence in picking the best players for the squad.
09-07-2013, 11:15 AM
I have only seen him once live, and the odd clip on the tv, and to be honest he did impress me during the semi final. He held the ball up well, although he was only playing against Hibs. :wink:
Now our defence was not the best last season, but his general hold up play was good. We need a player of that ilk, if its him i will obviously want him to do well, but i wont be suicidal should he choose somewhere else.
Yeah but the guy comes accross as a big headed coc on twitter so thats him instantly getting booed when he misses his first shot, he is a the cheap option, hibs have no ambition etc. :cb
09-07-2013, 11:18 AM
Yeah but the guy comes accross as a big headed coc on twitter so thats him instantly getting booed when he misses his first shot, he is a the cheap option, hibs have no ambition etc. :cb
Its a good job i don't judge players on what i read on twitter, if that was the case i'd have got rid of Leigh Griffiths the first week of his loan.
Bertie's XI
09-07-2013, 11:20 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23242571
LT rejects personal terms!
Time for Hibs to match the bid.
09-07-2013, 11:27 AM
I don't know why people post on here with their opinion on how much Hibs should be bidding for a player. Our board and manager have an idea of what a player is worth and how much we can afford to offer. If Hibs have a bid rejected and the other club decide to announce details of that bid then **** them. If that's how they want to do business then fine, but I'm happy with the way Hibs do it by announcing signings when they are made rather than being held to ransom by greedy little clubs and their equally greedy players. In 6 months we'll be hearing how Hibs could have had player X, Y or Z for £60k, £600k or £6m when nobody really knows.
Bertie's XI
09-07-2013, 11:34 AM
I don't know why people post on here with their opinion on how much Hibs should be bidding for a player. Our board and manager have an idea of what a player is worth and how much we can afford to offer. If Hibs have a bid rejected and the other club decide to announce details of that bid then **** them. If that's how they want to do business then fine, but I'm happy with the way Hibs do it by announcing signings when they are made rather than being held to ransom by greedy little clubs and their equally greedy players. In 6 months we'll be hearing how Hibs could have had player X, Y or Z for £60k, £600k or £6m when nobody really knows.
At least Hibs now know what offer is required for Falkirk to accept it.
If the board think that is too much then fair play to them.
gegs70
09-07-2013, 11:43 AM
Rochdale I think!
He was terrible anyway .... we signed him when we missed out on other players
09-07-2013, 12:15 PM
Probably not a good sign that he's rejected personal terms with a League One team, as they'll pay more in wages than us I would reckon.
09-07-2013, 12:16 PM
Probably not a good sign that he's rejected personal terms with a League One team, as they'll pay more in wages than us I would reckon.
Nah he has rejected terms because he knows he has more handsome suitors.
09-07-2013, 12:20 PM
But maybe worse training facilities less chance of Europe blah blah
09-07-2013, 12:20 PM
But maybe worse training facilities less chance of Europe blah blah
Nah he has rejected terms because he knows he has more handsome suitors.
I hope so! It may not be all about the money, certainly.
Rather stick with what we have than overpay.
09-07-2013, 12:38 PM
Could be length of contract, signing on fee, bonus payments anything, and yes, he might not like the look of Rotherham FC.
Dunderhall
09-07-2013, 12:48 PM
Rather stick with what we have than overpay.
I'd be surprised if the £80K offer was Rod's best and final.
09-07-2013, 01:23 PM
"@lyletaylor29: Please can people refrain from commenting on the situation. It was a personal decision I made, along with my family. Thank you."
09-07-2013, 01:29 PM
Perterbourgh and middleboro still after LT
Leishy1995
09-07-2013, 01:33 PM
Lyle Taylor has rejected the offer from Rotherham. Source - his twitter
09-07-2013, 01:36 PM
I keep misreading this thread title and have been getting overly excited at the thought of us signing Liv Tyler. I must wear my specs more often.
09-07-2013, 01:39 PM
Perterbourgh and middleboro still after LT
Peterborough chairman last night said they are not one of the three clubs interested in signing him.
09-07-2013, 01:42 PM
Peterborough chairman last night said they are not one of the three clubs interested in signing him.
So this is as accurate as his comment about Hanlon needing to go on loan to Berwick or someone like that lol :greengrin
09-07-2013, 03:11 PM
Info from twitter suggests they are still in for them if ur itk and know the Peterborough chairman I cant compete with ur info
09-07-2013, 03:14 PM
"@lyletaylor29: Please can people refrain from commenting on the situation. It was a personal decision I made, along with my family. Thank you."
Thank you for not commenting on this personal decision although I will crassly blurt out every single thought on the matter in the most public way possible.
09-07-2013, 03:25 PM
Thank you for not commenting on this personal decision although I will crassly blurt out every single thought on the matter in the most public way possible.
Haha.
09-07-2013, 03:28 PM
Info from twitter suggests they are still in for them if ur itk and know the Peterborough chairman I cant compete with ur info
I dont know the Peterborough chairman but he was asked on twitter if his club were one of three chasing Taylor, he said no.
https://twitter.com/hoppyposh/status/354341777005748228
hibeeleicester
09-07-2013, 03:47 PM
They are interested.
09-07-2013, 03:50 PM
Sounds a bit of a walloper.
09-07-2013, 03:56 PM
I get the impression from all of this that he really fancies himself. It's not like he is being chased by Manchester Utd, Chelsea and Real Madrid FFS. The last thing we need is another Billy Big Baws just as we look like getting some team/club feeling back after some of the tubes we have had playing for us over the last few years
09-07-2013, 04:41 PM
@AgentScotland: So the price is set, Falkirk accept £130k from Rotheram for Lyle Taylor, FFC rejected £80k from Hibs last Thursdsy
09-07-2013, 05:54 PM
I get the impression from all of this that he really fancies himself. It's not like he is being chased by Manchester Utd, Chelsea and Real Madrid FFS. The last thing we need is another Billy Big Baws just as we look like getting some team/club feeling back after some of the tubes we have had playing for us over the last few years
Correct we've had enuf idiots recently
have we got Griffith's back yet?
09-07-2013, 07:01 PM
If taylor chose to speak to Rotherham before us , this guy will speak to Oxford before us I suspect
BarneyK
09-07-2013, 07:03 PM
If taylor chose to speak to Rotherham before us , this guy will speak to Oxford before us I suspect
I suspect Taylor wisnae allowed to speak to us cos we never made an acceptable offer. That's what I reckon :wink:
09-07-2013, 07:18 PM
I suspect Taylor wisnae allowed to speak to us cos we never made an acceptable offer. That's what I reckon :wink:
80k is what I heard we offered.
09-07-2013, 07:20 PM
Correct
LeighLoyal
10-07-2013, 11:49 AM
Noticed Taylor turned down League 2 Rotherham's wage offer. I assume they offered the 150k asking pruce, sad state of affairs. :rolleyes:
Dunderhall
10-07-2013, 11:52 AM
Noticed Taylor turned down League 2 Rotherham's wage offer. I assume they offered the 150k asking pruce, sad state of affairs. :rolleyes:
£130K was the rumoured offer.
10-07-2013, 12:32 PM
£130K was the rumoured offer.
There's plenty of players going for free, so I find it hard to understand why Fenlon seemed to focus so much on a player who is under contract and would cost a fair sized transfer fee. I'd seriously question his ability to unearth new players (the way most other SPL teams have to) if he has to target obvious players that everyone knows about .
10-07-2013, 12:35 PM
There's plenty of players going for free, so I find it hard to understand why Fenlon seemed to focus so much on a player who is under contract and would cost a fair sized transfer fee. I'd seriously question his ability to unearth new players (the way most other SPL teams have to) if he has to target obvious players that everyone knows about .
So who should we be signing that's available on a free and that would be interested in playing for us?
10-07-2013, 12:38 PM
Hate to be the pendant but no one knows who Fenlon is after... We are speculating. He said it was finished with after he got his bid rejected earlier.
10-07-2013, 12:42 PM
Hate to be the pendant but no one knows who Fenlon is after... We are speculating. He said it was finished with after he got his bid rejected earlier.
:agree: Its not beyond belief we could have Taylor and Howe as our front pairing by the end of the week.
I have no idea how good or bad they really are, but if they are to be our players we need to be giving them a chance before making any judgement on how good or bad they are?
10-07-2013, 12:42 PM
:rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:
Well I suppose by the law of averages Fenlon has got to sign a decent attacking player for us eventually.
My granny knocked in 100 goals in the East Lothian pensioners league. Surely that entitles her to a trial?
Oh, the heights we are hitting under Fenlon.
Yet on the thread about Howe you come out with smart arse comments about your Grannie knocking in goals after Stevie had posted his stats (See above)? But here you question PF's ability to unearth new players who we aint heard of (cant imagine too many will have heard of Renee Howe). Contradicting yourself a bit no? Or are you just being a complete fanny that's moaning about everything under the sun and is never happy? :rolleyes:
Sergio sledge
10-07-2013, 12:55 PM
Yet on the thread about Howe you come out with smart arse comments about your Grannie knocking in goals after Stevie had posted his stats (See above)? But here you question PF's ability to unearth new players who we aint heard of (cant imagine too many will have heard of Renee Howe). Contradicting yourself a bit no? Or are you just being a complete fanny that's moaning about everything under the sun and is never happy? :rolleyes:
He doesn't like Fenlon and has made that abundantly clear. He'll use every possible reason to beat him even if it means that he'll end up contradicting himself.
Fenlon wants to sign Taylor - We should be spotting players out of contract and that no-one knows about, not paying money for a proven goal scorer.
Fenlon wants to sign Howe (allegedly) - We shouldn't be going for an out of contract player who no-one knows about, even if he has an ok scoring record.
Fenlon wants to sign Messi - Fenlon is rubbish at picking players because he's only signing Messi on reputation and having seen him on Sky Sports, if he was a decent manager he'd have spotted him before he got his "best in the world" tag.
(OK, I made the last one up....)
GlenrothesHibee
10-07-2013, 01:02 PM
Did Fenlon not say Falkirk knocked back a bid so he ended his interest? Doesn't sound to me like he's focusing too much on Taylor really
10-07-2013, 01:03 PM
Did Fenlon not say Falkirk knocked back a bid so he ended his interest? Doesn't sound to me like he's focusing too much on Taylor really
I have said this before, but managers tell porkies. Its practically written into their contracts. :wink:
The problem last year was that the MF contributed next to no goals IIRC and that was concerning. He's signed Craid and OTJ who have scored a few (more than last seasons MF) yes a CF jobs is to put the ball in the net but I'd be just as happy with a CF who scored between 15-20 but sets up Nd brings the MF into play allowing them the opportunity to score.
We never heard if Wee Russell when he signed and he did ok so lets no speculate whose Pish and whose no Pish. It's a TEAM effort.
Say we sign Howe and Taylor along with McManus I would be happy with the squad.
Who know we may still see a surprise signing.
10-07-2013, 04:37 PM
The problem last year was that the MF contributed next to no goals IIRC and that was concerning. He's signed Craid and OTJ who have scored a few (more than last seasons MF) yes a CF jobs is to put the ball in the net but I'd be just as happy with a CF who scored between 15-20 but sets up Nd brings the MF into play allowing them the opportunity to score.
We never heard if Wee Russell when he signed and he did ok so lets no speculate whose Pish and whose no Pish. It's a TEAM effort.
Say we sign Howe and Taylor along with McManus I would be happy with the squad.
Who know we may still see a surprise signing.
So would I mate, so would I. If only.
10-07-2013, 05:23 PM
His most recent tweet.
@lyletaylor29 Are you coming to @HibernianFCClub mate or is that finished? #GREATTALENT #GGTTH any chance of a RT & Reply
Lyle TaylorLyle Taylor @lyletaylor29 3h
@MonkeyBoy79 I don't know mate...
10-07-2013, 06:52 PM
Hes just scored for Falkirk, they're winning 4-0 inside 20 mins.
11-07-2013, 07:23 AM
The Scotsman says we have failed with a further bid of £150,000. Falkirk want £200,000.
I can see this one being done somewhere in the middle.
11-07-2013, 07:27 AM
The Scotsman says we have failed with a further bid of £150,000. Falkirk want £200,000. I can see this one being done somewhere in the middle.If that's true, then I find that quite annoying, especially if they had agreed £130 with a club down south..
11-07-2013, 07:46 AM
I don't know if the figures quoted are correct but I don't think this has rub its course yet, FWIW I can see the deal being done
11-07-2013, 07:50 AM
I hope this one happens. Preferably so that he'll be on the plane to Europe
11-07-2013, 07:52 AM
I fully expect him to sign in the next week or so!
Still think he will sign before tomorrow's euro deadline.
11-07-2013, 08:02 AM
Still think he will sign before tomorrow's euro deadline.
Purehibee_MYB
11-07-2013, 08:05 AM
Fingers crossed he's signed when I wake up in 8 hours time! :aok:
11-07-2013, 08:17 AM
Or are you just being a complete fanny that's moaning about everything under the sun and is never happy? :rolleyes:
Got it in one. Never heard him say anything apart from moan
ColintonHibs
11-07-2013, 08:22 AM
Anyone know if we are still trying to sign him?
Yes we are but we also have other targets. Next 24/48 hours crucial.
11-07-2013, 08:49 AM
Hope this is done by tomorrow. Should be at gpod enough a fotness level to gettjrpwn righton next week as well
11-07-2013, 08:54 AM
Hopefully we get him. Could be a bit of a risk but he clearly knows where the net is alongside having good pace and being quite strong.
11-07-2013, 08:58 AM
Hope this is done by tomorrow. Should be at gpod enough a fotness level to gettjrpwn righton next week as well
Exactly :greengrin
GreenOnions
11-07-2013, 09:02 AM
Easy for you to say! :greengrin
LeighLoyal
11-07-2013, 09:09 AM
So it could be Rene the Tank and Taylor then?
Easy for you to say! :)
11-07-2013, 09:25 AM
Has he signed. :confused:
http://www.falkirkherald.co.uk/sport/falkirk-fc/hibs-rejoin-the-race-to-sign-falkirk-striker-lyle-taylor-1-2997332
Hibs rejoin the race to sign Falkirk striker Lyle Taylor
The race to sign Falkirk’s star striker Lyle Taylor intensified this week as the club accepted one bid - only for the player to then reject it.
Rotherham United tabled a take it or leave it offer - believed to be in the region of £200,000 - for the 23-year-old last weekend, which was accepted by the Bairns board on Monday.
But Taylor failed to agree personal terms with the Yorkshire League One side, and boss Steve Evans announced the deal was off the following day.
Heraldsport can now reveal that news prompted Hibernian to re-enter the race for Taylor, just days after the Edinburgh club had publicly declared they would not be following up their interest in the striker after two previous bids of £80,000 and £100,000 were rejected by Falkirk.
It is understood that Hibs have tabled an improved offer of £150,000, still short of the board’s valuation.
The Easter Road side were yesterday (Wednesday) said to be considering whether to submit a FOURTH offer for Taylor, who scored 24 goals in 31 games for the Bairns last season.
11-07-2013, 09:32 AM
I honestly didnt see Rod going back in with a bigger offer and I thought 150k would be enough. 200k would get him, still cant see him going up to that much. I'm amazed that we're trying to spend a transfer fee, according to the Yams we're in just as bad a financial position as them :confused:
11-07-2013, 09:36 AM
I honestly didnt see Rod going back in with a bigger offer and I thought 150k would be enough. 200k would get him, still cant see him going up to that much. I'm amazed that we're trying to spend a transfer fee, according to the Yams we're in just as bad a financial position as them :confused:
If Hibs and up paying £150-200k then it'll be to sign him on a 3 year deal (at least), meaning that we'd have the possibilty of getting some of the dosh back in a couple of years time.
11-07-2013, 09:38 AM
We weren't fussed for doing it but we did it just to show the **** that we can (save your club with £200k, na we don't need to) we go out purchase an asset hopefully with a potential sell on worth :agree:
11-07-2013, 09:40 AM
Even if that were true, it still never stopped them. £200,000 is about 3 months worth of Nade pay.
Agree with this. I'm amazed we offered what we did and TBH, £200,000 in Scottish football nowadays is a lot of dosh. I think I would prefer to keep this in the bank and then wait until January and add it to any bid we make for Leigh (assuming that's what we do). I'm not saying Taylor wouldn't be a decent signing, was impressed with him at Dumpden in the semi-final when he ran our defence ragged, but that's a lot a of money when we are ob the verge of calling in BDO with our £700m debt that the Yams seem to claim we have.
11-07-2013, 09:49 AM
Put in a bid, have it rejected, wait on someone else bidding more, wait until the player doesn't want to move to the arse end of nowhere to play for Rotherham, now we know exactly what Falkirk accepted and didnt get, go back with a lower bid than that and say take or leave it.
Yours,
The Rod Petrie School of Transfers.
11-07-2013, 09:55 AM
Put in a bid, have it rejected, wait on someone else bidding more, wait until the player doesn't want to move to the arse end of nowhere to play for Rotherham, now we know exactly what Falkirk accepted and didnt get, go back with a lower bid than that and say take or leave it.
Yours,
The Rod Petrie School of Transfers.
Is Rotherham the arse end of nowhere compared to central Scotland if you you are from London? I know he can fly from Scotland to get home to London easy enough but any club in England would probably suit LT better than Scotlnad.
LT will not decide his club based on location. It will be two factors. Whoever offers him the most money and wherever he can get the best profile. Unless Championship clubs are in for him, we might just win out on the latter.
11-07-2013, 10:00 AM
Has he signed. :confused:
http://www.falkirkherald.co.uk/sport/falkirk-fc/hibs-rejoin-the-race-to-sign-falkirk-striker-lyle-taylor-1-2997332
Hibs rejoin the race to sign Falkirk striker Lyle Taylor
The race to sign Falkirk’s star striker Lyle Taylor intensified this week as the club accepted one bid - only for the player to then reject it.
Rotherham United tabled a take it or leave it offer - believed to be in the region of £200,000 - for the 23-year-old last weekend, which was accepted by the Bairns board on Monday.
But Taylor failed to agree personal terms with the Yorkshire League One side, and boss Steve Evans announced the deal was off the following day.
Heraldsport can now reveal that news prompted Hibernian to re-enter the race for Taylor, just days after the Edinburgh club had publicly declared they would not be following up their interest in the striker after two previous bids of £80,000 and £100,000 were rejected by Falkirk.
It is understood that Hibs have tabled an improved offer of £150,000, still short of the board’s valuation.
The Easter Road side were yesterday (Wednesday) said to be considering whether to submit a FOURTH offer for Taylor, who scored 24 goals in 31 games for the Bairns last season.
Sounds like we are pretty interested. I am split on whether we sign him. On one hand, he has the physical attributes to do well, clearly knows where the goal is and is young and hungry. Might be a sound investment, if he continues to improve we could make our money back and more on him.
On the other hand, he is inexperienced, unproven at SPL level and a transfer fee of 150k plus is a lot of money for us to go splashing when we could probably sign a safer bet for free.
If we get him, lets get right behind him and see what he can do.
If we don't, lets not cry about it. It would not be the end of the world and there are other strikers out there.
11-07-2013, 10:00 AM
Is Rotherham the arse end of nowhere compared to central Scotland if you you are from London? I know he can fly from Scotland to get home to London easy enough but any club in England would probably suit LT better than Scotlnad.
LT will not decide his club based on location. It will be two factors. Whoever offers him the most money and wherever he can get the best profile. Unless Championship clubs are in for him, we might just win out on the latter.
it will be just over 2 hrs to London by train , down the east cost line .... so rotherham location wouldn't be an issue I suspect
11-07-2013, 10:03 AM
Sounds like we are pretty interested. I am split on whether we sign him. On one hand, he has the physical attributes to do well, clearly knows where the goal is and is young and hungry. Might be a sound investment, if he continues to improve we could make our money back and more on him.
On the other hand, he is inexperienced, unproven at SPL level and a transfer fee of 150k plus is a lot of money for us to go splashing when we could probably sign a safer bet for free.
If we get him, lets get right behind him and see what he can do.
If we don't, lets not cry about it. It would not be the end of the world and there are other strikers out there.
How are we going to get a proven SPL striker for free? :confused:
To whom are you referring?
11-07-2013, 10:04 AM
If we are comparing Rotherham to Edinburgh then there is no contest, if we are comparing to Falkirk then I am surprised he didn't want to move to Rotherham ASAP.
11-07-2013, 10:06 AM
If we are comparing Rotherham to Edinburgh then there is no contest, if we are comparing to Falkirk then I am surprised he didn't want to move to Rotherham ASAP.
He may already live in Edinburgh as it's only 30 minute drive to Falkirk. :agree:
11-07-2013, 10:09 AM
Easy for you to say! :greengrin
haha should avoid posting on my phone
11-07-2013, 10:20 AM
Vine might be the alternative we are looking at if this one gets pricey. Maybe not proven over a long period but certainly had his moments.
11-07-2013, 10:21 AM
Colin Nish?
Garry O'Connor?
Derek Riordan?
Calum Elliot?
The Mali Magician?
Thomas Sowumni?
Enoch Showumni?
Fred Showumni?
Behemoth the Sea Monster?
11-07-2013, 10:27 AM
Taylor would be a gamble (as is any signing) to an extent, but it would seem that Fenlon not only rates him, but Hibs obviously believe there is some sell on value there. He's big and quick, which makes him very difficult to deal with, and should create chances for others - his finishing may have looked questionable in the semi, but he caused us real bother (until he was hampered by an injury and even then he nearly equalised in extra time) and his team mates banged in 3 goals.
His scoring record last year shows that he knows where the goals are too.
11-07-2013, 10:35 AM
Taylor would be a gamble (as is any signing) to an extent, but it would seem that Fenlon not only rates him, but Hibs obviously believe there is some sell on value there. He's big and quick, which makes him very difficult to deal with, and should create chances for others - his finishing may have looked questionable in the semi, but he caused us real bother (until he was hampered by an injury and even then he nearly equalised in extra time) and his team mates banged in 3 goals.
His scoring record last year shows that he knows where the goals are too.
Would be a good signing. For those not bothered if he signs, What will you be saying when we are 11 games into the season and barely scored a goal, sitting near the bottom of the league because we've signed some huddy from League 2 who can't score goals?
Will be a great signing. Speed, height, athletic/strong, goal scorer and perfect age to develop and sell on (for Rod).
11-07-2013, 10:56 AM
Would be a good signing. For those not bothered if he signs, What will you be saying when we are 11 games into the season and barely scored a goal, sitting near the bottom of the league because we've signed some huddy from League 2 who can't score goals?
Didn't realise that was the alternative. :rolleyes:
11-07-2013, 10:58 AM
Didn't realise that was the alternative. :rolleyes:
Well take your pick. :greengrin
11-07-2013, 11:02 AM
If he does sign, can we get him to shut the **** up on Twitter? Car crash waiting to happen.
green.and.white
11-07-2013, 11:04 AM
Aye but that would give us all something to moan about :greengrin
11-07-2013, 11:08 AM
Well take your pick. :greengrin
The second one, just for the fun on here.
11-07-2013, 11:17 AM
If he does sign, can we get him to shut the **** up on Twitter? Car crash waiting to happen.
Agreed. From what people have pasted onto here he's got far too much to say.
Can't for the life of me understand why any manager would allow players use of social media in such a way.
11-07-2013, 11:35 AM
Particularly if hes driving.. :whistle:
11-07-2013, 11:44 AM
If he signs for us and starts sticking the ball in the onion bag like he's been doing all last season, he can do what he likes in his own time.
11-07-2013, 11:46 AM
Why are we even contemplating offering any more than £130k for him? IF Rotherham have offered that and it was accepted then they should take it or lump it from us.
To be fair, there was a few of them going about at the start of the window.
11-07-2013, 11:55 AM
Why are we even contemplating offering any more than £130k for him? IF Rotherham have offered that and it was accepted then they should take it or lump it from us.
Free transfers can allow the player to request a larger wage. So in effect they can end up a more costly deal than players under contract with a transfer fee.
11-07-2013, 12:00 PM
Tbf that rumour was started by Agent Scotland. All other decent sources claimed 200k was the agreed offer.
11-07-2013, 12:37 PM
Adam Rooney is available on a free is he not?
David Clarkson?
I am sure there are plenty others - not necessarily those who have played in the SPL but there will be some who have played in the Championship, decent League 1 teams or good leagues abroad who will be free agents right now.
11-07-2013, 12:41 PM
Adam Rooney is available on a free is he not?
David Clarkson?
I am sure there are plenty others - not necessarily those who have played in the SPL but there will be some who have played in the Championship, decent League 1 teams or good leagues abroad who will be free agents right now.
I think Adam Rooney is still contracted to Birmingham City is he not?
11-07-2013, 12:55 PM
This has been posted before but if anyone missed it ...
http://tellhimhespele.com/?p=3523
Name: Lyle Taylor
Club: Falkirk
Position: Striker
Match: Falkirk 3-4 Dumbarton (29/12/2012)
FALKIRK’S six-game winning run came to an abrupt end on Saturday as they were defeated 3-4 by Dumbarton at the Falkirk Stadium. While the Bairns ultimately failed to take anything from the match, manager Steven Pressley was buoyant about his side’s performance, particularly his young charges’ habit of scoring late goals. It was a sour end to a very interesting calendar year for Falkirk which included League Cup victories over Rangers, Dundee United and a semi-final berth against Celtic. Pressley’s side also tested themselves against the Gers twice this campaign in the Ramsdens Cup and the League Cup.
There were plenty of positives for Falkirk to take from their recent defeat, and in particular, the continuing goal-scoring prowess of English centre-forward Lyle Taylor, who took his league tally to 13 for the season and 16 in all competitions. The 22-year-old had set a target of 15 goals before the turn of the New Year and going one better will be immensely satisfying to the striker.
Taylor moved from AFC Bournemouth to Falkirk in the summer in search of regular first-team football, having spent long periods of his spell with the Cherries on-loan at non-league clubs. Given the departure of Moroccan striker Farid El Alagui – who had scored 18 goals in the First Division last season – the opportunity to bring in a direct replacement of similar calibre was gratefully accepted. It is worth noting that Falkirk are not yet halfway through their league fixtures, but Taylor is just three goals away from equalling the now-Brentford striker’s total of last year.
Taylor’s finished 2012 in outstanding form. He scored a hat-trick against Airdrie United last Saturday and then matched the feat against Dumbarton. His hat-trick against the Sons was completed in an impressive fashion, with the player scoring a variety of different goals. Taylor possesses a number of strong attributes, but it is his predatory instinct inside the penalty box which is integral to his fine scoring record.
His first strike on Saturday came from a neat one-two between Stephen Kingsley and Blair Alston on the flanks, before the former crossed perfectly to Taylor and he crashed his header beyond Jamie Ewings with conviction. By the time Taylor scored his second, Falkirk were losing 1-4 but the hosts were on the ascendency. This time, he controlled a neat through-pass from Alston and slid the ball past the goalkeeper. With two minutes to go, Taylor rose highest amongst a ruck of golden shirts to complete his hat-trick.
Leading the line as a lone forward is a demanding task, but Taylor has the make-up of a complete striker. Physically, the Englishman’s pressing ability and work-rate is ideal in forcing mistakes in opposition defences – on 13 minutes, he charged after a loose ball and dispossed Alan Lithgow but Sean Higgins failed to convert the chance. Taylor also has a strong running power over longer distances and over ten-to-15 yards, he is a dangerous opponent when he is afforded space.
The dynamic player is involved in most of Falkirk’s good work in advanced areas. Taylor has a decent first-touch and can play with his back to goal, holding up the ball to bring others into play, with Higgins and Alston in particular thriving on his link-up play. The forward is also flexible enough to drop into deeper areas as well as lurking in and around the penalty area.
Although there are very few weaknesses in Taylor’s general play, he has admitted himself that he could have actually scored more this season. The striker went through a barren spell of five games in the league without a goal, which he found disappointing given his work-ethic and determination.
Like El Alagui and Kalum Higginbotham, Falkirk’s two brightest players last term, Taylor is almost certain to secure a return to a decent level in the English Football League. Scouts from across the border regularly appear the Falkirk Stadium and it is highly likely the striker will have attracted the attention of a League One or League Two with his recent performances.
11-07-2013, 12:55 PM
Barry Anderson@BarryAnderson_844s (http://www.hibs.net/BarryAnderson_8/status/355309680739880960)#Falkirk (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23Falkirk&src=hash) will accept around £200,000 for striker Lyle Taylor. #Hibs (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23Hibs&src=hash) have offered £150,000 so far, according to @Dennynews (http://www.hibs.net/Dennynews).
#allisbarry keep us up to date as usual :greengrin Interesting that its around 200,000, mon Petrie, negotiate like you've never negotiated before.
11-07-2013, 01:06 PM
LeighLoyal
11-07-2013, 01:13 PM
Just pay the £200k FFS. :rolleyes:
hibeeleicester
11-07-2013, 01:14 PM
How about 150k with Jimmy Scott chucked in :thumbsup:
11-07-2013, 01:15 PM
it will be just over 2 hrs to London by train , down the east cost line .... so rotherham location wouldn't be an issue I suspect
Had to pick up on this: Rotherham? I'm sure many people live there and love it. However, if a job came up there for me, I think I'd be looking for very good money to put up with living there - money which an employer may not be willing to pay. It's hardly got a pull factor, does it?
Or even Jimmy Scott chucked oot.
11-07-2013, 01:17 PM
I think Adam Rooney is still contracted to Birmingham City is he not?
Swindon Town?
11-07-2013, 01:30 PM
Agree with this. I'm amazed we offered what we did and TBH, £200,000 in Scottish football nowadays is a lot of dosh. I think I would prefer to keep this in the bank and then wait until January and add it to any bid we make for Leigh (assuming that's what we do). I'm not saying Taylor wouldn't be a decent signing, was impressed with him at Dumpden in the semi-final when he ran our defence ragged, but that's a lot a of money when we are ob the verge of calling in BDO with our £700m debt that the Yams seem to claim we have.
I think Leigh is destined for bigger things to be honest. I wouldn't risk our season hedging our bets that he'll be up here firing us to glory in the latter half of it.
Now is a good time to make an investment in the squad. We need a proven goalscorer. There is one going with potential sell on value. Get it done Hibs.
I think Leigh is destined for bigger things to be honest. I wouldn't risk our season hedging our bets that he'll be up here firing us to glory in the latter half of it.
Now is a good time to make an investment in the squad. We need a proven goalscorer. There is one going with potential sell on value. Get it done Hibs.
Remember Leigh was with Dundee when Wolves took a punt on him and he's delivered the goods, misfired a bit 1st season but kicked on last year. Who's to say Taylor can't do the same, similar scoring to Leigh in Div 1, with better training and coaching etc he could prove to be a very good buy. Think Leigh will be ECL or EPL next season.
11-07-2013, 01:35 PM
Remember Leigh was with Dundee when Wolves took a punt on him and he's delivered the goods, misfired a bit 1st season but kicked on last year. Who's to say Taylor can't do the same, similar scoring to Leigh in Div 1, with better training and coaching etc he could prove to be a very good buy. Think Leigh will be ECL or EPL next season.
European Champions League? :wink:
11-07-2013, 01:38 PM
Deal
European Champions League? :wink:
Erm no English Championship haha
11-07-2013, 02:21 PM
SmithyHibee
11-07-2013, 02:39 PM
Click on a thread that's supposedly about the possibility of signing a new striker and end up reading through this nonsense, get back to the OP
11-07-2013, 02:41 PM
Click on a thread that's supposedly about the possibility of signing a new striker and end up reading through this nonsense, get back to the OP
I think he will be a Hibs player by the end of next week latest :D
Imo we need a quality striker by tomorrow if we want to progress in europe.
11-07-2013, 02:52 PM
Imo we need a quality striker by tomorrow if we want to progress in europe.
None signed today so far is the word from EM
11-07-2013, 02:52 PM
I think he will be a Hibs player by the end of next week latest :D
To hell with that, I'm not refreshing this thread for that long!!
I cannot see all the fuss around this guy and I sure as hell would not be paying over £100k for a SPL player with one year left on his deal. Not saying he is poor but the clamour to sign him at an over the top price probably says far more for our desperation than it does him.
I guess he carries favour for helping us to get to the SC final, from which we made a fuss about being back in Europe for some reason as we are never ready for it and generally probably lose both money and face.
Thankfully all teams in the SPL bar maybe Aberdeen are weaker.
11-07-2013, 03:20 PM
If we are prepared to pay 150k for LT it makes me think that that the mythical 150k tag on LG was in fact total Tom Kite
11-07-2013, 03:24 PM
If we are prepared to pay 150k for LT it makes me think that that the mythical 150k tag on LG was in fact total Tom Kite
I don't know if Hibs were quoted such a price at any point during his loan spell. Certainly, at the end of his exploits with us, I imagine the price would have went up exponentially.
11-07-2013, 03:25 PM
I cannot see all the fuss around this guy and I sure as hell would not be paying over £100k for a SPL player with one year left on his deal. Not saying he is poor but the clamour to sign him at an over the top price probably says far more for our desperation than it does him.
I guess he carries favour for helping us to get to the SC final, from which we made a fuss about being back in Europe for some reason as we are never ready for it and generally probably lose both money and face.
Cheery Bugger.
11-07-2013, 03:31 PM
Don't take this the wrong way but please leave, good chap.
11-07-2013, 03:37 PM
I guess he carries favour for helping us to get to the SC final, from which we made a fuss about being back in European for some reason as we are never ready for it and generally probably lose both money and face.
Hardly, st johnstone lost 20k in europe. I doubt charter costs to sweeden are as much as to turkey but even if they are we only need 1k more full price adults than they got to cover this. Should do that 4 or 5 timea over
11-07-2013, 04:28 PM
@lyletaylor29: So my plans to watch Taken 2 while most of the squad went to Aberdeen failed! Been asleep for 3 hours and missed the whole film! Interesting
11-07-2013, 05:13 PM
@lyletaylor29: So my plans to watch Taken 2 while most of the squad went to Aberdeen failed! Been asleep for 3 hours and missed the whole film! Interesting
First one is decent. I think the edge was taken off the second - probably in trying to keep it down to a 15 certificate.
He hasn't missed much.
Very interesting. Falkirk playing Turiff on Sat & looks like squad has headed north without LT. Here's hoping!
11-07-2013, 06:13 PM
Very interesting. Falkirk playing Turiff on Sat & looks like squad has headed north without LT. Here's hoping!
He has hayfever. Swollen eyes.
11-07-2013, 06:16 PM
That was what he replied to me, told him I didn't believe him :greengrin
11-07-2013, 06:19 PM
When he signs we can offer him membership ofthe PM board, he'll get some good advice on there.
11-07-2013, 06:29 PM
Well us or not something is happening in the Lyle Taylor camp.....
So what he should've put in his post was " We had a right good laugh last night, how are you and a very good morning too you. We'll be bringing more guys in over the next few days, that's for sure." all said in an Irish accent. Jeez get a life
11-07-2013, 08:17 PM
Oh what fun well have if he does sign. Vying with LG for the twitterrati awards. And we'll learn of events unfolding as he makes his next move... What are the bairns making of this?
11-07-2013, 08:25 PM
Hayfever? Big poof. Defo not Hibs class.
shagpile
11-07-2013, 09:05 PM
Was that not E.T?:confused::dummytit:
11-07-2013, 09:08 PM
I think he's injured
11-07-2013, 09:11 PM
I think he's injured
Not sure hayfever is classed as an injury!
11-07-2013, 09:16 PM
Well us or not something is happening in the Lyle Taylor camp.....
@lyletaylor29: “@reecebuchanan: @lyletaylor29 u still playing pool lol” nah mate I'm in bed... Hard day tomorrow apparently! #PreSeason
11-07-2013, 09:18 PM
Alex Ferguson was right about footballers and twitter it seems
12-07-2013, 12:44 AM
Alex Ferguson was right about footballers and twitter it seems
He doesn't half post pish eh.
sven nil
12-07-2013, 03:47 AM
That is just insulting, my gay pal Jesus works hard on the building site
aye works hard, but got hammered in tacxs
12-07-2013, 02:17 PM
Which hotel is that this then, the one Falkirk are using?
Lyle Taylor @lyletaylor29 2h
Zoning out in the hotel with Ministry of Sound: Deep House #UnrealAlbum
Details
Dunderhall
12-07-2013, 02:24 PM
Oh what fun well have if he does sign. Vying with LG for the twitterrati awards. And we'll learn of events unfolding as he makes his next move... What are the bairns making of this?
Not sure, but LG will surely be streets ahead in that competition.
12-07-2013, 10:24 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/8821202/Sheffield-United-are-set-to-sign-Falkirk-striker-Lyle-Taylor
Looks like we'll miss out.
LeighLoyal
12-07-2013, 10:31 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/8821202/Sheffield-United-are-set-to-sign-Falkirk-striker-Lyle-Taylor
Cheers to Weir, Jambo hun twat.
12-07-2013, 10:34 PM
Not necessarily, their interest is like ours and they don't have a lot of cash to offer on crazy wages. I know this as they were trying to sign KT aswell and he said the offer wasn't great so I wouldn't suspect we are automatically out of it. They are a League one side remember so not like it would be a brilliant move for him.
12-07-2013, 10:36 PM
I think if pay wants him he'll get him. I'm sure it's all in hand. I as much as anyone want announcements but I ain't overly worried about the lack of them. I mean PF knows more than we do, in terms of when things need to be done, what needs to be done, who he has his eyes on etc etc. I think we should get him. It seems like we're after him after putting another bid in..
12-07-2013, 10:51 PM
This place gets more mental (thats not another unintended reference to those suffering illness by the way :rolleyes:) by the day.....with an Olympic sized event at who can take the most offence.......
Maybe we should have the hypocrites 11...Off the ball style :greengrin
12-07-2013, 11:24 PM
Aw ffs man!
12-07-2013, 11:33 PM
Sparky it is then x
12-07-2013, 11:35 PM
Sparky it is then x
You never know ;)
12-07-2013, 11:45 PM
Sake!! Thought Taylor would be a very good signing. Might still get him.
13-07-2013, 04:39 AM
This place gets more mental (thats not another unintended reference to those suffering illness by the way :rolleyes:) by the day.....with an Olympic sized event at who can take the most offence.......
Maybe we should have the hypocrites 11...Off the ball style :greengrin
Was going to say something like this but couldn't find the words. Some of it is ridiculous, I do not know who is behind the keyboards but i do hope they're about twelve cause it seems that's the case.
'I said this first'
'And so what if this is the case'
'So you don't believe me or my source?'
Give it a break. Hold a proper conversation.
Watch this space
DAVE1875
13-07-2013, 04:46 AM
Aw ffs man!
Don't give up hope till you see him posing with another team's shirt in an "Lyle Taylor signs for ____________" article or news report
13-07-2013, 09:26 AM
Don't give up hope till you see him posing with another team's shirt in an "Lyle Taylor signs for ____________" article or news report
Sheffield utd are to make a bid. Source sky sports.
13-07-2013, 09:38 AM
Got to think Sheffield United would be a big enough club for him, they'd also be able to offer him the kind of money he wants I'd imagine. Lets just hope we've got someone else lined up...
13-07-2013, 09:56 AM
Got to think Sheffield United would be a big enough club for him, they'd also be able to offer him the kind of money he wants I'd imagine. Lets just hope we've got someone else lined up...
Aye, Rowan Vine.
13-07-2013, 10:00 AM
Aye, Rowan Vine.
Doubt he'll be our main striker this season. We've got money to spend on a striker it seems, just need to wait and see.
Then again, he's taken the number 9 jersey...
@aslrowanvine: Couldn't get the #23....so just opted for the #9 instead...wasn't going to turn that down was I...#R9
13-07-2013, 10:09 AM
Same league as sparky?
13-07-2013, 11:13 AM
Sparky it is then x
Whats with the odd habit of putting kisses at the end of posts that seems to rear its ugly head on here at times?
13-07-2013, 11:44 AM
Whats with the odd habit of putting kisses at the end of posts that seems to rear its ugly head on here at times?
It's a girl thing.
13-07-2013, 01:47 PM
We offered KT more than Sheff UTD so don't see that being an issue if we really did want him.
sven nil
13-07-2013, 03:02 PM
why does mexico have a rubbish track and field squad? :greengrin
best drug runners though!
13-07-2013, 03:05 PM
Taylor isn't in the Falkirk squad today. Take it he's up at Sheffield?
He said days ago he wasn't going up north. Some on here mentioned problems with his eyes.
13-07-2013, 04:11 PM
"@Walkerpw: David Weir tells me he is interested in Falkirk striker Lyle Taylor "how can you not be, he scores lots of goals. He's on our radar " sufc"
"@Blades_tweets: David weir has revealed that he is trying to sign lyle Taylor. Also Richard cress well will be leaving the club"
13-07-2013, 04:12 PM
He said days ago he wasn't going up north. Some on here mentioned problems with his eyes.
Cheers.
13-07-2013, 04:34 PM
No tweets for 9hrs too. :hmmm:
Weir7
13-07-2013, 04:36 PM
We offered KT more than Sheff UTD so don't see that being an issue if we really did want him.
That is not true.
13-07-2013, 07:28 PM
This is Hibs.net where truth comes a sorry second to 'FACT'
13-07-2013, 07:30 PM
That is not true.
I have been informed it is.
13-07-2013, 09:10 PM
Could be something, could be nothing:
@lyletaylor29: Back in my flat and a massive smile on my face! #ComfyBed
13-07-2013, 09:12 PM
He's off to Sheffield?
13-07-2013, 10:26 PM
http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/sheffield-united/transfer-talk/news/sheffield-united-close-in-on-taylor_93257.html
13-07-2013, 11:53 PM
Could be something, could be nothing:
@lyletaylor29: Back in my flat and a massive smile on my face! #ComfyBed
He's glad to be back in his flat?
13-07-2013, 11:55 PM
http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/sheffield-united/transfer-talk/news/sheffield-united-close-in-on-taylor_93257.html
A rehash of an article found elsewhere today...
14-07-2013, 12:01 AM
A rehash of an article found elsewhere today...
Was just putting it out there...
14-07-2013, 11:26 AM
"@TheScottishView: @tonycrawford_ All I will say is Dont rule out the Taylor deal just yet."
14-07-2013, 11:30 AM
Who's Tony Crawford?
14-07-2013, 12:02 PM
Who's Tony Crawford?
Dunno? Just went on TheScottishView Twitter page and spotted that. Just a fan I think.
14-07-2013, 12:26 PM
"@TheScottishView: @tonycrawford_ All I will say is Dont rule out the Taylor deal just yet."
The Scottish view recently done an interview with Taylor and he did say he would only move south if it was close to London which Sheffield isn't. He also wants a guarantee of first team football and enjoys Scottish football.
14-07-2013, 12:29 PM
The Scottish view recently done an interview with Taylor and he did say he would only move south if it was close to London which Sheffield isn't. He also wants a guarantee of first team football and enjoys Scottish football.
Do you think he would get first team football here? I think he would imo.
14-07-2013, 12:33 PM
Definitely. Pat has been interested since January IIRC and I'd imagine there's only one player that is higher on his list...
14-07-2013, 01:43 PM
Absolute stonewaller.
14-07-2013, 03:28 PM
He's glad to be back in his flat?
Maybe he's got a bird in his #comfybed?
14-07-2013, 06:12 PM
He'd be our first choice striker as things stand.
14-07-2013, 06:17 PM
Maybe he's got a bird in his #comfybed?
If he has time for all that he's not getting pushed hard enough pre-season!
14-07-2013, 07:57 PM
Liked this message to Lyle on twitter. :faf:
dmn1989 @DarrenNicholl1 @lyletaylor29 (https://twitter.com/lyletaylor29) See if you snub Shef Utd and sign for Hibs I will polish your car monthly and let you bash my mrs twice. #OfferYouCantRefuse (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23OfferYouCantRefuse&src=hash)
14-07-2013, 08:13 PM
From a journo on twitter;
@neilperrettecho: Ex-#afcb striker Lyle Taylor set to complete a £250,000 move from #falkirkfc to #sufc on Tuesday. He was released by Cherries 12 months ago.
14-07-2013, 08:15 PM
Liked this message to Lyle on twitter. :faf:
dmn1989 @DarrenNicholl1 @lyletaylor29 (https://twitter.com/lyletaylor29) See if you snub Shef Utd and sign for Hibs I will polish your car monthly and let you bash my mrs twice. #OfferYouCantRefuse (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23OfferYouCantRefuse&src=hash)
has he put up a pic of his missus?:greengrin
14-07-2013, 08:20 PM
@neilperrettecho: Ex-#afcb striker Lyle Taylor set to complete a £250,000 move from #falkirkfc to #sufc on Tuesday. He was released by Cherries 12 months ago.
**** sake.
14-07-2013, 08:22 PM
Can't see Rod matching that offer. Should've signed him when he was offered to us on a pre-contract in January for £150,000.
Scottiedog007
14-07-2013, 08:28 PM
Inside The SPFL @AgentScotland 2m
Sheffield Utd have had a £175k bid for Lyle Taylor accepted and he's expected to sign in the next 48 hours
14-07-2013, 08:29 PM
If true then fine.
Raw talent or not, an unproven 23 year old 1st division player with less than a year on his contract is not worth a quarter of a million in the Scottish game.
14-07-2013, 08:30 PM
Who will we sign now?
14-07-2013, 08:31 PM
can't see rod matching that offer. Should've signed him when he was offered to us on a pre-contract in january for £150,000.
fact!
14-07-2013, 08:32 PM
If true then fine.
Raw talent or not, an unproven 23 year old 1st division player with less than a year on his contract is not worth a quarter of a million in the Scottish game.
Reckon we could get Sparky for less than that in January, when he only has 6 months of his contract left.
That's if he still wants back to ER
14-07-2013, 08:33 PM
Thank **** for that, now we can look at someone decent.
14-07-2013, 08:34 PM
Agent Scotland talks utter pish! A journo who would actually know says 250k...he says 175k in order to try and seem like he knows what he's on about. If it was 175k we'd pay it. 250k is too much.
14-07-2013, 08:35 PM
fact!
14-07-2013, 08:38 PM
I'm willing to bet Griffiths will back at ER within 3 years!:agree:
14-07-2013, 08:38 PM
http://audioboo.fm/boos/1500120-sufc-boss-david-weir-after-bury-win-in-pre-season?utm_campaign=detailpage&utm_content=retweet&utm_
Skip to 3.30 when Weir starts talking about Taylor.
14-07-2013, 08:40 PM
I'm willing to bet Griffiths will back at ER within 3 years!:agree:
He will be bk for the hearts game
14-07-2013, 08:44 PM
He will be bk for the hearts game
As a fan aye, as a hibs player no. He tweeted this last week, didnt he?
14-07-2013, 08:45 PM
has he put up a pic of his missus?:greengrin
http://anybody.squarespace.com/storage/boyle.jpg?__SQUARESPACE_CACHEVERSION=1240437376660 (http://www.google.co.uk/url?sa=i&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&frm=1&source=images&cd=&cad=rja&docid=LF7ADiPXCTPHtM&tbnid=Bd7bvf-qcs9SBM:&ved=0CAUQjRw&url=http%3A%2F%2Fanybody.squarespace.com%2Fanybody _vent%2F2009%2F4%2F22%2Fwhy-men-can-be-ugly-and-talented-and-women-only-botoxed-to-b.html&ei=gQ7jUcmqIYKm0wWSrIGYBw&bvm=bv.48705608,d.d2k&psig=AFQjCNFedpUojpm2Nt4vWBsSy7QU5aEzfQ&ust=1373921040999047)
14-07-2013, 08:45 PM
Inside The SPFL @AgentScotland 2m
Sheffield Utd have had a £175k bid for Lyle Taylor accepted and he's expected to sign in the next 48 hours
That contradicts the figure quoted by the other journalist who says its 250k.
14-07-2013, 09:45 PM
Agent scotland is adamant its 175k. 125k now and 50k next summer. No chance surely.
14-07-2013, 09:48 PM
Agent scotland is adamant its 175k. 125k now and 50k next summer. No chance surely.
He's full of it, certainly no prince charming in my opinion.
14-07-2013, 09:52 PM
He's full of it, certainly no prince charming in my opinion.
Indeed. Never known him to stand and deliver
14-07-2013, 10:09 PM
Indeed. Never known him to stand and deliver
Ridicule doesn't scare him either.
14-07-2013, 10:11 PM
@lyletaylor29: Early start tomorrow... 🚗🌄
14-07-2013, 10:19 PM
Looks very much like he's away down to Sheffield then.
15-07-2013, 02:16 PM
He's having his medicalright now with SU according to twitter
15-07-2013, 02:22 PM
That's rubbish if true
15-07-2013, 02:27 PM
That's rubbish if true
Have we still got Kuqi? No need to panic.
15-07-2013, 02:31 PM
He's having his medicalright now with SU according to twitter
Well he is having a medical but he doesn't say where though.
15-07-2013, 02:45 PM
Well he is having a medical but he doesn't say where though.
I'll give you a clue, it's Sheffield United.
15-07-2013, 02:47 PM
I'll give you a clue, it's Sheffield United.
Nope. It'll need to be a better clue than that :greengrin
15-07-2013, 02:49 PM
Nope. It'll need to be a better clue than that :greengrin
I can't say more than that at this stage, I'm afraid.
Wait...breaking news....it's not Hibs.
15-07-2013, 02:50 PM
I can't say more than that at this stage, I'm afraid.
Wait...breaking news....it's not Hibs.
You 'in the know' people know nowt.
15-07-2013, 02:51 PM
You 'in the know' people know nowt.
Source?
Dunderhall
15-07-2013, 03:43 PM
Source?
@AgentScotland.
15-07-2013, 03:45 PM
@AgentScotland.
Ah, That guy. At least he is believable. :greengrin
15-07-2013, 03:47 PM
Reckon we could get Sparky for less than that in January, when he only has 6 months of his contract left.
not a chance. If Leigh starts scoring for fun for Wolves there will be bigger clubs queuing up with 5 times the wage we can afford!
i get the feeling its either now or never with regards to Sparky.
15-07-2013, 04:03 PM
not a chance. If Leigh starts scoring for fun for Wolves there will be bigger clubs queuing up with 5 times the wage we can afford!
If the fans get on his back at Wolves - which they may do - he will not be a success, and he will be back here in January.
Griffiths loves being the star, and a lot of Wolves fans don't want him.
15-07-2013, 04:08 PM
@lyletaylor29: Medical 💉🏥💊
15-07-2013, 04:10 PM
It's a shame we seem to be missing out on one of our top targets. We'll only pay what we want though and if Petrie dosent think he's worth 200k+ then so be it.
15-07-2013, 04:14 PM
It's a shame we seem to be missing out on one of our top targets. We'll only pay what we want though and if Petrie dosent think he's worth 200k+ then so be it.
Petrie didn't think Griffiths was worth 150k back in January and now look where we are.
It's not a case of whether he's worth it, it's whether we have it, plus the fees and wages that go with it.
Eternal Hibbie
Does the tache think spending money on any player is worth it ?
15-07-2013, 04:21 PM
Petrie didn't think Griffiths was worth 150k back in January and now look where we are.
You forgot the FACT!
15-07-2013, 04:23 PM
So, if this is true, it would appear that we have lost out on two of our targets today, - McManus to M'well and Taylor to SU. Not a good day at the office
mentalhibee
15-07-2013, 04:25 PM
So, if this is true, it would appear that we have lost out on two of our targets today, - McManus to M'well and Taylor to SU. Not a good day at the office
Classic Hibs with Petrie at the helm.
15-07-2013, 04:36 PM
Classic Hibs with Petrie at the helm.
You forgot the FACT!
15-07-2013, 04:37 PM
The 'if' in your second sentence kind of negates the 'not a chance' in your first sentence, dont you think?
No one knows where Leigh will be post January, not even Leigh himself.