View Full Version : Spoony signs for St Johnstone

02-07-2013, 10:56 AM
“@p_mcpartlin: St Johnstone have signed David Wotherspoon from #Hibs on a 2-year deal”

02-07-2013, 10:57 AM
“@p_mcpartlin: St Johnstone have signed David Wotherspoon from #Hibs on a 2-year deal”

If its true, its a sensible decision by him

HibbyDave
02-07-2013, 10:58 AM
Good Luck Spoony.....just NOT when you play against us!

02-07-2013, 10:59 AM
No real surprise. Good luck Spoony and thanks for some good memories esp the winner v them.

02-07-2013, 10:59 AM
Good luck Spoony.

02-07-2013, 11:00 AM
Hope he gets a decent reception back at ER in December.

Cheers Spoony.

02-07-2013, 11:01 AM
Hope and believe he'll do well for them.

02-07-2013, 11:02 AM
This site is going to break when he scores a winner against us next season :greengrin

02-07-2013, 11:02 AM
Bit disappointed really, although he flattered to deceive sometimes, he did show what he was capable of on a few occasions last season.

Genuinely wish him the best of luck.

02-07-2013, 11:03 AM
No loss

Frees up a wage for someone far better

02-07-2013, 11:06 AM
Very bad news.Will come back to take a chunk out our ass.

02-07-2013, 11:06 AM
He'll be a good signing for them. I expect him to have a good season.

Just_Jimmy
02-07-2013, 11:07 AM
Lets hope liam craig gives us more than wotherspoon did. Bit sorry to see him go but probably best for all parties that he has a fresh start. Home town team as well.

02-07-2013, 11:08 AM

Cheers Spoony.

Im sure he will.

Im happy with this as I think its the right decision by all parties. I really wish him the very best of luck in his future career, he needed to move on and I hope he goes on to become a huge success in the game. If this means we will look back and think we should have kept him if he des great for them and goes onto becoming a great player in the future then so be it, this is the right decision by all concerned IMO. What will be will be in the future, nae goals against us tho please Spoony. :wink:

P.S does anyone know if Wothersponiesta is part of the transfer deal, that .net transfered him to a Saints forum at the same time? :greengrin

So what if he does now and again? That doesn't make it bad news. Whoever replaces him might perform for us more than once every few weeks. That would be good news.

Wont be missed, good move by Fenlon.

02-07-2013, 11:11 AM
Good luck to him, no doubt he'll be happy with a move to his boyhood team.

02-07-2013, 11:12 AM
Not his biggest fan, far far too inconsistent. The importance of his winner V them cannot be underestimated though.

02-07-2013, 11:14 AM
Good luck to him think he is going to need it. Just not consistent enough

02-07-2013, 11:15 AM
One of the most frustrating players I have ever watched play for Hibs. Could be outstanding at times but these were sadly in the minority. Felt that the first half of last season he had finally cracked it with us, found his position on the right hand side of a four man midfield, beating his man regularly, showing good skills and the odd good goal. Then second half of the season failed to make an impact even when we were really poor.

The phrase "there's a player in there" definitely applies. Someone has got to find the player and get it out of him on a regular basis. After four seasons in the first team at hibs i think it is fair to say it is was not happening for him at ER and it is the correct decision for him and the club to go elsewhere.

It may come back to haunt us but sometimes you have to make a decision based on the past and the present, the been and gone and the here and now rather than the what ifs and maybes of the future.

Believe him and his family are all mad Saints fans so this will have swayed the decision. Wonder if he had other options. The pre-admin Yams were heavily linked so we'll never know if he was destined for them now. Always felt he would leave this summer and go to another SPL team. To be honest, he would do a turn for anyone out with Celtic if they can get him playing. Good move for him and Saints.

I fully expect him to score or do well in a Saints win against us next season or in seasons to come. He may even do well in general. If this happens "meltdown" of the board should be avoided as I think most will agree, based on what we know now, this is the right decision for all concerned.

Pat 0-7
02-07-2013, 11:16 AM
All the best Spoony.

Hope you get a hat trick on your first home SPFL game of the season...........:wink:

02-07-2013, 11:16 AM
Good luck Spoony, cheers for the memories :thumbsup:

Right move for us and him, no doubt if he scores the winner against us there'll be hundreds of posters claiming we should have kept him.

TheFamous1875
02-07-2013, 11:18 AM
A fresh start is perfect for him. Could be the making of him. Not his biggest fan, but sad to see him go, as he has the potential to be a great player. Hope he goes from strength to strength, just a shame it wasn't to be with us.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

02-07-2013, 11:19 AM

Cheers Spoony.

I hope he doesn't get booed (doesn't deserve that) but don't want to go over-board on the reception he should get - he is not some sort of returning hero.

For me, he deserves no more of a reception than for example the likes of John Rankin but you don't always get what you deserve. Rankin unjustifiably gets pelters from the Hibs fans when he plays against us but for me he never gave anything but his all for us. I'm not always convinced Wotherspoon gave 100% committment100% of the time.

BH Hibs
02-07-2013, 11:19 AM
All the best Spoony

02-07-2013, 11:22 AM
We get Liam Craig from them, they get Spoony from us, very happy with that piece of business. :thumbsup:

D.W. is a Saints fan so he will be delighted and might get more game time to prove himself. Thanks for the odd good times Spoony, a wee bit disappointed you were never more consistant as that's what was the big let down to being a really good player.

LeighLoyal
02-07-2013, 11:22 AM
Thought he had his best season last but if he's surplus then good luck. Thanks for the cup goal vs the beggars.

02-07-2013, 11:23 AM
Really liked him and was a joy to watch at times. Sad it never worked out though and good luck to him!

Dunderhall
02-07-2013, 11:25 AM
A good move all round I reckon.
For whatever reasons he never played enough, and consistantly enough when picked, for him to be a big loss.

Hope it works out for him.

02-07-2013, 11:25 AM
I hope he doesn't get booed (doesn't deserve that) but don't want to go over-board on the reception he should get - he is not some sort of returning hero.

For me, he deserves no more of a reception than for example the likes of John Rankin but you don't always get what you deserve. Rankin unjustifiably gets pelters from the Hibs fans when he plays against us but for me he never gave anything but his all for us. I'm not always convinced Wotherspoon gave 100% committment100% of the time.

Rankin never scored a winning goal against Hearts.

02-07-2013, 11:28 AM
Rankin never scored a winning goal against Hearts.

You could argue that Spoony didn't either :wink:

02-07-2013, 11:29 AM
Sure I predicted this move a few weeks ago ;)

Bob Box Fish
02-07-2013, 11:29 AM
Good luck to him. Based on last few years form of St Johnstone more of a side ways step than backwards.

JIm
02-07-2013, 11:33 AM
No surprise with this one. Hibs offered him half of what his previous deal was (wages wise) so he was never going to stay.

Good luck at St Johnstone to him, hopefully he'll go on to fulfil the potential he has shown.:aok:

02-07-2013, 11:39 AM
Good luck to him. Based on last few years form of St Johnstone more of a side ways step than backwards.

Was just thinking this actually, at first glance it is a backwards move but at the moment, based on the last couple of seasons, it is a move up for him. That said, Hibs will always be a bigger club with more potential than St Johnstone.

You would think Saints would have offered him a lower wage but maybe not. Maybe Hibs, if they were offering anything, were offering just a 1 year deal on reduced terms with no promise of first team football. You would think Saints, with a new manager and a couple of players having left, will have sold him a better deal by offering the two year deal and what he will feel, given that he has probably been made to feel more wanted by them than the Hibs manager, a better chance of first team football.

02-07-2013, 11:45 AM
Honestly think this is a mistake by Hibs ... He is a classy player who will flourish in the right team ... We will wait and see !

02-07-2013, 11:46 AM
Makes complete sense for all concerned. A new start for the guy at a decent level where he is likely to get a little more patience than he may have got here. Started the season well however his form really dipped as did the teams to be fair. Always thought he looked like he was carrying some sort of injury may be completely wrong.

02-07-2013, 11:46 AM

Possibly, but still less damaging than giving him a Hibs jersey for a season :cb

02-07-2013, 11:47 AM
Good Luck to him, he can be a really frustrating player to watch as you know what he's capable of but just doesn't manage it on a consistant enough basis. Hopefully he can realise his potential at St Johnstone. Not against us though.

Hibeesb0unc3
02-07-2013, 11:47 AM
hard to see how this is a backwards step for spoony when for the past few seasons st johnstone have finished higher than us in the league. Even if they are offering lower wages he will probably have more chance of regular 1st team football than he would at hibs

02-07-2013, 11:51 AM
A straight swap for Liam Craig- tremendous business by Hibs.

Frankly couldn't care less how he does there.

02-07-2013, 11:54 AM
Really disappointed to hear we've let Wotherspoon go - best of luck to him with his career. He's a lot more talented IMO than some of the squad being retained ... or some of the new guys, not convinced by this move on our part.

02-07-2013, 11:56 AM
A straight swap for Liam Craig- tremendous business by Hibs.

Frankly couldn't care less how he does there.

Agree, if anything it'd be less annoying if he was a total flop although in fairness I probably don't wish that on him.

Some major revisioning going on in this thread, he was never a joy to watch, even claims he was inconsistent are wide of the mark, he was pretty much always pish imo, he occasionally had good spells within a game but I don't renember him ever having a really good game.

Anyone able to point to a man of the match performance from him?

Good luck and all the best for the future D. Thanks for what you gave us.

I didn't mind Spoony but it was clear he was affected by some fans getting on his back, should do well at St Johnstone as their crowd is abysmal

Delighted with this. Good luck to him.

LioNeilMessi
02-07-2013, 11:58 AM
Great talent but, even as a Spoony happy clapper, I was beginning to get fed up with his inconsistency in the second half of the season. I hope he does well and can start living up to his potential.. no doubt he'll get a position just behind the striker and become brilliant (epecially at ER) :greengrin

02-07-2013, 12:00 PM
A definite talent but one of the dreaded 'confidence players' we seem to specialise in producing. If all the stars align, you get a great performance, but if his porridge is too lumpy, or his usual parking space is taken, or the receptionist at ER is wearing an unlucky red blouse that morning, you can forget it. Hope I'm wrong, because I like the chap, but I envisage a constant stop-start career.

Nonetheless, I wish him all the best.

scott7_0(Prague)
02-07-2013, 12:07 PM
it a big ask for him now, and a step up for him - will he cope?

good luck to the lad.

TomoHFC
02-07-2013, 12:10 PM
All the best Spoony. I will never forget the goal against THEM

sbell1875
02-07-2013, 12:11 PM
I'm pretty gutted he has left. Whether it was his decision or we've failed to offer him terms I'm not sure but I think it is a mistake certainly from our perspective.

02-07-2013, 12:12 PM
Interesting to note that there was a similar "swap" in 2000, with Paul Hartley moving to Perth and John O'Neil moving to Hibs. Although neither deal was actually a swap. Players moving at similar points in their career as well. Hartley was a "promising youngster" who had yet to fulfil potential, while O'Neil was in his prime and was a good player for Hibs for 2-3 years.

02-07-2013, 12:12 PM
hard to see how this is a backwards step for spoony when for the past few seasons st johnstone have finished higher than us in the league. Even if they are offering lower wages he will probably have more chance of regular 1st team football than he would at hibs

And move from hibs to St Johnstone is always a step down, ask liam Craig which way he thinks his career is going.

02-07-2013, 12:13 PM
Good luck to Spoony, he's a St Johnstone fan and from Perth originally so a no-brainer for him I reckon. Would like to think he was offered a contract at Ibrox (as had been rumoured) but turned that down to join the Saints.

02-07-2013, 12:15 PM
This one will bite us on the erse.

Played in the right position and minus the abuse fae the knuckledraggers in our support, he will do well

02-07-2013, 12:16 PM
Good luck Spoony, I look forward to reading about how great you were first time around when you become available again in a couple of years, past players always improve with age and lack of memory.

AngusHibby
02-07-2013, 12:17 PM
Disappointed we never got the best out of the lad

02-07-2013, 12:20 PM
This one will bite us on the erse.

Played in the right position and minus the abuse fae the knuckledraggers in our support, he will do well

It won't.

02-07-2013, 12:20 PM
Interesting to note that there was a similar "swap" in 2000, with Paul Hartley moving to Perth and John O'Neil moving to Hibs. Although neither deal was actually a swap. Players moving at similar points in their career as well. Hartley was a "promising youngster" who had yet to fulfil potential, while O'Neil was in his prime and was a good player for Hibs for 2-3 years.

Bugger.

Love the Green
02-07-2013, 12:22 PM

And how would that be?

"keep the faith"

02-07-2013, 12:24 PM
He's a good player on his day however I think there are too many games where he doesn't appear to be interested. Possibly just a case of his head going down too easily. I agree that giving him pelters is not the way to encourage a player with fragile confidence but unfortunately criticism is part of the game. I don't think even his most ardent fan would disagree that based on form of recent years, that Liam Craig is the better player and I am happy enough with the business Pat has done here.

02-07-2013, 12:27 PM
Good luck to him, some cracking goals last season and played his part in our good start. liked him but dont think he had true self belief and that held him back.Our only goal threat from midfield until Harris broke through.

Teapot
02-07-2013, 12:28 PM
Wish him all the best. Its clear that its not working out for him at Hibs. He may flourish at a club like St Johnstone where there is a bit less pressure on him to perform, who knows.

Will always remember him for that goal in December, which i think will turn out to be a massive turning point for our development under Fenlon.

rainman
02-07-2013, 12:28 PM
Suffered from the utter ***** he played with at a crucial time in his development. I wonder how he would've turned out playing next to the guys Whittaker, Brown and Thomson learnt from.

02-07-2013, 12:30 PM
Good move! Good luck!

02-07-2013, 12:32 PM
Good luck Spoon. Good player on his day but very inconsistent!

TheFamous1875
02-07-2013, 12:40 PM
I really hope this is the making of him. There is potentially a really, really great player in there (which has led to the sheer frustration from many in the stands). Lets just hope he doesn't go to St Johnstone, impress there, then sign for the Hearts and consistently give us a hard time at the peak of his career haha!
I hope he does make it, though.

02-07-2013, 12:43 PM
Disappointed. Feel he still had something to offer. Good luck to the guy.

micka_weer
02-07-2013, 12:49 PM
All the best Spoony

02-07-2013, 12:55 PM
Delighted with this news. I'm not a DW fan and if we want to progress as a club we need players who contribute more than 5 minutes per game. In saying that I hope he does well with St Johnstone except when he plays against us.

02-07-2013, 01:03 PM
Do we get anything from Saints for him due to his age? Can't remember what the rule is

02-07-2013, 01:07 PM
The emergence of Harris and Stanton has and will absorb the loss of DW (and more).

Good luck to him at Saints.

02-07-2013, 01:09 PM
Best of luck to Wotherspoon and i hope he goes on to have a good career.

02-07-2013, 01:10 PM
Do we get anything from Saints for him due to his age? Can't remember what the rule is

No, because Hibs were offering less wages than in his previous contract.

02-07-2013, 01:11 PM
Only if the player moves to a different country, we would have got a development fee assuming we actually offered him a new deal. Looks to me Petrie has offered him less wages than he was on if that was the case if the rumours about offering him a new contract were actually true.

Am happy with this, not the worst player ever. Plenty step overs and flicks like Ronaldo with the end product of Felipe Morais. Nuff said.

JMac
02-07-2013, 01:12 PM
Surely the most frustrating hibs player in years, he has huge talent, it's obvious but he just can't seem to find it. There is a player there somewhere. None the less good move for him. Good luck Spoony. Thanks for "that" goal vs them.

02-07-2013, 01:16 PM
Had the feet but no the heid

Suffered from the Hibs manager merry-go-round

Stringer
02-07-2013, 01:22 PM
Found his level

02-07-2013, 01:33 PM
Only if the player moves to a different country, we would have got a development fee assuming we actually offered him a new deal. Looks to me Petrie has offered him less wages than he was on if that was the case if the rumours about offering him a new contract were actually true.

Am happy with this, not the worst player ever. Plenty step overs and flicks like Ronaldo with the end product of Felipe Morais. Nuff said.

I thought the rule was if he moved to another country we wouldnt get a fee such as with Donaldson and Taiwo.

02-07-2013, 01:45 PM
Would rather he'd stayed but he wasn't worth an improved contract, or even one at the same rate, so understand why he's gone. Hopefully we can now get some pace down the right with his wage.

Do think Spoony will get it all together one day though, has good attributes and think he's made a good move.

02-07-2013, 01:48 PM
You only get the development fee, if the player has came through your youth system and that you have offered him a contract and he has declined and moved country. Taiwo had played for Leeds and Chelsea before we signed him from Carlisle. Donaldson had played for Hull and a few other clubs before we took him from York although I do remember they were gutted at not getting a fee as it had something to do with cross border.

Marty-Hibee
02-07-2013, 01:51 PM
Am I right in saying he's a St J fan? All the best to him, spoke to him a few times, would have liked to have seen him stay but I trust Pat. Hope and think he'll do well in Perth

02-07-2013, 02:23 PM
You only get the development fee, if the player has came through your youth system and that you have offered him a contract and he has declined and moved country. Taiwo had played for Leeds and Chelsea before we signed him from Carlisle. Donaldson had played for Hull and a few other clubs before we took him from York although I do remember they were gutted at not getting a fee as it had something to do with cross border.

The development fee applies within country as well. The only difference between cross border and within country is the age at which the rule applies. York jumped up and down about Donaldson because they would have got a fee if he had stayed in England, but he moved to Hibs instead.

Hibs offered Wotherspoon a contract, but it was on less money because he was no longer a first pick. He was within the age that a development fee would have applied within Scotland (he is 23), but Hibs not offering him less money meant that he was free to move.

JOD
02-07-2013, 02:32 PM
Am I right in saying he's a St J fan? All the best to him, spoke to him a few times, would have liked to have seen him stay but I trust Pat. Hope and think he'll do well in Perth

Yes he is comes from Perth.I'm disappointed he's away and wish him all the best for the future. Is he the last of double winning youth team to go??

If he is thats disappointing as well. :boo hoo:

02-07-2013, 02:35 PM
"Runs like the hairs on his arse are tied together!"

Best quote on this board to sum him up :aok:

02-07-2013, 02:38 PM
Honestly think this is a mistake by Hibs ... He is a classy player who will flourish in the right team ... We will wait and see !

You would like to think so.
We must have very high standards these days if Spoony is held in such low regard as a player.

02-07-2013, 02:48 PM
The development fee applies within country as well. The only difference between cross border and within country is the age at which the rule applies. York jumped up and down about Donaldson because they would have got a fee if he had stayed in England, but he moved to Hibs instead.

Hibs offered Wotherspoon a contract, but it was on less money because he was no longer a first pick. He was within the age that a development fee would have applied within Scotland (he is 23), but Hibs not offering him less money meant that he was free to move.

http://www.thecourier.co.uk/sport/football/dundee-united/dundee-united-in-row-with-queen-s-park-over-youth-signings-compensation-1.94601

This is the article I read, apparently its upto the club discretion to agree a fee if its a switch in the same border as opposed to cross border.

02-07-2013, 02:51 PM
You would like to think so.
We must have very high standards these days if Spoony is held in such low regard as a player.

Not really, I think it's just that a player held in high regard by some performed to a low standard too often.

02-07-2013, 02:52 PM
About time. Never has been a player and never will be. Lucky to get picked up in the first place.

02-07-2013, 02:54 PM
Wish Spoony all the best, got a bit of stick and didn't play as much as he would have liked last season but he didn't have a bad word to say about us. I truly hope he plays regularly at St Johnstone and develops into a better player. However if they make a bit of money off of him I'll be thoroughly PO'd. :greengrin

From a purely footballing sense, I'm glad we're not signing him again to be honest.

02-07-2013, 02:55 PM
About time. Never has been a player and never will be. Lucky to get picked up in the first place.

Harsh. He certainly was a player and played a fair number of decent games for us. His problem seemed to be confidence though, hopefully playing in front of fans with lower expectations and less likely to get on his back will see him gradually overcome that.
Good luck to the lad, hope he has a decent career.....just hope he has stinkers against us though.

02-07-2013, 03:06 PM
Harsh. He certainly was a player and played a fair number of decent games for us. His problem seemed to be confidence though, hopefully playing in front of fans with lower expectations and less likely to get on his back will see him gradually overcome that.
Good luck to the lad, hope he has a decent career.....just hope he has stinkers against us though.

He certainly wasn't a player. Two players of similar age from here Craig Forsyth and Kevin McDonald both played for Dundee, progressed and are now at Derby and Sheffield utd.

You either take your chances when they come along or you don't. Wotherspoon didn't. This stuff about low confidence and coming through with a poor team is nonsense.

02-07-2013, 03:06 PM
Who would you rather have, Liam Craig or Wotherspoon? exactly. Anyway good move for him, nice lad maybe too nice to push on a level

02-07-2013, 03:12 PM
He certainly wasn't a player. Two players of similar age from here Craig Forsyth and Kevin McDonald both played for Dundee, progressed and are now at Derby and Sheffield utd.

You either take your chances when they come along or you don't. Wotherspoon didn't. This stuff about low confidence and coming through with a poor team is nonsense.

Low confidence affects your performance in any occupation. Or is fitba different? :confused:
If your opinion is that he never kicked a ball for us then fine, you are entitled to it. I disagree, he put in some decent performances that suggests to me that he does have ability.

02-07-2013, 03:15 PM

..."not a player". On what basis is that possibly a reasoned view. You can debate how well he had progressed or performed but that is not a fair view
He needed to move as clearly Fenlon didn't rate him but to suggest he had no talent is nonsense.

02-07-2013, 03:16 PM
Low confidence affects your performance in any occupation. Or is fitba different? :confused:
If your opinion is that he never kicked a ball for us then fine, you are entitled to it. I disagree, he put in some decent performances that suggests to me that he does have ability.

I didn't criticise anyone else's opinion, I just gave mine. If he was gona make it. Then he woulda. End of story

02-07-2013, 03:26 PM
We get Liam Craig and they get David Wotherspoon?...I'll tell you would I would rather have in my team everyday of the week and it ain't Mr Wotherspoon!
Great moved by Hibs getting him off the wage bill. Had a few good moments at Hibs, but A FEW being the key words. Countless, and I mean countless poor games.
Been saying for ages that he should be no where near a Hibs team being he's not good enough! Glad Pat shares the same views. :agree:

How is he not a player he has played for a number of years at SPL level as well as getting numerous caps for the u21s. He has now been signed by another established SPL club so his career is going pretty well I would have thought.

Heedersnvolleys

I agree it may be a bit harsh but I have to say in his defence being confident is all part if being a pro footballer surely and dealing with the crowd. I agree he may have got some unfair criticism but it wasn't over the top.

02-07-2013, 03:27 PM
http://www.thecourier.co.uk/sport/football/dundee-united/dundee-united-in-row-with-queen-s-park-over-youth-signings-compensation-1.94601

This is the article I read, apparently its upto the club discretion to agree a fee if its a switch in the same border as opposed to cross border.

That's a different situation because Queen's Park are an amateur club.

02-07-2013, 03:28 PM
I didn't criticise anyone else's opinion, I just gave mine. If he was gona make it. Then he woulda. End of story

You confused me by dismissing an opposing view as nonsense. :greengrin
He has played several seasons of SPL football and will continue to do so for another SPL team. There are thousands of kids trying to break in to the game who would consider that he has made it. Yet you insist he has nothing.

02-07-2013, 04:19 PM
We get Liam Craig and they get David Wotherspoon?...I'll tell you would I would rather have in my team everyday of the week and it ain't Mr Wotherspoon!
Great moved by Hibs getting him off the wage bill. Had a few good moments at Hibs, but A FEW being the key words. Countless, and I mean countless poor games.
Been saying for ages that he should be no where near a Hibs team being he's not good enough! Glad Pat shares the same views. :agree:

hibee04
02-07-2013, 04:31 PM
Hello hibees ! was hearing reports that David had gone to St Johnstone is this Confirmed . And heard Zemmema left The Boro come home Zemmema .

:pfgwa:hibees

Purehibee_MYB
02-07-2013, 04:39 PM
Wish him all the best (except against Hibs). Always a great servant and attitude. I've got great respect for him.

02-07-2013, 04:43 PM
I think he remains a talent - is a player who can win a match on his day - a loss in my opinion - good luck to him

02-07-2013, 04:44 PM
Good luck to him. Good player on his day.

Hopefully that's a wage freed up to bring in someone more consistent.

02-07-2013, 04:50 PM
Based upon what he has done for the last two years I think hibs did the right thing in offering him a deal on reduced terms as he hadn't done enough to deserve more money, the fact that he has decided he wants to take the easier option and sign for st johnstone sums him up for me, plenty of talent but not up for the fight. I can see him doing quite well at St johnstone but I reckon that's his level.

davieh
02-07-2013, 04:52 PM
Very disappointed in this. We've all been crying out for attacking midfielders and he's been our best in the past three years*. Two footed, with a good shot. Granted he's been inconsistent, but there's talent there no doubt, and shame it won't be Hibs developing it.

* yeah, I know that's damning with faint praise :greengrin

Persevere80
02-07-2013, 04:52 PM
Just to echo as others have said, wish spoony well, apart from when he play us. Will remember him for his first goal and the one against THEM in the cup.

02-07-2013, 05:00 PM
He was a good sub. Seemed to have more impact coming off the bench.

Best of luck to him.

02-07-2013, 05:20 PM
Yes he is comes from Perth.I'm disappointed he's away and wish him all the best for the future. Is he the last of double winning youth team to go??

If he is thats disappointing as well. :boo hoo:

Calum booth was in that winning team, yes he is out on loan but is still a registered hibs player

02-07-2013, 05:33 PM
Very disappointed in this. We've all been crying out for attacking midfielders and he's been our best in the past three years*. Two footed, with a good shot. Granted he's been inconsistent, but there's talent there no doubt, and shame it won't be Hibs developing it.

* yeah, I know that's damning with faint praise :greengrin

We were crying out for attacking midfielders because all we had was the likes of Wotherspoon!

02-07-2013, 05:42 PM
A good move for him really. Think he'll do well at the Saints.

Shame it didn't work out at Hibs. The guy has so much potential, but just couldn't find the consistency needed. I think its fair to say the fans grew impatient and it affected his game. Will probably get people going on about how he should toughen up and take the criticism on the chin, but ultimately it didn't help his progress as a player. Scored a few cracking goals last season and the winner against the yams at ER will live long in the memory. Hopefully Craig can contribute on a more consistent basis and give us a goal threat from midfield aswell.

All the best, D :aok:

(BTW, unfortunately for you lot, I'm not involved in the transfer. Although a new nick may be required :greengrin)

02-07-2013, 05:43 PM
He goes with this Hibs fan's gratitude for the good times and with best wishes for things to come.

I have a soft spot for St Johnstone so I'm looking forward to seeing him turn out for them and see what he adds.

02-07-2013, 05:45 PM
Best wishes to him.

But this is a good move for Hibernian.

02-07-2013, 05:56 PM
when he played in the u19 he played midfield, and broke through into the first team, then he got shunted to right back and i think this held him back and he never recovered, still thanks for the memories for the goal against that mob when you see his face when he scores he is a wee bit delighted. good luck for the future.

02-07-2013, 05:57 PM
Good luck to him, away to his boyhood club and hopefully a change of surroundings will help him push on with his career.

Best of luck Spoony.

02-07-2013, 06:00 PM
Good luck to the lad, i personally wish he'd signed for the yams though.

02-07-2013, 06:14 PM
Good luck Spoony:agree:

MichelleHibs
02-07-2013, 06:16 PM
Good lucky spoony.... Gutted hes away...just like i was gutted he didnt get in either cup final squads. Cracking player, nice guy....sadly just not consistant enough for us.

TheFamous1875
02-07-2013, 06:38 PM
Definitely should have been on the bench for BOTH finals. As stated, he is one of those special players who can really make an impact off the bench.

02-07-2013, 06:40 PM
Definitely should have been on the bench for BOTH finals. As stated, he is one of those special players who can really make an impact off the bench.

So why did he only do that maybe a handful of times in about 5 years?

02-07-2013, 06:43 PM
No great loss what so ever. All the best Spoony but he really wasn't that good.

02-07-2013, 06:46 PM
No great loss what so ever. All the best Spoony but he really wasn't that good.

Wotherspoon first goal, 3-0 Hibs :greengrin

02-07-2013, 06:47 PM
Good luck to the lad, i personally wish he'd signed for the yams though.

Lol - agreed, them or rangers!

Good luck to him, but No great loss IMHO, give me Liam Craig anytime!

davieh
02-07-2013, 06:49 PM

The writing was on the wall after missing out on the last final. Pretty much the last thing he did for us was win the Dundee game off the bench with that fabby header...really don't understand why he wasn't given the chance to do same at Hampden.

02-07-2013, 06:50 PM
Wotherspoon first goal, 3-0 Hibs :greengrin

Ken:greengrin

When i think back to that night i could greet!!!...Spoony 3-0 and im looking at 2 grand...Step forward Danny Handling IN THE 97TH MINUTE!!!:rolleyes:

02-07-2013, 07:18 PM
No loss

Frees up a wage for someone far better

What makes you think Fenlon can manage to persuade someone better than Spoony to come to Hibs? I've had serious doubts about Fenlon for a while now and see little grounds for optimism. Would love to be wrong though!

02-07-2013, 07:19 PM
Pleased to see the vast majority are wishing the laddie well and I'll add my best wishes too.

Shame some felt the need to have a dig at a player who gave of his best, never got in the papers for the wrong reasons and weighed in from midfield with a few goals.

02-07-2013, 07:24 PM
Pleased to see the vast majority are wishing the laddie well and I'll add my best wishes too.

Shame some felt the need to have a dig at a player who gave of his best, never got in the papers for the wrong reasons and weighed in from midfield with a few goals.

Well said!!! I think the problem has been that recent managers (inlcuding Fenlon) have not been good enough to get the best out of Spoony. I would be very surprised if we could afford to sign somebody else of his quality. This will be another decision that will come back to bite us in the arse.

MagicSwirlingShip
02-07-2013, 07:25 PM
All the best Spoony, I'll always remember you for the goal against the Jambos, your Soccer AM showboat where you done Mikey Stewart, and that strike which Boruc somehow tipped onto the post.

Shame it never worked out, and I hope you kick on with St. Johnstone! (Just not against us)

Lang Toun Hibs
02-07-2013, 07:35 PM
Disappointed to see him go - bad decision in my view. As with many others, I wish him all the best and I suspect he will do very well. A young player with exceptional talent that we've invested in and developed only to let him go...and replaced by who? We're seriously short of forward thinking players in my view.

02-07-2013, 07:45 PM
Good decision for both parties. Hibs offload a frustratingly inconsistent player who we could only use for depth, and Wotherspoon gets regular first team football with his boyhood heroes. I wish him well there, except when playing against us.

02-07-2013, 07:46 PM
Well said!!! I think the problem has been that recent managers (inlcuding Fenlon) have not been good enough to get the best out of Spoony. I would be very surprised if we could afford to sign somebody else of his quality. This will be another decision that will come back to bite us in the arse.

All the best Spoony but..................What a load of nonsense that is, how many managers do you want to blame before you come to the conclusion that the player himself is at fault, I wonder how on earth Fenlon managed to get the best out of Griffiths :rolleyes:

02-07-2013, 07:50 PM

Mince, with a bid dollop of tatties and onions.:rolleyes:

02-07-2013, 07:53 PM
Good Luck David :aok: Wishing him all the best.

02-07-2013, 07:54 PM
Im delighted most people are wishing this guy well. A good professional with a lot of skill. Never hid, with many good attributes...Wish him well, I'm sure he will develop and become and have a good career

Can't believe the minority who are being negative about him...ah well, Fitba eh!

02-07-2013, 07:58 PM

Sure. Everyone else's fault!

macd123
02-07-2013, 08:02 PM
Worried this could be a riordan - bobby mann moment.

OsloHibs
02-07-2013, 08:38 PM
Another "All the best Spoony" from me :aok:

02-07-2013, 08:41 PM

I'm not sure what part of that is dafter (comparing Riordan with Wotherspoon or Liam Craig with Bobby Mann).

:cb

Capt Mainwaring
02-07-2013, 08:51 PM
Best wishes and good luck Spoony. Been a good servant to the Hibs.

02-07-2013, 09:02 PM
Lets hope liam craig gives us more than wotherspoon did. Bit sorry to see him go but probably best for all parties that he has a fresh start. Home town team as well.

Spot on

Good luck to Spoony ... Liked him when he first broke thro but he now frustrates the effin **** out of me by constantly turning back and failing to track back ... Gone from probable Scotland star of Future to scaredy cat !!

Liam Craig has about same skill levels but a million times more positive attitude

Craig ahead of spoon any day based on last 2 seasons !!

02-07-2013, 09:10 PM

Eh?

02-07-2013, 09:25 PM

Outstanding post.

Couldn't agree more.

02-07-2013, 09:30 PM

Bit of a strange thing to say when that never happened.

It was actually Riordan + Whittaker for Bobby Mann as well!

02-07-2013, 09:38 PM
I'm disappointed that Hibs never made Spoony into the player i think he can be...on his game he was the most potent attacking midfielder we had...I fear this decision will come back to haunt us...truly gutted to be honest...massive mistake.

02-07-2013, 09:50 PM
I'm disappointed that Hibs never made Spoony into the player i think he can be...on his game he was the most potent attacking midfielder we had...I fear this decision will come back to haunt us...truly gutted to be honest...massive mistake.

Isn't there at least some responsibility with the player for that?

HibeeBigFly
02-07-2013, 11:26 PM
Not happy with this. Would never swap Wotherspoon for Craig. Fenlon has no creative players in the centre of midfield and I hope he plans on fixing this.

Spoony will outscore all of our centre midfield consisting of OTJ, Taiwo and Craig in what will probably be more brutal football and the 'hard to beat 4-5-1' horror show from last season. His new team will probably finish above us yet again too.

Hope I am wrong though.

02-07-2013, 11:57 PM

A myth, Blobby confirmed this.

But what you on about anyway.

02-07-2013, 11:58 PM
Bit of a strange thing to say when that never happened.

It was actually Riordan + Whittaker for Bobby Mann as well!

Not the story Blobby tells.

03-07-2013, 12:02 AM
10 good games a season is not good enough and Pat knows that. Am glad he is gone and I wish him the best.

03-07-2013, 12:55 AM
Good player, I wish he displayed his skills on a more frequent basis, but in saying that we are an SPL club and he is definitely an SPL level player with the potential to develop further. I enjoyed watching him play and his goals against the Yams and Inverness won't be forgotten in a hurry neither too will his diving header vs Cowdenbeath. I only wish him all the best as a footballer and as a person as I knew him relatively well too. I just hope he doesn't come back and score a winner at Easter Road.

03-07-2013, 01:05 AM
Not happy with this. Would never swap Wotherspoon for Craig. Fenlon has no creative players in the centre of midfield and I hope he plans on fixing this.

Spoony will outscore all of our centre midfield consisting of OTJ, Taiwo and Craig in what will probably be more brutal football and the 'hard to beat 4-5-1' horror show from last season. His new team will probably finish above us yet again too.

Hope I am wrong though.

I'll stick my neck out and wager Alex Harris will score more next season than DW did in 4 - and that's not a put down on Spoony, just that Alex has more pace, skill and self belief.

03-07-2013, 06:43 AM
Good luck to him. Moving to the club you supported as a kid must add value to the deal for him.

03-07-2013, 06:51 AM

Hope I am wrong though.

Now obviously Craig has scored goals all through his time in Perth, can you tell me just how many more Spoony scored each season than the proven goalscorer Craig did, never mind the other two as well?

03-07-2013, 06:53 AM
I'll stick my neck out and wager Alex Harris will score more next season than DW did in 4 - and that's not a put down on Spoony, just that Alex has more pace, skill and self belief.

Spoony had bags and bags of belief until the fans sucked it out of him, do you no think?

brian6-2
03-07-2013, 06:59 AM
Sad to see him go, i think he got a hard time from the fans, shocking really considering his age.

always in the scotland u-21 squad and showed he could be a decent player at times for us, should have been given more time.

03-07-2013, 07:19 AM
Ask yourself one question, if you were picking the team would Spoony play? He knows the answer to that himself, thats why he's left.

03-07-2013, 06:59 PM

So, Harris needs to score 10 (fingers firmly crossed :greengrin)

03-07-2013, 08:36 PM
Interview on STV

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/st-johnstone/231840-david-wotherspoon-hibs-wanted-to-keep-me-but-i-left-to-further-my-career/

Lang Toun Hibs
03-07-2013, 08:45 PM
Ask yourself one question, if you were picking the team would Spoony play? He knows the answer to that himself, thats why he's left.

Yes, but not necessarily every week and not necessarily from the start every time. Always should be some space in a team for some forward thinking creativity don't you think?

03-07-2013, 09:15 PM
Yes, but not necessarily every week and not necessarily from the start every time. Always should be some space in a team for some forward thinking creativity don't you think?

100%, thats what Craig, Harris, Cairney and Robertson bring from midfield, and the last 2 are on last seasons form substitutes at best. And thats enough bit players with those qualities for me, especially when you add the youngsters who are breaking through.

Wotherspoon has had enough time and chances to make a position his, he's now been overtaken by players brought to the club and a younger one who's come through the ranks.

We cant keep hoping he will come good.

03-07-2013, 09:33 PM
Spoony had bags and bags of belief until the fans sucked it out of him, do you no think?

What I think, and I've posted it before (causing contention) is John Hughes sucked the belief out of DW by playing him in every position bar keeper and not going with his correct position, again my opinion, central attacking midfielder (in a diamond)

However, DW had 4 seasons in the first team squad to cement a place and really progress - but he's a fragile player psychologically it seems (to me) - which unfortunately doesn't get much time in football. The merrygoround of managers didn't help either bud.

Good player, not mentally strong enough for me, but I really wish him well wherever he goes in football.

03-07-2013, 09:35 PM
So, Harris needs to score 10 (fingers firmly crossed :greengrin)

Yep, in all comps JB I think Alex will reach that figure comfortably.

03-07-2013, 09:39 PM
Loved Spoony man. Gutted to see him go. Always want our youngsters to succeed. Good luck to the guy. Hope he gets a game. I hope to **** that he doesn't get booed from Hibs fans.

03-07-2013, 09:42 PM
What I think, and I've posted it before (causing contention) is John Hughes sucked the belief out of DW by playing him in every position bar keeper and not going with his correct position, again my opinion, central attacking midfielder (in a diamond)

However, DW had 4 seasons in the first team squad to cement a place and really progress - but he's a fragile player psychologically it seems (to me) - which unfortunately doesn't get much time in football. The merrygoround of managers didn't help either bud.

Good player, not mentally strong enough for me, but I really wish him well wherever he goes in football.

Not true, his best form over any period of time was under Hughes. Wotherspoon also said ages after Hughes had gone, that he was good for him, and he enjoyed his time in the team under Hughes.

03-07-2013, 09:44 PM
Not true, his best form over any period of time was under Hughes. Wotherspoon also said ages after Hughes had gone, that he was good for him, and he enjoyed his time in the team under Hughes.

Nice to know that somebody did :wink:

hibeemikey21
03-07-2013, 09:45 PM
Interview on STV

http://sport.stv.tv/football/clubs/st-johnstone/231840-david-wotherspoon-hibs-wanted-to-keep-me-but-i-left-to-further-my-career/

Seems like a really nice kid. Feel sorry for him in terms of all the abuse he endured - certainly wasn't warranted. Always tried, which is all you can ask and showed glimpses of class at times.

Reckon he'll do we'll at saints - could flourish when under less pressure/in not as stressful an environment

All the best, Spoony.

03-07-2013, 09:49 PM
Nice to know that somebody did :wink:

There was one or two. :greengrin

04-07-2013, 12:45 AM
Spoony will outscore all of our centre midfield consisting of OTJ, Taiwo and Craig.

I don't think he will score more than them, individually maybe Taiwo but I'm hoping OTJ and Craig in particular chip in with a few. I'm certain that DW purveyor of great goals will certainly score better ones than them though. He didn't do it often but when he did, boy were they good to look at.

I think this is a great move for him. All the best D.

04-07-2013, 06:59 AM
I suppose with his other half about to drop as well he really has to go with where the security is.

04-07-2013, 08:52 AM
Seems like a really nice kid. Feel sorry for him in terms of all the abuse he endured - certainly wasn't warranted. Always tried, which is all you can ask and showed glimpses of class at times.

Reckon he'll do we'll at saints - could flourish when under less pressure/in not as stressful an environment

All the best, Spoony.

I'm sorry but I'm not having this talk about spoony being abused all the time, imo he was given more than a fair crack at the whip and he proved to to inconsistent. I've seen plenty players getting grief from fans in my time and spoony got an easy ride in comparison to someone like nish or zibbi for example. If he can't take a bit of verbals from the stands then he will never go any further in his career. St Johnstone may have a smaller support but it doesn't mean they will accept mediocre performances any more than we would.

04-07-2013, 09:16 AM
I'm sorry but I'm not having this talk about spoony being abused all the time, imo he was given more than a fair crack at the whip and he proved to to inconsistent. I've seen plenty players getting grief from fans in my time and spoony got an easy ride in comparison to someone like nish or zibbi for example. If he can't take a bit of verbals from the stands then he will never go any further in his career. St Johnstone may have a smaller support but it doesn't mean they will accept mediocre performances any more than we would.

It seems players who have ability often get a harder time than those who are just athletic and run about a lot. They are only given credit for those times when things come off. They might try in every game but these are dismissed or forgotten. On many of these occasions the whole team is being outplayed but the better players often carry the can.
Spoony has gone, let the next witch hunt begin.

04-07-2013, 11:45 AM
It seems players who have ability often get a harder time than those who are just athletic and run about a lot. They are only given credit for those times when things come off. They might try in every game but these are dismissed or forgotten. On many of these occasions the whole team is being outplayed but the better players often carry the can.
Spoony has gone, let the next witch hunt begin.

Think there was a witch hunt for Rankin who pretty much was the most athletic player at Er at the time, a workhorse in the midddle but seemed to be everyones boo boy at the time.

hibeemikey21
04-07-2013, 02:21 PM

Haha - cracking response! Not simply "all the best", rather:

"Spoony can count himself lucky that I didn't shell out even more abuse to him."

Says it all.

04-07-2013, 03:24 PM

All the best, Spoony.

Agree with this :agree: good luck spoony

04-07-2013, 03:36 PM
Haha - cracking response! Not simply "all the best", rather:

"Spoony can count himself lucky that I didn't shell out even more abuse to him."

Says it all.

Wow there's alot of assumptions in that post, I've never dished out any abuse to spoony or any other player for that matter. I said on another thread that I thought we should offer him a new deal on reduced terms as I felt he was to inconsistent to be considered a regular starter. All I was saying was that I don't think the abuse that spoony was supposedly getting was as bad as some people were making out. But you carry on mate as it's easier to blame our own supporters for our underachieving players than the accept that they haven't been good enough,we've obviously got the worst supporters in the country. Fwiw I hope he goes on and does well for st johnstone.

Weir7
09-07-2013, 09:39 AM
http://www.perthshireadvertiser.co.uk/perthshire-sport/other-sport-perthshire/2013/07/05/allan-preston-has-his-say-73103-33567116/

09-07-2013, 09:42 AM
http://www.perthshireadvertiser.co.uk/perthshire-sport/other-sport-perthshire/2013/07/05/allan-preston-has-his-say-73103-33567116/

We ALL know who the wee team is now. :flag: He's an irrelevant phanny. :rolleyes:

09-07-2013, 09:44 AM
The hurt is strong with Preston.

Pleasing.

09-07-2013, 09:44 AM
Not worth the web space, tedious little girl voiced bitch. :)

09-07-2013, 09:45 AM
He could be talking about the next NASA space mission and he'd still find a way to factor the "wee team" into it.

The fact that he's so obsessed with the "wee team", proves we are in fact the "big team".

Next to Hearts, we'll at least be "a team", big or small.

09-07-2013, 09:47 AM
He could be talking about the next NASA space mission and he's still find a way to factor the "wee team" into it.

The fact that he's so obsessed with the "wee team", proves we are in fact the "big team".

Next to Hearts, we'll at least be "a team", big or small.

'Biscuit' couldnae spell NASA.:wink:

09-07-2013, 09:47 AM
What an absolute plum. And I see he failed to work a disparaging comment about Hibs into his piece on Brazil v Spain, very poor.

You would think that people who are employed to cover Scottish football would have a bit more about them. Are people like Preston really the best we can do?

09-07-2013, 09:48 AM
Was going to post something insulting about Preston but I feel i've already wasted enough time reading that pish.

As I always say though, fans of real big teams don't have to keep telling everyone how much bigger than their rivals they are

09-07-2013, 09:51 AM
http://davesfamilybutchers.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/02/IMG_4051.jpg

09-07-2013, 10:14 AM
What a sad act.

09-07-2013, 10:16 AM
What an absolute plum. And I see he failed to work a disparaging comment about Hibs into his piece on Brazil v Spain, very poor.

You would think that people who are employed to cover Scottish football would have a bit more about them. Are people like Preston really the best we can do?

Sad bitter and seriously hurting little man. He can't even bring himself to comment on the Hertz situation, notice how he has dropped off the radar when it came to Admin crisis at the PBS - didn't go in any of sportsound specials.

I remember him almost in tears a few months back on radio when the debate about UBIG bring in admin or not went to SPL panel, and he was wetting himself that it wasn't true and no guarantee Hertz would go into admin, mainly because 'the Scandinavians' were serous bidders with serious money (even though nobody knows who they are). He also said he wouldn't swap any of it for the world.

Now his jambos slip into a short and medium term future of struggle and worry, he still can't help having a go at his rivals.

09-07-2013, 10:26 AM

Allan Preston :faf: voice like a pre-teen girl :faf: how badly is he hurting? Someone must be on him for suicide watch and to keep him away from sharp objects. Absolute roaster :yw: a loser of the highest order :loser:

09-07-2013, 10:34 AM
What a sad little **** face

Aidan the Hibby
09-07-2013, 10:49 AM
DD we need a pic and a GIRFUY!!

Posh Swanny
09-07-2013, 10:51 AM
After seven years in Edinburgh with the capital’s wee team he has now joined the club he supported as a boy.

He might support Hibs but he’s no bottler. What a comeback.

And that's it? Jesus folks, calm down! :faf:

I was expecting torrents of anti-Hibs abuse.

The second one is even quite funny!

09-07-2013, 11:03 AM
Preston's team died on 17th June 2013. He's understandably upset and now at the stage of lashing out. Poor wee lamb.

09-07-2013, 11:13 AM
Here's the thing.
Controversial comments attract hits to website. Website gets advertising revenue.
So instead of getting all hot and bothered and driving more revenues for "sad man"'s paymasters, credit the link and cut and paste so others can view without generating revenues - simples!
Folks that would never buy the Sun/Record/rag of rant should remember this also - a click through = money for these outlets.

09-07-2013, 11:13 AM
And that's it? Jesus folks, calm down! :faf:

I was expecting torrents of anti-Hibs abuse.

The second one is even quite funny!

Who needs calming down

Its just comments about a sad Yam roaster

green.and.white
09-07-2013, 11:41 AM
They have a serious case of wee man syndrome :agree:

1875er
09-07-2013, 12:01 PM
Perthshire advertiser aye???

Found his level then......

09-07-2013, 12:49 PM

I always thought he was used a bit like a court jester on Sportsound, you know, "come on in Alan makes us laugh with your funny little digs about Hibs, ooo hhilarious"

Always found it so patronising, and he just went along with it like a village idiot. You would never hear Richard Gordon trying to encourage Billy Dodds to take the mick out of Celtic or Murdo McLeod to rip the mick out of The Rangers.

10-07-2013, 06:58 PM
Spoony scored for them tonight at the blue brazil

10-07-2013, 08:39 PM
Preston , you are a knob. I'm glad I blew your electrics just before your Dinner party a few years ago :-)

10-07-2013, 08:41 PM
Not worth the web space, tedious little girl voiced bitch. :)

Haha. So true.

10-07-2013, 11:04 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QYQ1dZn5cpk

Not a bad debut goal.

11-07-2013, 02:28 PM

Not a bad debut goal.

No. 1 in a new soon-to-be-expanding list entitled 'Since when could he do that?!'

11-07-2013, 02:35 PM

Not a bad debut goal.

Superb. Think he'll do really well there.

11-07-2013, 02:37 PM
Superb. Think he'll do really well there.

Should never have let him go :greengrin

11-07-2013, 02:38 PM
good quality picture aswell.

11-07-2013, 02:42 PM
Should never have let him go :greengrin

He'll be keeping an eye out for you when he comes back mate!

11-07-2013, 02:43 PM
He scored on his debut for us no?

macd123
11-07-2013, 02:59 PM
I was a spoony fan. Honestly believe they will get money for him and will be a contender for spl player of the year. . Should be playing behind the striker for us this year.

11-07-2013, 03:02 PM
I was a spoony fan. Honestly believe they will get money for him and will be a contender for spl player of the year. . Should be playing behind the striker for us this year.

SPL player of the year contender ? Thats a massive reach.

11-07-2013, 03:18 PM

I will be in contention for slimmer of the year.

11-07-2013, 05:30 PM
No. 1 in a new soon-to-be-expanding list entitled 'Since when could he do that?!'

He done it a couple of times last season. Think it was only me that noticed like :greengrin

11-07-2013, 05:33 PM
He done it a couple of times last season. Think it was only me that noticed like :greengrin

Ah, but never as a free kick demon.

11-07-2013, 06:21 PM
Ah, but never as a free kick demon.

He'd have had a job prying the ball from Sparky to be fair.

11-07-2013, 06:21 PM
He'd have had a job prying the ball from Sparky to be fair.

His corners were bad enough for me.

marleyhib
27-07-2013, 12:59 AM
Sorry but I think Fenlon made a BIG mistake getting rid of Spoony. Sounded like he played really well in St J's games against Rosenborg.

Last season was about the only player we had who could beat a man, has a great step over and undoubted talent.

Most fans where I sit seemed to get on his back and expect too much.

Can't help feeling we never got the best out of him and have let a talent leave for nothing. I see it as a failure of Hibs and Fenlon to nurture his talent, not looking forward to him coming back to ER and undoubtedly showing us what a mistake we made.

Wouldn't be the first time.

27-07-2013, 01:11 AM
There's going to be a thread blaming fenlon for the financial crisis soon

Purehibee_MYB
27-07-2013, 01:19 AM
Bit premature to say if it was a mistake or not, but it does seem to happen a lot that a player leaves us and goes on to be a success. It has to be more than the management and players it almost seems like a mentality around Easter Road, no other team seems to collapse like we do at times. But yeah back to the topic, his development may have been damaged by some of the disruption and trouble that has been around us, but I don't think it's fenlons fault.. he actually got some of his better performances out of him but letting him go can't be seen as a mistake just yet, despite two decent performances in the Europa League for St. Johnstone, I suppose time will tell.

shamo9
27-07-2013, 01:44 AM
Fenlon didn't want him to go. The same can't be said of the football managers on here.

To be honest I think the move was best for Wotherspoon and us. He has a lot of potential but for whatever reason it didn't quite happen for him here. He needed a fresh start and we need to move on.

27-07-2013, 02:44 AM
Fenlon didn't want him to go. The same can't be said of the football managers on here.

To be honest I think the move was best for Wotherspoon and us. He has a lot of potential but for whatever reason it didn't quite happen for him here. He needed a fresh start and we need to move on.

100%. Fenlon has only been positive about the lad. Wotherspoon decided with freedom of contract to leave Hibs for St Johnstone. Good luck to the lad.

27-07-2013, 05:23 AM
Time will tell but if he can find consistency over the season with saints and stop drifting out of games for long spells then I'll be surprised.

27-07-2013, 06:43 AM
Heard he's playing in his preferred position as a no.10 just behind the striker, after leaving the game early on thursday I tuned into the St Johnstone game and he was certainly involved in a lot of their attacking play, it's whether he can produce it on a regular basis. Maybe he was the attack minded central midfielder we were looking for but Pat just didn't see it, only time will tell if him going was a mistake, I heard he was offered less money by the club to stay which to me was a biy naughty, we could've at least kept him here for another year on the same wages and at least try him in the hole position.

27-07-2013, 07:13 AM
:faf: It was only a matter of time I suppose.

27-07-2013, 07:22 AM
100%. Fenlon has only been positive about the lad. Wotherspoon decided with freedom of contract to leave Hibs for St Johnstone. Good luck to the lad.

He struggled to get a game last season, He was clearly not in Fenlons starting 11.

Spoony left to get starts rather than sit on the bench at ER.

Sounds like he had a good game. My St J supporting mates said, 'didn't realise he could tackle aswell as create going forward' sounds like he was working hard when St J were defending and doing well when they were attacking.

He set up the goal on Thursday.

To be fair though, for whatever reason, Spoony had gone off the boil last season. It's a shame as I used to really like him but then last season, I didn't rate him much at all.

Maybe a change of scenery and a fresh start is what he needs.

27-07-2013, 07:26 AM
Glad that he has had his 2 good games of the season. Means we will not hear much more about him for the next 12 months. As a support we need move on. Too many fans seem more interested in ex players than current ones.

27-07-2013, 09:08 AM
He is where he is wanted now and is happy, that clearly wasn't the case at ER with a majority of the crowd on his back as soon as he stepped on the pitch.

27-07-2013, 09:27 AM
He is where he is wanted now and is happy, that clearly wasn't the case at ER with a majority of the crowd on his back as soon as he stepped on the pitch.

FFS Hardly the case, lets look to blame everyone else when he was the one who put on the inconsistent displays and was for most part of his Hibs career a huge disappointment.

Hes gone and it was right to let him go, good luck to him I hope he does well but lets not lose sight of the real reason we wernt walking over hot coals to keep him.....because he wasn't good enough on what he showed.

27-07-2013, 09:32 AM
FFS Hardly the case, lets look to blame everyone else when he was the one who put on the inconsistent displays and was for most part of his Hibs career a huge disappointment.

Hes gone and it was right to let him go, good luck to him I hope he does well but lets not lose sight of the real reason we wernt walking over hot coals to keep him.....because he wasn't good enough on what he showed.

I'm only going by the people who sit near me in the East and I can tell you a lot more abused him than supported him.

I agree he wasn't good enough, he's moved on and so should we :agree:

27-07-2013, 09:34 AM
Spoony is very much as I remember Liam Craig from his Falkirk days. Has skill, but can't be relied upon to make an impact.

Green Fish
27-07-2013, 10:31 AM
I know the guy who coached DW as a child, he is convinced he will play at a much higher level. He definitely has something and it's ashame we couldn't get the best from him.

St. J now have Davidson back and May, decent side.

The Leith Dutch
27-07-2013, 11:19 AM
If David Wotherspoon does maintain his good start and goes on to be a cracking player for St Johnstone it's important to remember he wasn't doing much for us.

Whether that was the manager, the set up or just that he'd been at the club too long and was jaded is largely irrelevant.
If a player isn't delivering for your team to any significant extent then it makes sense to move him on regardless of whether he delivers for another team.

Having said that - I think there's clearly a player in there (that flicked 20 yard pass from the centre circle with the outside of his boot this season is a rare skill) but at the moment I honestly believe we could sign Messi and turn him into a free transfer that struggled to get a trial at Brechin.

Look at Williams on Thursday night and he seems to be going backwards as a keeper - responsible for two goals the first of which (losing the ball in the six yard box after a save) was something that I've seen so often from Hibs keepers that I'm actually becoming concerned that it's something we train them to do.

And before anyone points it out - the defence should have been more alert once it happened but that doesn't change the fact that our keeper spilled a relatively straightforward ball.

davieh
27-07-2013, 11:43 AM
[QUOTE=The Leith Dutch;3691679]If David Wotherspoon does maintain his good start and goes on to be a cracking player for St Johnstone it's important to remember he wasn't doing much for us.

I don't think Wotherspoon gets enough credit for what he DID do for us...his last touch was the header that won our last league game against Dundee, and I think he came off the bench to save/win the game before that (thereby boosting PF's stats!). This wasn't good enough to make it to the bench for the Cup Final apparently, so if Fenlon did rate him, seems a funny way to show it..?!?

Still, its water under the bridge now..

The Leith Dutch
27-07-2013, 11:55 AM
I don't think Wotherspoon gets enough credit for what he DID do for us...his last touch was the header that won our last league game against Dundee, and I think he came off the bench to save/win the game before that (thereby boosting PF's stats!). This wasn't good enough to make it to the bench for the Cup Final apparently, so if Fenlon did rate him, seems a funny way to show it..?!?

Still, its water under the bridge now..

The point for me was never that Wotherspoon wasn't capable - quite the opposite.
He had the talent but rarely showed it.

Yes he scored 4 goals - a cracker against ICT (I think), the winner vs the yams and the winner against Dundee.
Yes there were flashes of brilliance including the pass I mentioned but you're probably talking about 15 - 20 minutes of good play in a season.

The only thing I think we (possibly) should have tried was sticking him in the number 10 slot where his massive lack of pace wasn't going to be exposed.

27-07-2013, 12:01 PM
I know the guy who coached DW as a child, he is convinced he will play at a much higher level. He definitely has something and it's ashame we couldn't get the best from him.

St. J now have Davidson back and May, decent side.

Agree there with you

Good luck to David on his move but for whatever reason his consistancy level's were poor to say the least.

Being dropped from the 2nd cup final squad in a row must have hurt so time to move on for the lad and find a regular start at St J

27-07-2013, 12:48 PM
Isn't it just possible that, instead of being an unrecognised superstar, the guy is now in a team and with a manager that suits him better as a player?

I can think of lots of examples where moving to another club has resulted in an improvement. Paul Hartley for one.

27-07-2013, 01:47 PM

Without knowing details of what we offered him and what St J offered him, this is meaningless. Fenlon may have wanted him to stay but if he was offered a new contract on reduced terms then its hardly a huge vote of faith is it?

27-07-2013, 02:56 PM
​He was offered a contract and knocked it back, thats what I heard?

patch1875
27-07-2013, 02:59 PM
​He was offered a contract and knocked it back, thats what I heard?

Correct

27-07-2013, 03:05 PM
Wotherspoon was given several opportunities to play behind the striker for Hibs and he did not perform. This is conveniently forgotten of course.

Was incredibly inconsistent despite clear talent - how long were we supposed to wait?

Can people not just accept that he may well go on to do well for other clubs but was not going to be a success at Hibs? Move on FFS.

27-07-2013, 03:43 PM
I would say to any player, for the sake of your career, get the *uck out of Hibs. There is no player we can't totally ruin. Leigh Griffith's was exceptional, not just for his goals, but the fact that he bucked this depressing trend.

The sky is the limit for Wotherspoon now.

27-07-2013, 04:52 PM
I would say to any player, for the sake of your career, get the *uck out of Hibs. There is no player we can't totally ruin. Leigh Griffith's was exceptional, not just for his goals, but the fact that he bucked this depressing trend.

The sky is the limit for Wotherspoon now.
I would argue- Kenny miller, brown, whit, fletch, deek(ruined himself) Garry o (see deek) developed thru/ by hibs and all of them I'm sure would confirm that hibs played a key role.
Think there a fair amount of hurt clouding judgement? Harris looks exceptional. I think Caldwell could be too. I don't think at this stage leaving hibs would do them good

27-07-2013, 05:00 PM
I have to laugh at comments that say Wotherspoon wasn't good enough for us, but will do a good job for St Johnstone. (A club that consistently finishes above us in the table!)

Wotherspoon was good enough for us, we weren't good enough for Wotherspoon which is why he wanted to move. And no one can hardly blame him.

As DBS says, we have a knack of ruining players, but as soon as they leave, the sky is the limit!

macd123
27-07-2013, 05:05 PM
I can't understand why people didn't see his value. He has never had a run as a central midfielder. Spoony, griffiths and claros were the 3 players we had with real technical ability. We couldn't afford 2 of them and we basically told the other to get lost. Here, have less money and we will play you out of position and leave you out of cup finals.

Of course he will come back to haunt us. Don't anyone say "he never showed that ability here ". His ability is there for all to see.

Purehibee_MYB
27-07-2013, 05:14 PM
I can't understand why people didn't see his value. He has never had a run as a central midfielder. Spoony, griffiths and claros were the 3 players we had with real technical ability. We couldn't afford 2 of them and we basically told the other to get lost. Here, have less money and we will play you out of position and leave you out of cup finals.

Of course he will come back to haunt us. Don't anyone say "he never showed that ability here ". His ability is there for all to see.

Are you able to confirm we didn't try to keep him?

27-07-2013, 05:33 PM
It was reported that he was offered a deal at vastly reduced terms . I think the fact that he didn't get a strip in either of the recent cup finals tells a lot about Fenlons views on Wotherspoon . I feel he is technically an excellent player , albeit inconsistent . He is better away for us sadly, as Fenlon and many fans didn't really rate him that much

27-07-2013, 06:35 PM
Enough of this nonsense. Wotherspoon had talent but used it once every five weeks or so.

27-07-2013, 06:44 PM
Enough of this nonsense. Wotherspoon had talent but used it once every five weeks or so.

Spot on Andy (and to think you backed Edwin De Graaf to the bitter end too!)

Wotherspoon was largely dreadful for Hibs (check back on previous Player Ratings threads in case you have forgotten how bad he was!)

He may indeed "make it" at St J, but I very much doubt that he will!

27-07-2013, 07:06 PM
Spot on Andy (and to think you backed Edwin De Graaf to the bitter end too!)

Wotherspoon was largely dreadful for Hibs (check back on previous Player Ratings threads in case you have forgotten how bad he was!)

He may indeed "make it" at St J, but I very much doubt that he will!

Pretty sure we've had this debate before. Contrary to what you say, Spoony was not largely dreadful for Hibs. His goals and assists prove that fact. Unless of course you'd rather use the 'player ratings' thread as your basis for your argument (pretty sure I said that before as well)

Oh and Andy74, you told us all De Graaf would be a great signing and that Deegan was the best midfielder we had so if it's all the same to you I'll pass on agreeing with you re Spoony

27-07-2013, 07:11 PM

Agreed. Still a stick on to score against us 1st time we play them though.