View Full Version : Yams Salmond "helping" Hearts (moved from meltdown thread)

Nomeancity
19-06-2013, 07:20 PM
Really interested with Alex salmonds comments on the situation. Most politicians would hock there granny to save a vote but he seems to be ignoring that and quiet prepared to openly support them at the expense of losing votes. Or is he just so arrogant that he is willing to dismiss how us hibbies might feel about his support for them. I appreciate he can't abandon them but his comments don't exactly accept they are in the wrong. Vote no!!!

19-06-2013, 07:35 PM
Really interested with Alex salmonds comments on the situation. Most politicians would hock there granny to save a vote but he seems to be ignoring that and quiet prepared to openly support them at the expense of losing votes. Or is he just so arrogant that he is willing to dismiss how us hibbies might feel about his support for them. I appreciate he can't abandon them but his comments don't exactly accept they are in the wrong. Vote no!!!

Don't vote in the referendum based on football allegiances FFS

PapillonVert
19-06-2013, 07:40 PM

He's playing to a certain gallery.

He is yet, as a lot of Scottish establishment have to do, to start asking the questions that many of us on Hibs.net have been asking for years with regard to the HMFC situation.

I get frustrated at times as they all ignore the obvious which we have been pointing out for years but remain hopeful that one day soon they will all have to acknowledge what we have been saying for years is in fact true.

19-06-2013, 07:41 PM

I agree but I think he is short sighted with his hopes of Hearts surviving and his inflated view of how hearts are a big employer etc when in actual fact they are not, certainly not as big as some other employers such as HMV. IMO, he should be talking about the fact that because of hearts the tax payer looks to be out of pocket by a few million, lithuanian tax payers out about 60 million, police out 20K or so and many other small businesses out of pocket.

Nomeancity
19-06-2013, 07:42 PM

Just throwing it out there about the guys integrity which to be fair I admire in this situation. But I do question his disregard or bravery for getting involved.

19-06-2013, 07:43 PM

You don't deserve a vote if you are going to vote based on Alex Salmond's opinion on Hearts.

19-06-2013, 07:45 PM

Much wiser to vote on it basing your vote on the evidence that Salmond is, obviously, a cock.

07hibee
19-06-2013, 07:46 PM

Why not ? If he can spend so much time on Hearts is he a
good politician?

19-06-2013, 07:49 PM
You don't deserve a vote if you are going to vote based on Alex Salmond's opinion on Hearts.

Salmond is a leader of ideas and vision.

It was he that set-up the pie ordering facility from your Ipad etc whilst seated in the dump, erm sorry, the PBS.

19-06-2013, 07:52 PM

Interesting. Football is all consuming for a great many people here and however baffling you find it, may well influence how they vote.
Is it different abroad?

19-06-2013, 07:54 PM
Why not ? If he can spend so much time on Hearts is he a
good politician?

Salmond is a leader of ideas and vision.

It was he that set-up the pie ordering facility from your Ipad etc whilst seated in the dump, erm sorry, the PBS.

No he is not. He is a cock. And if Question Time comes to the east end I will demand to be heard whether I deserve to or not.

19-06-2013, 07:56 PM
Much wiser to vote on it basing your vote on the evidence that Salmond is, obviously, a cock.

When it comes to me deciding whether or not to vote for independence, the thing of littlest concern to me is going to be whether Alex Salmond is, or is not a cock.:rolleyes:

The Tubs
19-06-2013, 07:58 PM

I would rather not take this off-topic - although several hundred pages tell me that there have been many twists & turns in this entertaining epic - but nor is the referendum a vote for Salmond or any other individual. It's about whether you believe that the interests of your nation would be better served free of the United Kingdom.

You need to make your mind up yourself and not let football nor personality cloud your judgement.

19-06-2013, 07:59 PM

Or, and I know this is a crazy idea, vote based on whether or not you think Scotland should be an independent country.

07hibee
19-06-2013, 07:59 PM
No he is not. He is a cock. And if Question Time comes to the east end I will demand to be heard whether I deserve to or not.

I agree,any one who goes on a trade mission to China and comes back with a couple of pandas shouldnt be running Scotland.

19-06-2013, 08:00 PM
When it comes to me deciding whether or not to vote for independence, the thing of littlest concern to me is going to be whether Alex Salmond is, or is not a cock.:rolleyes:

Ah, the old rolling eyes. he one that takes us mug footie forum posters to another highbrow level.
I will leave it at this. Shame to hijack a thread of this stature.

19-06-2013, 08:02 PM

indeed, i noticed .nets little labour activist posting a few pages back about not trusting wee eck(as expected) :rolleyes: yep, a labourite not trusting a politician of another party :faf: couldnae make it up

19-06-2013, 08:04 PM
I agree,any one who goes on a trade mission to China and comes back with a couple of pandas shouldnt be running Scotland.

Not sure if you are aware of this but the first thing Alex Salmond would do if Scotland became independent is celebrate then retire from politics. Political parties would be free to form and Scotland would fill up with Scottish MP's booted from Westminster. Strange but true!:agree:

Oh, sorry to go off topic!

19-06-2013, 08:04 PM

Did you quote me, even haven read my 2nd para?
lol

BTW did anyone read the scotsmen comments (BDO / admin latest)?
The twat saying how bad a state Hibs are in.
ahahahahahaaaaaaaa

poor wee soul. sitting in his maroon jammies and sticky glorious hertz bed covers. wee lamb!

19-06-2013, 08:05 PM
I would rather not take this off-topic - although several hundred pages tell me that there have been many twists & turns in this entertaining epic - but nor is the referendum a vote for Salmond or any other individual. It's about whether you believe that the interests of your nation would be better served free of the United Kingdom.

You need to make your mind up yourself and not let football nor personality cloud your judgement.

Or, given the social aspect of any free vote, you could let football and personality form part of your judgement.
But there I go again. Shut up now HH :lips seal:lips seal:lips seal

07hibee
19-06-2013, 08:10 PM
Not sure if you are aware of this but the first thing Alex Salmond would do if Scotland became independent is celebrate then retire from politics. Political parties would be free to form and Scotland would fill up with Scottish MP's booted from Westminster. Strange but true!:agree:

Oh, sorry to go off topic!

I know, what I meant in first post was you would think he'd have more pressing things to worry about apart from Hearts? Iv'e never heard of a Prime Minister getting so openly involved in a professional clubs problems for example.

Nomeancity
19-06-2013, 08:11 PM

Ok thanks.

Nomeancity
19-06-2013, 08:25 PM

Just throwing it out there about the guys integrity which to be fair I admire in this situation. But I do question his disregard or bravery for getting involved.

19-06-2013, 08:52 PM
He didn't say anything of any substance , just the normal politicians attempt to show that he is a man of the people who likes Fitba. He does look like a Jambo though.

19-06-2013, 09:06 PM
He didn't say anything of any substance , just the normal politicians attempt to show that he is a man of the people who likes Fitba. He does look like a Jambo though.

He said a lot without saying anything. His statement was vague but written in a way that people would take it to confirm what they are hoping for.

20-06-2013, 06:37 AM

I agree he could have picked up the Yams strips when he was there, now they are lost in the China sea, and he calls himself a fan

hibeeleicester
20-06-2013, 08:06 AM
I know, what I meant in first post was you would think he'd have more pressing things to worry about apart from Hearts? Iv'e never heard of a Prime Minister getting so openly involved in a professional clubs problems for example.

What like the PM of the UK?

http://www.sportsmole.co.uk/football/rangers/news/cameron-hopes-for-strong-and-successful-future-for-rangers_16770.html

Get that vote changed back to independence now DC is supporting Rangers.

20-06-2013, 10:11 AM
Salmond should keep out of the Hearts nonsense, but just remember you are voting for independence, not necessarily the SNP and Salmond.

20-06-2013, 10:47 AM

Eh, you do know it was in Edinburgh last week?

Or, given the social aspect of any free vote, you could let football and personality form part of your judgement.
But there I go again. Shut up now HH :lips seal:lips seal:lips seal

It could be argued that mature voters might take a broader view of what a politician has to say. Admittedly though, most seem to get elected because of their personality.

Feel free to vote whatever way you want, it's a democracy. If you think the future of your country hinges on what team Salmond supports, I hope you're the only one.

20-06-2013, 01:36 PM
Eh, you do know it was in Edinburgh last week?

I doubt that HH would get away with masquerading as a teenager!

20-06-2013, 10:28 PM
Don't have much love for Salmond or his policies but he's simply a fan expressing his concern.

I'd like to hope football allegiance wouldn't be a factor in the referendum - I recall Salmond also being quite supportive of Rangers too?

lEXO
22-06-2013, 12:48 AM
Don't have much love for Salmond or his policies but he's simply a fan expressing his concern.

I'd like to hope football allegiance wouldn't be a factor in the referendum - I recall Salmond also being quite supportive of Rangers too?He did that. I have no problem with him expressing his opinion on Hearts either, I,m pretty sure we would expect him to if it were us.

22-06-2013, 07:13 AM
Why not ? If he can spend so much time on Hearts is he a good politician?

How much time is he spending?

I used to work with the Scottish Government and over the piece was involved a number of times when your Cabinet Secretary/Minister was hijacked, it fair pissed me off so it did. But what are they supposed to do? All this sort of stuff normally happens when the very important Scottish Government business has ended anyway.

I might also like to point out that I didn't much care for for him.

He said a lot without saying anything. His statement was vague but written in a way that people would take it to confirm what they are hoping for.

You're right guys, pretty much said what he said with sevco. All clubs have a responsibility to run properly and meet their social obligations, like paying tax. Good luck although its probably good bye.

LeighLoyal
23-06-2013, 11:31 AM
I don't agree with him, but he's coming from a fan point of view, not as bad as that idiot Labourite Jim Murphy writing to HMRC on Rangers behalf. "Please go easy on Rangers, they don't need to pay players PAYE, NI etc... Scotland needs Rangers FC and I need their votes..." Shameful stuff.

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 10:51 AM
Its payday, anyone know if the riot police have been called in to control the crowds outside the PBS yet?

Im sure that will be least of their concern at that place today. ....big dealings there today

28-06-2013, 10:55 AM
Im sure that will be least of their concern at that place today. ....big dealings there today

Do tell :cb

28-06-2013, 10:55 AM

Go on.....

28-06-2013, 10:56 AM

You cannot leave that out there and nothing else!:grr:

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 11:04 AM
Watch stv or bbc news tonight cant say much else at the moment.

28-06-2013, 11:06 AM

Oh you're going to get such ***** for this..... :wink:

28-06-2013, 11:12 AM
Watch stv or bbc news tonight cant say much else at the moment.Excited am i

AndyB_70
28-06-2013, 11:12 AM

But I'm going out tonight and won't see it so can you just tell me now please? :)

28-06-2013, 11:14 AM

We have ways of making you talk :hnet:

Can you at least tell us if its good or bad news?

28-06-2013, 11:52 AM

The nightly sports bulletin's are going to break some big news before its leaked out on the twattersphere?

Unlikely I'd suggest, but you never know.

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 11:55 AM
Neither good or bad. Cringey tho.

28-06-2013, 11:57 AM
A shock BBC report contends that they are not ALL cheating, lying, freeloading, poncing, delusional paedophilles?

28-06-2013, 11:59 AM

What's the gist of it?

28-06-2013, 12:00 PM

Does cringey make the tea time news though ?

28-06-2013, 12:00 PM
Does cringey make the tea time news though ?

Do you ever watch Scotland Today? :greengrin

28-06-2013, 12:01 PM
Do you ever watch Scotland Today? :greengrin

Haha Scotland Today is terrible. I cringe watching it.

28-06-2013, 12:06 PM
So it's big, cringey news? Something to do with Foulkes? A hat-kicking protest? A massive cake bake? A team charity single being released?

greengnome
28-06-2013, 12:40 PM

Alex Salmond buying his season ticket? ..... :greengrin

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 12:59 PM
Alex Salmond buying his season ticket? ..... :greengrin

Fat cat's out of thw bag then....

greengnome
28-06-2013, 01:09 PM
Fat cat's out of thw bag then....

Being the first minister of Scotland and all that, he certainly should have a think to himself when posing with junior yams... Especially when they are giving it the old I've got 6 digits thingy!

Votes Alex....Votes!!!! (Lost any that I had for you).... How many more Hibby votes have you lost for a photo opportunity????

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BN2PzI0CUAAuVeu.jpg

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 01:10 PM
Thats a no vote from me now ;-)

28-06-2013, 01:11 PM
They both look as smug as each other...

28-06-2013, 01:11 PM
Being the first minister of Scotland and all that, he certainly should have a think to himself when posing with junior yams... Especially when they are giving it the old I've got 6 digits thingy!

Votes Alex....Votes!!!! (Lost any that I had for you).... How many more Hibby votes have you lost for a photo opportunity????

:yw::fenlon:jamboak:

28-06-2013, 01:12 PM

Even if there's no Hearts in a forward-looking, vibrant, independent Scotland? :greengrin

greengnome
28-06-2013, 01:12 PM

:aok:.............

28-06-2013, 01:17 PM
That scarf would barely go round his belly !, vote yes for the yams ? aye right.

28-06-2013, 01:17 PM
Never would have voted for that bloated whale or his uncontrolled party who spend our money as if it was growing on trees ... £6m for a new security entrance to the Scottish parliament .. A total bunch of wasters the lot of them .. Hate the fat jambo big mouthed toad !

28-06-2013, 01:18 PM
Id rather be part of a union than bow to a yam

IFONLY
28-06-2013, 01:18 PM

Buffoon

28-06-2013, 01:19 PM
Is the finger count the number of ST's they have sold today ?.

28-06-2013, 01:20 PM
:aok:.............

Because of this it a big fat YES vote from me!! 100%

If you vote NO then it's going to be the same old SNP in charge. Voting YES is the best way to get shot of them.

28-06-2013, 01:22 PM

Nope it is there chances of survival .. 5-1 against

IFONLY

Since Jimmy Saville couldnae fix it for you son will I do.

Ever the pro, Alex didn't let any jostling from the crowds affect him as he posed for the photographer.

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 01:23 PM
The fat controller is an imbecile who couldve easily ordered season ticket online or by phone but heard camera crew there with wide angle lens to get his toad ass on tv tonight saving a wee team in distress.

hibseleven
28-06-2013, 01:23 PM
typical. Club on the brink of collapse, squad so thin those dummies in the window will be available for selection next season but 5-1 eh.........

28-06-2013, 01:27 PM
Never would have voted for that bloated whale or his uncontrolled party who spend our money as if it was growing on trees ... £6m for a new security entrance to the Scottish parliament .. A total bunch of wasters the lot of them .. Hate the fat jambo big mouthed toad !

Totally agree

And don't get me started on that little poisoned dwarf Sturgeon

28-06-2013, 01:27 PM
Because of this it a big fat YES vote from me!! 100%

If you vote NO then it's going to be the same old SNP in charge. Voting YES is the best way to get shot of them.

His ego will ensure a "NO" vote
No contest there !!!

greengnome
28-06-2013, 01:28 PM

AS... Hey son, can I get a wee shot of that rag you have roond yer neck?
Yam.. Aye Mr Salmond
AS... Lovely, this will get me another 400,000 votes for the yes campaign. :jmcp: Aye but no mine!

HibbySpurs
28-06-2013, 01:31 PM
Unreal,

I have no objection to Alex Salmond supporting Hearts, or Alex Salmond buying a ST for Hearts....

I do however object completely to him trying to score political kudos out of it.... This is an outrageous piece of publicity seeking and one I hope back fires on him royally...

Does he honestly think that this will only annoy Hibs fans? Did he rush out and buy a season ticket for Ibrox last year? Would he run out and buy a Hibs/Celtic/Kilmarnock season ticket if it was one of these clubs in admin?

Like **** he would, this is shocking and poltically very wrong. Hes the First Minister FFS, he's supposed to be unbiased in his views wherever private entities are concerned, it's the exact same as him saying, "I love Tesco and think ASDA are a bunch of w***s".....

Urge all to vote NO and vote any party bar SNP from now on.....

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 01:38 PM
Unreal,

I have no objection to Alex Salmond supporting Hearts, or Alex Salmond buying a ST for Hearts....

I do however object completely to him trying to score political kudos out of it.... This is an outrageous piece of publicity seeking and one I hope back fires on him royally...

Does he honestly think that this will only annoy Hibs fans? Did he rush out and buy a season ticket for Ibrox last year? Would he run out and buy a Hibs/Celtic/Kilmarnock season ticket if it was one of these clubs in admin?

Like **** he would, this is shocking and poltically very wrong. Hes the First Minister FFS, he's supposed to be unbiased in his views wherever private entities are concerned, it's the exact same as him saying, "I love Tesco and think ASDA are a bunch of w***s".....

Totally agree .... queen of hearts indeed although their similarity is staggering

28-06-2013, 01:42 PM
Unreal,

Yeah, Scotland's future totally depends on what team the first minister supports. Trident, welfare, renewable energy and EU membership will be mere sidebars to the debate. :rolleyes:

Green Man
28-06-2013, 01:43 PM
Unreal,

No, because he doesn't support any of those teams. He may be a fat yam but he's a smart politician and I don't see this as a particularly political move. He loves getting his face in the papers but it looks more like he's just trying to lend some support to the team he supports.

28-06-2013, 01:44 PM
Unreal,

Is it a politically savvy idea to align yourself with a bankrupt organisation bidding to shaft creditors, HMRC and ordinary punters? Mr Teflon may have made a miscalculation here.

suavegav
28-06-2013, 01:48 PM
:yw::fenlon:jamboak:

Just remember guys, a vote for independence isn't a vote for Alex Salmond, it's for a better fairer Scotand. Salmond s not the first, and will not be the last well Kent face to be photographed with a yam doing the 5-1. If you don't like Salmond, vote him out at the next independent Scottish elections!
GGTTH in free Scotland.

28-06-2013, 01:51 PM

No because he is using two hands.

28-06-2013, 01:54 PM

I'd like to hope football allegiance wouldn't be a factor in the referendum - I recall Salmond also being quite supportive of Rangers too?

So he is just a big fat hun then.

28-06-2013, 01:55 PM
Was never going to vote Yes but everytime Wee Eck just gives me more reasons not to. He is an opportunist, the FM should not be seen to be giving support to a business which is tax dodging and aboutyo shaft various other business. Shameful man and shameful club

28-06-2013, 01:55 PM
Thread moved back to Holy Ground because it is more political than anything to do with football.

28-06-2013, 01:56 PM
I notice that he is taking a principled stance regarding not attending The Open at Muirfield due to them not permitting female members - yet he is happy to contribute to an institution that is morally reprehensible and has continually attempted to evade/avoid tax, not to mention is about to stiff a huge amount of creditors for a lot of money.

28-06-2013, 01:58 PM
Is chunk himself trying to do a sly 5-1. Try and do what he is doing with your left hand. Its not natural.

HibbySpurs
28-06-2013, 02:01 PM
Yeah, Scotland's future totally depends on what team the first minister supports. Trident, welfare, renewable energy and EU membership will be mere sidebars to the debate. :rolleyes:

Not at all and I didnt say that.... In fact had you taken the time to read my post the very first line....

"I have no objection to Alex Salmond supporting Hearts, or Alex Salmond buying a ST for Hearts...."

I object to him using the fact he's bought a ST to promote both Hearts & try and self serve his inflated ego...... He's a politican and publicly should be seen as support of all things Scottish rather than cherry picking what he wants to be seen, as it happens I support his intentions not to attend the Open Championship at Muirfield on the grounds of the clubs sexist membership policy so I'm not just trying to rubbish him wholly on this.

As it happens also, I would urge everyone to vote NO anyway regardless of this, just so we're clear, however thats a totally different debate:wink:

28-06-2013, 02:03 PM
Scotland Free or a Desert, Vote YES.

28-06-2013, 02:04 PM
He is a polition who supports Hearts.

In that respect he is entitled to buy a season ticket.

As for basing weather Scotlad should be an independent country on a dislike for Alex Salmond or the SNP that's just mental. Rennet the SNP will disappear the day after Independance, job done move on. It's then up to Scots to choose Scottish MPs to form a government.

More right wing governments from London or own on decisions made by our own elected MPs?

It's a no brainer.

GREEN WARLORD
28-06-2013, 02:13 PM

Is that Joey Barton's love child standing next to The Puddock?

28-06-2013, 02:49 PM
Really not sure what he is trying to achieve with this move beyond trying to support his team. The young yam has possibly the smuggest face on the planet. Pretty stupid move however anyone voting in the referendum on the back of what team the First Minister support needs to think a bit more about the real issues.

28-06-2013, 02:59 PM
Just remember guys, a vote for independence isn't a vote for Alex Salmond, it's for a better fairer Scotand. Salmond s not the first, and will not be the last well Kent face to be photographed with a yam doing the 5-1. If you don't like Salmond, vote him out at the next independent Scottish elections!
GGTTH in free Scotland.

It worries me people will not vote YES becuase they don't like the SNP or Alex Salmond.

YES vote is not for either of those - if anything it's the best way off getting shot of them!!

28-06-2013, 03:01 PM
We might have a bit of fun on here and say we'll vote NO because of Salmond being a jambo twat.

Bur surely nobody seriously believes that when it comes to voting we'll base our opinion on Salmond being a yam. :rolleyes:

28-06-2013, 03:23 PM
This must be very urgent business for First Minister to make a personal appearance in front of the press at Tynecastle. He used to be the cleverest political operator in Scotland until he started believing he was untouchable. Over the last couple of years he has become a smug self satisfied caricature of himself. A typical Jambo really.

28-06-2013, 04:55 PM
We might have a bit of fun on here and say we'll vote NO because of Salmond being a jambo twat.

Bur surely nobody seriously believes that when it comes to voting we'll base our opinion on Salmond being a yam. :rolleyes:

I don't know about people on here, but there certainly are people out there in the general population who would vote based on something ridiculously trivial like this IMO. The general public are an ass, and I hate them.

ManBearPig
28-06-2013, 05:21 PM
Its a joke hence my winking face!!

28-06-2013, 07:13 PM
I don't know about people on here, but there certainly are people out there in the general population who would vote based on something ridiculously trivial like this IMO. The general public are an ass, and I hate them.

"Salmond is a smug ****stain" is seventeenth on my list of reasons to vote 'no'.

28-06-2013, 07:29 PM

Is this what you were referring to earlier the Salmond thing? If so its hardly worth the secrecy and the build up :confused:, im disappointed to say the least thought it was something substantial.

28-06-2013, 09:04 PM
Salmond has merely reinforced my long standing opinion of him.

28-06-2013, 09:12 PM
Is chunk himself trying to do a sly 5-1. Try and do what he is doing with your left hand. Its not natural.

I can do a number of things with my left hand that aren't natural.

deeks01
28-06-2013, 11:11 PM
Just an observation here but if people are quite genuinely saying they will vote 'no' because Salmond is a Jambo Fud, will you not be condemning all the rangers fans who will vote no because they are 'proddy' (despite having no clue to the connotations of being protestant and why it is irrelevant) and because they like singing GSTQ while screaming anti Irish/Catholic abuse? Will you , indeed , be supporting these people? Because it comes down to the same thing really. Football and Politics - Do Not Mix.

29-06-2013, 04:29 AM

It looks like he is prodding him, maybe because he didn't want to be photographed with anyone doing that hand sign.

29-06-2013, 02:28 PM
Just an observation here but if people are quite genuinely saying they will vote 'no' because Salmond is a Jambo Fud, will you not be condemning all the rangers fans who will vote no because they are 'proddy' (despite having no clue to the connotations of being protestant and why it is irrelevant) and because they like singing GSTQ while screaming anti Irish/Catholic abuse? Will you , indeed , be supporting these people? Because it comes down to the same thing really. Football and Politics - Do Not Mix.

Why would someone voting 'no' because of Salmond be supporting someone voting 'no' because of sectarianism?

I'll won't vote on either basis but I support the right of every citizen to vote however they please for whatever reason. That's how democracy works.

29-06-2013, 02:52 PM
Are we getting all political about a fat Yam buying a Yam season book?

A wee bit precious no? He is a fat, self promoting tramp and always has been. This changes nothing.

29-06-2013, 05:31 PM
For those of you that think the vote next year has anything to do with the SNP, here is a definition of the word.

ref·er·en·dum
/ˌrefəˈrendəm/
Noun
A general vote by the electorate on a single political question that has been referred to them for a direct decision.
The process of referring a political question to the electorate for this purpose.

This vote has NOTHING to do with the SNP or Salmond, this vote has to do with whether you think Scotland will be better off as an independent self governing nation, or if we would be better off remaining part of the UK and ruled by Westminster.

The easiest way to get Salmond out of your political and general senses is to vote for independence, once that happens all the other parties will have to accept that Scotland will rule herself and they will then form proper Scottish versions of their parties, other parties will be formed and we can have a general election, where you can vote to dump that @rse Salmond.

If you vote for the status quo then the SNP will have to go on existing, just like in 1979, and we will never rid oorselves of this tw@t.

If you vote yes next year and Scotland becomes autonomous there will no longer be the need for an SNP, and we can actually start sorting out the major problems facing Scotland in the future, instead of debating whether we want to do it by oorselves or with the 3 other countries in the UK.

Vote yes of no, but base that choice on what is best for you , your family, Scotland as a whole and not on whether Salmond is a d!(C)k or not, because we all know he is.

deeks01
29-06-2013, 08:54 PM
Why would someone voting 'no' because of Salmond be supporting someone voting 'no' because of sectarianism?

I'll won't vote on either basis but I support the right of every citizen to vote however they please for whatever reason. That's how democracy works.

If someone has misgivings about Salmond politically for whatever reason then yes I completely support their right to vote as they feel best. It is a democracy after all. My comparison , apologies if it was unclear , was that those voting solely based on Sectarian views (of which I've seen a few) would surely be seen by most people as rather moronic although it is still their right to do this. Most people would point out when presented with a scenario like this that the mix of sectarianism based on football loyalties used to make a political decision is not a good idea. They should remain separate. Now if any on here were serious , and I have my doubts that any actually were when push comes to shove , about voting no solely because Salmond is a Hearts fan - could a similar argument not be applied? Would the same people still condemn the amplified and bigoted west coast version?

I just thought it may add another angle to the discussion which could become quite interesting.

30-06-2013, 06:16 AM
"Salmond is a smug ****stain" is seventeenth on my list of reasons to vote 'no'.

I am still to see one valid reason not to vote yes. Be interesting to see your list of 17 reasons 😉

30-06-2013, 08:48 AM
I am still to see one valid reason not to vote yes. Be interesting to see your list of 17 reasons 

And your "valid reasons to vote YES " are ?

Let's be hearing from you :greengrin:wink:
I would guess "Beefsters" " 17 reasons " are all related to Salmond /Sturgeon and their inflated ego's

30-06-2013, 09:07 AM
And your "valid reasons to vote YES " are ?

Let's be hearing from you :greengrin:wink:
I would guess "Beefsters" " 17 reasons " are all related to Salmond /Sturgeon and their inflated ego's

So not valid reasons then if that's the case! 😃

30-06-2013, 09:17 AM
So not valid reasons then if that's the case! 

Your opinion which you are entitled too as always :agree::wink:
Suggest you make the effort to spend some time in the company of S & S , as I have on a few occasions,and you will soon note that their "ego's" shine out like beacons
Comments like " In my job most of the time my own opinion is the only one worth considering " from Salmond at Prestonfield Hotel a couple of years ago are proof .
Anyway I'm sure you agree a Hibs Forum is not the place to discuss politics so for me I will not comment on "Yes/NO" further

Enjoy the rest of your weekend :thumbsup:

30-06-2013, 09:18 AM
I am still to see one valid reason not to vote yes. Be interesting to see your list of 17 reasons 

Is a valid reason one you agree with then?:greengrin
Surely there are pluses and minuses on both sides of the argument unless you are in the Scotland is currently a basket case camp? Or in the Scotland will become the poorest country in Europe camp if we vote for Independence.

30-06-2013, 01:41 PM
Salmond's got a right to voice support for his team and I'm sure he'd count himself among the "decent" type of Hearts fan. There are a few!

He should have had a word with the yobbo beside him in the News pic though! Bad PR, Alex!

On the whole he'd be best advised to steer clear of the whole business from now on. He will seriously alienate not just Hibbies but not a few folk from other parts of Scotland who don't share his dewy-eyed view of Hearts FC.

01-07-2013, 05:56 PM
Alex Salmond looks like Boss Nass from The Phantom Menace. Fat, odius, frog faced prick.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-weQRPuXLEWA/UNOa1RbJP4I/AAAAAAAABhA/dhfYhZTA3dU/s320/12Nass.jpg

01-07-2013, 08:22 PM
Alex Salmond looks like Boss Nass from The Phantom Menace. Fat, odius, frog faced prick.

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/-weQRPuXLEWA/UNOa1RbJP4I/AAAAAAAABhA/dhfYhZTA3dU/s320/12Nass.jpg

Quite possibly not the most erudite contribution to the debate, but what makes it worse is that you've betrayed a knowledge of the name of one of the characters in episode 1 (2? - nae idea, it's all unforgivable). Your head is obviously full of nonsense, young man (bet you wished I'd called you "padawan" there, eh? :greengrin)!

01-07-2013, 11:01 PM
I won't be voting for him or his party because I think he's an awful man who only has his own interests at heart and I disagree with his party on many important issues.

The fact that he's a Jambo clown is a mere side issue but it's also the icing on the cake.

Hearts and Alex Salmond go very well together.

ManBearPig
02-07-2013, 12:50 AM
I've just heard we may have to pay roaming charges when in England on our mobile bills if we vote to be independent! There's a real reason to vote NO!:stirrer:

VivaHiberña
02-07-2013, 01:49 AM

It worries me people will not vote YES becuase they don't like the SNP or Alex Salmond.

YES vote is not for either of those - if anything it's the best way off getting shot of them!!

The best way I heard this summed up was that voting no because you dislike Salmond or the SNP is like not buying your dream house because you don't like the wallpaper; one it's yours, you can decorate it how you like.

02-07-2013, 03:10 PM

The best way I heard this summed up was that voting no because you dislike Salmond or the SNP is like not buying your dream house because you don't like the wallpaper; one it's yours, you can decorate it how you like.

That's true. Scotland will be around a lot longer than Salmond. It's one for the heart rather than the head.

02-07-2013, 08:30 PM
Whilst independence does not mean the SNP and Wee Eck forever, but it allows them the right to negotiate the settlement. I think Scotland could be an independent country and probably survive ok. But why take the risk? There are far too many questions not answered. The UK is one of the richest countries in the world. Even during these times of austerity we are still a rich country. What the UK needs is a distribution of wealth, fairer tax system, investment in public services, Nationalisation of untilities and railways. Then as an island we will see the people put before profit. The seat of government being at Holyrood won't deliver the changes I'm stating it will just move the capitalist system from London to Edinburgh. It's a change of policies we need not a transfer of government.

03-07-2013, 05:38 PM
Whilst independence does not mean the SNP and Wee Eck forever, but it allows them the right to negotiate the settlement. I think Scotland could be an independent country and probably survive ok. But why take the risk? There are far too many questions not answered. The UK is one of the richest countries in the world. Even during these times of austerity we are still a rich country. What the UK needs is a distribution of wealth, fairer tax system, investment in public services, Nationalisation of untilities and railways. Then as an island we will see the people put before profit. The seat of government being at Holyrood won't deliver the changes I'm stating it will just move the capitalist system from London to Edinburgh. It's a change of policies we need not a transfer of government.

Do you think there is remotely any chance of this of this happening in the UK? Labour are not interested in any of this, and if you take a "finger in the air" assumption that at least half of any century will see a Tory government, it's just impossible. I'm not saying that independence would deliver these things but Scotland's political make up surely means achievement of at least some of them would be more likely if we didn't have to rely on hoping that somehow the south east of England allows us to do it?

04-07-2013, 06:02 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4996701/Briefs-encounter-Salmonds-season-ticket-handover.html
Away and throw ***** at yersel salmond......nothing better to do

04-07-2013, 06:30 AM
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/news/4996701/Briefs-encounter-Salmonds-season-ticket-handover.html
Away and throw ***** at yersel salmond......nothing better to do

This First Minister position must be a breeze. That's two trips to Tynecastle for a photo opp for the same thing. Or maybe Hearts going bust really is the most pressing problem Scotland faces.

04-07-2013, 07:30 AM

I'm voting 'no' to independence because I don't like my wallpaper.

Just_Jimmy
05-07-2013, 12:27 AM

What if the house maxed out your budget and you have to live with the crappy paper? Ergo your dream isn't what it seemed?

hibeeleicester
07-07-2013, 01:56 AM
Folk who will vote no because he is a yam are clueless.

A yes vote isnt for the SNP!

HFC07
17-10-2013, 12:02 PM
Reading that report on the Scotsman r.e. Alex Salmond offers to help hearts survive....

He states he will step in should the issue become political.....

In what way will this possibly go political?

It’s one company trying to ascertain funds from another company, there should be no political issues at all.

If you don’t have the money you are owed then I’m afraid you go bust......

17-10-2013, 01:09 PM
Reading that report on the Scotsman r.e. Alex Salmond offers to help hearts survive....

He states he will step in should the issue become political.....

In what way will this possibly go political?

It’s one company trying to ascertain funds from another company, there should be no political issues at all.

If you don’t have the money you are owed then I’m afraid you go bust......

I think political intervention would be a very last resort after the commercial (administration/liquidation) then criminal investigation (fraud, money laundering, etc.) steps are completed.

He may remind them that Scotland is a BIG country and they're just a wee former Soviet republic.

Gus Fring
17-10-2013, 01:21 PM
Barry Anderson is, as usual, reading for too much into this. Salmond would only get involved if he has no choice basically if it became a political matter between the 2 countries. It's like when the Police say "we'll get involved if this becomes a police matter" in silly wee disputes, it doesn't mean the police will get involved.

The general feeling amongst my colleagues in the press is that Salmond is steering well clear of all of this until he's duty bound to do something. He's a Hearts fan but he values being the first minister much more and sticking his beak in here would give his opponents a substantial amount of ammo and what with a certain vote coming up in the not too distant future it could affect that as well. The last thing he wants is headlines saying "Salmond goes all out to help paedo paying, charity robbing, creditor conning business alive"

Scottish Football fans aren't exactly known for "forgive and forget" either and doing his utmost to help Hearts would, at the very least, anger Rangers and Hibs fans and probably the rest of the leagues fans as well.

Rest assured, he'd rather let them go bust than risk losing votes.

(I hate bringing the independence vote into football matters or anything but it's applicable in this case)

17-10-2013, 01:28 PM
Barry Anderson is, as usual, reading for too much into this. Salmond would only get involved if he has no choice basically if it became a political matter between the 2 countries. It's like when the Police say "we'll get involved if this becomes a police matter" in silly wee disputes, it doesn't mean the police will get involved.

The general feeling amongst my colleagues in the press is that Salmond is steering well clear of all of this until he's duty bound to do something. He's a Hearts fan but he values being the first minister much more and sticking his beak in here would give his opponents a substantial amount of ammo and what with a certain vote coming up in the not too distant future it could affect that as well. The last thing he wants is headlines saying "Salmond goes all out to help paedo paying, charity robbing, creditor conning business alive"

Scottish Football fans aren't exactly known for "forgive and forget" either and doing his utmost to help Hearts would, at the very least, anger Rangers and Hibs fans and probably the rest of the leagues fans as well.

(I hate bringing the independence vote into football matters or anything but it's applicable in this case)

I don't think he could lose many votes from the union flag waving/wearing mob called The Rangers.

17-10-2013, 02:09 PM
I don't think he could lose many votes from the union flag waving/wearing mob called The Rangers.

Paradoxically, if Salmond and the SNP are to make serious inroads into the West of Scotland then the Rangers supporting demograph is exactly where this is most likely be achieved. You will see far better SNP performance in areas like Airdrie than you will in more 'Celtic-minded' places like Coatbridge.

17-10-2013, 03:15 PM
Paradoxically, if Salmond and the SNP are to make serious inroads into the West of Scotland then the Rangers supporting demograph is exactly where this is most likely be achieved. You will see far better SNP performance in areas like Airdrie than you will in more 'Celtic-minded' places like Coatbridge.

Really? I always thought places like Coatridge and Croy were 'nationalist' areas already..

..or did I get that wrong? :wink:

17-10-2013, 03:30 PM
Paradoxically, if Salmond and the SNP are to make serious inroads into the West of Scotland then the Rangers supporting demograph is exactly where this is most likely be achieved. You will see far better SNP performance in areas like Airdrie than you will in more 'Celtic-minded' places like Coatbridge.without trying to go all Political on this thread, you need to be aware that the independence vote is not a vote for Alex Salmond. or the SNP per say. It is a vote, to either keep the situation as is, or a vote to give a mandate for an Independent soveirgn state of Scotland., to which ever parties stand for elections in the event of the vote being a bawhair over 50% for independence. cant see this mythical catholic minded group being in the equation.

17-10-2013, 05:59 PM
Surely Wee Eck would have to be off his rocker to associate himself with the vagabonds of Gorgie this year of all years.

18-10-2013, 09:38 AM
Really? I always thought places like Coatridge and Croy were 'nationalist' areas already..

..or did I get that wrong? :wink:

Aye Irish Nationalist, not Scottish Nationalist!

itslegaltender
18-10-2013, 10:24 AM

If you vote No just because you dont like Salmond or hate him for doing anything for those poppystealers then you are a doughnut. Independence isnt about SNP/Salmond.

18-10-2013, 10:38 AM
If you vote No just because you dont like Salmond or hate him for doing anything for those poppystealers then you are a doughnut. Independence isnt about SNP/Salmond.

I must be a 'doughnut' then as I don't trust him to do the best for this country and IMHO, it's all about his over-inflated sense of importance on the world stage, and not to further the best interests of our country.

itslegaltender
18-10-2013, 10:46 AM
I must be a 'doughnut' then as I don't trust him to do the best for this country and IMHO, it's all about his over-inflated sense of importance on the world stage, and not to futher the best interests of our country.

dont want to detract from this thread, if you want to vote no based on what you believe best for the country fine, if you base your decision on the personality of a politician who will be gone in a couple of years, then the MD role of Krispy Kreme awaits you.

18-10-2013, 10:50 AM
dont want to detract from this thread, if you want to vote no based on what you believe best for the country fine, if you base your decision on the personality of a politician who will be gone in a couple of years, then the MD role of Krispy Kreme awaits you.

All of the above is only 'in your opinion' though, eh? :aok:

TrinityHibs
18-10-2013, 11:15 AM
dont want to detract from this thread, if you want to vote no based on what you believe best for the country fine, if you base your decision on the personality of a politician who will be gone in a couple of years, then the MD role of Krispy Kreme awaits you. Anything else that I need to know is fine before I make a decision? When I leave a match? Sing or not to sing? Tomato or brown sauce? Cup top up or no cup top up? Just want to make sure that its in the best interest of the country likes.

18-10-2013, 04:27 PM
Why is it that whenever politics come into a football related thread, that it is moved to the Holy Ground? Surely it is on par with issues like racism and financial prudence?

Sorry, if anyone is offended by being called Shirley.

18-10-2013, 04:32 PM
Aye Irish Nationalist, not Scottish Nationalist!

Irish nationalist and Scottish unionist - which to me, seems like a very difficult and bizarre position to take. But, each to their own logic.

18-10-2013, 04:33 PM
Surely Wee Eck would have to be off his rocker to associate himself with the vagabonds of Gorgie this year of all years.

400.000 votes could swing it either way...!

20-10-2013, 06:17 AM
Irish nationalist and Scottish unionist - which to me, seems like a very difficult and bizarre position to take. But, each to their own logic.

George Galloway is perhaps the best known (and most strident) example.

From his own words, he seems to take this position because Scots were colonists (particularly in Ireland) whereas the Irish were colonised.

A numpty tweeted last night in *relation to my views on Ireland: “So, it’s OK for Ireland to be independent, but not Scotland. Twisted logic”.

I replied: “But it is OK, Scotland can be independent if it chooses (unlike Ireland). So why don’t you have a *referendum, now, to find out?”

The SNP have been offering *independence to us since the 30s, an offer unsubscribed to by the great majority. They could have a referendum now to settle the question, but instead plan one in 800 days, maybe.

The Irish did vote for unity and *independence nearly 100 years ago, and their choice was drowned in blood and Scottish settler terror.

There are no settlers in Scotland. If we want *independence, not a shot will be fired to stop it. Scotland is not a colony of England as Ireland was (indeed many English think we’re colonising them). Rather Scotland and England colonised the world.

http://socialistunity.com/socialism-would-wither-and-die-in-independent-scotland/

20-10-2013, 09:35 PM
George Galloway is perhaps the best known (and most strident) example.

From his own words, he seems to take this position because Scots were colonists (particularly in Ireland) whereas the Irish were colonised.

http://socialistunity.com/socialism-would-wither-and-die-in-independent-scotland/

He really needs to get over those rubber cheques he wrote for Whitfield Labour Club in Dundee.

green glory
21-10-2013, 09:30 AM
I must be a 'doughnut' then as I don't trust him to do the best for this country and IMHO, it's all about his over-inflated sense of importance on the world stage, and not to further the best interests of our country.

If you think that you're poorly informed.

Many of the people involved in the Yes campaign are affiliated to Labour and Lib Dems.

Give yourself a chance.

http://www.newstatesman.com/blogs/the-staggers/2011/11/scotland-12288-union-public

This is a great article from Lesley Riddoch;

http://m.scotsman.com/news/lesley-riddoch-different-standards-apply-here-1-3149193

southfieldhibby
21-10-2013, 02:39 PM

If Salmond died/resigned you would vote yes?

green glory
21-10-2013, 03:16 PM
If Salmond died/resigned you would vote yes?

I just had a conversation with someone at work who thinks Alex Salmond is fat, so will probably vote no. Meanwhile her sister is struggling on benefits, now with the added burden of the bedroom tax.

The bedroom tax will be abolished almost immediately as soon as the powers are transferred to Edinburgh.

But, no. 'He's fat and I don't like him'.

allmodcons
22-10-2013, 01:47 PM
I just had a conversation with someone at work who thinks Alex Salmond is fat, so will probably vote no. Meanwhile her sister is struggling on benefits, now with the added burden of the bedroom tax.

The bedroom tax will be abolished almost immediately as soon as the powers are transferred to Edinburgh.

But, no. 'He's fat and I don't like him'.

Now I know why Salmond is on a crash diet. He'll do anything for votes!

green glory
22-10-2013, 05:43 PM
Now I know why Salmond is on a crash diet. He'll do anything for votes!

I think you may have missed the point of my post.

allmodcons
22-10-2013, 06:22 PM
I think you may have missed the point of my post.

Nah, just having a wee joke.

22-10-2013, 09:01 PM
I wonder how much of a hand that fat prick
Alex "droopy dog chops" Salmond has had in this, I bet he has had his finger in the pie (and not steak and gravy for once)

SolentHibee
22-10-2013, 09:04 PM
Alex "droopy dog chops" Salmond has had in this, I bet he has had his finger in the pie (and not steak and gravy for once)

I wonder why you put this post on just so you could regale us with your hatred of Salmond. You have no evidence for your pathetic rant - please keep your politics away from the football posts.

green glory
22-10-2013, 09:12 PM
I wonder how much of a hand that fat prick Alex "droopy dog chops" Salmond has had in this, I bet he has had his finger in the pie (and not steak and gravy for once)

Poor stuff.

22-10-2013, 09:30 PM
I wonder why you put this post on just so you could regale us with your hatred of Salmond. You have no evidence for your pathetic rant - please keep your politics away from the football posts.

I'll send you a tissue to dry your eyes ;) nothing to do with politics! Politics doesn't float my boat and have no interest but his comments in the evening news last week said he would do what he could to stop them going bust

22-10-2013, 09:41 PM
I'll send you a tissue to dry your eyes ;) nothing to do with politics! Politics doesn't float my boat and have no interest but his comments in the evening news last week said he would do what he could to stop them going bust

If you read the article he didn't but don't let the truth get in the way of your grudge.

Miguel
22-10-2013, 10:27 PM
To be fair, difficult to separate the politics from the football when you get the likes of this:
http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/alex-salmond-offers-to-help-hearts-survive-1-3145617

22-10-2013, 10:28 PM

None. And he's on a diet at the moment don't you know :wink:

"We are still far away from the end of the legal process" Gintaras Adomonis, Bankruptcy administrator of AB Ukio Bankas. Many a twist and turn still to come.

22-10-2013, 10:41 PM
To be fair, difficult to separate the politics from the football when you get the likes of this:
http://m.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/alex-salmond-offers-to-help-hearts-survive-1-3145617

Thing is there's no quotes etc in that article ... it's all hearsay..... the closest is

"The First Minister is a well-known Hearts supporter and has told BDO he would be willing to intervene if the issue became political between the two respective countries"

Key bit is "if the issue became political" ...... that means if it doesnt he wont? (get involved) ...... or something like that at least!

23-10-2013, 08:21 AM

24-10-2013, 01:34 PM
if salmond helps them im voting no

Weststandwanab
24-10-2013, 01:37 PM
if salmond helps them im voting no More chance of me helping them.

green glory
24-10-2013, 01:52 PM
if salmond helps them im voting no

Then you're a fool.

Smiggy 7-0
06-11-2013, 10:35 AM
Then you're a fool.
No he's not

06-11-2013, 02:21 PM
Then you're a fool.

" Takes one to know one " :greengrin:wink::na na:

ColintonHibs
06-12-2013, 09:57 PM
No he's not

Yes he is. Football has nothing to do with politics. Who cares who alex salmond supports? If he is going to make scotland a better place then we should be behind him

07-12-2013, 09:13 AM
Yes he is. Football has nothing to do with politics. Who cares who alex salmond supports? If he is going to make scotland a better place then we should be behind him

Is he?

07-12-2013, 09:43 AM
Don't think it matters whether or not Salmond will make Scotland a better place to live in terms of voting in the referendum; it just matters whether Scotland being independent will make it a better place to live than if it remains part of the UK.

07-12-2013, 10:12 AM
Don't think it matters whether or not Salmond will make Scotland a better place to live in terms of voting in the referendum; it just matters whether Scotland being independent will make it a better place to live than if it remains part of the UK.

Will it?

07-12-2013, 11:39 AM
Will it?

Yes. Next!