View Full Version : Yams Wonga advances some cash to HMFC; Barry Anderson makes a pillock of himself (again)

27-06-2013, 09:02 AM
Barry Anderson ‏@BarryAnderson_8 (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8)2m (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8/status/350177197027360768)
Breaking news: #Hearts (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hearts&src=hash) sponsors Wonga pay this year's sponsor money up front by giving #HMFC (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23HMFC&src=hash) close to £1m to help fight for survival. See EN

So what happens when they need this money later in the year?

27-06-2013, 09:02 AM
AllIsBarry is claiming #allisbarry and Wonga have paid 1million sponsorship money upfront.

irony. at. its. best.

27-06-2013, 09:04 AM
Barry Anderson ‏@BarryAnderson_8 (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8)2m (https://twitter.com/BarryAnderson_8/status/350177197027360768)
Breaking news: #Hearts (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hearts&src=hash) sponsors Wonga pay this year's sponsor money up front by giving #HMFC (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23HMFC&src=hash) close to £1m to help fight for survival. See EN

was just about to post the same thing

27-06-2013, 09:08 AM
AllIsBarry is claiming #allisbarry and Wonga have paid 1million sponsorship money upfront.

irony. at. its. best.

Will they have to give them £5 million back by the end of July

27-06-2013, 09:10 AM
was just about to post the same thing

That's another million a potential owner has to find.

Dalkeith
27-06-2013, 09:12 AM
Short term its good news but its 1m they wont have later on

27-06-2013, 09:12 AM

Add that to the bill for the bidders.

27-06-2013, 09:14 AM

irony. at. its. best.

Heriot Watt, Polis, Cooncil and a host of other creditors are hopefully calling the club now looking for payment.

27-06-2013, 09:16 AM
Add that to the bill for the bidders.

4154% APR, I'd bet this is an attempt to get some good press due to the hammering these companies are taking in the media just now. Still if Hearts limp on to next season thats another £1million they won't have to operate with, fantastic. No season ticket money, no sponsor money, all the fans are skint, no players, no points.

27-06-2013, 09:17 AM
4154% APR, I'd bet this is an attempt to get some good press due to the hammering these companies are taking in the media just now. Still if Hearts limp on to next season thats another £1million they won't have to operate with, fantastic. No season ticket money, no sponsor money, all the fans are skint, no players, no points.

and nae strips.

skins ? lol

27-06-2013, 09:19 AM

Absolutely :agree:

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-23065501

27-06-2013, 09:22 AM
I know long term this is bad for them but short term I'm quite gutted, was hoping they'd fold before the season starts

27-06-2013, 09:23 AM
I know long term this is bad for them but short term I'm quite gutted, was hoping they'd fold before the season starts

27-06-2013, 09:26 AM
Think it will be much better them going through next season from one crisis to another getting humped week after week then finally getting relegated.

Surely much more fun than them not being there at all.

27-06-2013, 09:27 AM
Wonder how close to £1m it really is? Would Hearts be expected to get £1m a year for a sponsorship deal, seems too high to me however not sure how much the average shirt sponsorship deal is in the SPL.

Second point is, will this news completely kill off any latent demand for season tickets?

edit

When first announced there doesnt appear to be any mention of how much initial deal was. This is the only reference in an STV article.

Hearts previous deal with Ukio Bankas was first signed in June 2005 and reported at the time to be worth a six figure sum.

There was no detail of how much the new deal would be worth, or what affect it would have on the club's future relationship with the banking group.

27-06-2013, 09:37 AM
Strange timing. If they had made this advance two weeks ago they could have stayed out of administration for most of the season (at least).

I can see the advantage from Wonga's point of view, as it's free publicity at a time they are getting a hammering. The advantage to Hearts is less obvious, other than averting the risk of running out of cash completely and forcing liquidation. But the fans seemed to be making good progress towards doing that anyway.

27-06-2013, 09:37 AM
As others have said great for them in the short term but what happens later in the year when bills need paid and theres no sponsor money? thats what they have been doing for the last year and it got them nowhere.

27-06-2013, 09:40 AM
According to Hearts latest Accounts, their total commercial income for the year 2011-12 was £1.594 million.

So if its £1million for the shirt deal they brought in less £600,000 on all the other advertising , match sponsors, etc which does not seem right. May'be Wonga is paying up the rest of the contract with suitable discount although that kinda leaves them wide open to loosing out big time in the event of liquidation.

doddsy
27-06-2013, 09:44 AM
How come the money that Wonga {the loan sharks] give to the cheats from *********** does nt go towards the debt that they owe

after all is nt that what administration is. get the best deal for the debtors. beats me how they can use the mo0ney for operating costs ??????????????

27-06-2013, 09:54 AM
I suspect the £1mm is total value of the deal over several years & they won't get that sum right now. One upside though is the season ticket trickle will be further diminished.

27-06-2013, 09:54 AM
How come the money that Wonga {the loan sharks] give to the cheats from *********** does nt go towards the debt that they owe

after all is nt that what administration is. get the best deal for the debtors. beats me how they can use the mo0ney for operating costs ??????????????

The money is going in to the pot, to enable the company to continue to operate. If that helps to get a better return for creditors, then that is a positive for them.

27-06-2013, 09:57 AM
I suspect the £1mm is total value of the deal over several years & they won't get that sum right now. One upside though is the season ticket trickle will be further diminished.

That's probably true. Many of the waverers will now sit back and say "oh well, we're okay now. I won't buy a ST."

I'd still rather see the full details of the Wonga money though. I'm not one for relying on headlines, especially EEN ones.

27-06-2013, 10:12 AM
Could be that BDO now know they will be nowhere near their target with ST sales so have pleaded with Wonga to pay this in advance or it's curtains for Hearts.

27-06-2013, 10:17 AM
Yams probably asked them if they wanted the stadium renamed the wongadome?
even wonga have standards

hibs4thecup1988
27-06-2013, 10:17 AM
Or allisbarry is lying?

HibbySpurs
27-06-2013, 10:24 AM
Reading the Scotsman article the quote from SOuthern is cringeworthy at best:

"David Southern, Hearts’ managing director, said today: “Wonga have shown an exceptional and unprecedented show of faith in our time of need. I cannot speak highly enough of how they have worked with us over the term and again when we have needed them most. Throughout, they have made themselves available and been straightforward and speedy to deal with."

Honestly the last bit appears to have been spoon fed to him by the legal loan sharks..... "straightforward & speedy to deal with"...... Little loans that you control I guess.... WOnder if they got the coin in the bank within 15 minutes though :greengrin

Short term it's a right result for them as it eases the cash flow worries and they wont now have to have a fire sale of players before the season starts, although I was wondering if some of the players currently considering wage cuts may say no on the basis that the club have averted immediate disaster?

Luckily they ARE in administration and the sum of £1M does not take them out of that it simply allows BDO to continue trading, they will still have a threadbare squad, a trandfer embargo and -15 come season start so all is still not barry IMO.

Also they continue to spend money they have most likely budgeted for later in the season, this money will now not be there come that date and unless a buyer can be found these are all big gambles. No buyer, then come mid season they will be right back at square one but this time with no extra ST money to beg for and the sponsor will not I suspect be advancing another £1M to them.

Hearts & Wonga truly are a match mad in heaven as Hearts surely represent their ideal customer model, someone who wants money but cant really pay it back so has to keep just paying off the interest each month to stop the creditor defaulting them.

Personally I think these companies should be shut down by the Govt as they are little more than loan sharks with a credit licence, my understanding is that it costs about £25 to borrow £100 off them for a month? Sounds not to bad but imagine borrowing £400 off them, thats a repayment of £500 inside a month, also I understand they just let you pay the interest off if you cant pay off the loan, imagine doing that for a year? That would mean you had repaid them £1,200 and were still due them the whole inital loan of £400.... No wonder they can afford to chuck Hearts a bone......

27-06-2013, 10:30 AM
Could be that BDO now know they will be nowhere near their target with ST sales so have pleaded with Wonga to pay this in advance or it's curtains for Hearts.

I would imagine that is the case.

27-06-2013, 10:34 AM
Reading the Scotsman article the quote from SOuthern is cringeworthy at best:

"David Southern, Hearts’ managing director, said today: “Wonga have shown an exceptional and unprecedented show of faith in our time of need. I cannot speak highly enough of how they have worked with us over the term and again when we have needed them most. Throughout, they have made themselves available and been straightforward and speedy to deal with."

That is indeed utterly cringeworthy. I expect to see Southern appear in the next batch of adverts for those ****bags.

Forever lacking class and dignity since 1874. The club with no shame.

27-06-2013, 10:36 AM
That is indeed utterly cringeworthy. I expect to see Southern appear in the next batch of adverts for those ****bags.

Forever lacking class and dignity since 1874. The club with no shame.

How Southern can still be putting his name to club announcements is incredible given his self sustainable and everything is ok interview on ESPN before the last derby.

27-06-2013, 10:44 AM
How Southern can still be putting his name to club announcements is incredible given his self sustainable and everything is ok interview on ESPN before the last derby.

I'm surprised he hasn't been emptied by the administrators, given that they are now running the club and he must be all but redundant. The only folk punted by Duff & Duffer at Ibrox were the chief executive (Ali Russell) and the director of football (Gordon Smith). Pat Nevin was booted from his job as Motherwell chief executive as soon as they entered administration.

27-06-2013, 10:47 AM
I'm surprised he hasn't been emptied by the administrators, given that they are now running the club and he must be all but redundant. The only folk punted by Duff & Duffer at Ibrox were the chief executive (Ali Russell) and the director of football (Gordon Smith). Pat Nevin was booted from his job as Motherwell chief executive as soon as they entered administration.

He may be "useful" to the administration process. :wink: Cough... bodies... cough... buried.

27-06-2013, 11:04 AM

Not forgetting the week of the non-payment/half-payment/majority payment to HMRC asked on the Thursday outside Hampden after the SPFL meeting if wages would be paid tomorrow (Friday) "a days a long time in football" . The following Monday they signalled their intention to go into administration.

27-06-2013, 11:06 AM
Ah, but was it a wounded cringe of open....ness?

Dunno, I'm feeling bitter about it though. :wink:

hibbeedavid
27-06-2013, 11:12 AM
Whilst I can't answer that specifically I'm a little surprised Wonga haven't attempted to generate some much needed positive publicity out of the Hearts situation by offering the Hearts admin staff a one off interest free pay advance or similar as a 'goodwill gesture' since they have no idea when their next pay will come and have bills to pay like the rest of us

Woody70x2
27-06-2013, 11:16 AM
This money will have been projected into their accounts, so doesn't change a thing.

27-06-2013, 11:17 AM
This money will have been projected into their accounts, so doesn't change a thing.

It does a bit. It gives them a bit more comfort that they will make it to the 12th July.

27-06-2013, 11:20 AM

That's the administrators fees guaranteed then

happiehibbie
27-06-2013, 11:20 AM
Do not worry the tax alone is 50% on this amount of money

season ticket money Used up
tax monies still due on agreement 2 payments left
Paye still due
many others still due

how do i know this I Just know !

Woody70x2
27-06-2013, 11:22 AM
It does a bit. It gives them a bit more comfort that they will make it to the 12th July.

You are right, but it is more money that will be burnt before new owners are put in place - therefore less operating costs and a bigger headache for potential takeovers?

27-06-2013, 11:23 AM
Do not worry the tax alone is 50% on this amount of money

season ticket money Used up
tax monies still due on agreement 2 payments left
Paye still due
many others still due

how do i know this I Just know !

No it ain't and no you don't. :greengrin

There will be no tax on this. HMFC have made enough losses over the past few years to cover it. The rate would be 20% in any event.

There will be VAT due, approximately £167k.

27-06-2013, 11:23 AM
You are right, but it is more money that will be burnt before new owners are put in place - therefore less operating costs and a bigger headache for potential takeovers?

Yup. :agree:

27-06-2013, 11:29 AM
That's the administrators fees guaranteed then

Nope. Their fees are only payable when the property is sold.

The Leith Dutch
27-06-2013, 11:31 AM
Question about Wonga having fronted them the sponsorship money......if as reported it's £1 million then surely the publicity that being the "good guys" gets isn't worth that much?

Surely it suggests that Wonga are thinking the Yams will be around in a non-liquidated state next year wearing their hideous blue logo?

27-06-2013, 11:36 AM
Question about Wonga having fronted them the sponsorship money......if as reported it's £1 million then surely the publicity that being the "good guys" gets isn't worth that much?

Surely it suggests that Wonga are thinking the Yams will be around in a non-liquidated state next year wearing their hideous blue logo?

Its stinks of a PR exercise. With the announced PayDay loans inquiry (http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-23065501), and the recent bad press, Cisse not wearing Wonga on his shirt, QuickQuid pulling out of Bolton etc they need as much positive spin that they can get.

It still doesn't guarantee they'll make the first round of fixtures, or even the start of the season.

I'm just waiting on the SPFL hitting them with another 10 point deduction for failing to pay staff for the third(?) reported time.

HibbySpurs
27-06-2013, 11:40 AM
As far as I see it this really is short term gain for long term pain...

I fully understand that the administrators have to generate working capital just to keep the place going so this money will come in very handy...

Yet, Hearts continue on their merry way down the debt spiral and this money doesnt even go towards paying any of it off....

Simply put they are juggling their finances now on a daily basis just to stay alive, they are drawing down on funds to live day to day right now and this can only cause problems further down the line....

They have now recieved the whole seasons sponsordhip money from Wonga so thats no longer a revenue stream avaialble to them further down the line.
They are trying to sell as many ST'S as possible and begging supporters to had over ST cash now. They sell extra ST'S it looks good on paper but this effectively drains away the revenue stream offered by PATG customers who have "rallied" and bought a ST.
They may well recieve advances from the SPL/SPFL to assist in keeping them in the SPL but again taking it now means you cant have it later so another revenue stream is closed down.
Their only other real possible revenue stream is the sale of players to other clubs but as it stands they dont have very many of them that would command any sort of big fee
How much do you think they make a month selling pies, programmes, jobbie coloured replica tops?

Any potential investor is going to look at this and (if sane, which will be dubious anyway) think long and hard about how much it costs to purchase the gorund, the club, pay off the debt through a CVA or otherwise and then how much he needs to operate the place knowing full well that all the seasons cash has been spent in June/July just keeping the place going.

To me anyone looking for an investment would regard this as simply pouring good money after bad and even those who are trying to take ownership to save the club will be struggling to work out how to finance Hearts going forward. There only hope is someone with millions to literally throw away and that aint going to happen for any club in Scotland as theres plenty sides down south who would welcome someone like that with open arms.........

The end of the tunnell is still a long way of for Hearts and I imagine any light they see today is no more than a pin prick, this £1M may well be nothing more than a false dawn which just delays the inevitable.....

Tollhouse Hibee
27-06-2013, 11:42 AM
I find it extremely interesting that the EEN are quoting a figure of £1M yet the hearts website quotes no figure at all, just an advance payment.

the administrator merely says "We greatly appreciate this early payment from Wonga. They have certainly stepped up to the plate. July is a difficult month for the club in terms of cash flow. Things are tight right now and the financial support from Wonga is a real boost. This vote of confidence together with the incredible reaction from the supporters (http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20130627/hearts-net-wonga-boost_2241384_3221306#) is giving us more confidence that we can get through this difficult period."

To me that says they are not 100% confident that even with the Wonga cash they can still make it out of July.

27-06-2013, 11:45 AM
So BDO have now got enough to ensure they get paid ...

27-06-2013, 11:45 AM
"Ha ha, you Hobo Frothers! Told yiz it wid be all barry! We'll be back in business and catchin up wi youz by October. Youz are bust an we're gonna be debt free.

Hobos, peg-sellers, youz died, own youz, 5-1, since 1902."

^^^

That was, allegedly, the original press release from Tynecastle. However, BDO told #allisbarry to tone it down a bit. :wink:

27-06-2013, 11:50 AM
On a more serious note. This money (however much it REALLY is) is not new, just being paid one month early. This says to me that BDO have already given up hoping for the fans to buy the required 3,000 tickets.

It also means that at least part of that money is no longer available to pay later bills. That indicates a shortfall in their projections for the season of a few hundred thousand. They'll now be relying more than ever on the PBS selling out for every game.

27-06-2013, 11:54 AM
I find it extremely interesting that the EEN are quoting a figure of £1M yet the hearts website quotes no figure at all, just an advance payment.

the administrator merely says "We greatly appreciate this early payment from Wonga. They have certainly stepped up to the plate. July is a difficult month for the club in terms of cash flow. Things are tight right now and the financial support from Wonga is a real boost. This vote of confidence together with the incredible reaction from the supporters (http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20130627/hearts-net-wonga-boost_2241384_3221306#) is giving us more confidence that we can get through this difficult period."

To me that says they are not 100% confident that even with the Wonga cash they can still make it out of July.

Wouldn't surprise me if Banderson has once again been fed a line.

STV's take is that the amount is confidential but a large 5 figure sum.

http://news.stv.tv/scotland/231034-wonga-pay-hearts-all-of-next-seasons-sponsorship-money-in-advance/?

27-06-2013, 11:59 AM

http://news.stv.tv/scotland/231034-wonga-pay-hearts-all-of-next-seasons-sponsorship-money-in-advance/?

I can never remember - in yamathematics, is 5 larger or smaller than 7? :dunno:

27-06-2013, 12:00 PM
On a more serious note. This money (however much it REALLY is) is not new, just being paid one month early. This says to me that BDO have already given up hoping for the fans to buy the required 3,000 ticket.

It also means that at least part of that money is no longer available to pay later bills. That indicates a shortfall in their projections for the season of a few hundred thousand. They'll now be relying more than ever on the PBS selling out for every game.

Yep, clearly BDO are trying their best to get the club to the start of the season... and it's all about buying some time IMO in the hope a serious buyer and acceptable offer comes in. Though, they appear to have gave a deadline of 12th July on that,

Though, you have to wonder at what point can they for sure say they can fullfill the seasons fixtures.
Nearly all their main income gone before a ball is kicked. A bunch of kids and nae strips, rooted to the bottom of the league all season (if they make it to the end).

Have a feeling the SPL will be a farce once again.

Those yams that think they'll be debt free and at the PBS, I look forward to seeing you jump off the "Queensferry Crossing" soon.

27-06-2013, 12:02 PM
So BDO have now got enough to ensure they get paid ...

No. That comes from the buyer, when the property is sold.

Caversham Green
27-06-2013, 12:03 PM
On a more serious note. This money (however much it REALLY is) is not new, just being paid one month early. This says to me that BDO have already given up hoping for the fans to buy the required 3,000 ticket.

But is it really a month early? Allis's article says it was due to be paid next month - that's only four days away....

Gus Fring
27-06-2013, 12:03 PM

It's nowhere near £1m I'm told. £75,000 is closer to the mark.

"Literally a payday advance" they said.

27-06-2013, 12:06 PM

It interests me that BDO haven't made any comment on this. Have to say, I think in the Pinocchio Stakes, they are well behind the combined talents of Bazza and Dazza.

£620.07 ?

So where has this 1 million figure come from? More pish from #allisbarry?

27-06-2013, 12:07 PM
Is it possible that the STV report has actually got a typo? They report it as being a 'five figure sum' but that kind of figure is in no way guaranteed to get them past the end of the week, never mind till August.

Did they actually mean to write a 'six figure sum'

27-06-2013, 12:10 PM
Is it possible that the STV report has actually got a typo? They report it as being a 'five figure sum' but that kind of figure is in no way guaranteed to get them past the end of the week, never mind till August.

Did they actually mean to write a 'six figure sum'

No - STV originally said it was a six-figure sum and have amended their copy to a five-figure sum.

27-06-2013, 12:11 PM
No. That comes from the buyer, when the property is sold.

Not sure how many times you'll have to make this post before it sinks in for folk CWG!

27-06-2013, 12:12 PM
Not sure how many times you'll have to make this post before it sinks in for folk CWG!

It's paid when the property is sold.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
27-06-2013, 12:13 PM

This is great. Does this mean that Wonga's - cough - £1m has saved the day, and the great season ticket beg-off has been cancelled?

Im sure i read somehwere that Millwall are the latest club to refuse to take sponsorship from a pay day lender.

When your club is relying on and lavishing praise upon an industry that even Millwall wont touch with a barge poll, you really are plumming the depths. Still, im sure that the kind of filth that you get covered with by crawling through a sewer doesnt show on a maroon jersey.

What was that pious, sanctimonious choob Jack Alexander writing in the Scotsman the other day about Hearts? Im sure the white-feather avoiders must be so proud of their club now - cheating, theiving, immoral, unsporting, begging, stealing from their own fans. A great institution indeed....

27-06-2013, 12:15 PM
My understanding is that the staff at the Wonga Call Centre sent in an order for some cakes. They were sent a large bun. Allisbarry confused this with a large sum going in the other direction.

The poor boy tries. Just not hard enough.

27-06-2013, 12:16 PM

No - STV originally said it was a six-figure sum and have amended their copy to a five-figure sum.

Thanks guys

27-06-2013, 12:22 PM
The EEN have now pulled the £1M story. Looks like Banderson was once again spouting pish.

The Leith Dutch
27-06-2013, 12:24 PM

It makes sense now.
If they're getting fronted £75,000 from Wonga for 4 days then £1,000,000 is what the loan will come to with interest no?

Win/Win for Wonga - either they've just got the shirt sponsorship deal for £75k or they've chucked sweeties at some cheap publicity.
Well played.

27-06-2013, 12:26 PM
The EEN have now pulled the £1M story. Looks like Banderson was once again spouting pish.

I'd suspect BDO would be doing their nut at the thought of what a £1m cash injection would do to their season ticket sales campaign. Let alone the chances of someone actually putting a realistic bid in two weeks time.

Allisbarry may not be getting many more exclusives...

I believe the term is 'pleasing'.

That boy seriously needs to get his jotters if this - on top of everything else - turns out to be nonsense.

You'd think by now he'd get .net to quality check everything before publishing it.

LeithBoozy
Strange timing. If they had made this advance two weeks ago they could have stayed out of administration for most of the season (at least).

I can see the advantage from Wonga's point of view, as it's free publicity at a time they are getting a hammering. The advantage to Hearts is less obvious, other than averting the risk of running out of cash completely and forcing liquidation. But the fans seemed to be making good progress towards doing that anyway.

Wonga are not daft, they would not have handed over any money before the admins came in. They would have only have been throwing It into the same big black hole as the jambo fans have been doing. :confused:

27-06-2013, 12:28 PM
It was indeed interesting that Southern (who I had assume had left or been put on gardening leave) made the announcement rather than BDO. I would have assumed BDO would have made this announcement and the discrepancy between Anderson and STV's amount is quite incredible. Given that any talk of a £1m figure going into Hearts would immediately kill off season sales I am wondering if Anderson is indeed wrong, why he would print or be fed that figure. Seems a little odd.

27-06-2013, 12:29 PM
Wonga are not daft, they would not have handed over any money before the admins came in. They would have only have been throwing It into the same big black hole as the jambo fans have been doing. :confused:

The story makes more sense now that it has been stripped of the BAnderson calculator. Less than £100K, even if it was on offer, wouldn't have affected the decision whether or not to go into administration.

It was indeed interesting that Southern (who I had assume had left or been put on gardening leave) made the announcement rather than BDO. I would have assumed BDO would have made this announcement and the discrepancy between Anderson and STV's amount is quite incredible. Given that any talk of a £1m figure going into Hearts would immediately kill off season sales I am wondering if Anderson is indeed wrong, why he would print or be fed that figure. Seems a little odd.

He's been told that they've got an advance on the Wonga sponsorship this season (true). He's then assumed that they've got the full amount for the year now and based on previous discussions / reports he has estimated that as being up to £1M. Mental.

27-06-2013, 12:29 PM

That is brilliant. :faf::faf:

27-06-2013, 12:31 PM

Thats what happens when you dinnae check the facts on here to begin with.

27-06-2013, 12:31 PM
It makes sense now.
If they're getting fronted £75,000 from Wonga for 4 days then £1,000,000 is what the loan will come to with interest no?

Win/Win for Wonga - either they've just got the shirt sponsorship deal for £75k or they've chucked sweeties at some cheap publicity.
Well played.

What shirts?

27-06-2013, 12:35 PM
That is brilliant. :faf::faf:

Hilarious! Well done to agent Anderson for sabotaging the season ticket sales campaign!

The old adage of 'better a clever enemy than a stupid friend' has never sounded so apt.

Tollhouse Hibee
The £1M figure now seems to have vanished from the scotsman article.

Funny that!!!! :greengrin

Makaveli
Five (figures) will never be seven. :agree:

Dunderhall

Wongaful news.

27-06-2013, 12:38 PM
What shirts?

They were supposed to turn up this week, think they have got lost in transit. :greengrin

http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/articles/20130618/new-kit-delayed_2241384_3213128?

27-06-2013, 12:40 PM
Hahahahahahahahah just when you thought it couldn't get more amusing.

27-06-2013, 12:40 PM
Five (figures) will never be seven. :agree:

What a shambles of a club :lolyam:

27-06-2013, 12:41 PM
Banderson probably got the information of the Wonga advance by text or e-mail and being the dunce that he is, counted a one and five zeros and got a million.

Hopefully the message that the Yams are now safe sticks with the puddle-drinkers.

27-06-2013, 12:42 PM
Perhaps the story has been pulled because Hearts have made Alice aware such a story may torpedo season ticket sales.

TrickyNicky
27-06-2013, 12:46 PM
This latest news is by far the best!

You couldn't make it up!

The Leith Dutch
27-06-2013, 12:55 PM
What shirts?

Someone suggested they'll be playing skins next season......
Presumably they'll use the left over emulsion from the steps to paint Wonga on their chests.

Two plus points:
- They don't wash in Gorgie so it'll be a cheap "paint once" approach
- None of their players will be old enough to grow chest hair so they won't even have to spring for a Bic razor

LeithBoozy
27-06-2013, 01:01 PM
Perhaps the story has been pulled because Hearts have made Alice aware such a story may torpedo season ticket sales.

To be honest, It certainly wont help sales, I thought allisbarry was a Hearts man ? :greengrin

27-06-2013, 01:14 PM
To be honest, It certainly wont help sales, I thought allisbarry was a Hearts man ? :greengrin

Used to work for Rangers news.

27-06-2013, 01:23 PM
Used to work for Rangers news.

That explains the standard of his 'journalism' then.

green glory
27-06-2013, 01:34 PM
That explains the standard of his 'journalism' then.

I'm sure he was Jabba's apprentice/twink at Rangers News.

27-06-2013, 01:41 PM
Hearts actually applied for a £1 million matchday loan with Wonga and got knocked back.

27-06-2013, 01:48 PM

I never saw the article, was it him that wrote it?

His days at the EEN must be numbered now, likely to be fewer than the hertz themselves have left.

Its not just a wee occasional mistake, he's blundering from one mega failure to catastrophic meltdown.

His £1m epic could, ironically, stiff the club out the ST sales they need to survive.

Wouldn't that be barry Barry!

27-06-2013, 01:53 PM

They haven't pulled it completely, just changed the name and a couple of 'minor' details.

There seem to be a LOT of celebratory comments from earlier mysteriously now deleted :wink:

27-06-2013, 01:57 PM
It was all an innocent mixup. Hearts are getting a much needed 5 figure sum (£75,000)

Total repayments will be a 7 figure sum :greengrin

27-06-2013, 02:00 PM
It was all an innocent mixup. Hearts are getting a much needed 5 figure sum (£75,000)

Total repayments will be a 7 figure sum :greengrin

Poor Bandy! He cannae get anything right :faf:

green glory
27-06-2013, 02:03 PM
@BarryAnderson_8: Deleted tweet on Wonga payment to Hearts being almost £1m as different figs being given on how much payment is worth. http://t.co/PSbWU7HPeU

No apology for being a wally though.

27-06-2013, 02:04 PM

His days at the EEN must be numbered now, likely to be fewer than the hertz themselves have left.

Its not just a wee occasional mistake, he's blundering from one mega failure to catastrophic meltdown.

His £1m epic could, ironically, stiff the club out the ST sales they need to survive.

I still have the Newsnow page open in my browser and the article was headlined "Hearts Administration: £1m Wonga Cash Boost".

As has been alleviated to in this thread, the figure doing the rounds (and insinuated to by STV) is circa £75k.

I know that Banderson probably isn't the one who penned the headline, but the body-copy clearly stated the £1m figure.

FFS - I'd be surprised if their sponsorship deal with Wonga was as much as £300k - £350k per annum.

27-06-2013, 02:05 PM
Looks like #allisbarry was talking pish again

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11790/8795382/Hearts-reject-claims-club-sponsors-have-given-them-1m-advance

Who'd have thought it eh?

27-06-2013, 02:08 PM
I still have the Newsnow page open in my browser and the article was headlined "Hearts Administration: £1m Wonga Cash Boost".

As has been alleviated to in this thread, the figure doing the rounds (and insinuated to by STV) is circa £75k.

I know that Banderson probably isn't the one who penned the headline, but the body-copy clearly stated the £1m figure.

FFS - I'd be surprised if their sponsorship deal with Wonga was as much as £300k - £350k per annum.

A poster on a Celtic site says his business was offered the Hearts shirt sponsorship two years ago for £125K. Wonga got it instead because they offered £130K.

http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/single/?p=12296141&t=8808495

Ewan Murray (Jambo supporting Guardian journo) says that the Wonga sponsorship is worth "low six figures".

https://twitter.com/mrewanmurray/status/350229133344780288

BAnderson has written before that he believed the Wonga deal was worth a "seven figure sum" to Hearts.

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/hearts/hearts-extend-sponsorship-deal-with-wonga-1-2862351

HEARTS have extended their shirt sponsorship deal with Wonga for a further 12 months. The online loans company’s logo will continue to 
adorn their jerseys until the end of the 2013/14 season, offering guaranteed income as the club aims to become self-sufficient.

Wonga became Hearts’ principal sponsor in 2011, replacing Ukio Bankas, and their original two-year agreement had been due to end this summer. The extension was welcomed today by both parties. The sponsorship is thought to be worth a seven-figure annual sum to the Tynecastle club.

27-06-2013, 02:09 PM
@BarryAnderson_8: Deleted tweet on Wonga payment to Hearts being almost £1m as different figs being given on how much payment is worth. http://t.co/PSbWU7HPeU

No apology for being a wally though.

You'd think he could have stopped to think if its likely Hearts get a million a year from their sponsor. Idiot.

27-06-2013, 02:13 PM
A poster on a Celtic site says his business was offered the Hearts shirt sponsorship two years ago for £125K. Wonga got it instead because they offered £130K.

Ewan Murray (Jambo supporting Guardian journo) says that the Wonga sponsorship is worth "low six figures".

BAnderson has written before that he believed the Wonga deal was worth a "seven figure sum"

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/hearts/hearts-extend-sponsorship-deal-with-wonga-1-2862351

It's your use of the words "BAnderson" and "believed" in the same sentence that really lets you down.:greengrin

Even worse, in the article, he says that it is "thought to be". By whom, Barry? You and Boabster?

27-06-2013, 02:20 PM

SPL/SFA will be pleased to hear of Hearts windfall, and can now fine them what they deserve without it being the financial "disaster" that BDO were bleating on about :greengrin Pleasing :thumbsup:

27-06-2013, 02:25 PM
Barry Anderson in spouting garbage shocker!!!

Absolute joke of a reporter, makes it up as he goes along!

27-06-2013, 02:35 PM
The Daily Record now running with the five-figure sum story with a quote from a club spokesman. To give credit to the DR, it was them who broke the administration story and they seem to have a decent contact inside Tynecastle.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hearts-crisis-jambos-receive-cash-2003191?

A West Coast rag putting the EEN & Banderson to shame.

Gus Fring
27-06-2013, 02:43 PM
The Daily Record now running with the five-figure sum story with a quote from a club spokesman. To give credit to the DR, it was them who broke the administration story and they seem to have a decent contact inside Tynecastle.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/hearts-crisis-jambos-receive-cash-2003191?

A West Coast rag putting the EEN & Banderson to shame.

Indeed they do :wink:

Season ticket sales were 1350 when I asked yesterday btw.

27-06-2013, 02:53 PM

Yep, see below, the downward progression continues!! Not sure they can decline much further though, gone from 500 a day to 75, in fact a bit like Bazzas £1mm to £75k!!
Hearts need to raise £750,000 to keep the club afloat until the start of the new season and club officials feared news of a cash injection would see season-ticket sales decline.
They are currently less than halfway towards their 3000 target.

green glory
27-06-2013, 02:55 PM

So at this rate 3000 isn't going to happen. At least they've got Barry's Wonga million to tide them over.

27-06-2013, 03:15 PM
You'd think he could have stopped to think if its likely Hearts get a million a year from their sponsor. Idiot.

Exactly.

Back page of the print edition has Hearts being saved thanks to Wongas millions.....total embarrassment for Banderson and the EEN.

We expected this period to be full of fanciful stories and false dawns but this one really takes the biscuit!

27-06-2013, 03:22 PM
Banderson will try and shake this off but its an absolute beamer for him and the EEN.

27-06-2013, 03:26 PM
Banderson will try and shake this off but its an absolute beamer for him and the EEN.

He's truly *anking in a witless wongaland this time.

Can we get Desperate Dan to photoshop the pish from Georgie's breeks coming out off Bazza's gob?

ano hibby
27-06-2013, 03:26 PM
To be fair to #allisbarry he was told they received £7.5k & #allisbarry got his calculator out and assumed Hearts would receive the Wonga 4200% annual interest on this amount and rounded down to £1m so as to tie in with his previous exaggerations on the matter & so as not to look silly..perish the thought :greengrin
He was only one zero out in the end, lets give the guy a break..

Tollhouse Hibee
27-06-2013, 03:31 PM

I hope someone manages to get a copy, we might be able to frame it and put it somewhere in ER to remind us of how hearts were almost saved from obilivion.

27-06-2013, 03:33 PM
I think Barry must be on a retainer from the likes of Pishy-breeks and Steve Cardownie, to take the heat off them (for their role in bringing Comrade Vlad in to wreck their club) by posting and tweeting his ridiculous nonsense.

One thing you can be sure of at Hearts, an embarrassing tw*t will always emerge in time of a crisis.

I'm bowing to Bazza right now. Keep it up, you superstar!

hibby rae
27-06-2013, 03:34 PM

http://kerrydalestreet.co.uk/single/?p=12296141&t=8808495

https://twitter.com/mrewanmurray/status/350229133344780288

BAnderson has written before that he believed the Wonga deal was worth a "seven figure sum" to Hearts.

Just out of interest, how much do people reckon the Crabbie's deal to be worth per annum?

27-06-2013, 03:36 PM
Watching SSN and seen David Southern going in to Hampden, wonder what he is there for.

27-06-2013, 03:37 PM
So, the Wonga advance is roughly the equivelant value of another 300 Season Tickets.

But they would have got it anyway next month, so it's of very little value to them.

27-06-2013, 03:40 PM
Just out of interest, how much do people reckon the Crabbie's deal to be worth per annum?

More than the Wonga deal with HMFC is

Big team right enough

Watching SSN and seen David Southern going in to Hampden, wonder what he is there for.

The SPL / SFL merger talks

27-06-2013, 04:04 PM

The SPL / SFL merger talks

And to repeat silverhibee's query .. wonder what he is there for? :greengrin

27-06-2013, 04:06 PM
And to repeat silverhibee's query .. wonder what he is there for? :greengrin

The attendees have maybe had a whip round.:cb

HibbyRod
27-06-2013, 04:52 PM
Have a look at the "Wonga to the Rescue" thread on brokeback!

Absolutely staggering, delusional and hilarious.:greengrin

They just don't get it! :rolleyes:

WHUHibs
27-06-2013, 05:01 PM

Can't believe that they are getting it up front ,,what's the apr...scandal...wonder if they are giving the players the same deal,,payday loan!!!

Looks like they might survive but hopefully not too long :-)

27-06-2013, 05:10 PM

Honestly, kickback is so funny right now...

It's like mums.net, what with their fundraising and stupidity...

Almost forgot it was a football forum at one point...

Really funny.. the wonga thread is a beauty..

Happy days *

27-06-2013, 05:14 PM
It's absolutley hilarious that Bazza got them all excited for a few hours before someone with half a brain actually checked up on the monetary values involved :faf:

27-06-2013, 05:45 PM

Happy days *

27-06-2013, 05:47 PM
Can 'again' be added tae the thread title. :aok:

therealgavmac
27-06-2013, 06:18 PM
It's paid when the property is sold.

So, does that mean that the squillions from Wonga doesn't pay the administrators fees?

:duck:

27-06-2013, 06:21 PM
So, does that mean that the squillions from Wonga doesn't pay the administrators fees?

:duck:

Only if they sell the property for £75k. :na na:

green is good
27-06-2013, 06:52 PM
I heard that the wonga money is indeed a seven figure sum

£7

27-06-2013, 06:56 PM

Happy days *

:faf::faf::faf::faf:

Quality frogster :top marks

27-06-2013, 07:19 PM
This latest news is by far the best!

You couldn't make it up!

Thought it was funny but not as funny as it actually being in the print version. Stopped buyng the EEN as it was full of rubbish about Hearts, bought a commemorative copy tonight because it's full of rubbish about Hearts.

HibbySpurs
27-06-2013, 07:37 PM
Hahahahahaha, I was slightly annoyed earlier when #allisbarry broke this astounding news & I was left thinking "as usual, the jammy ***** have wriggled out of this, as per ******* usual":fuming:. This revelation has made my day :greengrin. I can just imagine the yaks creaming their pants earlier over this only to have the magic Wonga carpet cruelly ripped out from under them :yamlaugh:. Hearts officially now -15 & -£925,000 :greengrin

cappoquinboy
27-06-2013, 07:38 PM
Please take it from me, the sponsorship of HMFC is absolutely not even remotely close to £1m per year.

The basic sponsorship package, before bonus payments for league placings, semi final or cup final appearances etc is circa £130k per annum - that is a fact!

I would hazzard a guess that a negotiation along the lines of the following took place in the last few days . . . .

Mr. Wonga - "Now that HMFC are in administration the clause in our sponsorship contract relating to this event has rendered the agreement null and void and we are reviewing our position in this regard".

Mr. BDO - "Yes, I was wondering when you were going to contact us re this. We are still keen/desperate to retain your valuable sponsorship is there anything we can do to convince you to renew and/or extend your agreement?"

Mr. Wonga - "Tell you what, instead of the previously agreed basic price of £130k, we will consider the continued sponsorship of HMFC but at a significantly reduced rate given recent events".

Mr. BDO - "What sort of figure were you thinking of?"

Mr. Wonga - "We were thinking £75k for a year"

Mr. BDO - "No, no, we couldn't possibly agree to that".

Mr. Wonga - "Fair enough, we will terminate our sponsorship with immediate effect and without penalty. See you later and good luck".

Mr. BDO - "Wait, wait. How quickly would we receive the money?".

Mr. Wonga - "We could pay you immediately and make it look like we were riding to the clubs rescue at the same time as we and our industry are being hammered in the press and being reported to the OFT for dodgy practice - it's a win win for both parties".

Mr. BDO - "Okay, you've got a deal, but can you let our PR department deal with the press release?".

Mr. Wonga - "Ofcourse, it was a pleaseure doing business with you".

Mr. BDO - "Yes, yes, thanks very much. Brian get that pr1ck Barry Anderson on the phone for me would you?".

27-06-2013, 07:45 PM
"Just had a look at .net my they are thick they are now saying Barry Anderson's report on the Wonga money has been pulled"

From brokeback.... There's loads more but I'm on my phone and its to hard to keep track!

27-06-2013, 07:46 PM
The JKB thread is absolute gold.

27-06-2013, 07:52 PM
Please take it from me, the sponsorship of HMFC is absolutely not even remotely close to £1m per year.

The basic sponsorship package, before bonus payments for league placings, semi final or cup final appearances etc is circa £130k per annum - that is a fact!

I would hazzard a guess that a negotiation along the lines of the following took place in the last few days . . . .

Mr. Wonga - "Now that HMFC are in administration the clause in our sponsorship contract relating to this event has rendered the agreement null and void and we are reviewing our position in this regard".

Mr. BDO - "Yes, I was wondering when you were going to contact us re this. We are still keen/desperate to retain your valuable sponsorship is there anything we can do to convince you to renew and/or extend your agreement?"

Mr. Wonga - "Tell you what, instead of the previously agreed basic price of £130k, we will consider the continued sponsorship of HMFC but at a significantly reduced rate given recent events".

Mr. Wonga - "Fair enough, we will terminate our sponsorship with immediate effect and without penalty. See you later and good luck".

Mr. Wonga - "We could pay you immediately and make it look like we were riding to the clubs rescue at the same time as we and our industry are being hammered in the press and being reported to the OFT for dodgy practice - it's a win win for both parties".

Mr. BDO - "Okay, you've got a deal, but can you let our PR department deal with the press release?".

Mr. BDO - "Yes, yes, thanks very much. Brian get that pr1ck Barry Anderson on the phone for me would you?".

Exactly what I wanted to hear from the poster I wanted to hear it from :agree:

27-06-2013, 07:56 PM

:top marks:

27-06-2013, 08:00 PM

Too right G. Happy to read that as well.

27-06-2013, 08:02 PM

27-06-2013, 08:04 PM

Good man.

Another example though of Hearts fans in general having no grasp on reality. Pretty quickly here it was clear the amount didn't come close to adding up.

27-06-2013, 08:19 PM

Tune in tomorrow for the next episode, where Banderson somehow mishears £75k for 'seven figure sum', with hilarious consequences!

It must be said, for a journo paid to cover events at his beloved club, how could get the sponsorship fee wrong by so much?

27-06-2013, 08:26 PM
Tune in tomorrow for the next episode, where Banderson somehow mishears £75k for 'seven figure sum', with hilarious consequences!

It must be said, for a journo paid to cover events at his beloved club, how could get the sponsorship fee wrong by so much?
simples- he finds anything involving numbers that can't be counted out on his fingers and toes "very complex" :greengrin

27-06-2013, 08:34 PM
simples- he finds anything involving numbers that can't be counted out on his fingers and toes "very complex" :greengrinso he cannae get past 24 then? :greengrin

VickMackie
27-06-2013, 08:37 PM
The guys right. 75,000.00. Dunno why you are all laughing.

27-06-2013, 08:39 PM
Do-do-do, c'mon and do the Wonga...let's get those Yams shimmying down Gorgie Road in the party mode, in praise of their rescuers!

Best. Close. Season. Ever.

27-06-2013, 08:45 PM

Yams are so obsessed with size, they really do have an inferiority complex & automatically exaggerate everything including attendances, seasons sold & possibly even salaries, to their own detriment. Probably when they obtained the sponsorship Bazza called them up & asked how much it was. Fedupwiththis said, it's Bazza, tell him a million, surely not even Baz will swallow this one! Bazza duly believes & prints this so when he's now told they've paid it early he automatically thinks Yams have a million. He's now sitting at home with his donkey ears on thinking is it possible my beloved Yams have been telling me porkies? I suspect a divorce is pending!!

27-06-2013, 08:46 PM
Do-do-do, c'mon and do the Wonga...let's get those Yams shimmying down Gorgie Road in the party mode, in praise of their rescuers!

Best. Close. Season. Ever.

Do-do-do, c'mon and do the Wonga..... Has to be the song for the derby. One massive big conga doing the wonga.fantastic

27-06-2013, 08:49 PM
so he cannae get past 24 then? :greengrin

Doesn't even get that far dd, his webbed toes confuse him.

27-06-2013, 09:08 PM

Wouldn't that be barry Barry!I think he is in danger of being relegated to the mid-east Lothian times/herald or whatever they call the Scotsman group smaller papers, or if he's no carefull he could actually be given a job as the internal postman. dinnae think he'd be guid at that though. more likely to put mail into outbox instead o' inbox.

HibbySpurs
27-06-2013, 09:17 PM

Sounds about right to me:agree:

27-06-2013, 09:23 PM
A West Coast rag putting the EEN & Banderson to shame. all the Scotsman group publishing, is now carried out at Cardonald near Govan in Glasgow, as far as i'm lead to believe, but this is all "off the record".......right?. I do know that the area of Cardonald is awash with newspaper printer businesses though and any newspaper shops in Edin. can tell you that the EEN now comes fae Glesga. :greengrin

27-06-2013, 09:36 PM

Mr. BDO - "Yes, yes, thanks very much. Brian get that pr1ck Barry Anderson on the phone for me would you?". f/kin priceless:faf::faf:

27-06-2013, 10:26 PM
This is beyond hilarious. I had a deek at .net at work this morning and saw the original £1m story - I must admit I was a little miffed that they'd staved off the immediate threat. Came in late tonight to read the real story... dear God, could BAnderson be any more risible?

Mellow Hibee
27-06-2013, 10:50 PM
Quote from the Yam that knows the consortium that made the bid

Not such an altruistic gesture as you might suppose.

They are paying peanuts for our sponsorship deal, and by paying BDO now, have just prevented any new owner from being able to dump them for a more lucrative sponsor in the coming season. Clever move on their behalf to be fair, and it might even help us in the short term, but not so great for us medium term.

27-06-2013, 10:58 PM
and it might even help us in the short term

...it won't help what with Barry claiming it was a Million knicker in the print media. 80-90% of fans won't see the online version and casual supporters (not that sort) will be thinking "million quid? we're sorted" after todays boo-boo by Bazz. Jotters for him surely.

27-06-2013, 11:03 PM
...it won't help what with Barry claiming it was a Million knicker in the print media. 80-90% of fans won't see the online version and casual supporters (not that sort) will be thinking "million quid? we're sorted" after todays boo-boo by Bazz. Jotters for him surely.

There's gonna be heartache in the morning.

27-06-2013, 11:11 PM
A sponsor who brings misery to households up and down the land, households who are initially happy to feel wealthy for a brief fleeting moment of instant gratification, before The Man comes along and shatters their happiness looking for His payback.

Of all the types of justice on the shelf, poetic justice is my personal -15 favourite!

27-06-2013, 11:12 PM

...ooh, yeah. I'm wondering if there will be some kind of retraction or if Bazz-Azzer will just pip on squeeking his usual jambo keek.

In the old days he would be sacked on the spot. Not even a case of not checking his facts. The only reason his sub-editor and editor wouldn't be carpeted is if the office had lino. Really poor standard all round. That paper has allowed him to spout his pro-Romanov, "corridors of power at Tynecastle" "self-sufficient" guff for years, with the last few months reaching an ear screeching crescendo. Has to come to a halt at some point if they want to retain a shred of credibility.

When your making The Daily Record look like a respectable organ it's time to get rid of some monkeys.

CyberSauzee
28-06-2013, 03:50 PM
As alluded to by my fellow peg-seller Sergey, it's still on the NewsNow site with the original headline.

28-06-2013, 04:20 PM
A sponsor who brings misery to households up and down the land, households who are initially happy to feel wealthy for a brief fleeting moment of instant gratification, before The Man comes along and shatters their happiness looking for His payback.

Of all the types of justice on the shelf, poetic justice is my personal -15 favourite!

A corrupt, moral-less organisation sponsoring a corrupt moral-less football club.

Anyway, Barry Anderson is an absolute joke of a reporter, grasps onto anything he can to try convince the hearts fans everything is going to be ok. Would never trust a single word that he says, he's a clown of the highest order!

28-06-2013, 04:38 PM

I started it last night for some of the poor souls :greengrin

I was in the pub and there was a lot of banter and relief coming from around 8 of the regulars (its a Yammish pub) .... there was much hilarity to be had by all.

I fair enjoyed it for a bit wondering when their bubble would burst (I was busy reading this thread at the time) until one of 'em turned and laughed with a 5-1 in my face..... I then took great delight in letting them see the latest news ...... you could see the :confused: .... then the :fuming: and :brickwall

:lolyam: