View Full Version : England 3 v 2 Scotland (merged)

Pages : 1 2 [3]

14-08-2013, 10:25 PM
Must say that, first half in particular, Brown played Gerrard off the park.

Wouldnt say it's a massive thing to read into, Gerrard was hopeless against a second string Celtic team at the wend also. I'd me more inclined to say how good Malone and Morison were. Brown was good,though don't let this turn into a negative, they were all brilliant for me, over this piece.

14-08-2013, 10:27 PM
Watched the game tonight in the Marina Bar in Lagos, Portugal with a few fellow Scots and loads of Irish. All shouting for Scotland and have to say I was proud of the boys tonight. A great performance and very unlucky to lose. We may have just turned the corner and better times may be ahead:thumbsup:

14-08-2013, 10:27 PM
really enjoyed the game need to start playing each other more often :agree:

Me too, it was a game i had been worried we might take a bit of a skelping from, but we showed we have some very decent players who competed with a side normally much better than us.

Its was refreshing to see us go forward with a purpose, and a cutting edge to our play. We won't win world cups or European championships, but we are a bit nearer qualifying now than we were under the tramp.

14-08-2013, 10:34 PM
Me too, it was a game i had been worried we might take a bit of a skelping from, but we showed we have some very decent players who competed with a side normally much better than us.

Its was refreshing to see us go forward with a purpose, and a cutting edge to our play. We won't win world cups or European championships, but we are a bit nearer qualifying now than we were under the tramp.

Why are you bothered,your no gona be there anyway?..............get back to your protesting.....:wink:

14-08-2013, 10:37 PM
Why are you bothered,your no gona be there anyway?..............get back to your protesting.....:wink:

Just been looking at trains for Saturday, it would be a real shame if i missed a proper protest. :wink:

14-08-2013, 10:37 PM
:agree: I'm surprised he's never been targetted by a decent club.

He wants to see his career out at celtc and has no intention of moving down South, some clubs down South would struggle to match never mind pay more than he is on at celtc.

14-08-2013, 10:39 PM
A really good game and a positive performance from Scotland - unlucky to lose I would say.

Just a pity we didn't get a freekick 30 yards out in the last 20 mins as Super Leigh would have scored it.

14-08-2013, 10:40 PM
He wants to see his career out at celtc and has no intention of moving down South, some clubs down South would struggle to match never mind pay more than he is on at celtc.

I was thinking of that old romantic notion that it's not all about money and good players want to prove they can play at the highest level, it's an outdated notion I know :greengrin

14-08-2013, 10:42 PM
Just been looking at trains for Saturday, it would be a real shame if i missed a proper protest. :wink:

Na you will be there, you and the 10 pals per 1 of the 47 hardcore protesters :greengrin, am hearing all has been put on old in the Middle East as Rods had to borrow the rubber bullets and water cannons.........and Obama chose this week to go on holiday, he will regret it

14-08-2013, 10:43 PM
I'd imagine after all Browns injuries, his body wouldn't stand up to the rigours of that high intensity every week? Its a shame, as i always thought he'd be the one who could have played for one of the top sides in England.

14-08-2013, 10:51 PM

:not worth :protest:

Shields Hibee
14-08-2013, 10:58 PM
I thought Scotland played well & it was nice to see Leigh come on, just a shame he didn't score. A lot of positives from tonight and good performance against a side that features players with regular champions league experience.

Strachan will ask the players to wear the shirt with pride & fight to get as much from games as possible. I did also watch it thinking to myself, 'if only Pat could get Hibs playing like that, you know passing & moving the ball around and creating chances' :agree:

Miguel
14-08-2013, 11:01 PM
Goram
Brownlie Blackley Schaedler
Stanton
Collins Hamilton Edwards
Archibald Martin Griffiths
This is just from players I've seen.
Imagine the Famous Five in there and Baker if he'd been born in Motherwell instead of Liverpool!
Have I left anyone out?

15-08-2013, 01:28 AM
I thought Scotland played well & it was nice to see Leigh come on, just a shame he didn't score. A lot of positives from tonight and good performance against a side that features players with regular champions league experience.

Strachan will ask the players to wear the shirt with pride & fight to get as much from games as possible. I did also watch it thinking to myself, 'if only Pat could get Hibs playing like that, you know passing & moving the ball around and creating chances' :agree:

Maybe we missed a trick not getting WGS in when he was out of work looking for a job, instead we got wee Pat :confused:

HibeePaj
15-08-2013, 03:22 AM
Ok own up!

Usually winds me up when I see folk wearing club colours at Scotland games, but this guy in the Hibs tartan,,,

'Take a bow son'.

10/10

15-08-2013, 05:14 AM
Ok own up!

Usually winds me up when I see folk wearing club colours at Scotland games, but this guy in the Hibs tartan,,,

'Take a bow son'.

10/10

Lol, our very own H18ry :)

15-08-2013, 05:29 AM
H18sry was superb in the half time shoot out and won a car. Well done fella, that'll pay for a few trips!

15-08-2013, 07:19 AM
What an evening to score 4 out of 4 penalties against an ex England goalkeeper at Wembley and come home with a new car is fantastic

15-08-2013, 07:28 AM
What an evening to score 4 out of 4 penalties against an ex England goalkeeper at Wembley and come home with a new car is fantastic

Well done! I bet you won't forget last night in a hurry!

15-08-2013, 07:41 AM

Well done indeed! Not many (if any) amongst our race who can make a claim like yours! :top marks

WestEndHibee
15-08-2013, 07:53 AM

Brilliant mate! We saw the hibs tartan and thought it had to be someone from here. Got a video of your last penalty. Leigh griffiths specials into the bottom corner, didnt let the occasion get to you, hibs class :not worth.

WestEndHibee
15-08-2013, 08:03 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bkA_WduG7KM&feature=youtu.be

15-08-2013, 08:06 AM

Congratulations Ronnie! What a trip you've had.

15-08-2013, 08:29 AM

Noticed you at the game at Tynie, thought you looked a bit like John Blackley lol. You must play like him as well. Well done.:cb

15-08-2013, 09:31 AM
Well done Ronnie!

I was actually thinking that was the best half time penalty entertainment I'd ever seen and there was a huge roar when you scored.

Great stuff! :thumbsup:

15-08-2013, 09:43 AM

Well done Ronnie :aok:

Have you checked under the bonnett to see if there's an engine ? They pushed your car oot the stadium :greengrin

Fantastic night all the better for seeing a fellow Hibee score 4 goals at Wembley even super Leigh looked chuffed for you :not worth

legends of 73
15-08-2013, 09:47 AM

Your up there with lawrie Reilly scoring gainst them at wembley. Well done bud:flag::flag:

15-08-2013, 09:48 AM
Well in mate, suppose coming home with a car from Wembley makes a nice change from goalposts.

Posh Swanny
15-08-2013, 09:54 AM
Great stuff! Wembley do have a habit of putting on profitable half time entertainment. Some dude won £250,000 there the other year in a "hit the cross bar" challenge at one of the rugby matches.

Edit - here he is (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l042kXxYAUk)!

15-08-2013, 09:57 AM
Who was the England keeper and what kind of car did you win?

15-08-2013, 10:02 AM

Dave Beasant I think - it was a Vauxhall, they sponsored it but I don't know the model, I'm sure Ronnie will though

15-08-2013, 10:07 AM
Goram
Brownlie Blackley Schaedler
Stanton
Collins Hamilton Edwards
Archibald Martin Griffiths
This is just from players I've seen.
Imagine the Famous Five in there and Baker if he'd been born in Motherwell instead of Liverpool!
Have I left anyone out?

Doubt it, Blackley and Stanton must be well in to their 50's by now.:wink:

Gus
15-08-2013, 11:15 AM

It's the Vauxhall Adam

WELL DONE RONNIE....excellent stuff :not worth

15-08-2013, 11:33 AM
And slotting 4 pens into the bottom corner at Wembley , all done wearing a Hibs Kilt - pretty impressive ! Great half time entertainment and impressive penalties !

15-08-2013, 11:39 AM
"Robbie Young"

LOL Hugh Keevins

And the night got better when a Scotland fan, complete with kilt, won himself a car by bettering former Wimbledon keeper Dave Beasant in a penalty shoot-out at the interval.

Rab Douglas helped by defying the English penalty taker.

The only area of concern was whether the winner, Robbie Young, would have passed a breathalyser test if he’d decided to take the vehicle for a test drive. If he could have blown into the machine with confidence then Robbie would’ve been the only tartan-clad punter on the premises who could have managed that feat after a day out in the capital.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-match-reports/hugh-keevins-scotland-came-saw-2169613

:cb

Newry Hibs
15-08-2013, 11:50 AM
Just an aside to the much improved performance - but anyone know when Steven Fletcher is due back?

15-08-2013, 01:17 PM
Nice one Ronnie... Braw. You shouldve used the car to abduct Griffiths and snaffle him back up the road with ye :D

15-08-2013, 01:38 PM
Well done Ronnie!!

Bringing that along on Sunday?

New Beers Bus?

15-08-2013, 02:40 PM
What a day and night in London. Incredible atmosphere and just such a shame that we conceded two sloppy goals. Said at the start of the night that I would have loved to have seen us score so to score two was a big shock.

Strachan is leading us out of the dark tunnel we have been in :agree:

15-08-2013, 03:05 PM
Take back what I said about Strachan bottling it, we pushed England for that result. Not seen us play with that sort of purpose for a long time.

RoslinInstHibby
15-08-2013, 03:10 PM
who was the co-commentator last night?

pontius pilate
15-08-2013, 03:22 PM
On STV it was Alan Brazil

RoslinInstHibby
15-08-2013, 04:30 PM
On STV it was Alan Brazil

cheers, thought he was great:agree:

Makaveli
15-08-2013, 04:42 PM

I like Brazil as a summariser. He's enthusiastic, which is a massive improvement on the "it's cool to be disinterested" vibe you get from the likes of Burley and Lawrenson.

15-08-2013, 06:02 PM

You should listen to him on the breakfast show each morning on talksport, the guys a prick. He knows **** all about Scottish football, and was telling anyone who'd listen just how football would die without the huns.

He was also saying he had great contacts in Scotland who were telling him all about the armageddon that would happen if sevco were relegated, and how they'd been punished enough.

He's an arse licker who won't say a bad word about anyone in England, but constantly puts the boot into the game in Scotland.

RoslinInstHibby
15-08-2013, 06:49 PM
You should listen to him on the breakfast show each morning on talksport, the guys a prick. He knows **** all about Scottish football, and was telling anyone who'd listen just how football would die without the huns.

He was also saying he had great contacts in Scotland who were telling him all about the armageddon that would happen if sevco were relegated, and how they'd been punished enough.

He's an arse licker who won't say a bad word about anyone in England, but constantly puts the boot into the game in Scotland.

Not on your xmas card list then

15-08-2013, 06:52 PM
Not on your xmas card list then

Hardly, he wouldn't answer my emails picking up his numerous lies during the sevco period. :wink:

AndyB_70
17-08-2013, 02:12 PM

4 cracking penalties but I wouldn't be a Hibee if I didn't complain about your lack of badger handbag ;) I hope they didn't make you drive that all the way home. As soon as I saw the kilt I knew it was in the bag and what a lovely t-shirt you had on. Did anyone comment on it?

Potty78
17-08-2013, 02:19 PM
Well done mate. Great half time entertainment. Bet u wish u could have drove home rather than the train. Great trip all round.

17-08-2013, 08:25 PM
4 cracking penalties but I wouldn't be a Hibee if I didn't complain about your lack of badger handbag ;) I hope they didn't make you drive that all the way home. As soon as I saw the kilt I knew it was in the bag and what a lovely t-shirt you had on. Did anyone comment on it?

Sporran was off didnot fancy running up with that banging off the front of my kilt.

Yeah a lot of people loved the shirt, Englanders excepted :greengrin

Well done mate. Great half time entertainment. Bet u wish u could have drove home rather than the train. Great trip all round.

Get it in Sept with a 63 plate on it :aok:

18-08-2013, 09:23 AM
Got back from London on Friday night and in an act of sheer folly we decided to have a day out down to Berwick yesterday, I'm absolutely cabbaged, think I'm getting too old for this lark.

In an attempt to recover I might have to sit in front of the telly all day watching football and not do another thing.

brian6-2
18-08-2013, 02:35 PM
brilliant google earth type 360 degree photo. see if you can see yourself.

was looking at the prawn sandwich bit and im sure i could see petrie.

http://fanpic.huggity.com/182-2013-fa_england_scotland/mobile/main.php?x=69279.44341575439&y=21322.180939964834&id=732831414#&ui-state=dialog

18-08-2013, 02:40 PM
I thought the photo in The Record yesterday with the guy holding his laddie celebrating one of the goals on Wednesday was fantastic, thats what its all about, the joy on their faces is fantastic!

brian6-2
18-08-2013, 02:49 PM
I thought the photo in The Record yesterday with the guy holding his laddie celebrating one of the goals on Wednesday was fantastic, thats what its all about, the joy on their faces is fantastic!

seen that mate, great photo!

WestEndHibee
18-08-2013, 05:38 PM
brilliant google earth type 360 degree photo. see if you can see yourself.

was looking at the prawn sandwich bit and im sure i could see petrie.

http://fanpic.huggity.com/182-2013-fa_england_scotland/mobile/main.php?x=69279.44341575439&y=21322.180939964834&id=732831414#&ui-state=dialog

Brilliant photo! It must've been when we were 1-0 up as its just caught the back of my head as me and my brother were being escorted out of the England end towards the home territory.

brian6-2
19-08-2013, 08:49 AM
Brilliant photo! It must've been when we were 1-0 up as its just caught the back of my head as me and my brother were being escorted out of the England end towards the home territory.

yeah it was mate cos you can see the replay of the goal on the big screens :thumbsup:

HKhibby
21-08-2013, 01:48 PM
Can't wait!!

To get beaten??

HKhibby
21-08-2013, 01:50 PM

To get beaten??....all that way to get beaten!...surprised it was 3-2! more like 6-2! Did England Try?

21-08-2013, 02:02 PM
To get beaten??....all that way to get beaten!...surprised it was 3-2! more like 6-2! Did England Try?

20000 people went down to London and had a laugh, it was a good trip. We're Scottish which national side do you suggest we adopt?

You should try and enjoy yourself now and again, you might actually surprise yourself and enjoy it.

You are one twat of a character on here.

21-08-2013, 02:11 PM

All that way, it was London not Hong Kong! No doubt about it, England tried and were pushed all the way by a very good Scotland team.

brian6-2
21-08-2013, 02:12 PM

have you never been to a game and seen your team get beat like?

21-08-2013, 02:17 PM

Right - so by your logic - none of the 20-odd thousand Hibbies who went to Hamden in May ought to have bothered - cos there was a good chance we might get beaten.

England DID try BTW and were well matched in almost every dept by a Scotland side who for the first time in donkeys (apart from Croatia) were worthy of the excellent support they received.

21-08-2013, 02:27 PM

I may be parachuting myself straight into receiving my second infraction here, but I'll gladly take a belt across the knuckles just to take the opportunity to label you an absolute fud. Cheers, keep in touch with yourself. Erse.

21-08-2013, 04:33 PM
Is HK Hibby being sarcastic? Or just a total welt?

21-08-2013, 04:40 PM

Yup, I went all that way.

To see Wembley, one of the most amazing stadia I've ever been in.

To see Trafalgar Square, in all its blue and tartan glory.

To see the look on the face of my youngest, who has been moaning at me since 1996 to go, when he saw the above.

To see my oldest, who still talks about 1996.

And, yes, to see a football match. A match in which Scotland played well, against a group of players that are (comparatively) pretty special. Given their history, that wasn't so unexpected, but a welcome bonus all the same.

Football is cultural, it's not just about winning and losing. That's the bit that the likes of Mercer miss. As do you, apparently.

21-08-2013, 04:41 PM

should be on everyones ignore list :agree:

21-08-2013, 04:45 PM

I think we all know the answer to that one!

21-08-2013, 04:49 PM

Belated congrats from me. Them penalties were ace.

What you doing at the weekend? :greengrin

23-08-2013, 12:20 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78-yUCm4P5M :aok:

23-08-2013, 05:08 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=78-yUCm4P5M :aok:

Excellent mate. Next time Hibs are awarded a pen, I nominate you to take it. Also couldn't stop smiling at that Maradona hand of God t-shirt.

24-08-2013, 09:27 PM
Excellent mate. Next time Hibs are awarded a pen, I nominate you to take it. Also couldn't stop smiling at that Maradona hand of God t-shirt.

Cheers, and a good few cracking comments about the tee shirt :aok:

24-08-2013, 09:52 PM
Cheers, and a good few cracking comments about the tee shirt :aok:

How did you manage to get involved with the shoot-out Ronnie? Did you enter some competition I presume?

25-08-2013, 08:28 AM
How did you manage to get involved with the shoot-out Ronnie? Did you enter some competition I presume?

Entered a picture in a photo comp 6 of us stood in Prague on one leg with mask's on and Croatian flag's hanging from our kilts, never thought any more of it until I received a phone call telling me I was in the top 10, and the Scotland squad picked what one the thought was best, and it was mine.

25-08-2013, 10:06 AM
Just noticed this. Well done Ronnie

25-08-2013, 05:55 PM
Entered a picture in a photo comp 6 of us stood in Prague on one leg with mask's on and Croatian flag's hanging from our kilts, never thought any more of it until I received a phone call telling me I was in the top 10, and the Scotland squad picked what one the thought was best, and it was mine.

Clearly you're second from left :greengrin

25-08-2013, 07:37 PM
Clearly you're second from left :greengrin

Hibs kilt is a dead give away :na na: