View Full Version : England 3 v 2 Scotland (merged)

Pages : 1 [2] 3

14-08-2013, 03:04 PM
The tartan can party all they like before during and after the game, they have gone to London to have a good time so good on them.

My only wish is that England get it right up Scotland and ****** hammer yer :greengrin

I will be available tomorrow to eat my words if required.:wink:

Ltef

14-08-2013, 03:25 PM
IMO the tartan army are a bunch of fannies, they deserve to be laughed at!

14-08-2013, 03:45 PM
IMO the tartan army are a bunch of fannies, they deserve to be laughed at!

Ah well, thank you for sharing your opinion with us. The world is a better place after that.

14-08-2013, 03:49 PM
I'm going to the game tonight because I support my country - doesn't mean I am necessarily in the 'tartan army' although I am sporting a Folk tartan shirt - a combination of football casual and tartan army I suppose

There is no shame in going to a Scotland game as there isn't with Hibs. Hibs come first for me but tonight I'm Scotland - meeting some Partick Thistle fans before the game too, should be a laugh

14-08-2013, 03:50 PM
You are not alone.

Agreed. most of them are muppets but I think its after twenty years of doing nought that TA have felt the need to get dressed up and party win lose or draw. Even here in Holland there is a cleek to the Scottish followers. Not you Philmaglass if your reading. Good luck to the team and supporters anyhoo.

Aaron
14-08-2013, 04:29 PM
after twenty years of doing nought that TA have felt the need to get dressed up and party win lose or draw.

Sounds a bit like us after this year's cup final. No?

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk 4

14-08-2013, 04:32 PM
They might be cliched and they might embarrass some but is this perhaps jealousy of a camaraderie which club football doesn't have?

I know a lot of good, decent TA members and they enjoy their travels, experiences and interactions greatly. We have a few decent folks on here (e.g., Hi8sry and his brothers in arms) down in London just now and they'll be having a ball and good on them.

14-08-2013, 04:34 PM
They might be cliched and they might embarrass some but is this perhaps jealousy of a camaraderie which club football doesn't have?

I know a lot of good, decent TA members and they enjoy their travels, experiences and interactions greatly. We have a few decent folks on here (e.g., Hi8sry and his brothers in arms) down in London just now and they'll be having a ball and good on them.

14-08-2013, 04:34 PM
Foaming fountains a bit like us in Malmo, no?

14-08-2013, 04:36 PM
Foaming fountains a bit like us in Malmo, no?

Nope, ours was a Jacuzzi.

14-08-2013, 04:39 PM
Damn them for partying!

14-08-2013, 04:46 PM
A few guys getting dressed up and having a wee bit of fun, rowdy but good natured. Where's the problem?

14-08-2013, 04:51 PM
Each to their own and that but its not for me. Leave the fancy dress party to the 5 year olds. If Scotland won 10-0 or lost 10-0 it would make no difference to me. Without sounding like a hypocrate I would have went to Wembley in the 70s.

hibeemikey21
14-08-2013, 04:57 PM
A few guys getting dressed up and having a wee bit of fun, rowdy but good natured. Where's the problem?

Precisely. Folk finding it "embarrassing"??? Lighten up. It's simply people enjoying themselves and making the most of travelling/international games in which we generally don't have much success on the field.

Rangers in Manchester for the uefa cup final - THAT was embarrassing.

14-08-2013, 05:06 PM
@ScottishFA: Scotland team to face England: McGregor, Hutton, Hanley, Martin, Whittaker, Snodgrass, Brown, Morrison, Forrest, Maloney, Miller

Forrest ahead of Leigh

http://shenkitup.com/wp-content/uploads/work-meetings.gif

14-08-2013, 05:07 PM
Is it on the box?

HiBremian
14-08-2013, 05:10 PM
Is it on the box?

ON all ITV1 channels. Got a Sat Dish there, Paul? Or should I roll out a cable to berlin? :greengrin

14-08-2013, 05:27 PM
@ScottishFA: Scotland team to face England: McGregor, Hutton, Hanley, Martin, Whittaker, Snodgrass, Brown, Morrison, Forrest, Maloney, Miller

Forrest ahead of Leigh

http://shenkitup.com/wp-content/uploads/work-meetings.gif

:hilarious :top marks

14-08-2013, 05:28 PM
Nope, ours was a Jacuzzi.

:greengrin It was still foaming after the game.

14-08-2013, 05:29 PM
Kenny Miller upfront by himself, when did PF get the Scotland job

14-08-2013, 05:40 PM
Kenny Miller.

Says it all really.

England 6
Scotland 0

14-08-2013, 05:46 PM
Anyone around canary wharf watching the game? Any decent places to watch it here?

14-08-2013, 05:48 PM
Hopefully Miller gets crocked in the first few minutes and it's a short-lived final appearance.

No doubting his heart/commitment to Scotland and he's been a decent servant but he's not good enough!!!

14-08-2013, 05:49 PM
15/2 for a Scotland win on BetFred. Well, it worked in Croatia...

vein
14-08-2013, 05:51 PM
Anyone around canary wharf watching the game? Any decent places to watch it here?

The cat and canary is usually good for the football.

14-08-2013, 05:53 PM
The cat and canary is usually good for the football.

That anywhere near the four seasons hotel do you kow mate?

14-08-2013, 05:53 PM
So basically... Strachen has bottled it.

hibbydog
14-08-2013, 05:57 PM
Precisely. Folk finding it "embarrassing"??? Lighten up. It's simply people enjoying themselves and making the most of travelling/international games in which we generally don't have much success on the field.

Rangers in Manchester for the uefa cup final - THAT was embarrassing.

Agreed. There's no harm in it, and getting reeking is bloody good fun.

vein
14-08-2013, 06:38 PM
That anywhere near the four seasons hotel do you kow mate?

No idea sorry mate, canary wharf isn't too big though so will be walking distance.

14-08-2013, 06:42 PM
Why to watch, the amateurish Scottish broadcast or the **** English broadcast?

14-08-2013, 06:42 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xo1mvE-ou7g

I was at that game! ... and then just afterwards, the millennium derby!

I used to really like football. :boo hoo:

14-08-2013, 06:48 PM
Why to watch, the amateurish Scottish broadcast or the **** English broadcast?

I have just switched to the English broadcast because I didn't want to listen to the biased Scottish commentators :wink:

Come on ENGLAND hammer these Jocks. :greengrin

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 06:48 PM
I feel we are in for a pumping tonight.

But.....

I may be wrong, hence I will go for an England win of 2-0 :greengrin

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 06:51 PM
I have just switched to the English broadcast because I didn't want to listen to the biased Scottish commentators :wink:

Yeh, your always better listening to the bias English commentators :wink: :greengrin

14-08-2013, 06:52 PM
Why are Itv/Stv always so rubbish with their sports coverage compared to bbc and sky, even setanta and espn were better.

14-08-2013, 06:55 PM
The wife's singing along :grr:

14-08-2013, 06:57 PM
Oh dear, classy as ever with the booing

14-08-2013, 06:57 PM

Lol :greengrin

looks like the Scotland end didn't sell out.

14-08-2013, 07:02 PM
Griffiths would've won that chase.

Miller was blowing out his arse

14-08-2013, 07:03 PM
So basically... Strachen has bottled it.

He is a breath of fresh air that the new Scotland needs to bring in a new era.

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:04 PM
Griffiths would've won that chase.

Miller was blowing out his arse

LOL :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:11 PM

:panic:

Yassssssss

patch1875
Booooom

MADE IN LEITH
Goaaaaaaall

Goal for Scotland...nice to see the English have solved the goalkeeper problem :greengrin

Get In!!!!!!

Ooft, Scotland goal! :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:12 PM
PARK THE F***ING BUS! :grr:

14-08-2013, 07:13 PM
Keeper should have saved it.

MADE IN LEITH
Not a bad goal by Morrision, nice wee dip to it. :greengrin :thumbsup:

HiBremian
Tasty goal :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:14 PM
Plenty of time, now you've annoyed us and scored too early :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:15 PM
Fenlon out- Strachan in.

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:15 PM

No worries, could well be a 0-7 on the cards :thumbsup:

Gustavo Fring
14-08-2013, 07:16 PM
get in there

14-08-2013, 07:17 PM
Ripping the pish now. Why didn't Engerlund put their under 21s out?

14-08-2013, 07:17 PM
Get it up all you negative gits that poke fun and make fun of the national team! (pathetic btw!) C'MON SCOTLAND!!! We're a MUCH better outfit than people think and under Strachan we'll go from strength to strength!

14-08-2013, 07:18 PM
Griffiths would have scored a better goal :agree:

Fenlon out- Strachan in.

Strachan out - Fenlon in!

Just shows what a positive manager can do with the same group of players :cb

If we sit back now, it'll go pete tong. Keep attacking, its the best form of defence. ALWAYS!! :greengrin

semaj64
Good to see calm play after the goal, always a crucial point of any game

14-08-2013, 07:19 PM
Get it up all you negative gits that poke fun and make fun of the national team! (pathetic btw!) C'MON SCOTLAND!!! We're a MUCH better outfit than people think and under Strachan we'll go from strength to strength!

Let it all out son. let it all out :greengrin

MADE IN LEITH

No matter what, hopefully Strachan can bring us back some pride at competition level in the future.

If we sit back now, it'll go pete tong. Keep attacking, its the best form of defence. ALWAYS!! :greengrin

Sometimes defence is the best form of defence.

14-08-2013, 07:20 PM
No matter what the score ends up as today, you can see the improvement Strachan has made to the team already.Not only do we look disciplined, well organised and hungry, we're actually passing the ball reasonably well.

When you look at a performance like this, I always think to myself, why the hell cant Hibs do something similar against stronger opposition?

This is probably a reasonable comparison in terms of contrasting ability to watching Hibs vs. Malmo.

Griffiths would have scored a better goal :agree:

True :greengrin

Ripping the pish now. Why didn't Engerlund put their under 21s out?

Those under 21 teams can be tricky to beat!

You poor sod, English and a Hibby! :greengrin

Just shows what a positive manager can do with the same group of players :cb

No, apparently it's all down to the players and nothing to do with the manager.

No point changing the manager as he'd still have the same players to work with

**** you levein.....**** you

MADE IN LEITH
let it all out son. Let it all out :greengrin

lol

14-08-2013, 07:21 PM

Nae luck eh :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:21 PM

Lol.

Dunderhall
14-08-2013, 07:22 PM

So you travelling down for the Wembly protest?
Hodgson out, Fenlon in. :greengrin

Is Hart, Hart, glorious Hart going too far?

14-08-2013, 07:23 PM

Great tackle stop moaning

MADE IN LEITH
No, apparently it's all down to the players and nothing to do with the manager.

No point changing the manager as he'd still have the same players to work with

**** you levein.....**** you

Agree...Just a better manager who gets the best out of his players and another manager who can't. :agree:

14-08-2013, 07:25 PM
Sometimes defence is the best form of defence.

Dont agree. Defending well and setting out to defend are different. Anyway with 70 minutes to go against a marginal England team, sitting back is asking to concede. Why not go for 2-0 instead? :gun:

14-08-2013, 07:25 PM
Scotland are passing it about well.

Reminds me of Hibs

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:26 PM
Snoddy and Morrision looking good.

England are up against it just now.

14-08-2013, 07:26 PM
Scotland are passing it about well.

Reminds me of Hibs

Scotland have scored!

14-08-2013, 07:27 PM
Dont agree. Defending well and setting out to defend are different. Anyway with 70 minutes to go against a marginal England team, sitting back is asking to concede. Why not go for 2-0 instead? :gun:

So is all out attack. If only there was a third way. :hmmm:

14-08-2013, 07:28 PM
Scotland have scored!

I don't know what you mean, I'm sure Malta Hibs are doing great!

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:29 PM
ahhhhhhh

Ah well.

Yes get in :greengrin

So is all out attack. If only there was a third way. :hmmm:

Well it beats the hell out of me.. :brickwall

If you work it out apply for the Hibs job... :greengrin

Yes get in :greengrin

Booooooo :(

Whittaker looked amazingly slow there ...

MADE IN LEITH
Defence everywhere

14-08-2013, 07:30 PM
Strachan out- Fenlong back in

Just as Scotland were down to 10 for a minute as Hanley was getting treatment, oh well!

Whittaker looked amazingly slow there ...

Defence everywhere

Was Walcott not just really quick?

Well it beats the hell out of me.. :brickwall

If you work it out apply for the Hibs job... :greengrin

I'm already in the job, although apparently not for too much longer.

14-08-2013, 07:31 PM

I mean Fenlon of course.. Fenlong must be his porn star name :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:32 PM
I'm afraid there's only one winner now.

Good call, can you change manager at half time?

MADE IN LEITH
Scotland need to slow the game down a bit and get back their composure

14-08-2013, 07:33 PM
Snodgrass is a quality player. Been really impressed with him.

I'm afraid there's only one winner now.

Football in general?

Scott Brown showing his class don't care what anyone says he's a class player.

14-08-2013, 07:34 PM
Good call, can you change manager at half time?

Wouldn't that be great? You should go to Dragons den with that idea!

Notahappyhibee

Agreed

i've saw us play more decent football in the first 30 mins here than the whole of craig Levain's tenure

14-08-2013, 07:35 PM

Reminding me of his best performances with us :agree:

14-08-2013, 07:35 PM
How many subs allowed in this game?

14-08-2013, 07:37 PM
How many subs allowed in this game?

9 each (players), 1 each (managers).

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:38 PM
Sorry but Whitaker got turned inside out with this one, should have done better

Forrest is *****.

Anyone who thinks England v Scotland is not a worthy fixture needs their head examined.

Been a joy to watch.

Gutsy football football from Scotland interspersed with sheer quality form England.

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:39 PM
9 each (players), 1 each (managers).

Wish we could sub our manager :greengrin

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:40 PM
Anyone who thinks England v Scotland is not a worthy fixture needs their head examined.

Been a joy to watch.

Gutsy football football from Scotland interspersed with sheer quality form England.

Pat 0-7
14-08-2013, 07:41 PM
Impressed with Scotland so far, and in the last game.

Just goes to show what a useless twat Levien is.

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 07:42 PM
We need a big Joe Jordan in there for the high balls

14-08-2013, 07:43 PM
Wouldn't that be great? You should go to Dragons den with that idea!

My only problem is who chooses? Players, Fans or Chairman?

14-08-2013, 07:43 PM
My only problem is who chooses? Players, Fans or Chairman?

Fans of course :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:44 PM
Would love/hate to see Sparky come on and score.

Fans of course :greengrin

Im in. :agree:

MADE IN LEITH
Impressed with Scotland so far, and in the last game.

Just goes to show what a useless twat Levien is.

hibeesjoe
14-08-2013, 07:45 PM
I dont get Miller getting a start at all. Is it just me?

I feel for ye!

MADE IN LEITH

I would love/love him to score

14-08-2013, 07:46 PM
Thoroughly enjoyable 45 minutes of football, pretty surprised TBH

14-08-2013, 07:47 PM
I would love/love him to score

Totally would be awesome. 30 yard freekick, 2 yards over the line.... Given. :thumbsup:

14-08-2013, 07:47 PM
I feel for ye!

No you don't :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:48 PM
Thoroughly enjoyable 45 minutes of football, pretty surprised TBH

calm down, calm down

14-08-2013, 07:49 PM

NO! Sparky agrees with you. :greengrin

14-08-2013, 07:51 PM
So much better than under that jakie hertz tramp, there's an organised team out there with a purpose that can express themselves all over the park.

I think if people want to talk about progress, then this is it from one clown to Strachan. I fully expect England to run out winners, but the future looks so much brighter than a year ago. :top marks

RoslinInstHibby
14-08-2013, 07:54 PM
So much better than under that jakie hertz tramp, there's an organised team out there with a purpose that can express themselves all over the park.

I think if people want to talk about progress, then this is it from one clown to Strachan. I fully expect England to run out winners, but the future looks so much brighter than a year ago. :top marks

Agree 100%

14-08-2013, 07:54 PM

I think this may be his last game for Scotland, wouldn't surprise me if he retires from international football after tonight's game, that's why i think he has started.

14-08-2013, 08:00 PM
Totally would be awesome. 30 yard freekick, 2 yards over the line.... Given. :thumbsup:

I'd prefer if it bounced two yards the wrong side of the line... and was given. :giruy:

14-08-2013, 08:00 PM

yup
and a crying shame he wasnt in charge at the start of the WC qualifying... we might have had a fighting chance.

Pat 0-7
14-08-2013, 08:05 PM

14-08-2013, 08:06 PM
Yasssssssssssssss

Dani Alves with a cracking finish in Switzerland v. Brazil.

Kenny Miller's done alright there anaw...

yasss get in :agree::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Dunderhall
Yes!!

hibeesjoe
14-08-2013, 08:07 PM
Always proves me wrong haha. Good goal

Kenny Miller :thumbsup:

Time for Leigh now? :wink::greengrin

SJNB Hibby
Kennnnnnnny!!!!!!!!!!!!

That's why Kenny Miller's on I guess - great goal! :greengrin

aye
lol

LOL @ Cahill.

14-08-2013, 08:08 PM
Who said kenny wouldn't be good in the SPL

To score the 2nd goal?

must be FT by now surely

THAT'S why Miller is playing! People need to seriously start opening their eyes!!!!! C'MON SCOTLAND!

MADE IN LEITH
YESSS

miller we love you

HiBremian
Get him signed, Petrie :grr:

Stunning goal from Miller. And what as save by MacGregor !!

Great goal Kenny. Scotland playing really well.

Miller <3

14-08-2013, 08:09 PM

Oops!!

14-08-2013, 08:10 PM
******** ffs

Not sure I could listen to Alan Brazil every week, but it is nice to hear a bit of enthusiasm in place of McCann, Provan, Burley and such scheisters

Boom we're back

goofy.

MADE IN LEITH
Peach of a goal

Another great save by big McGreggor

Off the bar
*******s

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 08:11 PM
Oops!!

Double Oops

nae wunner wee miller's gutted, that should have been dealt with ffs

This really is like watching Hibs

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 08:12 PM
Ahhhhhhhhhhh

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 08:12 PM
No again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

14-08-2013, 08:14 PM
Come on england ffs

14-08-2013, 08:14 PM
You know what's stood out for me tonight? Boy does abit of pace usually go far in a game of football! Wish we had some decent pacey players at Hibs!!

Off the bar
14-08-2013, 08:17 PM
Real good game now only one sub after an hour in a friendly. quality

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 08:19 PM
Gotta admit Leighton Baines is a class act, would love to see him at Easter Rd:agree:

14-08-2013, 08:21 PM
should have been a red for walker...ref's a homer :agree:

14-08-2013, 08:21 PM
Lucky Walker

14-08-2013, 08:22 PM
You know what's stood out for me tonight? Boy does abit of pace usually go far in a game of football! Wish we had some decent pacey players at Hibs!!

Apart from crappy tactics and players out position, its the big problem for us right now. :boo hoo:
Honestly - set a time trial for the young uns, fastest two go left and right.

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 08:22 PM
Terrible tackle by Lampard

14-08-2013, 08:23 PM
I think reports that Scottish football is dead/dying are greatly exaggerated. Good performance so far...

14-08-2013, 08:24 PM
Gotta admit Leighton Baines is a class act, would love to see him at Easter Rd:agree:

Models himself on David Murphy :greengrin

14-08-2013, 08:25 PM
Terrible tackle by Lampard

He got there a quick as he could!

14-08-2013, 08:25 PM
I think reports that Scottish football is dead/dying are greatly exaggerated. Good performance so far...
Whatever happens in the next 25 mins, I think Scotland have gave a good account of themselves.

14-08-2013, 08:26 PM

England are pretty average these days, but its good to see Scotland having a go.

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 08:26 PM
He got there a quick as he could!

14-08-2013, 08:27 PM
Yaaaaaaas

Off the bar

defending again :(

Off the bar
14-08-2013, 08:28 PM
defending again :(

yup two soft goals from set pieces

****ing boooooooo!

Time for Leigh to come on and score that free kick

mon the sparkmesiter

14-08-2013, 08:29 PM
Leigh Leigh super Leigh :((((((((

MADE IN LEITH
14-08-2013, 08:29 PM
Lambert just on and scores aahhhhhhhhhh

14-08-2013, 08:30 PM
Rooney fast becoming Englands version of Zlatan without the talent

MADE IN LEITH
Sparky on Miller off

Come on Sparky

14-08-2013, 08:32 PM
Rooney fast becoming Englands version of Zlatan without the talent

Or the charisma.

14-08-2013, 08:33 PM
Come on England put this to bed.

14-08-2013, 08:33 PM
weakest player for us tonight has been whitty, why did he go with the man and not stick on the post ffs

14-08-2013, 08:34 PM
Or the charisma.

Or the hair.

14-08-2013, 08:35 PM
Or the hair.

Or the nose

14-08-2013, 08:38 PM
Or the nose

Or the Scrabble score.

14-08-2013, 08:38 PM
Or the nose

Or the lugs.

14-08-2013, 08:39 PM
gie the baw tae griffiths

14-08-2013, 08:41 PM
What a pity Craig Levein set Scotland back about 5 years. Wee Gordon has us looking decent enought.

Another manager making a noticeable difference in a short period of time too.

14-08-2013, 08:44 PM
keep it down whitty ffs man

14-08-2013, 08:46 PM
keep it down whitty ffs man

Keep it down? I think the advice should be 'don't shoot you tit, cross it'.

14-08-2013, 08:48 PM
Keep it down? I think the advice should be 'don't shoot you tit, cross it'.

typical whitty, always wants to be the hero.. :rolleyes:

14-08-2013, 08:50 PM
Full time: 3-2.

Decent performance tonight and signs of encouragement for the future but unfortunately another glorious Scottish failure.

14-08-2013, 08:50 PM
How long to go chaps?

14-08-2013, 08:51 PM
ah well, good game to watch and a very good performance from sconnie botland :agree: wee gogs is restoring our pride

Makaveli
14-08-2013, 08:53 PM
Good effort and some goal from Kenny. Too many midfield changes though -- Conway and Mulgrew totally unnecessary IMO.

14-08-2013, 08:54 PM
Playing Whitty at left back is like playing Stevenson at right back, totally wrong

decent performance though, so this is what enjoying a game feels like, i had forgotten how it felt

14-08-2013, 08:54 PM
Its performances like that, that give us a wee bit of pride back and a bit of promise for the future. Well done all involved, the future looks a lot brighter. :aok:

14-08-2013, 08:55 PM
We need this fixture back, in fact bring back the home internationals.

Brilliant performance by Scotland.

Dunderhall
14-08-2013, 08:56 PM
Good game to watch, good performance which is encouraging.
Some decent play, almost as if the players had a game plan/tactics. Not bad for a few days together.
If only.

Brown marking Lambert though.

Still overall pleased with that.

14-08-2013, 08:56 PM
What a pity Craig Levein set Scotland back about 5 years. Wee Gordon has us looking decent enought.

Another manager making a noticeable difference in a short period of time too.

Yep, perhaps Strachan doesn't need several seasons and a complete set of new players to make any sort of difference. Tactically, totally different: attack minded, defence looked organised and they worked as a unit. More or less the same players.

Look a bit suspect at set pieces but we were up against a team a few rungs higher up the international ladder than us.

14-08-2013, 08:57 PM
Dont like to see us lose, especially not the England but its clear how much we've improved under Strachan.

Levein had us playing like Fenlon (or does Fenlon have us playing like Levein?) - scared to try and win games, no attacking threat and a team that cant pass a ball and never looks like scoring.

There'll be talk of another glorious failure from Scotland but after suffering through the Levein area, I'm happy to see a Scotland team that plays positive football and looks organised.

Well done everyone that featured for Scotland today, we need to focus now on getting the team ready for the next set of qualifiers but I think we definitely have the right man for the job.

Now Petrie, up to you to find someone to transform this Hibs team in a similar fashion!

14-08-2013, 08:58 PM
another glorious Scottish failure.

Calm down FFS!:rolleyes:

14-08-2013, 08:59 PM
First time I've sat and watched a Scotland all the way through for a long, long time. I thought we played really well, matched up as well as we could against a far stronger England team and but for a couple of defensive lapses could have taken a draw or a win.

Really enjoyable game, played with an edge. Pretty happy if Scotland continue to play like that.

14-08-2013, 09:00 PM
Very proud tonight, thought we did really well and Miller was brilliant. Optimistic about the future a bit more now, decent game of football.

Loads of movement from the side tonight, and people wanting the ball in tight areas. Bodes well for the future.

Howler Hart would be happy to come away a winner.

Yep, perhaps Strachan doesn't need several seasons and a complete set of new players to make any sort of difference. Tactically, totally different: attack minded, defence looked organised and they worked as a unit. More or less the same players.

Look a bit suspect at set pieces but we were up against a team a few rungs higher up the international ladder than us.

The match up tonight is probably quite similar to watching Hibs vs. Malmo.

Ok Scotland still lost to day but the difference between a good manager and a bad one is all too obvious when you look at Scotlands performance as the underdogs tonight and contrast it to Hibs display against Malmo, or even our performance against Celtic in the Cup Final last season.

another glorious Scottish failure.

Decent performance tonight and signs of encouragement for the future but unfortunately another glorious Scottish failure.

Think that's harsh - we looked very good tonight and played some lovely passing football against a better quality opposition.

They probably edged it as both sides tired but we should be proud of how we went about the game. Kept going, didn't give up and looked threatening.

Proud as punch but absolutely gutted.

14-08-2013, 09:03 PM
Thought we did well and great to see us playing with a bit confidence again.

I took great delight in how bad England were, very very poor and for the level they 'should' be competing at they're going to have quite a few dissapointing years ahead of them.

14-08-2013, 09:04 PM
Strachan has certainly made a difference in a short space of time, more optimistic for Scotland than for some time.

Noticed N Ireland beat Russia 1-0 tonight in a WC qualifier which may stop Russia qualifying automatically, good result for Michael O'Neill, would he still be interested in the Hibs job?

14-08-2013, 09:06 PM
Overall it was a decent game, and I think Scotland can be more pleased with the performance than England. Relying on goals from set pieces won't take them very far in their qualifying campaign, I'm afraid. Can Scotland reproduce this level of commitment and concentration on a consistent level against ABE: no, so I don't quite see a bright new future unfolding here, but it's better than we have been, I guess. Nice to see Griffiths on.

Gustavo Fring
14-08-2013, 09:07 PM
england have the sort of quality we can only dream of . welbeck and walcots pace can terrorise any defence and i thought we handled them pretty well . we looked much better with the ball than usual and managed to give their defence a few problems , a massive transformation from the dark days of 4-6-0 levein

14-08-2013, 09:07 PM
Cracking game and an encouraging performance. Also a cracking release from concentrating on Hibs matters!

14-08-2013, 09:09 PM
Overall it was a decent game, and I think Scotland can be more pleased with the performance than England. Relying on goals from set pieces won't take them very far in their qualifying campaign, I'm afraid. Can Scotland reproduce this level of commitment and concentration on a consistent level against ABE: no, so I don't quite see a bright new future unfolding here, but it's better than we have been, I guess. Nice to see Griffiths on.

That's 2 excellent AWAY performances back to back against superior opposition in Croatia and now England. I don't think we're suddenly going to be genuine contenders but we've made good strides under Strachan and long may it continue!

14-08-2013, 09:09 PM
Thought we played really well tonight. Scary how quickly Strachan has improved them.

14-08-2013, 09:18 PM
A decent game, Scotland played some good stuff, were well organised and made it very difficult for England.

Plenty of encouraging signs for both teams supporters IMO. England supporters know exactly how good/bad England really are and don't believe the media hype that try to build them up as being better and expected to compete at major tournament final stages.

Like most games you can talk about the goals and how easily they could have been prevented etc etc but that's football. Surely this fixture and indeed the home internationals need to be reintroduced in place of the usual poor meaningless (to the fans) friendlies that we are normally subjected to.

14-08-2013, 09:18 PM
enjoyed that scottish performance tonight, played the ball smartly, just shows you what a team can do with a manager thats positive and wants his team to pass it around, i shudder to think what the game would have been like as a spectacle if potter had still been in charge, scotland much improved and they are defo on the way up

14-08-2013, 09:19 PM
Great game and an encouraging performance from Scotland. Strachan has us playing the ball on the deck and has the players realising they are good enough to do it even in tight positions. Snodgrass, Miller and Morrison excellent and really all the players played to their potential. We could really do with a quality Centre Half though.

It would be great to play England more regularly. Even every 4 years would do.

I've got tickets for the Belgium game but they will be a step up in class from Ingurlund. Really looking forward to it now though.

14-08-2013, 09:22 PM
Must say that, first half in particular, Brown played Gerrard off the park.

LeVain and his tactics shown up for the anti football that they were. I hope the man never works in management again....unless it's for zombie hertz :na na:

Well that was a breath of fresh air when watching Scotland for the first time in ages!

What a difference a decent manager & human being make to a nation!!!

That bearded, plsh stained, beasty looking, specky, hertz, trampy, clueless, hingoot negative ****wit Levein, totally ruined the national side for years...

Thats what happens when you appoint a maroon mong

14-08-2013, 09:23 PM
Well that was a breath of fresh air when watching Scotland for the first time in ages!

What a difference a decent manager & human being make to a nation!!!

That bearded, plsh stained, beasty looking, specky, hertz, trampy, clueless, hingoot negative ****wit Levein, totally ruined the national side for years...

Thats what happens when you appoint a maroon mong

Do you think Levein would do a job for Hibs. :greengrin

RoslinInstHibby
14-08-2013, 09:26 PM
Felt a bit for whittaker, up against 2 players with unreal pace.

14-08-2013, 09:28 PM
Calm down FFS!:rolleyes:

Love how you've conveniently edited my post to suit your own views. :aok:

14-08-2013, 09:29 PM
Thought we did well and great to see us playing with a bit confidence again.

I took great delight in how bad England were, very very poor and for the level they 'should' be competing at they're going to have quite a few dissapointing years ahead of them.

England were very, very poor were they?

Well they still won the game didn't they?

Why can't we concentrate on a good Scottish performance. England were decent. Not world beaters, but a decent side.

The Scots did well.

14-08-2013, 09:30 PM

And another who chooses to edit my post to suit their view. :aok:

14-08-2013, 09:32 PM
Good game, competitive, really industrious from Scotland who tried to play it on the ground a lot - very encouraging. England always had the edge though, really pacy in all areas.

Good to see both sides using the whole pitch and width - if only eh !

Really good watch tonight though, with England shading it on overall quality.

14-08-2013, 09:32 PM

Agree. Also playing on the wrong side of the pitch for him but we really have no one else for left back.

14-08-2013, 09:35 PM
Really enjoyed that game and I don't normally bother with international football, haven't done for years. I am sure there are many others like me in that respect. Think the Celtic nations tourney from a couple of years back is a sure enough sign there is no real strong appetite for a return to to the home nations tournament but why not bring back a regular Scotland v England challenge match. Not talking every year as it would become boring but I am sure there would be enough interest for it to be held in June 2 or 4 years in non euro or world cup years. There is an international date in June do they could just use that or the August/November/February dates. Can't believe we have not even drawn them in a qualifying group ever. We have had all the other top countries - Spain, Italy, Germany, holland, France, Sweden, Portugal to name a few but never England. It is like FIFA keeps us apart deliberately.

14-08-2013, 09:41 PM

He was at fault for the 3rd goal imo, why did he feel he had to come off his line at the corner? an easy task to head into an open goal, had he stood his ground he would have blocked it.

Other than that Strachan has lifted us right up there and I think he will be a great manager for us.

Stringer
14-08-2013, 09:43 PM
Amazing atmosphere in chanter. The shape was great, Fenlon take heed

14-08-2013, 09:47 PM
I enjoyed that game.

blaikie
14-08-2013, 09:54 PM
Must say that, first half in particular, Brown played Gerrard off the park.

The best Scottish player on the pitch tonight!

14-08-2013, 09:57 PM
Good game and a lot of positives to take from it. I wasn't sure about Kenny starting on the night but what a terrific performance, his touch was excellent and his link up play was top class, and obviously his goal was brilliantly taken. The midfielders put in a good shift (Scotty Brown particularly) and I was pleased that most of our play was kept on the deck. Strachan has always been a much better manager than Levein and it's great to have him in.

14-08-2013, 10:02 PM
Have to wonder why brown wouldnt want to move down south and test himself against those players every week

14-08-2013, 10:06 PM
Have to wonder why brown wouldnt want to move down south and test himself against those players every week

:agree: I'm surprised he's never been targetted by a decent club.

14-08-2013, 10:11 PM
really enjoyed the game need to start playing each other more often :agree:

14-08-2013, 10:22 PM
The best I've seen Scotland play in years if not in all the time I've been watching them. We played with freedom and protected the ball and moved it quickly, with no intimidation from a so called better team which of course they are. I've been quite anti Scotland the last ten years but tonight made a slit dent Ito what I expect forum our national team, despite the result which in the grand scheme of things means nowt.

well done everyone involved with the national team you can hold our head up high.

Right back to my real team rekindling my love affair :wink: