View Full Version : Any new signing rumours? (merged)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 [13] 14 15 16

08-08-2013, 07:46 PM
I'm sure I read Chris Baird is training with Hibs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Baird

Would make the signing of nelson pretty pointless so can't see it.

Where did you read it about, a paper or was it on a website?

08-08-2013, 07:50 PM
I'm sure I read Chris Baird is training with Hibs.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Baird

Harry redknapp said he was interested in him at qpr recently so would rule us out

08-08-2013, 07:50 PM

It might have been on The Bounce.

deeks01
08-08-2013, 07:57 PM
Pascal Chimbonda anyone?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23600004

Sent from my KFTT using Tapatalk 2

08-08-2013, 08:19 PM

Not if McPake is finished.

Time For Heroes
08-08-2013, 08:22 PM
Read that yesterday and meant to post, he's playing for free, 34yrs old with loads of experience, I'd take him in a minute. Could teach our fullbacks loads.
Won't happen though.

Pascal Chimbonda anyone?

08-08-2013, 09:25 PM
Pascal Chimbonda anyone?

Something very strange about this, surely he could get better than a non league side?? The fact he's playing for free cant rule any one out.

gorgie greens
09-08-2013, 10:26 AM
Something very strange about this, surely he could get better than a non league side?? The fact he's playing for free cant rule any one out.

Apart from our lovely neighbours ,get it up you cheating ****bags

09-08-2013, 10:34 AM
Pascal Chimbonda anyone?

Wouldnt go anywhere near him his attitude is stinking and he is one of Willie MacKay's charges.

09-08-2013, 11:12 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/mark-wilson-returns-dundee-united-2143157

Mark Wison freed. Currently training with Utd. Could do a job for us

09-08-2013, 11:34 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/mark-wilson-returns-dundee-united-2143157

Would be a great signing IMO.

09-08-2013, 11:55 AM
Hmm not sure about Chimbonda, he's notorious for wearing gloves regardless of what the weather is like. I remember the reactions to AOB's over use of gloves :-) Seriously though, he was a cracking full back a few yrs ago. Solid defender and great going forward. Bit like Kujabi but with the ability to defend...

09-08-2013, 11:57 AM

Good player but has only started 123 games in the last 7 and a half years. Definitely don't need another injury prone RB.

Hibs07p
09-08-2013, 02:55 PM
I am repeating a rumour at least 3rd hand, as far as I am aware. I was going to post it on the sevco thread, but it is only a rumour. A mate attended a wedding about 4-6 weeks ago, Deano and Sam Morrow were there, it might even be Sam's wedding. I only heard about a week ago Apparently Deano has been told to accept a 6 figure pay off, he won't play for the hun again. That doesn't mean he's a Hibs target, but who knows? Other alleged info to come out was in relation to transfer fees and kickbacks. I don't know if any of it is true, I don't particularly care. It's maybe been posted already, I don't know?

JDHibs
09-08-2013, 08:29 PM
Andy webster to coventry city, 2 year deal. Ssn

Sweet Left Peg
09-08-2013, 11:16 PM
Wouldnt go anywhere near him his attitude is stinking and he is one of Willie MacKay's charges.

Correct. Possible urban myth territory, but did he not come off the pitch at full time when playing for Wigan and pull a transfer request out of his sock, shortly before joining Spurs?

NorthRoadHibee
10-08-2013, 12:25 AM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/hibs-blow-as-alex-harris-ruled-out-with-broken-foot-1-3039354

Claros been ruled out apparently :(

BarneyK
10-08-2013, 07:05 AM
http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/latest/hibs-blow-as-alex-harris-ruled-out-with-broken-foot-1-3039354

Claros been ruled out apparently :(

In spite of how it's written, I actually read that as he won't be signing because his Honduran club won't play ball; that Fenlon still wants him but that something needs to change at their end. Not a definite end to it IMO.

10-08-2013, 07:24 AM
I feel a bit sorry for his Honduran club, they stuck by him after he got shot in the head and then let him go on loan for a year and a half, they've done pretty good by him so I think they've every right to play hard ball while his stock is high.

10-08-2013, 07:43 AM
In spite of how it's written, I actually read that as he won't be signing because his Honduran club won't play ball; that Fenlon still wants him but that something needs to change at their end. Not a definite end to it IMO.

I agree, still think there is more to come from this before the end of the month, if Jorge is remaining at Motagua for now but not willing to play for them then they may be happy to get rid for a nominal fee.

Don't think he can go to the MLS now as their transfer window is closed.

gegs70
10-08-2013, 10:46 AM
Do we need anymore midfielders? I would rather have another forward going player??

davhibby
10-08-2013, 10:54 AM
Do we need anymore midfielders? I would rather have another forward going player??

We don't but Claros is a class above anything else we have so we do need him

10-08-2013, 12:58 PM

I agree but if we have the chance to secure Claros on say a 3 year deal we should jump at it especially with KT's injury record and the fact that he is only on a 1 year contract.

green.and.white
10-08-2013, 01:35 PM
I am repeating a rumour at least 3rd hand, as far as I am aware. I was going to post it on the sevco thread, but it is only a rumour. A mate attended a wedding about 4-6 weeks ago, Deano and Sam Morrow were there, it might even be Sam's wedding. I only heard about a week ago Apparently Deano has been told to accept a 6 figure pay off, he won't play for the hun again. That doesn't mean he's a Hibs target, but who knows? Other alleged info to come out was in relation to transfer fees and kickbacks. I don't know if any of it is true, I don't particularly care. It's maybe been posted already, I don't know?

He has just scored for The Rangers haha I love .net

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 01:37 PM

playing now unfortunately:rolleyes:

Hibs07p
10-08-2013, 01:38 PM
He has just scored for The Rangers haha I love .net

Aye, thats that rumour quashed. :greengrin

10-08-2013, 03:54 PM
Are we still interested in Liam Boyce, just scored a cracking goal seemingly, would be happy to see us sign him.

Gerard Hughes ‏@ghughes365 23m (https://twitter.com/ghughes365/status/366219708770430980) Absolutely ridiculous goal from Liam Boyce. Worth watching later. #dontselltheBoyce (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23dontselltheBoyce&src=hash)

ghosty ‏@ghosty1879 25m (https://twitter.com/ghosty1879/status/366219571746717698)
What a goal from Liam Boyce. # sexyfootball 4-1 Cliftonville.

Skeet Mc Nally ‏@mickeymcnally 24m (https://twitter.com/mickeymcnally/status/366219917969727492)
Liam boyce torturing defenders as usual lol RED ARMY

Stuart McKeown ‏@MackYesMack Liam Boyce's second goal today was world class. #dbp (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23dbp&src=hash)

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23648917?utm_source=twitterfeed&utm_medium=twitter

Boyce shot in Cliftonville's third and then produced a skilful mazy run and calm acute angle finish for 4-1.

Cliftonville's last goal will be a big talking point for the Reds fans as it underlined the talent which earned Boyce a string of end-of-season awards.

Boyce weaved his way in from the bye-line on the left and got past several defenders and keeper Graeme McKibben before nonchalantly flicking his finish into the net.

10-08-2013, 05:06 PM
Video of Boyce wonder goal here, think he would be a good signing for us, especially with no chance in getting Sparky for some time.

http://twitter.yfrog.com/eu41672026xljrdknqxjmrcyzrmodz?sa=0

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 05:16 PM
Video of Boyce wonder goal here, think he would be a good signing for us, especially with no chance in getting Sparky for some time.

http://twitter.yfrog.com/eu41672026xljrdknqxjmrcyzrmodz?sa=0

Link never worked for me. Would be nice to have someone in the team to excite. No Harris is going to be awful if we don't bring somebody in to get the fans on there feet.

10-08-2013, 05:21 PM
Link never worked for me. Would be nice to have someone in the team to excite. No Harris is going to be awful if we don't bring somebody in to get the fans on there feet.

not sure if this will work

http://a.yfrog.com/img534/4076/41672026xljrdknqxjmrcyzrmod.mp4

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 05:38 PM

Still no, prob due to I phone.

Leighonel
10-08-2013, 06:18 PM
Still no, prob due to I phone.

Worked for me on android

10-08-2013, 07:17 PM

Worked for me, thanks for sharing :thumbsup:

MontrealHibs
10-08-2013, 08:37 PM
Derek Riordan... Has offered to play for free , dont shoot the messenger.

10-08-2013, 08:41 PM

Will give that a miss like.

10-08-2013, 08:45 PM

We have nothing to lose accepting his services for absolutely nothing and we'd be mad not too! :agree:

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 08:46 PM

Would love to have him on the bench tomorrow.

Purehibee_MYB
10-08-2013, 08:52 PM

:worms:

Pat 0-7
10-08-2013, 08:53 PM
Would love to have him on the bench tomorrow.

Id love to have the Deek from 8 or 9 years ago on the bench...........

Come on, that ship has sailed surely?

What has he done over the last couple of years that makes you think he can still play at this level?

Dunderhall
10-08-2013, 09:10 PM
Abandon thread, abandon thread. :offski:

MontrealHibs
10-08-2013, 09:14 PM
Abandon thread, abandon thread. :offski:

I totally agree he was last chance saloon the last time around! X

10-08-2013, 09:20 PM
Not a good person to have around the dressing room IMO, not a good influence for the younger players.

10-08-2013, 09:21 PM

What has he done over the last couple of years that makes you think he can still play at this level?

He's Derek Riordan.

We bang on about Paddy McCourt being able to change a game, yes his workrate is poor (Riordan) etc etc etc but he is still Derek Riordan.

10-08-2013, 09:23 PM
I totally agree he was last chance saloon the last time around! X

We're all mates on this board but there's no need for the kiss :greengrin

10-08-2013, 09:24 PM
Who cares if he's playing for free?

Anyone's worth a try if they're for nothing!

10-08-2013, 09:26 PM
He did that 4 months ago. Nothing new here.

10-08-2013, 09:27 PM

Seem to mind Deek scoring 17 coming in from he left, as opposed to who we have there now???

OrdHibby
10-08-2013, 09:29 PM
]Not a good person to have around the dressing room[/B] IMO, not a good influence for the younger players.

neither is the manager

:cb

10-08-2013, 09:50 PM
What we don't have is a match winner.

IN the last 20+ years, the only match winners time and time again that I can remember us having are Riordan and Griffiths with their ability to deliver something out of nothing.

Riordan is now 30 and extremely rusty.

If he can still do it however and wants to offer that ability to us for nothing, see what he does in the EoS league and bring him into the first team if he shows he's still got it.

ZERO risk.

10-08-2013, 10:16 PM

I will play for nothing you ok with that aye? Nothing to lose :wink:

10-08-2013, 10:19 PM
neither is the manager

:cb

That is rubbish. Fenlons tactics may not be great, but he gives youth a chance, and he has got rid of the "George St culture" that was at the club.

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 10:21 PM

I agree, he hasn't done much. But to maybe find his form and bang them in, for not even a small wage, free:confused: if it doesn't work then it's a shame with no gamble. Imagine 2 nil up the Moro and bringing Deek on, brilliant. They'd hate it too.
Best not to get into really. I don't get it.

10-08-2013, 10:23 PM
I agree, he hasn't done much. But to maybe find his form and bang them in, for not even a small wage, free:confused: if it doesn't work then it's a shame with no gamble. Imagine 2 nil up the Moro and bringing Deek on, brilliant. They'd hate it too.
Best not to get into really. I don't get it.

HE IS FINISHED as the saying goes ENDOF :rolleyes:

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 10:31 PM
HE IS FINISHED as the saying goes ENDOF :rolleyes:

What do you mean?:wink:

10-08-2013, 10:41 PM
I won't judge him like others are doing.

He contributed a huge amount of great moments over the past few years and there is no doubting his love for Hibs.

He deserves a little more respect I would suggest, if and it's a big IF, he is willing to play for nothing.

IF he is and the story is true then I wish him good luck and hope he can recapture the form we know he had previously. Win Win as far as I am concerned.

Time For Heroes
10-08-2013, 10:54 PM
Don't like him personally but with a few young strikers in the team the would certainly learn from him, add that to the fact he'd play for free I'd be interested.
So we've had Zemmama, Garry, Riordan who's next?

10-08-2013, 11:00 PM
Don't like him personally but with a few young strikers in the team the would certainly learn from him, add that to the fact he'd play for free I'd be interested.

Griffiths.

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 11:07 PM
You forgot Deano:agree:

OrdHibby
10-08-2013, 11:18 PM
That is rubbish. Fenlons tactics may not be great, but he gives youth a chance, and he has got rid of the "George St culture" that was at the club.

Explain how this is a good influence. If you aren't teaching them properly then you're not a good influence. :rolleyes:

West hamBERNIAN
10-08-2013, 11:18 PM

Someone said Ian Murray in pat out. :greengrin

WestEndHibee
10-08-2013, 11:26 PM
Explain how this is a good influence. If you aren't teaching them properly then you're not a good influence. :rolleyes:

Noun
The capacity to have an effect on the character, development, or behavior of someone or something, or the effect itself.

Sounds like a good influence to me if it truly was paddy that got rid of it.

10-08-2013, 11:44 PM
Does anyone know if Zemmama is still without a club?

OrdHibby
11-08-2013, 12:03 AM
Noun
The capacity to have an effect on the character, development, or behavior of someone or something, or the effect itself.

Sounds like a good influence to me if it truly was paddy that got rid of it.

Have you changed your name from CallumLaidlaw ?

11-08-2013, 12:06 AM
Does anyone know if Zemmama is still without a club?

Yeah I think he is. Plus Ramadan is finished and Eid was this past Thursday.

11-08-2013, 08:52 AM

I think you are forgetting that one of his players was injured for 2-3 months as the team were out on a George St night out?

Agree his tactics aren't great.

11-08-2013, 08:58 AM
I think you are forgetting that one of his players was injured for 2-3 months as the team were out on a George St night out?

Agree his tactics aren't great.

After a sensible team building evening out some roaster smacks Deegan one and pelts it.
Nothing to do with the teams behaviour.

11-08-2013, 09:22 AM
So that was a sensible choice of venue for a "team building" night out?

I think it's easy to spin that story either way. I personally don't have a problem with the so called George St culture when the team were performing and scoring goals aplenty.

The likes of Boozy and Zemmama loved a night out, it never stopped them performing. Give me that over professional types who are crap footballers.

11-08-2013, 05:05 PM
Is there a striker out there we could realistically get before the transfer window ends? I'd give my back teeth for a couple of goals just now. Collins needs help up there.

Dunderhall
11-08-2013, 05:52 PM
Is there a striker out there we could realistically get before the transfer window ends? I'd give my back teeth for a couple of goals just now. Collins needs help up there.
I don't understand why Caldwell hasn't been given some game time in the league.
We might have the answer, albeit not for 90 mins at every game at his age.

He's sounding frustrated on his twitter account.

11-08-2013, 05:57 PM

I said exactly that after the game. He actually looked like he could put the ball in the net when given a chance last season, no idea why Handling seems to have taken priority.

11-08-2013, 06:00 PM

True, and we've nothing to lose by giving him a start against Dundee United. Give the lad a chance to get a goal or two.

11-08-2013, 10:48 PM
Paddy McCourt is training with us again thins week.

11-08-2013, 10:52 PM
[QUOTE=Speedway;3715578]Paddy McCourt is training with us again thins week.[/QUOTE

Would have hurt them today :agree:

11-08-2013, 10:57 PM

We'll have him hoofing the ball up the park into empty space in jig time.

11-08-2013, 11:11 PM

No doubt he'll train with us until Wednesday, then **** off and sign for someone else.

11-08-2013, 11:22 PM

It wasn't Fenlon who got rid of LOB. :wink:

You obviously don't go up George Street much at the weekends and Tuesday nights, you will still see Hibs players up there every weekend.

Purehibee_MYB
12-08-2013, 12:49 AM

I was the same. Him or Handling should have been brought on instead of Taiwo, and Taiwo should have started instead of OTJ. I think OTJ will come good but he hasn't proven himself yet so until he has gelled better in training or whatever, his position should go to Taiwo who was excellent in the 2nd half of last season.

DanTheMan
15-08-2013, 05:25 PM
What date do the Scottish and English transfer windows close? 31st is a Saturday.

15-08-2013, 05:26 PM
What date do the Scottish and English transfer windows close? 31st is a Saturday.

11pm September 2nd

DanTheMan
15-08-2013, 05:30 PM
11pm September 2nd

Thanks

15-08-2013, 05:43 PM
If we could sign Zemmema and McCourt, I'd be delighted.

15-08-2013, 05:45 PM
All died down now

15-08-2013, 07:06 PM
Doubt fenlon will be given any more dosh...its clearly a case of when not if he gets his jotters!!

15-08-2013, 07:11 PM
Doubt fenlon will be given any more dosh...its clearly a case of when not if he gets his jotters!!

Why would any player want to come to us at the moment they'd be mad.

With so much uncertainty over the manager's position, why would you sign for a manger who may/should not be here much longer.

Petrie needs to get it sorted now.

15-08-2013, 11:03 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12691/8871921/transfer-news-several-clubs-are-chasing-crewe-winger-byron-moore

Wonder if we are one of them? Sure we were in for him last season before he signed a new deal.

15-08-2013, 11:13 PM

Maybe but why spend so much on Collins unless Pat is given chance to use him in team ? Mc Court won`t be fully match fit for a few weeks so as a short term signing might be a risk financially at least . Still hope he signs if fit and motivated though . Hopefully all new players will be given 100% backing from fans in rest of season .

16-08-2013, 05:54 AM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/12691/8871921/transfer-news-several-clubs-are-chasing-crewe-winger-byron-moore

Wonder if we are one of them? Sure we were in for him last season before he signed a new deal.

A fee would need to be involved as he still has a year left in his contract, and seeing as we already dished out 200k on Collins I seriously doubt we'd spend more money on a transfer fee.

Much more likely to be a free agent we're after IMO.

16-08-2013, 06:16 AM
Neck on the chopper but I reckon we will go for Moore.

I also reckon we'll sign McCourt short term as well on pay as you play.

16-08-2013, 06:43 AM
Seems like the sort of 'just what we need' type player. 6 goals and 16 assists. That would do for me.

I am sure he was mentioned last summer.

If and that's a big 'if' would he come to Hibs.

16-08-2013, 07:13 AM
Neck on the chopper but I reckon we will go for Moore.

I also reckon we'll sign McCourt short term as well on pay as you play.

Do you actually think players sign these pay as you play contracts? Especially given it will be a short term contract if any.

neck on the chopper from me and say we won't sign him on a pay as you play if at all.

16-08-2013, 07:29 AM

That would be my opinion also. The lid of the tin will be getting welded shut at this very moment. :greengrin

16-08-2013, 11:55 AM
Do you actually think players sign these pay as you play contracts? Especially given it will be a short term contract if any.

neck on the chopper from me and say we won't sign him on a pay as you play if at all.

Yes, i would think that these deals exist. McCourt is a perfect example of a 'risk'. Not played much football, yet to prove he can actually last a game etc.

I played rugby and was aware of the more injury prone players who were paid a small salary but given a greater bonus if they played a game, maybe this would be how things are done as opposed to 'pay as you play'.

16-08-2013, 12:05 PM

I know of two players both in their mid/late thirties ,who are on "pay as you play " in Scottish 2nd Division and two in English 1st Division , again in late 30's
All Scot's !!

16-08-2013, 12:35 PM
Ex player spoken with the club today, oooohhh.....................:wink:.

16-08-2013, 12:38 PM

oooooooohhhhh , aaaaahhhhhhhhhhh !!:greengrin:aok:

16-08-2013, 12:39 PM

Gary O? Derek Riordan?

16-08-2013, 12:39 PM

Ohhhhhh zemmamaaaa

number 27
16-08-2013, 12:41 PM
oooooooohhhhh , aaaaahhhhhhhhhhh !!:greengrin:aok:

Darren Jackson?

16-08-2013, 12:44 PM
Oooohhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh Valdas Trakys?

16-08-2013, 12:48 PM
Shiels would be my shout.

16-08-2013, 12:49 PM
Gary O? Derek Riordan?

April Fools Day - is it ? :na na::bye:

16-08-2013, 12:49 PM
Shiels would be my shout.

Not unless he was born in morocco. :wink:

16-08-2013, 12:55 PM
Blackpool tease

16-08-2013, 12:57 PM
We need to have a big signing to lift the fans. Signing Zemmama or Deano would be good.

16-08-2013, 12:58 PM

Fenlon out, Murray in

16-08-2013, 01:03 PM
Not unless he was born in morocco. :wink:

So it's either Zemmama or.. Em, Benji..

16-08-2013, 01:03 PM

...Matron?

16-08-2013, 01:06 PM
Did you not say Mccourt had signed last week?

16-08-2013, 01:07 PM
...:thumbsup:Matron?

Franksuzy

16-08-2013, 01:07 PM

It's Konte isn't it :(

16-08-2013, 01:09 PM

He did, let me down aswel so he did! :(

16-08-2013, 01:14 PM

Yip i did, that was the info i got and it appears wrong. :agree:

Cammy
16-08-2013, 01:23 PM
Mowbray's reasons for freeing Zemmama. Link: http://www.gazettelive.co.uk/incoming/merouane-zemmama-found-not-being-4873100

I still think he would be a good addition to the team.

16-08-2013, 01:29 PM
Zemmama was good because he was in an attacking, passing team.

What goods he going to do if we hoof the ball and avoid him?e

16-08-2013, 01:34 PM
The moroccan messi - I love zouma hope he still has his permed mullet style barnet

16-08-2013, 01:36 PM
I'd rather we scouted wider rather than looking at old
Players!

16-08-2013, 02:04 PM
Benji!

16-08-2013, 02:06 PM
I'd rather we scouted wider rather than looking at old
Players!

I would rather we scout a player who isn't plagued with injuries.

BH Hibs
16-08-2013, 02:14 PM
Yip i did, that was the info i got and it appears wrong. :agree:

Did u not also threaten to name your source if he didn't sign? Don't expect you to do so btw :greengrin

16-08-2013, 02:15 PM

Aye he did, I think he talks guff :greengrin

16-08-2013, 02:18 PM
I would rather we scout a player who isn't plagued with injuries.

And he's not a pacy winger - I want a creative player in the middle but not Zouma.

I'd have loved Hibs to go for wee Aaron Doran from Inverness and maybe Nigel Hasselbaink, who is raw as he'll but boy what a player he could become if he channeled his energy properly with good coaching. These are the styles of player we should be bringing in (in my opinion)

Sumner
16-08-2013, 02:18 PM
.. Wide player
.. Ex player

.. Alan O'Brien !!!

16-08-2013, 02:29 PM
.. Wide player
.. Ex player

.. Alan O'Brien !!!

Please NOOOOOOO!!!!

Could be Gary-O - he always had his moments but going by recent newspaper appearances he now qualifies as a wide-o in more ways than one

BH Hibs
16-08-2013, 02:30 PM
.. Wide player
.. Ex player

.. Alan O'Brien !!!

Joe Harper fits that description:wink:

Lester B
16-08-2013, 02:31 PM
.. Wide player
.. Ex player

.. Alan O'Brien !!!

Nah!

Must be Tony Rougier!

16-08-2013, 02:36 PM
Mowbray's reasons for freeing Zemmama. Link: http://www.gazettelive.co.uk/incoming/merouane-zemmama-found-not-being-4873100

I still think he would be a good addition to the team.

Please be true!!!

Would LOVE wee Zouma back in the team - a true bums on seats/bums off seats as he gets the ball type player.

Injuries were a problem but he was worth about a point a game when fit. Seemed to love the club and had no problems with attitude - come on tache-man/Fenlon - make it happen and all will be forgiven as far as I'm concerned.

16-08-2013, 02:37 PM
And he's not a pacy winger - I want a creative player in the middle but not Zouma.

I'd have loved Hibs to go for wee Aaron Doran from Inverness and maybe Nigel Hasselbaink, who is raw as he'll but boy what a player he could become if he channeled his energy properly with good coaching. These are the styles of player we should be bringing in (in my opinion)

The lad McGowan at St Mirren would have been a shout, did his contract not come to an end last season, know he has signed a new one but always been impressed with him, gets assits and scores a few goals. :aok:

16-08-2013, 02:43 PM

The lad McGowan at St Mirren would have been a shout, did his contract not come to an end last season, know he has signed a new one but always been impressed with him, gets assits and scores a few goals. :aok:

Terrific player SH, agreed :agree:

I posted my wee list of wants pre-season - I'd love Hibs to have gone for Danny Carmichael, Hasselbaink, Michael Tidser - always have a soft spot for Deano so hey if Shiels became available I think it would be foolish not to get him in. I know we looked at DC from QoTS - however seems that these kind of players are seen as a luxury Hibs could do without under Pat. He wants a workmanlike, hard to beat side - which as we can see is fairly paying off eh :aok:

big-mo
16-08-2013, 02:45 PM
Oooooh Zemmama, Oooooooh Zemmama.

big-mo
16-08-2013, 02:54 PM
Oooooh Zemmama, Oooooooh Zemmama.

He is down at HTC this afternoon. Still time for Hibs to muck it up and miss out on his signature.

MurrayfieldHibs
16-08-2013, 02:58 PM
Interesting move. Pat will be delighted to have another right back :wink:

16-08-2013, 03:01 PM
We know that Zemamma can be in and out the team through injury, but there's no doubt that he is potential match winner who can make things happen, and is definitely a footballer I am happy to pay to watch.

Would be happy for him to return on the right kind of deal.

16-08-2013, 03:01 PM
Terrific player SH, agreed :agree:

I posted my wee list of wants pre-season - I'd love Hibs to have gone for Danny Carmichael, Hasselbaink, Michael Tidser - always have a soft spot for Deano so hey if Shiels became available I think it would be foolish not to get him in. I know we looked at DC from QoTS - however seems that these kind of players are seen as a luxury Hibs could do without under Pat. He wants a workmanlike, hard to beat side - which as we can see is fairly paying off eh :aok:

Agreed, once again, i had a we chat with a former player the other day there, "boring" was one word he described Fenlons style of football, can't argue with that eh, sadly i don't think we will see Deano back at Hibs. :aok:

16-08-2013, 03:06 PM
Interesting move. Pat will be delighted to have another right back :wink:

Nah, natural progression that we try him out as keeper and push Williams into the defensive midfield role we originally signed him for.

16-08-2013, 03:11 PM
Zemmama coming back wouldn't fill me with optimism tbh.

16-08-2013, 03:14 PM

It would fill up the treatment room.

16-08-2013, 03:15 PM
Nah, natural progression that we try him out as keeper and push Williams into the defensive midfield role we originally signed him for.

Also we can finally put Hanlon in the center-midfield role where he belongs :duck:

16-08-2013, 03:20 PM

Indeed. He's very inconsistent when he finally manages to get himself fit aswell.

16-08-2013, 03:21 PM
I'd be a lot more happy if we added McCourt and Zemmama. Even short term deals or pay as you play. If we do pay as you play we would Prob only pay out about £4000 between the two all season. :D

16-08-2013, 03:39 PM

It is already full with McPake, Clancy, Harris & Cairney - no room for any injury prone players

16-08-2013, 03:44 PM
It is already full with McPake, Clancy, Harris & Cairney - no room for any injury prone players

Its a gamble we have to take imo. With Harris out we have nobody that can beat a man. I would take the chance.

16-08-2013, 03:54 PM
Would certainly take him before McCourt.

16-08-2013, 03:55 PM
id rather have the wee man than not have him.

16-08-2013, 03:58 PM
I would imagine the likes of Vine, Collins and Craig will love the chances that Zemmama creates...And lets be honest we would be envious if he was joining another SPFL club ...

16-08-2013, 04:03 PM
I'd be delighted with Zouma coming back...

Last major talent we've had at ER since Sparky

16-08-2013, 04:07 PM
Would be happy to take Zouma back. I hope he stays fit though. A pay as you play deal would be ideal.

16-08-2013, 04:12 PM
Its a gamble we have to take imo. With Harris out we have nobody that can beat a man. I would take the chance.

Have to agree there is nobody else of his type on the horizon, and we are running out of time.

Would rather take a chance on Zemmama being able to turn it on, even if he is inconsistent, than have no creative spark in the side.

Bring back Zooma I say. :thumbsup:

16-08-2013, 04:22 PM
Did he approach Hibs or Hibs approach him?
Wonder if there's serious mileage in this or not..

Torto7062
16-08-2013, 04:28 PM
plenty rumours of his return.

thoughts

16-08-2013, 04:33 PM
Do Hibs not have a scouting system for players of this type? We're crying out for pace and creativity but does he still have that?

patch1875
16-08-2013, 04:41 PM
Stinks of desperation

gringojoe
16-08-2013, 04:41 PM

Willie Murray?

Chump
16-08-2013, 04:47 PM
I'd be delighted with Zouma coming back...

Last major talent we've had at ER since Sparky

I'd put Stokes very much in that bracket....in fact Stokes for me has been the most talented player at ER in the last 5 or 6 years for me!!

16-08-2013, 04:49 PM
I'd put Stokes very much in that bracket....in fact Stokes for me has been the most talented player at ER in the last 5 or 6 years for me!!

Sparky, hands down.

16-08-2013, 05:00 PM
Zemmama is still my grandson,s favorite player .
At the Hibs xmas party santa asked the wee fella what he wanted , his reply was can you have a word with the manager for selling Zemmama ,, santa had to compose himself as everyone burst out laughing , santa told him that it was Calderwood that sold Zemmama , the wee fella looked him straight in the eyes and said , can you have a word with him then !! Lol
Wee fella apart i think he would be a great signing !

16-08-2013, 05:03 PM
I'm not on Twitter, but could the young pups (and not so young if you're on it) not start trending

#wewantwingers or #needforspeed

Come on Hibs, get your act in gear - get some pace and width in FFS !!!!!!

Leighonel
16-08-2013, 05:09 PM

Do you think he is more talented than Zemmama Steven fletcher, Derek Riordan, Leigh, Claros and KT? Stokes was good but don't think he is the most talented player we have had in that time frame, He was so frustrating at times.

I would love Zemmama back.

16-08-2013, 05:37 PM
Stinks of desperation

Trying to sign a skilful, creative player is desperate!?

16-08-2013, 05:42 PM
Stinks of desperation

What does? Your post?

16-08-2013, 05:51 PM
What's David Murphy up to these days? About the only player left we havent been linked with.

shamo9
16-08-2013, 06:09 PM
Didn't Fenlon state at the start of his reign that he would be looking to sign players who were more or less tried and tested in British football? Mixu, Collins and Hughes were known for bringing in exotic names that rarely worked out - Thicot, Noubissie, Zurabi, De Graaf etc - even Fenlon had Kujabi! As far as I can remember a lot of us were getting frustrated that we weren't looking at Scotland in the same way that teams like Dundee United were. There was a feeling that we should be using our superior finances to pinch players from teams around us like Liam Craig, Tom Clancy and Tudor-Jones.

Fenlon's made a lot of mistakes but I don't think his signing policy is one of them. Tactical incompetence is his major failing.

patch1875
16-08-2013, 06:13 PM
Trying to sign a skilful, creative player is desperate!?

Nope an injury prone ex player.

lots of issues first time round with injuries and Ramadan feel its a feeble attempt to win over the fans oh wait a minute it's working.

Chump
16-08-2013, 06:15 PM
Do you think he is more talented than Zemmama Steven fletcher, Derek Riordan, Leigh, Claros and KT? Stokes was good but don't think he is the most talented player we have had in that time frame, He was so frustrating at times.

I would love Zemmama back.

Stokes scored 22 goals in a season and didn't get out of first gear....I'd certainly put him higher than Zemmama. Surprised you even brought Claros, KT and Riordan into that time frame as they haven't really achieved much yet (KT) on his second spell (DR) or at all (Claros). Leigh and Fletcher are close but for me it was Stokes who seemed more complete.

Leighonel
16-08-2013, 06:24 PM
Stokes scored 22 goals in a season and didn't get out of first gear....I'd certainly put him higher than Zemmama. Surprised you even brought Claros, KT and Riordan into that time frame as they haven't really achieved much yet (KT) on his second spell (DR) or at all (Claros). Leigh and Fletcher are close but for me it was Stokes who seemed more complete.

Just wondering buddy, just shows how much opinions can differ. Didnt riordan score a couple less goals than stokes from left mid? Thats why I put him. Claros is one of the best central midfielders we have had in the last few years. I also think leigh and fletch are well ahead of stokes. KT has undoubted quality, might not have fully shown it since his return but it will come. And well zemmama was my favourite player when I was younger so he is definitely better than stokes.

Chump
16-08-2013, 07:39 PM
Just wondering buddy, just shows how much opinions can differ. Didnt riordan score a couple less goals than stokes from left mid? Thats why I put him. Claros is one of the best central midfielders we have had in the last few years. I also think leigh and fletch are well ahead of stokes. KT has undoubted quality, might not have fully shown it since his return but it will come. And well zemmama was my favourite player when I was younger so he is definitely better than stokes.

I'll not challenge you on Zemmama then if he was your fav player.....thats bad chat!!:greengrin

Riordan frustrated me more than any other player in recent times as we all know what he could have done and that is saying something as he is still one of the highest goal scorers in SPL history.

ColintonHibs
16-08-2013, 08:50 PM
Zemamma has been one of my favourite players since I started watching hibs. On par with griffiths, riordan, boozy and bamba. Different class :flag::not worth

:banana:

BH Hibs
16-08-2013, 10:11 PM
What's David Murphy up to these days? About the only player left we havent been linked with.

Give it to Tuesday or Wednesday and he'll be at East Mains no doubt :cb

17-08-2013, 01:41 AM
I heard we are interested in Hameur Bouazza, however I couldn't tell you how much truth is behind it

17-08-2013, 07:15 AM
I heard we are interested in Hameur Bouazza, however I couldn't tell you how much truth is behind it

Is that the guy that was on trial at the Orcs?

17-08-2013, 07:22 AM
Is that the guy that was on trial at the Orcs?

Yup

http://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/football/rangers-trial-mamady-sidibe-and-hameur-bouazza-as-search-for-new-players-continues.1375109771

cloudy
19-08-2013, 01:59 PM
Mid august and not a single rumour of players coming in or leaving? Are we finished in this window or is Petrie not trusting pat to make anymore signings? Surely we need to bring in a couple more players?

19-08-2013, 02:02 PM
Mid august and not a single rumour of players coming in or leaving? Are we finished in this window or is Petrie not trusting pat to make anymore signings? Surely we need to bring in a couple more players?

I honestly cant see PF being given another bean to bring anyone else in at present. If that is the case he should be removed and replaced with a new manager who would at least have a couple of weeks to bring some new blood in.

19-08-2013, 02:09 PM
I honestly cant see PF being given another bean to bring anyone else in at present. If that is the case he should be removed and replaced with a new manager who would at least have a couple of weeks to bring some new blood in.

This. I'd never want Hibs to lose but I did think Saturday may have had a silver-lining when Arabs went 1 up.

19-08-2013, 02:18 PM
This. I'd never want Hibs to lose but I did think Saturday may have had a silver-lining when Arabs went 1 up.

To be honest it should happen anyway irrespective of a draw at home to United.

The main thing for me is the style of football being played. I watched some of the Jags Hearts game on Friday and Thistle's football against the very same side we had been awful against a few days previously was absolutely night and day. They were skilful, inventive with excellent passing and moving and were a joy to watch, I dont know the last time I have said that about a Hibs team, certainly not in the last 2 managers reign.

19-08-2013, 02:33 PM
Roll on transfer deadline day :greengrin

19-08-2013, 02:40 PM
To be honest it should happen anyway irrespective of a draw at home to United.

The main thing for me is the style of football being played. I watched some of the Jags Hearts game on Friday and Thistle's football against the very same side we had been awful against a few days previously was absolutely night and day. They were skilful, inventive with excellent passing and moving and were a joy to watch, I dont know the last time I have said that about a Hibs team, certainly not in the last 2 managers reign.

i agree Jim - but it is clear RP is wary of another very public failure (to add to his long list!)

19-08-2013, 02:53 PM
Fenlons after a right back...midfielder and a centre forward according to the record....on newsnow site

19-08-2013, 03:04 PM
Fenlons after a right back...midfielder and a centre forward according to the record....on newsnow site

HIBERNIAN: Scott Robertson bought Pat Fenlon some time with his last ditch equaliser at the weekend, now the Hibs boss wants his board to buy him three new recruits. He has his eye on a right-back, a midfielder and a centre-forward.

Would surprise me. He's been going on about only wanting one more in (winger). Could do with those positions filled though to give us a bit of depth and more quality.

19-08-2013, 03:07 PM
HIBERNIAN: Scott Robertson bought Pat Fenlon some time with his last ditch equaliser at the weekend, now the Hibs boss wants his board to buy him three new recruits. He has his eye on a right-back, a midfielder and a centre-forward.

Would surprise me. He's been going on about only wanting one more in (winger). Could do with those positions filled though to give us a bit of depth and more quality.

If Petrie gives him any more cash i give up.

19-08-2013, 03:21 PM
Roll on transfer deadline day :greengrin

This is what its all about. :agree: :thumbsup:

http://images.football365.com/12/08/800x600/white2_2820751.jpg

patch1875
19-08-2013, 03:24 PM

because we need more midfielders:rolleyes:

19-08-2013, 03:25 PM
because we need more midfielders:rolleyes:

We definitely need a wide midfielder.

19-08-2013, 03:37 PM
We definitely need a wide midfielder.

We need a midfielder who is not frightened to run by the forwards.
In the distant past, we had full backs, that could and would do this.

Heedersnvolleys
19-08-2013, 03:42 PM
We need a midfielder who is not frightened to run by the forwards.
In the distant past, we had full backs, that could and would do this.

Who's making them scared? ;-)

19-08-2013, 04:05 PM

If he gets these three in then that'll be his final chance in the eyes of the board. We'll see.

19-08-2013, 05:00 PM

Another midfielder?? No thanks.

"Grubbing around the message boards"

GreenPJ
19-08-2013, 05:04 PM
If he gets these three in then that'll be his final chance in the eyes of the board. We'll see.

I struggle to see how if he brought in 5 players it would change anything. OK we may need better quality in some positions but his whole footballing mentality is about not getting beat (and we still do a lot of the time). The style, culture, mentality all have to change and that doesn't come from new players it comes from the man who is telling them who is playing and how he wants them to play.

19-08-2013, 05:11 PM

It also reports StMirren are rumoured to want Tony Watt on loan from Celik . Surely we could get him

19-08-2013, 05:20 PM
Hately is surely tailor made for what we need now. Surely he has been approached??

19-08-2013, 05:26 PM
Hately is surely tailor made for what we need now. Surely he has been approached??

4 years and over 150 games in the SPL . Sounds to sensible to me , didnt know he was only 23

Sweet Left Peg
19-08-2013, 05:43 PM

Exactly the type of player we need. Along with the other types we need of course. I am amazed that. He has not found a club yet. He would have Petrie's desired "sell-on" value too.

19-08-2013, 05:45 PM
With Mullen not being ready for the SPL and Clancy injury prone, we definitely need a right back as well as a right winger. Quite why Fenlon thought we could go into this season with only two wide players (Harris and Cairney) is beyond me.

Hately would suit me for the first part, and I'm that desperate for a winger that I'd even consider McCourt.

19-08-2013, 05:45 PM

Definitely would take Tom Hateley. A very good versatile player with plenty of experience.

Purehibee_MYB
19-08-2013, 05:55 PM
Definitely would take Tom Hateley. A very good versatile player with plenty of experience.

Unsure as to why he has been linked with the likes of St.Mirren when we could really do with him. That's not to say we aren't necessarily after him though.

19-08-2013, 09:40 PM

Probably to play at left mid, right back, and right wing respectively

19-08-2013, 10:14 PM
With Mullen not being ready for the SPL and Clancy injury prone, we definitely need a right back as well as a right winger. Quite why Fenlon thought we could go into this season with only two wide players (Harris and Cairney) is beyond me.

Hately would suit me for the first part, and I'm that desperate for a winger that I'd even consider McCourt.Maybe he didn`t expect Harris and Cairney to pick up serious injuries at the same time ? And does anyone have statistics for Clancy to suggest he was injury prone before he joined us ? Seems to have become accepted as fact though he seemed to have played a lot before joining us. Also , why is Hateley still available ?

19-08-2013, 11:08 PM
Maybe he didn`t expect Harris and Cairney to pick up serious injuries at the same time ? And does anyone have statistics for Clancy to suggest he was injury prone before he joined us ? Seems to have become accepted as fact though he seemed to have played a lot before joining us. Also , why is Hateley still available ?

Strange one so it is, the rangers maybe.

19-08-2013, 11:25 PM
Probably to play at left mid, right back, and right wing respectively

This hilarious joke is getting pretty old.

20-08-2013, 08:01 AM
Maybe he didn`t expect Harris and Cairney to pick up serious injuries at the same time ? And does anyone have statistics for Clancy to suggest he was injury prone before he joined us ? Seems to have become accepted as fact though he seemed to have played a lot before joining us. Also , why is Hateley still available ?

Clancy has played an average of 15 games a year since 2007, mainly at Killie. I think this was more based on not being very good rather than injury however.

If we're just meant to accept that Mullen is not good enough for the SPL then that's another nail in Fenlons coffin for me.

20-08-2013, 08:12 AM
Clancy has played an average of 15 games a year since 2007, mainly at Killie. I think this was more based on not being very good rather than injury however.

If we're just meant to accept that Mullen is not good enough for the SPL then that's another nail in Fenlons coffin for me.

And unless he heals pretty damn quick he should be emptied in summer and we should start showing a wee bit of a ruthless streak. East Mains is not an emergency ward or convalescent home - same applies to McPake. Fed up with Hibs employing players with injury records which suggest they may be susceptible to long term absences - sorry, I know that's harsh and injuries are part and parcel of the game, but enough is enough for me. Dilgence should be done when signing players and jeez if we are even considering players like Bates then we are bringing things on ourselves and asking for bother. How is it young Paul Hanlon for example can kick nearly very ball for Hibs, and when injured, manages to fight back quickly and regain fitness ? Is it off the pitch professionalism ? Is it desire to play ? It's beginning to make me wonder how much we are pressing players to get back and play.

If the injuries are as bad as suggested by Pat, humble pie will be eaten by me and an apology dished out - but I think it goes beyond that personally. The injuries to Paul Cairney and Alex Harris are nasty but you sense from the pair of them that they want back quickly, even at this early stage into their injuries. I've not heard one interview from Tim in the media saying how much he misses the game and wants back to help the cause ? Has there been one ??

Anyway, Clancy was howling at Tynecastle in the 0-0 game, howling at Hampden in the Falkirk game, and in general has been honking on the odd occasion he has played - tells good jokes in the dressing room however :rolleyes: think you can tell how much I rate the fella ! :aok:

20-08-2013, 08:20 AM

Mullen does seem a very daft signing. When it first came out that we were looking at him, most of the opinions I heard/read about him were poor to average at best. I make that two games in a row where he has been hooked after playing 45 minutes, or less, which suggests Fenlon doesnt rate him now either, so why did we sign him? Surely someone must have watched him beforehand to offer him a deal? I think ts fairly clear Clancy is injury prone, so the 'back up' RB will play a fair number of games, yet we are now in the position of having to find someone else, which is ridiculous and a complete waste of wages.

As for the other two signings we are meant to be after, I hope they are something different. Vine, Caldwell and Collins all seem like they could fill a similar role for us, we need something different up top. And I hope the midfielder is solely a fairly pacey wide player, I dont think I could handle seeing us bringing in another central player!

20-08-2013, 03:38 PM
Mullen does seem a very daft signing. When it first came out that we were looking at him, most of the opinions I heard/read about him were poor to average at best. I make that two games in a row where he has been hooked after playing 45 minutes, or less, which suggests Fenlon doesnt rate him now either, so why did we sign him? Surely someone must have watched him beforehand to offer him a deal? I think ts fairly clear Clancy is injury prone, so the 'back up' RB will play a fair number of games, yet we are now in the position of having to find someone else, which is ridiculous and a complete waste of wages.

As for the other two signings we are meant to be after, I hope they are something different. Vine, Caldwell and Collins all seem like they could fill a similar role for us, we need something different up top. And I hope the midfielder is solely a fairly pacey wide player, I dont think I could handle seeing us bringing in another central player!

Mullen's a kid, the opportunity arose to sign him and I imagine he's not on a huge wage.

The charge sheet against Fenlon is a long one, but I wouldn't add this to the list. Even the best managers have taken a punt on a player and it hasn't worked out.

davieh
20-08-2013, 03:58 PM
I see Dundee Utd have signed up Mark Wilson. As has been said, thought he would be a sound signing for Hibs current requirements.

20-08-2013, 05:02 PM
Mullen's a kid, the opportunity arose to sign him and I imagine he's not on a huge wage.

The charge sheet against Fenlon is a long one, but I wouldn't add this to the list. Even the best managers have taken a punt on a player and it hasn't worked out.

He is what, 19 and probably didnt expect to be starting. He was well regarded at Hearts also. He has potential and a decent coach would IMO make him a better defender so way too early to be written off.

wazoo1875
20-08-2013, 05:06 PM
This is what its all about. :agree: :thumbsup:

http://images.football365.com/12/08/800x600/white2_2820751.jpg

There's 3 massive tits in that picture !

20-08-2013, 05:13 PM
I see Dundee Utd have signed up Mark Wilson. As has been said, thought he would be a sound signing for Hibs current requirements.

Check his stats on Soccerbase, has played a shockingly low amount of football in the last 6-7 years. Another injury prone full back is not what we need, despite the fact that he is good when fit.

Tom Hateley should be snapped up immediately, excellent full back who can play elsewhere as well, great set piece taker too.

20-08-2013, 05:16 PM
Check his stats on Soccerbase, has played a shockingly low amount of football in the last 6-7 years. Another injury prone full back is not what we need, despite the fact that he is good when fit.

Tom Hateley should be snapped up immediately, excellent full back who can play elsewhere as well, great set piece taker too.

A centre midfielder by trade that was played out of position at full back by Motherwell management. Only clueless incompetents do that sort of thing. :greengrin

20-08-2013, 07:50 PM

IIRC Clancy played close to 30 games in his last season with Well before we signed him. I don't believe he had a bad injury record unlike McPake but in common with nearly everyone else I was desperate for us to take a chance on JM. If Clancy isn't good enough we can blame PF but I don't think he can be judged harshly re his injury.

patch1875
20-08-2013, 07:53 PM
Clancy is apparently doing full training now

20-08-2013, 07:55 PM
Clancy is apparently doing full training now

He will probably be miles behind the rest fitness wise, has he done any pre season?

20-08-2013, 07:56 PM
He will probably be miles behind the rest fitness wise, has he done any pre season?

Based on our fitness levels... is that really too far though?

20-08-2013, 07:58 PM
Based on our fitness levels... is that really too far though?

Aye you might be onto something.

patch1875
20-08-2013, 08:01 PM

Nope probably won't be available for a couple of games I would imagine

MADE IN LEITH
20-08-2013, 08:01 PM
Any definite signings?

Forget about the rumours please.

20-08-2013, 09:02 PM
Serious lack of activity, it's a nightmare we need more decent players to sign and they turnout pish :greengrin

seriously though need some in soon.

Dunderhall
20-08-2013, 09:10 PM
Any definite signings?

Forget about the rumours please.
You need the definitely signed thread.
its a lot shorter. :wink:

20-08-2013, 09:19 PM
IIRC Clancy played close to 30 games in his last season with Well before we signed him. I don't believe he had a bad injury record unlike McPake but in common with nearly everyone else I was desperate for us to take a chance on JM. If Clancy isn't good enough we can blame PF but I don't think he can be judged harshly re his injury.

I agree.

My point was that if Mullen isn't good enough to come right into our first team then it was pointless signing him. Is he any better at RB than Donaldson or Forster there - doesn't appear so.

Taiwo could slot in there better as a back up I'd suggest.

20-08-2013, 09:20 PM
In the case of Clancy I thought he did a very good job for us when he first signed.

Each time he returns he seems to be back too quickly and has aggravated his injuries

Still think there is a decent defender in there once fully fit

Would like to see a back four - when all fully fit - of

Clancy. Forster. Nelson. McGivern

20-08-2013, 09:24 PM
In the case of Clancy I thought he did a very good job for us when he first signed.

Each time he returns he seems to be back too quickly and has aggravated his injuries

Still think there is a decent defender in there once fully fit

Would like to see a back four - when all fully fit - of

Clancy. Forster. Nelson. McGivern

If all fully fit I'd prefer Clancy, McPake, Nelson and McGivern.

20-08-2013, 09:26 PM

Never gonna happen Andy. :boo hoo:

20-08-2013, 09:34 PM
Never gonna happen Andy. :boo hoo:

Sadly not!

GreenOnions
20-08-2013, 10:12 PM

For the sake of variety (and ensuring we have a bit more pace in defence) I'd go with:

Clancy, Forster or McPake, Hanlon, McGivern

I do like the post above suggesting that, until Clancy is fit, we should try Taiwo there

20-08-2013, 10:21 PM
For the sake of variety (and ensuring we have a bit more pace in defence) I'd go with:

Clancy, Forster or McPake, Hanlon, McGivern

I do like the post above suggesting that, until Clancy is fit, we should try Taiwo there

I'd go for Clancy, Nelson, Hanlon, McGivern.

Really don't feel confident in McPake any more which is a real shame.

21-08-2013, 12:27 AM
I agree.

My point was that if Mullen isn't good enough to come right into our first team then it was pointless signing him. Is he any better at RB than Donaldson or Forster there - doesn't appear so.

I agree, energetic centre-mids often end up being pretty decent fullbacks if they ever have to play there, should only be used as a last resort though.

But can you imagine the uproar on here if Fenlon tried him there.

TheFamous1875
21-08-2013, 12:31 AM
I agree, energetic centre-mids often end up being pretty decent fullbacks if they ever have to play there, should only be used as a last resort though.

I think he'd be. Great fit at RB. Can defend, attack and has pace. Fenlon!!!

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD

21-08-2013, 08:01 AM
I agree.

I said exactly that I the team v killi thread re Taiwo

21-08-2013, 08:38 AM

Yer both awf yer heids. Two hoof ball CBs? NO THANKS. Hanlon will continue to be first on the teamsheet. Its about the only thing that Fenlon is doing right.

Our future back 4 will be Clancy - Forster - Hanlon - McGivern.

21-08-2013, 08:38 AM

I think Taiwo at RB is one that would actually make sense (provided he has the positional sense to do it).

21-08-2013, 08:53 AM
Yer both awf yer heids. Two hoof ball CBs? NO THANKS. Hanlon will continue to be first on the teamsheet. Its about the only thing that Fenlon is doing right.

Then we're in a lot of trouble when pace, power or positional awareness are required.

21-08-2013, 08:55 AM
Then we're in a lot of trouble when pace, power or positional awareness are required.

21-08-2013, 09:16 AM
I was going to put this on the private board but I thought there might be more who know the boy on main.

Anyone heard that we're in for the guy from Livi who has been talked about on here before now. Can't think of his name but apparently got released by Hibs earlier in his career. Us, Morecambe and Southend are supposedly in for him.

21-08-2013, 09:18 AM
I was going to put this on the private board but I thought there might be more who know the boy on main.

Anyone heard that we're in for the guy from Livi who has been talked about on here before now. Can't think of his name but apparently got released by Hibs earlier in his career. Us, Morecambe and Southend are supposedly in for him.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stefan_Scougall

This guy I think.

nribs
21-08-2013, 09:18 AM

Anyone heard that we're in for the guy from Livi who has been talked about on here before now. Can't think of his name but apparently got released by Hibs earlier in his career. Us, Morecambe and Southend are supposedly in for him.I heard scougall a while ago. Id have him in my team very small and slight but then again so was Latapy :)

gegs70
21-08-2013, 09:25 AM

If he was rejected by hibs I cant see him coming back given our present state! Possibly get better deal in div 1?

Seems to be a lack of rumours, I know we have been linked with Zemama but thats cooled a bit I would also be concerned with his match fitness if hes not pleyed for a bit.....fenlon has also said that stanton may get his chance as a wide man which may suggest that he wont be bringing in another wide man? I think the tesm really needs some pace....at least a winger and another good striker please?

21-08-2013, 09:25 AM

He's got basically everything we currently dont (pace, skill, ability to beat a man). Would be surprised if we paid out another transfer fee though.

21-08-2013, 09:28 AM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stefan_Scougall

This guy I think.

That's him.

If he was rejected by hibs I cant see him coming back given our present state! Possibly get better deal in div 1?

Seems to be a lack of rumours, I know we have been linked with Zemama but thats cooled a bit I would also be concerned with his match fitness if hes not pleyed for a bit.....fenlon has also said that stanton may get his chance as a wide man which may suggest that he wont be bringing in another wide man? I think the tesm really needs some pace....at least a winger and another good striker please?

He's signed for Raja Casablanca apparently.

He's got basically everything we currently dont (pace, skill, ability to beat a man). Would be surprised if we paid out another transfer fee though.

He's contracted until 2016 I think, but how much can Livi afford to turn down.

Also heard we got offered a couple of players in January that we chose not to move on. No big losses either of them.

gegs70
21-08-2013, 09:28 AM

Why did we get rid of him?

GreenOnions
21-08-2013, 09:29 AM

Nice one underscore! I agree totally.

Centre-backs can have a huge influence on the style of football a team plays over and above their straightforward defensive role. If they are capable of consistently taking the ball from the keeper and distributing it accurately along the ground that can be a huge influence on a team's style. I think Paul Hanlon has been easily our best defender this season. He is also capable of playing football properly.

I'd also add that if all four defenders have reasonable pace a team can play a higher defensive line to help close down space in front of them more effectively when the opposition have the ball. I really don't see us being able to do that with Nelson in the team I'm afraid.

I'd have Hanlon in the team every week for these reasons. Beside him I'd have Forster. That gives us a bit of pace and footballing ability. I still like McPake though and if it was felt we needed a bit more experience at the back I'd put him in beside Paul until Forster was ready.

gegs70
21-08-2013, 09:31 AM
That's him.

He's signed for Raja Casablanca apparently.

He's contracted until 2016 I think, but how much can Livi afford to turn down.

Also heard we got offered a couple of players in January that we chose not to move on. No big losses either of them.

Not good, its worrying how long its taking to find the appropriate players, surely he could bring in a loan deal short term. Why are hibs so slow in identifying and bringing in tarfets?

21-08-2013, 09:34 AM

I'm sure we told him he was too small and not going to make it. He spoke about it on twitter a while back;

Stefan Scougall‏@Scougall1030 May (http://www.hibs.net/Scougall10/status/340201423579000832)Someone at Hibs spoke to my old man asking for me not to say i was released by them for being to small �� #embarrassed (http://www.hibs.net/search?q=%23embarrassed&src=hash)

Stefan Scougall‏@Scougall1030 May (http://www.hibs.net/Scougall10/status/340204540869619713)
@BillyDempster (http://www.hibs.net/BillyDempster) I'm not upset at the fact I was released, if anything it's helped me but just find it funny they're asking me to keep quiet

21-08-2013, 09:36 AM

Deemed to small I think he is only 5'7 but has great ability in a creative sense.

21-08-2013, 09:38 AM

Was Griffiths not on his books when he was younger and then released?

gegs70
21-08-2013, 10:19 AM
Deemed to small I think he is only 5'7 but has great ability in a creative sense.

Maybe hibs need to review this....

Studes01
21-08-2013, 10:37 AM
Maybe hibs need to review this....
This can and happens at clubs all over the world. Most notable and recent example being Reus from Dortmund. They released him in 2006 for not being seemingly physically strong enough to make it and bought him back in 2012 for €17 million after he was tearing up the league.

I can understand your point but there are always a couple that slip through the net.

21-08-2013, 10:38 AM

I'd think there would be a bit more too it with any released player than simply size. This one gets trotted out a lot but there's no danger it's the only factor involved.

21-08-2013, 10:50 AM
I'd think there would be a bit more too it with any released player than simply size. This one gets trotted out a lot but there's no danger it's the only factor involved.

I am sure you are right there were no doubt other factors and it was probably a choice between him and some other kid at the time who the coaches probably thought might do better in the Scottish game.

21-08-2013, 11:06 AM

Would never let height put me off a player, some of the greats are not the tallest

Unless it's for goalie or CH. :greengrin

Xavi 5' 7"

Messi 5' 7"

Iniesta 5' 7"

Neymar 5' 9"

Fabregas 5' 9"

21-08-2013, 11:20 AM
Would never let height put me off a player, some of the greats are not the tallest

Unless it's for goalie or CH. :greengrin

Xavi 5' 7"

Messi 5, 7"

Iniesta 5 ' 7"

Neymar 5' 9"

Fabregas 5' 9"

Cannavaro was 5' 9" !

nribs
21-08-2013, 11:28 AM
Cannavaro was 5' 9" !
How tall is he now? :)

21-08-2013, 11:35 AM
How tall is he now? :)

A wee bit taller now he isn't carrying Materazzi.