View Full Version : The Mysterious Guildford Hibby??

20-06-2013, 10:17 PM
Anyone on here (or does anyone on here know) a Hibs fan who lives in Guildford?!

Got the shock of my life tonight walking back from the train station to pass someone in the most recent black/green away top walking from the Surrey Sport Park!

20-06-2013, 10:21 PM
Anyone on here (or does anyone on here know) a Hibs fan who lives in Guildford?!

Got the shock of my life tonight walking back from the train station to pass someone in the most recent black/green away top walking from the Surrey Sport Park!

why didn't you stop for a blether?

20-06-2013, 10:24 PM
why didn't you stop for a blether?

I was on the phone to my boss trying to arrange a meeting for tomorrow otherwise I'd have stopped him.

20-06-2013, 10:43 PM
I was on the phone to my boss trying to arrange a meeting for tomorrow otherwise I'd have stopped him.

Poor.

McIntosh
20-06-2013, 10:48 PM
There is a few Hibess that live there. I prey for them as Guildford is the most boring town I have ever had the misfortune to live in. Also the University of Surrey is the most over-rated institution I have ever worked in - terrible. Escape while you are young!!!!

20-06-2013, 10:57 PM
There is a few Hibess that live there. I prey for them as Guildford is the most boring town I have ever had the misfortune to live in. Also the University of Surrey is the most over-rated institution I have ever worked in - terrible. Escape while you are young!!!!

It's nice to know - I've seen a few Rangers fans kicking about but this was the first Hibs fan I've noticed.

I'd have to disagree on both your other counts! Guildford is quiet but easily accessible to London as well as the leafy confines of Surrey.

And the University is deservedly soaring just now - 8th in the league tables, some world class research going on here and a wealth of funding/research initiatives...it's reputation is well deserved (certainly in my discipline) and it's worlds apart from the quality of the Universities in Scotland :agree:

Where did you work out of curiosity?

McIntosh
20-06-2013, 11:12 PM
It's nice to know - I've seen a few Rangers fans kicking about but this was the first Hibs fan I've noticed.

I'd have to disagree on both your other counts! Guildford is quiet but easily accessible to London as well as the leafy confines of Surrey.

And the University is deservedly soaring just now - 8th in the league tables, some world class research going on here and a wealth of funding/research initiatives...it's reputation is well deserved (certainly in my discipline) and it's worlds apart from the quality of the Universities in Scotland :agree:

At Surrey - in the Management School, the building in front of Turing's statue. I actually left to go to work at Harvard and then after that King's College London. After Harvard I really think those ranking are a joke. My brother-in-law is an international renown academic and he visited Surrey (my wife work there) and the then VC Chris Snowden asked Alan how he bacame a Professor at Yale as Alan didn't publish much. Alan gave him the best put down I have ever heard, "Well, Chris my Nobel Prize nomination helped a little bit". Chris like the institution is a little bit pompus. My old Dean at Kings used to call by its proper name, Battersea College of Technology.

20-06-2013, 11:21 PM
At Surrey - in the Management School, the building in front of Turing's statue. I actually left to go to work at Harvard and then after that King's College London. After Harvard I really think those ranking are a joke. My brother-in-law is an international renown academic and he visited Surrey (my wife work there) and the then VC Chris Snowden asked Alan how he bacame a Professor at Yale as Alan didn't publish much. Alan gave him the best put down I have ever heard, "Well, Chris my Nobel Prize nomination helped a little bit". Chris like the institution is a little bit pompus. My old Dean at Kings used to call by its proper name, Battersea College of Technology.

Perhaps it's discipline specific to be honest as our faculty certainly merits it's lofty position just now having secured some huge prizes and exceptional funding of projects in the past few years, not to mention some of the things which have emerged from our Space Centre.

I've no doubt it's far from the perfect article as a complete University though - there are some missing disciplines, some strange subjects and an odd fascination with some departments publishing in open-source journals.

I certainly don't find it pompous but I don't get embroiled into the University politics :agree:

Incidentally, seeing as the football related aspect of this post has long since evaporated, I guess an admin can feel free to move this if appropriate :aok:

McIntosh
20-06-2013, 11:28 PM
Perhaps it's discipline specific to be honest as our faculty certainly merits it's lofty position just now having secured some huge prizes and exceptional funding of projects in the past few years, not to mention some of the things which have emerged from our Space Centre.

I've no doubt it's far from the perfect article as a complete University though - there are some missing disciplines, some strange subjects and an odd fascination with some departments publishing in open-source journals.

I certainly don't find it pompous but I don't get embroiled into the University politics :agree:

Incidentally, seeing as the football related aspect of this post has long since evaporated, I guess an admin can feel free to move this if appropriate :aok:

Going back to the Football I have always considered Oxford and Cambridge to be the Manchester United and Chelsea of Academia and Surrey, sadly to be the Hearts. I know we have really deviated but what is your faculty?

20-06-2013, 11:49 PM
Going back to the Football I have always considered Oxford and Cambridge to be the Manchester United and Chelsea of Academia and Surrey, sadly to be the Hearts. I know we have really deviated but what is your faculty?

I've always thought of Oxford and Cambridge to be the Oxford and Cambridge (Utd) of Academia. But then I went to a good University:wink:

21-06-2013, 01:38 AM
Might have been Surreyhibbie, originally from Musselburgh, did he look like a burglar? all shifty and discreet if yes it wisnae surreyhibbie he stopped all that when le left Musselburgh - I believe.

21-06-2013, 02:02 AM
I like to buy posh university scarves from eBay and wear them out and about. I've returned some acknowledging glances from fellow oxbridgers.

I'll be damned if I'm spending five figures on a degree though.

21-06-2013, 02:41 AM
Might have been Surreyhibbie, originally from Musselburgh, did he look like a burglar? all shifty and discreet if yes it wisnae surreyhibbie he stopped all that when le left Musselburgh - I believe.

Dad was in Leeds today so wasnt him. He is shifty though.

21-06-2013, 02:54 AM
Dad was in Leeds today so wasnt him. He is shifty though.

He is also a thoroughly nice bloke:agree:

What are you up to in the States - work pleasure or both? Hope he has raised you as a good Hibbie - is there any other kind? Huvnae seen B sine the 1991 Cup Final but still get banter on here.

Good to talk to you, take care and be lucky as they say over there:greengrin

21-06-2013, 07:13 AM

I have a bit of a bee in my bonnet with Oxford and Cambridge to be honest - now there are two Universities who rely on status and not necessarily quality output. No way can we be related to Hearts - the money we spend we actually do have (and we have a lot of it right now :greengrin).

I'm in the Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences - mainly in water research but I've been doing a bit of work lately with our space centre looking into plasma and Stellar water development...

As for the Hibby I saw yesterday, he was a relatively big (athletic, not fat!) bloke with short dark hair. That doesn't narrow it down a jot but there can't be too many of us down here! :greengrin

21-06-2013, 02:39 PM
He is also a thoroughly nice bloke:agree:

What are you up to in the States - work pleasure or both? Hope he has raised you as a good Hibbie - is there any other kind? Huvnae seen B sine the 1991 Cup Final but still get banter on here.

Good to talk to you, take care and be lucky as they say over there:greengrin

Aye he raised me right, nae danger. I work over in the states coaching soccer so its all a pleasure trip. Dad was up for the cup final, he'll be up again in August I think!

22-06-2013, 02:08 PM
Long time since I was in Guildford...

That's my story and I am sticking to it....:greengrin

yeezus.
22-06-2013, 06:41 PM
I like to buy posh university scarves from eBay and wear them out and about. I've returned some acknowledging glances from fellow oxbridgers.

I'll be damned if I'm spending five figures on a degree though.

:not worth My University life lasted almost three years - so I now have SAAS / Student Loans company on my back demanding money... and I failed!

libernian
27-06-2013, 10:02 PM

trying not to sound defensive but whats wrong with universities in scotland?

p.s. are university rankings to do with research, or the quality of education / the graduates it produces?

curious - thanks

27-06-2013, 10:43 PM
Oh I do like an academic debate - particularly one including with an international dimension ;)

Heidelberg is nice this time of year, or so I'm told. Scar (Lion King reference, sort of) is gonna getchya!

28-06-2013, 02:38 AM
:not worth My University life lasted almost three years - so I now have SAAS / Student Loans company on my back demanding money... and I failed!

The student loan is one of the cheapest loans out there...and they "demand" nothing mate as it's all collected through PAYE when you start work. Martin Lewis of moneysavingexpert fame says this should be the last loan to pay off if you have other credit and the one you should definitely not worry about.

As for "failing"? That's all about how you see things.

You're 21 so you haven't really failed at anything yet. You have so many more opportunities.

I believe that true paths only begin when people are in their twenties and anything before that is not totally irrelevant but is definitely not as important.

28-06-2013, 07:23 AM
trying not to sound defensive but whats wrong with universities in scotland?

p.s. are university rankings to do with research, or the quality of education / the graduates it produces?

curious - thanks

There's absolutely nothing wrong with most of the Universities in Scotland. We have too many right enough and some really are glorified colleges but the likes of Aberdeen, Dundee, St Andrews, Edinbugh, Stirling and Glasgow are quality institutions - my comment wasn't intended to be disparaging to Scottish Universities, merely to emphasise the difference in quality I've (personally) noticed with Surrey.

The rankings are based on a lot of things - student satisfaction, publication quality and quantity, research, funding attracted and quality of teaching.