View Full Version : Fraser Mullen signs for Hibs

hibeenicol
19-06-2013, 10:24 AM
Any more rumours/info about who we're looking at???

Heard we were speaking to young boy from them Fraser Mullen??
Would be interested in Danny Wilson or maybe Webster if that rumour was true.

Tom pope was another rumour anymore info on this now griffiths is defo not coming back???

Or what about the couple of boys from Ireland that we we're meant to be after in January, was it forester or something?? Had a few YouTube videos up.

scott_hfc1875
19-06-2013, 03:26 PM
Any more rumours/info about who we're looking at???

Heard we were speaking to young boy from them Fraser Mullen??
Would be interested in Danny Wilson or maybe Webster if that rumour was true.

Tom pope was another rumour anymore info on this now griffiths is defo not coming back???

Or what about the couple of boys from Ireland that we we're meant to be after in January, was it forester or something?? Had a few YouTube videos up.

Just out of curiosity where has this Mullen rumour come from have I missed a thread?

hibeenicol
19-06-2013, 03:34 PM
Just out of curiosity where has this Mullen rumour come from have I missed a thread?

Heard it from a few yams that after he was released from them that we had held talks with him. Would be a decent enough signing I think as he's quite versatile a bit like Stevenson but right sided.

They were quite disappointed he was released as well.

scott_hfc1875
19-06-2013, 03:38 PM
Heard it from a few yams that after he was released from them that we had held talks with him. Would be a decent enough signing I think as he's quite versatile a bit like Stevenson but right sided.

They were quite disappointed he was released as well.

If he's good enough and it annoys them then bring him in!

duffers
19-06-2013, 10:41 PM
Rumour on Kickback that we've signed Mullen from them. Firstly, I think he's naff. Secondly, due to my first point, surely this would be a free transfer?

19-06-2013, 10:42 PM
Rumour on Kickback that we've signed Mullen from them. Firstly, I think he's naff. Secondly, due to my first point, surely this would be a free transfer?

Not if he's under contract. Anyone who isn't made redundant by the administrators can be sold.

19-06-2013, 10:44 PM
Not if he's under contract. Anyone who isn't made redundant by the administrators can be sold.

I thought Hearts had released him.

19-06-2013, 10:46 PM

They did!

robinp
19-06-2013, 10:46 PM

It was widly reported his contract had not been renewed. This would likely end on 31 May or 30 June.

19-06-2013, 10:49 PM
Don't really want any Hearts rejects, either him or Webster. If we had any success they would claim it was down to them.

19-06-2013, 10:53 PM
Don't really want any Hearts rejects, either him or Webster. If we had any success they would claim it was down to them.

If they help bring success to Hibs I couldn't give a **** what that lot think, frankly.

kdhibees1
19-06-2013, 10:59 PM
Don't really want any Hearts rejects, either him or Webster. If we had any success they would claim it was down to them. Disagree, I think it would hurt them even more than the constant pain they are suffering just now!!

19-06-2013, 11:00 PM
According to Keekback we've signed Fraser Mullen

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/129234-is-this-old-news/

I hope it's true as he looked very good on the ball and good defensively. Aggressive in a challenge even though he binned himself trying to get done! Would be a bit of a kick in the balls to young Donaldson though as their a similar age and he's a right back! But with clancys injuries, Maybury out of contract it's deff a position we need to strengthen

19-06-2013, 11:00 PM

They did!

Didn't realise that.

19-06-2013, 11:11 PM
According to Keekback we've signed Fraser Mullen

http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/129234-is-this-old-news/

Wonder if this is true or not? Can anyone here confirm this?! Surprised it hasn't been announced officially if true..

19-06-2013, 11:12 PM

If they help bring success to Hibs I couldn't give a **** what that lot think, frankly.

Disagree, I think it would hurt them even more than the constant pain they are suffering just now!!

Don't no too mush of Mullen, but I'd take Webster for sure and for him to score the goal that wins us the "big cup".. Now that would stick in their throat ............ :wink:

20-06-2013, 01:50 AM
Is he the one that made his debut in the derby at ER and was taken off injured when we put in a borderline red card tackle on one of our players? Cairney I think?.

20-06-2013, 05:00 AM
Is he the one that made his debut in the derby at ER and was taken off injured when we put in a borderline red card tackle on one of our players? Cairney I think?.

Yep.

jane_says
20-06-2013, 06:11 AM

Yeah, Matt Done. Fractured his foot, finished his season.

20-06-2013, 08:34 AM
The lad is 19 and has only made a handful of appearances for THEM.

That's not a lot of evidence to suggest that he's either a potential good signing or utter rubbish.

WestEndHibee
20-06-2013, 08:40 AM
The lad is 19 and has only made a handful of appearances for THEM.

That's not a lot of evidence to suggest that he's either a potential good signing or utter rubbish.

Yeh I imagine it would be down to the say so of the youth coaches if we do sign him, they'll know the most about him having seen him play every season against us.

I envisage Hibs picking up a few of Hearts best in the world youngsters if they become free and are worth it.

20-06-2013, 08:49 AM
Leave it to Paddy F.

20-06-2013, 09:00 AM
I think he is highly rated however seems to have a bit of an attitude which he has displayed in some of the youth games v Hibs however if he is good and wants to sign, welcome aboard.

GGTTH07
20-06-2013, 09:05 AM
Hearts fans rate him massively

20-06-2013, 10:38 AM
Lets not forget Hearts have a reputation for hyping up their kids.

Whatever happened to that Kostadinov creep who they allegedly beat off (fnar) the top clubs in Europe to sign? I'm sure he served me a pint of Amstel last week in Spain.

20-06-2013, 10:46 AM
Given his attitude towards us in the few games he did play against uo [both first team and youth levels], then I say **** him, wouldn't even want him as a ball-boy. Mutant.

20-06-2013, 10:50 AM

I've long since stopped caring about their opinions. You should do the same.

If he (or any of their players) can contribute to Hibs, we should consider them.

EVENTUALLY
20-06-2013, 11:11 AM
Given his attitude towards us in the few games he did play against uo [both first team and youth levels], then I say **** him, wouldn't even want him as a ball-boy. Mutant.

Totally agree. His antics during the celebration of his goal in Under19 cup tie at Easter Road were sickening......although I had a good laugh at his greetin face as he trapesed off the pitch at the final whistle. He has been discarded by Celtic and now the yams which as far as I am concerned suggests he is not good enough for Hibs.

20-06-2013, 11:12 AM
Totally agree. His antics during the celebration of his goal in Under19 cup tie at Easter Road were sickening......although I had a good laugh at his greetin face as he trapesed off the pitch at the final whistle. He has been discarded by Celtic and now the yams which as far as I am concerned suggests he is not good enough for Hibs.

What did he do like?

GraniteCityHibs
20-06-2013, 11:16 AM
A football player who's a bit of a dick....wonders will never cease!!!

20-06-2013, 11:19 AM
What did he do like?

Tried to win I presume. What a git.

20-06-2013, 11:22 AM
mullen- naw

webster - aye

20-06-2013, 11:29 AM
Broke his foot trying to break Done's leg. Ironically, I think that's why he may have not got a deal from them, and may sign for us.

Hope not, thug.

20-06-2013, 11:36 AM
Mullen was born and brought up in Glasgow so it seems unlikely he's a dyed in the wool yam. If he has a competitive attitude and a sense of pride for the team he plays for then these are excellent attributes for a professional football player and just the qualities we should be looking to bring to the club.

Having said that I'm not in a position to make a judgment on his footballing abilities and I suspect that few people on this messageboard will be.

20-06-2013, 11:59 AM
Mullen was born and brought up in Glasgow so it seems unlikely he's a dyed in the wool yam. If he has a competitive attitude and a sense of pride for the team he plays for then these are excellent attributes for a professional football player and just the qualities we should be looking to bring to the club.

Having said that I'm not in a position to make a judgment on his footballing abilities and I suspect that few people on this messageboard will be.

Completely agree if he wants to win and has ability then great.

robinp
20-06-2013, 12:11 PM
Lets not forget Hearts have a reputation for hyping up their kids.

Whatever happened to that Kostadinov creep who they allegedly beat off (fnar) the top clubs in Europe to sign? I'm sure he served me a pint of Amstel last week in Spain.

They are good at touching them up too!

20-06-2013, 12:19 PM
this whole webster love in completely baffles me.... he was a huddy last season.

no where near the player he was a couple of seasons ago!

20-06-2013, 02:14 PM
Get the 2 off them in. Good squad players if there willing to fight in green n white

20-06-2013, 02:21 PM
this whole webster love in completely baffles me.... he was a huddy last season.

no where near the player he was a couple of seasons ago!

Must agree with you Scott..

He's ****ing hopeless

20-06-2013, 02:38 PM
Was it not brad McKay or something like that who tried to do done? I didn't think it was Mullen tbh.

20-06-2013, 02:45 PM
Was it not brad McKay or something like that who tried to do done? I didn't think it was Mullen tbh.

I think McKay replaced Mullen

20-06-2013, 02:54 PM
I think McKay replaced Mullen

Did he go off injured? I seem to recall he had a fair way to hobble and was getting loads of abuse from the Hibs fans (not too surprising) but I shouldn't think he'd have been a big fan of that. :greengrin

steviehibsleith
20-06-2013, 02:55 PM
He is a young right back who may be deemed by some as being on the small(height) size.
he was just starting to show some potential for yams when he took the injury.
a real positve is his right footed delivery from set pieces.
not sure if he is fit but worth a trial/look.

20-06-2013, 02:57 PM
If we rate him, we'll sign him and I'll have no complaints.

20-06-2013, 03:38 PM
I thought he was hearts better player in the 0.0 draw at ER. My best mate rates him highly so I'd take him as a back up. Won't be on high wages and we could have a player in there

20-06-2013, 03:59 PM
the best defender they had last season was sillyoookas we may as well go the whole hog and get him aswell:wink:

20-06-2013, 04:25 PM

It was Mullen. He injured himself in the process, took a power of abuse from the East and missed the League Cup final.

20-06-2013, 04:29 PM
It was Mullen. He injured himself in the process, took a power of abuse from the East and missed the League Cup final.

:agree: Think he actually broke his foot as a result of it.

24-06-2013, 03:20 PM
http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11095/8790782/

green glory
24-06-2013, 03:22 PM

Would be funny if he signs. He was pissed off at the way he was treated at the PBS.

24-06-2013, 03:31 PM

Interesting, no complaints if he works his erse off for Hibs, seemed like a decent prospect. Although, it looks likely that Maybury will get a new deal, Clancy is recovering well and Donaldson is one of the highly rated youngsters, it's be a bit of strange one at the same time. Couldn't imagine he'd cost a lot in wages though, just by paying him on time I'm sure he'd be appreciative.

24-06-2013, 03:50 PM
If he hates them, sign him

24-06-2013, 03:53 PM
Worth the risk if you ask me. Looked a good player. Take him over Maybury

24-06-2013, 04:44 PM
Only seen Mullen in the derby where he broke his foot, but even after doing so he tried his hardest to play on, he showed a lot of fight which we have always lacked over the years. That and the fact he's still young makes me happy for him to sign.

24-06-2013, 04:46 PM
Also remembering reading his twitter conversation with some mate of his a month or so ago, his mate was asking him to come for a night but he said he was dedicated to his pre season, and wouldn't be out again for a long time. Straw clutching but again the right attitude.

24-06-2013, 06:23 PM
Decent young player. A couple of yam mates I know said that he would be a good signing if he came here and that they were very dissapointed he got released as he is much better than that overrated Jamie Hamill.

24-06-2013, 06:56 PM
The academy staff at East Mains have strongly recommend to the management that we seriously think about signing Mullen.

24-06-2013, 07:01 PM
The academy staff at East Mains have strongly recommend to the management that we seriously think about signing Mullen.

They are the best ones to recommend him, having similar aged players play against him

24-06-2013, 07:35 PM
Col2 understands we are very close to confirming Mullen as as Pat's 4th pre season signing.

24-06-2013, 07:37 PM
Col2 understands we are very close to confirming Mullen as as Pat's 4th pre season signing.

Hopefully this is announced this week ;)

24-06-2013, 07:41 PM

Thought it would have made sense to have him in training with us before offering him a deal.

24-06-2013, 07:47 PM
I'm sure he'd have been kept on at Hearts if they could afford him. Seemed to be well thought of by the fans. Worth a punt for minimal wages. It will really annoy them if he turns decent for us so its worth it for that possibility.

Zondervan
24-06-2013, 08:03 PM
@LukeShanley: Sky Sources understands former Hearts right back Fraser Mullen will have a medical with Hibernian on Tuesday.

24-06-2013, 08:04 PM
Good, are there any more we can tempt with the promise of being paid.

24-06-2013, 08:05 PM
@LukeShanley: Sky Sources understands former Hearts right back Fraser Mullen will have a medical with Hibernian on Tuesday.

24-06-2013, 08:06 PM
Luke Shanley tweeting that he'll be having a medical tomorrrow.

24-06-2013, 08:10 PM
I'm sure he'd have been kept on at Hearts if they could afford him. Seemed to be well thought of by the fans. Worth a punt for minimal wages. It will really annoy them if he turns decent for us so its worth it for that possibility.

This, and better than Maybury for me.

Mark79
24-06-2013, 08:10 PM
I assume we dont need to pay 'them' a development fee? Being serious. Do you not sometimes need to pay a fee even if they get released?

Allisbarry
24-06-2013, 08:11 PM
http://e0.365dm.com/13/03/660x350/Fraser-Mullen-away-kit_2914167.jpg?20130313133526

http://cdn.cnwimg.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/gary-busey-210x300.jpg

Freaky.

24-06-2013, 08:15 PM
http://e0.365dm.com/13/03/660x350/Fraser-Mullen-away-kit_2914167.jpg?20130313133526

http://cdn.cnwimg.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/11/gary-busey-210x300.jpg

Freaky.

Orite mate haha :greengrin

24-06-2013, 08:15 PM
I assume we dont need to pay 'them' a development fee? Being serious. Do you not sometimes need to pay a fee even if they get released?

Only if hearts offered him a new contract which they didn't.

24-06-2013, 08:18 PM
Yam guy I work with said Mullen is very good going forward but a bit suspect at the back. Likened him, favourably, to Steven Whittaker.

Maybe PF thinks he can do a job on the right of midfield.

24-06-2013, 08:20 PM
do we need maybury if we sign mullen? i dont think we do

24-06-2013, 08:24 PM
do we need maybury if we sign mullen? i dont think we do

No, the erses who can't see past the fact that Maybury played for Hearts can turn their venom towards Mullen so no need for both of them :greengrin

24-06-2013, 08:26 PM
No, the erses who can't see past the fact that Maybury played for Hearts can turn their venom towards Mullen so no need for both of them :greengrin

or they could share the blame:greengrin

24-06-2013, 08:31 PM
or they could share the blame:greengrin

Both on the pitch at the same time, some folk would implode.:greengrin

24-06-2013, 08:33 PM
If he does sign it got me round to thinking of other players we have signed that played for Hearts (before we signed them).

Maybury obviously, the only others I can think of are

Ralph Callachan
Gordon Marshall snr

There must be many more but I've gone blank.

24-06-2013, 08:33 PM
Yam guy I work with said Mullen is very good going forward but a bit suspect at the back. Likened him, favourably, to Steven Whittaker.

Maybe PF thinks he can do a job on the right of midfield.

He'll do for me if he is like SW.

24-06-2013, 08:35 PM
If he does sign it got me round to thinking of other players we have signed that played for Hearts (before we signed them).

Ralph Callachan
Gordon Marshall snr

Michael Stewart

24-06-2013, 08:35 PM
If he does sign it got me round to thinking of other players we have signed that played for Hearts.

Ralph Callachan
Gordon Marshall snr

Malcolm Robertson (briefly)
Eamonn Bannon
Andy Watson

24-06-2013, 08:36 PM

Ralph Callachan
Gordon Marshall snr

Andy Watson, eamon bannon

24-06-2013, 08:37 PM

Ralph Callachan
Gordon Marshall snr

mikey spewart and eamon bannon (just the once of course) Willie Hamilton Alan Gordon.

24-06-2013, 08:37 PM
medical tomorrow

24-06-2013, 08:39 PM
Michael Stewart

Malcolm Robertson (briefly)
Eamonn Bannon
Andy Watson

How could I forget these 3 :doh:, can't remember Robertson.

24-06-2013, 08:44 PM
How could I forget these 3 :doh:, can't remember Robertson.

Alky Malky

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malcolm_Robertson_(footballer)

malcky
24-06-2013, 08:46 PM
mikey spewart and eamon bannon (just the once of course) Willie Hamilton Alan Gordon.

Jim Brown

24-06-2013, 08:49 PM
medical tomorrow

Source?

24-06-2013, 08:49 PM
chris shevlane

PPZPOL
24-06-2013, 08:50 PM
Brian Hamilton

24-06-2013, 08:53 PM

Ralph Callachan
Gordon Marshall snr

Alan Gordon.

24-06-2013, 08:57 PM
Brian Hamilton

Played for us before them.

24-06-2013, 08:59 PM
So there hasn't been too many over the years that have played for us after playing for them, surprises me a little. :greengrin

24-06-2013, 09:00 PM
Source?

Luke Shanley.

24-06-2013, 09:03 PM
U seen his bird? Hibs class.
Sauce. Twitter.

Fergos
24-06-2013, 09:04 PM
Willie Jameson. Played for both skintyams and us.

johncrobertson@
24-06-2013, 09:07 PM
The great Willie Hamilton

Aubenas
24-06-2013, 09:09 PM
Lawrence Tierney

Big Ed
24-06-2013, 09:15 PM
Ian Black senior :agree:

24-06-2013, 09:18 PM
Luke Shanley.

Didn't even notice! good source! :greengrin

24-06-2013, 09:19 PM
Will be very happy with this signing! Don't think it will fill young brad Donaldson with confidence tho as he's a right back I'm sure?? Would be worrying if I was Clancy tho!

24-06-2013, 09:19 PM
Lawrie Reilly.

24-06-2013, 09:20 PM
Willie Jameson. Played for both skintyams and us.

Played for us first though :agree:

24-06-2013, 09:22 PM
Bradley Donaldson is a far better right back than Mullen.

24-06-2013, 09:23 PM
Will be very happy with this signing! Don't think it will fill young brad Donaldson with confidence tho as he's a right back I'm sure?? Would be worrying if I was Clancy tho!

Maybe Pat sees Clancy as a CB rather than a RB. Clancy was brilliant when he played at CB for Motherwell.

24-06-2013, 09:24 PM
Maybe Pat sees Clancy as a CB rather than a RB. Clancy was brilliant when he played at CB for Motherwell.

He is slow and his distribution is poor for a RB, not a fan, had 1 decent season at Motherwell and that's it.

Fergos
24-06-2013, 09:24 PM
Played for us first though :agree:

Correct, jus saw the OP on this subject matter was in timeline order.....he had better hair when he was with us too.

24-06-2013, 09:26 PM

Yeah could be right, don't think Clancy played their for us last season did he? To me he did look more of a centre half playing right back than a natural rb tbh.

24-06-2013, 09:28 PM
Yeah could be right, don't think Clancy played their for us last season did he? To me he did look more of a centre half playing right back than a natural rb tbh.

He only played RB for us last season.

24-06-2013, 09:32 PM
He is slow and his distribution is poor for a RB, not a fan, had 1 decent season at Motherwell and that's it.

And in that decent 1 season he had at Motherwell, he played at CB. I'm sure that's his natural position and Stuart McCall really wanted to keep him at Fir Park but he chose to come here.

JIm
24-06-2013, 09:34 PM
Remember him scoring for Hearts 21s v ourselves at Easter Road couple of seasons ago in Scottish, ran over in front of a decent sized support kissing the badge.

Still always thought he was a decent player so why not..........

GlenrothesHibee
24-06-2013, 09:36 PM
I remember as a young laddie being furious at Brian Hamilton lol.

24-06-2013, 09:44 PM
if we sign Mullen then that means we can have Clancy and McPake fighting over the RCB spot, maybe get them to do a japanese style obstacle course challenge, whichever player gets off the physio table first, climb up the goalnet jump into freezing cold water or baked beans :hmmm: then knockout Petrie with the oversized boxing gloves wins!!:casper:

24-06-2013, 09:47 PM
if we sign Mullen then that means we can have Clancy and McPake fighting over the RCB spot, maybe get them to do a japanese style obstacle course challenge, whichever player gets off the physio table first, climb up the goalnet jump into freezing cold water or baked beans :hmmm: then knockout Petrie with the oversized boxing gloves wins!!:casper:

What about Forster then, he's should enough in the last few games he's a good shout for CH, what with McPake and Clancy's injury woes, we maybe need plenty cover there

green glory
24-06-2013, 10:11 PM

Ralph Callachan
Gordon Marshall snr

Gordon's my upstairs neighbour. Nice old fellow. Old school Yam from when they had morals.

Bill Milne
25-06-2013, 09:47 AM
Gordon's my upstairs neighbour. Nice old fellow. Old school Yam from when they had morals.

Difference with Ralph is he has always been a Hibby!!

Bill Milne
25-06-2013, 09:48 AM
Sorry, pushed for time but, did anyone mention Eric Stevenson? Another lifelong Hibby snatched from ***********!!

Allisbarry
25-06-2013, 09:50 AM
Forster and Hanlon are a must for centre-back next year. Not only is Forster solid but PH looks 10x better beside him than McPake.

25-06-2013, 10:43 AM
If the guys from the Academy are giving the thumbs up to signing Mullen then im happy with that, they would be in the best position to know if he was worth a punt or not.

25-06-2013, 10:47 AM
If the guys from the Academy are giving the thumbs up to signing Mullen then im happy with that, they would be in the best position to know if he was worth a punt or not.

Absolutely this.

Heedersnvolleys
25-06-2013, 10:51 AM
Bradley Donaldson is a far better right back than Mullen.

I feel it sends the wrong signal to Donaldson as well, I was thinking he was going to make the breakthrough this season but surely this signing will put him down the pecking order???

25-06-2013, 10:54 AM
I feel it sends the wrong signal to Donaldson as well, I was thinking he was going to make the breakthrough this season but surely this signing will put him down the pecking order???

With the greatest respect to Donaldson i don't really care how he feels, if Mullen is the better player then that's all i'm interested in. If Donaldson is the better player then he needs to prove it in training, reserve games and when he does get a chance.

25-06-2013, 11:12 AM
With the greatest respect to Donaldson i don't really care how he feels, if Mullen is the better player then that's all i'm interested in. If Donaldson is the better player then he needs to prove it in training, reserve games and when he does get a chance.

Agree, and I think if Clancy is fit he will be playing anyway.

25-06-2013, 11:12 AM
Agree, and I think if Clancy is fit he will be playing anyway.

If he's fit!

25-06-2013, 11:21 AM

100% agree with this.

25-06-2013, 11:25 AM

Exactly. Just like every player in the team, they have to keep working hard and proving to the manager that they deserve a place in the side.

Heedersnvolleys
25-06-2013, 12:17 PM
Exactly. Just like every player in the team, they have to keep working hard and proving to the manager that they deserve a place in the side.

I agree also with all the comments above but I was coming from more the angle why waste a wage on an up and coming RB when we already have one already. Maybe Maybury's won't be offered a contract now as back up? I have read the comments about Clancy but from what I have heard it is him that prefers RB to CB!

25-06-2013, 12:49 PM
I thought Clancy was exellent at RB for us before he got injured. All i've see of Mullen is when he played against us and definitely did not impress.

Heedersnvolleys
25-06-2013, 01:14 PM
I thought Clancy was exellent at RB for us before he got injured. All i've see of Mullen is when he played against us and definitely did not impress.

Was he not the laddie who went off injured in the game at ER and had to hobble all the way round?

25-06-2013, 01:17 PM
Was he not the laddie who went off injured in the game at ER and had to hobble all the way round?

25-06-2013, 01:21 PM
Any1 else think he looks like Gary oconnors brother or something.

25-06-2013, 01:52 PM

How long did he last in that match though? You can't assess the lads ability on a few minutes of football. Or maybe you can

25-06-2013, 01:56 PM
How long did he last in that match though? You can't assess the lads ability on a few minutes of football. Or maybe you can

Agree I would doubt he touched the ball more than 4 or 5 times. Guy in my work knows a few Hearts youth coaches and he is apparently highly rated.

25-06-2013, 02:31 PM
Sounds like he will be signing according to the Record, would just love it if he turns out to be a top player for us, here's hoping.

Mind you they are saying a 1 year deal which seems a strange one. :dunno:

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/released-hearts-defender-fraser-mullen-1990573

Released Hearts defender Fraser Mullen close to sealing deal with rivals Hibs

FULL BACK Mullen was freed by the Jambos at the end of last season and now Easter Road boss Pat Fenlon has made his move.

HIBS are set to snap up former Hearts starlet Fraser Mullen on a one-year deal.

The 19-year-old full-back will have a medical at Easter Road today before completing his switch to Pat Fenlon’s side. Mullen was released by the Jambos in the summer while recovering from a broken foot but, ironically, he picked up the injury against Hibs during an Edinburgh derby in March that ended in a 0-0 draw. But after being discarded by the crisis-hit Gorgie club at the end of last season, Hibees gaffer Fenlon has moved for the talented youngster.

Mullen, who has also represented Scotland at youth level, made his Hearts debut in January 2012 and was tipped by former boss Paulo Sergio as a star of the future at Tynecastle. But he will now become Hibs’ third signing of the close season after midfielders Liam Craig and Owain Tudur Jones arrived from St Johnstone and Inverness Caley Thistle respectively.

25-06-2013, 02:39 PM
Sounds like he will be signing according to the Record, would just love it if he turns out to be a top player for us, here's hoping.

http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/released-hearts-defender-fraser-mullen-1990573

FULL BACK Mullen was freed by the Jambos at the end of last season and now Easter Road boss Pat Fenlon has made his move.

The 19-year-old full-back will have a medical at Easter Road today before completing his switch to Pat Fenlon’s side. Mullen was released by the Jambos in the summer while recovering from a broken foot but, ironically, he picked up the injury against Hibs during an Edinburgh derby in March that ended in a 0-0 draw. But after being discarded by the crisis-hit Gorgie club at the end of last season, Hibees gaffer Fenlon has moved for the talented youngster.

Mullen, who has also represented Scotland at youth level, made his Hearts debut in January 2012 and was tipped by former boss Paulo Sergio as a star of the future at Tynecastle. But he will now become Hibs’ third signing of the close season after midfielders Liam Craig and Owain Tudur Jones arrived from St Johnstone and Inverness Caley Thistle respectively.

Why are they making out as if Hearts didn't want Mullen? Hearts COULDN'T AFFORD him.

25-06-2013, 03:10 PM
Sky Sports through Luke Shanley, reporting Mullen having medical today at ER

25-06-2013, 03:12 PM
Sky Sports through Luke Shanley, reporting Mullen having medical today at ER

Hope he comes out with some words that irk our pink neighbours upon signing.

though no doubt, they'll all say he is pish, hobos taking their crap players.... blablablabla

25-06-2013, 03:15 PM
If we do sign this lad, 1st of all I hope he gets full support.
2nd of all, I wonder if Clancy could be used to fight for CH position? We are 1 short there IMO and I believe he's decent at CH, so could offer good competition for places. I haven't seen as much as others of him, but personally quite like Clancy.

25-06-2013, 03:15 PM
I just heard the deal is done.

25-06-2013, 03:18 PM

1 year deal will be because of his broken foot, he might not be the same player he was,

25-06-2013, 03:19 PM
I just heard the deal is done.

25-06-2013, 03:22 PM

He lasted 38 minutes. He was already on a yellow when he went off injured. He tried to half Matt Done which in itself is stupid because he would've been better just letting him lose the ball as per usual.

25-06-2013, 03:27 PM
2nd of all, I wonder if Clancy could be used to fight for CH position? We are 1 short there IMO and I believe he's decent at CH, so could offer good competition for places. I haven't seen as much as others of him, but personally quite like Clancy.

So do I think he is a decent player just hope he gets rid of his annoying injuries.

25-06-2013, 03:27 PM

I'm happy with that. Good young player who could play in the first team or act as cover. Either way, the boy was rated highly at hearts amoung the coaches. So could turn out a very good signing.

25-06-2013, 03:28 PM
I'm happy with that. Good young player who could play in the first team or act as cover. Either way, the boy was rated highly at hearts amoung the coaches. So could turn out a very good signing.

Agree how funny would it be if he became an instant success and we sold him for a wad in a couple of years. :greengrin

25-06-2013, 03:29 PM

If he is any good and seems to be putting the effort in then he'll get the support of most.

I'm optimistic for him if true. He seems highly rated.

25-06-2013, 03:32 PM
Lawrie Reilly.

Didn't know that 2 Lawrie Reilly's played for us.

25-06-2013, 03:52 PM
Agree how funny would it be if he became an instant success and we sold him for a wad in a couple of years. :greengrin

Exactly, they will be spewing!!! :D

25-06-2013, 04:02 PM
as he was in the group of best youngsters ever seen this is a major coup by hibs surely

wazoo1875
25-06-2013, 04:06 PM

This would be pleasing :-)

StarMan10
25-06-2013, 04:17 PM
If as it now almost certainly looks he does sign, the boy needs the full support of the crowd. He's a young lad who will still have a way to go, i imagine, in developing as a footballer and will make the odd mistake from time to time. Don't want another Alan Maybury situation where despite putting in some decent performances some supporters still gave him pelters. Doesn't matter who they played for, when they wear the green they should always get the fans backing.

25-06-2013, 04:22 PM
Some of them are taking it well, deary me. :fenlon

Rhys Mackinnon ‏@RhysMackinnon Would like to see Fraser Mullen snap his cruciate ligaments and never play football again, the judas little prick!

Rab Gibson ‏@rabgibson
#Fraser (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Fraser&src=hash) Mullen joining that sh*te #Hibs (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hibs&src=hash) could have chose any other team but them you f****ng arse how welcome will you be at Tyncastle #HHGH (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23HHGH&src=hash)

Connor MacIntyre ‏@cmacintyre_
we brought him through the ranks and gave him his debut, Fraser Mullen will leave as a nobody ironically to nobodys #5-1 #InOurShadow (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23InOurShadow&src=hash)

Leroy McArthur ‏@leroyHMFC1902
I didn't rate Fraser Mullen anyhoo.. Hibs can take all our rejects though!! ����

Fair enough some #HMFC (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23HMFC&src=hash) players dont support the team and just want money to live, but ****** Fraser Mullen going to Hibs. Break a leg you cant

EuanH78
25-06-2013, 04:26 PM

Rhys Mackinnon ‏@RhysMackinnon Would like to see Fraser Mullen snap his cruciate ligaments and never play football again, the judas little prick!

Rab Gibson ‏@rabgibson
#Fraser (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Fraser&src=hash) Mullen joining that sh*te #Hibs (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23Hibs&src=hash) could have chose any other team but them you f****ng arse how welcome will you be at Tyncastle #HHGH (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23HHGH&src=hash)

we brought him through the ranks and gave him his debut, Fraser Mullen will leave as a nobody ironically to nobodys #5-1 #InOurShadow (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23InOurShadow&src=hash)

I didn't rate Fraser Mullen anyhoo.. Hibs can take all our rejects though!! 😂😂

Fair enough some #HMFC (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23HMFC&src=hash) players dont support the team and just want money to live, but ****** Fraser Mullen going to Hibs. Break a leg you cant

Deary ******g me.

25-06-2013, 04:28 PM
They're seething, i like him already.

25-06-2013, 04:30 PM
This is class.

25-06-2013, 04:31 PM
Hahah they're hurting at becoming a mild irrelevance to the undisputed best team and club in edinburgh, Hibernian FC. Forever in our shadows etc etc

LeithBoozy
25-06-2013, 04:33 PM
If he makes any mistakes, crucify the Hearts bassa. Only joking. :greengrin

25-06-2013, 04:37 PM
They're seething, i like him already.

Mullen to score the 8th on 10/08/13 :faf: :aok:

25-06-2013, 04:45 PM
Much along the lines of signing Liam Craig and Tudur-Jones, it's good to see Hibernian pick-pocketing the smaller clubs and hoovering up their best talent. Strengthening ourselves whilst weakening the opposition.

Our financial dominance over St J, ICT and Hearts have allowed us to make these signings. Splendid stuff.

ano hibby
25-06-2013, 04:45 PM
They released him, its their own fault.
If confirmed, welcome young man & good luck.

macd123
25-06-2013, 04:49 PM

Rab Gibson ‏@rabgibson

I didn't rate Fraser Mullen anyhoo.. Hibs can take all our rejects though!! 😂😂

They must rate him. I would maybe react like that if harris went there. But if booth goes there i would say fair enough - not getting chance here and good opportunity.

Teapot
25-06-2013, 04:50 PM
Could be a really astute signing. Not likely to be on a big salary money, free transfer, definite potential and extra motivated to want to show his former employers what they're missing. :aok:

25-06-2013, 04:50 PM
They all thought he was brilliant when he got into the team. Don't let any of them tell you otherwise.

25-06-2013, 04:51 PM
And a possible victim of numpties up the town. Going to have to be careful.

Pray4Marc
25-06-2013, 05:02 PM
Clearly he is seething at the reported Fraser Mullen transfer, so seething infact there is total silence from this fud.

"But we have Jamie Hammil"

#AllisBarry

25-06-2013, 05:05 PM
Clearly he is seething at the reported Fraser Mullen transfer, so seething infact there is total silence from this fud.

"But we have Jamie Hammil"

#AllisBarry

He knows he will be out of a job soon, probably applying to be the Syrian propaganda minister

25-06-2013, 05:07 PM
Hahah they're hurting at becoming a mild irrelevance to the undisputed best team and club in edinburgh, Hibernian FC. Forever in our shadows etc etc

Possible banner for August 10 ?? - 'Hearts: Hibernian FC's Feeder Club since 1875'

Pray4Marc
25-06-2013, 05:08 PM
He knows he will be out of a job soon, probably applying to be the Syrian propaganda minister

Imagine he started working for us. #AllisBarry #Seething :aok:

25-06-2013, 05:08 PM
He lasted 38 minutes. He was already on a yellow when he went off injured. He tried to half Matt Done which in itself is stupid because he would've been better just letting him lose the ball as per usual.

Fair point...

25-06-2013, 05:15 PM
Deary ******g me.

beggars belief what some cretins can say about career-ending injuries on any player, experience over the last several years has exposed just how vile hertz fans can be, that club really does attract the low-life's of society

25-06-2013, 05:16 PM
Quite happy with this deal. Seems worth a punt. The fact they're spewing suggests he's a decent prospect.

It may take him a wee while to adjust down at East Mains when he realises that a bunch of students aren't going to turf him off the pitches after an hour or so...

And that our showers aren't temperature controlled by our managers c*ck...

One City, OneTeam

Pray4Marc
25-06-2013, 05:20 PM
Quite happy with this deal. Seems worth a punt. The fact they're spewing suggests he's a decent prospect.

It may take him a wee while to adjust down at East Mains when he realises that a bunch of students aren't going to turf him off the pitches after an hour or so...

And that our showers aren't temperature controlled by our managers c*ck...

One City, OneTeam

Frothing at the mouth with seeth

#winning

Just need to get Barry Anderson signed up.

#CleanSweep

VivaHiberña
25-06-2013, 05:27 PM
Possible banner for August 10 ?? - 'Hearts: Hibernian FC's Feeder Club since 1875'

:faf::faf: Brilliant, but it's supposed to say:

'Hearts: Hbernan FC's Feeder Club snce 1875' :wink:

25-06-2013, 05:33 PM
Have hibs confirmed it on the fishy site?

Twa Cairpets
25-06-2013, 05:46 PM
I like this (not the site, but the content relating to the laddie). Nice to see them using a hibs player to sell ST's.
http://www.heartsfc.co.uk/page/SeasonTickets13-14/0,,10289,00.html

2012-13 has been a season of transition for Hearts. We've seen the make-up of the squad change considerably, with more of our young stars breaking through and featuring regularly in the first team, leading to our youngest side in years.

There's never been a more exciting time to be a youngster at the club and going forward we can expect to see more from the likes of Billy King, Jason Holt, Jamie Walker, Callum Tapping, Fraser Mullen, Callum Paterson and Kevin McHattie as our focus on youth development continues.

Tynie01011973
25-06-2013, 05:52 PM
Have hibs confirmed it on the fishy site?

Nothing yet

25-06-2013, 05:56 PM
Good lad.

Obviously seen the light.

Pray4Marc
25-06-2013, 05:58 PM
With the CHANGE of opinion on Mullens ability in the last 48 hours on Kickback...

"He can take himself and his ***** hair over to that *****hole if he wants.

Over-rated if he got called 'decent'. He's not very good."

"Decent prospect, but won't lose sleep over it. Looks like a Hibs player, has the haircut so he'll fit in well."

"He seemed to be too nervous at times wish him well unless he lowers his standards and signs for the sub humans."

"I never understood the Mullen love-in. He looked average-to-decent in his better games, and ******* rank-rotten in the bad games. The Kilmarnock game at Tynecastle where he just stood and watched James Dayton rip the piss out of him all afternoon sticks out like a sore thumb.

He can do what he wants "

"Not just saying this but thought he was poor. Decent set piece but poor defender"

The continuing seeth would be INCREDIBLE if we pinched the gems of the golden generation, actual comedy gold.

25-06-2013, 06:01 PM
"Decent prospect, but won't lose sleep over it. Looks like a Hibs player, has the haircut so he'll fit in well."

In other words, he's too well groomed to be a Hearts player. :faf:

They generally go for the caveman look. :fenlon

green glory
25-06-2013, 06:03 PM
With the CHANGE of opinion on Mullens ability in the last 48 hours on Kickback...

"He seemed to be too nervous at times wish him well unless he lowers his standards and signs for the sub humans."

"I never understood the Mullen love-in. He looked average-to-decent in his better games, and ******* rank-rotten in the bad games. The Kilmarnock game at Tynecastle where he just stood and watched James Dayton rip the piss out of him all afternoon sticks out like a sore thumb.

"Not just saying this but thought he was poor. Decent set piece but poor defender"

The continuing seeth would be INCREDIBLE if we pinched the gems of the golden generation, actual comedy gold.

No harm in picking their maroon corpse clean. Take whatever's useful to us.

25-06-2013, 06:04 PM

If we got Walker his Dad & his Brother would disown him! It would be hilarious I would never stop ripping them.

stirling_hibee
25-06-2013, 06:09 PM

I dunno, a few jambos have been known to partake in a bit of grooming in the last few years...

25-06-2013, 06:09 PM
The hurt is strong with them.

Leishy1995
25-06-2013, 06:11 PM
Can we sign Walker just for banter now?

25-06-2013, 06:13 PM
I dunno, a few jambos have been known to partake in a bit of grooming in the last few years...

They prefer to groom than be groomed. :agree:

25-06-2013, 06:30 PM

Typically its been hearts players, manager and supporters that have been the ones doing the grooming.

25-06-2013, 08:12 PM
Was doing his best to snap Done's leg. For that reason, I don't want to see the little thug at Easter Road - an entirely malicious challenge.

25-06-2013, 08:29 PM
Jambo at work tells me that he is a bit confused that Mullen is leaving as he would have had him as a definite lost cost quality keep. Rather than get a 15 minus next season, he would rather they went into SFL One and tried to come back up in one shout rather than go down next season and then have to mix it with the The Rangers, the season after. May have a point.

25-06-2013, 08:33 PM
Pretty low, even for the puddle drinkers, to wish career ending injury on a guy they cut loose because they couldn't afford to offer him a deal. I could understand the hurt if we were poaching someone under contract for buttons, but jeez...

On the plus side, watching the seething hurt is... pleasing :greengrin

25-06-2013, 09:37 PM
Was doing his best to snap Done's leg. For that reason, I don't want to see the little thug at Easter Road - an entirely malicious challenge.

A young player getting 'stuck in' in a derby. Not the worst crime ever.

Good young player with a bit of bite. That'll do for me.

The new Willie Miller?

25-06-2013, 09:46 PM

Young player over zealous in the tackle during the passionate and frenetic local derby is hardly the crime of the century. Not sure if I would be saying the same if he had snapped Done's leg though :greengrin

25-06-2013, 09:46 PM
Not sure why some are suggesting Bradley Donaldson might feel threatened if the laddie signs. Mullen is a full back and contrary to the belief of some, Donaldson is a centre half.

BTW, to the Jambo who hopes Mullen snaps his cruciate - please crawl back under your stone

25-06-2013, 09:47 PM
Jambo at work tells me that he is a bit confused that Mullen is leaving as he would have had him as a definite lost cost quality keep. Rather than get a 15 minus next season, he would rather they went into SFL One and tried to come back up in one shout rather than go down next season and then have to mix it with the The Rangers, the season after. May have a point.

Your last sentence.... Don't you mean they'll have a point in May?

26-06-2013, 12:34 PM
Is this a done deal or what? Nothing coming from hibs at all.

26-06-2013, 12:36 PM

Yes. I think we will unveil all the signings together start of July.

26-06-2013, 12:36 PM

Might be another Paul Cairney saga where everyone knows he's signed apart from the official website.

26-06-2013, 12:37 PM

Along with who?? ;)

26-06-2013, 12:39 PM

Not the way hibs normally do it, we normally stagger the news of new signings, i think we'd rather have a couple of days of positive news rather than lump them all together and only get one positive PR day out of it.

26-06-2013, 12:41 PM
Not the way hibs normally do it, we normally stagger the news of new signings, i think we'd rather have a couple of days of positive news rather than lump them all together and only get one positive PR day out of it.

That's true. Might do that. But he's signed from what I was told yesterday either way.

Deek01
26-06-2013, 01:52 PM
He's also changed his Hearts pic and background on twitter since yesterday.

26-06-2013, 02:20 PM
He's also changed his Hearts pic and background on twitter since yesterday.

He's left them anyway, regardless of who he's signed for?

Just wonder if Hibs kept this quiet pre Hearts admin, in case they were to offer him a contract, to get a fee from Hibs? I presume he's under contract (but unpaid) at Hearts until 30th June

26-06-2013, 03:09 PM
A young player getting 'stuck in' in a derby. Not the worst crime ever.

Good young player with a bit of bite. That'll do for me.

The new Willie Miller?

There will only ever be one Willie Miller........great player with a hint of mental (great bloke too). Calum Milne on the other hand.......

26-06-2013, 10:01 PM
There will only ever be one Willie Miller........great player with a hint of mental (great bloke too). Calum Milne on the other hand.......

Used to love Miller. A proper Hibby and dare I say it, very underrated as a footballer.

Milne was also proper hard.

Ah, the good old days....

Davie Farrell deserves a mention on my thread hijack.

When men were men and silky football was irrelevant.

26-06-2013, 10:04 PM
He's left them anyway, regardless of who he's signed for?

Just wonder if Hibs kept this quiet pre Hearts admin, in case they were to offer him a contract, to get a fee from Hibs? I presume he's under contract (but unpaid) at Hearts until 30th June

I'm sure they would have to have offered him a new contract at least 90 days before its end on equal terms to be entitled to comp.

I may be just makin that up though...

26-06-2013, 11:01 PM

I remember we once announced a new signing every day for 5 days consecutively. Was great!

26-06-2013, 11:14 PM
I remember we once announced a new signing every day for 5 days consecutively. Was great!

That'll be 195 players if the yams were to calculate that

27-06-2013, 10:00 AM
#allisbarry confirms the deal before Hibs...

@BarryAnderson_8: "I couldn't say no to #Hibs." Fraser Mullen interview in today's EN. Reckon he'll be a top signing - a young prospect who will improve.

27-06-2013, 10:19 AM
Used to love Miller. A proper Hibby and dare I say it, very underrated as a footballer.

Callum Milne was a proper radge.

I don't know how long he (or Mr Farrell) would stay on the field these days - ten minutes if they were lucky and the ref had forgotten his specs. As you say, the good old days, when men were men and cruciates were ruptured every week. (Sigh.)

One thing I DO know - if Callum had been playing recently, one Jambo thug from Tranent would be in a wheelchair right now.

I remember watching CM playing for Whitburn in the Junior Cup Final - they won it - and he appeared to be just as deranged as he ever was with us.

I REALLY LIKED Callum. :devil:

27-06-2013, 10:46 AM

My favourite player before Sauzee turned up. Pretty similar players...

27-06-2013, 11:04 AM

YEAH VERY SIMILAR LOL

They both had -
2 arms
2 legs
1 head
2 feet (well maybe not in Davie's case)

There the similarities end :greengrin

27-06-2013, 11:11 AM
Good article on Mullen in todays Scotsman, he has not signed yet and is awaiting confirmation from Hibs once a few loose end have been tied up.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/fraser-mullen-keen-for-fresh-start-at-hibs-1-2979248?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=dlvr.it

FRASER MULLEN insists he’s relishing the prospect of a “fresh start” at Hibs as he strives to get his fledgling career back on track following his recent release from city rivals Hearts.

The 19-year-old right-back, who spent seven years with the Tynecastle club before being axed this summer, is poised to become Pat Fenlon’s close season signing, with just a few loose ends to tie up. Mullen had a medical on Tuesday and then underwent an X-ray yesterday as he waits for confirmation that he will be taken on by the Easter Road side.

He told the Evening News: “Hopefully everything goes okay with the medical, so we’ll see what happens. I’ve not got a clue when things will get tied up.”Having come through the ranks at Tynecastle, Mullen is well aware that crossing the city divide is seen as a big deal in the eyes of many fans. However, he insists he had 
no option but to accept the chance offered to him by 
Fenlon.

He said: “I thought about it when I first heard from Hibs, but this is my career and I
need a job at the end of the
day. “It wasn’t my choice to leave Hearts, but Hibs is a big club. When I left Hearts I wanted to stay in the SPL if I could, so when the chance came along I couldn’t say no to it. “I would have liked to have stayed at Hearts, but it wasn’t to be. Hopefully if the move to Hibs goes through, I’ll have a fresh start.”

Even though Mullen is from Glasgow, he is all too aware that moving to Hearts’ most bitter rivals could bring additional pressure. However, he takes heart from the way that former Jambo Alan Maybury settled at Easter Road last term. “I might not be a boyhood Hearts fan from Edinburgh but I was at Hearts for a long time so I know what the rivalry is all about. To be fair, a lot of Hearts fans have wished me good luck since news of the move came about. Alan Maybury’s played for both teams, so I think I should be okay.”

Should the move get the go-ahead, the prospect of playing in his first derby in green and white is a strange one for Mullen. He added: “It will be weird playing against Hearts because I’ve known a lot of the boys for a really long time and am good pals with a lot of them.” Ironically, Mullen’s last game for Hearts was in the goalless derby against Hibs at Easter Road in March. The youngster took dogs’ abuse from the Hibs fans in the East Stand as he limped off with a foot injury which ultimately ended his
season.

However, he insists he is now fully fit and holds no grudges with the Hibs support for their reaction to his misfortune. “Everything’s okay with the injury,” he confirmed. “I’m ready to start training again. You expect abuse from your rival fans in a derby so I wasn’t too bothered about that.”

27-06-2013, 11:25 AM
Callum Milne was a proper radge.

I don't know how long he (or Mr Farrell) would stay on the field these days - ten minutes if they were lucky and the ref had forgotten his specs. As you say, the good old days, when men were men and cruciates were ruptured every week. (Sigh.)

One thing I DO know - if Callum had been playing recently, one Jambo thug from Tranent would be in a wheelchair right now.

I remember watching CM playing for Whitburn in the Junior Cup Final - they won it - and he appeared to be just as deranged as he ever was with us.

I REALLY LIKED Callum. :devil:

I remember medals pulled him up for standing on Colquhouns neck , then realised who it was :greengrin

27-06-2013, 11:29 AM
Good article on Mullen in todays Scotsman, he has not signed yet and is awaiting confirmation from Hibs once a few loose end have been tied up.

http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/fraser-mullen-keen-for-fresh-start-at-hibs-1-2979248?utm_medium=twitter&utm_source=dlvr.it

FRASER MULLEN insists he’s relishing the prospect of a “fresh start” at Hibs as he strives to get his fledgling career back on track following his recent release from city rivals Hearts.

The 19-year-old right-back, who spent seven years with the Tynecastle club before being axed this summer, is poised to become Pat Fenlon’s close season signing, with just a few loose ends to tie up. Mullen had a medical on Tuesday and then underwent an X-ray yesterday as he waits for confirmation that he will be taken on by the Easter Road side.

He told the Evening News: “Hopefully everything goes okay with the medical, so we’ll see what happens. I’ve not got a clue when things will get tied up.”Having come through the ranks at Tynecastle, Mullen is well aware that crossing the city divide is seen as a big deal in the eyes of many fans. However, he insists he had 
Fenlon.

He said: “I thought about it when I first heard from Hibs, but this is my career and I
day. “It wasn’t my choice to leave Hearts, but Hibs is a big club. When I left Hearts I wanted to stay in the SPL if I could, so when the chance came along I couldn’t say no to it. “I would have liked to have stayed at Hearts, but it wasn’t to be. Hopefully if the move to Hibs goes through, I’ll have a fresh start.”

Even though Mullen is from Glasgow, he is all too aware that moving to Hearts’ most bitter rivals could bring additional pressure. However, he takes heart from the way that former Jambo Alan Maybury settled at Easter Road last term. “I might not be a boyhood Hearts fan from Edinburgh but I was at Hearts for a long time so I know what the rivalry is all about. To be fair, a lot of Hearts fans have wished me good luck since news of the move came about. Alan Maybury’s played for both teams, so I think I should be okay.”

Should the move get the go-ahead, the prospect of playing in his first derby in green and white is a strange one for Mullen. He added: “It will be weird playing against Hearts because I’ve known a lot of the boys for a really long time and am good pals with a lot of them.” Ironically, Mullen’s last game for Hearts was in the goalless derby against Hibs at Easter Road in March. The youngster took dogs’ abuse from the Hibs fans in the East Stand as he limped off with a foot injury which ultimately ended his
season.

However, he insists he is now fully fit and holds no grudges with the Hibs support for their reaction to his misfortune. “Everything’s okay with the injury,” he confirmed. “I’m ready to start training again. You expect abuse from your rival fans in a derby so I wasn’t too bothered about that.”

He better start sounding like he wants to be at Hibs, if he wants to build any sort of rapport with the support. He sounds like Billy Brown in that interview.

27-06-2013, 11:31 AM
He better start sounding like he wants to be at Hibs, if he wants to build any sort of rapport with the support. He sounds like Billy Brown in that interview.

Woody70x2
27-06-2013, 11:34 AM

When I read it I come to the same conclusion... basically says I love Hearts but they bumped me, so I have to take this job at Hibs. Please forgive me Hearts fans.

Woody70x2
27-06-2013, 11:35 AM
When I read it I come to the same conclusion... basically says I love Hearts but they bumped me, so I have to take this job at Hibs. Please forgive me Hearts fans.

I will give him the chance to redeem himself on the park with his performances... if he is rank he will get chased out of ER in a shot!

27-06-2013, 11:37 AM
Welcome Fraz - and good luck son! :thumbsup:

Lmc2105
27-06-2013, 11:38 AM

spot on mate. just said exactly the same thing on twitter, that interview comesacross as he sdidn't want to leave hearts and hibs was his only option very poor imo he speaks about nothing about his delight of playing for us but how weird it will be to face them very poor 1st impression

GlenrothesHibee
27-06-2013, 11:40 AM

Sounds like a decent, level headed guy. Hearts gave him his chance after all.

27-06-2013, 11:41 AM
Prob not the best of interviews there. Almost apologetic to Hearts fans. But I'm happy to see what he does on the park. Nothing less than 110% because Hibs have given him another chance at SPL football. I couldn't care if his mates are all at hearts. He better show what he's about against them or the lad will never get a break from the fans.

27-06-2013, 11:49 AM
I didn't want the little thug here, but I think folk are being overly critical of the interview. He's got mates at Hearts, he probably has a lot of time for the club because of the time he spent there, and he still has to live in Edinburgh. Look at what happened to Deegan because of the team he played for.

Hopefully he learns how to tackle properly, and becomes a good player for us.

Niffy
27-06-2013, 11:49 AM

Mind at (I think) Gordon Hunters testimonial do, I shouted to him for a photo...

" Hey Farrell....!"

To which he glared at me and replied... "Mr Farrell to you..." then smiled..

Guid guy.

Lmc2105
27-06-2013, 11:54 AM

spot on mate. just said exactly the same thing on twitter, that interview comesacross as he sdidn't want to leave hearts and hibs was his only option very poor imo he speaks about nothing about his delight of playing for us but how weird it will be to face them very poor 1st impression

27-06-2013, 11:54 AM
I remember medals pulled him up for standing on Colquhouns neck , then realised who it was :greengrin

He'd probably helped wreck his pub the night before. :greengrin

SolentHibee
27-06-2013, 11:59 AM
The interview has to tread a thin line of respect for both clubs, and I am happy with his honesty - much better than him saying that he has always wanted to be with Hibs as he was a childhood fan.

I fully expect him in the future to become like a reformed smoker - irritating in his evangelical promotion of all things Hibs.:cb

27-06-2013, 12:03 PM
It's not the best of interviews but presumably the young lad will not have his own publicist to advise him on what to say and what not to say. As long as he does his talking on the park then that will do for me.

27-06-2013, 12:07 PM
It's not the best of interviews but presumably the young lad will not have his own publicist to advise him on what to say and what not to say. As long as he does his talking on the park then that will do for me.

He's only 19 FFS give him a break what do we expect him to say "Eff the Hearts I hope they go pop soon" (actually that would be nice :greengrin )

Let's get behind him and hope he goes on to prove himself on the park.

Just think how good it would be if he developed into a top prospect and was sold for a £million+, they would never get over it.

27-06-2013, 12:08 PM

Fenlon.

season.

Is this normal for a medical or does the lad have some kind of injury that may hinder his progress and Hibs are having it checked first before a deal is done.

27-06-2013, 12:10 PM
He's only 19 FFS give him a break what do we expect him to say "Eff the Hearts I hope they go pop soon" (actually that would be nice :greengrin )

Let's get behind him and hope he goes on to prove himself on the park.

Just think how good it would be if he developed into a top prospect and was sold for a £million+, they would never get over it.

27-06-2013, 12:10 PM
Works both ways - if we get fully behind the lad, as we did with Stewart, we'll get the best out of him. Harbour a wee grudge because of a couple of lines in a two bit paper to a two bit 'journalist' where none of us have been there to witness what was said.........then there will always be detractors which may affect performance. The boys been at Hearts a while and is leaving mates behind......also been binned so he'll still be sore. Hopefully this will make him more determined that ever to prove they were wrong, leaving Hibs to reap the reward and benefit.

Support him first though.

27-06-2013, 12:11 PM
Is this normal for a medical or does the lad have some kind of injury that may hinder his progress and Hibs are having it checked first before a deal is done.

He broke his foot in the derby trying to take out matt done.

27-06-2013, 12:11 PM
I didn't want the little thug here, but I think folk are being overly critical of the interview. He's got mates at Hearts, he probably has a lot of time for the club because of the time he spent there, and he still has to live in Edinburgh. Look at what happened to Deegan because of the team he played for.

Hopefully he learns how to tackle properly, and becomes a good player for us.

Allegedly it was a Hibs fan who done that to Deegan.

27-06-2013, 12:16 PM
A wee bit too harsh on the guys comments probably cherry picked from a load of other things he would have said. He will be trying to tread a balance however he is young and obviously a strong character to even consider coming to Hibs and one thing is for sure he will be determined to prove himself at Hibs. Good luck to him and hope he is a standout for the club.

MountcastleHibs
27-06-2013, 12:18 PM
Allegedly it was a Hibs fan who done that to Deegan.

It was a Hun.

27-06-2013, 12:39 PM
What he said was fine, he spent 7 years at Hearts and he is only 19, of course he will not hate Hearts. Let's just get behind him and hope he turns in to a good player for Hibs.

27-06-2013, 12:39 PM
I like the interview. You don't really see the questions asked of him but I'll bet the interviewer was asking about Hearts this and Hearts that. Did the best he could with loaded questions no doubt.

Anyway paper talk is just that. He could say all the right things but at the end of the day we'll only accept him if he can do his talking on the park.

I'm hopeful he can.

27-06-2013, 12:52 PM
Thought the interview is ok. Makes it clear he's no a yam from birth. Let's give him s chance

27-06-2013, 12:58 PM
Couldn't care less about how he is portrayed by a journalist or who he supported as a kid. As long as he does the business for Hibs he'll do for me.

27-06-2013, 01:13 PM
The Lad's from Glasgow, so lets just get behind him and stop all this he's an ex jambo nonsense, at the end of the day he's a pro footballer, that's all that matters.

Just_Jimmy
27-06-2013, 01:26 PM
There won't be a derby soon anyway so it won't be an issue.

27-06-2013, 01:39 PM
It was just one of those PR-managed young pro footballers interviews.

Reading between the lines he was really saying:

"As a young boy, I was kidnapped by a gang of ruthless paedophilles, and held hostage for seven years in an asbestos ridden dungeon where they did all manner of unspeakable things to me, feeding me only stale cakes. When I grew too old for their depraved purposes, they cast me out, ragged and blinking, onto the unforgiving streets of Edinburgh. Luckily, I was found by a genial Irishman, who took me to this beautiful green and white wonderland, where I was finally looked after. He said: 'the best way to get revenge on those evil, swindling, free-loading, cheating, tax-dodging, human trafficking nonces, is to hit where it hurts - on the park. You will be given that opportunity, young Fraser.' These were most inspiring words I had heard in my life. Now I am prepared to fight and, if necessary, die, for the green jersey's against the Yam tyranny."

All you need to know.

27-06-2013, 01:42 PM

"As a young boy, I was kidnapped by a gang of ruthless paedophilles, and held hostage for seven years in an asbestos ridden dungeon where they did all manner of unspeakable things to me, feeding me only stale cakes. When I grew too old for their depraved purposes, they cast me out, ragged and blinking, onto the unforgiving streets of Edinburgh. Luckily, I was found by a genial Irishman, who took to this beautiful green and white wonderland, where I was looked after. He said: 'the best way to get revenge on those evil, swindling, free-loading, cheating, tax-dodging, human trafficking nonces, is to hit where it hurts - on the park. You will be given that opportunity, young Fraser.' These were most inspiring words I had heard in my life. Now I am prepared to fight and, if necessary, die, for the green jersey's against the Yam tyranny."

All you need to know.

Fantastic. :faf::faf:

27-06-2013, 01:44 PM

"As a young boy, I was kidnapped by a gang of ruthless paedophilles, and held hostage for seven years in an asbestos ridden dungeon where they did all manner of unspeakable things to me, feeding me only stale cakes. When I grew too old for their depraved purposes, they cast me out, ragged and blinking, onto the unforgiving streets of Edinburgh. Luckily, I was found by a genial Irishman, who took me to this beautiful green and white wonderland, where I was finally looked after. He said: 'the best way to get revenge on those evil, swindling, free-loading, cheating, tax-dodging, human trafficking nonces, is to hit where it hurts - on the park. You will be given that opportunity, young Fraser.' These were most inspiring words I had heard in my life. Now I am prepared to fight and, if necessary, die, for the green jersey's against the Yam tyranny."

All you need to know.

That's how I saw it Sir Bob :agree:

27-06-2013, 01:46 PM

All you need to know.

:top marks Brilliant, I'm sure that's what he really said but the Scotsman have twisted it, as usual.

27-06-2013, 01:47 PM
What he said was fine, he spent 7 years at Hearts and he is only 19, of course he will not hate Hearts. Let's just get behind him and hope he turns in to a good player for Hibs.

Agree. 100%

scott_hfc1875
27-06-2013, 01:53 PM
Does this mean we can sing the old Stewart song for him now?

27-06-2013, 02:21 PM
I like the interview. You don't really see the questions asked of him but I'll bet the interviewer was asking about Hearts this and Hearts that. Did the best he could with loaded questions no doubt.

Anyway paper talk is just that. He could say all the right things but at the end of the day we'll only accept him if he can do his talking on the park.

I'm hopeful he can.

27-06-2013, 03:28 PM
:top marks Brilliant, I'm sure that's what he really said but the Scotsman have twisted it, as usual.

Yes, they definitely 'barried' it.

iainm1875
27-06-2013, 03:34 PM
Should have asked KT for advice, there's a man that knows what to say when joining a new club!

29-06-2013, 12:20 PM
@FraserMullen_: Delighted to have signed a deal at Hibs. Hard work starts now and can't wait to get started. Also massive thanks to everyone at @Viola_FC

That's it official now.

David_D
29-06-2013, 12:25 PM
Wonder if he will be involved today.