View Full Version : Europa League draw: Drogheda or Malmo v Hibs
24-06-2013, 12:47 PM
I can't see malmo losing to Drogheda and they will be a tough nut for Hibs to crack as they are currently 12 matches into the Swedish season and have only lost one match in 12
24-06-2013, 12:47 PM
I hope Drogheda win and we get them, will be a tough ask for them though
Hal Jordan
24-06-2013, 12:48 PM
Great. Hibs face a team in the middle of their season while barely into pre-season training!
Who are sitting 4th in their league having scored 21 goals in 12 games!:shocked:
Reckon it'll be Malmo, and it'll be a tough game, they're already 12 games into thier season, only lost once.
Malmo are 4th in the Swedish league with 6 wins 5 draws and 1 defeat
Drogheda would be great. Just up the road from Dublin airport....Pat Fenlon would like that
Whats folks thoughts with that? Assume it will be malmo, anyone know what they are like?
They knocked the Huns out of the CL qualifiers two years ago.
Newry Hibs
24-06-2013, 12:50 PM
Drogheda would be a cheeky half hour drive for me!!
It will be Malmo though.
24-06-2013, 12:50 PM
best bet fly copenhagen
scott7_0(Prague)
24-06-2013, 12:51 PM
baws.
nae trip for me.
hope we win... maybe next round !
only 9hours to drive it from Prague.. :greengrin
NYHibby
24-06-2013, 12:51 PM
If its Malmo there's lots of travel options. Fly to Copenhagen then take train over bridge is probably best. Ryanair's flights to Copenhagen actually land in Malmo!!
That's true, but Ryanair does not fly there from Scotland. They do from Stansted if you are down south...
1970, 3-2 in Sweden & 6-0 at ER, even Jim Blair got a couple in that game!
Wasn't suggesting an easy task this time around, before the 70's were out, Malmo were playing Brian Clough's Forest in the European Cup Final!
Hero76
24-06-2013, 12:52 PM
What date will this be played
Does anyone know what date the home leg will be?
I never get why people get so upset about this, they are supposed to be professional so shouldn't matter! Get intae them right from the start training or no training, surely haven't forgotten how to do their jobs! Ggtth!
Its a massive issue. The team won't be up to full speed and it's likely we won't even have our final squad....it makes it much more difficult for us. A game later in the year we would have more chance to be performing to our best. That's the way it goes though. Tough draw...great trip whoever we get.
24-06-2013, 12:53 PM
Glad we have the away leg first. Keep it tight away then try do something back home at ER.
Does anyone know what date the home leg will be?
25th July
Malmo will be ****tin them selves. Think hearts got ROSENBURG
24-06-2013, 12:55 PM
Was honestly wondering why malmo are in 1st round and were not ?
24-06-2013, 12:56 PM
18th July Away
25th July Home
Calvin
24-06-2013, 12:57 PM
I'm going to book flights to Copenhagen ASAP.
Benny Brazil
Malmo will be ****tin them selves. Think hearts got ROSENBURG
Eh?
scott7_0(Prague)
tough tie, keep in mind the Swedish league will be up and running so tehy will have an advantage of fitness etc.
we will see. :hibees
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Malm%C3%B6_FF
Malmo looks a fantastic stadium.
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Drogheda_United_F.C.
Drogheda had a tight game with Dynamo Kiev however a few years ago (08/09) assume they are not as strong now.
Who did hearts get in the champions league btw :confused:
24-06-2013, 12:58 PM
25th July
GlenrothesHibee
24-06-2013, 01:00 PM
Not a kind draw thats for sure
24-06-2013, 01:00 PM
Was honestly wondering why malmo are in 1st round and were not ?
Because Sweden are ranked 24th and Scotland are ranked 18th on the UEFA coefficients.
24-06-2013, 01:01 PM
Housemates are from malmo and a load of ex Dublin swedes..could be a goer
24-06-2013, 01:01 PM
It's a pretty tight table in Sweden.
http://www.worldfootball.net/spielplan/swe-allsvenskan-2013-spieltag/14/
24-06-2013, 01:02 PM
Who did hearts get in the champions league btw :confused:
Young Boys
Hearts
Sporting Paedophille
FC Nonce
24-06-2013, 01:04 PM
:wink: :agree:
http://hibsprogrammes.co.uk/700916.html
24-06-2013, 01:05 PM
Malmo play our old friends Elfsborg tonight at 18:00 (Scottish time :greengrin).
If anyone is interested in doing some scouting, the game will be available live online, including on the Bet365 website. :aok:
EDIT: Both teams on equal points in 4th and 3rd respectively after 12 games.
24-06-2013, 01:05 PM
Malmo's first post war manager must have been a Hibby surely?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sven_Nilsson_(footballer)
24-06-2013, 01:06 PM
Malmo's first post war manager must have been a Hibby surely?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sven_Nilsson_(footballer)
Don't know but his name sake was certainly making plenty pledges to FOH recently :greengrin
24-06-2013, 01:07 PM
Drogheda, hmm another battle of the Boyne. Elder son will not be impressed if that is who we get. Promised him I would take him this year as he hasn't been to Europe with Hibs, he lives in Londonderry so a cheeky wee drive down just! Malmo sounds good though.
24-06-2013, 01:07 PM
But we could have got Rubin Kazan so I'll take it.
some folk are never happy :rolleyes:
24-06-2013, 01:10 PM
Drogheda's ground only holds 2000 ffs! thankfully there's no danger they'll get past Malmo but still, imagine the scrap for tickets for that one if it happened. Would it get moved?
24-06-2013, 01:12 PM
Not a kind draw thats for sure
As others have said, it could have been tougher.
Malmo are the seventh weakest seeded team according to UEFA coefficients. They only appear to have qualified for Europe once in the last five years.
24-06-2013, 01:12 PM
£63 return from Stanny - Malmo with Ryanair, Wed - Fri at the moment. Both mid afternoon flights.
vercol36
24-06-2013, 01:14 PM
What a predicament. A trip to Sweden would be more fun than a trip to Ireland, but we would most likely lose to Malmo. Whereas, I'm sure Fenlon could mastermind a victory over Drogheda.
Edit: I see some folk think we can beat Malmo easily. I bow to your superior knowledge :not worth
24-06-2013, 01:15 PM
Edinburgh to copenhagen direct flying with Norwegian air on thursday 18th arriving 16.55 and leaving friday 19th at 07.55 only £170 return.
24-06-2013, 01:16 PM
Decent draw to be honest, would prefer drogheda but will probably be malmo. Which would still be a hard game but also winnable
Posh Swanny
24-06-2013, 01:19 PM
Gutted - I'll be on a stag do when the home leg takes place. :boo hoo:
In bloody Copenhagen! :grr::LOL:
LeighLoyal
24-06-2013, 01:19 PM
I don't think Malmo are unbeatable, but we'll need to add at least one, probably two, forwards.
FifeHibernian
24-06-2013, 01:21 PM
How many would we be likely to take to Malmo and Drogheda respectably? A couple of thousand maybe? I'm hoping for Drogheda as it'd be easier to get to and I might be able to afford the next round (fingers crossed :greengrin)
24-06-2013, 01:23 PM
Just booked stansted to Malmo, wed-fri. Big gamble but prices are good.
hibby rae
24-06-2013, 01:24 PM
Edinburgh to copenhagen direct flying with Norwegian air on thursday 18th arriving 16.55 and leaving friday 19th at 07.55 only £170 return.
That will be a fun return flight! I remember when we played Shamrock pre-season and I got the first flight home the following morning. So so tired and judging by the line of sleeping Hibbys at the departure gate I wasn't the only one! Great day out though!
24-06-2013, 01:31 PM
Who is that with PB.
FifeHibernian
24-06-2013, 01:32 PM
Anyone know when the 2 legs will be played? Even roughly?
24-06-2013, 01:33 PM
Who is that with PB.
Ryanair, £125 return for 2 of us.
davieh
24-06-2013, 01:34 PM
I reckon other alternatives for Malmo from Edinburgh would be Billund (Denmark) on the 18th or Gothenburg the day before (both Ryanairs)...:flag:
hibeenicol
24-06-2013, 01:35 PM
Flights with Ryanair Edinburgh to Gothenburg are £110 return. Think its around a 3hr drive from Gothenburg to Malmo.
I'm booking nothing until after the 1st round ties though.
24-06-2013, 01:39 PM
Anyone know when the 2 legs will be played? Even roughly?
AWAY 18TH July, HOME 25TH July.
Whos-the-poster
24-06-2013, 01:40 PM
Malmo's ground looks like the love ground of Man city's Etihad and Coventry's Ricoh Arena
http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/91/Pano_of_Swedbank_Stadion.jpg/800px-Pano_of_Swedbank_Stadion.jpg
24-06-2013, 01:41 PM
Guys I would hold off doing anything until to-morrow.
Official uefa site states leg order will be confirmed 25th June.
:coffee:
Makaveli
24-06-2013, 01:45 PM
The good thing with Malmo is that there are several decent options for travel — Edinburgh-Copenhagen, London-Malmo etc. Even after the result is known it won't be extortionate like it would if we were going to some far-flung place served by a single route.
Obviously easy enough getting to Drogheda should it come to that, which it hopefully will!
24-06-2013, 01:47 PM
Edi-Ams-copenhagen booked for the Wednesday and return on the Friday. Now to find out how to get from Copenhagen then tell the missus me and the boy are away for a party. By the way, only 80 euros each. (airmiles, love 'em):greengrin
24-06-2013, 01:49 PM
Edi-Ams-copenhagen booked for the Wednesday and return on the Friday. Now to find out how to get from Copenhagen then tell the missus me and the boy are away for a party. By the way, only 80 euros each. (airmiles, love 'em):greengrin
Train Copenhagen to Malmo approx 35 mins.
24-06-2013, 01:50 PM
There's a train leaves Copenhagen airport every 20 mins to Malmo. Takes about 24mi a and costa around £10 single each
24-06-2013, 01:51 PM
Is that the 12.25 flight out PB.
Got to wait for my son finishing work before i book to see if he can get time off.
HibeeMG
24-06-2013, 01:53 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130624/drogheda-or-malmo-in-europe_2262950_3218518
24-06-2013, 01:58 PM
Option is easy jet Manchester to Copenhagen, flights back on Friday seem cheap. Only 3 seats on the Tuesday flight but availability on the Wednesday flight, decent flight times. Works out approx £120 to £130.
24-06-2013, 02:00 PM
Can get Manchester-Copenhagen for as little as £80 return, though it's flying out on Thursday and back late Friday.
24-06-2013, 02:00 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130624/drogheda-or-malmo-in-europe_2262950_3218518
Brilliant. Drogheda are currently eighth in the Airtricity League and the club's home ground is called Hunky Dory Park.
gorgie greens
24-06-2013, 02:01 PM
Got to wait for my son finishing work before i book to see if he can get time off.
Counting chickens before they hatch,hope for your sake it's Malmo,I hope it's Ireland,2 hr drive to Fishgaurd n little drive up the coast
24-06-2013, 02:02 PM
That could be an ouch moment for those who have banked on dates (let alone opposition) I reckon club will do charter as its easy / close location and should be reasonable.
24-06-2013, 02:03 PM
Yep.
24-06-2013, 02:03 PM
Brilliant. Drogheda are currently eighth in the Airtricity League and the club's home ground is called Hunky Dory Park.
Who is their Star Man?
Newry Hibs
24-06-2013, 02:05 PM
They are a brand of crisps over here. Do sponsorship of sports, GAA - so imagine they have sponsored the stadium. Do a google image search on hunky dory crisps and you get the kind of 1970's respect for women!
Hibby91
24-06-2013, 02:06 PM
Is it confirmed that the away leg is the defo the 18th ?
hibby rae
24-06-2013, 02:08 PM
They are a brand of crisps over here. Do sponsorship of sports, GAA - so imagine they have sponsored the stadium. Do a google image search on hunky dory crisps and you get the kind of 1970's respect for women!
Jings! Good thing for them we don't have Sparky anymore!
24-06-2013, 02:09 PM
yep, see the trains, one every 20 minutes and a tually stops at Copenhagen airport. Think I will leave the hotel decision until I find out where everybody else is staying. Malmo, from memory was slightly less expensive than Copenhagen, but Copenhagen is a damned good run ashore!!!
EEK, don't like this part on the official website: Full ticket information will be confirmed here on www.hibernianfc.co.uk on Thursday (25 July)
pat fenlon will probably be at the drogheda game, chance to see the wife aswell ;)
oramhibee
24-06-2013, 02:13 PM
As others have said, it could have been tougher.
Malmo are the seventh weakest seeded team according to UEFA coefficients. They only appear to have qualified for Europe once in the last five years.
Isn't that about the same for us? Our last European games were Maribor in 2010. Before that was 2008 v Elfsborg. OK, we have qualified more but not much more...
24-06-2013, 02:14 PM
Nah - just book it all on your credit card and you'll get a full refund if dissatisfied in any way, it's what all big teams do :wink:
24-06-2013, 02:15 PM
pat fenlon will probably be at the drogheda game, chance to see the wife aswell ;)
Going to be a lot of travelling for him.
Gib v Hibs on 3rd
Drogheda v Malmo on 4th
Hibs v Forest on 6th
Malmo v Drogheda on 12th
Raith v Hibs on 12th
Calvin
24-06-2013, 02:18 PM
This is looking like an expensive trip but I really can't be missing the opportunity to have my pre-match drinks in a Mikkeller bar. Just too good.
24-06-2013, 02:20 PM
1575 Viewing, not a bad effort!
24-06-2013, 02:20 PM
Someone on the bounce hinting that fixtures may be reversed???!!
Hope so cos I'd miss the away game if its on the 18th!
24-06-2013, 02:24 PM
Fenlon won 14 out of 15 games against Droheda whilst at Bohs, eh not bad I suppose. Oh how we'd love an upset from them in the first round. :pray:
FifeHibernian
AWAY 18TH July, HOME 25TH July.
Thanks very much. Buzzin.
hibby rae
If the away leg isn't on tv does anyone know if Hibs tv will show it? Have they done that in the past? Also do they screen the away pre-season friendlies?
24-06-2013, 02:25 PM
Why would we agree to a reverse of fixtures?
24-06-2013, 02:26 PM
The jambos keekback "euro draws" thread reeks of jealousy :hilarious The hibees planning a european trip whilst the mutants stay at home and fight just to stay in existance :thumbsup:
:fenlon:fenlon:fenlon
24-06-2013, 02:27 PM
No idea
24-06-2013, 02:29 PM
Never been to Ireland or Sweden. Wont mind either!
24-06-2013, 02:31 PM
This rumour appears every time we're in Europe.
jon paul jones
24-06-2013, 02:32 PM
UEFA website states the following
Article 9:05
http://www.uefa.com/MultimediaFiles/Download/Regulations/competitions/Regulations/01/94/62/40/1946240_DOWNLOAD.pdf
9.05 The ties are determined by means of a draw. The club drawn first plays the
first leg of the tie at home, subject to the provisions of Articles 7 and 12.
9.06 The UEFA administration may decide that a tie be played in one leg, if
circumstances so require, and will set the principles for determining the winner
accordingly.
Two days short of my annual leave. erse!
24-06-2013, 02:33 PM
Finding some decent deals on both flights and hotels, won't book anything until the home/away legs are confirmed at the very least. Haven't even considered the possibility of playing Drogheda!
Wouldn't affect us as Hearts are not in Europe, but maybe they'd reverse fixtures if 2 teams from the same city were both due to play the home tie on the same night?
24-06-2013, 02:36 PM
This rumour appears every time we're in Europe.
Here's hoping it's true this time for purely selfish reasons on my part :greengrin
HibeeMG
24-06-2013, 02:50 PM
Wouldn't affect us as Hearts are not in Europe, but maybe they'd reverse fixtures if 2 teams from the same city were both due to play the home tie on the same night?
The Hearts Champions League game won't be on the same night so that shouldn't apply to us.
24-06-2013, 02:52 PM
Edin-Lon 6am Wed, Lon-Cop 1pm 2nights Cop,
Ret Fri 6pm Cop-Edin direct.
Gamble but hey ho !(just to add flying easy jet with 2 nights 4* hotel next to train station in Cop £325 all in
Delboy4
24-06-2013, 02:57 PM
Weird - I've just returned from Turkey this morning but when I was at the beach two days ago I saw a young lad play keepie uppie beside the water and thought he's a player! Anyway, went to speak to him and proceeded to have a kick about...he was about 6'6", Swedish (looked like Peter Crouch) aged about 19/20. I asked him if he played and told me he was released by Everton but has went back home and signed for.........WAIT FOR IT...Malmo
Because I'm an agent here, I asked if someone represents him, he said yes and told me that Hibernian were interested in him a few months ago but something had fell through!!!! I never asked (PROBABLY MONEY) ;-)
I hadn't even told him that I was a Hibby - I let him chat away before I told him...he told me all about them (Hibs) having a New training centre and that he liked the look of the forward (our Leigh) he couldn't remember his name, I said, Leigh Griffiths - Yeah, that's him he replied! Anyway, he is centre back, speaks great English probably because he was playing for Everton for two years.
So, I will get in touch with him now as I hope to go over for the game.
Granton Stanton
24-06-2013, 03:01 PM
Edinburgh - Gothenburg Wed back Fri. 3 hour train journey to Malmo but good flight times (arr 9, dep 2) so might look at hiring a car. Theres 2 of us so might be some leeway in sharing costs of a car if anyones interested.
Now that the flights are paid for we're absolutely guaranteed to get the games reversed. Or Malmo to get beat.
24-06-2013, 03:06 PM
Yep.
24-06-2013, 03:33 PM
Weird - I've just returned from Turkey this morning but when I was at the beach two days ago I saw a young lad play keepie uppie beside the water and thought he's a player! Anyway, went to speak to him and proceeded to have a kick about...he was about 6'6", Swedish (looked like Peter Crouch) aged about 19/20. I asked him if he played and told me he was released by Everton but has went back home and signed for.........WAIT FOR IT...Malmo
Because I'm an agent here, I asked if someone represents him, he said yes and told me that Hibernian were interested in him a few months ago but something had fell through!!!! I never asked (PROBABLY MONEY) ;-)
I hadn't even told him that I was a Hibby - I let him chat away before I told him...he told me all about them (Hibs) having a New training centre and that he liked the look of the forward (our Leigh) he couldn't remember his name, I said, Leigh Griffiths - Yeah, that's him he replied! Anyway, he is centre back, speaks great English probably because he was playing for Everton for two years.
Johan Hammar? Played a few games on loan at Stockport.
24-06-2013, 03:45 PM
Copenhagen 66 quid return, flying SAS!
That'll do me. **
** But only if it's SAS the Airline, not the other lot. I don't fancy a nighttime parachute drop into a muddy field :wink:
p.s. Sorry, the above flights are only from Munich and only with my work's discount
24-06-2013, 03:49 PM
Sas airlines in major financial difficulties hope they keep it going for another few months.
whereswallace?
24-06-2013, 03:53 PM
Waited until the draw and didn't fancy Sweden so booked up for Portugal for the Forest game and 4 days in the sun!
24-06-2013, 03:59 PM
How expensive is Sweden these days?
Hotels don't seem too bad, £80-£100 a night, but remember being in Stockholm about 5 years ago and £8 a pint was the norm.
SonOfDavidFrancey
24-06-2013, 04:09 PM
Judging from the picture on the fishul site we were only two steps away from the dream draw of FC Hibernians vs Hibernian FC.
I just moves to Sweden on Tuesday so to get Malmo would be nice.
24-06-2013, 04:31 PM
St Johnstone v Crusaders/Rosenborg
Hibernian v Drogheda/Malmo
Hearts v Liquidation :yw:
24-06-2013, 04:33 PM
Swedes speak English better than us generally.... Well, better than yams for sure :greengrin
oldbiker
24-06-2013, 04:42 PM
Never been to Ireland or Sweden. Wont mind either!
Been to Sweden recently and you need a mortgage for a beer £17 for three half pints :grr:
24-06-2013, 04:46 PM
Been to Sweden recently and you need a mortgage for a beer £17 for three half pints :grr:
Oh well, wont hurt to have some time off the beer!
How expensive is Sweden these days?
Hotels don't seem too bad, £80-£100 a night, but remember being in Stockholm about 5 years ago and £8 a pint was the norm.
6-7 pounds but you can find 3-4 pounds pints if you look around even in Stockholm. don't know about Malmo though.
Delboy4
24-06-2013, 04:46 PM
Johan Hammar? Played a few games on loan at Stockport.
Yeah, lovely lad. I'm keeping in touch with him. Maybe some business in the future for me.
24-06-2013, 05:15 PM
Hibs posted this ok twitter a wee while ago:
“@HibernianFCClub: Before anyone books flights, we're awaiting confirmation from UEFA as to when our away leg will be scheduled (18/7 or 25/7) #hibsineurope”
24-06-2013, 05:27 PM
Swedish Hibee will be delighted :greengrin
Greendub
24-06-2013, 05:28 PM
Gutted, only a 6 hour drive to Malmo and I canni get any time off
24-06-2013, 05:35 PM
Malmo leading Elfsborg 1-0 as we speak,they look not a bad side.
24-06-2013, 05:44 PM
For me its all about getting past this round.
No offence to Drogheda Utd but I cant see them being strong enough to knock out Malmo so it looks like it will be them we end up with.
It will be vital that we get the 2nd leg at Easter Road, but even then its going to be a tough ask to get a decent result in the away leg given that Malmo are already some way into their season. Though they seem to be doing pretty well in the league I for one dont know what sort of standard the Swedish league is currently at in comparison with the SPL. At least on a par and probably a good bit stronger I would imagine.
Had a look at Swedish clubs European record from last year and though they didnt trouble the latter stages there are still some pretty impressive results in there.
Whatever happens though it is now vital that we sign at least one decent striker as a matter of urgency. There can be no doubt that one of the main factors in the abject failure of Scottish clubs outside of the old firm to register in Europe over the last 10 to 20 years has been their utter failure to score an away goal. Its better to lose 3 - 1 than 2 - 0.
Everybody raves about the AEK Athens match, but the truth is that if we had scored an away goal in that tie we would have been in the next round. Forgetting that AEK had a perfectly good goal not given in the first game of course :greengrin
24-06-2013, 05:51 PM
Nick Colgan......the Drogheda cat!
shezer
24-06-2013, 05:52 PM
Would the club run a flight for Malmo away? Have they done so in previous European trips? Thanks
therealgavmac
24-06-2013, 06:08 PM
Counting chickens before they hatch,hope for your sake it's Malmo,I hope it's Ireland,2 hr drive to Fishgaurd n little drive up the coast
Lucky me! I'm only 20 minutes from the Fishguard ferry and 30 minutes from the Pembroke ferry.... Nice crossing to Rosslare then the train up Woo hoo!
Only problem is (and I've done this 6 times) - the Irish don't coordinate very well - day ferry arrives 20 minutes after last train for Dublin and overnight 2 hours before first train....... Coach is best!
24-06-2013, 06:19 PM
Malmo leading Elfsborg 1-0 as we speak,they look not a bad side.
I'm currently watching the game on a stream. Malmo look like a very good side. The big lad Rexephi and the South African guy Rantie look absolutely really good and dangerous. Two players Hibs definitely need to keep a close eye on.
better with the Kopparberg :cheers:
24-06-2013, 06:28 PM
Presuming we get Malmo, anyone care to give me a hint as to the best route to Malmo for potentially 5 people aged 50, 48, 24, 19 and 14? Thanks in advance. :thumbsup:
24-06-2013, 06:30 PM
What's prices in Copenhagen like, Similar ?
24-06-2013, 06:32 PM
Presuming we get Malmo, anyone care to give me a hint as to the best route to Malmo for potentially 5 people aged 50, 48, 24, 19 and 14? Thanks in advance. :thumbsup:
Probably via Copenhagen, and then get a 25 min train from airport to Malmo
24-06-2013, 06:32 PM
London Stansted to Malmo is the cheapest direct route i've found so far. Obviously the logistics of getting to Stansted is the tricky bit. y mate and I are currently considering the overnight megabus to Victoria then the Stansted Express!
Flying to Copenhagen then the short train to Malmo seems the other likely option, again though think Ryanair to Copenhage is a Stansted flight again.
24-06-2013, 06:35 PM
Probably via Copenhagen, and then get a 25 min train from airport to Malmo
Will have a look at that mate. Cheers. :thumbsup:
24-06-2013, 06:36 PM
London Stansted to Malmo is the cheapest direct route i've found so far. Obviously the logistics of getting to Stansted is the tricky bit. y mate and I are currently considering the overnight megabus to Victoria then the Stansted Express!
Flying to Copenhagen then the short train to Malmo seems the other likely option, again though think Ryanair to Copenhage is a Stansted flight again.
Thanks mate. You can get train tickets from Edinburgh to London easily enough nowadays anyway :aok:
24-06-2013, 06:37 PM
What's prices in Copenhagen like, Similar ?
was in Copenhagen and Malmo for work, but back in 2004,
Copenhagen is dear but Malmo worse... probably 5 quid pint in Copenhgen, 6-8 in Malmo. I am guessing a bit tho....
I recall people travel to Copenhagen just to get bevvy to take back.
both nice places though! Copenhagen worth spending a bit of time to see.
24-06-2013, 06:42 PM
Flying easy jet from Edin on Wed 6am to London then London to Copenhagen 1pm Hotel 5 min from train station in Copenhagen so 25 min to game. Leave Copenhagen Fri 6pm direct to Edinburgh. We've looked at most options & this one suits us best.
Two flights out not great but direct flights to Copenhagen are Mon & Fri so unless you want to go for 5 days which is too £££
24-06-2013, 06:43 PM
Not sure if it's going to be too costly for the 5 of us... Might take my little brother over just for the two of us as it will be his first European venture... Had a season ticket for 5 or 6 years and a diehard Hibee. He would love it!
24-06-2013, 06:45 PM
Both Drogheda and Malmo are in the middle of the seaon making it a tough ask for a team playing a couple of weeks before their league season starts. Good trips though.
24-06-2013, 06:46 PM
was in Copenhagen and Malmo for work, but back in 2004,
Copenhagen is dear but Malmo worse... probably 5 quid pint in Copenhgen, 6-8 in Malmo. I am guessing a bit tho....
I recall people travel to Copenhagen just to get bevvy to take back.
both nice places though! Copenhagen worth spending a bit of time to see.
Thanks for that Craig, a magners up town £4 here so I'll settle for similar. I've heard the train journey to game from Cop is pretty nice.
24-06-2013, 06:47 PM
Both Drogheda and Malmo are in the middle of the seaon making it a tough ask for a team playing a couple of weeks before their league season starts. Good trips though.
I agree with you, but we'll have had at least 4 games by then though.
How are Drogheda doing in their league
24-06-2013, 06:50 PM
Think Drogheda are well down the Irish league at the minute.
24-06-2013, 06:50 PM
Currently sitting 8th in the Irish Premier Division. Can't see them getting past Malmo what so ever...
24-06-2013, 06:52 PM
Currently sitting 8th in the Irish Premier Division. Can't see them getting past Malmo what so ever...
So it looks like Malmo. Need Hibs to confirm the dates tomorrow before I can look at flights
HibeeMcGinn1
24-06-2013, 06:54 PM
Really looking forward to this trip. Thinking of a flight to Copenhagen, train to Malmo then out in Malmo all night, back to Copenhagen in the morning then straight home. Anyone else thinking of a non hotel 1 night trip?
24-06-2013, 06:54 PM
Thanks for that Craig, a magners up town £4 here so I'll settle for similar. I've heard the train journey to game from Cop is pretty nice.
Yes, I had only moved here late 2003, so was still 'thinking' in Pounds and didnt find Copenhagen too bad then, so I'd imagine it its similar these days. Found some pubs (incl hard rock) that was 2-for-1 which made it just fine (us Scots eh),
anyway - if the away game is 25th I have a half chance to make it. Will be in Spain when 18th game is played.
24-06-2013, 06:58 PM
Swedish Hibee will be delighted :greengrin
Ha-ha, Correct. :wink: Although Malmo are one of my Swedish team's 'bogey' teams......
For anyone thinking of heading over, I'm not sure who in the UK fly's into Malmo... Don't live in that end of Sweden.
It's probably easier flying into Copenhagen, Denmark and getting the local bus over from there as it's not far.
Norwegian air fly Edin-Copenhagen. There's SAS and Ryanair too.
Failing that you can fly into Gothenburg or Stockholm and travel down from there. Swedish public transport is very good.
Malmo is a lovely small city, with many hotels... and Yep, Alcohol is NOT cheap.
Hibby91
24-06-2013, 07:00 PM
So it looks like Malmo. Need Hibs to confirm the dates tomorrow before I can look at flights
Same here still to let work know when I need off !
24-06-2013, 07:00 PM
Ha-ha, Correct. :wink: Although Malmo are one of my Swedish team's 'bogey' teams......
For anyone thinking of heading over, I'm not sure who in the UK fly's into Malmo... Don't live in that end of Sweden.
It's probably easier flying into Copenhagen, Denmark and getting the local bus over from there as it's not far.
Failing that you can fly into Gothenburg or Stockholm and travel down from there. Swedish public transport is very good.
Malmo is a lovely small city, with many hotels... and Yep, Alcohol is NOT cheap.
And yes, you'll look after us all!!
24-06-2013, 07:01 PM
Think people booking flights to malmo/copenhagen already might be getting a bit ahead of the game. Irish sides punch above their weight quite often in the qualifiers. Think I might wait until after their first leg game and see how things look.
24-06-2013, 07:05 PM
Yes, I had only moved here late 2003, so was still 'thinking' in Pounds and didnt find Copenhagen too bad then, so I'd imagine it its similar these days. Found some pubs (incl hard rock) that was 2-for-1 which made it just fine (us Scots eh),
anyway - if the away game is 25th I have a half chance to make it. Will be in Spain when 18th game is played.
If the away game is 25th ill be back on the computer a cancellation fee lighter. After the 1st round ties decided expect huge price increases on flights & digs. Looking forward to seeing the Danish capital & train across the bridge to Malmo. Fingers crossed.
24-06-2013, 07:13 PM
Going to wait until after the first leg to decide what I am going to do... Presuming Malmo get through, I might get an early morning train from Edinburgh to London on the 18th and get the 07:00 flight from Stansted to Copenhagen which lands at 08:40 UK time according to expedia.com and then have a little look about the Danish capital before getting the train from Copenhagen to Malmo. All of this hard work and effort looking for travel to Malmo when there is still the possibility that we might get Drogheda and easy little trip to Ireland...
woody0-7
24-06-2013, 07:36 PM
Ryanair flight on 18th to Gothenburg lands 9.15 local time train from there to malmo leave every hour and takes 2hrs 30 mins in malmo by 1ish return on Friday 2.45 all in £170 but do you take chance and book!
24-06-2013, 07:41 PM
Booked my hotel in Malmo with free cancellation if the Oirish lads do the biz.:aok:
Think I will hold off on the flights.
24-06-2013, 07:42 PM
Really looking forward to this trip. Thinking of a flight to Copenhagen, train to Malmo then out in Malmo all night, back to Copenhagen in the morning then straight home. Anyone else thinking of a non hotel 1 night trip?
Been considering it. First train from Malmo to Copenhagen is at 4am on Friday morning. Think I'm getting too old for that sort of stuff though and will do two nights in a hotel in Malmo. Still holding off booking anything until at least we know the definite dates.
24-06-2013, 07:42 PM
I just used my legs to get round. Wonderful place with no trouble at all.
Being an anorak I make it my business to visit all the football grounds in a city. It's is a good way of seeing parts you wouldn't normally go to. The wife didn't entirely buy this.
At the Bohemians 1905 park we wandered in on a Wednesday afternoon and were confronted with a bar selling Gambrinus. Entry to a reserve game going on was free.
At Dukla, I asked at the ticket booth for the souvenir shop. This is it came the reply. It was a cupboard. They played in the Euro Cup semi vs Celtic once.
The old Sparta stadium was immense. The Strahov used to hold over 200,000 and was the largest stadium in the world. Pop concerts now.
24-06-2013, 09:15 PM
Being an anorak I make it my business to visit all the football grounds in a city. It's is a good way of seeing parts you wouldn't normally go to. The wife didn't entirely buy this.
At the Bohemians 1905 park we wandered in on a Wednesday afternoon and were confronted with a bar selling Gambrinus. Entry to a reserve game going on was free.
At Dukla, I asked at the ticket booth for the souvenir shop. This is it came the reply. It was a cupboard. They played in the Euro Cup semi vs Celtic once.
The old Sparta stadium was immense. The Strahov used to hold over 200,000 and was the largest stadium in the world. Pop concerts now.
Dukla was the ex army team,
Bohemians are just down the road from me and love going down to see them, just got promoted back into top league. Standing & Beer, its just great !
HibeeMG
24-06-2013, 09:23 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130624/fenlon-on-europa-draw_2262950_3219003
24-06-2013, 09:32 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130624/fenlon-on-europa-draw_2262950_3219003
"The Europa League draw sees Hibernian face either a trip to the Republic of Ireland or Sweden (either 15 July or 22 July) and Fenlon admits a short journey across northern Europe was a sound outcome."
While there seems to be some dubiety as to whether we'll be at home or away in the first leg I certainly don't think the games will be played on Monday evenings?! :confused:
exHIBition
24-06-2013, 09:33 PM
If Drogheda do progress (seems quite unlikely but you can't write them off just yet) they will more than likely play their home tie against Hibs at either Dalymount Park, Dublin (home of Bohemians who Pat played for and managed) or Tallaght Stadium, also in Dublin (home of Shamrock Rovers who Pat also played for). The ground in Drogheda is not UEFA compliant and they have hosted previous European games in Dalymount Park.
24-06-2013, 09:34 PM
Be quite happy with Sweden myself :greengrin
http://farm1.staticflickr.com/112/291507675_f54b39c9c8_z.jpg
24-06-2013, 09:39 PM
"The Europa League draw sees Hibernian face either a trip to the Republic of Ireland or Sweden (either 15 July or 22 July) and Fenlon admits a short journey across northern Europe was a sound outcome."
While there seems to be some dubiety as to whether we'll be at home or away in the first leg I certainly don't think the games will be played on Monday evenings?! :confused:
They made the same mistake on twitter earlier and had to confirm to people who queried it that the games would definitely be in Thursdays.
Just when I thought the official site was getting better as well.
swedish hibee how will you get to Malmo as you are quite high up if I remember correctly perhaps if you are going by tåg we could jump on the same train?
hibby rae
24-06-2013, 09:59 PM
As I said earlier, we could have got a worse tie!
24-06-2013, 10:13 PM
I can't believe that you have a bogey team, V. You're generally a lucky charm are you not? :wink:
It all sounded pretty ideal until that last four words TBH :greengrin but hey beggars cant be choosers, right! I'm sure everyone heading over there will be sharing a drink with the malmolites :aok:
BTW, didn't we sign Jonaton Johansson from Malmo (Or didn't he move their from us). What a disappointment he turned oot to be by the way :rolleyes:
Kiddo
24-06-2013, 10:36 PM
Alcohol is NOT cheap.
Roughly how much is it a pint?
24-06-2013, 10:46 PM
3 hr drive to Rostock and then a few pre match beers on the ferry. When are the tickets on sale?
24-06-2013, 10:56 PM
I've taken the plunge and booked the Stansted-Malmo flight :worried:
24-06-2013, 11:18 PM
Bang goes any chance of a clean sheet.......
24-06-2013, 11:30 PM
I'm gutted I'm gonna miss this game!!! For purely selfish reasons please reverse the fixture I couldn't get the 18th of but got a few days off the following week hoping to travel if the second leg was away.
However great draw both beatable teams hopefully we can keep it tight first leg get them back here and take it from there.
24-06-2013, 11:33 PM
I'm gutted I'm gonna miss this game!!!
Same :(
24-06-2013, 11:44 PM
:not worth
BVB Hibs
25-06-2013, 12:36 AM
Will be gutted if Drogs make it through. I'm over to Edinburgh on the morning of the 18th and in Dublin a week later, so unless the fixtures are reversed I'd be missing both games.
Suppose that's unlikely to be an issue though, Malmo should pump Drogheda, and I'm likely to miss both legs in that case anyway. Just going to have to hope we make the next round so!! :greengrin
InterviewLoI
25-06-2013, 12:59 AM
Suppose it is Drogs, they won't play in Drogheda, they'll play in Tallaght. Which is about the same quality as, say, St. Mirren Park or Tuloch Caledonian Stadium. Its in Dublin
25-06-2013, 05:33 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5jJ8hXmnQKo
Malmo 2v1 Elfsborg from yesterday. Winning goal is the first goal shown; no idea why a foul wasn't given. Almost half the clip is the Elfsborg defender moaning about the non-decision.
25-06-2013, 06:37 AM
I've taken the plunge and booked the Stansted-Malmo flight :worried:
The price has gone up from last night:greengrin
25-06-2013, 07:56 AM
Malmo had an average attendance of just over 15,000 in the league last year. Does anyone know how many tickets we are entitled to? I think its 5% which would be 1050 tickets.
25-06-2013, 10:03 AM
"In Dublin, I unfortunately cant go. However, I and two other buddies (will be more) booked and ready to Edinburgh.
We fly over from Copenhagen with Norwegian on Thursday and home with Easyjet on Sunday. Will stay at Haymarket which is located in the west end, uncomfortably close to Hearts-country ...
Edinburgh is a wonderful city, just to take the chance to get there!"
Even they know Gorgie is a shole :greengrin
My Swedish, AIK supporting, mate had this to say when I asked him about Malmo.
Hibs are gonna kill them if they make it that far :))). I will so be cheering for Hibs, maybe I should drive down there and wear the green colours
. Hate Malmö!!!
25-06-2013, 10:29 AM
Are we definitely away in the first leg?
25-06-2013, 10:30 AM
Ryanair flight on 18th to Gothenburg lands 9.15 local time train from there to malmo leave every hour and takes 2hrs 30 mins in malmo by 1ish return on Friday 2.45 all in £170 but do you take chance and book!
I thought train from Gotenborg to Malmo was only about 30 mins or so.
25-06-2013, 10:38 AM
I thought train from Gotenborg to Malmo was only about 30 mins or so.
Copenhagen to Malmo takes half an hour.
25-06-2013, 10:42 AM
Does anyone know how the yellow cards work in the Europa League Qualifiers? I am guessing if a Malmo/Drogheda player gets booked in both games, or is sent off in the second, that they will be suspended for our first game.
However, if a Malmo player gets booked in one of the games against Drogheda, does this mean they would go in to the tie against us (presuming they beat Drogheda) one booking away from a suspension? Or do the yellow cards get wiped at any stage? Might work in our favour if card happy refs get appointed for the Malmo v Drogheda games.
25-06-2013, 10:45 AM
Are we definitely away in the first leg?
Still not confirmed by Hibs
25-06-2013, 10:46 AM
Copenhagen to Malmo takes half an hour.
Oops :blushie:
25-06-2013, 10:57 AM
Still not confirmed by Hibs
They said confirmation of game/time should be by 3pm today.
Top notch banter :top marks
25-06-2013, 11:51 AM
Please please please away leg on 25th.... Please!!!
25-06-2013, 12:44 PM
Malmo had an average attendance of just over 15,000 in the league last year. Does anyone know how many tickets we are entitled to? I think its 5% which would be 1050 tickets.
Doesn't work like that. Stadium has 18k seats and they up that to 21k for internationals so it'll be either 5% of 18k or 21k.
Drogheda is the issue as going by that we'd only get 100 tickets :shocked::shocked::shocked:.
25-06-2013, 12:51 PM
Last time I saw Hibs play over here in Belfast I was launched off the Dublin train at drogheda on the way back...could be an omen
25-06-2013, 01:57 PM
They said confirmation of game/time should be by 3pm today.
Nothing so far. Wonder what the delay is? :confused:
Frogga
25-06-2013, 02:01 PM
Just had a sneaky peek at Malmo on Wiki and they have a decent pedigree. Most of their starting XI have at least a few caps for Sweden and many are still young-ish. I think they will be tough if we get them.
Hibby91
25-06-2013, 02:55 PM
Still no word ?
25-06-2013, 03:18 PM
No idea what the delay is but its abit of a joke that more than 24 hours after the draw was made its still not been announced who is at home first!
25-06-2013, 03:18 PM
This is getting ridiculous now. How hard can it be for UEFA to confirm to the 100+ clubs involved that the teams drawn first will play the first leg at home.
25-06-2013, 03:22 PM
This is getting ridiculous now. How hard can it be for UEFA to confirm to the 100+ clubs involved that the teams drawn first will play the first leg at home.
Because it isn't quite as simple as that, given a lot of countries can only play games at certain stadiums etc.
25-06-2013, 03:32 PM
Because it isn't quite as simple as that, given a lot of countries can only play games at certain stadiums etc.
Granted, but surely UEFA knew which teams they would and wouldn't allow to play at their home grounds before the draw yesterday. Alternative arrangements were surely already in place.
They could easily issue a statement stating that all the teams drawn first would play the first leg at home, and * the games were there might be difficulties and explain a statement would be issued shortly to confirm arrangements for those games.
No need to keep over 100 clubs and sets of fans waiting because of a tiny number of clubs in 'problem' areas.
25-06-2013, 03:36 PM
:I'm waiti
25-06-2013, 03:42 PM
Granted, but surely UEFA knew which teams they would and wouldn't allow to play at their home grounds before the draw yesterday. Alternative arrangements were surely already in place.
They could easily issue a statement stating that all the teams drawn first would play the first leg at home, and * the games were there might be difficulties and explain a statement would be issued shortly to confirm arrangements for those games.
No need to keep over 100 clubs and sets of fans waiting because of a tiny number of clubs in 'problem' areas.
Agree completely they have known who has been in the draw. I would assume clubs who don't have compliant stadiums would have had to submit their alternate grounds prior to the draw and being accepted into the tournament. I would have thought in our case the only way it will be changed is if there may be the potential of a clash of 2 games in close proximity which I am assuming isnt the case.
EDIT
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2013%E2%80%9314_UEFA_Europa_League
Žalgiris Vilnius or St Patrick's Athletic 19 Teteks or Pyunik 18 Jul 25 Jul
Just checked yesterdays draw and a possible complication could be this tie in that if both Irish teams were to win then there would be the potential of 2 Europa ties in Dublin (assuming Drogheda would play at Shamrock Rovers ground) on the same night. Not sure UEFA would allow though can only imagine Vilnius would bring one man and a dog over.
25-06-2013, 04:02 PM
Agree completely they have known who has been in the draw. I would assume clubs who don't have compliant stadiums would have had to submit their alternate grounds prior to the draw and being accepted into the tournament. I would have thought in our case the only way it will be changed is if there may be the potential of a clash of 2 games in close proximity which I am assuming isnt the case.
EDIT
ˇalgiris Vilnius or St Patrick's Athletic 19 Teteks or Pyunik 18 Jul 25 Jul
Just checked yesterdays draw and a possible complication could be this tie in that if both Irish teams were to win then there would be the potential of 2 Europa ties in Dublin (assuming Drogheda would play at Shamrock Rovers ground) on the same night. Not sure UEFA would allow though can only imagine Vinius would bring one man and a dog over.
There's a similar scenario in the First Qualifying Round as both Bala Town and Prestatyn Town have nominated Rhyl as their home venue, so it's ended up that one of the home games will be on the Tuesday.
25-06-2013, 04:05 PM
There's a similar scenario in the First Qualifying Round as both Bala Town and Prestatyn Town have nominated Rhyl as their home venue, so it's ended up that one of the home games will be on the Tuesday.
You would assume then that rather than say swapping the home and away dates all that would happen would be one of the games would be moved to say the Wednesday night if indeed the 2 Irish teams win their first leg ties.
EDIT
ˇalgiris Vilnius or St Patrick's Athletic 19 Teteks or Pyunik 18 Jul 25 Jul
Just checked yesterdays draw and a possible complication could be this tie in that if both Irish teams were to win then there would be the potential of 2 Europa ties in Dublin (assuming Drogheda would play at Shamrock Rovers ground) on the same night. Not sure UEFA would allow though can only imagine Vilnius would bring one man and a dog over.
Just noticed from web page above that if St Johnstone win thru to the 3rd round they could end up seeded wheras us and even more strangely Well will not be. :confused:
25-06-2013, 04:16 PM
Just noticed from web page above that if St Johnstone win thru to the 3rd round they could end up seeded wheras us and even more strangely Well will not be. :confused:
They would take the place of Rosenborg , who have a relatively high co-efficient , in the seedings.
Malmo have a co-efficient comparable to us so they would not be seeded either if they went through.
25-06-2013, 04:22 PM
You would assume then that rather than say swapping the home and away dates all that would happen would be one of the games would be moved to say the Wednesday night if indeed the 2 Irish teams win their first leg ties.
No good at all for folk who are planning on flying in on the day (or even the afternoon!) of the game...
25-06-2013, 06:41 PM
Hurry up and announce the dates for the games Uefa FFS :grr:
25-06-2013, 06:46 PM
Hurry up and announce the dates for the games Uefa FFS :grr:
I noticed today that Besiktas have been thrown out the competition. They were to enter on the 3rd qualifying round, wonder if this had had a knock on effect. We all need to know as well to sort out our holiday arrangements
25-06-2013, 06:52 PM
I noticed today that Besiktas have been thrown out the competition. They were to enter on the 3rd qualifying round, wonder if this had had a knock on effect. We all need to know as well to sort out our holiday arrangements
Two Turkish teams appear to have been thrown out. They are replaced by two other Turkish teams.
Quote from Wiki:
"Turkey (TUR): Fenerbahēe and Beşiktaş, the second and third-placed teams of the 2012–13 Süper Lig respectively, would have qualified for European cups, but they were banned by UEFA.[22] As a result, Bursaspor, the fourth-placed team of the league, entered the UEFA Champions League third qualifying round and fifth-placed Kayserispor took the Europa League play-off round spot. The third qualifying round berth went to Kasımpaşa, the sixth-placed team of the league."
25-06-2013, 06:57 PM
Luckily cheapest flights I could find were via dublin so if Drogheda make it I just have to miss my flight to copenhagen!
Forza cabbage
25-06-2013, 06:58 PM
Two Turkish teams appear to have been thrown out. They are replaced by two other Turkish teams.
Quote from Wiki:
"Turkey (TUR): Fenerbahēe and Beşiktaş, the second and third-placed teams of the 2012–13 Süper Lig respectively, would have qualified for European cups, but they were banned by UEFA.[22] As a result, Bursaspor, the fourth-placed team of the league, entered the UEFA Champions League third qualifying round and fifth-placed Kayserispor took the Europa League play-off round spot. The third qualifying round berth went to Kasımpaşa, the sixth-placed team of the league."
Ok, well spotted. It must be the possibility of 2 games in Dublin on the 18th, that's holding things up.
Hopefully tomorrow
25-06-2013, 07:01 PM
PF on the Europa draw
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NAUtNtTmaEc
K.Marx
25-06-2013, 07:11 PM
For anyone looking at the Edinburgh - Gothenburg route, the train from Gothenburg to Malmo is pricing up at 646 sek return, which equates to about £62.
http://www.sj.se/sj/jsp/polopoly.jsp?d=112&a=144431&l=en
Been told the bus is roughly half the price but not found anything yet to confirm this
norwayhibs
25-06-2013, 07:20 PM
For anyone looking at the Edinburgh - Gothenburg route, the train from Gothenburg to Malmo is pricing up at 646 sek return, which equates to about £62.
http://www.sj.se/sj/jsp/polopoly.jsp?d=112&a=144431&l=en
Been told the bus is roughly half the price but not found anything yet to confirm this
Check out this link roughly about £20
http://www.swebus.se/Express/Sokresultat/?from=14&fromtype=City&to=5&totype=BusStop&away=2013-07-17&home=2013-07-19&Adult=1&Child=0&Youth=0&Student=0&Pensioner=0&Pet=0&campaignCode=
woody0-7
25-06-2013, 07:41 PM
Just booked up,fly to Gothenburg Wednesday morning and return Friday morn from Copenhagen £114 . First time abroad with Hibs can't ******g wait!!!!
25-06-2013, 07:46 PM
What if Drogheda win?
25-06-2013, 07:49 PM
What if Drogheda win?
Or the away fixture is changed to the 25th
25-06-2013, 07:51 PM
I've only booked the flight out. Seems 90% chance it'll be Malmo on the 18th. In the unlikely event it's not, then it's only £80 lost.
woody0-7
25-06-2013, 08:06 PM
What if Drogheda win?
Well I will lose £110 but worth the gamble as there was only 8 seats left on the Wednesday morning flight and don't want to miss this!
25-06-2013, 08:53 PM
Where's everyone staying? Me and HibeeMcGinn are looking at the vandrahem hostel in Malmo, the wednesday and Thursday night coming in at £140 for the two of us.
25-06-2013, 09:04 PM
Am more concerned about the fixture change. I fancy Malmo to beat the Irish no problem. Maybe worth sticking a score on Drogheda to qualify so its a win win situation.
25-06-2013, 10:19 PM
Where's everyone staying? Me and HibeeMcGinn are looking at the vandrahem hostel in Malmo, the wednesday and Thursday night coming in at £140 for the two of us.
booked a room for 4 at the same place, £180. No cost and free cancellation . Things could easily change between now an then, no flights booked as of yet
25-06-2013, 11:01 PM
booked a room for 4 at the same place, £180. No cost and free cancellation . Things could easily change between now an then, no flights booked as of yet:agree:
Ideal, only a 10% deposit so no biggie if the unthinkable happens!
Folks burning the midnight oil here so was looking at rules for the Europa League Comp.:rules:
Sect 9.05 The club drawn first plays the first leg at home subject to provisions of articles 7. and 12.
Section 7 no probs. Section 12.09 Automatic Reversals.
If more than one club from the same city or within a radius of 31 mls 0f each other or use the same stadium and the
if the association and the clubs concerned declare that there matches cannot be played the same day.
The scenario is thats St Pats/Drogheda could both be at home in the 2nd round according to the draw.
Could be that one tie will be reversed.Which one cannot see what criteria would be used other than a committee decision.
Maybe other ties in same position which could mean reason for delays-----Just a thought. :dunno:
Anyway back to kip :offski:
26-06-2013, 06:23 AM
3 of us staying at the Radisson.
26-06-2013, 07:09 AM
At this rate the Teams won't have enough time to get arrangements made for travel - let alone supporters...
I know that the need to play out 1st legs initially does not help arrangements but there must be better way when supporters again seem low on the list of considerations
26-06-2013, 07:18 AM
At this rate the Teams won't have enough time to get arrangements made for travel - let alone supporters...
I know that the need to play out 1st legs initially does not help arrangements but there must be better way when supporters again seem low on the list of considerations
Was thinking a couple of weeks to get it all booked was tough going, but finding out exactly where we are heading just a week before is very tough on the fans! I know its a tight schedule for the qualifying rounds but even making the first round a week earlier would help a lot.
26-06-2013, 08:58 AM
No good at all for folk who are planning on flying in on the day (or even the afternoon!) of the game...
True however that is only the case if the game is in Dublin so folk booking Swedish trips now would be bumped anyway. If the two Irish teams did win and there was a clash you would assume the other game would be moved as the potential opposition are from Macedonia and Armenia so probably only the official party would be at the game.
26-06-2013, 09:05 AM
Reading the Malmo forum they seem to think the away leg (their away leg so our home game) is confirmed for the 25th?
Anyone with Twitter able to tweet Hibs to see if its now confirmed?
26-06-2013, 09:15 AM
Reading the Malmo forum they seem to think the away leg (their away leg so our home game) is confirmed for the 25th?
Nothing on hibs twitter yet
DarrenSQH
26-06-2013, 09:45 AM
Just booked there for the same days as well. 4 of us going and £190 odd quid for 2 nights aint bad. GGTTH
26-06-2013, 10:15 AM
What's the bleeping hold up with the fixtures. Joke
26-06-2013, 10:26 AM
What's the bleeping hold up with the fixtures. Joke
Complete shambles. It's 12:30 in UEFAland - they've now had a day and a half to get this sorted out but still nada. Jokeshop.
26-06-2013, 10:30 AM
Have just tweeted the club to see if it's any closer.
The 5* Marriott was coming up at only £80 per room per night when I looked yesterday by the way!
26-06-2013, 11:05 AM
Noticed Malmo have updated their website this morning, on the game with Drogheda
4th July - 1st leg at Tallaght stadium 7.45pm
11th July - 2nd leg at Malmo ko 7pm Swedish time, 6pm UK
Should hopefully get the 2nd round sorted soon
BVB Hibs
26-06-2013, 11:12 AM
Will be going to the Drogheda vs Malmo match in Dublin next thursday. Should be interesting to see who we're going to be up against.
Malmoe
26-06-2013, 11:30 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPjp6CWpShI
26-06-2013, 11:41 AM
Info here - http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130626/europa-league-update_2262950_3220667
Dalkeith
26-06-2013, 11:41 AM
check official site what a nightmare for fans
Thats it thru folks if as I expect Malmo progress then it stays as origional draw.
Get Booking folks. On club website:flag:
Hibby91
26-06-2013, 11:43 AM
Hibernian can confirm the Club has received clarification from UEFA, this morning, concerning the Europa League second round qualifying ties in July (18 and 25).
The Club will face either Drogheda United or Malmo (first qualifying round tie played over two legs on July 4 and 11).
The order of the second round ties is dependent on a number of factors.
Drogheda United will play their home leg tie against Malmo at the Tallaght Stadium in Dublin on Thursday 4 July, while at the same time fellow Dublin club, St Patrick's Athletic will be away to Vilnius on the same date. The second legs taking place on Thursday 11 July.
Drogheda and St Patrick's are unable to play in Dublin on the same night and in the second qualifying round both have been handed potential first legs at home, so a change to the draw would be required.
If St Patrick's do not progress, but Drogheda United win the tie against Malmo we would play Drogheda at the Tallaght Stadium, Dublin on the original draw date of Thursday 18 July.
Should both Irish clubs progress through to the second qualifying round then Hibernian would face Drogheda United at Easter Road in the first leg on Thursday 18 July with the second leg at the Tallaght Stadium, Dublin on Thursday 25 July.
Should Malmo progress through to the second qualifying round then we will travel to Malmo, Sweden for the first leg on Thursday 18 July with the second leg at Easter Road staged on Thursday 25 July.
Ticket info for the second qualifying round will be announced on the official website in due course.
Malmoe
26-06-2013, 11:45 AM
check official site what a nightmare
It sure is:).
26-06-2013, 11:45 AM
Info here - http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130626/europa-league-update_2262950_3220667
Dont understand that one bit surely one of the Dublin games could have been moved to the night before. St Pats would be playing a team from Macedonia or Armenia who will bring one man and a dog at best and only if the dog can be bothered. :greengrin
To potentially change the week of the away game is nonsense IMO.
Hibby91
26-06-2013, 11:47 AM
Nightmare for booking time off work etc
26-06-2013, 11:48 AM
Malmo should go through then :wink:
26-06-2013, 11:52 AM
Sod it, taking the risk and booking for Malmo now that the date is confirmed.
DarrenSQH
26-06-2013, 11:53 AM
Glad I got the dates correct for my hotel in Malmo! Maybe book the flights next week when I know the score of game 1.
26-06-2013, 12:03 PM
Sod it, taking the risk and booking for Malmo now that the date is confirmed.
Does anyone know any pubs in Malmo which will show the Hibs v Drogheda game, just in case. :greengrin
26-06-2013, 12:06 PM
Does anyone know any pubs in Malmo which will show the Hibs v Drogheda game, just in case. :greengrin
That might be a few if us in that pub if Drogheda do go through. :greengrin
26-06-2013, 12:08 PM
Some of the Malmo fans have already booked flights to Edinburgh :wink:
All Ive booked is return flight home on the Friday (EASY JET--COPENHAGEN-EDIN) £108
As dont see an issue getting there it will be getting back.(price went up £8 during booking process F----K--G Robbers)
Will book accom on a pay on arrival basis so i can cancel free if required.
Cant make my mind up if Copenhagen/Malmo best option as only 20 mins in train.
hibIBZ
26-06-2013, 12:33 PM
Easy jet return flights to Copenhagen now up to £230
26-06-2013, 12:48 PM
What time will kick off in Malmo be?
26-06-2013, 12:52 PM
What time will kick off in Malmo be?
Their home game against Drogedha is a 7pm ko, Swedish time
26-06-2013, 12:55 PM
Some of the Malmo fans have already booked flights to Edinburgh :wink:
It's easier for them in the sense that they know for sure that they will play Hibs in Edinburgh on 25 July if they beat Drogheda. If they don't beat Drogheda, they just cancel. Whereas there are three possible scenarios for Hibs - playing in Drogheda on the 25th (if St Pats also win), playing in Drogheda on the 18th (if St Pats don't win) or playing in Malmo on the 18th (if Drogheda don't win).
26-06-2013, 01:08 PM
Booked Malmo Edin-Gothenburg-train to Malmo, back via Copenhagen direct into Edinburgh :aok:
26-06-2013, 01:09 PM
Booked Malmo Edin-Gothenburg-train to Malmo, back via Copenhagen direct into Edinburgh :aok:
What day are you going out, coming back?
26-06-2013, 01:18 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kPjp6CWpShI
Welcome to Leith :wink:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_6qUf2vCuVI
26-06-2013, 01:20 PM
Stansted -Malmo for me with Ryanair.