View Full Version : FIFA Confederations Cup

13-06-2013, 10:41 AM
Anyone know if these games are being shown live on uktv?

13-06-2013, 10:59 AM
They are live on BBC1 and 3.

13-06-2013, 12:11 PM
Cheers!

13-06-2013, 12:57 PM
Keep in mind they are 8pm and 11pm kick-offs our time. :aok:

13-06-2013, 09:51 PM
Good site for all the games & times.

http://www.live-footballontv.com/

Miguel
13-06-2013, 10:56 PM
Should be a good tournament. Decent teams apart from the usual makeweights. Brazilians will be hell bent on winning it.

13-06-2013, 11:11 PM
Good site for all the games & times.

http://www.live-footballontv.com/

Thought it missed out loads of SKY games last season.

13-06-2013, 11:42 PM
Come on Tahiti! They only have one professional footballer called Marama Vahirua who is now 33 and scored the goal that won the league title for Nantes in 2001.

wearethehibs
14-06-2013, 10:53 AM
Ill be cheering on the Green of Mexico.

steve75
14-06-2013, 10:56 AM
Thought it missed out loads of SKY games last season.

Much better with this one http://www.wheresthematch.com/tv/home.asp

14-06-2013, 03:13 PM
Come on Tahiti! They only have one professional footballer called Marama Vahirua who is now 33 and scored the goal that won the league title for Nantes in 2001.

He's no Steevy Chong Hue - two Scottish names out of three, surely could have got a game for us....

14-06-2013, 04:54 PM
When's the Spain game on? Can't find it on my tv planner :confused:.

14-06-2013, 05:57 PM
When's the Spain game on? Can't find it on my tv planner :confused:.

Spain v Uruguay is on BBC1 at 11pm on Sunday. The earlier game (Mexico v Italy) is on BBC3 at 8pm.

14-06-2013, 07:11 PM
Spain v Uruguay is on BBC1 at 11pm on Sunday. The earlier game (Mexico v Italy) is on BBC3 at 8pm.

Cheers :aok:. Thought it was tomorrow for some reason.

15-06-2013, 08:25 AM
Good old Naija holding it up. :greengrin

15-06-2013, 08:47 AM
Liveonsat.com excellent site for all TV games

TAHibby
15-06-2013, 06:48 PM
Brazil v Japan just about to start on bbc3!

David_D
15-06-2013, 07:01 PM
gotta love the delay between sound and picture :grr:

TAHibby
15-06-2013, 07:07 PM

I think it's okay now but annoyingly heard screams of neymar before anything had happened.

David_D
15-06-2013, 07:09 PM
yeah they seem to have fixed it now but knew they had scored before Neymar even had the ball on the screen. Hope they don't have this problem next year.

15-06-2013, 07:15 PM
Why are non of the uk teams in this :confused:

Does BBC3 have HD on sky?

15-06-2013, 07:19 PM

It's the winners of the tournaments I think

15-06-2013, 07:22 PM

Because they're not good enough!

David_D
15-06-2013, 07:24 PM
Brazil really don't look anywhere near a team that could win a world cup. They seem like a team of individuals. Think we could see a European team win the world cup next year.

semaj64
15-06-2013, 07:35 PM
Brazil really don't look anywhere near a team that could win a world cup. They seem like a team of individuals. Think we could see a European team win the world cup next year.

You could be right but I am sure commentator said Brazil not lost home game in 50 years. A big ask from the current squad!!

15-06-2013, 07:38 PM

Germany?

Would be boring if Spain won it again

15-06-2013, 07:39 PM
anyone else think brazil are pish? they live on their rep more than most countries, dont rate them atall

David_D
15-06-2013, 07:48 PM
I really think Belgium will do well next year. not saying they will win it but think they could get to Quarter or Semi Final.

15-06-2013, 07:58 PM
anyone else think brazil are pish? they live on their rep more than most countries, dont rate them atall

International football often promises so much but fails to deliver in the entertainment stakes, lost count of how many World Cups have disappointed me after I've eagerly anticipated the tournaments starting. Brazil often fall into the same bracket for me.

15-06-2013, 08:21 PM

Argentina will have something to say about that :wink:. Brazil aren't even one of the top 3 South American teams at the moment.

15-06-2013, 08:24 PM
Argentina will have something to say about that :wink:. Brazil aren't even one of the top 3 South American teams at the moment.

Who would you say is out of interest? Don't pay much attention to south American football.

Stunning goal by neymar, but that boy Honda is motoring along well. He's got a good drive on him too.

15-06-2013, 08:35 PM
Who would you say is out of interest? Don't pay much attention to south American football.

Stunning goal by neymar, but that boy Honda is motoring along well. He's got a good drive on him too.

Argentina are 10 times better. Columbia are 5 times better and Chile/Uruguay are slightly better. Brazil are rubbish and if they had to qualify they'd be in the playoffs at best.

15-06-2013, 08:46 PM
Argentina are 10 times better. Columbia are 5 times better and Chile/Uruguay are slightly better. Brazil are rubbish and if they had to qualify they'd be in the playoffs at best.
Columbia? Really? Just looked at their squad and didn't really recognise more than 2-3 players. Hope Paraguay qualify. A tournament without Oscar cardozo can gtf.

15-06-2013, 08:50 PM
Just like a kick about in the park eh. Fred goes off to be replaced by Jo :greengrin

15-06-2013, 08:51 PM
No way are Brazil rubbish! Some really nice football, great assist there for the 3rd. They won't be favourites for most people but I can see them winning the World Cup next year.

This is in a year remember, by then a lot of the young players will have had another year at the top level.

15-06-2013, 08:54 PM
Columbia? Really? Just looked at their squad and didn't really recognise more than 2-3 players. Hope Paraguay qualify. A tournament without Oscar cardozo can gtf.

Paraguay won't qualify. Do you recognise much of their squad :confused:. Columbia are a a cracking team. I like Cardozo but Falcao is 100 times better and a big reason Columbia should do well.

15-06-2013, 09:45 PM
No way are Brazil rubbish! Some really nice football, great assist there for the 3rd. They won't be favourites for most people but I can see them winning the World Cup next year.

This is in a year remember, by then a lot of the young players will have had another year at the top level.

i think the amount of pressure that will build up towards the tournament will be too much for this brazil squad, in todays media heavy world the scrutiny in every brazil player will be OTT

15-06-2013, 09:54 PM
Agree with the critical comments about the current Brazil team. Argentina for me next year. Just like Uruguay in 1950, winning it in front of a silent Maracana, that is, if Brazil even get to the final, which I doubt will happen.

15-06-2013, 10:07 PM
Errrrr dont folk know that its england that will win it next year?!

15-06-2013, 10:11 PM

I had to turn the sound down as I couldn't watch the match like that.

Totally spoils it.

Miguel
15-06-2013, 11:36 PM
Unlike some of the previous Confederation Cups, this will be a really interesting one. Brazil will be really going for it, as hosts and with the World Cup next year. The South American teams always take these things more seriously as they have an inferiority complex re Europe, mostly stemming from relative strengths of club football. I think Brazil will reach the final. The nightmare scenario for them will be if they play Uruguay in it. If they lost it would destroy their confidence for next year and cast up the ghosts of 1950...

Bay Area Hibees
16-06-2013, 01:54 AM
I'm fortunate to be out in brazil for the tournament, I work for visa on FIFA marketing based in San Francisco. The crowds are bit different from back home, lots attractive lasses. As a nearly married man obviously I hardly notice...

16-06-2013, 03:51 AM
I'm fortunate to be out in brazil for the tournament, I work for visa on FIFA marketing based in San Francisco. The crowds are bit different from back home, lots attractive lasses. As a nearly married man obviously I hardly notice...

Watch out- not all of them are lassies :greengrin

16-06-2013, 06:29 AM
Not heard this much hype about a Colombian side since before USA 94 and we know how that turned out!

16-06-2013, 07:12 AM
Agree with the critical comments about the current Brazil team. Argentina for me next year. Just like Uruguay in 1950, winning it in front of a silent Maracana, that is, if Brazil even get to the final, which I doubt will happen.

The Brazil bashing is well over the top from what ive seen. Some of the worlds best players in that team, particularly in defence and Neymar is a force of nature who can win games on his own. Its ludicrous to write them off, they will be 'there or thereabouts'.

16-06-2013, 06:38 PM
Italy should be interesting v Mexico tonight bbc3 now. Pirlos 100th cap.

David_D
16-06-2013, 07:25 PM
What a goal. Has been a good game so far

16-06-2013, 07:26 PM
Fantastic free-kick!! Almost on Griffith's level. :cb

Been a decent game, really looking forward to Spain v Uruguay too.

16-06-2013, 07:26 PM
(Almost) as good as Super Leigh :greengrin

16-06-2013, 07:28 PM
Pirlo is up there with Zidane, Rivaldo or someone like that IMO. Genuine legend.

16-06-2013, 07:31 PM
Pirlo is up there with Zidane, Rivaldo or someone like that IMO. Genuine legend.

He is indeed but did the keeper not have a good chance of getting a hand behind it if he hadn't kept them by his side? He seemed to get across in enough time. Penalty to Mexico!

16-06-2013, 07:32 PM
He is indeed but did the keeper not have a good chance of getting a hand behind it if he hadn't kept them by his side? He seemed to get across in enough time. Penalty to Mexico!

Thought the same tbh. The keeper seemed to pull his hands away. Still great technique on the free-kick though.

1-1

16-06-2013, 07:34 PM
Thought the same tbh. The keeper seemed to pull his hands away. Still great technique on the free-kick though.

1-1
Irregular betting patterns and italian football? :greengrin

16-06-2013, 07:34 PM

I think hed already reached the top of his jump and was below the ball, maybe jumped too early.
Buffon looking more like Iggy Pop these days.

16-06-2013, 07:38 PM
Irregular betting patterns and italian football? :greengrin

:hmmm: The same thought did enter my head. :greengrin

16-06-2013, 07:42 PM
In regard to your new sig fraze. Shouldn't it be

I came

I saw

I conned

16-06-2013, 07:52 PM
Pat Nevin must have had some sort of reminder of Hearts there cos he started having a wee laugh lost for words. :greengrin

16-06-2013, 07:53 PM
In regard to your new sig fraze. Shouldn't it be

I came

I saw

I conned

:tee hee: Or Jonnyboy's suggestion of 'I came I saw I squandered' :greengrin

16-06-2013, 08:22 PM

That works for me :greengrin

16-06-2013, 08:34 PM
2-1 Balotelli. Didn't want him to leave the EPL as he was funny to watch, but seems he has screwed the head on a bit and is showing his worth to the team. :agree:

Stringer
16-06-2013, 08:34 PM
Pirlo's passing. Wow. Also a move away from Man City has clearly done wonders for Balo. He actually looks interested.

16-06-2013, 08:35 PM

That should read:

veni
vidi
impendi

16-06-2013, 09:41 PM
The Mexican keeper in game with Italy in CC must have been paid / bet on losing a goal - his dive at Pirlos free kick was a comedy pulled his hands away from ball in mid flight...very odd

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXJBze194eg

16-06-2013, 09:44 PM
How camp is that blether Mark lawrensen

Chickened out hitting the post?

The Mexican keeper in game with Italy in CC must have been paid / bet on losing a goal - his dive at Pirlos free kick was a comedy pulled his hands away from ball in mid flight...very odd

:agree: My immediate thought.

16-06-2013, 09:50 PM
The more I see it the more stupid the keeper looks!

16-06-2013, 09:52 PM
That Uruguay team looks like some team. Can't believe their struggling to make it to the world cup :confused:.

Makaveli
16-06-2013, 09:56 PM
Good game that. :agree: I won a bit from a Mario anytime wincast, so no complaints with the Mexican keeper's non-effort.

Next game should be a cracker, too...

16-06-2013, 10:07 PM
Spain are still frightening, I've never seen a football team at any level so comfortable on the ball

16-06-2013, 10:08 PM
Almost 1-0 there, hit the post, superb play!

Spain started well, great football! Anyone that aspires to be a footballer should be watching this Spain team. :agree:

16-06-2013, 10:11 PM
The more I see it the more stupid the keeper looks!

Very Zibiesque :greengrin

Nice sig Fraze :wink: :aok:

16-06-2013, 10:12 PM
Very Zibiesque :greengrin

Nice sig Fraze :wink: :aok:

16-06-2013, 10:17 PM
1-0 Spain

16-06-2013, 10:17 PM
if ever a game fitted the old maxim 'if this was boxing the ref would stop it' then this is it......

16-06-2013, 10:28 PM
Shut up Lawrenson you slavering tit :aok:

16-06-2013, 10:28 PM
Bang what a goal

16-06-2013, 10:32 PM
Fantastic play!

16-06-2013, 10:33 PM
one-touch football, like the hibs of the early 70's

16-06-2013, 10:40 PM
Spain playing very well. Must be there or there about. For next year.

16-06-2013, 10:45 PM
Look at the strength in depth they have on the bench. Absolutely frightening!

majorhibs
17-06-2013, 03:50 AM
The Brazil bashing is well over the top from what ive seen. Some of the worlds best players in that team, particularly in defence and Neymar is a force of nature who can win games on his own. Its ludicrous to write them off, they will be 'there or thereabouts'.

In Rio sat & sun. before heading off back to work, all these turkeys that slate Scotland & Scotland supporters should try being somewhere like here & experiencing the atmosphere, the sheer joy of Football & loving the Beautiful game, you just cannot help but have a huge grin on your face in amongst all this, this is where every Football fan who seriously loves the game should be, it really is tremendous & I am genuinely sorry for all the fans who will not be in Brasil next year for the finals, I am still to decide if I am going to go along & support Brazil next year or get 3 X tops of Englands opposition & go to them games with my Kilt on & enjoy the world cup that way, for what its worth regarding the current Brasil team, I reckon they are about 1 commanding midfielder & possibly 1 X more defender away from being right up there in the mix.

17-06-2013, 12:17 PM

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eXJBze194eg

I hope he shared his winnings with his team-mates. :rolleyes:

Stringer
17-06-2013, 07:41 PM
Tahiti's Steevy Chong Hue - could do a job.

TAHibby
17-06-2013, 08:05 PM
Tahiti kit looks familiar.

TAHibby
17-06-2013, 08:08 PM
Tahiti have scored!

17-06-2013, 08:22 PM
Tahiti have scored!

Scorer outjumped some guy called Ambrose. Wonder who he plays for:greengrin

17-06-2013, 09:39 PM
7/2 Nigeria -4 goals, a lot more of a struggle than it needed to be!
Got a wee fright when the header went just past the post in the 88th minute! :worried:

19-06-2013, 07:13 PM
Any comments from the Brazil critics on their performance so far in tonight's game?

:fishin:

EDIT: now that I've said that, Mexico have had their first decent spell (of course).

19-06-2013, 07:41 PM
Any comments from the Brazil critics on their performance so far in tonight's game?

EDIT: now that I've said that, Mexico have had their first decent spell (of course).

Great strike from Neymar

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bXxVVCsArek

19-06-2013, 07:54 PM
Watching Neymar Jr reminds me of Harris a wee bit!

19-06-2013, 08:52 PM
First time i've really seen Neymar play and he looks a class act. Great assist and goal!

19-06-2013, 08:56 PM
First time i've really seen Neymar play and he looks a class act. Great assist and goal!

I read some pish on here and elsewhere about him being overrated:dunno: What a player.

19-06-2013, 09:08 PM
I read some pish on here and elsewhere about him being overrated:dunno: What a player.

I think he is over rated, good player but needs to prove himself in a European league and champions league

19-06-2013, 09:12 PM

:agree: Some of the skill and goals in his videos on youtube are insane. I don't think he is as complete as Ronaldo and Messi, still has a long way to go until he reaches their level, but in terms of skill he manages to pull of tricks no other players even attempt in game time.

19-06-2013, 09:13 PM
I read some pish on here

Fixed that for you bollah :greengrin

19-06-2013, 09:51 PM
looking forward to seeing if balotelli carrys on his great form from the other day, also like Honda for the japanese

19-06-2013, 10:25 PM
nippon well worth their 1-0 lead, id hate to play against japan or s.korea, the work effort they put into a game is something else

19-06-2013, 10:32 PM
Atmosphere is amazing :faf:

19-06-2013, 10:36 PM
2-0 nil Japan, well deserved, pirlo could do with a breather methinks

19-06-2013, 10:43 PM
2-1 japan, de rossi with one back for the italians, Giovinco the italian sub is a class act, one of many young italians touted the next baggio

19-06-2013, 10:57 PM
2-1 japan, de rossi with one back for the italians, Giovinco the italian sub is a class act, one of many young italians touted the next baggio

26 now, reckon he should have gone a bit further than he is at this stage in his career. Class act though. :agree:

Stringer
19-06-2013, 11:00 PM

Saying someone is overrated is different from saying they are ****.

Neymar is probably a bit overrated.

Cool_Hand_Luke
19-06-2013, 11:13 PM
3-2 Italy now....good game :thumbsup:

19-06-2013, 11:30 PM
3-3 :aok:

davym7062
19-06-2013, 11:40 PM
some of the footy in this tourney has been amazin

Cool_Hand_Luke
19-06-2013, 11:41 PM
4-3 :thumbsup:
Japan dont deserve to be behind though....

Brilliant stuff 4-3 Italy

4-3 :thumbsup:
Japan dont deserve to be behind though....

19-06-2013, 11:43 PM
Classic

19-06-2013, 11:44 PM
i feel i should give the BBC a little extra towards my TV licence for this game

19-06-2013, 11:46 PM
Tough luck on Japan there. They've played a blinder tonight.

19-06-2013, 11:51 PM
Japan didn't deserve to lose that one!

Thoroughly enjoyed that... :wink:

Miguel
19-06-2013, 11:53 PM
Never, ever, rule out the Italians. Going to be a great game v Brazil. I like this tournament. It's come of age. Spain v Brazil in final for me. Should be an amazing match.

19-06-2013, 11:54 PM
Fantastic game :not worth

JHFC
19-06-2013, 11:57 PM
I honestly didn't want that to end. Will I get this on bb iplayer? Japan are under rated!

Stringer
19-06-2013, 11:59 PM
Best international I've seen in a long while.

LeighLoyal
20-06-2013, 12:08 AM
Thought Japan out worked them, unlucky.

20-06-2013, 12:53 AM

I'll bite :greengrin For the last year, Brazil have been very poor; inconsistent, unmotivated, unsure of what everyone was doing on the pitch tactically, team formations which didn't work, so I do still think that criticism of them from me and others on here has been justified. However, they do look to be settling, finally, and I now agree that if this progress continues, they have a decent (but not stick on) shout next year. So, to sum up: previous criticism = justified - current optimism = also justified. There, you can throw me back in the sea now :greengrin

20-06-2013, 05:37 AM
Of course I switched off Italy v Japan at 0-0.

5 minute highlights - not sure this does it justice!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22979077

Full game

http://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/b02yz917/Match_of_the_Day_Live_Confederations_Cup_2013_Ital y_v_Japan/

20-06-2013, 12:22 PM

There seems to be an attitude that South American players aren't to be rated until they "prove" themselves in Europe. Then when they do (e.g. Messi), they can't be rated until they've done it in the World Cup.

Neymar has been doing this stuff for quite a while now, and I really don't think Barcelona would pay out nearly £50m (and then slap a release clause of more than £160m on him) for a player who isn't the finished article.

And IIRC the player who wears the #10 shirt for Santos and Brazil (what was the name of the guy who used to wear that shirt back in the 60's?) is usually a reasonably decent footballer.

'Course, he isn't Hibs class. :wink:

20-06-2013, 12:32 PM
Thought Japan out worked them, unlucky.

Maybe we should make all the players wear pedometers, and the team that covers the most distance in total wins the game regardless of who scores most goals?

They were a tad unlucky in hitting wood the post and the bar near the end of the game, but Italy also hit the post at the end of the first half and could be considered unlucky not to be going in level at half-time.

Any team that fights back from 2-0 down to lead 3-2, concedes an equaliser, defends successfully under great pressure for at least 15 minutes towards the end of the game, then breaks out to score a clinical and very well-worked winner deserves credit for their victory.

Forza Azzuri! :not worth

Teapot
20-06-2013, 12:51 PM
I'm struggling a bit this morning after being up so late but it was well worth it for that game. Really wanted Japan to win it, if Kagawa had scored the chance at 3-3 I think they would have went on to win it. Japan were fantastic, the close control and possession play was sublime. They would take 5 or 6 off Scotland.

Looking forward to Spain v Tahiti tonight :greengrin

20-06-2013, 01:06 PM
Some interesting odds for Spain v Tahiti tonight .

Cant see many people taking a punt on Torres to score anytime at 1/20 :greengrin. Spain -8 goals are even money which just shows what a farce of a matchup this is.

20-06-2013, 01:16 PM
Tahiti were 449/1 on Betfair when i checked last night! :-)

Teo10
20-06-2013, 01:18 PM
I hope it doesn't, but I can see this being a cricket score tonight. I watched them play Nigeria and it was just cringey watching most of the game. Torn apart!

20-06-2013, 01:38 PM
I think he is over rated, good player but needs to prove himself in a European league and champions league

I hereby predict Neymar will be a revelation in La Liga and the Champions League this season and the World Cup next year. I just love watching him play, (and I dont even particularly like Brazil, its Argentina everytime for me).

20-06-2013, 03:10 PM
I hope it doesn't, but I can see this being a cricket score tonight. I watched them play Nigeria and it was just cringey watching most of the game. Torn apart!
i think spain will play a weakened side tonight, and stroll around for the most part, dont see them scoring more than 4 TBH, they wont want to embarrass tahiti unduly

20-06-2013, 03:18 PM
I hereby predict Neymar will be a revelation in La Liga and the Champions League this season and the World Cup next year. I just love watching him play, (and I dont even particularly like Brazil, its Argentina everytime for me).

Im still not convinced, I've made a habit of watching him in a lot of games due to the hype, he is great at times but at others he is non existent

With the amount of time on the ball they get Barca is a good move but i don't think him and lionel will be able to play in the same team, Zlatan all over again i feel

20-06-2013, 03:29 PM
Neymar is still a young developing player, he has quite a good goal scoring record and some serious talent. He will only improve at Barcelona and will fit right in on one side of their attacking 3. Far better than Sanchez IMO.

20-06-2013, 03:43 PM
i think spain will play a weakened side tonight, and stroll around for the most part, dont see them scoring more than 4 TBH, they wont want to embarrass tahiti unduly

A weakened Spain side is still better than almost everyone in world football.

Tahiti only have one professional player I believe , this could be embarrassing.

20-06-2013, 03:55 PM
A weakened Spain side is still better than almost everyone in world football.

Tahiti only have one professional player I believe , this could be embarrassing.

Look at the Spanish subs from the game against Uruguay, they would still be amongst the best in the world playing their subs. :agree:

01 Casillas

03 Pique Booked

15 Ramos

17 Arbeloa Booked

18 Alba

08 Xavi (Martinez - 77' )

10 Fabregas (Cazorla - 65' )

16 Busquets

06 Iniesta

11 Pedro (Mata - 81' )

14 Soldado

Substitutes

12 Valdes

23 Reina

02 Albiol

05 Azpilicueta

19 Monreal

04 Martinez

20 Cazorla

21 Silva

22 Navas

07 Villa

09 Torres

13 Mata

20-06-2013, 04:55 PM
In some cultures teams don't go straight for the kill and look to embarrass their opponents. For example in the USA they have things like a mercy rule in younger age categories to stop games if they become very one sided, this breeds it into the players that embarrassing the opponent is not worth it as they are fellow sportsmen. I think Spain and Portugal have a similar philosophy, for example Paulo Sergio demonstrated that in the cup final in 2012. I think Spain will take 6 goals but keep the ball for about 85% of the match rather than thumping Tahiti.

20-06-2013, 06:55 PM
Torres, Mata and Villa up front. Double figures?

reidy
20-06-2013, 07:02 PM
And it's began Torres with the first for spain

20-06-2013, 07:03 PM
And it's began Torres with the first for spain

I didn't know that Zibi had a Tahitian granny.

:cb

20-06-2013, 07:09 PM
Wonder how Hibs would fare against Tahiti..

20-06-2013, 07:19 PM
Wonder how Hibs would fare against Tahiti..

They have looked decent enough to be fair.

Think they are doing abit better than we done against Barca at Murrayfield , if you can compare the two.......

20-06-2013, 07:33 PM
Two goals in 47 seconds... 3-0 :tee hee:

20-06-2013, 07:33 PM
They have looked decent enough to be fair.

Think they are doing abit better than we done against Barca at Murrayfield , if you can compare the two.......

Are their strikers available? :greengrin

20-06-2013, 08:17 PM
7-0

GlenrothesHibee
20-06-2013, 08:19 PM
7-0 great score ;-)

20-06-2013, 08:21 PM
8-0 with 25 mins to go. Spains biggest win is 13-0, could be more.

Teo10
20-06-2013, 08:21 PM
This is just painfull to watch

20-06-2013, 08:49 PM
Tahiti's goal difference looks familiar. :wink:

20-06-2013, 08:51 PM
They way things are going Hearts will be the Tahiti of the SPL as they will be playing the under 14's if they scrape through this :D

20-06-2013, 09:10 PM
Robbie Savage came across as very bitter. Probably jealous that amateur footballers are playing at a higher level than he ever did internationally and people are liking them more than him too. Tahiti played the game the right way instead of doing an Andorra

20-06-2013, 10:02 PM
I was actually impressed with some of Tahiti's players/play. Not in comparison to other International teams, but for amatuers against World Champions it was never going to be a low scoring defeat. It was just the odd moments of passing play or skill but think they will leave the competition with their heads held high.

20-06-2013, 10:35 PM
If that Nigeria strip just had white sleeves Mmmm

21-06-2013, 04:39 AM
I was actually impressed with some of Tahiti's players/play. Not in comparison to other International teams, but for amatuers against World Champions it was never going to be a low scoring defeat. It was just the odd moments of passing play or skill but think they will leave the competition with their heads held high.

agreed. Although I wasn't overly impressed with Spain last night. Poor passing at times, and some of the finishing poor. Torres' penalty miss summed up the night. I guess Spain were hardly in top gear though and you'd think there's more to come from them.

21-06-2013, 04:16 PM
agreed. Although I wasn't overly impressed with Spain last night. Poor passing at times, and some of the finishing poor. Torres' penalty miss summed up the night. I guess Spain were hardly in top gear though and you'd think there's more to come from them.

To be fair, it was the reserve team that was playing last night.

21-06-2013, 05:05 PM

My thoughts too. They had a go and well done to them. I was also impressed with the way Spain approached the game. They respected Tahiti (and the crowd) by continuing to try to score.

22-06-2013, 07:01 PM
Italy vs Brazil just underway.

Brazil have started like a train inside 3 minutes. Hope this game lives up to the potential!

22-06-2013, 07:11 PM
Japan have just had a perfectly good goal ruled-out for off-side.

Great match this.

22-06-2013, 07:51 PM
Italy vs Brazil just underway.

Brazil have started like a train inside 3 minutes. Hope this game lives up to the potential!

Neymar is getting a bruising from the italian defenders, poor game. Bayerns Dante goal 1-0 Brazil halftime.

22-06-2013, 07:53 PM
Neymar is getting a bruising from the italian defenders, poor game. Bayerns Dante goal 1-0 Brazil halftime.

indeed, very disapointing so far, hope it improves 2nd half.

22-06-2013, 08:03 PM

Thought it was going to be a great game after the first 7 minutes but I turned it off just after the half hour.

22-06-2013, 08:04 PM
Hulk is pony.

22-06-2013, 08:09 PM
great flick and nice finish there! hopefully game on now!

22-06-2013, 08:13 PM
What a finish by Neymar.

22-06-2013, 08:14 PM
Class freekick.

22-06-2013, 08:19 PM
Has a player managed to go down yet without holding their face?

That Overrated Neymar scores another screamer :greengrin

Cracking freekick from Super Mario, deserved a goal.

22-06-2013, 08:21 PM
Thought it was going to be a great game after the first 7 minutes but I turned it off just after the half hour.

Switch it back :greengrin

22-06-2013, 08:22 PM
**** the Confederations Cup. Die Hard is on Film 4. :greengrin

22-06-2013, 08:39 PM
if chiellini needs a career after fitbaw i hear the rutland are looking for doormen

23-06-2013, 12:31 AM
Hulk is pony.

He is certainly not incredible!

23-06-2013, 06:52 PM
good seeing the big Hibs flag brought out onto pitch for Spain v Nigeria game.

top stuff dudes!

23-06-2013, 07:39 PM
From the BBC website ......

Well then, this should be some interesting half-time analysis - our studio guest Gus Poyet has been sacked as manager of Brighton, the Championship club have confirmed on their Twitter feed.

What a way to find out you've been sacked!!

23-06-2013, 08:09 PM
Anyone know how to watch the other game? Not Spain one?

23-06-2013, 08:38 PM
:7:-:0: Uruguay....

now

:8:-:0: Uruguay

23-06-2013, 08:56 PM
Why did some over zealous admin delete the link to the BBC feed for Uruguay v Tahiti?

The link was available on the front page of the BBC football page.

It remindss me of when played a pre-season match against I think Shamrock Rovers and the hosts streamed the site for the benefit of all. Except for the obsessives on Hibs-net who deleted the link.

23-06-2013, 08:59 PM
Why did some over zealous admin delete the link to the BBC feed for Uruguay v Tahiti?

It remindss me of when played a pre-season match against I think Shamrock Rovers and the hosts streamed the site for the benefit of all. Except for the obsessives on Hibs-net who deleted the link.

The user deleted the post (including link) himself.

23-06-2013, 09:17 PM

The user deleted the post (including link) himself.

An over zealous user then? :wink:

23-06-2013, 09:39 PM
An over zealous user then? :wink:

Technically all Admins are also users....

Anyway I thought that everyone on here was an admin now?

23-06-2013, 09:43 PM
Technically all Admins are also users....

Anyway I thought that everyone on here was an admin now?

Indeed Admins are users (though not in an O'Connor sense) but the poster that chose to delete his own thread, with link, was not an Admin and so the accusation of over zealousness was, well over zealous :greengrin

24-06-2013, 05:12 AM

Those damn Admins ruin this place. It would be much better without them:greengrin
Your last claim is slightly off the mark by the way. There was some initial confusion as to where the link had originated from but that was quickly cleared up. The entire Admin team should still be sacked though.:greengrin

24-06-2013, 05:32 AM
Those damn Admins ruin this place. It would be much better without them:greengrin
Your last claim is slightly off the mark by the way. There was some initial confusion as to where the link had originated from but that was quickly cleared up. The entire Admin team should still be sacked though.:greengrin

:agree: Bunch of pricks.

26-06-2013, 06:59 PM
Semi final between Brazil & Uruguay just kicking off on BBC3, in case anyone has forgotten.

26-06-2013, 07:25 PM
Forlan misses a penalty for Uruguay, poor game so far.:rolleyes:

26-06-2013, 07:39 PM
Brazil look much better with the blue shorts, didn't look right at all with white ones the other night.

26-06-2013, 07:42 PM
Was just about to post poor game then the goal went in! 1-0 Brazil.

Uruguay's population is only 3.3 million, quite incredible for a nation who has spent many years as a top footballing nation.

26-06-2013, 07:51 PM
Mark Lawrenson. I just hate him, so so much.

Why does anyone at the BBC think he's the right person to be a commentator? The only time he ever contributes is to complain about something.

**** OFF LAWRENSON!!

26-06-2013, 08:07 PM
Good defending. 1-1

26-06-2013, 08:07 PM
Great defending by Brazil. :greengrin 1-1.

26-06-2013, 08:13 PM
Still a crap football match.

26-06-2013, 08:14 PM
come oan Uruguay! growing up enzo Francescoli was my football hero, after him you had ruben Sosa and daniel Fonseca, great strikers :agree:

26-06-2013, 08:17 PM
Uruguay aren't the same when they aren't playing like cynical animals. Those were the days. Total carnage guaranteed every time they played back in the day.

26-06-2013, 08:23 PM
Uruguay aren't the same when they aren't playing like cynical animals. Those were the days. Total carnage guaranteed every time they played back in the day.

Mind they had one sent off against Scotland pretty early in the World Cup game in Mexico 1986 for a foul on Strachan, we needed a win to qualify for the next round but it ended 0-0 Steve Nicol missed a sitter for Scotland that would have won it.

26-06-2013, 08:45 PM
Thank god there likely won't be ET. :tee hee:

26-06-2013, 08:50 PM
poor show by Neymar...cheat :agree:

26-06-2013, 10:10 PM
poor show by Neymar...cheat :agree:

Will fit in well at the Camp Nou :agree:.

26-06-2013, 10:13 PM
Was just about to post poor game then the goal went in! 1-0 Brazil.

Uruguay's population is only 3.3 million, quite incredible for a nation who has spent many years as a top footballing nation.

:shhhsh!: you'll ruin some folk's Scotland argument. :greengrin

26-06-2013, 10:22 PM
:shhhsh!: you'll ruin some folk's Scotland argument. :greengrin

What is England's excuse then?

27-06-2013, 02:47 AM

Why does anyone at the BBC think he's the right person to be a commentator? The only time he ever contributes is to complain about something.

**** OFF LAWRENSON!!He has a job and a career than many people who listen to him/watched him would have killed for yet he is always so ignorant and negative.

27-06-2013, 04:11 PM

**** OFF LAWRENSON!!

Lawrenson is just a stain.

Like many pundits hejust hasnt the talent for anything else. Keegan brought him to Newcastle as 'defensive consultant' working with the notoriously useless Newcastle defence of the time. While he was there he did the impossible and made them worse, they conceded 2-3 goals a game under his expert tutelage.

So bear that in mind next time he drawls his disapproval about 'poor marking'.

27-06-2013, 07:16 PM
want the eyeties to win this game, gone right off the pedros

27-06-2013, 07:23 PM
I think the italians might regret those misses?

'Mon the Hibs
27-06-2013, 07:32 PM
Howard Webb reffing the game.... Does that in some way a Confederations Cup victory for England? :confused::greengrin

27-06-2013, 08:08 PM
wake me up for extra time and pens

27-06-2013, 08:10 PM
Lawrenson is just a stain.

Like many pundits hejust hasnt the talent for anything else. Keegan brought him to Newcastle as 'defensive consultant' working with the notoriously useless Newcastle defence of the time. While he was there he did the impossible and made them worse, they conceded 2-3 goals a game under his expert tutelage.

So bear that in mind next time he drawls his disapproval about 'poor marking'.

Give him his due he was an exceptional player though.

27-06-2013, 09:12 PM
Give him his due he was an exceptional player though.

You cant argue with his record as a player.

27-06-2013, 09:13 PM
'Noone wants to see this go to penalties' :dunno:
Why do they always say this? I love penalties.

27-06-2013, 09:15 PM
You cant argue with his record as a player.

He was a sheite manager and an ever sheitier commentator, we can argue this all day. :greengrin

Me too, i dont want a winner until the penalty shoot out. :agree:

27-06-2013, 09:16 PM

:agree: The only football my missus ever watches is penalty shootouts. :greengrin

27-06-2013, 09:22 PM
Pens are great. And Hibs almost always win em :greengrin

27-06-2013, 09:37 PM
Now thats a penalty. :greengrin:top marks

27-06-2013, 09:43 PM
Penalty masterclass so far. 6-6.

27-06-2013, 09:44 PM
Penalty masterclass so far. 6-6.

You had to go and say that. :greengrin

Goodbye Italy :greengrin

Some of the best penalties you will see. Absolutely terrific until that eventual miss.

Spain through!

27-06-2013, 09:48 PM
Any one know why Italy are wearing black arm bands?

27-06-2013, 09:51 PM

Stefano Borgonovo an ex Italian international died just aged 49 this week. He had an illness ALS. :(

27-06-2013, 09:54 PM

In memory of ex AC Milan player Borgonovo

LeighLoyal
27-06-2013, 09:59 PM
At least we saw why England will never get to a major final, cannae take a penalty.

27-06-2013, 10:02 PM
At least we saw why England will never get to a major final, cannae take a penalty.
I must have missed that game I was watching Spain v Italy and they could both take penalties, very good ones in fact. I never saw England at all.

27-06-2013, 10:12 PM

Not really, Netherlands and Italy have similarly pish penalty taking records in major tournaments. They get to finals all the time.

27-06-2013, 10:17 PM

More concerned about us just getting to a tournament tbh!

27-06-2013, 10:38 PM
Commentators were seriously doing my head in. You'd think Spain were playing a minnow like San Marino the way they were banging on. I get the whole underdog thing when they played Tahiti but it was ITALY for ducks sake :bitchy:.

Teo10
28-06-2013, 01:04 PM
Commentators were seriously doing my head in. You'd think Spain were playing a minnow like San Marino the way they were banging on. I get the whole underdog thing when they played Tahiti but it was ITALY for ducks sake :bitchy:.

Too many times the Italians get written off. Their standard defensive play... where was this so called "devensive" play in the WC 2006? The Euros? and now this year. Yes they used to be known for their defensive qualities but on recent performances they have been everything but!

28-06-2013, 03:00 PM

No - England won't get to a major final anytime soon because they're really not very good at playing football.

All they have to do to sort out the penalty problem is get Stuart Pearce in as team guru to psych 'em up and show them how it's done. Chris Waddle could help him out ...

28-06-2013, 06:36 PM
England have NO chance of winning the next world cup, the weather will see to that. It'll be one of the southern European teams or Argentina that wins it.

28-06-2013, 07:13 PM
Qualifying for the finals of a major tournament is the first goal, what you do once you get there is a bonus.

28-06-2013, 07:31 PM
England have NO chance of winning the next world cup, the weather will see to that. It'll be one of the southern European teams or Argentina that wins it.

Yeah the weather. And the fact they are gash.

28-06-2013, 07:34 PM
Yeah the weather. And the fact they are gash.

:faf: Oh the irony

28-06-2013, 08:47 PM
:faf: Oh the irony

Scotland are worse than gash. We're aware of that though.

28-06-2013, 08:48 PM
Scotland are worse than gash. We're aware of that though.

So are we!

28-06-2013, 09:09 PM
So are we!

Come on now.

28-06-2013, 09:11 PM
Come on now.

What?

28-06-2013, 09:15 PM
What?

Are you suggesting England are aware of their real standing and ability in world terms?

28-06-2013, 09:22 PM
Qualifying for the finals of a major tournament is the first goal, what you do once you get there is a bonus.

:tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:, I've heard that before. :hahaha:Are you Scotland in disguise :hahaha:.

28-06-2013, 09:26 PM
Are you suggesting England are aware of their real standing and ability in world terms?

I was actually agreeing with you that Scotland were gash, however as you've asked the question I will give you my honest opinion.

Who are you referring to when you say "are you suggesting England are aware"?

England fans who actually follow football = are aware of the England teams shortcomings and know exactly where the team stands in world terms.

English Media= also know the shortcomings of the team but do their utmost to foster a spirit of anticipation and get the nation behind the team as any nations media should do.

English public = many don't have a clue and are swept along on the media frenzy ultimately believing that we have a chance of winning something when we don't.

English commentators = or those who I refer to as non English "We" commentators annoyingly don't have a ****** clue half of the time IMO.

English players= they have to give it all and make the right noises whatever their true feelings

Scouse Hibee= He just loves the banter.

28-06-2013, 09:34 PM
I was actually agreeing with you that Scotland were gash, however as you've asked the question I will give you my honest opinion.

Who are you referring to when you say "are you suggesting England are aware"?

England fans who actually follow football = are aware of the England teams shortcomings and know exactly where the team stands in world terms.

English Media= also know the shortcomings of the team but do their utmost to foster a spirit of anticipation and get the nation behind the team as any nations media should do.

English public = many don't have a clue and are swept along on the media frenzy ultimately believing that we have a chance of winning something when we don't.

English commentators = or those who I refer to as non English "We" commentators annoyingly don't have a ****** clue half of the time IMO.

English players= they have to give it all and make the right noises whatever their true feelings

Scouse Hibee= He just loves the banter.

Okay, we're agreed Scotland are gash anyway!

28-06-2013, 09:44 PM
Who will win the Confederation Cup? Brazil or Spain.

28-06-2013, 10:09 PM

Spain

28-06-2013, 11:34 PM

Think Brazil will win but only because Spain are dead on their feet. Been a great experience for them and sets them up great for next year having now experienced playing tournament football in those conditions and that heat. Reckon Argentina are the only team who can stop them and the Brazilians will love that :greengrin.

majorhibs
29-06-2013, 12:16 AM
Think Brazil will win but only because Spain are dead on their feet. Been a great experience for them and sets them up great for next year having now experienced playing tournament football in those conditions and that heat. Reckon Argentina are the only team who can stop them and the Brazilians will love that :greengrin.

What heats that then! Its winter in Brazil the now, Spain at the minute will probably be about 5-10 degrees warmer than central Brazil. Argentina is even further south, no be much different fi Scotland.

ruthven_raiders
29-06-2013, 05:42 PM
What heats that then! Its winter in Brazil the now, Spain at the minute will probably be about 5-10 degrees warmer than central Brazil. Argentina is even further south, no be much different fi Scotland.

Think its the humidity that's the problem, also being a massive country a few games are getting played in the amazon region and I'm sure the heat and humidity will be a problem

29-06-2013, 06:33 PM
Believe it or not, it can get very cold at this time of year in Brazil. The temp can drop from 20+ during the day to anything as low as 1. The drop gets worse the further south you go, so Rio won't be so bad. Remember, Brazilian homes don't have carpets or central heating, so you really blooming feel it when its cold. (I'm talking constant tea drinking, 5 blankets and wearing hats at night to sleep level of cold)

29-06-2013, 07:57 PM

Their Football Association is "Futball Uruguayo" - or for short, "FU". Seems appropriate.

I fancy them as outsiders next year.

They do really good flags in Uruguay -

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/9b/Bandera_mas_grande_del_mundo_-_2.jpg/2250px-Bandera_mas_grande_del_mundo_-_2.jpg

29-06-2013, 11:30 PM

You are aware it was over 30 degrees with 94% humidity for the Spain v Italy game :confused:.

Their Football Association is "Futball Uruguayo" - or for short, "FU". Seems appropriate.

I fancy them as outsiders next year.

They do really good flags in Uruguay -

http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/9/9b/Bandera_mas_grande_del_mundo_-_2.jpg/2250px-Bandera_mas_grande_del_mundo_-_2.jpg

It touch and go if Uruguay are even gonna make it next year. Think the best they can do is make the playoff.

majorhibs
29-06-2013, 11:47 PM
[QUOTE=DH1875;3659724]You are aware it was over 30 degrees with 94% humidity for the Spain v Italy game :confused:.

Aye being as I'm in Brazil the now, Rio area, I am aware, and when I am in Spain in just ower a fortnight I know it will be a good bit hotter in Spain just like last year. Never had probs wi humidity here, but I've never got north o Vitoria so cannae comment on Fortaleza or Salvador, but I just cannae see +30 C bein much of an issue for yer average Espanhola.

30-06-2013, 08:30 AM
You are aware it was over 30 degrees with 94% humidity for the Spain v Italy game :confused:.

Aye being as I'm in Brazil the now, Rio area, I am aware, and when I am in Spain in just ower a fortnight I know it will be a good bit hotter in Spain just like last year. Never had probs wi humidity here, but I've never got north o Vitoria so cannae comment on Fortaleza or Salvador, but I just cannae see +30 C bein much of an issue for yer average Espanhola.

There's a difference between existing in that heat and playing football in that heat. There is a reason most La Liga games are played in the evenings.

majorhibs
30-06-2013, 09:01 AM
There's a difference between existing in that heat and playing football in that heat. There is a reason most La Liga games are played in the evenings.

I suppose working 12 hour shifts for 28 consecutive days in "that heat" doesnae qualify me tae answer though, eh?

30-06-2013, 09:12 AM
I suppose working 12 hour shifts for 28 consecutive days in "that heat" doesnae qualify me tae answer though, eh?

Why are you getting pissy and defensive?

I've no idea what you do but is it on the same level as intensive exercise in an enclosed arena (which amplifies both temperature and humidity) for 90 minutes?

The Spanish season runs from October (where the average maximum temperature through the day is 21C) to May, where again the average maximum temperature is around the 20s. Bearing in mind that it can be much cooler in the evenings (to allow the players to play in comfortable conditions, nearer the low to mid teens) and suddenly playing in temperatures of 30C is exerting.

majorhibs
30-06-2013, 09:25 AM
Why are you getting pissy and defensive?

I've no idea what you do but is it on the same level as intensive exercise in an enclosed arena (which amplifies both temperature and humidity) for 90 minutes?

The Spanish season runs from October (where the average maximum temperature through the day is 21C) to May, where again the average maximum temperature is around the 20s. Bearing in mind that it can be much cooler in the evenings (to allow the players to play in comfortable conditions, nearer the low to mid teens) and suddenly playing in temperatures of 30C is exerting.

Defensive? Nah. I just know I will have just spent 41 days in Brazil doin allsorts, next is 12 days in Spain, I'm no exactly Michael Fish but I know where it will be plenty hotter, and it wont be central Brazil in June/July. At Christmas in Rio when it was 40+ was a different story, but it's no December now. If you'll excuse me, I've got to go to work in "that heat".

30-06-2013, 11:22 AM
Defensive? Nah. I just know I will have just spent 41 days in Brazil doin allsorts, next is 12 days in Spain, I'm no exactly Michael Fish but I know where it will be plenty hotter, and it wont be central Brazil in June/July. At Christmas in Rio when it was 40+ was a different story, but it's no December now. If you'll excuse me, I've got to go to work in "that heat".

That's one serious liquorice problem you have there. Have you asked anybody for help?

30-06-2013, 11:41 AM
That's one serious liquorice problem you have there. Have you asked anybody for help?

:faf: :not worth FWIW, i have played football in spain in 30 degrees heat, and also played in new york when the humidity was terrible, and it was sssooooooooooooo much harder to play in new york.

30-06-2013, 01:17 PM
[QUOTE=DH1875;3659724]You are aware it was over 30 degrees with 94% humidity for the Spain v Italy game :confused:.

So you'll know it's to be around 22 degrees at kickoff time tonight with 75% humidity. Great weather for football eh. Anyhow, think you'll find I actually said that I fancy either the Spanish or the Argies to win it next year because of the weather and that being there this time around will only help the Spanish out, whether they win tonight or not :rolleyes:. As hot as it is in Spain at this time of the year I'm pretty sure they don't play in June, July or August and as already pointed out, when they do play, they play at night.