View Full Version : Iain Banks gone

09-06-2013, 03:38 PM
Sad.

09-06-2013, 03:52 PM
Sad.

Very. Pretty quick too, from when it was announced.

09-06-2013, 04:11 PM
Brilliant author. So sad he's gone.

Rest in Peace Iain

09-06-2013, 04:45 PM
The Bridge was my favourite. incredible imaginative writing. Every time im in South Queensferry or crossing the Forth i think of that book, its become part of my reality.
RIP.

09-06-2013, 05:12 PM
Sad news, I was in The Oxford Bar the day before Farage's infamous Edinburgh visit and he was on good form at the time.

PapillonVert
09-06-2013, 05:19 PM
Sad.

RIP Iain Banks.

Was aware he had announced his illness was terminal but still... gone far too soon.

My condolences to family and friends.

LeighLoyal
09-06-2013, 05:43 PM
RIP, sad news, left a great legacy of fiction at least.

09-06-2013, 05:45 PM
59 year old, scary stuff :agree: coming only two months after not expecting to live another 12, horrible disease/word

09-06-2013, 05:56 PM
Good guy, and think he would have something humourous to say about his death. If he were still alive.

09-06-2013, 09:05 PM
i love Complicity, read it many times, also like Whit, sad loss to the literary world. RIP

09-06-2013, 09:33 PM
we knew it was coming but still very sad to hear of his passing...like many, i first got into his books back in 84/85? when i read 'the wasp factory'...a lovely wee twisted tale that inspired me to write a song around it for one of the crappy obscure punk bands i was in at the time...it remains the only decent song i ever wrote and i will always be indebted to the author for providing me with the inspiration to write something that i can play to my kids without them screaming at me to turn it off.

iain banks...r.i.p

10-06-2013, 05:52 AM
An innovative author who told a great story with humour. Certainly will be missed. Whit, haggis pakora is the all abiding memory. Still never had the balls to make it!!!

RIP Mr Banks.

10-06-2013, 08:21 AM
Sad news, I was in The Oxford Bar the day before Farage's infamous Edinburgh visit and he was on good form at the time.

Oh dear! what a fud, I was thinking of Ian Rankin.

My apologies.

10-06-2013, 04:03 PM
One of the few unoriginal thoughts he's ever had....Hunter S Thompson will be suing him for plagiarism. :greengrin

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/latest-news/iain-banks-ashes-to-be-fired-in-rocket-over-forth-1-2960912

10-06-2013, 07:03 PM
Great writer, and particularly his Culture novels.