View Full Version : The Pope to sign for Hibs?

big-mo
06-06-2013, 04:58 PM
I am hearing that 27 year old Tom Pope may be signing for Hibs. Those who watch the English leagues will be familiar with Tom's scoring, currently with Port Vale, 36 goals in 87 games, not a bad return.

06-06-2013, 05:01 PM
Always thought it'd be funny if The Rangers signed him - purely for the fans reaction...

As you say, good return for a player who is a target man... Would be the perfect foil for Super Leigh (please!!)

06-06-2013, 05:03 PM
Haven't seen much of him, bit of a journey man, but at 6ft 3in, could be an asset in the air.
Noticed he got League 2 player of the year, season just ended

06-06-2013, 05:06 PM
Sound good, seems to score, big fella and in his own words does "the nitty gritty and dirty stuff". Could be a very good signing.

06-06-2013, 05:08 PM
I am hearing that 27 year old Tom Pope may be signing for Hibs. Those who watch the English leagues will be familiar with Tom's scoring, currently with Port Vale, 36 goals in 87 games, not a bad return.

33 goals in 51 games last season including 3 hat-tricks and voted league two player of the season. sounds like he is coming into form as a bit of a late developer.

06-06-2013, 05:08 PM
33 goals last season!

Too slow. :doh:

pontius pilate
06-06-2013, 05:09 PM
Sounds a cracking signing if this comes off. I honestly thought he had not long signed a new contract with port vale.

06-06-2013, 05:13 PM
seen this mentiond on a facebook page a few days ago, any real truth in this? dismissed it as he only signed a new contract in feb, untill 2015

pontius pilate
06-06-2013, 05:15 PM
I remember that conversation mate an you did call it as a non-starter then.

06-06-2013, 05:16 PM
seen this mentiond on a facebook page a few days ago, any real truth in this? dismissed it as he only signed a new contract in feb, untill 2015

There are some posters who are really worth paying attention to, and big-mo is one of them :wink:

06-06-2013, 05:18 PM
This was a rumour that popped up on the football rumours website before it was mentioned on here a couple of days ago and they've got a 100% talking pish record so I'm struggling to believe this rumour.

That said though, the op has got a good record of knowing what's going on so somethings got to give.

06-06-2013, 05:19 PM
There are some posters who are really worth paying attention to, and big-mo is one of them :wink:

heres hoping then, sounds like he'd be a cracking signing. maybe we could offer to go to port vale for a glamour freindly in exchange

TomoHFC
06-06-2013, 05:24 PM
Would like to see him at hibs. I think he scored 4 goals in 1 game

scuttle
06-06-2013, 05:28 PM
Should be good at CROSSES

06-06-2013, 05:34 PM

And so... It starts!

06-06-2013, 05:38 PM
Holy ****.What a good signing if true.

06-06-2013, 05:43 PM
Would be amazed if an SPL side had the money or the temptation for any top scorer of an English league side.

06-06-2013, 05:44 PM
Perhaps he could make his debut V Raith Rovers on the 12th July.........

06-06-2013, 05:47 PM
He just signed a new deal in February to keep him there till 2015. Would be amazed if we were able to pay enough for him.

06-06-2013, 05:52 PM
Anyone who has visited the Stuart's Gate within St Peters in the Vatican will have been impressed with the inscription above. It reads:

Porta Stuarti
Hibernia e Caledonia

All that needs added is a sly GGTTH :)

deeks01
06-06-2013, 05:53 PM

Heard he already gets on well with potential strike partner Leigh Griffiths. They share many common views. For instance neither believe in artificial contraception.

I'll get my coat...

06-06-2013, 05:58 PM
Stupid post :grr: Fenlon would never sign the pope, hes not even Oirish!

Does he s### in the woods?

patch1875
06-06-2013, 06:16 PM
Wish papal would stop all these puns:grr:

06-06-2013, 06:20 PM
This was a rumour that popped up on the football rumours website before it was mentioned on here a couple of days ago and they've got a 100% talking pish record so I'm struggling to believe this rumour.

That said though, the op has got a good record of knowing what's going on so somethings got to give.

Surely Football Rumours must get the odd one right just by blind, ignorant luck?

06-06-2013, 06:22 PM
Surely Football Rumours must get the odd one right just by blind, ignorant luck?

Youd think so but the fact this guy recently signed a contract until 2015 its not looking like it'll be on this occassion.

06-06-2013, 06:22 PM
Could be good but on the other hand he may well just blow white smoke out his erse.

StevesFamau5
06-06-2013, 06:23 PM
Heard he already gets on well with potential strike partner Leigh Griffiths. They share many common views. For instance neither believe in artificial contraception.

I'll get my coat...

Comment of the day. Congratulations you win a desk of cheetos :p

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

06-06-2013, 06:25 PM
Is this Pope mobile?

06-06-2013, 06:29 PM

Bingo you are indeed correct about it appearing in that quality rumours website. However Big Mo has a very good track record and if true for me would be a very very good addition.

I watch a lot if the Football League and he looks a handful.

06-06-2013, 06:30 PM
Is this Pope mobile?

Definitely mobile. Must get him signed. Things are looking rosarie by the day.

06-06-2013, 06:36 PM
Definitely mobile. Must get him signed. Things are looking rosarie by the day.

As long as he gives every beads of sweat for the cause.....Would be a godsend if he scores goals, Amen to that

06-06-2013, 06:42 PM
I don't think he'll sign, that's my confession.

06-06-2013, 06:44 PM
I don't think he'll sign, that's my confession.

I will pray he does........Hopefully RC are not chasing him

06-06-2013, 06:53 PM
Manchester City have signed Jesus!

Macaroon
06-06-2013, 07:00 PM
I hope this is true, too many people blow smoke about Popes these days.

06-06-2013, 07:05 PM
Tom Pope is also an avid Port Vale fan.

So, long contract at club he supports...could this one bring big mo's 100% to an end and prove to be a rumour without transubstantiation.

patch1875
06-06-2013, 07:07 PM
Apparantly he likes to Rome all over the park

scuttle
06-06-2013, 07:09 PM
If we dont sign him it will be a cardinal sin

06-06-2013, 07:12 PM
I wonder if he'll be one of a mass of signings this summer?

06-06-2013, 07:16 PM
I'm sure this chapel do the business for us.

scuttle
06-06-2013, 07:18 PM
There is alot of people pontificating about this signing

06-06-2013, 07:24 PM
What if nun of this turns out to be true?

Macaroon
06-06-2013, 07:25 PM
Hope he signs for Hearts. He'll demand a big wage and they might not be able to pay their vatican.

(Very weak. I can only apologise. If you even understand it I salute you. I'll go away, rethink things and maybe come back.)

06-06-2013, 07:27 PM
Well Petrie has been known to be a tithe arse.

06-06-2013, 07:30 PM
Don't be surprised to see Celtic come in for this guy.

Macaroon
06-06-2013, 07:30 PM
It's certainly believable. After all the Vatican is built on the tomb of Saint Petrie.

Mon_the_cabbage
06-06-2013, 07:33 PM
and a question on behalf of old firm fans . . . . .

Is Pope a Catholic?

06-06-2013, 07:37 PM
i'll be absolutely incensed if we don't sign hymn now!

06-06-2013, 07:41 PM
Hope he doesn't turn out to be a massive organ.

06-06-2013, 07:42 PM
If he doesn't sign we'll be left thinking about what mitre been.

06-06-2013, 07:42 PM
I've heard FC Lausanne are in for him, as the Swiss guard against relegation next year.

06-06-2013, 07:43 PM

Nobody is infallible. Are they?

06-06-2013, 07:44 PM
Hopefully he can canon the ball in the net for us

Macaroon
06-06-2013, 07:47 PM
6'3" eh? Better have some dome on him.

06-06-2013, 07:47 PM
Hope he doesn't get saint off much.

06-06-2013, 07:49 PM
We'd have to alter our playing style to accommodate him

06-06-2013, 07:50 PM
Port Vale put him up on eBay, the 'tache is logging onto his Papal account as we speak.

Macaroon
06-06-2013, 07:50 PM
Bring home that Scottish Cup Tom before we all parish.

patch1875
06-06-2013, 08:02 PM
Be a sin if we didn't get him

06-06-2013, 08:09 PM
Hope he doesn't turn out to be a massive organ.

..as the actress said to the Bishop.

06-06-2013, 08:20 PM
If he fell ill, would we need to get the doctrine?

06-06-2013, 08:28 PM
I'm sure this chapel do the business for us.

If he doesn't sign we'll be left thinking about what mitre been.

Hope he doesn't get saint off much.

:rotflmao:

06-06-2013, 08:31 PM
Do you think we'd be able to tempt him with the offer of a house on York Road, or do you think he'd only come if we offered him the holy trinity?

Macaroon
06-06-2013, 08:31 PM
Surprised Easter Road has not been worked in somewhere yet..

Macaroon
06-06-2013, 08:33 PM
With his longer contract I can see Petrie being drawn towards a loan deal. I hope not, I'm tired of Hibs being lent all these players.

Aubenas
06-06-2013, 08:36 PM
I'm sure Rod will do Vatican to get him signed.

06-06-2013, 08:37 PM
I'm sure Rod will do Vatican to get him signed.

06-06-2013, 08:38 PM
If he gets an international call up that's inconvenient will he need to withdraw at the last minute?

06-06-2013, 08:40 PM
If he scores the winner in the derby, the east will go sacramental!

06-06-2013, 08:44 PM
Cancel the Hibs Kids days.

06-06-2013, 08:46 PM
If he scores the winner in the derby, the east will go sacramental!

06-06-2013, 09:01 PM
If he gets an international call up that's inconvenient will he need to withdraw at the last minute?

Corona all over my laptop.

06-06-2013, 09:10 PM
Will we need to change the words of Hail, Hail to Hail Mary?:confused:

06-06-2013, 09:12 PM
Since we never got to see our last hitman's famous goal celebrations, maybe this one could do a handstand when he scores or better yet, maybe some back philipians.

InterviewLoI
06-06-2013, 09:41 PM
I wonder if we vatiCAN sign him up without a big fee?

06-06-2013, 09:50 PM
There will be an inquisition if we don't sign him.

06-06-2013, 10:33 PM
http://youtu.be/PpZ9RcjJ2y8

TrickyNicky
06-06-2013, 10:38 PM
If he keeps his consecration and doesn't altar his style, he could really do the job for us!

Teapot
06-06-2013, 10:46 PM
It will make for a good friday if we can get him signed up at Easter Road.

06-06-2013, 10:48 PM
It's a shame he won't play against Sacred Hearts

TrickyNicky
06-06-2013, 10:51 PM
His favourite band is Genesis.

TrickyNicky
06-06-2013, 10:57 PM
Someone might have lent um the DVD of the Falkirk game and decided it's better than satan on the bench at Port Vale.

mentalhibee
06-06-2013, 11:30 PM
Contracted to port vale until 2015. No chance of him signing then!

06-06-2013, 11:32 PM

You don't believe in miracles?!?!?!?

06-06-2013, 11:37 PM
Port Vale put him up on eBay, the 'tache is logging onto his Papal account as we speak.

Hahaha

mentalhibee
06-06-2013, 11:57 PM
You don't believe in miracles?!?!?!?

I'm sure another striker will "pope" up on pats radar.

07-06-2013, 02:21 AM
We may not know much about him now, but if he signs and starts hitting the back of the net, we'll have to altar our opinion when we see him celebrating in front of the (pr)iest stand.

sven nil
07-06-2013, 03:00 AM

Think we have got him ! 99 prcent sure i can see white smoke coming out a chimney in easter road.

07-06-2013, 06:03 AM
Think we have got him ! 99 prcent sure i can see white smoke coming out a chimney in easter road.

That was just Rod opening the cheque book and giving it a wee blow :aok:

07-06-2013, 07:36 AM
imagine the headlines in the medja if hibs were to draw the new huns at hunsville and he scored the winner
POPE DOWNS THE BILLY BOYS !!!!!!!
bt

07-06-2013, 07:57 AM
Finally it might be time for us to release all that repent up frustration and win the cup. The other teams won't have a prayer as we take the epistle out of them.

TrickyNicky
07-06-2013, 08:04 AM
Finally it might be time for us to release all that repent up frustration and win the cup. The other teams won't have a prayer as we take the epistle out of them.

Aye, we would have them eatin out the psalm of our hand !

07-06-2013, 08:07 AM
I can see Vatican bring to the squad. :agree:

07-06-2013, 08:09 AM
Absolutely, que the mass exodus of opposition supporters full of protest an' t irades

07-06-2013, 09:29 AM
It will make for a good friday if we can get him signed up at Easter Road.

:agree: and that's O-fish-ul !

O - stands for Only

07-06-2013, 09:32 AM
Seriously - he sounds like a great signing but I'm restraining myself from further comment until I can wHoly See what's gaun on :duck:

pontius pilate
07-06-2013, 10:36 AM
Just think how much money the club can make on christening a weddings and funerals when it's being conducted by the pope now I know why rid is keen on him extra income on the side.

neilmartinrocks
07-06-2013, 11:06 AM
The pope at the Holy Ground?
Surely a sign that we have a purple away kit on the cards?:greengrin

07-06-2013, 11:47 AM
So err....any developments you pun-hungry mongrels?

TrickyNicky
07-06-2013, 11:52 AM

Ah might huv ah wee Deacon Petrie's desk whilst ays away oan holidays in Parish !

Twa Cairpets
07-06-2013, 12:03 PM

Nah, Rods keeping his cards cloister his chest

07-06-2013, 12:15 PM
I'm sure another striker will "pope" up on pats radar.

Jermaine Penance has been freed by Stoke....

07-06-2013, 02:11 PM
Given the abuse THE Pope got on here when he visited Edinburgh Tom might be advised to stay well clear :devil:

08-06-2013, 11:30 AM
Shouldn't he be joining hearts? What with their ability to sweep child abuse under the carpet as well?

That's not really a pun actually...

Sweet Left Peg
08-06-2013, 11:52 AM

That was because we have signed the ex-Hearts left back Jose Conclaves....

ManBearPig
08-06-2013, 12:27 PM
He is a brilliant player wpuld be a capture

neilmartinrocks
08-06-2013, 12:31 PM
That was because we have signed the ex-Hearts left back Jose Conclaves....

I seen what you done there .......... took me a while:greengrin

Big Sexy Dave
08-06-2013, 12:33 PM
Hopefully he can pope up in the right place at the right time.

08-06-2013, 02:19 PM
Folk are making the cardinal error here by being too presumptuous about his signing.

neilmartinrocks
08-06-2013, 02:40 PM
Folk are making the cardinal error here by being too presumptuous about his signing.

Spero signia Hiberniana

08-06-2013, 07:06 PM
Given the abuse THE Pope got on here when he visited Edinburgh Tom might be advised to stay well clear :devil:

Despite wearing Hibs tartan? Ludicrous what more does the pontiff need to do save a penalty and score the winning goal in the SC final!? ;)

The Leith Dutch
23-08-2014, 08:21 AM
Watching the Sky Sports 2 foot corner challenge with Port Vale today.

Tom Pope somewhat impressive:
http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/9435127/two-footed-corner-challenge-port-vale

R11Loaded
23-08-2014, 09:27 AM
He's signing, he's just been in greggs in Tranent.

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

The Leith Dutch
23-08-2014, 09:48 AM
He's signing, he's just been in greggs in Tranent.

Class doesn't show on a maroon jersey

Not that I think there was much if any chance of him signing last year but shows how far both Hibs and Scottish football have fallen that a striker for a 3rd tier English club may as well be Christiano Ronaldo as far as signing goes.

23-08-2014, 10:44 AM
Sounds a cracking signing if this comes off. I honestly thought he had not long signed a new contract with port vale.

I think he's contracted to them till the end of this season.

This one would surprise me - pleasantly, but it would surprise me.

23-08-2014, 10:47 AM
Before anyone gets too excited, this is a thread regurgitated from a year ago with no reason to suggest he's now any closer to signing for Hibs.

In fairness, it has lent itself nicely to a number of corny jokes.