View Full Version : Highest scoring Hibs game you've been at

Miguel
05-06-2013, 10:56 PM
I was a week old when we pumped Peebles Rovers 15-1 in the cup in '61, but I was there when we beat Hamilton 11-0 and Dunfermline 5-6. Any other big scoring games people remember (games against them excluded).

AndyB_70
05-06-2013, 10:58 PM
Might have been a Motherwell game a few seasons ago but I wish it was the 6-2 game.

05-06-2013, 11:15 PM
A win for us, probably us pumping Gretna few years back. High scoring games in general... Last years final I guess.

Just_Jimmy
05-06-2013, 11:20 PM
Hibs 9 montrose 0 is the biggest win by miles.

I missed 6-6 at motherwell so it might be the highest score as well. Cant think of any 5-5s or 6-5s off the top of my head.

ChilliEater
05-06-2013, 11:23 PM
4-4 League Cup then 4-3 Scottish Cup against Celtc. Biggest win, I think, would be 5-1 v East Fife in the Scottish.

pedroorange1875
05-06-2013, 11:28 PM
6-2

I was at the Montrose game but i am not remembering that :) so its still the 6-2 (going on 20) hammering :)

05-06-2013, 11:28 PM
Think it was 7-0 v Livingston

05-06-2013, 11:31 PM
6-6 game at Motherwell, got in for £1 too!

05-06-2013, 11:34 PM
9-0 v Montrose.

Don't think I've been to a game that's had more goals than that.

I wasn't at the 6-6 game v Motherwell.

05-06-2013, 11:39 PM
9-1 Rosenburg. Did we also beat St Johnstone 9-2 in the League Cup? Ally Scott 'n that, if so was at that.

Wasn't at the 6-6 Well game.

lEXO
05-06-2013, 11:41 PM
Hibs v Kilmarnock 1982-83 last game of the season. Jackie Mac scored a raker in the top corner. 8-1 for Hibs

06-06-2013, 12:36 AM
7-0 livi

06-06-2013, 01:00 AM
9-0 Montrose followed by 6-2 Hearts.

06-06-2013, 01:12 AM
Been to a few 8 goal games, so I'll opt for 6-2 against the merricks as my top choice :thumbsup:

06-06-2013, 03:27 AM
6-6 game. Graeme smith wtf?!!

mikewynne
06-06-2013, 04:41 AM
For me it was Hibs 9-2 St Johnstone, Aug 28 1976, my first ever match! We left thinking it was 10-1 having miscounted the score (no scoreboard those days) and my dad and I were somehow annoyed when we got home and heard the real score on the radio! I would like to be annoyed by a 9-2 victory again. :)

06-06-2013, 05:07 AM
I think mine is the 4-3 semi final recently.

PapillonVert
06-06-2013, 06:05 AM
First ever Hibs game attended at ER - 7 - 0 v. Partick Thistle. That was a wee while ago! :greengrin

9 - 0 Montrose

4 - 4 Aberdeen (when Sauzée was here)

Last but not least

0 - 7 on 01/01/1973. :wink:

06-06-2013, 06:13 AM
6v2.

06-06-2013, 06:33 AM
9-0 against Montrose. Was in Alaska for the 6-6 game.

06-06-2013, 06:42 AM
8-1 v killie. Was 2-1 at ht if i remember correctly.

johncrobertson@
06-06-2013, 07:05 AM
8-1 vs Ayr United - Game after League Cup win over Smeltic. 3 Games before 0-7 at *********** - I was there also - Great days and what a team!

06-06-2013, 07:09 AM
6-6 game. I actually said at 6-2 that the game was far from over, absolutely shocking that we threw that away.

Biggest win is 9-0 v Montrose.

06-06-2013, 07:22 AM
I have to admit to being at the 15-1 Peebles rovers game but i was still in short trousers !, i also was at the Rosenborg game which i think was 9-1 , changed days indeed as they have been in the champions league and done well.

connerg
06-06-2013, 07:52 AM
Hibs v Kilmarnock 1982-83 last game of the season. Jackie Mac scored a raker in the top corner. 8-1 for Hibs

Was at that game too, wasn't the last game of the season. We lost to Celtic the following week at ER, think it was 0-3. We drew 3-3 with DUFC at Tannadice the week before the Killie game, Brian Rice equalised with a superb volley in the last minute.

connerg
06-06-2013, 07:58 AM
For me it was Hibs 9-2 St Johnstone, Aug 28 1976, my first ever match! We left thinking it was 10-1 having miscounted the score (no scoreboard those days) and my dad and I were somehow annoyed when we got home and heard the real score on the radio! I would like to be annoyed by a 9-2 victory again. :)

My Dad took me to that game and we lost count too!!! Great memories, Hibs always scored loads of goals in those days.

06-06-2013, 08:07 AM
I'm delighted to say it was the 6-2. I was down the front of the old east and for a moment i thought Zitelli was going to jump into my arms:hug:

Green Man
06-06-2013, 08:24 AM
6-2 for me :greengrin well actually it's joint highest scoring with 4-4 against Dundee having been 4-1 up. I missed a few of our recent big wins, 9-0 Montrose, 7-0 Livi and 6-0 Gretna.

ShadesLongThrow
06-06-2013, 08:30 AM
I seem to remember an 8-1 versus Forfar at ER. Sometime in the 70's but no idea of the year. I think it must have been early or late in the season though as I do recall sitting on the big east terracing enjoying the sun!

06-06-2013, 08:40 AM
8-1 v Ayr. My first ever game, loads of goals, cup paraded and I thought it was like that every week.

06-06-2013, 08:49 AM

Same. HT 1-1 then we went mental!

06-06-2013, 08:52 AM
I was at the 8-1 v Killie in 1983 - it was indeed 2-1 at half time with no indication of what was to come.

Was also at the 4-4 v Dundee (having been 4-1 up) and at the two 4-4 and 4-3 v Celtic in the cup/league cup in the 80s

I also remember a big win v someone (Pars?) in 1989/90 - but can't remember the score only that I took a Celtc fan along who I shared a flat with in Glasgow at the time.

For the 9-0 v Montrose I was working in Manchester at the time and had just persuaded the company to pay for my mobile phone. I had set up text alerts by some premium service for every Hibs goal scored - and for some reason the company weren't too happy when the bill arrived :wink:

Hibby Gav
06-06-2013, 08:53 AM
Rosenburg 9 - 1...I thought all our games were going to be like this !

06-06-2013, 09:01 AM
Rosenborg 9-1

Ayr 8-1

Livi 7-0

Killie 8 -1

Probably my favourite was Ayr 8 -1 Hibs were fantastic in those days

I loved the Tornadoes

06-06-2013, 09:03 AM
15-1 Peebles Rovers, 11-1 Accies, 11-2 Alloa, 9-1 Rosenborg, 8-1? Brechin, 8-4 Thirds ( & Ronnie S saved 2 pens ), 7-4 Dunfermline, 8-1 Ayr, 5-6 Dunfermline.
Oh & 7-6 Barcelona ( aggregate!! ) & a certain 0-7 game!!

I also clearly remember listening to the radio when the 5 o'clock scores came in & we won away 10-2 at Partick & 11-1 at Airdrie in the same season!! Mind you I can't remember what I had for my tea last night!!

Aaron
06-06-2013, 09:09 AM
In victory, 9-0 v Montrose & 6-2 Hearts

In defeat, 7-0 Rangers at Ibrox on a freezing day......think parts of the Clyde froze over that weekend.

oramhibee
06-06-2013, 09:24 AM
According to my dad, I was at 6-2 v Hearts, but I don't remember it as I was about five, I definitely was at 7-0 v Livingston. I was also at the 4-3 semi v Falkirk, (does that count?)

06-06-2013, 09:28 AM

I think that is my highest too

Lester B
06-06-2013, 09:51 AM

I think we pumped Dundee 5-1 the week after or is my memory playing tricks. As a 7 year old I kept losing count and my old man kept having to remind me of the progressing score. We got a tenth goal but it was disallowed IIRC!

Smiggy 7-0
06-06-2013, 09:59 AM
8-1 vs Ayr United - Game after League Cup win over Smeltic. 3 Games before 0-7 at *********** - I was there also - Great days and what a team!

Aye, same for me, celebrations galore, although don't remember too much about the Ayr game apart from it was snowing. But will never forget the 0-7 at Tynie.

06-06-2013, 10:01 AM
There was the 4-4 at home to Dundee from a few years ago

06-06-2013, 10:04 AM
15-1 Peebles.Their plan to shackle Joe didn't quite work.

After the Ayr 8-1 Ally McLeod said that it would be the last time he allowed any of his players to cross the half way line at Easter Road.

One of the myths about the Hearts 7-0 game is that they weren't up to much that season.In fact at Tynecastle they had only lost(I think)3 league goals prior to the game.However we hadn't lost to them for about a dozen games.

06-06-2013, 10:10 AM
Same. HT 1-1 then we went mental!

Was 2-1 at HT, it was a hibs kids game, think we were in the south part of main stand from memory

06-06-2013, 10:12 AM
Seen us win 7-0, 8-1, 9-0 all domestically......(Think we actually scored 9 in a friendly against South Shields, but can't recollect, too many beers on way down to be able to count all the goals)....

Seen us lose by 6 and 7 as well......

06-06-2013, 10:14 AM
In victory, 9-0 v Montrose & 6-2 Hearts

In defeat, 7-0 Rangers at Ibrox on a freezing day......think parts of the Clyde froze over that weekend.

I was there that day, horrific, however we did beat the merrick's 2-1 in our next game (New Year Derby).....Always a plus side:greengrin

06-06-2013, 10:25 AM
11-2 Alloa; 11 something (or nothing) Hamilton; 6-5 Dunfermline; 8 against Ayr; 7 against some once great institution. All wins.

Biggest defeat: 0-4 at ER against a cracking Dundeh team: Gilzean before he went to Tottingham, and some ex-Hibee on the wing.

06-06-2013, 10:30 AM
6-6 at Motherwell, will take some beating on the number of goals in one match........Crazy night that was.....

06-06-2013, 10:32 AM
Was 2-1 at HT, it was a hibs kids game, think we were in the south part of main stand from memory

Cheers - always had it in my head as 1-1 HT, and yes I was in the South of the Main as a Hibs Kids too! :thumbsup:

06-06-2013, 10:39 AM
Cheers - always had it in my head as 1-1 HT, and yes I was in the South of the Main as a Hibs Kids too! :thumbsup:

In my younger days, I used to write match details on the programme, ever keen.........

hibernian36
06-06-2013, 12:15 PM
8-1 v Ayr. My first ever game, loads of goals, cup paraded and I thought it was like that every week.

8-1 v Kilmarnock at Easter Road Hibs Kids game sat in the main stand mustve been early 80's

06-06-2013, 12:22 PM
6-6 v Well. 9-0 v Montrose, 4-4 v Hearts.

Think that the 3 highest. A few other with 7 goals.

06-06-2013, 12:25 PM
6-6 for me as well..

I remember finding the only bar in this tiny corner of Spain showing the 6-2 game I think I got there when it was 4-1, So I got to see that 'twisting, turning.. lovely one two !' moment.

06-06-2013, 12:25 PM
8-1 v Killie although my dad got us there 15 minutes late and i only saw 6 of the goals as it was 2-1 to Hibs at that point. This was pre scoreboard , so i assumed we were 4-0 up until the chant of we want seven started! I did see all 9 goals when we beat Celtic 6-3 in a friendly and Benny Brazil scored a hat trick

06-06-2013, 12:28 PM
11-2 Alloa; 11 something (or nothing) Hamilton; 6-5 Dunfermline; 8 against Ayr; 7 against some once great institution. All wins.

Biggest defeat: 0-4 at ER against a cracking Dundeh team: Gilzean before he went to Tottingham, and some ex-Hibee on the wing.

My first game was around November 1965 and the 11-1 win against Hamilton. All I seem to remember is the Hamilton goal :confused: rebound off the bar on to the back of the hibs keeper and in to the net.

Berwickhibby
06-06-2013, 12:34 PM
9 - 2 V St Johnstone.....if memory serves me correctly I am sure Pat Statnton came of the bench as a sub for his last ever competative gave in a Hibs shirt :flag:

06-06-2013, 12:37 PM
11-1 v Hamilton, 11-2 v Alloa.

The 8-1 against Ayr was some of the best football that I have ever seen anywhere. Showboating of the highest quality at times.

I missed the 6-5 v Dunfermline as my brother chose to get married that day. I have never let him forget it.

The 7-0 in the enclosure at Tynie using a complimentary ticket from a Jambo mate will surely never be beaten. Until next season ?

06-06-2013, 12:43 PM
6-6 for me.

Did see Cowdenbeath win 7-5.

06-06-2013, 03:24 PM
Been to few seven goal thrillers - 7-0 vs Livi under Mowbray; 5-2 vs Dundee way back in the 80s; 4-3 in the semi vs Falkirk and (sadly) a 3-4 home defeat to the Huns under Duff Jimmy after which it all went pear shaped !

06-06-2013, 03:56 PM
9 - 0 Montrose is the highest for me!

Followed by the 4-4 and 7-0 games!

06-06-2013, 04:00 PM
7-0 to rangers :(
Think it was a 5-2 game that hibs won dave Farrell scored all I can remember.

06-06-2013, 04:17 PM
Dunf 5 Hibs 6. What a match. I've got the programme somewhere. We always laughed at one of the ads in it.

"Fair's fair. Give the wife a night out at the Kinema ballroom..........."

hibs4thecup1988
06-06-2013, 04:38 PM
First ever Hibs game attended at ER - 7 - 0 v. Partick Thistle. That was a wee while ago! :greengrin

9 - 0 Montrose

4 - 4 Aberdeen (when Sauzée was here)

Last but not least

0 - 7 on 01/01/1973. :wink:

Don't mean to sound pernickity... But 4-4 with Aberdeen? I remember a 4-3 loss when de la Cruz was his best and worst but not a 4-4. Anyone else?

06-06-2013, 04:41 PM
9 -1 Rosenberg, 8-1 Ayr United, 7-1 Besa, 6-1 Sporting, 6-0 Malmo

MKHIBEE
06-06-2013, 04:42 PM
Watching the Hibs- 0-7 v Them, 6-1 v Sporting Lisbon, 7.1 v FC Besa, 1-6 v Celtic, Scottish Cup Final.

Add to that Lincoln 5 S....horpe 3, League 2 playoff semi final 2003.

06-06-2013, 04:47 PM
Don't mean to sound pernickity... But 4-4 with Aberdeen? I remember a 4-3 loss when de la Cruz was his best and worst but not a 4-4. Anyone else?

There was a 2-2 draw at ER under Mowbray where we got two late goals and a game v Kilmarnock where we came back from 2 down to win (2-4 was it?). Could it be the 4-4 v Dundee that's mentioned above?

hibs4thecup1988
06-06-2013, 04:50 PM
There was a 2-2 draw at ER under Mowbray where we got two late goals and a game v Kilmarnock where we came back from 2 down to win (2-4 was it?). Could it be the 4-4 v Dundee that's mentioned above?

I remember the 4-2 killie game. I was at a wedding the day. Never been so gutted lol.

I think its 4-4 dunde PV is thinking of but it was the sauzee comment..? Hmmm

InterviewLoI
06-06-2013, 06:13 PM
Mine was the Falkirk game

06-06-2013, 06:27 PM
6-6 against Motherwell in May 2010 and 7-0 home win against Livi which I think ended Paul Lambert's job with them.

pandahfc
06-06-2013, 07:51 PM
Apart from the obvious 6-2, my first game was October 1974 Hibs 6 - 2 Motherwell at ER, so will never forget that. Four days later we lost at home to Juve in the UEFA Cup. Changed days indeed.

zosohibee
06-06-2013, 08:07 PM
6-0 win over Arborath was my first game, 6-0 to Barca was my second - quite funny. I also got in for £1 to the 6-6 game at Motherwell despite literally handing over a tenner to get in for adult price, dunno why. Like Johnny Boy in Mean Streets "You too good for my ten dollars? It's a good ten dollars"

Chibs
06-06-2013, 08:23 PM
9 -1 Rosenberg, 8-1 Ayr United, 7-1 Besa, 6-1 Sporting, 6-0 Malmo
Show off :greengrin
My highest was 9-2 st johnstone but the best was 9-1 Rosenburg.
If my memory serves me correct Rosenburg scored first.

06-06-2013, 09:04 PM
On a slightly different tangent, when we got to League Cup Final in 1985, we scored plenty to get there, 6 against both Cowdenbeath and Motherwell, 4 against Celtc, and 2 against Derhun(old).....Never scored in Final unfortunately though.....

06-06-2013, 09:21 PM
.....Never scored in Final unfortunately though.....

Sort of.

Kano scored a beauty which was strangely disallowed. Years later, one winter, on the way to a game at Tannadice we noticed the Ref for that Final Bob Valentine walking in front of us going to the game. Someone chucked a snowball at him and mentioned that game -

"you can't blame me for that one" says Bob,

"We know, that's for disallowing Kano's goal",

Valentine then said to us, "Ach it would have been a shame to give that as Aberdeen hadn't lost a goal for the whole of their Cup run."

Cue (plenty) more snowballs for him and his mate....and a mention for all the wee bairns who traveled to support Hibs and who, fairly, lost the match on the day but were done out of a consolation goal (cracker it was as well.)

(Cheating SFA ****s)

06-06-2013, 09:25 PM
Sort of.

Kano scored a beauty which was strangely disallowed. Years later, one winter, on the way to a game at Tannadice we noticed the Ref for that Final Bob Valentine walking in front of us going to the game. Someone chucked a snowball at him and mentioned that game -

"you can't blame me for that one" says Bob,

"We know, that's for disallowing Kano's goal",

Valentine then said to us, "Ach it would have been a shame to give that as Aberdeen hadn't lost a goal for the whole of their Cup run."

Cue (plenty) more snowballs for him and his mate....and a mention for all the wee bairns who traveled to support Hibs and who, fairly, lost the match on the day but were done out of a consolation goal (cracker it was as well.)

(Cheating SFA ****s)

Did Benny not miss a great chance early doors ?

06-06-2013, 09:33 PM
Did Benny not miss a great chance early doors ?

Canny mind that, mate. But probably. Aberdeen very strong in those days.

06-06-2013, 09:36 PM
Canny mind that, mate. But probably. Aberdeen very strong in those days.

Aye, they were a great side at that time.....Won the Scottish by same scoreline vs merricks that Season

06-06-2013, 09:38 PM
Hamilton 11-0

For some reason I always remember for getting a row of some jobs worth polis for sitting on the wall with my feet on the wee gravel path, bit odd remembering that, Eric Stevenson IIRC ripped the pish out the full back, just one of those games you remember,probably because of the result

06-06-2013, 09:39 PM
Did we not beat Clyde 6-1 under McLeish? I vaguely remember Sauzee scoring a free kick and Lehmann scoring a couple. Think the main stand was being rebuilt at the time.

Miguel
06-06-2013, 10:08 PM
My first game was around November 1965 and the 11-1 win against Hamilton. All I seem to remember is the Hamilton goal :confused: rebound off the bar on to the back of the hibs keeper and in to the net.
Yes, that's right.
Have it in my head that we beat a European team week before, or after - Valencia?

NGH
06-06-2013, 11:25 PM
8-1 v killie. Was 2-1 at ht if i remember correctly.

It was indeed. I don't think anyone was expecting what happened next.

07-06-2013, 09:54 PM
9 - 2 V St Johnstone.....if memory serves me correctly I am sure Pat Statnton came of the bench as a sub for his last ever competative gave in a Hibs shirt :flag:It was a League Cup tie when there were groups but we had no chance of qualifying so crowd was small . 4 days later 0v0 against Montrose on day Pat left Hibs with really depressing atmosphere and even smaller crowd . The 9 goals was a surprise since team was struggling . Think there was a 7v1 against St Johnstone about same time too .

07-06-2013, 10:17 PM
6-6.

hibs4thecup1988
07-06-2013, 10:24 PM
Did we not beat Clyde 6-1 under McLeish? I vaguely remember Sauzee scoring a free kick and Lehmann scoring a couple. Think the main stand was being rebuilt at the time.

Indeed. I was upper South that day. Applauded the Clyde goal and seem to remember McLeish going mental on the touchline... :greengrin

07-06-2013, 10:34 PM
Dunf 5 Hibs 6. What a match. I've got the programme somewhere. We always laughed at one of the ads in it.

"Fair's fair. Give the wife a night out at the Kinema ballroom..........."

Aye I mind that, think Hibs were 2-0 up at half time and then nine goals scored in the second half

Is that right ? i'm getting on in years

kev32
07-06-2013, 10:47 PM
6-3 v Celtic, about 1984 or 85, hastily arranged friendly after Parkhead called off due to frozen pitch. Benny scored ahat-trick!

Deek9
07-06-2013, 10:52 PM

9-1 Rosenberg, thought st were going to get double figures that night. Did we not also lose a Scottish cup final 6-3 to Smeltic in the 70s with Joe Harper scoring a hat trick and still ending up a loser?

07-06-2013, 11:15 PM
9-0 v Montrose for me too. Seen a few other high scoring encounters...

Hibs 6-2 Hearts

Hearts 4-4 Hibs (Grrrr)

Hibs 7-0 Livingston

Worst defeat: Rangers 7-0 Hibs (though I didn't see the last 3 goals :greengrin)

08-06-2013, 12:43 AM

They did and it was a cracker. Direct free kick where their striker bent the ball the wrong way round the wall. Main stand side, towards the Dunbar end, hit it with the outside of his left foot and put it in the left hand corner. Never any cameras at these games. Iain Munro got a hat trick.

Chibs
08-06-2013, 01:04 AM
9-1 Rosenberg, thought st were going to get double figures that night. Did we not also lose a Scottish cup final 6-3 to Smeltic in the 70s with Joe Harper scoring a hat trick and still ending up a loser?
Eh no.
Are you really a hibby?
It was the league cup final.

sven nil
08-06-2013, 06:00 AM
6-6 game at Motherwell, got in for £1 too!

yes was there also me and three son 13 pounds only

08-06-2013, 06:19 AM
6-6, still can't believe that game or yogis comments after it!!
I think I was the first to comment on the infamous "wait till the fans get home" thread, well at least I think it was after that game. :)

08-06-2013, 12:53 PM
Hibs 9 Rosenberg 1 - Unbelievable score if happening today methinks.
Hibs 11 Hamilton 1
Hibs 8 Ayr 1

08-06-2013, 03:18 PM
Think it was 7-0 v Livingston

This one for me too.

08-06-2013, 05:40 PM
6-6, still can't believe that game or yogis comments after it!!
I think I was the first to comment on the infamous "wait till the fans get home" thread, well at least I think it was after that game. :)

The wait til the fans get home was after we beat Hamilton 1-0 away. Fletch scored.

9-0 montrose for me.
4-4 game
7-0 livi.

08-06-2013, 06:04 PM
6-6 game away to Motherwell I think? :rolleyes:

08-06-2013, 06:09 PM
Hibs 15, Peebles Rovers 1. (that was a strange day if you were a wee very young Hibby frae Peebles!)

Hibs 11, Hamilton 1

Oh and I nearly forgot the biggest away win was THEM 0, HIBERNIAN 7 :wink:

08-06-2013, 08:41 PM
Think it was on the Commodore 64 'Football Manager'. Quite a few 12-0 games ;)

08-06-2013, 10:17 PM
The wait til the fans get home was after we beat Hamilton 1-0 away. Fletch scored.

9-0 montrose for me.
4-4 game
7-0 livi.

Aye you're right :) old age and alcohol ;)
Fletch had been having a nightmare and gave it a right GTRFUY after he scored.

Deek9
09-06-2013, 03:31 PM
Eh no.
Are you really a hibby?
It was the league cup final.
9 goals in a game not mentioned previously.

1959 Hibby
11-06-2013, 11:17 AM
9-2 v St Johnstone. If memory isn't playing tricks, it was Pat Stanton's last game before transfer to Celtic - and I'm pretty sure biggest cheer of the day was when he came on as a sub. (2nd biggest was when Arthur Duncan finally managed to score after a one-man assault on the St J goal for the whole of the 2nd half)