View Full Version : Hibs Coaching

04-06-2013, 12:28 PM
Does anyone else think we need a couple more experienced coaches at Hibs, maybe a defence coach and a technical/tactical coach, I just feel the few coaches we have are not up to the full task.

Devilstorment
04-06-2013, 12:33 PM
if you pay for their wages, count me in!

that kind of specialisation is hard to justify paying for IMO.

with regards to the defence coach, a lot of the errors we are making don't require a specialist coach it is basic stuff.

waste of a wage if you ask me

04-06-2013, 12:49 PM
What we need is players to spend a bit more time in the gym after training to help build up their upper body strength. I thought it was very noticeable against celtc that they were a lot stronger on the ball than we were, we got pushed around all over the park.

04-06-2013, 02:47 PM
Wasn't really meaning too specialist, just bringing someone in who can aid our defence etc, I feel Fenlon etc are lacking in that department

04-06-2013, 03:12 PM
Rather like some clubs bring in a specialist to work with their strikers for several hours a week perhaps a defensive coach could do something similar, I know defend as a team and all that but an experienced defensive coach to work with the defenders could have some merits IMO.

04-06-2013, 03:17 PM
Does anyone else think we need a couple more experienced coaches at Hibs, maybe a defence coach and a technical/tactical coach, I just feel the few coaches we have are not up to the full task.
Aye, quite right....off you pop down to Easter Road and tell Pat where we are going wrong and maybe he will replace Liam O'Brien with your good self. You will have to be a bit more specific than you have been with our problems mind you....

04-06-2013, 03:44 PM
Aye, quite right....off you pop down to Easter Road and tell Pat where we are going wrong and maybe he will replace Liam O'Brien with your good self. You will have to be a bit more specific than you have been with our problems mind you....

What a ****ing dick head reply, where did I once say I could do it you fool, I'm questioning the coaching at ER due to the fact that as a team we lose bad goals defensively. I'd like to know what they do at training, because I feel our defence hasn't improved that much this past season, we still make schoolboy errors and positionally we're all over the place at times.

Fenlon was an attacking midfielder and O'Brian a forward I think, maybe bringing in someone with experience in defence coaching is needed.

04-06-2013, 03:53 PM

Hobo Harry Really. Nice name. As for JC's post think he's meaning maybe bringing in an ex defender or the likes with a few different ideas. Every team can improve and if an additional coach helps then so be it.

Sarcasm btw is the lowest form if whit.

04-06-2013, 03:55 PM
What a ****ing dick head reply, where did I once say I could do it you fool, I'm questioning the coaching at ER due to the fact that as a team we lose bad goals defensively. I'd like to know what they do at training, because I feel our defence hasn't improved that much this past season, we still make schoolboy errors and positionally we're all over the place at times.

Fenlon was an attacking midfielder and O'Brian a forward I think, maybe bringing in someone with experience in defence coaching is needed.
Silly me. Having seen that you had spotted a problem I assumed you knew what you were taking about. As for their playing positions - absolutely, that would certainly mean they nothing about how to defend. Scott Thomson too would also have no idea about organising a defence I imagine. Every defence in the world makes schoolboy errors and get caught out of position and frankly I would rather they spent any spare salary money on players. Feel free to continue the abusive replies though - I certainly don't expect to see anything constructive from you.

04-06-2013, 04:01 PM
Silly me. Having seen that you had spotted a problem I assumed you knew what you were taking about. As for their playing positions - absolutely, that would certainly mean they nothing about how to defend. Scott Thomson too would also have no idea about organising a defence I imagine. Every defence in the world makes schoolboy errors and get caught out of position and frankly I would rather they spent any spare salary money on players. Feel free to continue the abusive replies though - I certainly don't expect to see anything constructive from you.

If a coach comes in on a part time basis and cuts the errors in half then its money well spent IMHO. Yes players make mistakes but if someone can point them in the right direction then it could mean the difference between winning and losing.

04-06-2013, 04:04 PM
If a coach comes in on a part time basis and cuts the errors in half then its money well spent IMHO. Yes players make mistakes but if someone can point them in the right direction then it could mean the difference between winning and losing.
I agree with that - but we would be better serves by players like James McPake, Tim Clancy and Alan Maybury - who are not world beaters by any stretch - but are good experienced professionals and excellent models for the younger players who will (hopefully) blossom in an invigorated youth system.....

Devilstorment
04-06-2013, 04:06 PM
I think budget will be the stumbling block on this, im sure Pat would love to have extra pair of eyes/hands to help out, but simply wont be able to afford it

04-06-2013, 04:09 PM
I agree with that - but we would be better serves by players like James McPake, Tim Clancy and Alan Maybury - who are not world beaters by any stretch - but are good experienced professionals and excellent models for the younger players who will (hopefully) blossom in an invigorated youth system.....

After watching Clancy in the SF against Falkirk I would say he's been a bit of a liability on the playing positional front. re Maybury as for me he's came in did a very good job and barring one or 2 errors (no more than anyone else) has never let the team down.

I personally feel Forster and Harris have both benefitted from Maybury.

I still think the odd session with a defensive coach or striking coach helps and brings fresh ideas.

I will say this tho that if it benefits the team on match days then it should not be overlooked.

04-06-2013, 04:21 PM
In not sure how this thread has escalated the way it has! IMHO it's a decent question. Would we be better spending money we might spend on a squad player on a wage or two on a couple of part time specialist coaches? I tend to think any team will improve if there are specialists working with them however getting the right people would be the gamble. We aren't likely to get an world class players but with a bit f direction we can improve the ones we have. I think the improvement in our youngsters that they are attributing to working with people like Kuqi and Maybury shows there are merits to this. Maybe give some big name pro who are doing coaching badges a chance to come by for a few weeks at a time to share their knowledge? It's all ifs and bits and I trust the club know what they can and can't afford to do but it's an interesting question/idea

Devilstorment
04-06-2013, 04:27 PM
Now i don't profess to know whether or not this is the case however I would suspect that there is not an economy for part time specialists mainly because if a "specialist" is any good he would work full time and earn more, also why as a professional football team would i be happy for my specialist to specialise my team every monday and tuesday, then specialise Hearts every Wednesday Thursday and specialise Kilmarnock every Friday.... Just doesnt feel as though that would happen.

I would imagine any coach that is worth having, would be worth having "exclusively"

Devilstorment
04-06-2013, 04:29 PM
What we need is players to spend a bit more time in the gym after training to help build up their upper body strength. I thought it was very noticeable against celtc that they were a lot stronger on the ball than we were, we got pushed around all over the park.

I agree with this 100% this goes for Scottish football in general, but specifically Hibs, we seem to have a plethora of 5'6", 9 stone kids coming through (always have!)

.... not that going to the gym would make you taller!!

04-06-2013, 04:34 PM

There is an alternative option but it's best not mentioned on this messageboard.

Devilstorment
04-06-2013, 04:37 PM

I agree with this 100% this goes for Scottish football in general, but specifically Hibs, we seem to have a plethora of 5'6", 9 stone kids coming through (always have!)

.... not that going to the gym would make you taller!!

04-06-2013, 05:06 PM
Silly me. Having seen that you had spotted a problem I assumed you knew what you were taking about. As for their playing positions - absolutely, that would certainly mean they know nothing about how to defend. Scott Thomson too would also have no idea about organising a defence I imagine. Every defence in the world makes schoolboy errors and get caught out of position and frankly I would rather they spent any spare salary money on players. Feel free to continue the abusive replies though - I certainly don't expect to see anything constructive from you.

Fixed your grammar for you, to make the sentence flow better. :aok:

Pat Fenlon - midfielder
Scott Thomson - goalkeeping coach
Liam O'Brian - midfielder
Frank Nuttall - Performance coach

To me there's no sign there of anyone with defensive experience, that's all I'm asking, yes we probably don't have the cash to get another coach in, maybe we should be looking at getting shot of any that aren't doing their job well enough.

As for yourself, I aint got a clue who you are, but your name is very yammish, this is the problem with the main board on this site, ask a reasonable question and get some numpty with smart ersed comments.:rolleyes:

04-06-2013, 05:12 PM

Pat Fenlon - midfielder

To me there's no sign there of anyone with defensive experience, that's all I'm asking, yes we probably don't have the cash to get another coach in, maybe we should be looking at getting shot of any that aren't doing their job well enough.

As for yourself, I aint got a clue who you are, but your name is very yammish, this is the problem with the main board on this site, ask a reasonable question and get some numpty with smart ersed comments.:rolleyes:

Why don't we just use the money to bring in better quality defenders than what we have

04-06-2013, 05:19 PM
Why don't we just use the money to bring in better quality defenders than what we have

There is that but look what we did to Hogg :greengrin

04-06-2013, 05:23 PM
There is that but look what we did to Hogg :greengrin

That's the thing mate I'm not knocking you, anyone who has ideas on how we can improve things shouldn't be ridiculed for bringing it to the table, no matter how irrelevant or crazy they may be (not saying this one is any of those BTW). :wink:

04-06-2013, 05:46 PM
Its a decent idea and would bring its own benefits but on such a restricted budget i cant see it happening. The best case scenario would be us signing an experienced defender winding down his career to be part of the squad but taking on coaching responsiblities and helping Pat with specialised sessions and training for the defensive players in the team.

04-06-2013, 05:56 PM
What does the manager get paid for these day? :confused:

04-06-2013, 06:00 PM
Fitness and lifestyle coach maybe?

04-06-2013, 06:04 PM
Its a decent idea and would bring its own benefits but on such a restricted budget i cant see it happening. The best case scenario would be us signing an experienced defender winding down his career to be part of the squad but taking on coaching responsiblities and helping Pat with specialised sessions and training for the defensive players in the team.

Now why didn't I think of that. :top marks

04-06-2013, 06:05 PM
Fitness and lifestyle coach maybe?

Frank Nuttall is the man for that.

04-06-2013, 06:05 PM
What does the manager get paid for these day? :confused:

He get paid to manage all the coaches he needs!

04-06-2013, 06:08 PM

Is that what Kuqi does with the strikers :wink:

04-06-2013, 07:06 PM

Pat Fenlon - midfielder

Makes sense to me, if the budget is there. There is room for one more coach, and someone with defensive expertise would give us balance. Maybury is sitting his coaching badges at the moment and helped with the youths last year - maybe he could get a new deal as a player/coach?

04-06-2013, 07:18 PM
Makes sense to me, if the budget is there. There is room for one more coach, and someone with defensive expertise would give us balance. Maybury is sitting his coaching badges at the moment and helped with the youths last year - maybe he could get a new deal as a player/coach?

TBH Maybury is settled here in Edinburgh with his family, told me himself his lad's now a Hibs supporter, so staying here would make sense.

Out of all the defenders we have, his positional sense is generally spot on and it makes up for his lack of pace, compared to McPake, who's pace is questionable and positionally pretty poor.

If he's doing his coaching badges then a player/coach job would be fine by me.

04-06-2013, 07:43 PM

Was just thinking Maybury as i was reading through this. I've heard he's done well helping out with 19's. Not sure how far on he's on with his coaching badges.

04-06-2013, 07:45 PM
I can see how this sort of thing could be beneficial to us but I'm not sure we would want to blow our money on a defensive coach. Just because none of our coaching team were defenders doesn't mean they know nothing about defending, mowbray was a defender but his philosophy was to play attacking football. Imo our problems in defence have been more to do with not having a settled back 4 for most of the season, when we did at the start of the season we had one of the best defences in the league. In an ideal world were money wasn't an issue then its probably a good idea

04-06-2013, 07:47 PM
Was just thinking Maybury as i was reading through this. I've heard he's done well helping out with 19's. Not sure how far on he's on with his coaching badges.

He tweeted this today:greengrin

Teddymaybs Great way to finish the A licence! #largs http://t.co/KhuRVE2PQ0 about 6 hours

04-06-2013, 07:48 PM

He's just finished his "A" licence. Not sure if Hibs have any plans to offer him some sort of a coaching role

04-06-2013, 07:50 PM

Maybury has done very well helping to coach the under 20s with the guidance of james mcdonagh and a few others. The young lads really adapt to him and get on with him well.

He has been down in Largs the past week doing his A licence and says its been hard work but very enjoyable

GlenrothesHibee
04-06-2013, 07:57 PM

Yogi and Calderwood were centre backs and we couldnt defend to save ourselves

04-06-2013, 08:09 PM
He get paid to manage all the coaches he needs!

Thank you !!!
Been reading the replies and thought exactly the same thing !!
Why not leave PF to do the job he is paid to do ? :rolleyes:

04-06-2013, 08:44 PM
Yogi and Calderwood were centre backs and we couldnt defend to save ourselves

This and Mowbray have been one of the mysteries of the footballing world, pretty good defenders and not a decent defence amongst them. It just shows coaching means nowt just because you were good in that position.

At least there's a decent debate now about this, that's the only reason I posted it, to get the debate going.

04-06-2013, 08:46 PM
Thank you !!!
Been reading the replies and thought exactly the same thing !!
Why not leave PF to do the job he is paid to do ? :rolleyes:

I am leaving it to him, just asking the question why our defence can be so poor at times and not just under Fenlon, previous managers too.

04-06-2013, 09:45 PM
I am leaving it to him, just asking the question why our defence can be so poor at times and not just under Fenlon, previous managers too.

Our defence has had probably its worst season i can remember for injuries, McPake has never been fit for more than a few games at a time, Clancy has missed huge chunks of the season and even Hanlon missed a bit.

Maybe a bit better luck with injuries, would help more than a defensive coach?

05-06-2013, 07:51 AM

There are questions/ideas on this board every day about formations/playing positions/tactics etc etc which are discussed at great length, so don't see why your post has had smart comments like leave it to the manager/what does the manager get paid for!