View Full Version : Who is your favourite Junior team and Why?

03-06-2013, 09:32 PM
As it says on the tin? :greengrin Also who's your most local team and why don't you follow them if you don't already?

03-06-2013, 09:40 PM
A regular in a bar I used to work in was from Auchinleck and still regularly travels to their games so I keep an eye out for their results, although I never go out of my way to look out for them. The closest team to me is probably Edinburgh University although Spartans, Tynecastle, Edinburgh City and Leith Athletic are fairly close by too. Never really had the urge to go and watch them though.

TamHibs
03-06-2013, 09:42 PM
Whitburn juniors are my closest team. Fauldhouse aren't too bad either from what I hear. Sure they won their league this season. Just a shame they train in Hearts gear

03-06-2013, 09:46 PM
Whitburn juniors are my closest team. Fauldhouse aren't too bad either from what I hear. Sure they won their league this season. Just a shame they train in Hearts gear

Yeash they did mate they won it at a canter to be fair, best team in that league.

03-06-2013, 09:48 PM
Tranent, a few mates play for them and their ground is a wayward free-kick away from my gaff.

03-06-2013, 09:49 PM
Boca have had some amazing players over the years.

03-06-2013, 09:52 PM
Bathgate Rose and I did follow them regularly when I lived in West Lothian.

When I moved to Dundee, I went to see East Craigie quite regularly but out of convenience more than anything.

03-06-2013, 09:55 PM
Tranent, a few mates play for them and their ground is a wayward free-kick away from my gaff.

I bet we know each other :wink:, Ive had a number of years with Tranent

half.time.draw.
03-06-2013, 09:58 PM
Bonnyrigg Rose.
Local team who have one the Scottish Cup twice.
Once in my lifetime.

03-06-2013, 09:58 PM
Bonnyrigg Rose....where I stay / was brought up.

03-06-2013, 10:01 PM
I bet we know each other :wink:, Ive had a number of years with Tranent

Most likely in that case. And if you frequent the Brig then you'll definitely know me :greengrin

SmithyHibee
03-06-2013, 10:03 PM
Edinburgh United

03-06-2013, 10:05 PM
Boness united great supporters, good team, good rivalry and I loved the result yesterday :)

03-06-2013, 10:08 PM
Linlithgow Rose

A good Hibs supporting mate is from Linlithgow and always been a Rose fan so i've looked out for the Rose results for years now.

Purple & Green
03-06-2013, 10:09 PM
Bonnyrigg Rose - been going to games since the mid 70s, and keep a season ticket there.

I actually live a two minute walk from Nitten Star, and whilst I sometimes take a wander over there, I support Bonnyrigg as my home team. I took my 2 year daughter along to her first game on Saturday past.

Somebody was very critical of the juniors in a post recently. I can only guess that they haven't watched much junior football because the quality of some teams is fantastic. I'd put the best junior sides at the top end of the Scottish Second division, although I've heard they have no interest in being part of a Scottish pyramid unfortunately.

03-06-2013, 10:15 PM
mon the Bathgate Thistle....although admittedly gone downhill since ex-owner Willie Hill left(along with his dosh), hopefully push for promotion back up to the East superleague next season :)

TomoHFC
03-06-2013, 10:23 PM
Irvine Meadow cause I was born in Irvine and is my local club

hibeeleicester
03-06-2013, 10:34 PM
Musselburgh :agree:

03-06-2013, 10:38 PM
Tranent Juniors. Closest team to Macmerry where I grew up.

Scottish Cup ties were amazing at Forresters Park.

A lot of good teams beaten by Tranent in front of big crowds, a lot of visiting fans beaten by Tranent fans as well,:greengrin.

Heedersnvolleys
03-06-2013, 10:52 PM
Tranent Juniors. Closest team to Macmerry where I grew up.

Scottish Cup ties were amazing at Forresters Park.

A lot of good teams beaten by Tranent in front of big crowds, a lot of visiting fans beaten by Tranent fans as well,:greengrin.

Just a pity so many junior teams play in maroon ;-)

Ormiston Primrose man myself(they are seniors now i think?), remember going through to there final at rugby park. The bus convenor that day not as good as yourself parked by mistake amongst the Cumnock supporters also black and white, the place went mental great day, $h1te result. I think there must have been over 10k crowd that day.

03-06-2013, 10:59 PM
Just a pity so many junior teams play in maroon ;-)

Ormiston Primrose man myself(they are seniors now i think?), remember going through to there final at rugby park. The bus convenor that day not as good as yourself parked by mistake amongst the Cumnock supporters also black and white, the place went mental great day, $h1te result. I think there must have been over 10k crowd that day.

I was at that game as well, and the semi at Linlithgow which they won on pens.

Ormisto had a loopy following in those two games.

1875STEVE
03-06-2013, 11:15 PM
Newtongrange Star

Reason is, up until the start of the season just finished, my brother played for them for about 6-7 years.

I still look out for their results.

His contract with them just finished, even though he played half a season with WHitehill Welfare this season,, but he's hit 30 now, so he thinks he's getting too old, thinking of jacking it, but he does have a few offers for next season.

03-06-2013, 11:50 PM
Glenrothes - I was at Hampden in '75 won we won the Scottish v Rutherglen Glencairn.

I've been all over watching them when younger - Adrossan, Ellon, Cambuslang, Pollok, East Kilbride etc.,

04-06-2013, 04:04 AM
Thornton hibs, I just like the name

04-06-2013, 05:13 AM
I guess Edinburgh Utd are my closest, never considered going to see a game. But might have a wander up sometime next season as it has piqued my interest a little now.

Drem
04-06-2013, 05:15 AM
Dont know if it counts, but East of Scotland League team Eyemouth United.
Uncle played for them against Celtic in the Scottish Cup.
Thats about it really.

hibsfan7
04-06-2013, 05:18 AM
THORNTON HIBS

:flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:

micka_weer
04-06-2013, 05:35 AM
Talbot, closest to me, them and Cumnock

04-06-2013, 05:37 AM
Dunipace, although they don't actually play in Dunipace. Strange that.

04-06-2013, 06:30 AM
Bathgate Rose and I did follow them regularly when I lived in West Lothian.

When I moved to Dundee, I went to see East Craigie quite regularly but out of convenience more than anything.

that will be the same as thistle!!!

04-06-2013, 06:32 AM
Nearest to me now is camelon juniors, i played for stoneyburn up until 4 years ago

LeithBoozy
04-06-2013, 07:29 AM
Whatever team gave us Joe Baker. :wink:

04-06-2013, 07:32 AM
Are Nairn County classed as a junior team? If so then them.

Linlithgow Rose too cos played a lot of my golf and football through there and know a lot of folk from there.

04-06-2013, 07:37 AM
Largs Thistle. Grew up there, and have seen them lift their Scottish Cup. I haven't seen many of their games, but I follow their fortunes in the local paper.

MKHIBEE
04-06-2013, 08:00 AM
Peebles Rovers are my favourite, although nowadays not in the junior leagues they were when I watched them.

My local team is MK Dons, I am sure I dont need to explain why I dont follow them.

04-06-2013, 08:01 AM
Edinburgh United

Do you ever go watch them? I think this is a total sleeping giant and cant believe that they don't have the backing and high profile Edinburgh's main junior club should have (I say main although Spartans have a team but their priority is the senior team not the juniors).

04-06-2013, 08:04 AM
I guess Edinburgh Utd are my closest, never considered going to see a game. But might have a wander up sometime next season as it has piqued my interest a little now.

Whys it piqued your interest mate? Im similar though I now live in Slateford and its 2 mins from mine so will take in a fair bit of their games next season.

gogsy23
04-06-2013, 08:06 AM
Bonnyrigg rose. Cracking setup ang very good young team.

Also dalmellington in ayrshire. Played a few times for them a few years back.

London Hibee
04-06-2013, 08:17 AM
As a Fifer, Glenrothes Juniors and obviously Thornton Hibs

04-06-2013, 08:27 AM
Bonnyrigg Rose. My grandad lived there most of his life and was proud of how good they were. Also theres the Pat Stanton connection of course:flag:

stormchild
04-06-2013, 08:32 AM
Stay in Whitburn and wife coached the Whitburn soccer school but would never watch them. Bonnyrigg rose as I'm from there and can remember the team coach parading the junior cup through the high street, and while I didn't go to the game my brother did. Always look for their result on a Sunday and if, as planned I move back through there then will probably take the bairn if its the opposite weeks to hibs:greengrin. GGTTH

MKHIBEE
04-06-2013, 08:42 AM
I actually live a two minute walk from Nitten Star, and whilst I sometimes take a wander over there, I support Bonnyrigg as my home team. I took my 2 year daughter along to her first game on Saturday past.

I was signed by the Rose many years ago then farmed out to one of Nittens age restricted teams, cant remember which, possibly under 18s, it was a long time ago.

SmithyHibee
04-06-2013, 08:49 AM

you should get along, young team that has struggled a little this season due to inexperience but towards the end of the season have looked better.

hopefully see an improvement next season.

04-06-2013, 08:52 AM
Don't follow Junior football, my most local team is The Rangers FC, I think it's obvious why I don't follow them.

04-06-2013, 08:52 AM
you should get along, young team that has struggled a little this season due to inexperience but towards the end of the season have looked better.

hopefully see an improvement next season.

Are they not looking for a new manager? Will be interesting to see what happens there

04-06-2013, 08:53 AM
that will be the same as thistle!!!

Aye - I played for Bathgate Rose for years when I was younger, hence the oversight :greengrin

hibeenicol
04-06-2013, 08:53 AM
Glenrothes juniors, the parks a stones throw from my house so ill go and watch them when they play as long as it doesn't clash with the hibees.
Also watch out for Thornton hibs score and I have one of their official ties from the 60's :-)

04-06-2013, 08:54 AM
Don't follow Junior football, my most local team is The Rangers FC, I think it's obvious why I don't follow them.

Don't you mean why you don't 'follow follow' them :greengrin, I will get ma coat

04-06-2013, 08:54 AM
Nearest to me now is camelon juniors, i played for stoneyburn up until 4 years ago

My grandparents live in Stoneyburn and my Papa is a regular at a lot of their games. Pretty sure his brother played for them early in the 50s before signing for Motherwell and going on to proudly represent his country! :agree:

04-06-2013, 09:00 AM
I think its brilliant the following some of these junior club have and the real togetherness they bring to their community. I was at the cup final on Sunday and the crowd was fantastic and will be the biggest crown Almonvale will have seen all season. I think that's where some of the more bigger City clubs suffer with a following, a lot of the well followed clubs are from wee towns where they all pull together.

04-06-2013, 09:47 AM
Penicuik Athletic cause am fae Penicuik. :greengrin

My cousin also played for them when they reformed.

04-06-2013, 09:54 AM
Carnoustie Panmure.

BH Hibs
04-06-2013, 10:17 AM
Whatever team gave us Joe Baker. :wink:

That would be Armadale Thistle who were a bit of a feeder club for Hibs back in the day.

Pat 0-7
04-06-2013, 10:36 AM
Bathgate Thistle, I live a few minutes walk from their ground and pop in to the odd game.

Can't beat a Bathgate v Armadale derby for a taste of real Junior fitba' !!!!:take that

04-06-2013, 10:37 AM
I think its brilliant the following some of these junior club have and the real togetherness they bring to their community. I was at the cup final on Sunday and the crowd was fantastic and will be the biggest crown Almonvale will have seen all season. I think that's where some of the more bigger City clubs suffer with a following, a lot of the well followed clubs are from wee towns where they all pull together.
To be fair wasn't the Ramsdens Cup at Almondvale as well this season?

04-06-2013, 10:40 AM
To be fair wasn't the Ramsdens Cup at Almondvale as well this season?

:agree: and it was packed!

04-06-2013, 10:44 AM
Tranent Juniors - Ah'm a Belter.
Bonnyrigg Rose - used to go to a few of their games when I lived in the town and my brother's mate used to play for them.

04-06-2013, 11:36 AM
Whys it piqued your interest mate? Im similar though I now live in Slateford and its 2 mins from mine so will take in a fair bit of their games next season.

Ah, so thats why you can sometimes be spotted in The Mill! ;-)

04-06-2013, 11:37 AM
Ah, so thats why you can sometimes be spotted in The Mill! ;-)

It certainly is mate aye, have I been rumbled :wink:

04-06-2013, 11:39 AM
I have no idea if they're still in existence but I used to look out for Benburb scores.

They appeared in the Cup Final at Hampden around 1980 and I just liked the name, for some reason. :greengrin

04-06-2013, 11:41 AM
It certainly is mate aye, have I been rumbled :wink:

Nah, just remember having a quick blether wi you in there after a Derby IIRC.

LeithBoozy
04-06-2013, 11:42 AM
That would be Armadale Thistle who were a bit of a feeder club for Hibs back in the day.

Thanks for your help BH HIBS, What an Informative site this is. Armadale Thistle it is then forevermore. :greengrin

hibby67
04-06-2013, 11:46 AM
Dunbar united ....... Local team

04-06-2013, 11:50 AM
Nah, just remember having a quick blether wi you in there after a Derby IIRC.

Id have been phished so probably slavering ***** :wink:, do you drink in the mill mate?

04-06-2013, 11:53 AM
Don't really follow Junior football, but my uncle is the chairman of Maybole Juniors, so look out for their results

04-06-2013, 12:24 PM
I look out for Bathgate Thistle results. My old boss was involved with them a few years ago. One Friday lunch time he had to get the registration paperwork for a new signing into the SFA (or whatever body it was) in time for the player to play that weekend. He got me to sign the contract and the registration forms as a witness. Was quite exciting being involved in a player transfer :-) . Not bad money the player was going to be on IIRC.

04-06-2013, 01:12 PM
Leith Athletic

Raymond
04-06-2013, 01:17 PM
Musselburgh Athletic, im actually in the process of getting a Under 19's team sorted for them for Next Season, so anybody looking for a U19's side for next season PM me ;-) Home games will be played on a Sunday at Olivebank

04-06-2013, 01:18 PM
Leith Athletic

They aint junior :na na:

04-06-2013, 01:25 PM
Id have been phished so probably slavering ***** :wink:, do you drink in the mill mate?

Its usually my last port of call on the way home!

04-06-2013, 01:30 PM
Question for those who follow junior football , how do you think the top junior sides would get on against the top EOS teams like Spartans and Whitehill Welfare?

04-06-2013, 01:41 PM
Or Wolves? ;-)

04-06-2013, 01:48 PM
Question for those who follow junior football , how do you think the top junior sides would get on against the top EOS teams like Spartans and Whitehill Welfare?

Would wipe the floor with them, no doubt about it :agree:. As they would a number of division 2 and 3 teams in SFL IMO

04-06-2013, 01:49 PM
Its usually my last port of call on the way home!

Likewise mate, pop in for a quick one now and again but to much a Hearts pub for me

04-06-2013, 01:54 PM
Followed Bonnyrigg Rose for a couple of a seasons due to a mate playing for them, don't really bother with Junior now as he's given up the footie to follow his brother every week.

04-06-2013, 03:01 PM
Musselburgh Athletic

04-06-2013, 03:08 PM
They aint junior :na na:

Knew someone would catch me out, haha.

Purple & Green
04-06-2013, 03:13 PM

Well the top EOS side last season was Stirling University, and Bonnyrigg knocked them out of the Scottish Cup in the 2nd round at Stirling.

Scotland would benefit from an all-in non-league cup - the juniors/EoS and highland league teams. That should have been a condition of the junior sides getting in the big Scottish.

04-06-2013, 03:53 PM
junior football means kids football.

Dalkeith Boy
04-06-2013, 03:55 PM
It was Easthouses Lily when I was a wee fella. I was born about 100 yards from Easthouses park which is no longer there of course!. Now I keep an eye out for Newtongrange Star, Bonnyrigg Rose, Arniston Rangers and Dalketh Thistle scores

04-06-2013, 04:55 PM
My grandparents live in Stoneyburn and my Papa is a regular at a lot of their games. Pretty sure his brother played for them early in the 50s before signing for Motherwell and going on to proudly represent his country! :agree:

i come from bathgate but never played for any youth team in bathgate(apart from bathgate academy) played mostly in the edinburgh leagues until i started playing junior

04-06-2013, 05:01 PM
Fernieside! My local team and my little brother plays for their under 14's! :thumbsup:

wpj
04-06-2013, 05:21 PM
Boness united great supporters, good team, good rivalry and I loved the result yesterday :)

Bo'ness United for me too, grew up there

BenjiOscar
04-06-2013, 05:21 PM
Closest Junior team are Tranent but I follow EoS football and watch Preston Athletic in the Premier Division. Whitehill won the league this season although they would be a bit behind Linlithgow Rose in the Juniors. Hopefully the proposed Lowland League will improve standards though (including Preston hopefully)!

04-06-2013, 05:23 PM
The Rookie Cookie.

04-06-2013, 05:26 PM
The Rookie Cookie.

My favourite club in the Juniors, played there for a couple of years and the committee and people there are brilliant, always wish them well.

04-06-2013, 05:50 PM
Penicuik Athletic for me. :aok:
Said a sad farewell to 1 of there biggest fans a few weeks ago in Billy Black(x boxer)

cam75
04-06-2013, 05:57 PM
Nittin star
Stayed in mayfield for 2 years early teens,saw them win the JSC at the PBS around 89/90 I think,still look for there results,what ever happend to the player we had on trail a couple of seasons ago ?

04-06-2013, 06:50 PM
Haddy Athletic. Few mates playing for them, decent set-up and it's not a bad way to spend an afternoon if Hibs aren't playing.

The home crowd's ain't the best, more folk seem to follow the local Rugby side.

Capt Mainwaring
04-06-2013, 08:22 PM
Bonnyrigg Rose. Went to Lasswade HS and followed them since 77/78 when they won the Scottish Junior Cup against Stonehouse Violet at Hampden

Great set up, cheap pint in the Roses Club, and a good team that's challenged for most honours in the last few years.

C'mon the Rosy Posy

Virginia Hibs
04-06-2013, 08:25 PM
Kirrie Thistle!

04-06-2013, 08:40 PM
"Lie Forrit" Athletic
(Cousin/best man played for them)

04-06-2013, 08:44 PM
"Lie Forrit" Athletic
(Cousin/best man played for them)

Got me stumped guv.

Lie forrit is generally a phrase associated with Tranent, but they aint no athletic.

Preston however are an athletic.

Wot is it?

BH Hibs
04-06-2013, 09:04 PM
Thanks for your help BH HIBS, What an Informative site this is. Armadale Thistle it is then forevermore. :greengrin

No bother mate. Colin Stein George Farm Johnny McLeod Jackie Plenderleith and Duncan Lambie also came from the Dale amongst others.

04-06-2013, 09:07 PM
Got me stumped guv.

Lie forrit is generally a phrase associated with Tranent, but they aint no athletic.

Wot is it?

Oops! Juniors it should have been, SB - I definitely should know better. Craft moment :wink:.

andudare2
04-06-2013, 09:15 PM
soft spot for bonnyrigg rose as the son plays for them&haddington as bro is the manager there!!!!!!!!!! both good hibbies tho:flag:

Purple & Green
04-06-2013, 09:44 PM
It was Easthouses Lily when I was a wee fella. I was born about 100 yards from Easthouses park which is no longer there of course!. Now I keep an eye out for Newtongrange Star, Bonnyrigg Rose, Arniston Rangers and Dalketh Thistle scores

Easthouses Lily still exist of course, playing at Newbattle Complex in the East of Scotland league. I watched them for a while when my brother played for them.

hibee81
05-06-2013, 06:37 AM
Forres Thistle, mon the jags!!!!!!!!!!

05-06-2013, 06:52 AM
Musselburgh Athletic

why would you like a club who've a rangers following?

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
05-06-2013, 07:35 AM
As it says on the tin? :greengrin Also who's your most local team and why don't you follow them if you don't already?

Think junior fitba is a lot of rubbish

Bunch of hammer throwers, playing the kind fitba and getting coached by the kinda coaches that have kept our game in the dark ages.

05-06-2013, 09:16 AM
Think junior fitba is a lot of rubbish

Bunch of hammer throwers, playing the kind fitba and getting coached by the kinda coaches that have kept our game in the dark ages.

How many junior games have you seen the last couple of years? Its certainly better than EOS and as I have said before the top teams would compete comfortably with SFL 2 & 3 IMO. Granted the lower league Junior teams still have a long way to go, but having played it for years and now in the management side of things I can definitely see an improvement. Its becoming more of a younger mans game now with many ex players making the transition to management, Dalkeith were a good example of this getting promoted last year and Mark Bradley at Linlithgow is another example.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
05-06-2013, 09:35 AM
How many junior games have you seen the last couple of years? Its certainly better than EOS and as I have said before the top teams would compete comfortably with SFL 2 & 3 IMO. Granted the lower league Junior teams still have a long way to go, but having played it for years and now in the management side of things I can definitely see an improvement. Its becoming more of a younger mans game now with many ex players making the transition to management, Dalkeith were a good example of this getting promoted last year and Mark Bradley at Linlithgow is another example.

I’ve not seen loads of junior fitba, mainly because what I have seen is gash and so I haven’t wanted to watch anymore.

Not because there aren’t some good players, because there are lots, but because as so often happens, the good players collectively fall into ‘Scottish’ mode and start playing harum-scarum lump-it-up-the-park percentage fitba – encouraged by their managers and less good team mates.

I hear this argument all the time – junior teams would compete with so and so, would compete with this league and that. Better than East of Scotland.

Well maybe these junior clubs should put their money where their mouth is actually start competing, and get joining the SFA and then eventually the SFL.

Why don’t they?

And im pretty sure that last time Lithgae were dominant and won everything a few years ago, they got papped by Spartans in a cup next time they played (the Scottish maybe..?) 4-0.

05-06-2013, 09:55 AM
I’ve not seen loads of junior fitba, mainly because what I have seen is gash and so I haven’t wanted to watch anymore.

Not because there aren’t some good players, because there are lots, but because as so often happens, the good players collectively fall into ‘Scottish’ mode and start playing harum-scarum lump-it-up-the-park percentage fitba – encouraged by their managers and less good team mates.

I hear this argument all the time – junior teams would compete with so and so, would compete with this league and that. Better than East of Scotland.

Well maybe these junior clubs should put their money where their mouth is actually start competing, and get joining the SFA and then eventually the SFL.

Why don’t they?

And im pretty sure that last time Lithgae were dominant and won everything a few years ago, they got papped by Spartans in a cup next time they played (the Scottish maybe..?) 4-0.

So you've seen a bit, made up your mind it was gash and no watched anymore yet go about spouting how gash it is. What games did you go watch, which teams? I don't know why they don't, I do suspect that some prefer to be a big fish in a small pond rather than taking that leap of faith, other well previously Junior clubs couldn't join the SFL so couldn't progress it even if they wanted to. Is this that game you believe Spartans papped them?

Season
Date
Home
Score
Away
Competition

2007/2008
Sat 27 Oct
Linlithgow
4 - 1
Spartans
Scottish F.A. Cup

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
05-06-2013, 11:29 AM
So you've seen a bit, made up your mind it was gash and no watched anymore yet go about spouting how gash it is. What games did you go watch, which teams? I don't know why they don't, I do suspect that some prefer to be a big fish in a small pond rather than taking that leap of faith, other well previously Junior clubs couldn't join the SFL so couldn't progress it even if they wanted to. Is this that game you believe Spartans papped them?

Season
Date
Home
Score
Away
Competition

2007/2008
Sat 27 Oct
Linlithgow
4 - 1
Spartans
Scottish F.A. Cup

Aye, that’s exactly what happened – what do you do likes when you see something that’s rubbish, keep watching it?

Am judging what ive seen – which is rubbish. Am hardly gonna sit and list what games ive seen to you – but ive seen enough. You seem to be awfy keen to make out your some sort of juniors expert, what games have you seen likes?

How many games have you sat and watched Barcelona or Bayern in? Probably lucky if its more than a handful over the last few years, yet I bet you still think they are good teams? Its possible to form an opinion on those teams without watching every game they play – just as its possible to form an opinion on junior fitba without watching every junior game.

skoop
05-06-2013, 11:32 AM
Linlithgow Rose. coz my auld man played for them many many moons ago.

Purple & Green
05-06-2013, 11:39 AM

Why don’t they?

A good question on the face of it, but this goes to the core of whole notion of a pyramid set up and the junior clubs might have a better handle on it than some other teams.

Say for example Auchinleck - what would they gain from joining the SFL? Ayrshire already struggles to support Killie and Ayr, so there's no magic hundreds to appear. Also, they would go from playing other west super league teams to playing Elgin and Peterhead on a Wednesday night - and there's no realistic progression to the second tier as they simply can't compete in a league with other full time teams.

They would benefit from SFL/SFA kickbacks in a league set up, but would they benefit overall? I think you can clearly see at best it's contentious.

Does Scotland need more than 2 all in leagues? Very debatable, but it doesn't seem to be part of the debate because 4 is the status quo. I think until that debate opens up, it's unlikely that the juniors will get involved.

As for your comments about the standards... I've watched junior football from the 'war years' in the 70s up to now. I think the standard is cracking these days especially in the east super league, and having seen a number of teams from the west super league I have to say it's no longer the killing fields it was through there either.

05-06-2013, 11:49 AM
Aye, that’s exactly what happened – what do you do likes when you see something that’s rubbish, keep watching it?

Am judging what ive seen – which is rubbish. Am hardly gonna sit and list what games ive seen to you – but ive seen enough. You seem to be awfy keen to make out your some sort of juniors expert, what games have you seen likes?

How many games have you sat and watched Barcelona or Bayern in? Probably lucky if its more than a handful over the last few years, yet I bet you still think they are good teams? Its possible to form an opinion on those teams without watching every game they play – just as its possible to form an opinion on junior fitba without watching every junior game.

Because I could see the relevance if you went to watch the 2 worst teams in the east south division v's watching super league teams as quite a difference. Yet your still not willing to say which teams at what level you have seen?

Grow up, where do I proclaim to be some sort of junior expert, is that because I have a different view from you and I have asked you to explain? Ive no seen many games to be fair, only player Junior for about 10 years but I don't really know much about the standard, v's EOS teams ive also played numerous times. Anyway what was that game Spartans pumped Lithgae 4-0, I couldn't find it, or did you just make this up?

05-06-2013, 11:51 AM
A good question on the face of it, but this goes to the core of whole notion of a pyramid set up and the junior clubs might have a better handle on it than some other teams.

Say for example Auchinleck - what would they gain from joining the SFL? Ayrshire already struggles to support Killie and Ayr, so there's no magic hundreds to appear. Also, they would go from playing other west super league teams to playing Elgin and Peterhead on a Wednesday night - and there's no realistic progression to the second tier as they simply can't compete in a league with other full time teams.

They would benefit from SFL/SFA kickbacks in a league set up, but would they benefit overall? I think you can clearly see at best it's contentious.

Does Scotland need more than 2 all in leagues? Very debatable, but it doesn't seem to be part of the debate because 4 is the status quo. I think until that debate opens up, it's unlikely that the juniors will get involved.

As for your comments about the standards... I've watched junior football from the 'war years' in the 70s up to now. I think the standard is cracking these days especially in the east super league, and having seen a number of teams from the west super league I have to say it's no longer the killing fields it was through there either.

Aye but hes seen a couple of games though to say its gash :blah:

neilmartinrocks
05-06-2013, 12:02 PM
Scone Thistle for some strange reason. Used to be Jeanfield Swifts but they moved.

hungryhibs
05-06-2013, 12:20 PM
whitehill welfare as a lot of my Friends play for them cracking team they have as well :aok: oh and there champs :not worth

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
05-06-2013, 01:08 PM
Aye but hes seen a couple of games though to say its gash :blah:

Easy pal - i just posted my opinion of junior fitba on a thread about junior fitba. Youre the one who came steaming in questioning the validity of my opinion and jumping on me for daring to criticise your beloved junior fitba.

But then as you have revealed, you play in junior fitba. And of course, you must have taken some cash out if it, so of course you are not biased or anything

Your attitude is typical though, vested interests and biased points of view questioning my view because im an outsider. You could actually say its outsiders views that matter, because your view is clearly biased - afterall, your hardly going to slag off the league that you play in. and far be it tog me to suggest you have ever taken money under the table, not declared to HMRC or naything like that - im sure such things dont really happen, just something that biased outsiders make up eh.

Hammer throwers of the world sticking together, rallying behind some keyboard hardman. Brilliant.

05-06-2013, 01:52 PM
Easy pal - i just posted my opinion of junior fitba on a thread about junior fitba. Youre the one who came steaming in questioning the validity of my opinion and jumping on me for daring to criticise your beloved junior fitba.

But then as you have revealed, you play in junior fitba. And of course, you must have taken some cash out if it, so of course you are not biased or anything

Your attitude is typical though, vested interests and biased points of view questioning my view because im an outsider. You could actually say its outsiders views that matter, because your view is clearly biased - afterall, your hardly going to slag off the league that you play in. and far be it tog me to suggest you have ever taken money under the table, not declared to HMRC or naything like that - im sure such things dont really happen, just something that biased outsiders make up eh.

Hammer throwers of the world sticking together, rallying behind some keyboard hardman. Brilliant.

I asked you some valid questions to understand how you have come to your view, you didn't answer. Like you've not answered any the points I made, which level of junior you watched, Spartans game as another example, I don't recall this maybe it did happen I don't know?

What relevance has me taking cash out of playing junior football got to do with anything at all? What I have earned is my business and certainly does not cloud my view of the standard, what a crazy thing to say. :confused:

The comments I have highlighted in bold are just plain idiotic, you seem to know quite a lot about my finances and my payment of tax etc. Ive yet to see you come up with anything constructive to justify your view, you've trotted out a lot of **** about under the table payments and non payment of tax which has no relevance to the point around standard? I will avoid typing what I really want to say to you, no not a computer hardman at all, more than happy to have sensible debates about topics, something you may not be able to comprehend. Just like I enjoy having the same conversations in person.

05-06-2013, 02:13 PM
Got me stumped guv.

Wot is it?

Whats the meaning with Lie forrit for Tranent? Also do you know why they play in maroon.

Raymond
05-06-2013, 02:14 PM

Bull****

05-06-2013, 02:24 PM

If you don't mind me asking it sounds like a lot of different organisations like pro set up(spl,sfl,sfa) could it not be streamlined?

I dont know much about the lower leagues, what is the difference between juniors and seniors.. money?

I think Scotland would benefit from three divisions and two amateur divisions below with a good regional set up underneath.

Coaches could be provided from full time set up to assist amateur.

A solid infrastructure under one organisation.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
05-06-2013, 03:40 PM
I asked you some valid questions to understand how you have come to your view, you didn't answer. Like you've not answered any the points I made, which level of junior you watched, Spartans game as another example, I don't recall this maybe it did happen I don't know?

What relevance has me taking cash out of playing junior football got to do with anything at all? What I have earned is my business and certainly does not cloud my view of the standard, what a crazy thing to say. :confused:

The comments I have highlighted in bold are just plain idiotic, you seem to know quite a lot about my finances and my payment of tax etc. Ive yet to see you come up with anything constructive to justify your view, you've trotted out a lot of **** about under the table payments and non payment of tax which has no relevance to the point around standard? I will avoid typing what I really want to say to you, no not a computer hardman at all, more than happy to have sensible debates about topics, something you may not be able to comprehend. Just like I enjoy having the same conversations in person.

Fair enough, maybe that was a bit of an overreaction.

And I know nothing about your finances, but junior fitba is notoriously corrupt, as im sure you know.
The relevance is that your hardly going to slate the institution (junior fitba) that has provided you with (I admit, probably a fairly small) income – as well as provided you with your level of playing fitba.

Therefore, being involved in juniors, you are not really an objective observer as any slight on junior fitba is seen, or can be viewed, as a slight on your own ability. Hence why, in my experience, people who are closely involved in juniors get extremely defensive when an ‘outsider’ criticises the standard – and normally jump straight to the ‘how involved are you, how many games have you seen’ argument (as you did straight away above to perfectly illustrate my point).

That is why the standard of juniors is, IMO, always viewed through tinted specs by those involved in it, as they are biased, and have also been brought up to value characteristics that we should be trying tog eradicate from Scottish fitba, not praise and reward.

OK, ill bite. I used to follow Camelon in my younger days, round about the time they won the Scottish (mid to late 90s if memory serves) so they were a handy side at that level. More recently, I have seen a few teams – Harthill, Lithgae Rose, Newtongrange Star and Bonnyrigg Rose, Irvine Meadow (against Hibs) and I watched the final on Sunday. Sorry, I don’t have the dates, kick-off times and attendances of the matches I attended.

So, my point is, that the standard is rubbish. And if you’ve played it for ten years, well then I don’t need to say anymore as that tells me what sort of player you must be.

05-06-2013, 03:54 PM
"And I know nothing about your finances, but junior fitba is notoriously corrupt, as im sure you know.
The relevance is that your hardly going to slate the institution (junior fitba) that has provided you with (I admit, probably a fairly small) income – as well as provided you with your level of playing fitba. "

Every standard of football in every league on the world is corrupt. They all just have a different way of doing it.

05-06-2013, 03:56 PM
Musselburgh Athletic. I am a former president and secretary.

05-06-2013, 03:57 PM
Fair enough, maybe that was a bit of an overreaction.

And I know nothing about your finances, but junior fitba is notoriously corrupt, as im sure you know.
The relevance is that your hardly going to slate the institution (junior fitba) that has provided you with (I admit, probably a fairly small) income – as well as provided you with your level of playing fitba.

Therefore, being involved in juniors, you are not really an objective observer as any slight on junior fitba is seen, or can be viewed, as a slight on your own ability. Hence why, in my experience, people who are closely involved in juniors get extremely defensive when an ‘outsider’ criticises the standard – and normally jump straight to the ‘how involved are you, how many games have you seen’ argument (as you did straight away above to perfectly illustrate my point).

That is why the standard of juniors is, IMO, always viewed through tinted specs by those involved in it, as they are biased, and have also been brought up to value characteristics that we should be trying tog eradicate from Scottish fitba, not praise and reward.

OK, ill bite. I used to follow Camelon in my younger days, round about the time they won the Scottish (mid to late 90s if memory serves) so they were a handy side at that level. More recently, I have seen a few teams – Harthill, Lithgae Rose, Newtongrange Star and Bonnyrigg Rose, Irvine Meadow (against Hibs) and I watched the final on Sunday. Sorry, I don’t have the dates, kick-off times and attendances of the matches I attended.

So, my point is, that the standard is rubbish. And if you’ve played it for ten years, well then I don’t need to say anymore as that tells me what sort of player you must be.

Enlighten me?

sadtom
05-06-2013, 05:16 PM
Bo'ness United. Due to my dad and relatives.

05-06-2013, 05:37 PM
[/B]
Enlighten me?

I think he means you're no very good. :greengrin

iainm
05-06-2013, 06:48 PM
Whats the meaning with Lie forrit for Tranent? Also do you know why they play in maroon.

Think the 'lie forrit' part comes from the miners and being down the pits, as in 'lie forward'

Why they play in maroon, I don't know......... why would any team want to?

Which brings me to my Junior side - who unfortunately also play in maroon - Arniston Rangers. I was born and bred in Gorebridge and followed them a lot during the early to mid seventies.

They are the oldest junior club in Scotland !!

05-06-2013, 06:55 PM

As mentioned earlier lie forrit means lie forward.

They play in maroon as their original name was Tranent Hearts (I'm now throwing up violently).

05-06-2013, 06:58 PM
Suppose it would be Musselburgh, never been along though, that'll probably change next year though with the 3 wee ones starting to take an interest in the game now. No way can I afford me and them at ER more than a handfull of times.

What's this about a Rangers following? Must admit Ive only ever seen Hibs and Hearts gear on folk in Musselburgh in recent times? Doesn't feel like any sort of Rantic presence at all.

05-06-2013, 07:05 PM
Nonsense from you, again.

Does your junior team have any Celtic leanings? You'd like that.

05-06-2013, 09:34 PM
I think he means you're no very good. :greengrin

I think he might have appoint, for once :wink:

BenjiOscar
05-06-2013, 09:58 PM
If you don't mind me asking it sounds like a lot of different organisations like pro set up(spl,sfl,sfa) could it not be streamlined?

I dont know much about the lower leagues, what is the difference between juniors and seniors.. money?

I think Scotland would benefit from three divisions and two amateur divisions below with a good regional set up underneath.

Coaches could be provided from full time set up to assist amateur.

A solid infrastructure under one organisation.

Juniors and Seniors are terms that were established in the late 19th century. 'Senior' teams were those that were members of the SFA. 'Junior' teams were those that played in competitions that weren't governed by the SFA. Nowadays the Scottish Junior FA is affiliated to the SFA but the competitions remain separate although four Junior teams can enter the Scottish Cup.

At the moment as regards non-league football in Scotland there are three Senior leagues. The Highland League, South of Scotland League and East of Scotland League (which has two divisions - my team, Preston Athletic, finished 7th of 12).

The Junior structure is not dissimilar although there are around 160 teams spread across the West, East and North Regions.

The plans to create a pyramid system for non-league football include the creation of a Lowland League whereby teams from the South of Scotland and East of Scotland Senior leagues along with any interested Junior teams would have the opportunity to get promotion to Division three either directly or potentially following a play off with the Highland League winners.

It's an exiting time for non-league football fans at the moment and hopefully the league reconstruction plans will get the thumbs up when the SFL clubs vote next week.

Miguel
05-06-2013, 10:44 PM
Has to be Thornton Hibs. Thornton is a small village on the edge of Glenrothes. Hibs are marking their centenary this year, having been founded as a juvenile side. Suppose they are the last survivor of the many clubs that took our name, from Dundee Hibernian, to Duntocher Hibs and there was Denny Hibs as well. They call their ground, which is in a public park, the 'San Siro. Don't know how the Hibs connection came about originally, but a few of the officials were Hibees when I used to have dealings with them. They reached the semi of the Junior Cup about ten year ago - cant remember who against - and suffered a Big Hibs style tale of woe, with injured players and dodgy ref decisions. Play in the Fife League at the moment, which is one of the ones below the Super League. Good community club, who do a lot of coaching kids and used to run a children's gala. Play in green. Enough said. Oddly enough one of the 'big teams' in Fife is Kelty Hearts...

06-06-2013, 05:57 AM
As an aisde, who was the last Hibs 1st team player to be signed directly from the Juniors? I remember Graeme Harvey who came from Ormiston Primrose in the early 80s (and had a not too bad couple of seasons IIRC) but I can't think of anyone since then.

06-06-2013, 06:52 AM
Ormiston Primrose sadly no longer .... great wee park and always had very good teams over years ... Amalgamated with EOS side Pencaitland in 1999 due to lack of funds yet the way the junior game has went hindsight it was a crazy decision imo....

Had some great times watching the Primrose esp the side Captained by Tam Harvey that reached the final at rugby park in 89

many players made it senior two standouts Ian Mcparland ,Harv,.....also Mark Chicken Currie excellent player ,Jackie O Donnell, lots more lol
Tranent never beat us lol :not worth

08-06-2013, 08:02 PM

Bull****

We were discussing this in the boozer today, and couldn't understand why you should taint Mussy with a Hun following. We felt that the links to Hearts due to the training gear was their, but the majority of fans going through the turnstiles are Hibs, with Hearts fans following up.

Great Season ticket deals to be had too. DRINK INCLUDED.

Yes Raymond it is total Bull:aok:

08-06-2013, 08:28 PM

Why don’t they?

pretty much sums it up.

08-06-2013, 08:34 PM
We were discussing this in the boozer today, and couldn't understand why you should taint Mussy with a Hun following. We felt that the links to Hearts due to the training gear was their, but the majority of fans going through the turnstiles are Hibs, with Hearts fans following up.

Great Season ticket deals to be had too. DRINK INCLUDED.

Yes Raymond it is total Bull:aok:

ok. the ****bos training gear?. NUFF SAID !
the fact is, and it IS a fact, there are definite Leanings to hearts. That's enough, surely, to walk away?
The H Toun.....take a walk along high st any given day, you'll never see hibernian shirts, but plenty BLUE glesgie ones. Oh yes. A horrid little hun undercurrent, always been there, never went away!

James.
08-06-2013, 08:41 PM
Irvine Meadow cause I was born in Irvine and is my local club

Not even the best junior team in the town imo :wink:

Gotta be the Westenders: Irvine Victoria FC. Having a decent season in the Ayrshire league.

(((Fergus)))
08-06-2013, 08:43 PM
Italy and Norway U21s

08-06-2013, 09:01 PM
ok. the ****bos training gear?. NUFF SAID !
the fact is, and it IS a fact, there are definite Leanings to hearts. That's enough, surely, to walk away?
The H Toun.....take a walk along high st any given day, you'll never see hibernian shirts, but plenty BLUE glesgie ones. Oh yes. A horrid little hun undercurrent, always been there, never went away!

I see the odd hun strip in Mussy, but mostly Hibs or Hearts. I was at the Mussy Childrens gala today and not one Rangers strip to be seen. Lots of Hibs and some Hearts. The picture has changed here over the years, it's definately not a hun toon.

09-06-2013, 07:23 AM
whitehill welfare as a lot of my Friends play for them cracking team they have as well :aok: oh and there champs :not worth

I hate to be a pedant (not really) but Whitehill Welfare aren't a junior side.