View Full Version : East of Scotland Shield - "Scotland's best crop of youngsters ever" 0 v 3 Hibs

sbell1875
31-05-2013, 04:42 PM
Anyone else heading along to this tonight?

I'm currently recreating the same walk from a few weeks ago when we beat them in the Derby! Bliss!

DarrenSQH
31-05-2013, 05:28 PM
1-0 hibs. Great finish.

Hard to tell who scored due to tynecastles pillars.

31-05-2013, 05:30 PM
1-0 hibs. Great finish. Scott Martin I think

#9 Lewis Allan scored :thumbsup:

DarrenSQH
31-05-2013, 05:44 PM
#9 Lewis Allan scored :thumbsup:

Difficult to see from this shed.

Young lads doing well though

Tom Hart RIP
31-05-2013, 05:46 PM
Aaron Dunsmore and Neil Martyniuk playing well in Hibs defence. Sean Brennan looks a decent keeper. Lewis Allan took his goal well.
Decent crowd.

sbell1875
31-05-2013, 05:50 PM
I had no idea the shed at Tynecastle was such a mess. I am in genuine fear for my life in this asbestos ridden dump.

31-05-2013, 05:56 PM
I had no idea the shed at Tynecastle was such a mess. I am in genuine fear for my life in this asbestos ridden dump.yet you're still there? http://www.smileyvault.com/albums/userpics/10404/drama.gif

31-05-2013, 05:58 PM
I had no idea the shed at Tynecastle was such a mess. I am in genuine fear for my life in this asbestos ridden dump.

Staying roond the corner, I always think "its happened" when I hear a fire engine on Gorgie Road.Corporate manslaughter charges would follow.

GlenrothesHibee
31-05-2013, 06:06 PM
Still 1-0 lads?

sbell1875
31-05-2013, 06:15 PM
2-0 now. I was really enjoying my day here until some wee idiot tried to ignite a smoke bomb and failed miserably.

The lad of maybe about 14 it 15 looked well smug with himself as the police took him away. Sad really.

31-05-2013, 06:16 PM
5 - 1, eh... Forever In Their Shadow, etc.

DarrenSQH
31-05-2013, 06:17 PM

Free kick from the same position as Leigh. Put it in far corner.

Devilstorment
31-05-2013, 06:19 PM
2-0 now. I was really enjoying my day here until some wee idiot tried to ignite a smoke bomb and failed miserably.

The lad of maybe about 14 it 15 looked well smug with himself as the police took him away. Sad really.

A yam or a good guy?

tell all the Hearts you know, It's gonna be 9 in a row :greengrin

Handling scoring for scotland as well :thumbsup:

Ancient, isn't the word for it.

31-05-2013, 06:20 PM
A yam or a good guy?

One of our own. High spirits. No harm done to this dump. Sadly

sbell1875
31-05-2013, 06:25 PM
3-0. Magnificent header.

31-05-2013, 06:26 PM
3 nil. Hibs making it look easy

31-05-2013, 06:28 PM
Own them.

31-05-2013, 06:29 PM
How is it only 3?

31-05-2013, 06:32 PM
How is it only 3?

Best youngsters in Scotland so they know how to keep a score down.

31-05-2013, 06:33 PM
Hearts do have the best young players in the country though.

We have dominated them all through the ages this year.

31-05-2013, 06:34 PM
Quite impressive, bearing in mind Hertz have the best young players in Scotland.

31-05-2013, 06:34 PM
This. Thread. Title.:greengrin

...WentToMowAnSPL
31-05-2013, 06:37 PM
Hearts do have the best young players in the country though.

We have dominated them all through the ages this year.

What about genders ? Didn't the girls or ladies win 7-0????

31-05-2013, 06:38 PM
Best crop of youngsters in Scotland conserve their energy for next season in meaningless tie against enthusiastic minor side. #allisbarry

31-05-2013, 06:39 PM
An unexpected win against the best youngsters in Scotland.

31-05-2013, 06:41 PM
Owned :agree:

Well done the Hibees in overcoming the world's best.

31-05-2013, 06:42 PM
Satisfação

31-05-2013, 06:43 PM
An unexpected win against the best youngsters in Scotland.

:agree: just over a year since our humiliation at Hampden, when we were beaten 5-1 by our oldest rivals. A game that finished our club forever. Surprised we had the nerve to show up.

GlenrothesHibee
31-05-2013, 06:49 PM
Hope Mr Fenlon was there

31-05-2013, 06:57 PM
Well done lads, the future's bright, the future's green and white!

31-05-2013, 07:02 PM
Cannae wait to see these 'Wunderkind' overcome a -15pt deficit at the beginning of the season, and go on to finish 2nd in the SPL. Ah'm fair wetting myself at the prospect :greengrin

KdyHby
31-05-2013, 07:05 PM
http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/128123-east-of-scotland-shield/

31-05-2013, 07:08 PM
Nice to see the young guns beating scotlands best youngsters 3 - 0 on there own patch.

Heard they were singing Allez Allez Allez Au after receiving the trophy. :not worth

31-05-2013, 07:10 PM
Very good performance thought the 2 centre halfs strolled through the game its always nice to win there at any level we play them

kdhibees1
31-05-2013, 07:11 PM
Lol, it's alright though cos their fans were singing louder! Plums of the highest order!

ano hibby
31-05-2013, 07:13 PM
What sort of a crowd was there?

31-05-2013, 07:18 PM
What sort of a crowd was there?

A good sprinkling of human beings in Hibs colours and some twelve fingered zombie looking cake bakers in maroon

31-05-2013, 07:21 PM
Lol, it's alright though cos their fans were singing louder! Plums of the highest order!

Think that's more of them having a dig at us mate after the final as we were getting praised and they didn't like that.

31-05-2013, 07:29 PM

What a bunch of petty, hurting cocks.

31-05-2013, 07:32 PM
Anyone know how Jamie Beaton played ?
This laddie is from the Aberdeen area and I had a very small part in bringing him to ER
Was impressed with what I saw earlier in the season but unfortunately I have not had a chance to see how he is progressing

31-05-2013, 07:32 PM
https://twitter.com/billybryson07/status/340547624178442241/photo/1

Manxhibs
31-05-2013, 07:33 PM
This laddie is from the Aberdeen area and I had a very small part in bringing him to ER
Was impressed with what I saw earlier in the season but unfortunately I have not had a chance to see how he is progressing

Apparently set up the third goal

Capt Mainwaring
31-05-2013, 07:37 PM
With Danny Handling scoring 2 for the Scotland U20s tonight Ian 3-1 win against Cruzerio - it's good news all round for our young stars of the future

A really positive note to end the season on :thumbsup:

kdhibees1
31-05-2013, 07:38 PM
Think that's more of them having a dig at us mate after the final as we were getting praised and they didn't like that.:taxi

31-05-2013, 07:52 PM
What a bunch of petty, hurting cocks.

Cannae stand that lot, but, for a wee change on that thread as far as I can see any of their references to last week are normal banter surely.

Still a bunch of fuds though!

31-05-2013, 07:53 PM

Great stuff once again from the maroon goons. We are really starting to get on their tits . Excellent way to end the season.

31-05-2013, 07:54 PM
Ancient, isn't the word for it.

Since 1902, since 1902
This *****heap has stood here
since 1902!...

Not convinced with their claims of selling out every game in their hour of need however judging by the layers of dust and stoor on the seats doon our end.

Great performance by the boys though, didn't see the first but the 2nd and 3rd were quality. The big no9 reminded me a bit of Alan Gordon, same kind of running style.

31-05-2013, 07:57 PM
https://twitter.com/billybryson07/status/340547624178442241/photo/1

Looks like there has been some serious subsidence in that death trap of a main stand!

31-05-2013, 07:59 PM
Great win but thought the overall quality of football from both sides was very poor. Too many long balls and very little football played. Thought Jordan Sinclair in CM was excellent as was the hibs GK.

Big Ed
31-05-2013, 08:02 PM
Staying roond the corner, I always think "its happened" when I hear a fire engine on Gorgie Road.Corporate manslaughter charges would follow.

Genius. :not worth

31-05-2013, 08:03 PM
Looks like there has been some serious subsidence in that death trap of a main stand!

For what its worth was with a retired Fire Officer friend to day and he casually mentioned ( !!) " .....they were lucky to get a fire Certificate for the old stand last year "

31-05-2013, 08:05 PM
Apparently set up the third goal

Thank you for that :thumbsup:
Just hope he goes on to make it !!

31-05-2013, 08:07 PM
Apparently the Hibs players were singing "From the Capital" as they walked round :thumbsup:

steviehibsleith
31-05-2013, 08:07 PM
Jamie beaton is not from Aberdeen think you have the wrong young man. Played at Newcraighall where his Dad Jason was a coach and joined Hibs at first year academy under 11s with Gordon Melliuo

31-05-2013, 08:09 PM
From Jambo Kickback, music to my ears "If our future lies in bringing through youth players then its not looking too rosy. Thought Liam Smith looked a decent prospect but that was about it. What disappointed me most though was that our response to going 2 down was to send a centre half up front and launch long balls at him (to no effect). Have we really got no decent strikers on the books at any level? Nor any decent coaches?"

rainman
31-05-2013, 08:10 PM
MOTM Aaron Dunsmore but both centre halves and the right back strolled it.

Thought the ref was outstanding! Very promising prospect!

31-05-2013, 08:10 PM
:taxi

My Head is hung in shame for falling for that!!!! ;)

31-05-2013, 08:22 PM
But... But... They told me that they had the best youngsters in Scotland :D GGTTH

31-05-2013, 08:22 PM
well done the young yins :flag: the futures bright, it's green and white

31-05-2013, 08:26 PM
Great to see us beat them at any level.

Good job Wee Hibs :aok:

31-05-2013, 09:17 PM
Just shows the difference when you can train all day, rather than having to give way to the netball team because they've got the next booking.

31-05-2013, 09:20 PM
Was their a lad called Kyle Hogg playing?

31-05-2013, 09:25 PM
Was their a lad called Kyle Hogg playing?http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130531/east-of-scotland-shield-triumph_2262950_3197111

Hibernian under-17s: Sean Brennan, Euan Bauld, David Porcher, Jordan Sinclair, Neil Martyniuk (captain), Aaron Dunsmore, Jamie Beaton, Calum Crane, Lewis Allan, Scott Martin, Max Todd
Subs: Matthew Ashelby, Stanley Chitamere, Jonny Court, Dominic Docherty, Gregor Watson

Aaron
31-05-2013, 09:31 PM
Third oldest football tournament / trophy in the world. Well done wee Hibs :flag:

31-05-2013, 09:32 PM
Is Max Todd related to Sam Todd (on Hibs books a couple of years ago), Brother, cousin?

Billy
31-05-2013, 09:41 PM
Post match interview with the U17 coach:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MwMHdIIo9WM

Billy
31-05-2013, 09:56 PM
Captain Neil Martyniuk and Callum Crane give their thoughts on the match. Some good comments from the U17 captain!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MsiRUJX8xIY

31-05-2013, 10:09 PM
Jamie beaton is not from Aberdeen think you have the wrong young man. Played at Newcraighall where his Dad Jason was a coach and joined Hibs at first year academy under 11s with Gordon Melliuo

Very good player. His dad is a coach for Hearts. Think he trains the younger age groups.

GlenrothesHibee
31-05-2013, 10:14 PM
Pleasing

Humo
01-06-2013, 12:09 AM
Hibs youths have won the East of Edinburgh Shield for 9 years in a row. Shame we don't have the best youths :rolleyes:

West hamBERNIAN
01-06-2013, 12:23 AM
Just makes it sound all the more frustrating that we haven't brought more successful players through, to be consistently good at youth level and have no youth players of note since .... Say Stevenson and I realise some are not a fan, was POTY last year. We should do better.

Humo
01-06-2013, 12:32 AM
IMO the main problem was the continuous chopping and changing of managers. We've had Fenlon for two seasons now and we are just starting to see a breakthrough from the youth system (a tremendous one at that) and it shows how much time managers need to be given.

TheReg!
01-06-2013, 04:40 AM

Free kick from the same position as Leigh. Put it in far corner.

As they say a picture paints a thousand words!

Fellas, lets enjoy the next few years!

They will reap what they sowed, and we will be under that thin of thin ice when it cracks!

Good day to be a Hibs fan, just walking the earth as jolly green giants!:flag::flag:

01-06-2013, 06:07 AM
All good and well having the best crop, but crops must be fed and watered, and that's where East European funny money and financial doping comes in. How folks expect Hearts to compete on a level playing field is frankly insulting. If double war-winners aren't entitled to some special privileges then who the hell is?

Baker9
01-06-2013, 06:45 AM
What about genders ? Didn't the girls or ladies win 7-0????

How about a statto working out total games played against them this last season / year, at all age groups / genders :wink:. Total goals for and against, points etc. If it looks great use it, if it doesn't, keep it as our dirty secret.

01-06-2013, 08:55 AM
I also thought Hibs number eleven max Todd i think his name is had a very good game

GlenrothesHibee
01-06-2013, 09:01 AM
How about a statto working out total games played against them this last season / year, at all age groups / genders :wink:. Total goals for and against, points etc. If it looks great use it, if it doesn't, keep it as our dirty secret.

Somebody please do this. It will be sent straight to a few yams. Thats if i can find my phone. Hard to see it in their shaddow

01-06-2013, 09:48 AM
But... But... They told me that they had the best youngsters in Scotland :D GGTTH

Maybe they do but just not footballers! My cousin was there and he reports that Hibs were so far ahead we could have scored more.

big-mo
01-06-2013, 09:58 AM
Is Max Todd related to Sam Todd (on Hibs books a couple of years ago), Brother, cousin?

Max is grandson of another Hibs great, Bobby Kinloch the same one that scored the winner against Barcelona in 1961.

01-06-2013, 10:01 AM
Has nobody taught these young lads that big team wee team since 1902 5-1 #allisbarry?

01-06-2013, 10:21 AM

Yes he is his brother

01-06-2013, 04:10 PM
Loved the reports & the interviews. Thanks for posting & many congrats to the boys!

01-06-2013, 04:15 PM
There's a young lad you can see in the celebrations, didn't play (probably due to age), Danny Cameron - keep a wee eye on his future. Great wee player, terrific attitude. Plays full back for Hibs youth team. Personally think he'd make a superb midfielder. Should step up soon into the 17's and maybe the 20's if he sticks in. Definitely in my 'one to watch' list.

Stringer
01-06-2013, 04:18 PM
Post match interview with the U17 coach:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MwMHdIIo9WM

Proper coaching. We won 3 - 0 yet he questions the performance. We could have played better. Shame the first team coach has a different attitude

01-06-2013, 05:58 PM
Since 1902, since 1902
This *****heap has stood here
since 1902!...

Not convinced with their claims of selling out every game in their hour of need however judging by the layers of dust and stoor on the seats doon our end.

Great performance by the boys though, didn't see the first but the 2nd and 3rd were quality. The big no9 reminded me a bit of Alan Gordon, same kind of running style.

From Wikipedia:

"Tynecastle underwent substantial changes in the early twentieth century. A small stand and pavilion were built in 1903. The banks of terracing were greatly increased in 1906, giving a total capacity of 61,784. In 1911, a covered enclosure was erected on the western "distillery" side. The two old stands and pavilion were replaced in 1914 by a pitch-length grandstand (the present Main Stand), designed by the renowned stadium architect Archibald Leitch. To partly fund the cost of the new stand, Hearts sold Percy Dawson to Blackburn Rovers for a British record transfer fee of £2,500. A number of items were omitted from the first estimate of the stand, which meant that its cost doubled to £12,000."

It seems that the Unspeakable Ones have a history of problems with estimates for "improving" their "stadium". Maybe they're still paying off the loan on the "extras" (seats, toilets, roof?) that were omitted from the first estimate. I'm amazed that the War Office didn't pay the bill for them - we'd never have won the Great War without them, and it was 1914, after all.

You really shouldn't complain about the seats, you know - you should feel proivileged to be allowed to sit on such a priceless antique.

I wouldn't get too carried away by the result, either - they probbaly weren't trying too hard. Lulling us into a false sense of security about next season, and all that.

01-06-2013, 06:02 PM
Did the Hearts tea do a lap of honour for the stewards again ? :greengrin

01-06-2013, 06:08 PM
Proper coaching. We won 3 - 0 yet he questions the performance. We could have played better. Shame the first team coach has a different attitude

Pardon? :cool2:

01-06-2013, 08:20 PM
Apparently they do have a brighter future and better youngsters. Theirs are all in their first team.

This, along with "1902 big team wee team 1-5" means it doesn't matter if we won as they will always be the big team and we are still hurting from last May.

I think they're just worried that they will never beat us again at any level. It's a possibility.

01-06-2013, 09:37 PM
Apparently they do have a brighter future and better youngsters. Theirs are all in their first team.

This, along with "1902 big team wee team 1-5" means it doesn't matter if we won as they will always be the big team and we are still hurting from last May.

I think they're just worried that they will never beat us again at any level. It's a possibility.

Especially when I'm told our U12's hammered their young 'uns 6-1 today :aok: seems we are on top of them at every level this year :greengrin

GlenrothesHibee
01-06-2013, 09:41 PM
Especially when I'm told our U12's hammered their young 'uns 6-1 today :aok: seems we are on top of them at every level this year :greengrin

Hearts. The club that keeps giving.

01-06-2013, 10:11 PM
For what its worth was with a retired Fire Officer friend to day and he casually mentioned ( !!) " .....they were lucky to get a fire Certificate for the old stand last year "

:rolleyes:can you confirm or comment on the rumour that hearts insurance company were at the game, with some of their agents filming fans in the home section. in particular, watching for anyone carrying boxes of bluebell or swan vestas?

bob12345
04-06-2013, 09:43 AM
Did anyone happen to spot a team photo with the cup kicking about?

04-06-2013, 11:44 AM
Did anyone happen to spot a team photo with the cup kicking about?

There is a few on the Edinburgh evening news website