View Full Version : McPake career over? (merged)
26-07-2013, 12:39 PM
The way I am feeling today, there's simply no place for sentiment at ER just now. It's part of our weak culture and needs to be eradicated. We all wish McPake well and hope he recovers to be the player he was when he first arrived, but short of that we need to replace him immediately with a strong character who can lead the team properly on the field. McPake has to be man enough to accept that for the good of the club.
26-07-2013, 12:39 PM
We have all done it and i have myself, but he is at the end of the day club captain and surely that means putting the clubs best intrest first not his own.
Aww i know, thats why i said its different for these guys but if it was me and i had to make that choice last night id have done the same, it just backfired on him last night
26-07-2013, 12:40 PM
It's not his preformance im slating its him playing when not fit, he has to take some more time off and come back because we have all seen the way he can play when he is fit. lets just hope he can recover and come back 100%
Wasn't aimed at your post in particular mate.
Aww i know, thats why i said its different for these guys but if it was me and i had to make that choice last night id have done the same, it just backfired on him last night
Hibby 2005
26-07-2013, 12:41 PM
This a a terrible way to treat our club captain.
i do wonder at some of the ridiculous posts.
Lets wish the guy well on his recovery and hope to see a fully fit James mcpake really soon
Indeed, fully fit he's our best defender and you have to wonder at the short memories some people have. Also, the lack of respect shown when some posters made public the nature of his health issues was quite unsavoury.
26-07-2013, 02:21 PM
Andy Webster is still a free agent :aok:
Webster is training at Hearts again ... Source current hearts player
Awaiting result of admin to see if they can afford some sort of wage
26-07-2013, 02:25 PM
Webster is training at Hearts again ... Source current hearts player
Awaiting result of admin to see if they can afford some sort of wage
Pity he's over 21. No chance Hearts will be allowed to sign a player over that age for the next year.
26-07-2013, 02:39 PM
McPake injured and Forster suspended for our first game of the season. McGivern and clancy injured too, so our back 4 would have Mullen at right back and Stevenson on the left. God knows who will play in the middle, should be interesting next sunday and i'd imagine i will be watching the game through my fingers.
26-07-2013, 02:42 PM
McPake injured and Forster suspended for our first game of the season. McGivern and clancy injured too, so our back 4 would have Mullen at right back and Stevenson on the left. God knows who will play in the middle, should be interesting next sunday and i'd imagine i will be watching the game through my fingers.
:boo hoo:
RoslinInstHibby
26-07-2013, 02:42 PM
Indeed, fully fit he's our best defender and you have to wonder at the short memories some people have. Also, the lack of respect shown when some posters made public the nature of his health issues was quite unsavoury.
26-07-2013, 02:57 PM
The folk coming on here saying that they hope JM never plays for Hibs again are a disgrace. In James' first season with us that man put hit body on the line and managed to get us believing Pat was taking us in the right direction. He isn't fit we all know that but saying you want his hibs career over is disgusting.
James no more games until you are 100% fit if that takes until Xmas or march so be it. Good luck with the recovery and I look forward to seeing you at your best.
26-07-2013, 02:57 PM
Bring your boots and I'd imagine you'd be playing!
26-07-2013, 02:59 PM
Bring your boots and I'd imagine you'd be playing!
Well Vine is suspended too, and i did used to play up front. :boo hoo:
26-07-2013, 03:00 PM
Donaldson and OTJ presumably.
26-07-2013, 03:01 PM
Is Hanlon available?
Would presume him and OTJ with Mullen at right back and Stevenson on the left.
26-07-2013, 03:07 PM
So sparky should have hot the same in the final last year ?
I'm just saying give the guy a break - he is desperate to play unlike 10 others last night
I'd be desperate to play and I'd give 100% for the team but I have no business being on the pitch.
If the guy has long term back problems (and I know exactly what that's like) then we need to be clinical and get in a replacement.
Donaldson injured aswell
26-07-2013, 03:13 PM
26-07-2013, 03:19 PM
]McPake injured and Forster suspended for our first game of the season. McGivern and clancy injured too[/B], so our back 4 would have Mullen at right back and Stevenson on the left. God knows who will play in the middle, should be interesting next sunday and i'd imagine i will be watching the game through my fingers.
God almighty! How come Forster is suspended :confused:
26-07-2013, 03:32 PM
Donaldson injured aswell
FFS get Kevin McCann back quick.
just_joe
26-07-2013, 03:33 PM
Im not a doctor or not educated on all things medical but surely something like a back injury must be really hard to come back from. IMO the man will never be the same player. Its a shame really because when he first came he was fantastic. Nothing against his abilities whatsoever but with an injury like that it may be as well getting rid as shameful it may sound.
26-07-2013, 03:36 PM
Are Thomson and Taiwo suspensed?
brian6-2
26-07-2013, 03:56 PM
sighs of relief all over belfast http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/23464993
26-07-2013, 04:03 PM
Nae need - a guy's career is in the balance FFS.
26-07-2013, 04:06 PM
No need for this or comments like it!
The club needs to find a replacement CH but it doesn't mean it's OK to attack the guy. He's a player who gave his all and seemed to genuinely care for our club.
26-07-2013, 04:23 PM
Ya cannae beat it eh, we've not played a league game yet anf already we're in crisis. Oh how I've missed the fitba
26-07-2013, 04:55 PM
The way I am feeling today, there's simply no place for sentiment at ER just now. It's part of our weak culture and needs to be eradicated. We all wish McPake well and hope he recovers to be the player he was when he first arrived, but short of that we need to replace him immediately with a strong character who can lead the team properly on the field. McPake has to be man enough to accept that for the good of the club.
This has been my feelings for somtime now
We just cannot let sentimentality come into the McPake situation
HFC are bigger than the individual :flag:
26-07-2013, 05:05 PM
they probably hope they are :)
poor :(
26-07-2013, 05:13 PM
No but Vine and Forster are!
http://www.scottishfa.co.uk/resources/documents/Disciplinary/CurrentSuspensions/Season2012/13/May2013/PlayerSuspensions/LOS44%20(30%20May).pdf
26-07-2013, 05:28 PM
How's Forster banned?!
Picked it up in the under 20 league last season, and he's now a full team player
26-07-2013, 06:30 PM
Have to start the season with a back 4 of - Mullen/OTJ/Hanlon/Stevenson then [unless of course we sign another c/h [or two] before then. Webster would, IMO, be a good shout as he hasn't signed with anyone and could still do a job in this league.
26-07-2013, 06:33 PM
Yip, waiting for a boot up the arse on Monday morning :cb
26-07-2013, 06:42 PM
This injury is a real set back for McPake and Hibs. When fully fit, he's one of the best defenders in the SPL. Hope this isn't too serious and he has a speedy recovery.
IMO, we need to sign another defender regardless of how serious this injury is.
26-07-2013, 07:14 PM
Have to start the season with a back 4 of - Mullen/OTJ/Hanlon/Stevenson then [unless of course we sign another c/h [or two] before then. Webster would, IMO, be a good shout as he hasn't signed with anyone and could still do a job in this league.
Is Mcgivern likely to be our for next week as well?
BarneyBreslin
26-07-2013, 07:26 PM
You dinne half post some pish mate. Congratulations on being added to my ignore list.
28-07-2013, 05:53 PM
Apologies if already mentioned somewhere else, feel free to merge.
Was on sky sports news this morning that McPake will miss the start of the season with his on going back injury. Never took long for this to reappear!! Surely a centre half must now become a priority.
It's been a priority since the start of the year. It's been plainly obvious that he isn't anywhere near fit, and that he was kidding himself that he could regain fitness without major surgery. McPake might be forgiven for going into denial about the end of his football career, but Fenlon and Nicholl should have been more professional about it - as should the club doctor.
But I thought he was OK and all Hibs fans who were speculating that he has a bad back injury were out of order for doing so? He's not doing the club or himself any good by trying to keep playing.
He's risking ending up in severe pain and a wheelchair or on crutches. He wouldn't be the first, nor, sadly, the last, but football as an industry isn't good at looking after its workers. Hibs need to be responsible here - insist he goes for proper treatment and sign a replacement ASAP. But I'm not going to hold my breath waithing for our club to act responsibly or sensibly.
This a a terrible way to treat our club captain.
I do wonder at some of the ridiculous posts.
Lets wish the guy well on his recovery and hope to see a fully fit James McPake really soon.
I wish him well - I really do - but I wouldn't hold my breath waiting him to regain match fitness. And I agree about some of those posts, but I can understand why people are hurting and angry, whether they're justified in singling out McPake or not. Personally, I don't think they are.
I think Thursday night was about an endemic incompetence built into Hibernian Football Club.
03-08-2013, 02:31 PM
Latest on McPake injury from todays EN, he is to have a scan on his back to find out what the problem is, here's hoping he can get this sorted as can still be a big player for us if fully fit.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-captain-mcpake-to-have-scan-on-injured-back-1-3029225
CROCKED Hibs skipper James McPake is set for a scan in a bid to get to the root of his latest back problem.
The big defender underwent an operation after suffering a serious back injury two years ago and missed the final few games of last season, including the Scottish Cup final against Celtic, after suffering a spasm.
And now he has been ruled out of tomorrow’s opening game of the new Scottish Premiership season against Motherwell after being forced out of the action just 24 minutes into the second leg of the Capital club’s Europa League clash with Swedish side Malmo.
Admitting he couldn’t say how long the 29-year-old was expected to be sidelined this time, manager Pat Fenlon said: “James was struggling but he has said it is a little bit easier. We will probably scan him over the next few days and see if it is the same thing or something different then assess it again and see where we go from there.”
03-08-2013, 02:54 PM
Picked it up in the under 20 league last season, and he's now a full team player
He actually picked up the bookings at East Fife I believe
03-08-2013, 02:57 PM
Latest on McPake injury from todays EN, he is to have a scan on his back to find out what the problem is, here's hoping he can get this sorted as can still be a big player for us if fully fit.
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-captain-mcpake-to-have-scan-on-injured-back-1-3029225
CROCKED Hibs skipper James McPake is set for a scan in a bid to get to the root of his latest back problem.
The big defender underwent an operation after suffering a serious back injury two years ago and missed the final few games of last season, including the Scottish Cup final against Celtic, after suffering a spasm.
And now he has been ruled out of tomorrow’s opening game of the new Scottish Premiership season against Motherwell after being forced out of the action just 24 minutes into the second leg of the Capital club’s Europa League clash with Swedish side Malmo.
Admitting he couldn’t say how long the 29-year-old was expected to be sidelined this time, manager Pat Fenlon said: “James was struggling but he has said it is a little bit easier. We will probably scan him over the next few days and see if it is the same thing or something different then assess it again and see where we go from there.”
I cant believe any scan will tell them anything new, if they dont know by now whats wrong with his back the'd be as well getting Rima in with the magic sticks. :confused:
03-08-2013, 03:03 PM
It begs the question why the Club's medics didn't send him for a scan long before now.
03-08-2013, 03:04 PM
I cant believe any scan will tell them anything new, if they dont know by now whats wrong with his back the'd be as well getting Rima in with the magic sticks. :confused:
Hibs don't need Rima, they've got hibs.net to diagnose players' career threatening injuries.
brian6-2
03-08-2013, 05:53 PM
You dinne half post some pish mate. Congratulations on being added to my ignore list.
Words cant describe how gutted i am at that.
Dinny half get some heedcases on here, i posted a link in irony to him being completely guff for us for an entire season, hence the sighs of relief over belfast at him missing the next game and not having to worry about another brutal performance from him at the back, as many hibs fans have worried about also.
I dont get the comments about his career being nearly over as he has rubbished this in the press himself.
get a grip.
03-08-2013, 06:01 PM
:agree: totally
What does bother me is that it was common knowledge when he was first signed that he had a " back problem " .
Was the seriousness of this not picked up at his medical ?
Wish him well but have to say there is surely a better C/B out there somewhere :rolleyes:
03-08-2013, 06:04 PM
Hibs don't need Rima, they've got hibs.net to diagnose players' career threatening injuries.
And to pass judgement on their abilities , weaknesses etc etc
We are so lucky to have these people around us
Well done guys !!!!
:wink::greengrin
Erm maybe the wee broken back he had at Coventry, it's obvious that it's left some permanent damage, maybe not life threatening but career wise, maybe.
http://www.coventrytelegraph.net/sport/football/football-news/james-mcpake-broke-back-coventry-3033817
it's all in this link
03-08-2013, 09:52 PM
Said it before the cup final and I'll say it again. McPake has been told by 2 different specialists to stop playing. He's cream crackered.
What worries me is as much as he's hurting himself he's hurting the team. I said he was no where near ready to come back and shock horror first game where he declares himself "fit" he goes off.
Everyone at the club knows he's done, bar him himself. Sorry if this sounds harsh, the guy has a huge heart and I can't blame him for wanting to carry on. But I hope he sees sense and retires. I personally think he has all the qualities to be a manager.
03-08-2013, 10:00 PM
Said it before the cup final and I'll say it again. McPake has been told by 2 different specialists to stop playing. He's cream crackered.
What worries me is as much as he's hurting himself he's hurting the team. I said he was no where near ready to come back and shock horror first game where he declares himself "fit" he goes off.
Everyone at the club knows he's done, bar him himself. Sorry if this sounds harsh, the guy has a huge heart and I can't blame him for wanting to carry on. But I hope he sees sense and retires. I personally think he has all the qualities to be a manager.
Do you no if he has been doing coaching badges.? :aok:
03-08-2013, 10:17 PM
Not that I know of Silver, but if not I think he should. He presents himself well and is a leader. Like I say, I think there's a manager in there.
04-08-2013, 07:23 AM
I know KT has been doing his badges, maybe he can be his assistant :greengrin
04-08-2013, 10:37 AM
If 2 different specialist were to say that to him it makes you wonder why fenlon keeps playing him?? This isn't a dig at either of them but his health etc especially with it being his back is more important than his football career. I'm sure he would make a good coach of some sort.