View Full Version : McGivern 2 year deal (Confirmed)

Devilstorment
27-05-2013, 04:10 PM
Should we be attempting to make this man a permanent addition to the team? or even a further loan move for him?

Sometimes i think the guy is great, sometimes he looks a bit suspect (of course he is young)

27-05-2013, 04:14 PM
Should we be attempting to make this man a permanent addition to the team? or even a further loan move for him?

Sometimes i think the guy is great, sometimes he looks a bit suspect (of course he is young)

He's out of contract, so there'll be no loan deal due to not having a club, I heard we're trying to do a deal for him but his recent performances have been very poor, maybe start thinking about shifting him to CH which is his natural position.

27-05-2013, 04:16 PM
I don't know why but I see him developing into a journeyman type.
I don't think he's good enough to be a top flight team regular, yet probably too good to be playing in a lower league.

I don't think we should sign him if we had the chance.

27-05-2013, 04:16 PM
Keep him if possible - can't see us getting much better - he hasn't played as well as the start of the season but is decent SPL defender and can play left back or CH (Better CH I think).

Out of the the loans -

1 - LG
2 - Claros
3 - McGivern

27-05-2013, 04:18 PM
I don't know why but I see him developing into a journeyman type.
I don't think he's good enough to be a top flight team regular, yet probably too good to be playing in a lower league.

I don't think we should sign him if we had the chance.

:thumbsup::agree:

He's out of contract, so there'll be no loan deal due to not having a club, I heard we're trying to do a deal for him but his recent performances have been very poor, maybe start thinking about shifting him to CH which is his natural position.

I agree with this. If you had asked me 6-7 weeks ago I would say definitely get him signed up, been poor recently but over the course of his loan I believe he has been an asset so with that in mind I would try sign him.

JollyGreenGiant
Just not quick enough to be a left back, whenever the ball is knocked over him or when he is left 1 on 1 with a pacy winger, he gets found out.

Might be a decent centre half, but not played there often enough to really make an acurate assessment.

27-05-2013, 04:24 PM
Won't be disappointed if we don't sign him up but fair enough if we do especially given McPake's injury problems. 2 year deal tops and looked at as a CH not a LB.

Leighonel
27-05-2013, 04:28 PM

I think he looks better at CH too but im sure iv heard him say a couple of times that LB is his position.

27-05-2013, 04:34 PM

As good as he is going forward he's a poor defender. Not for the first time he's cost us goals in big games.

27-05-2013, 04:44 PM
He's young and versatile so it's a yes for me. I think he is a superb CH and I would like to see him played there if we get him.

27-05-2013, 05:06 PM
For someone who is at Manchester City he has awful positional sense. Think we would have been better with Stevenson at left back yesterday actually :agree: Ryan seems more of a centre back.

Sadsc
27-05-2013, 05:30 PM
In recent weeks has been awful, bin him

27-05-2013, 05:33 PM
In recent weeks has been awful, bin himyou no got some cakes tae bake? :jamboclow

AL-Qaholik
27-05-2013, 05:36 PM
Personally would rather see him & Forster at CH next season than Hanlon & McPake.
Full back positions are FAR more important right now though and, IMO, McGivern isn't the answer at left back...

27-05-2013, 05:51 PM
McGivern is a funny one, sometimes he looks excellent, other times he looks suspect. The 2-2 draw at Tannadice where he played LB, he was excellent and was a brilliant out ball for Williams to hit all game. Then theres other games where he is all over the place, looks far too casual with his defending and gets caught out with bad positioning.

Im sure we are looking at keeping him, it is good to have consistency within the squad and I can see improving. Im sure the fact he can play at CB and LB is also appealing to Fenlon if he has a limited budget to work with.

27-05-2013, 05:52 PM
In recent weeks has been awful, bin himThink you should be more concerned about yer own team aye ..

27-05-2013, 05:55 PM
Ryan is a cracking player, and will be even better again next year. We'd be fools not to sign him up. Him and Maybury were up against two of the best players in the league, who were absolutely on their game - even Murphy and Whittaker would have been made to look foolish.

27-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Keep him, however, as stated previously think he is a better c/h than l/b. Would like P.F. to go with a central pairing of McGivern and Forster next season, either sign a new l/b or go with Stevenson who has turned in some good displays there this season.

pontius pilate
27-05-2013, 05:58 PM
All I'm going to say is look at Claros from this season to last. However by signing Mcgivern paddy maybe trying to use funds to strengthen other areas.

Stringer
27-05-2013, 06:03 PM
At the start of the season his positioning and tackling was spot on, something happened :confused:

Would be a great signing though. Always thought he could play in front of the defense. His crosses were the only attacking threat besides long balls.

xyz23jc
27-05-2013, 06:07 PM
Pish poor! Don't see what everyone else does. Obviously! Would be more than happy to give anyone else a shot! Plenty in then under 20s oe elsewhere! Should have cut out the cross for the first goal, also blamed Hanlon with his reaction for the first goal, whit the **** wer ye daein mate, yer no playin', for obvious reason, for Man City noo pal!!!! F***** liability IMHO! Nae fit etc etc!

27-05-2013, 06:11 PM
Ryan is a cracking player, and will be even better again next year. We'd be fools not to sign him up. Him and Maybury were up against two of the best players in the league, who were absolutely on their game - even Murphy and Whittaker would have been made to look foolish.

Totally agree 👍

27-05-2013, 06:54 PM
Too inconsistent for me at LB, would have preferred Stevenson there yesterday. Not seen enough of him at CH to but what I have seen has looked pretty good so maybe worth a deal as a versatile player to have in the squad.

blaikie
27-05-2013, 06:57 PM
Keep him still young and has had great performances this season, and he was brilliant at centre half earlier this season.

27-05-2013, 07:01 PM
I'd say he's better as a central defender than as a full back. Although he provided a good cross for Doyle early on yesterday his play subsequently was a bit agricultural and he was one of the Route One brigade.

27-05-2013, 07:01 PM
If we dont keep him maybe we should have a look at Hammell from well?

27-05-2013, 07:04 PM
Not for me, positionally naive, and backs off attackers to much for my liking.

Interesting to hear him quoted as saying, we deserved credit for not folding at 2-0 down, and we could have easily let the heads drop.....Doesn't instil me with faith, that our players have the winning mentality....

Devilstorment
27-05-2013, 07:06 PM
Depending on how much he wants wages i would keep him.

We cant rip up our squad every season and start anew and expect progress. A years contract with an option on another year (learn something from Wolves!!) if he does well

27-05-2013, 07:12 PM

We cant rip up our squad every season and start anew and expect progress. A years contract with an option on another year (learn something from Wolves!!) if he does well

You're right. There's a lot to be said for keeping a squad together, including the ones who are maybe not out of the top drawer. The team has changed complexion too many times in recent years.

As long as the spirit is there - and it seems to be - Hibs can only progress.

27-05-2013, 07:24 PM
Have to say I'm not totally convinced by Ryan. Thought he was excellent earlier in the season but he has lost us goals and looked suspect defensively at times.

To give him credit though he is decent going forward and seems to have already forged a good understanding with Harris. Just feel he gets caught out too often at the back.

Would still keep him but only on reasonable terms.

27-05-2013, 07:35 PM
Not for me, positionally naive, and backs off attackers to much for my liking.

Proven yesterday again :agree:

27-05-2013, 11:35 PM
Proven yesterday again :agree:

Absofekkinlootly

28-05-2013, 09:39 AM
I would rather see Stevenson get a run at LB.
Think Hanlon, McPake and Forster will now be fighting for cb positions.

Barry Douglas would be a good addition at LB

Milandinho
28-05-2013, 09:39 AM

Agree with this. If we can get him on a sensible deal that suits our budget, then I would say yes. Don't break the bank to keep him though.

28-05-2013, 10:14 AM
Agree with this. If we can get him on a sensible deal that suits our budget, then I would say yes. Don't break the bank to keep him though.

We dont need him. He simply isnt a very good defender. He can look ok going forward but he was all over the place yesterday, and that was the reason Doyle was put back into midfield. I dont see McPake getting back into the team. He's had a shocking year with injuries etc and just isnt good enough to get in the team now. Everything came from crosses on Sunday, and that was due to our LB and RB not being good enough. Thats the area to improve.

28-05-2013, 10:20 AM
Yeh felt sorry for Stevenson not getting the left back place . McGivern was pretty poor against Dundee, didn't look match sharp. Would maybe try him at left mid as he is a lot better going forward.

Devilstorment
28-05-2013, 10:22 AM
We dont need him. He simply isnt a very good defender. He can look ok going forward but he was all over the place yesterday, and that was the reason Doyle was put back into midfield. I dont see McPake getting back into the team. He's had a shocking year with injuries etc and just isnt good enough to get in the team now. Everything came from crosses on Sunday, and that was due to our LB and RB not being good enough. Thats the area to improve.

who were we playing yesterday? :wink:

dmc1875
28-05-2013, 05:39 PM
Not seen this anywhere:

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11792/8740475?

28-05-2013, 05:41 PM
Happy with that. Hope he plays CH

28-05-2013, 05:42 PM
happy with that, rather see him at CH next season though.

28-05-2013, 05:43 PM
Happy if it happens. Yes his form dipped at the wrong time of he season however he's young and showed promise. Give him time to keep learning his trade and gel with a settled team and we could have a very good defender.

28-05-2013, 05:44 PM
1 down 2 to go

What age is McGivern?

...WentToMowAnSPL
I'm pleased think he can get better .... and he speaks well about the club

Green Man
What age is McGivern?

He's 23.

28-05-2013, 05:45 PM
Give him some proper protection down the left hand side and he might get better. He's looked a decent enough player at times.

blaikie
What age is McGivern?

He's 23.

His best years are ahead of him. Hopefully a good preseason for him

28-05-2013, 05:46 PM
Happy with that!

Good news. :aok:

pontius pilate
Good news maybe not at left back but certainly at CH. I heard James mcpake was having surgery in the summer in his back and wonder if that was a key decision in signing him as a CH

28-05-2013, 05:47 PM
Well pleased with that. Good player who will get better.

Leighonel
28-05-2013, 05:48 PM
Pleased with this.

I remember thinking at the start of the season that he was our best defender even when playing at lb so I hope he returns to that form.

28-05-2013, 05:48 PM
Would have preferred if they'd started at the other end of the spectrum - Leigh first, then Jorge
Good signing nevertheless.

28-05-2013, 05:49 PM
Would have preferred if they'd started at the other end of the spectrum - Leigh first, then Jorge

They can do it in whatever order they want.. As long as they do it! :greengrin

28-05-2013, 05:50 PM
Happy with that, if he can recapture the form of earlier in the season then it could be a very good bit of business.

He dropped off a bit towards to the end but young players will how that inconsistency.

Now for Griffiths and Claros.

coco22
Happy with this. Good, early announcement too - hopefully summer plans into action already. :thumbsup:

Good signing nevertheless.
I'm sure they will have

Good news and good to see the signings being sorted out nice and early :thumbsup:

Now just to get Leigh and Jorge tied down on permanant deals and we can turn our attentions to another 2 or 3 new players being brought in.

28-05-2013, 05:51 PM
Good news maybe not at left back but certainly at CH. I heard James mcpake was having surgery in the summer in his back and wonder if that was a key decision in signing him as a CH

Are both Ryan and Paul Hanlon not natural left centre backs?

28-05-2013, 05:52 PM
He had a stinker in the cup final but I was pleased with his performance prior to that, welcome back Ryan!

28-05-2013, 05:53 PM
Great news - a good SPL level player who has played better more often than not.

He is still young but can play LB or CH (his best position) and seems like a good character to have in the team.

Next Claors and LG then add Craig (already signed) and a few others and we will be looking good - without a massive turnover of players :aok:

28-05-2013, 05:53 PM
Delighted with this signing:aok:

pontius pilate
28-05-2013, 05:55 PM

I was saying that to my posture who is a hibby
I'd get Mcgivern at CH at Hanlon at LB but we weren't 100% that Hanlon could play there.

GavinHarris 10
28-05-2013, 05:56 PM
Good solid centre back and left back. Another good signing from wee Pat. Now to get Griffiths and Claros signed up.

28-05-2013, 05:57 PM
This is good news despite his poor show on Sunday. I think he'll stay at LB though. You can't really put him with Hanlon in middle as both are left footed & I'm not sure moving Hanlon to LB is the answer.

28-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Great news.

pontius pilate
28-05-2013, 05:58 PM

I was saying that to my mate today but we weren't sure if Paul was a LB or if he was put there as a stop gap. Again another youngster signed so its looking good for the future

Big Sexy Dave
28-05-2013, 05:58 PM
Is Mcgivern 23?

28-05-2013, 06:00 PM
Great news.

28-05-2013, 06:01 PM
Was critical of him on Sun, but welcome this news, he's a natural CH IMO & I hope he plays there next season.
Welcome back Ryan !!!

Never mentioned it on the news :confused:. Is it def confirmed?

This is good news despite his poor show on Sunday. I think he'll stay at LB though. You can't really put him with Hanlon in middle as both are left footed & I'm not sure moving Hanlon to LB is the answer.
Why not? Lots of CH pairings have both been right footed. Good start to the summer signings

West hamBERNIAN
28-05-2013, 06:02 PM
Great news if you ask me, I think he'll become an important part of a successful hibernian. Admittedly he more than likely wont go down as a legend but there's a very very good chance whoever his replacement would be would've be a complete pant in comparison GG

Si_17
28-05-2013, 06:02 PM
Decent. Just keep him away from LB. Got dragged too far centrally a number of times on Sunday.

28-05-2013, 06:03 PM
Great signing, glad we did it early too! Versatile young and very good on his day, but I agree with the consensus he's a CH!

28-05-2013, 06:05 PM
Perhaps the manager is contemplating 3 at the back next season - Forster Hanlon and McGivern:dunno:

28-05-2013, 06:06 PM
Great news.

Yep.

28-05-2013, 06:06 PM
Good news. Re building has started early aswell. Said on another thread I'd maybe try him at left mid, as he is a lot more efective going forward.

28-05-2013, 06:07 PM
Delighted with this. Well done Hibs for getting that sorted so quickly.

28-05-2013, 06:07 PM
Happy with it. We've got a decent first choice back four imo of Clancy, mcpake, Hanlon and Mcgivern. Good height and mobility and decent distribution. Not much in the way of back up though..

28-05-2013, 06:08 PM
Happy with it. We've got a decent first choice back four imo of Clancy, mcpake, Hanlon and Mcgivern. Good height and mobility and decent distribution. Not much in the way of back up though..

Back up needed as two of that four are made of glass.

28-05-2013, 06:11 PM
Great news :thumbsup:

28-05-2013, 06:13 PM

Clancy has shown nothing to suggest he should be our first choice right back, IMO. Quite the opposite.

28-05-2013, 06:14 PM
Excellent news :aok:

28-05-2013, 06:14 PM
Great news of true.

Come on official hibs... Confirm!

:-)

28-05-2013, 06:19 PM
Delighted.

28-05-2013, 06:27 PM
Delighted if true. Hes still young, can play numerous positions and is a NI international. He has had a few bad games (including the final), but so do most players.

28-05-2013, 06:27 PM
I was saying that to my posture who is a hibby
I'd get Mcgivern at CH at Hanlon at LB but we weren't 100% that Hanlon could play there.

Are you sure you're being perfectly straight here?

Liams
28-05-2013, 06:29 PM
Happy with this - blondie is such a top bloke, so funny, hates talking about football when hes out but he loooked well gutted after ft on sunday, shows passion

pontius pilate
28-05-2013, 06:29 PM
Nope slightly curved but I was trying to be dead straight and say my postie.

28-05-2013, 06:30 PM
Nope slightly curved but I was trying to be dead straight and say my postie.

:greengrin You did have me wondering - at least it wasn't your posterior!

Mister P
28-05-2013, 06:33 PM
He's a prick!!

Dunno where he's had his last two haircuts but its not with me :greengrin

All joking aside, pleased with the news. Agree I'd like to see him as a ch though.
A jolly nice bloke as well!

28-05-2013, 06:34 PM
This can't be right, far too early, nowhere near deadline day :grr:

...WentToMowAnSPL
28-05-2013, 06:36 PM
Are you sure you're being perfectly straight here?

Spineless response !

Stringer
28-05-2013, 06:38 PM
what will his wage be?

Good news if he accepts it. He had a incredible game in our first derby at the wonga dome, also connects well with Harris.

28-05-2013, 06:44 PM
I had his mate from NI in the cab a couple months back, told him to tell Ryan the fans loved him and get himself signed up asap, good to see he took my advice :) Pretty sure when he played alongside Hanlon, they had adecent record, definitely a better CH

28-05-2013, 06:49 PM
I had his mate from NI in the cab a couple months back, told him to tell Ryan the fans loved him and get himself signed up asap, good to see he took my advice :) Pretty sure when he played alongside Hanlon, they had adecent record, definitely a better CH

Agreed, I remember him being outstanding at CB earlier in the season.

A good signing as with McPake looking like he'll spend a good chunk of any season injured, and it probably being too soon to expect Forster to perform week in, week out, having a versatile guy like McGivern on the books makes a lot of sense.

28-05-2013, 06:49 PM
Great guy with a lot of experience for his relatively young age, he seems to really care about the club and the fans, his the ability to improve further, links up well on the wing with Harris and can play CB if needed. Good to see him on board for the next season if it is confirmed.

28-05-2013, 06:54 PM
Happy with that. Good range of passing and once fully fit again will be an asset. He's 23.

28-05-2013, 06:58 PM
Happy with this.

28-05-2013, 06:58 PM
Excellent news - I think he is a smashing player. :agree:

IndieHibby
28-05-2013, 07:05 PM
Great signing. Well done Pat.

28-05-2013, 07:05 PM
Clancy has shown nothing to suggest he should be our first choice right back, IMO. Quite the opposite.

Got to disagree I'm afraid, he was playing very well until he got his leg/stomach injury. He then cameback when he clearly wasn't fit and had a couple of very poor games (e.g. the semi final). If we get him fully fit he's a massive asset.

Just_Jimmy
28-05-2013, 07:15 PM
Ryan can play LB or CB. That gives us 2 positions of cover for one wage. Excellent.

Devilstorment
28-05-2013, 07:22 PM
Good move!

28-05-2013, 07:24 PM
Good news. Now Ryan get down the training ground and practice defending crosses to the back post.:cb

micka_weer
28-05-2013, 07:26 PM
Excellent news

28-05-2013, 07:27 PM
Good news that we've signed him up so quickly. Will Hibs announce this soon, or will they wait until he's officially out of contract with Man City?

28-05-2013, 07:33 PM
Mcgivern has been one of my favourite players since we first got him. Had a bit of a dip in form lately but we've seen how good he can be so I'm very happy with this.

28-05-2013, 07:35 PM
Great news - a good SPL level player who has played better more often than not.

He is still young but can play LB or CH (his best position) and seems like a good character to have in the team.

Next Claors and LG then add Craig (already signed) and a few others and we will be looking good - without a massive turnover of players :aok:

I don't think you can say centre half is best position when he is 23 and his only games there at any level gave been the few he's played for us there.

28-05-2013, 07:36 PM
I don't think you can say centre half is best position when he is 23 and his only games there at any level gave been the few he's played for us there.

Think he plays centre half for NI when selected

LeighLoyal
28-05-2013, 07:38 PM
Pleased by this but what about a deal for Jorge?

28-05-2013, 07:39 PM
Pleased by this but what about a deal for Jorge?

He's not out of contract, so a bit more tricky

28-05-2013, 07:59 PM
Think he plays centre half for NI when selected

Left back every time I've seen them. Said himself he'd only ever played there for Hibs.

28-05-2013, 08:06 PM
Got to disagree I'm afraid, he was playing very well until he got his leg/stomach injury. He then cameback when he clearly wasn't fit and had a couple of very poor games (e.g. the semi final). If we get him fully fit he's a massive asset.

:agree: Hope he comes back stronger after the summer. Big miss since he dropped out injured.

28-05-2013, 08:10 PM
Delighted! Great news for Hibs and a good decision from the player IMO - he'll get a regular start at a decent level and develop as a player with Hibs. The promptness of this news is a good sign of a harmonious dressing room where players are happy to be as well - great stuff Ryan you've made my day :thumbsup:

lEXO
28-05-2013, 08:15 PM
Great news. Signing a 23 year old international shows ambition for me. Much better than the journeymen some of the previous managers signed. Well done Hibs and good on Mcgivern. He could have maybe chased more money down south but did,nt.:thumbsup:

Mister P
28-05-2013, 08:18 PM
Was he not playing cb in the game we best Celtc. I'm sure the commentators on the radio were saying Celtc never looked anywhere near scoring?

28-05-2013, 08:18 PM
Left back every time I've seen them. Said himself he'd only ever played there for Hibs.

Kenny Shiels said on the radio coverage of the Dundee Utd game in the autumn that he had used McGivern at centre half for NI youth teams.

28-05-2013, 08:19 PM
Great if it happens:thumbsup:

28-05-2013, 08:23 PM
Great news.

Hope he came cheap.
I think he is a bit of a liability at times. If we had him on loan from Cowdenbeath or Patrick as opposed to Man city, then I doubt the news would be so warmly received.

28-05-2013, 08:24 PM
"@City_Watch: Sky Sports: City academy graduate Ryan McGivern (23) will join Hibernian on a permanent deal when his City deal expires at the end of June."

28-05-2013, 08:26 PM
Hope he came cheap.
I think he is a bit of a liability at times, if we had him on loan from Cowdenbeath or Patrick as opposed to Man city I doubt the news would be so warmly received.

Bit harsh no? I think he's been good most of the season but has been poor since he came back from injury like so many players can be.

HibeeHendo
28-05-2013, 08:38 PM
Very pleased with this, I think he is a fantastic player. The only reason he was caught out so often on Sunday was he never had any protection in the left of midfield, everyone should think how well he linked up with Harris in the semi-final as an example of what he can do with someone who affords him an option going forward and someone who helps him when tracking back.

This shows ambition from Hibs and that Pat is still working on the team even though the season is over.

28-05-2013, 08:48 PM
Hope he came cheap.
I think he is a bit of a liability at times> If we had him on loan from Cowdenbeath or Patrick as opposed to Man city, then I doubt the news would be so warmly received.

He's the best left back we have had since Murphy!!

He was at Man City for a reason - potential and where some players don't fulfill potential - McGivern will keep improving with regular games and remember is an internationlist who has played against Ronaldo so can't be that bad.

28-05-2013, 08:52 PM
He has had some poor performances but overall he's been one of the best defenders we've had in years.

Good signing.

28-05-2013, 08:55 PM
Hope he came cheap.
I think he is a bit of a liability at times> If we had him on loan from Cowdenbeath or Patrick as opposed to Man city, then I doubt the news would be so warmly received.

What does it matter what team he has come from?

We've had the opportunity to watch him last season and opinions will have been formed on his performances and how people rate him in our team rather than anything to do with where we are signing him from?

28-05-2013, 08:59 PM
Fantastic signing

He was magnificent in the first half of the season.

He tailed of a bit after a wee spell out but against Dundee he looked back to his best before getting dragged out of position a lot on Sunday.

Really liked him at CH earlier in the season. Felt he was assured and pretty sure we had a few clean sheets whilst he was in there. Looked composed and I always felt he read the game well from there.

He is good going down the left as well but think him and Forster in the centre of defence would be a good, solid and balanced partnership.

Wherever Pat plays him CH or LB I'll be happy and certain he will only get better.

If this is definitely a done deal then well done Hibs. I've slagged the board in years gone by for leaving signings to the last minute so fair play to them.

green.and.white
28-05-2013, 09:08 PM
It always more difficult for defenders to be consistent from a young age, look at any group of young players at any club and the vast majority will be midifelders and attackers. He has a lot to learn but a good player at his age. Glad that he has signed! :)

28-05-2013, 09:13 PM
Hope he came cheap.
I think he is a bit of a liability at times. If we had him on loan from Cowdenbeath or Patrick as opposed to Man city, then I doubt the news would be so warmly received.

:faf:....ever heard of a guy called John Brownlie ?

28-05-2013, 09:14 PM
Why not? Lots of CH pairings have both been right footed. Good start to the summer signings
Most right footed players are semi decent with their left, most left footed players totally struggle on their right. You very rarely see a left footed pairing at CB.

28-05-2013, 09:37 PM
Kenny Shiels said on the radio coverage of the Dundee Utd game in the autumn that he had used McGivern at centre half for NI youth teams.

Nobody's told McGivern that then!

The Toun Hibee
28-05-2013, 09:43 PM
Solid signing. Shows ambition and that we're still a club that can attract talent. His bank balance will have taken a hit as I can't see us paying anywhere near what City can afford.

28-05-2013, 09:49 PM
:faf:....ever heard of a guy called John Brownlie ?

I don't think you take my point. Class shines through but sometimes players who come from a big club are given a presumption of quality, that is not really there. A bit like the "Emperors new clothes"

28-05-2013, 09:52 PM
I don't think you take my point. Class shines through but sometimes players who come from a big club are given a presumption of quality, that is not really there. A bit like the "Emperors new clothes"

:agree: Ngoo springs to mind :greengrin

Stringer
28-05-2013, 09:59 PM

He is also an international not just a city player.

Had Ronaldo in his pocket when NI beat Portugal 1 - 0. :wink:

28-05-2013, 11:07 PM
Good signing IMO and one who will get better.

28-05-2013, 11:21 PM

and "vice verci"........as the grumpy Romans would have it !

pedants please note,I never did latin :greengrin

steino1875
29-05-2013, 12:47 AM
happy with that :thumbsup:

OsloHibs
29-05-2013, 12:51 AM
I welcome this news :thumbsup:

cam75
29-05-2013, 12:55 AM
Youth to full international 19 caps at 23 good reports against Portugal nanni and Ronaldo to deal with,wants to play for us I'm sure he could have got a financially better offer,1 down 3 to go :-)

macd123
29-05-2013, 01:04 AM
That's the defence sorted pending a decision on maybury. Donaldson and forster will push hard for the centre half spots.

oramhibee
29-05-2013, 01:09 AM
According to Sky Sports, we've got him on a 2 year deal...

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11792/8740475/Transfer-news-Ryan-McGivern-to-join-Hibernian-on-permanent-deal-from-Man-City

29-05-2013, 05:43 AM
Great signing. Nice to get a signing like is done early.

Lets hope we can get a deal done for Claros........then lets see what we can do with Sparky!!!

29-05-2013, 06:39 AM
According to Sky Sports, we've got him on a 2 year deal...

http://www1.skysports.com/football/news/11792/8740475/Transfer-news-Ryan-McGivern-to-join-Hibernian-on-permanent-deal-from-Man-City

The only reasons i can see for signing him are he must be on a low wage and the McPake injury must make next season doubtful.

29-05-2013, 06:53 AM
Happy with that

InterviewLoI
29-05-2013, 06:57 AM
Keep him if possible - can't see us getting much better - he hasn't played as well as the start of the season but is decent SPL defender and can play left back or CH (Better CH I think).

Out of the the loans -

1 - LG
2 - Claros
3 - McGivern

What about Matt Done? Great player ;)

bodoglimt
29-05-2013, 07:02 AM
Ryan good to have you on board permanently. :flag:

29-05-2013, 07:02 AM
So you reckon we need a new back four? Or maybe just three as you didn't have a go at Hanlon.

29-05-2013, 07:11 AM

People used to say the same about Whittaker and he turned out alright

29-05-2013, 07:48 AM
So you reckon we need a new back four? Or maybe just three as you didn't have a go at Hanlon.

We need a LB and RB. I fully expect Hanlon and Forster to be our main CH pairing next season. Lewis is a cracking squad player. Clancy has never impressed me as seems to be another who is injury prone. Not sure what we have in the youth team but i wouldnt be surprised to see a RB coming from there.

The Leith Dutch
29-05-2013, 08:16 AM
Looking very like we've signed him on a two year deal.

I think he's a good player and, as pointed out by quite a few others, we need to get some consistency.

Bringing in new players - particularly when they need signed off by Rod Petrie - is always a risk and it usually takes a while for them to bed in and get an understanding with the rest of the team.

Looking at the defense we had this season I'm not gonna sit here and say they were amazing - that'd be just mental. What I would say is that if we sort out the main problem area in the team - the lack of attacking potency - then the defense we have is good enough to put us at the business end of the top six (at least it is in my opinion)

Between Cairney going off the boil and Alex Harris emerging late in the season we've offered very little going forward even when we've looked solid otherwise and teams have known that if they can keep Leigh Griffiths quiet then they have our number.

Aside from this meaning we don't score enough goals it also heaps pressure on the defense by allowing the opposition to push on to them.

They're also not helped by the fact that Ben Williams wouldn't come off his line even if you set fire to the net and there was a naked Kelly Brook oiling herself up on the penalty spot......

I guess what I'm saying - without meaning to blow flowers up the collective erse of our defenders is that I think they'll look better by improving other bits of the team rather than trying to sign new defenders.

29-05-2013, 08:38 AM
He's part of the rebuilding process, he's got us up the table a bit and with others coming in, we will hopefully improve again. We then in a season or 2 if he has not improved will be replaced with better, and we keep doing this again and again.

29-05-2013, 12:20 PM
I would rather see Stevenson get a run at LB.
Think Hanlon, McPake and Forster will now be fighting for cb positions.

Barry Douglas would be a good addition at LB

FFS how many runs do you need to see Stevenson have in any position?

29-05-2013, 12:40 PM
Some posters think he'd be far better LM, and others think he's a much better CB.

31-05-2013, 08:30 AM
Confirmed by Hibs

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub READ: McGivern Agrees Two Year Deal http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20130531/mcgivern-agrees-two-year-deal_2262950_3195995 … (http://t.co/z75kZg6YKp) #allezallezau (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23allezallezau&src=hash) #fromthecapital (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23fromthecapital&src=hash)

31-05-2013, 08:32 AM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub McGivern said: “I’m really pleased to have agreed to join Hibs on a permanent basis. I’m excited about what we can achieve next season.

McGivern said: “Our supporters were absolutely unbelievable at Hampden – this is a special club with special supporters.

McGivern said: “The crowd have been brilliant towards me ever since I joined. I’m looking forward to playing back at Easter Road next year.”

TomoHFC
31-05-2013, 10:40 AM
Nice to see mcgivern back at hibs

31-05-2013, 10:53 AM
Nice one, next season shaping up nicely :agree:

31-05-2013, 12:11 PM
FFS how many runs do you need to see Stevenson have in any position?

We really should know all about Lewis by now. He's a grafter and diligent pro, and a decent member of the squad. He can certainly cover at that position, but struggles to cut out crosses and offers little going forward from LB.