27-05-2013, 01:14 AM
Just put it back on the stand already!

Denverhibby
27-05-2013, 03:38 AM
Just put it back on the stand already!
100% agree please put it back in time for next years final

Drem
27-05-2013, 07:29 PM
Better the complete badge and a sign saying "Welcome to Hibernian Football Club".
Better than the dull front that is there now.

27-05-2013, 09:53 PM
The current badge is perfect and represents everything this club was and is now. As everybody knows:

The Harp ..... Ireland

The Ship ..... Leith

The Castle .... Edinburgh

The White background to the castle represents Arthurs Seat.

I agree that the frontage of the main stand could do with Hibbying up a bit.

Actually, apart from looking down from Arthurs Seat the best aspect of the ground is as you walk up St Clair street .... a fairly big Hibernian Football Club sign on that stand would be pretty good.

jonny
27-05-2013, 10:50 PM
Better the complete badge and a sign saying "Welcome to Hibernian Football Club".
Better than the dull front that is there now.

I might be off here but I think the OP was referring to the 'hoodoo'. In the history of Hibernian book it says that a curse was put on the club and that we wouldn't win the Scottish cup until the harp returned.

neilmartinrocks
27-05-2013, 11:12 PM
I might be off here but I think the OP was referring to the 'hoodoo'. In the history of Hibernian book it says that a curse was put on the club and that we wouldn't win the Scottish cup until the harp returned.

so what the **** are we waiting for?!! :greengrin

hibee19
27-05-2013, 11:14 PM

Yeah, you were right :thumbsup:

27-05-2013, 11:40 PM
But the harp came down in the 50s so the hoodoo is nonsense. That said I would love to see a big harp on the stand.

hibee19
27-05-2013, 11:46 PM
But the harp came down in the 50s so the hoodoo is nonsense. That said I would love to see a big harp on the stand.

Whilst I wasn't exactly being deadly serious the counter argument would be the best chances we had were in the 50's and 70's.

Drem
28-05-2013, 05:15 AM
So lets say we win the cup next year.............................................. ...

LeithBoozy
28-05-2013, 06:49 AM
When they showed the architects picture of the new West stand, It clearly showed our badge, large and proud on it. Next to the ticket office, I thought it looked great, so what happened to it ?. :confused:

ginger_eejit
28-05-2013, 10:39 AM
Sheesh - it's been a good 15 years since there was a decent "Big ****** Harp" debate on the forums.

RASTBYC! indeed!

28-05-2013, 01:34 PM
Bring back The Harp.

28-05-2013, 01:38 PM
To be honest i would do anything possible that may help us win that ****ing cup. We could even try sacrificing a virgin in the centre circle at ER. If only we could track one down

28-05-2013, 01:42 PM
The Harp??

I thought we needed the Nuns to wash the jerseys before we would win it again or is that another curse altogether??!

28-05-2013, 01:56 PM
Where was the harp, and where is it now?

28-05-2013, 01:57 PM
I would have sold my very soul to the devil for us to win that bl**dy cup. 2 millions years by the burning fires could not make me feel any worse than i felt on Sunday evening.

28-05-2013, 02:06 PM
The stadium could definetely do with a bit of signage/ Hibs badge/ Welcome to Easter Road etc.

Could also do with a wash aswell, looks really grubby.

Chibs
28-05-2013, 02:54 PM
:fenlon
To be honest i would do anything possible that may help us win that ****ing cup. We could even try sacrificing a virgin in the centre circle at ER. If only we could track one down
The thought of Shaun(know all)Lawson being sacrificed in the centre circle at ER appeals to me:flag:

Moon unit
28-05-2013, 07:09 PM
The Harp??

I thought we needed the Nuns to wash the jerseys before we would win it again or is that another curse altogether??!

Find the Harp,get the Nuns to wash it,wash the jerseys,give the stand a lick of paint... And resign Sparky....then we might win the ba#tard thing!!!.

28-05-2013, 07:19 PM
Right i just heard about the harp curse.
Now just go and get that harp back up on the stand.
Go on then.
Do it now.
And send an Email apologising to all the gypsies.

28-05-2013, 07:42 PM

get guinness as sponsors.

pontius pilate
28-05-2013, 07:57 PM
Does it have to be the original harp? If so where has it been and why have the club not put it back? I do think we need to get some identity about the ground though

28-05-2013, 08:01 PM
Can it be any harp?.Coz if so i'm sure we can get fans to donate to by a new one.
Made in deepest Hibernia forged by raven haired emerald eyed females and placed on the stand by a leprechaun.

28-05-2013, 08:08 PM
If someone put a curse on the club for the club removing the Harp, then boo sucks to them. We are control of our destiny and identity. I love the Irish connection we have, but anyone willing to put a curse as devastating as this - for removing the Harp, needs to have a word.

Bitter curse casting wenches - OUT

Playing East Stirling in the Final - IN

hibee19
28-05-2013, 08:11 PM
I wonder how the club would respond to an e-mail suggesting they put the harp back up?

28-05-2013, 08:14 PM
I wonder how the club would respond to an e-mail suggesting they put the harp back up?Worth a try.could suggest they put the harp over the entrance, a ship to the left and a castle to the right.

hugo boss
28-05-2013, 08:17 PM
I wonder how the club would respond to an e-mail suggesting they put the harp back up? Go for it m8?

Devilstorment
28-05-2013, 08:36 PM
I wonder how the club would respond to an e-mail suggesting they put the harp back up?

What if they said the were keeping the money aside to sign Leigh??? which would you prefer?

hibee19
28-05-2013, 08:45 PM
What if they said the were keeping the money aside to sign Leigh??? which would you prefer?

I wasn't being serious. I would imagine I'd politely be told to get tae.

28-05-2013, 08:59 PM

Shaun Lawson?

28-05-2013, 09:20 PM
Shaun Lawson?

Hahaha

28-05-2013, 09:21 PM
Where was the harp, and where is it now?

I don't know but I hope someone comes along soon to tell us

hibby rae
28-05-2013, 10:54 PM

No chance of that if Sparky is signed.

Miguel
28-05-2013, 11:11 PM
Harry Swan's wife had the harp. Don't know who has it now.

bronca
28-05-2013, 11:40 PM

Could a fan led 'Kickstarter' type project to raise funds for putting up harp/badge emblems on the stand(s) be possible here? I'm aware similiar ideas for raising money for players has been mooted before, but whilst I'm not sure of the legalities or the willingness of the club to accept donations for playing staff, would such a scheme in this case be viable?

RCNG
29-05-2013, 07:20 AM
Any one got any photos of the harp?

Definitely up for contributing towards this!

29-05-2013, 07:40 AM
It would make sense to put it back up a week or 2 before our next final.The press would lap up the story and Im sure the psychological affect it would have on many of our support and players would be huge.

29-05-2013, 07:59 AM
Could a fan led 'Kickstarter' type project to raise funds for putting up harp/badge emblems on the stand(s) be possible here? I'm aware similiar ideas for raising money for players has been mooted before, but whilst I'm not sure of the legalities or the willingness of the club to accept donations for playing staff, would such a scheme in this case be viable?

Good idea, would definitely donate to that if it happend

29-05-2013, 08:01 AM
Shaun Lawson?

his mummy denies that claim

29-05-2013, 08:03 AM
Any one got any photos of the harp?

Definitely up for contributing towards this!Not great but here's an old pic

http://file048.bebo.com/15/large/2009/02/18/17/633458428a10135733349l.jpg

RCNG
29-05-2013, 08:23 AM
Not great but here's an old pic

http://file048.bebo.com/15/large/2009/02/18/17/633458428a10135733349l.jpg
That's brilliant.

Fan power would definitely be able to fund/maybe even create a new one?

29-05-2013, 05:37 PM
So if the harp was taken down when the old main stand was built,that was in 1924.
The very year we lost to Airdrie in the Scottish cup final.

29-05-2013, 05:49 PM
So getting back to the nuns washing the jerseys this was the story i was told , or maybe made up!

Way back in the day the nuns used to wash all the players strips. New owners (possibly with a Masonic connection) then took over and the nuns were ditched.

As the team were walking down the Royal Mile a gypsie shouted from a window above that 'you'll no win the Cup again until the nuns wash the jerseys'.

Anyone else heard this or maybe just the harp tale but a bit messed up!

29-05-2013, 06:04 PM
So if the harp was taken down when the old main stand was built,that was in 1924.
The very year we lost to Airdrie in the Scottish cup final.

It remained on the stand until the mid 1950s. Although from the end of WW2 onwards the crest which the club used to repesent itself in its day to day business was the Embra coat of arms amended to include a football and the heading Edinburgh Hibernian FC.

29-05-2013, 06:15 PM
We need to get a nun to put a harp on our stand.

Miguel
29-05-2013, 10:55 PM
From what I have read:
The gypsy story is a myth, perhaps inspired by the alleged gypsy curse on Derby County's old ground.
The nuns did used to wash the strips (the convent at St Mary's in Leith I think), but don't know when, or why they stopped - perhaps between 1902-14, or when club got a washing machine! Didn't Margaret Sinclair have something to do with looking after the kit?
The harp was taken down in the 1950s, apparently because of work to the front of the old stand/enclosure entrance. It's removal led to some of the claims about Harry Swan, dismissed by Alan Lugton's book. Apparently, the Harp was given to Harry's wife.
Lastly, it's great that the plaque has been placed in St Pat's, but we could really do with one on St Mary's StreetHalls where the club was actually founded.

Time For Heroes
30-05-2013, 06:16 AM
:fenlon
The thought of Shaun(know all)Lawson being sacrificed in the centre circle at ER appeals to me:flag:

Haha let's try it!

Time For Heroes
30-05-2013, 06:19 AM
Shaun Lawson?

Aye mate you need to have a wee look through keekback, being stuck in a lift with him is how I imagine hell, grade A twat