View Full Version : IRA songs...

davidw
26-05-2013, 04:44 PM
... all through large parts of the first half.

They will argue (I know they do) that they are political, not sectarian, songs but either way they are **** all to do with football and puts the Septic fans right up (down) there with Rangers. I really, really loathe them.

Thanks for listening. I'm so depressed. Again...

hibee19
26-05-2013, 05:04 PM

They will argue (I know they do) that they are political, not sectarian, songs but either way they are **** all to do with football and puts the Septic fans right up (down) there with Rangers. I really, really loathe them.

Haven't they always been right up there with Rangers? Most Hibs fans seem to feel more bitterness towards Rangers than Celtic which is strange to me given the story around the formation of Celtic. Shouldn't there be a bigger rivalry between us and Celtic than us and Rangers. Also, Neil Lennon's a total cock, more reason to hate them.

26-05-2013, 05:05 PM
There was Celtic songs? :confused:

26-05-2013, 05:08 PM
Piss poor support from Celtc. Couldn't tell you what they were singing. Despise them evrry bit as much as their brothers from Govan.

Would rather be a loser today than a gloryhunting to55er who 'supports' Celtc all the way from Dundee or somewhere.

26-05-2013, 05:18 PM
Loved it how we kept singing after FT and they were all sitting down silent. They left the stadium about 5 mins after we did. Best fans in the world though mind...

26-05-2013, 05:23 PM
my recollections of today, great hibee support. Extra poor hoops support, where were You?!!

26-05-2013, 05:24 PM
Loved it how we kept singing after FT and they were all sitting down silent. They left the stadium about 5 mins after we did. Best fans in the world though mind...

Celtic buses and cars in front of us on the road home. :agree:

26-05-2013, 05:26 PM
Too right - proud to be Hibs today - Celtc - glory hunting fuds - we deserve a better team though

26-05-2013, 06:09 PM
Terrorist sympathising $cum as per usual.

If that was a bunch of Muslims singing songs praising Al-Qaeda, it would be making front page headlines and be on the national news but because it's Celtic, it's accepted and swept under the carpet.

They might have a better football team than us but I thank God I'm not a Celtic fan.

:giruy:

26-05-2013, 06:22 PM
Terrorist sympathising $cum as per usual.

If that was a bunch of Muslims singing songs praising Al-Qaeda, it would be making front page headlines and be on the national news but because it's Celtic, it's accepted and swept under the carpet.

They might have a better football team than us but I thank God I'm not a Celtic fan.

:giruy:
its an away day at the football, pretty sure we sing a distastful song at tynie, who cares mate, its football its what fans do, sing songs to wind up whoever might get wound up by them, que sera

26-05-2013, 06:27 PM
[QUOTE=davidw;3621698]... all through large parts of the first half.

Agree, leave them to it. I am sure the authorities said they'd be cracking down on this sort of thing. Have Liverpool got any new songsheets for next season? If so the lesser greens might appreciate advance copies.

hibee19
26-05-2013, 06:27 PM
its an away day at the football, pretty sure we sing a distastful song at tynie, who cares mate, its football its what fans do, sing songs to wind up whoever might get wound up by them, que sera

Should terrorism-glorifying songs be what football fans do?

26-05-2013, 06:36 PM
Should terrorism-glorifying songs be what football fans do?
has it ever? its not a new thing is it, why folk seem shocked by there song choices baffles me, celtic away fans in particular have done it for decades, its not new its not clever but its in there blood, big bad mick sings the songs, his laddie will grow up singing them too

26-05-2013, 06:40 PM

There's a difference between a distasteful song and an illegal one.

As a proscribed terrorist organisation, it's illegal to support the IRA in this country, in any way, shape or form. Although you would be forgiven for not realising that fact considering the lack of action taken against the majority of Celtic fans who take part in this sort of behaviour time and time again and the lack of any media coverage that it gets.

Greatest fans in the world though...

26-05-2013, 06:49 PM
I was in the south upper and you could hear both them and us up there. I thought our fans were brilliant and we deserve better. Didn't hear any IRA pish from the celtic fans to be fair (for a change).

LeighLoyal
26-05-2013, 06:54 PM
Didn't hear anything from them in the ground but I heard some Ra crap outside. But no way are they anywhere near as bad as T'Rangers, and anybody who says they are is deaf or stupid.

hibee19
26-05-2013, 06:58 PM
has it ever? its not a new thing is it, why folk seem shocked by there song choices baffles me, celtic away fans in particular have done it for decades, its not new its not clever but its in there blood, big bad mick sings the songs, his laddie will grow up singing them too

Its got to stop. Fines don't do anything. Ban them from competitions.

26-05-2013, 07:43 PM
'Broad Black Brimmer' got an airing at one point, but for the most part I just heard the Hibs fans.

26-05-2013, 07:54 PM

As a proscribed terrorist organisation, it's illegal to support the IRA in this country, in any way, shape or form. Although you would be forgiven for not realising that fact considering the lack of action taken against the majority of Celtic fans who take part in this sort of behaviour time and time again and the lack of any media coverage that it gets.

your right its illegal to praise an organisation that is disbanded now and has no relevance in this society.there is no ira anymore.

26-05-2013, 07:57 PM
Didn't hear anything from them in the ground but I heard some Ra crap outside. But no way are they anywhere near as bad as T'Rangers, and anybody who says they are is deaf or stupid.

Celtic fans are worse than Rangers. Scuum.

26-05-2013, 08:03 PM

Couldnt make out any of their songs as whenever they started a song we immediately outsang them.

Out of interest what were they singing ?

...WentToMowAnSPL
26-05-2013, 08:05 PM
Couldnt make out any of their songs as whenever they started a song we immediately outsang them.

Out of interest what were they singing ?

There was quite a loud one near the start it went 'boooooooooooooooo !'

26-05-2013, 08:10 PM
I didn't hear it because we were much louder, but it doesn't surprise me, it merely shows the difference between the two clubs; both founded in the Irish tradition, they adopting a very narrow view of Irishness and what it means. Many of them will have never been there but follow the herd in its celebration of the lowest common denominator. Our club pre-exists them and is truly open to all. Let's celebrate that.

26-05-2013, 08:18 PM

Andy Goram's pals are equally illegal. shape or form. a fu**in hoodoo over Scottish fitbaw, cast...... by an ex Hibs goalie.

26-05-2013, 08:59 PM

I heard literally nothing for the Celtc fans apart from cheers at the goals, a half baked YNWA and that copycat Poznan thing. For 90% of the game you could have heard a mouse fart.

Our end on the other hand. Would love to see the last 10 minutes including the few minutes after the final whistle. Owned them off the park.

26-05-2013, 09:03 PM
Heard nothing as we out sung them all day, not really interested in what they sing anyway though for some reason certain folk always seem intent on listening to them. If easily offended don't listen to them it's easily done!

SmallvilleHibee
26-05-2013, 09:21 PM
your right its illegal to praise an organisation that is disbanded now and has no relevance in this society.there is no ira anymore.

By that logic it is okay to sing about Nazi's. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

GavinHarris 10
26-05-2013, 09:24 PM
There were celtic fans at hampden today? Never heard them.

Russ
26-05-2013, 09:58 PM

They're ****, and they know they are.

Miguel
26-05-2013, 10:33 PM
For me, HibernianAlba has it right.

26-05-2013, 10:38 PM
By that logic it is okay to sing about Nazi's. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
national socialists you mean? and when was the last time you heard songs sung about nazis :rolleyes:

SmallvilleHibee
26-05-2013, 10:41 PM
national socialists you mean? and when was the last time you heard songs sung about nazis :rolleyes:

5 months ago West Ham sang at a Spurs support "Adolf Hitler he's coming for you!!!" and no i mean Nazi

26-05-2013, 10:51 PM
about as pathetic a thread as the celtic support today. never heard a thing but if you want a moan dont let that stop you

rossi
26-05-2013, 10:53 PM
If we're really getting offended/insulted or whatever, there's surely worse things than the songs people are singing at a football game??

26-05-2013, 11:05 PM
5 months ago West Ham sang at a Spurs support "Adolf Hitler he's coming for you!!!" and no i mean Nazi

Nazi was the shortened term used to describe the national socialist members, remember that next pub quiz your in.

26-05-2013, 11:11 PM

Eh? Cant say I heard their support all game. Hibs support was brilliant today. I think we need to concentrate on our Club and what we need to do to get this monkey off our backs rather than listen to everything the opposing supporters sing.

SmallvilleHibee
26-05-2013, 11:21 PM
Nazi was the shortened term used to describe the national socialist members, remember that next pub quiz your in.

What has that got do do with football chants?

skankomcphee
26-05-2013, 11:26 PM
about as pathetic a thread as the celtic support today. never heard a thing but if you want a moan dont let that stop you

You weren't listening very closely then. I heard a long medley of Roll of Honour / Aiden McAnespie / Boys of the Old Brigade, none of which have the remotest connection to the Scottish Cup Final.

SmallvilleHibee
26-05-2013, 11:28 PM
You weren't listening very closely then. I heard a long medley of Roll of Honour / Aiden McAnespie / Boys of the Old Brigade, none of which have the remotest connection to the Scottish Cup Final.

Heard all these and several renditions of the "Celtic Symphony" on my journey to Hampden.

26-05-2013, 11:35 PM

I dont like the huns singing god save the queen either but we need to move on. Hibs are all that matters.

27-05-2013, 12:03 AM

Fair enough, never noticed any noise from them untill their thrid and that lastest about 2 mins

27-05-2013, 12:19 AM
What has that got do do with football chants?

You mentioned nazis in relation to a thread about ira songs did you not. Fanny.

lEXO
27-05-2013, 12:22 AM
I was to busy singing to hear what they were singing. Them and their songs mean absolutely nowt to me.

JOD
27-05-2013, 12:38 AM
SO WHAT/// WE OUTSANG THEM TO-DAY EVEN IN THE HOSPITALITY/// we are Hibernian FC f--- THEM A---

27-05-2013, 05:56 AM
Horrible rancid club with ***** glory hunting, song nicking, deluded "fans". Don't know what they were singing yesterday as for most of the game they were silent and out sang by the fantastic hibs support. Most of them barely stayed after the presentation. Best fans in the world? hahaha don't make me laugh!

Celtic fans always claim to be saints and its big bad rangers that are the bad ones.

hibbiedon
27-05-2013, 06:28 AM

We got stuck behind loads of celtic buses as well, is glasgow an away game for that shower ?

27-05-2013, 06:50 AM

"A long medley"? All I could hear from their end was general noise which was drowned out by our continuous deafening singing. You must have bat like hearing and an indepth knowledge of the Republican songbook to have identified all the songs in that "medley".

What they did or didnt sing most important thing for me yesterday was that our support was brilliant.

27-05-2013, 03:00 PM

Got off the train at central and there was 100s of them hanging about. How the duck does that happen :O

27-05-2013, 03:25 PM
Had a wee look at a couple of Celtic forums today and apparently we are a 'disgrace' for booing the Fields of Athenry and The Soldiers Song.

First off all I didn't think we booed any particular songs, just general booing or extra loud singing to shut them up on the couple of occasions they bothered to sing. Secondly whilst neither of those songs are sectarian they have no place in a Scottish football ground either.

27-05-2013, 03:25 PM
Got off the train at central and there was 100s of them hanging about. How the duck does that happen :O

There was a patronising baldy scrote in a Celtic to at Queen Street station who was patting Hibs fans on the shoulder and back and saying 'Always next year, hard luck' and so on. He tried doing it to me and I told him to **** off. Celtic fans are **** and try and treat us as their cousins when really they can all just **** off as they are total fannies.

27-05-2013, 03:28 PM
Had a wee look at a couple of Celtic forums today and apparently we are a 'disgrace' for booing the Fields of Athenry and The Soldiers Song.

First off all I didn't think we booed any particular songs, just general booing or extra loud singing to shut them up on the couple of occasions they bothered to sing. Secondly whilst neither of those songs are sectarian they have no place in a Scottish football ground either.

I would take those comments a bit more seriously if those same people weren't booing any rendition of God Save The Queen or holding protests on Remembrance Sunday.

Why they call themselves Glasgow Celtic, I'll never know. There's nothing Scottish about them except the location of their stadium.

27-05-2013, 04:16 PM
I used to live and work in Glasgow and had a few interesting arguments with Celtc fans on whether or not it was acceptable to sing 'Rebel'/IRA songs at football matches. I eventually gave up trying to reason with those people because they would recite the same baffling logic supporting it every time. It was like talking to some cult member that was totally brainwashed and had a pre-programmed list of answers but no logical argument.

Sadly, there are 2 or 3 people on this thread that remind me of those very people.

yeezus.
27-05-2013, 06:37 PM
Couldn't hear them thankfully. Great atmosphere in the Hibs end, cracking day out.

gillythehibby
27-05-2013, 06:45 PM
I don't see the issue with the fields of Athenry. it's an irish folk song. There should be no reason to boo it either as its neither offensive or pro-terrorist. It's no different to singing any other non football song at dozens of grounds. Just my opinion mind.

27-05-2013, 06:52 PM
Never heard one tic song bar a half hearted YNWA. The Hibs end was rocking and I swear if we had scored with that Doyle chance the roof was coming off Hampden Park. Celtic have the trophy but we have dignity, pride, and once and for all after last year and how "it ended us" showed we have our club back and the support is stronger now than its been for a very long time.

kdhibees1
27-05-2013, 07:02 PM
http://ifyouknowtheirhistory.blogspot.co.uk/
Some outrageous articles on this site! They really are vermin!

27-05-2013, 07:04 PM
I don't see the issue with the fields of Athenry. it's an irish folk song. There should be no reason to boo it either as its neither offensive or pro-terrorist. It's no different to singing any other non football song at dozens of grounds. Just my opinion mind.

Is it booed cos its a folk song? probably on the part of some but reckon most of it is just to drown out the oposition. Definately not an IRA song so if anyone is offended by it then speaks alot about their own prejudices.

27-05-2013, 07:06 PM
http://ifyouknowtheirhistory.blogspot.co.uk/
Some outrageous articles on this site! They really are vermin!

the fact theres even a website like that sums up everything thats wrong with the old firm. no doubt theirs a rangers version as well

27-05-2013, 07:12 PM

I don't believe any Hibs fans booed the Fields of Athenry becaus it was that song. It was booed because it was being sung by oppositiin fans. The fact Celtic fans believe we should show it more respect than any other songs speaks volumes about them.

Fwiw I actually quite like the Fields of Athenry as a song, indeed I joined in with it when I was at an Ireland international with my Irish cousins a couple of years ago.

I still fail to see why Hibs fans would be a disgrace for booing it tjough or what relevance it has to Hibs or Celtic in 2013.

27-05-2013, 07:50 PM
Why they call themselves Glasgow Celtic, I'll never know. There's nothing Scottish about them except the location of their stadium.

I would guess that over 95% of Celtic fans there yesterday, and who attend Celtic Park on a regular basis, are Scots. I don`t take Celtic fans seriously to be honest.

No group of fans has such an inflated opinion of themselves as Celtic. Then again, no group of fans is laughed at by fans of every club such as Celtic.

27-05-2013, 07:53 PM
Can't say I heard them sing any IRA songs but to be fair I hardly heard them at all. But a Celtic supporting colleague tried to claim they out sung us. They genuinely believe they are the best fans in the world. Totally deluded

gillythehibby
27-05-2013, 08:01 PM
I would guess that over 95% of Celtic fans there yesterday, and who attend Celtic Park on a regular basis, are Scots. I don`t take Celtic fans seriously to be honest.

No group of fans has such an inflated opinion of themselves as Celtic. Then again, no group of fans is laughed at by fans of every club such as Celtic.
What aboot hertz fans :-)

davidw
27-05-2013, 08:14 PM
Can't say I heard them sing any IRA songs but to be fair I hardly heard them at all. But a Celtic supporting colleague tried to claim they out sung us. They genuinely believe they are the best fans in the world. Totally deluded

Think it depends where you were in the ground. Presume all those saying they couldn't hear them were in the North; I was in the top of the South and you could hear both lots. And for large parts of the first half their songs were about the IRA - hence the original post (and NB this wasn't the Fields of Athenry, these were IRA-specific songs).

I was just depressed and in a bad mood when I posted to be honest. However, the serious point is I know lots of Septic fans who go on about how they are not like Rangers fans - yesterday just confirmed they are to all intensive purposes one and the same.

27-05-2013, 08:31 PM

You're probably correct but you would be forgiven for thinking that wasn't the case if you listened to the songs they sing or saw any pictures from their end.

27-05-2013, 11:27 PM
They add a bit to the FoA with specific reference to the IRA. They are vermin - and no better than the Huns. Scotland's shame.

ginger_eejit
28-05-2013, 02:07 AM
On the telly I heard a rendition of "Fields on Athenry" and a "Broad Black Brimmer"

On the Celtic boards apparently we are "soup taking uncle toms" for booing Fields of Athenry and Soldiers Song

I remember remarking near half time - "Haw - that's us you can hear" after a loud a huge rendition of We are Hibernian FC

28-05-2013, 11:28 AM
On the telly I heard a rendition of "Fields on Athenry" and a "Broad Black Brimmer"

On the Celtic boards apparently we are "soup taking uncle toms" for booing Fields of Athenry and Soldiers Song

I remember remarking near half time - "Haw - that's us you can hear" after a loud a huge rendition of We are Hibernian FC

You would have thought that fans of a club like Celtic, who have enjoyed so much success over the years in Scotland and also in Europe and had so many great players would have no problems in finding songs to sing to celebrate all these things.

Instead, but for a few exceptions, they can't seem to sing anything other than songs that, at best, bear no relation to football and, at worst, are actually breaking the law.

It's quite sad.

neilmartinrocks
28-05-2013, 11:34 AM

thats a bit much especially from that bunch of treaty signing *******s!!

28-05-2013, 11:35 AM
'Broad Black Brimmer' got an airing at one point, but for the most part I just heard the Hibs fans.

There's a boy on Keechydate St., asking why the 80's rebel nonsense - including BBB - was necessary.

Clearly the other Smellsick fans start having a go at him.

I don't believe any Hibs fans booed the Fields of Athenry becaus it was that song. It was booed because it was being sung by oppositiin fans. The fact Celtic fans believe we should show it more respect than any other songs speaks volumes about them.

Fwiw I actually quite like the Fields of Athenry as a song, indeed I joined in with it when I was at an Ireland international with my Irish cousins a couple of years ago.

I still fail to see why Hibs fans would be a disgrace for booing it tjough or what relevance it has to Hibs or Celtic in 2013.

FWIW, I like FOA also. It has its place - it's not at Scottish fitba matches though.

28-05-2013, 11:38 AM
You would have thought that fans of a club like Celtic, who have enjoyed so much success over the years in Scotland and also in Europe and had so many great players would have no problems in finding songs to sing to celebrate all these things.

Instead, but for a few exceptions, they can't seem to sing anything other than songs that, at best, bear no relation to football and, at worst, are actually breaking the law.

It's quite sad.

Agree with your opening sentence. Re the part in bold, one thing I have never understood, is why singing republican/orange songs is outlawed, but there are numerous orange walks/republican marches throughout the year, where the bands play all the "tunes". Can't get my head around that one.

neilmartinrocks
28-05-2013, 11:46 AM
Agree with your opening sentence. Re the part in bold, one thing I have never understood, is why singing republican/orange songs is outlawed, but there are numerous orange walks/republican marches throughout the year, where the bands play all the "tunes". Can't get my head around that one.

There was an orange walk in Perth the day before the final and all the old faves were played although when a group of 9-10 of them started singing a polis woman went over and gave them caution. Seems its only the WORDS that are sectarian and illegal not the actual tunes.:confused:

28-05-2013, 11:48 AM
There was an orange walk in Perth the day before the final and all the old faves were played although when a group of 9-10 of them started singing a polis woman went over and gave them caution. Seems its only the WORDS that are sectarian and illegal not the actual tunes.:confused:

Thanks for that, still can't get my head around that though......Strange law

neilmartinrocks
28-05-2013, 12:05 PM
Thanks for that, still can't get my head around that though......Strange law

Only in Scotland eh?:greengrin

Miguel
29-05-2013, 11:12 PM
Hibs fans used to sing rebel songs. Died out in late 70s/early 80s, probably as troubles became more intense.
I suppose, to be fair, other clubs sing political songs too, notably Barcelona. But they are seen as the Catalan national team. I assume that Celtic see themselves as the representatives of the Irish 'nation' in Scotland. The trouble with Celtic, in my opinion, is that they have become time warped. Dundee Hibs changed to United to broaden their appeal and have now no discernible acknowledgement of their Irish roots (think they had a green away top at one point for an anniversary?). Hibs have got it just right, acknowledging all parts of the club's identity. No need for rebel songs. We know who we are.

Smiggy 7-0
30-05-2013, 08:49 AM
Hibs fans used to sing rebel songs. Died out in late 70s/early 80s, probably as troubles became more intense.
I suppose, to be fair, other clubs sing political songs too, notably Barcelona. But they are seen as the Catalan national team. I assume that Celtic see themselves as the representatives of the Irish 'nation' in Scotland. The trouble with Celtic, in my opinion, is that they have become time warped. Dundee Hibs changed to United to broaden their appeal and have now no discernible acknowledgement of their Irish roots (think they had a green away top at one point for an anniversary?). Hibs have got it just right, acknowledging all parts of the club's identity. No need for rebel songs. We know who we are.

Exactly mate....Sectarianism and bigotry not welcome at Easter Road, and shouldn't be anywhere else either.

30-05-2013, 09:45 AM
Celtic fan who sang IRA song is cleared of football offence

JOHN JEFFAY

Wednesday 29 May 2013

A CELTIC fan who sang a pro-IRA song at a match has been cleared in a landmark ruling of behaving in an offensive manner likely to incite public disorder.

The Roll of Honour is a pro-IRA song commemorating hunger strikers in Northern Ireland prisons. Calum Graham, 21, was identified on video by police singing The Roll of Honour when Inverness Caledonian Thistle played at home against Celtic on August 25, 2012.
The Offensive Behaviour at Football legislation has been criticised by lawyers since its introduction last year. They claim supporters are facing police harassment, with their rights routinely eroded. And, they say, many cases brought against fans have been dropped or found not proven.

Mr Graham, from Glasgow, admitted he was one of a group singing the song, and he had often done so. But he denied behaving in an offensive manner likely to incite public disorder. Clearing Graham, Inverness Sheriff Margaret Neilson said it was not enough for a chant to be offensive, it also had to be "likely to incite public disorder".

"Parliament clearly has it in mind that you must pass this hurdle for it to be an offence," she explained, admitting she had "certain sympathy" with the police trying to deal with the legislation. The court heard Graham was among dozens of fans caught chanting on camera by officers drafted in from Glasgow.

PC Barry Inglis told the Inverness Sheriff Court trial he believed the song could have sparked trouble at the near sell-out game. The fact it did not was down to the strong police presence and the number of stewards on duty.

He added the song had been changed to include the words: "England you're a *******". Asked by defence solicitor Duncan Henderson how many of the dozens singing the song were arrested, he said only two arrests were made. Mr Henderson said the Roll of Honour spoke of the aspirations of Ireland becoming "a nation once again" and asked PC Inglis if the anthem for the Scotland football and rugby teams, Flower of Scotland, contained a similar ideas.

The officer agreed it did but added The Roll of Honour was a song which supported a terrorist organisation. Police Sergeant Neil Macleod who trains officers about offensive behaviour at football grounds, was on duty at the match and at half-time was told complaints had been received about songs.

Mr Graham was easily identified because he wore a distinctive white tee-shirt and was raising his arms. Mr Graham, said to have never been in trouble with police before, told the court he had been to more than 300 Celtic matches and regularly sang the song.

After the case he said: "I'm relieved. The last 10 months have been terrible and I'm glad it's all over." But he added: "I will never sing the song again."

After the case Scottish Tory chief whip John Lamont said: "It's no surprise to see chaotic legislation drawn up on the hoof is failing to work. Like so many things the SNP does, it was simply not thought through.

"And the problem then gets worse, because as courtroom snubs of this nature increase, the very people the Scottish Government were trying to crack down on become more brazen."

Dave Scott, campaign director for anti-sectarian charity Nil By Mouth, said: "It is very important that we do not ignore the political dimension to sectarianism in Scotland and the vast majority of people would believe that the song in question has no place at a football match.

"However, this outcome and the sheriff's remarks underline the urgent need to review this legislation as there seems to be considerable confusion between the courts, politicians, police and supporters as to what constitutes a breach of this law."

http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/home-news/celtic-fan-who-sang-ira-song-is-cleared-of-football-offence.21190285

30-05-2013, 09:46 AM

Big difference is that we've grown up and see a football stadium as a place where you support your team, not cling to a sectarian tribe in order to bolster your own personal inadequacy.

They might follow a moneyed, trophy-winning side for those very same reasons, but that desperation and idiocy only marks them out as life's losers.

30-05-2013, 10:15 AM

I suppose the authorities could argue that the tune could be changed to have alternative lyrics that aren't offensive/illegal or whatever and if someone was arrested for simply playing a tune on an instrument, it would have no chance of conviction if it went to court for the reason I've just explained above and any lawyer worth their salt would get their client off.

However as soon as someone opens their mouth and starts singing the song, there is no dubiety as to what they are actually singing about.

Yep.

Totally comfortable with the balance we have struck.

Green home strip, harp as part of the crest and the name Hibernian.

For me, that is all that is required. It's quite obvious from all of the above that we have Irish roots and I think it's correct that the club acknowledges that.

There's absolutely no need to then start singing the kind of songs that are heard at Parkhead on a weekly basis. For me, that goes way beyond celebrating your Irish roots. I know those songs used to be heard at Easter Road but I'm glad that, over the last 30-40 years or so, we have grown up as a club and become a fully modern Scottish football club who is still proud of its heritage.

I would absolutely hate Easter Road to have the kind of atmosphere that is generated at Parkhead and if we ever hear those sorts of songs making an appearance at Easter Road, it'll be the day that I pack it all in.

30-05-2013, 12:05 PM
The modern day charitable activities undertaken by the Dnipro guys and girls, St Pats branch and other groups of Hibbies is a direct link back to the charitable ethos of our founding fathers and is a 100% better way of keeping that ethos alive than the plastic blarneyfication practiced by the lesser greens.

The big difference of course is that we have that original ethos, while the lesser greens used us as a template for a purely business project dressed up in a mythical charitable veneer.

30-05-2013, 02:29 PM
Exactly mate....Sectarianism and bigotry not welcome at Easter Road, and shouldn't be anywhere else either.

Pre-match on Sunday, we went to some rugby club for a beer. Whilst sitting waiting for the bar to open, another bus came in and with them was an older guy wearing a Hibs turban. Even better for me was his (possibly) grandson who was about 10 years at a guess, and he too had a Hibs turban on and he looked really smart too. Somebody (mum?) had taken a lot of time to get him dressed head to toe in Hibs gear and he looked quite proud of himself, and so he should have, it was great to see them both.

30-05-2013, 05:48 PM
Big difference is that we've grown up and see a football stadium as a place where you support your team, not cling to a sectarian tribe in order to bolster your own personal inadequacy.

They might follow a moneyed, trophy-winning side for those very same reasons, but that desperation and idiocy only marks them out as life's losers.

:agree::top marks

yeezus.
30-05-2013, 06:19 PM

:agree: Spot on! :top marks

Salisbury Hibby
30-05-2013, 07:48 PM
Pre-match on Sunday, we went to some rugby club for a beer. Whilst sitting waiting for the bar to open, another bus came in and with them was an aolder guy wearing a Hibs turban. Even better for me was his (possibly) grandson who was about 10 years at a guess, and he too had a Hibs turban on and he looked really smart too. Somebody had taken a lot of time to get him dressed head to toe in Hibs gear and he looked quite proud of himself, and so he should have, it was great to see them both. I love this. Hibernian, to me, is all about being inclusive and all are welcome. You don't need to pass some sort of initiation process.

30-05-2013, 09:25 PM
The modern day charitable activities undertaken by the Dnipro guys and girls, St Pats branch and other groups of Hibbies is a direct link back to the charitable ethos of our founding fathers and is a 100% better way of keeping that ethos alive than the plastic blarneyfication practiced by the lesser greens.

The big difference of course is that we have that original ethos, while the lesser greens used us as a template for a purely business project dressed up in a mythical charitable veneer.

Pre-match on Sunday, we went to some rugby club for a beer. Whilst sitting waiting for the bar to open, another bus came in and with them was an aolder guy wearing a Hibs turban. Even better for me was his (possibly) grandson who was about 10 years at a guess, and he too had a Hibs turban on and he looked really smart too. Somebody had taken a lot of time to get him dressed head to toe in Hibs gear and he looked quite proud of himself, and so he should have, it was great to see them both.

Two great posts. :thumbsup:

31-05-2013, 08:15 AM
Pre-match on Sunday, we went to some rugby club for a beer. Whilst sitting waiting for the bar to open, another bus came in and with them was an older guy wearing a Hibs turban. Even better for me was his (possibly) grandson who was about 10 years at a guess, and he too had a Hibs turban on and he looked really smart too. Somebody (mum?) had taken a lot of time to get him dressed head to toe in Hibs gear and he looked quite proud of himself, and so he should have, it was great to see them both.

Saw a family at the semi-final fitting this description and thought it was great.

Leith has had a reasonably large Asian community for as long as I can remember and I for one think it's fantastic to see some become part of the Hibs Family.

The more the merrier, in my opinion... though I do draw the line at people from the 'Pans.... Wally Toi rool!