View Full Version : Match Updates Scottish Cup Final - Hibernian 0 v Celtic 3 official update thread

26-05-2013, 11:33 AM
Can't add tags on my phone so if an admin will happily oblige (and remove the brackets at the end).

Here it is - the cup final thread.

19AYR10
26-05-2013, 11:39 AM
Good Luck Hibbees, from an Ayr fan.

26-05-2013, 11:40 AM
Come on Hibs!!!!

26-05-2013, 11:40 AM
We have all got to believe that today is the day, if we can pull this off we will have the biggest party ever.

If we can play with passion, pride and belief there is no reason why we cannot win this, as someone said in another thread if there is a God he has to make it our day.

So c'mon the Hibees let's do this.

Also looks like Sparky starting so good news all round

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub PIC: Forget the hype, ignore the rumours - see this picture and get ready for kick-off #hfcpersevere (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hfcpersevere&src=hash) #hibeesathampden (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibeesathampden&src=hash) pic.twitter.com/0rtjuc6XjT (http://t.co/0rtjuc6XjT)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BLL-lEPCcAAF73_.jpg

26-05-2013, 11:41 AM
There's only one way to start this thread...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZmELS03_4So

26-05-2013, 11:43 AM
Hampden is ready

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BLMDUQ4CAAEKdUO.jpg

26-05-2013, 11:46 AM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub PIC: Inside the Hibernian dressing room at Hampden - three hours before kick off #hfcpersevere (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hfcpersevere&src=hash) #hibeesathampden (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibeesathampden&src=hash)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BLL-DP6CIAAanjs.jpg

26-05-2013, 11:47 AM
Brave decision by the op to take on the responsibility. Well done.

A good, committed performancr with plenty fight and pride and i'll accept whatever happebs.

26-05-2013, 11:48 AM
good luck to all,,,those who are lucky to get tickets :flag::flag::flag:
those like me who will be watching in the boozer :flag::flag::flag:
those who will be watching in there own homes near or far :flag::flag::flag:
:pfgwa
bt

26-05-2013, 11:53 AM
Good Luck Hibbees, from an Ayr fan.

Thanks mate!

26-05-2013, 11:59 AM
Nice hairdo

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BLMKM9GCIAEKIBG.jpg

sbell1875
26-05-2013, 12:05 PM
Just stepped off the train at Queen Street and the Counting House just down from the station is heaving with Hibees. The nerves are really starting to kick in though!

I pray to God I hope we can do it today! Ggtth!

IndieHibby
26-05-2013, 12:07 PM
Aaaaaaaaaaaaarrrrgggggggtttthhhhh!

26-05-2013, 12:09 PM
Hey Broony! o.g. winner in 89 min. & you'll be forever a Hibs legend :aok:

26-05-2013, 12:11 PM
Arrived in Glasgow. Good feeling about today...

26-05-2013, 12:13 PM
Cup final build up started on BBC1, panel is Pat Nevin, Gary Caldwell & John Hartson

26-05-2013, 12:19 PM
Sparky out on the park listening to his music, looks pretty healthy to me.

Feeling he is going to have a good day. :thumbsup:

26-05-2013, 12:36 PM
In my seat already :-)

26-05-2013, 12:46 PM
Watching the game in Spain today, c'mon Hibs, make yourselves legends!

26-05-2013, 12:51 PM
Watching on tv - only took them 20 seconds to mention having not won the big shiny thing for 111 years and 1min 30sec to mention THAT result last year.

26-05-2013, 12:54 PM
Getting geared up here in Brittany.

Allez les verts!!!!!!

26-05-2013, 12:59 PM
Hearing Maybury starting

26-05-2013, 01:00 PM
Cup Final Team is

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub Hibernian: Williams, Maybury, Forster, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Taiwo, Claros, Thomson, Doyle, Griffiths #hfcpersevere (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hfcpersevere&src=hash)

26-05-2013, 01:02 PM
@STVSport: Celtic team: Forster, Lustig, Wilson, Mulgrew, Izaguirre, Commons, Brown, Ledley, Forrest, Stokes, Hooper http://t.co/xOI3wfyeL7

26-05-2013, 01:04 PM
captain james has said he will be putting the strip on to lift the cup...should we win of course :) :flag: mon the home team

26-05-2013, 01:05 PM
Just in the ground - quite relaxed - display card we put in hibs 30 people dugout is still proudlyt there - let's see the subs and backroom staff play their part and hold it high and proud :)

26-05-2013, 01:08 PM
Ben Williams captain today

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub Ben Williams will lead the team out of the tunnel for the 2013 William Hill Scottish Cup Final #hfcpersevere (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hfcpersevere&src=hash)

All we ask Ben is a clean sheet today. :agree:

gf77
26-05-2013, 01:09 PM
Totally gutted I'm not there, but watching from home, feel like I've been waiting forever and there's still another hour to go aggghhh :flag:

26-05-2013, 01:10 PM
Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub SUBS: Murdoch, Stevenson, Caldwell, Handling, Robertson #hfcpersevere (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hfcpersevere&src=hash) #hibeesathampden (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hibeesathampden&src=hash)

26-05-2013, 01:20 PM
Cup Final Team is

Hibernian FC ‏@HibernianFCClub Hibernian: Williams, Maybury, Forster, Hanlon, McGivern, Harris, Taiwo, Claros, Thomson, Doyle, Griffiths #hfcpersevere (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23hfcpersevere&src=hash) Happy with that selection, to be honest, can't think of anyone could come in and improve it. [Given the fact McPake and Clancy are both injured] Just need them ALL to perform to the best of their ability. please god please let us score one more than them. On a side note, sorry to see Spoony isn't even quoted in the 16 selected. MAY be an indication he is on way out of E/R ?

gogsy23
26-05-2013, 01:20 PM
Mon the cabbage. Dont let them settle and nail broony in the 1st 5 mins.

26-05-2013, 01:23 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BLMZwoUCMAAXUFW.jpg:large

26-05-2013, 01:24 PM
Mon the cabbage. Dont let them settle and nail broony in the 1st 5 mins.
Dinnae think it would do any good, plenty o' teams have tried that in the past and imo it just makes him play even better. Think it would be better for us to play well and give them something to worry about.

26-05-2013, 01:30 PM
Hampden Park bathed in sunshine at the moment - Hibs players out doing their warm up - here's to a concentrated and spirited performance by our Hibs team today - we're good enough to beat Celtic - looking forward to seeing history being made ... let's have that cup then guys!:flag:

beastie
26-05-2013, 01:33 PM
C'mon the cabbage.

Get right roond them!!

Make us proud ;)

Glory, Glory......

26-05-2013, 01:34 PM
was trying to remain calm before this final but the nerves and excitement have caught up with me now, lets do this!!:flag:

26-05-2013, 01:39 PM
Filling up nicely

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/BLMg0dmCcAAY7PA.jpg:large

Pat 0-7
26-05-2013, 01:40 PM
Come on Hibs, 100% effort and a big slice of luck could see us win this!!!

26-05-2013, 01:41 PM
Hibs fans have just completed a superb rendition of Sunshine on Leith while Celtc make do with an English team's song...so that's us one up already...:greengrin

gf77
26-05-2013, 01:41 PM
I feel sick, don't remember being this nervous last year! C'mon Hibs!!:flag::flag::flag:

26-05-2013, 01:43 PM
Watching in the hoose ! Just seen Dougray Scott on the build up programme yummy ! Cmon my bonny boys you can do it !:flag::flag:

26-05-2013, 01:44 PM
gie the baw tae reilly

26-05-2013, 01:46 PM
gie the baw tae reilly

Gie the baw tae Griffiths. :flag:

26-05-2013, 01:52 PM
Neil Doncaster 3 seats behind me. Eurgh

26-05-2013, 01:56 PM
i'm not asking for much....just a clean sheet for ben williams shall suffice

blaikie
26-05-2013, 01:57 PM
Best lineup possible! CMON!!!!! :pfgwa

DAVE1875
26-05-2013, 01:58 PM
Neil Lennon not even shaking the Hibs player's hands

26-05-2013, 01:58 PM
This is it Hibs, please don't blow it early doors and make sure we are still at least in this game after the first half.

We can do this.

:hibees:pfgwa:flag:

26-05-2013, 01:59 PM
Mon Hibs :flag::flag::flag:

26-05-2013, 02:02 PM
Good bit of dig from Claros there.

26-05-2013, 02:03 PM
Corner Hibs

Taiwo over the bar from 18yds.

26-05-2013, 02:05 PM
Point blank save from doyler header :(

26-05-2013, 02:05 PM
Doyle header saved.

Great start from Hibs

26-05-2013, 02:06 PM
Good start from Hibs, getting plenty possession.

Good play by Hibs and header by Doyle well saved.

C'mon the Hibees.

26-05-2013, 02:06 PM
mon hibs keep this up

26-05-2013, 02:07 PM
aw FFS hibs

Baws - Hooper 1-0

Baws !

FFS typical we've started well and concede a poxy goal.

Effin gutted

blaikie
26-05-2013, 02:08 PM
1-0 Celtic :brickwall

p@ss poor defending imo

8 ****** mins

Poor defending .. By more than one Hibs player :-(

26-05-2013, 02:09 PM
our achiles heel...

26-05-2013, 02:11 PM
Count up the errors but stop once you get into double figures.....Come on boys, keep calm.

26-05-2013, 02:11 PM
sellick finding plenty of space down our left hand side

26-05-2013, 02:14 PM
4 empty seats in my area!!

26-05-2013, 02:19 PM
mon hibs fans SING

26-05-2013, 02:19 PM
FFS now Sparky not looking to happy, holding his calf, we can't afford to lose him.

26-05-2013, 02:22 PM
Stokes into the side netting.

Celtic have a bit more possession since their goal, but aren't doing that much with the ball.

26-05-2013, 02:25 PM
great fighting my taiwo

followed by a clumsy challenge

gogsy23
26-05-2013, 02:27 PM
Sparky struggling. Personally our rb and left are too slow

26-05-2013, 02:27 PM
c'mon doyler man

blaikie
26-05-2013, 02:29 PM
MAYBURY!!!!!! :rolleyes:

26-05-2013, 02:29 PM
ah well same as 1st goal, hanlon and McGivern just can't defend against one player again

26-05-2013, 02:30 PM
2-0 Hooper

Another Stokes cross.

26-05-2013, 02:30 PM
Same old story I'm afraid.

We're missing McPake unfortunately.

Always next year. :rolleyes:

26-05-2013, 02:31 PM
Maybury giving Stokes yards and yards of room plus poor defending against Hooper ... Men against boys

26-05-2013, 02:31 PM
Defence a mess at crosses.

gf77
26-05-2013, 02:32 PM
Hibs fans heading for the exit already!

26-05-2013, 02:33 PM
sparky down on the turf now

that **** mulgrew kneed griffiths in the calf there

gf77
Sparky gonna have to come off I reckon

Looks like Sparky has been carrying an injury, probably be replaced soon.

Griffiths looking as if he's toiling.

What are the odds of a repeat of last years scoreline?

blaikie
2-0 Down
Sparky Injured
Completely ***** fullbacks

26-05-2013, 02:34 PM
Hanlon's too saft!

He, McGivern and Williams 6+ bt by half-pint Hooper ffs!

26-05-2013, 02:35 PM
Hibs are actually playing well in patches then stupid defensive errors ruins all the good work !!!

blaikie
26-05-2013, 02:36 PM
We've drew 2-2 with this mod earlier this season c'mon hibs ffs!!!!!

26-05-2013, 02:37 PM
Unlucky Sparky - great work!

gf77
Ahhhhhhhh griffiths so close!!! Cmon hibs!!!

get a grip McGivern ffs man

What are the odds of a repeat of last years scoreline?

Not if we don't score. :-)

You don't win finals missing chances like doyle and Griffiths have.

Dortmund last night being a prime example.

26-05-2013, 02:38 PM
You don't win finals missing chances like doyle and Griffiths have.

Dortmund last night being a prime example.

Griffiths?

26-05-2013, 02:39 PM
Celtic fans just been rumbled in P4 and one of them is back. How the **** do they get tix for our end?

In other news we are playing 12 men once again for the second year in a row

26-05-2013, 02:39 PM
Griffiths?

Harsh maybe but he scored from that angle eatlier in the season v them. Killen scored from that angle at Ibrox.

26-05-2013, 02:40 PM
Harsh maybe but he scored from that angle eatlier in tue swason v them. Killen scored from that angle at Ibrox.

The ball was on the bye line.

blaikie
26-05-2013, 02:40 PM
I'd be tempted to take off Maybury for Stevenson at halftime, Could match Stokes for pace a lot better

26-05-2013, 02:41 PM
Herts. ak for u.

26-05-2013, 02:42 PM
C'mon Hibs - get one back before HT.

26-05-2013, 02:43 PM
The ball was on the bye line.

Fair enough.

Looked further out from where I was.

gf77
Aw the yams are coming out on fb now, seemingly closet sellick fans!

AllyF
How easy was Griffiths' open goal? Couldn't see from the West Stand.

26-05-2013, 02:44 PM
I'd be tempted to take off Maybury for Stevenson at halftime, Could match Stokes for pace a lot better

Stevenson for McGivern

blaikie
26-05-2013, 02:45 PM

Very difficult, under pressure on his weak foot no chance

Aw the yams are coming out on fb now, seemingly closet sellick fans!

**** them they are not in the final

The angle was impossible. Just a pity there was nobody there for the ball across the goalmouth.

I'd be tempted to take off Maybury for Stevenson at halftime, Could match Stokes for pace a lot better Think I would rather see Mcgivern at c/h to deal with the high balls which are causing us all sorts of problems. Also get Thomson to man-mark Commons to cut their supply of through balls. Bit too late perhaps but would prevent another embarrassing score in a S/C final. Just my opinion though.

26-05-2013, 02:46 PM
HT 0-2

Looking bad but not impossible.

blaikie
26-05-2013, 02:46 PM
Stevenson for McGivern

We need 2 Lewis Stevensons :greengrin

26-05-2013, 02:47 PM
Two back post goals by Celtics main danger man .... Poor, poor defending by the whole defence .... Pathetic defending real amateur stuff !!!

26-05-2013, 02:47 PM
Brown running the midfield. Punting diagonals and we are struggling.

26-05-2013, 02:49 PM
Needing to press higher and go for it now, not much to lose at 2 goals down. An early goal in the second half, it's on. (Unless it's Celtic then it's off).

26-05-2013, 02:49 PM
Think I would rather see Mcgivern at c/h to deal with the high balls which are causing us all sorts of problems. Also get Thomson to man-mark Commons to cut their supply of through balls. Bit too late perhaps but would prevent another embarrassing score in a S/C final. Just my opinion though.

he(along with hanlon for both goals) couldn't deal with the high balls over to the far post

26-05-2013, 02:50 PM
he(along with hanlon for both goals) couldn't deal with the high balls over to the far post

Stokes' cross for the first was perfect - fast, inswinging and dipping- pretty much undefendable.

hibee19
26-05-2013, 02:50 PM
Maybury, **** off. Get him off for Stevenson, get Doyle off for Caldwell. No beef with Doyle, hes giving it a go but he doesn't show the quality often enough.

Willie Collum, you're an arse.

26-05-2013, 02:51 PM
i agree with wee nevin, maybury should have stopped stokes crossing the ball into the box

coco22
26-05-2013, 02:52 PM
i agree with wee nevin, maybury should have stopped stokes crossing the ball into the box

Twice

Need to man mark brown, Fulham sign Hanlon at half time at McGivern grow a pair. Simple poor defending we've seen all season.

They are more clinical than us.

Castle Hibs
26-05-2013, 02:56 PM
Stokes' cross for the first was perfect - fast, inswinging and dipping- pretty much undefendable.

Thought Williams could have been better positioned for the first.

26-05-2013, 02:57 PM
Not expecting a win, but we should be expecting much better in the second half.

I would get Lewis on for Maybury and Robertson for Doyle and go 5-4-1 and press them high.

I've got more confidence in chancing Sparky then Doyle.

Can't say anything about a lack of effort this time.

We could (should?) have been ahead after 2 mins, Celtic have had 3 or 4 chances/half chances and taken 2, we are too narrow and playing too deep.

Lack of quality and questionabl tactics thus far imo.

26-05-2013, 02:58 PM
They are more clinical than us.

Far more clinical but we could have been in with a chance with a decent set of officials. They've been putting the boot into Sparky and been getting every decision from the ref.

26-05-2013, 02:59 PM
Need to man mark brown, Fulham sign Hanlon at half time at McGivern grow a pair. Simple poor defending we've seen all season.

they could have waited until after the games finished surely

Forster has been superb, not sure what McPake could've added.

Celtic have silenced Harris very well.

Brown showing up Thommo.

All to play for.

Celtic exploiting our lack of pace and shape at the back, although they are not playing particularly well: we have gifted them two goals. We can still win this, they are poor at the back, we just need to keep plugging away and get Griffiths involved at their end. I'd take off Harris, he seems overawed by the occasion to me, he has achieved little if anything throughout the game. Thompson, Taiwo and Claros all having good spells - Griffiths seems to be carrying an injury after all... we can't fix our defence, so we really need to punish theirs - the game's not over by any means - looking for a strong reaction after the break. C'mon the Hibs!:flag:

26-05-2013, 03:02 PM
harris changed wings

26-05-2013, 03:02 PM
Laying off them and letting them stroll through the game.
Need some more ankle biters - Claros and Tiawo trying their best.
Thomson quiet
Harris looks shellshocked
Sparky looks like he is carrying the alleged injury

26-05-2013, 03:03 PM
Sparky isn't harrying the defence as much as he usually does.

26-05-2013, 03:03 PM
most of the hibs fans are housed in the west stand :rolleyes: well in that case, most of the sellick fans must be housed in the east stand....it's half each ya daft **** yi

26-05-2013, 03:05 PM
waste of a ball hanlon son

26-05-2013, 03:06 PM
Harris having a far harder time than against bottom six defenders.

26-05-2013, 03:08 PM
Maybury cannot handle Stokes !!! End off

Castle Hibs
26-05-2013, 03:08 PM
Maybury really struggling against Stokes.

26-05-2013, 03:10 PM
well done scott brown...i think he helped in getting claros booked there

and managed to get himself booked as well :)

Brown over reacting there.

blaikie
Nice wee boot on Brown by Claros :greengrin let him know who's the best number 8 Jorge!

26-05-2013, 03:11 PM
Hopefully this ends the nauseating Brown love in on here.

****ing tool.

26-05-2013, 03:11 PM
Scott Brown shows his true colours..... He's a nasty midden.

26-05-2013, 03:12 PM
FFS - this ref's giving us nothing.

26-05-2013, 03:12 PM
this is better hibs c'mon

26-05-2013, 03:13 PM
What is it with Hibs and throw-ins?

26-05-2013, 03:14 PM
Mulgrew kicked Griffth's boot - Sparky gets booked!

26-05-2013, 03:15 PM
Doyle looks totally off the pace - get him hooked.

26-05-2013, 03:15 PM
How bad is the referee?

26-05-2013, 03:16 PM
Doyle looks totally off the pace - get him hooked.

and sooner rather than later, should have changed it about at HT

26-05-2013, 03:17 PM
What is it with Hibs and throw-ins?

it's a decades old thing

26-05-2013, 03:18 PM
doyle hasnt showed much and sparky doesnt look fit, too much to bring this game back i feel, handling for doyle?

26-05-2013, 03:18 PM
jeezus **** nearly laid on a plate for hooper there from hanlon

26-05-2013, 03:20 PM
Doyle lucky to avoid a booking there - get him off now!

26-05-2013, 03:21 PM
mon PF get someone on for doyle and give the subs more game time man

26-05-2013, 03:23 PM
Even with the ball we look under pressure.

blaikie
26-05-2013, 03:24 PM
We've ran out of steam by the looks of it game over :rolleyes:

humping the ball forward isnt really working, take doyle off now, too easy for celtic at the moment

handling getting ready...boot time anaw

Castle Hibs
26-05-2013, 03:25 PM
Need to make a change now to give it a go.

26-05-2013, 03:27 PM
If we are going long ball get Caldwell on for a bit physicality.

26-05-2013, 03:31 PM
Caldwell on for KT

26-05-2013, 03:31 PM
celtic closing us down well making us look slow to make things happen

26-05-2013, 03:33 PM
why o why do our defenders always just punt the baw upfield :fuming:

26-05-2013, 03:34 PM
and that's that

Erse!

Horrible defending. Again.

game over. always next year.

blaikie
*******!!!!!:rolleyes:

gf77
26-05-2013, 03:35 PM
Well it was a great dream while it lasted

Again a defence like a sieve !!!

The better team won. That simple really.

Pace in the right areas, pushing us high up the park and clinical in front of goal.

I don't often agree with Liam McLeod but he summed it up with the Celtic defence being too good for us.

Castle Hibs
26-05-2013, 03:36 PM
Far to soft in defence.

26-05-2013, 03:39 PM
The better team won. That simple really.

Pace in the right areas, pushing us high up the park and clinical in front of goal.

:agree: I think the decent run of results in the bottom six matches made us think that we're better than we are.

In saying that, Sparky nursing an injury didn't help us at all today.

It was at least a more spirited performance than last year !

ggth
have we had a shot at goal in the second half?

26-05-2013, 03:40 PM
Celtic too good.

Celtic know how to niggle where we can only foul.

Can't complain today.

26-05-2013, 03:43 PM
No complaints. Easily second best. Roll on next year.

greengnome
Celtic too good.

Celtic know how to niggle where we can only foul.

Can't complain today.

We were never really in the game today...

better team won, no complaints, onwards and upwards, GGTTH :flag:

26-05-2013, 03:44 PM
Can we just pull out of this tournament forever?

Absolutely outstanding Hibs support

Proud.

blaikie
This isn't the end lots of promise shown by Harris Handling Caldwell and Forster, this is the beginning of a new era a step to far to beat this mod today. But things are looking brighter than this time last year! :hibees

26-05-2013, 03:45 PM
Forster is a serious prospect, very assured.

26-05-2013, 03:46 PM
well done those hibs fans

26-05-2013, 03:47 PM
Och well! Not great but no disgrace either.

Castle Hibs
26-05-2013, 03:48 PM
This isn't the end lots of promise shown by Harris Handling Caldwell and Forster, this is the beginning of a new era a step to far to beat this mod today. But things are looking brighter than this time last year! :hibees

Things are looking up and no need to get down about today's result as Celtic are by far a better team. We needed them to be off their game today for us to get anything.

our support won hands down tho!

blaikie
26-05-2013, 03:48 PM
Forster is a serious prospect, very assured.

Didn't put a foot wrong the whole game, Him and McPake back pairing next year without a doubt :agree:

Dan Sarf
26-05-2013, 03:49 PM
The better team won but we never gave up. Well done Pat and the boys. Proud to be a Hibees.

JoeTortolanoFanClub
26-05-2013, 03:50 PM
Och well, there is always next year.

An improvement on last year certainly. But, apart from the obvious defensive frailties, we lack creativity in the middle of the park.

Well done to the Hibs support. Outstanding. :thumbsup:

26-05-2013, 03:51 PM
At least Kevin Thomshun didn't get to lift the cup in a Hibs shirt, every cloud has a silver lining:agree:

blaikie
26-05-2013, 03:52 PM
At least Kevin Thomshun didn't get to lift the cup in a Hibs shirt, every cloud has a silver lining:agree:

:rolleyes: Windup surely?

26-05-2013, 03:52 PM
The fans. :not worth

26-05-2013, 03:53 PM
Not our finest day but the best team by far won. On the other hand it's probably the Jambos' one and only day of the season. :-) We will recover and be up for next season after a wee set-back.

26-05-2013, 03:54 PM

Fans were good, no doubt. Team though to be honest were pretty pish, Harris was good but that's it really.

Better than last year but still poor.

26-05-2013, 03:55 PM
The defence needs an overhaul. Maybury must go for a start. Big striker would be good with a right wing man to cross to him. The young guys are great though and the future is bright. I am sorry it was 3 and not just 2 nil. That would have been fairer.

26-05-2013, 03:55 PM

Absolutely outstanding.

Almost in tears.

Thats how you support a club.

26-05-2013, 03:57 PM
proud of the supporters at hampden today and the future looks better for us :agree: take it on the chin folks :flag:

GGTTH07
26-05-2013, 03:59 PM
I'm embarrassed. No fight. No urgency, c'mon hibs, really need to get a grip man. Only player who played decent was Harris.

26-05-2013, 04:01 PM
What did Harris do?

Claros Taiwo and Forster were our best today.

26-05-2013, 04:04 PM
a crap. very crap, Celtic team. ..least said about us, the better.
one day....but never in my lifetime.
K Thomson.....goodbye ya dud

26-05-2013, 04:07 PM
Not our finest day but the best team by far won. On the other hand it's probably the Jambos' one and only day of the season. :-) We will recover and be up for next season after a wee set-back.

brutally, that Celtic team were no where near the team of 2001. and, that's embarrassing today.

K Thomson.....goodbye ya dudWhy single out Thomson ..?...for what I saw there were a few others in the team that didnt turn up !!

Och well! Not great but no disgrace either.

Agree, I didn't really expect a win today, but a lot better than last year , oh well 3rd time lucky next year and at least we are in Europe!

:confused: Probably the best Celtic team in a good few years - a team that rolled Barca

They were too good for us today, absolutely....take it on the chin and move on

26-05-2013, 04:08 PM
sorry, this HAD to be our year. Awful, AWFUL stuff.

26-05-2013, 04:09 PM
Why single out Thomson ..?...for what I saw there were a few others in the team that didnt turn up !!

Thought Thompson had a good game and put in a great shift - was amazed to see him subbed, myself.

26-05-2013, 04:10 PM
On the train - heart-broken (again) but proud as! Great support and backing. I love you Hibs :thumbsup:

plhibs
Fans were good, no doubt. Team though to be honest were pretty pish, Harris was good but that's it really.

Better than last year but still poor.

Agree with this, Celtic never got out of first gear and we never found one, it was a stroll in the park for them. Our midfield was terrible only two ways to go across the park or backwards,pretty dissapointed with the effort today.

:confused: Probably the best Celtic team in a good few years - a team that rolled Barca

They were too good for us today, absolutely....take it on the chin and move on

sorry. not for me. an SPL firm team would've beat that today. Do you HONESTLY think that was a good hoops starting 11?

26-05-2013, 04:11 PM
Agree with this, Celtic never got out of first gear and we never found one, it was a stroll in the park for them. Our midfield was terrible only two ways to go across the park or backwards,pretty dissapointed with the effort today.

thank u. question answered.

26-05-2013, 04:11 PM
I wonder who we'll face in next years final?

What a great support we have.

26-05-2013, 04:14 PM
K Thomson.....goodbye ya dud

Oh dear. Compare the cost/value/wages of their midfield v ours or CHs v Hanlon and Forster and therein lies the task we had against us.

Proud of Hibs fans today. You're excluded from that btw.

26-05-2013, 04:16 PM
sorry. not for me. an SPL firm team would've beat that today. Do you HONESTLY think that was a good hoops starting 11?

I bet every one of there starting 11 you would have in our team

All Celtic have to be it is 80% and they will stroll games....sadly I thought they were simply too good for us today

We never stopped working, even tho the game was effectively over at half time

Thought Maybury was very poor, and far too slow in closing down the crosses - costing is the 1st 2 goals

No complaints from me today

hibee19
26-05-2013, 04:17 PM
Absolutely gutted. We could have won today but we weren't good enough.

26-05-2013, 04:17 PM
We did fairly well, though as has been the case all season we were caught napping on the break and our defence beaten for pace... Also we seemed scared to break and just take a shot.

The start was brilliant and in general we showed a bit of fight at least though.

26-05-2013, 04:18 PM
You have to remember they have a budget probably 10 x what Hibs have .. Yes we can win occasionally but more often than not the more expensive team with the better players will win.
Lets get back next year and have another go :-)

26-05-2013, 04:20 PM
I'm embarrassed. No fight. No urgency, c'mon hibs, really need to get a grip man. Only player who played decent was Harris.

opinions huh :) the young lad harris will have learned a bit from today, and i thought taiwo and claros played reasonably well

CyberSauzee
26-05-2013, 04:22 PM
Never seen Stokes run so much as he did today.
High balls punted up to Griffiths all day. Didn't work.
On a positive note Doyle has accepted the offer from Sergey and I to drop him off at Chesterfield on the way back south. That will share the costs of the new carthorse we've had to buy.

26-05-2013, 04:23 PM
Brown ran the show. We were weak at full back. They knew this and kept making diagonal runs. I don't think we deserved to lose 3-0. We were outplayed on the day.

26-05-2013, 04:23 PM
Tough to take today.

Thought we were too narrow, too deep and didn't get in Celtics faces enough.

We tried but Celtic had the quality to create and take chances that we didn't. A week referee didn't help and losing 2 preventable early goals killed us.

GoldenMeerkat
26-05-2013, 04:24 PM
We desperately need our midfielders to take more shots at goal, and hopefully we can get a decent left and right back for next season.

26-05-2013, 04:25 PM
Oh and Doyle was woeful. Should never have started. Note to Hanlon - punting high balls to Griffiths didn't work.

26-05-2013, 04:25 PM
Not entirely unexpected result, full backs were poor - Maybury especially. He needs to stop the cross, he didn't even try to stop them.

Support was pretty good for the most part, nae other positives for me.

26-05-2013, 04:26 PM
We desperately need our midfielders to take more shots at goal, and hopefully we can get a decent left and right back for next season.

Needed desperately. :agree:

26-05-2013, 04:27 PM

I don't think it was McGivern and Hanlon, certainly the second it was McGivern and Thomson, think first was the same. But yeah Stokes ran Maybury ragged all day.

26-05-2013, 04:32 PM

Utter fail

18Craig75
26-05-2013, 04:34 PM
Thomson too narrow when he was on the left and Maybury didn't do enough to stop crosses coming in. Beaten by the better team today.

26-05-2013, 04:38 PM
What an outstanding support today. Given that this is still a team/club in rebuilding I think we should be proud of how far we've come in one year. Two full backs, a midfield playmaker, a target man and a lot of pace away from a serious side.

Always sickening to watch either half of the Ugly Sisters reaping the bigotry dividend.

26-05-2013, 04:38 PM
sorry. not for me. an SPL firm team would've beat that today. Do you HONESTLY think that was a good hoops starting 11?It was a strong Celtic team ..way stronger in every department ..they were decent ..we were poor ..

TomoHFC
26-05-2013, 04:42 PM
We were unlucky but I'm still supporting the club

26-05-2013, 04:44 PM
We were unlucky but I'm still supporting the clubWe were hardly unlucky ..we werent at the races ...

26-05-2013, 04:45 PM
Celtc have dished out a fair few pumpings this season. The fact of the matter is we had to catch them on an off day because they have the ability to take teams apart with ease. Hibs and others in the league don't have anywhere near the same budget as them and it shows most of the time.

hibsmum
26-05-2013, 04:47 PM
Not great but not as bad as last year, so next year we win it!:flag:

26-05-2013, 04:49 PM
They are a last 16 CL league team and we are a mid table SPL team and sadly we couldn't close the gap today.

Forster, Harris, Handling and Caldwell all gave 100% and will be better players next season. GGTTH!

26-05-2013, 04:53 PM
Beaten by the better team on the day. We tried but they were the better team. We just never had the luck that we needed in the final third. Our fullbacks were all over the place, especially Maybury. Too slow to close down the crosser for their identical 1st & 2nd goals. Our midfield looked very intimidated in trying to shooting, Claros especially. Liam Craig will be a very good addition to this Hibs team when he comes and hopefully Paul Cairney can rediscover his early season form. Plus a decent pre-season for Scott Robertson will do him the world of good. Overall, had a great day out, shame about the result but the future is bright.

GGTTH!

26-05-2013, 04:53 PM
I dont like singling players out but McGivern and Maybury had terrible games today, that first goal was a comedy of errors, McGivern's positioning all game was terrible and hooper ran rings around him.

The first goal was all our own fault and it killed all that atmosphere we had created.

Doyle was totally ineffective too.

I am proud to be a Hibs supporter but these hampden defeats are hard to take. We need a couple of proper full backs, bit worried about next season now, just have to see what happens over the summer.

How did the display look? I couldn't see anything from under my green card.

Liams
26-05-2013, 04:54 PM
It might of not beeen our day!!! But im happpy to wear myteam on my heart!! Im a happy hibee going along the m8

26-05-2013, 04:56 PM
I don't think it was McGivern and Hanlon, certainly the second it was McGivern and Thomson, think first was the same. But yeah Stokes ran Maybury ragged all day.

quite positive it was both players, both times,...will need to check highlights again :(

26-05-2013, 05:00 PM
McGivern very poor today, pat dont gives him a deal if you're thinking about it, positionally very poor, offer Stevenson the left back job first. Doyle should never have started, not good enough for new contract, not good enough to start

West hamBERNIAN
26-05-2013, 05:04 PM
opinions huh :) the young lad harris will have learned a bit from today, and i thought taiwo and claros played reasonably well

thought taiwo was excellent, especially 1st half. Other than that i'd say forster did the least wrong.

26-05-2013, 05:12 PM
What did Harris do?

sidneyhibbie
26-05-2013, 05:30 PM
Support was 1st class we must pick ourselves up dust our selves down and try again Harris looks a great prospect:flag:

blaikie
26-05-2013, 05:52 PM
Support was 1st class we must pick ourselves up dust our selves down and try again Harris looks a great prospect:flag:

Hard to believe hes only 18, Wasn't his best performance but he managed to grow in confidence against a tougher opponent :agree: Should be building the team around him Claros Taiwo Forster Caldwell and Handling :flag:

greengnome
26-05-2013, 05:54 PM
McGivern very poor today, pat dont gives him a deal if you're thinking about it, positionally very poor, offer Stevenson the left back job first. Doyle should never have started, not good enough for new contract, not good enough to start

Would agree on McGivern, poor positional sense, and looked a wee bit carthorse at times. However, no doubt it is still a rebuild!

26-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Mcgivern always makes me nervous. We give him the ball alot but he never does much positive with it.

26-05-2013, 06:01 PM

You sir are a....
http://all3dmod.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/03/Trumpet-3D-Model.jpg

What did Harris do?

Forster was our best player by an absolute mile. Made Hanlon, McGivern and Maybury look mince.

26-05-2013, 06:04 PM
Take it there was Celtc fans in the upper south? Few blocks further along from me but there was a bit of shouting and gesturing before a few got chucked out :confused:

Also, the lyrics to that Bastille song that was played before kick off turned out to be rather fitting to the Hibees "And if you close your eyes,
Does it almost feel like
You've been here before?"

:boo hoo:

26-05-2013, 06:05 PM
McGivern annoyed me a lot, Maybury at least has the excuse of age for being outpaced, but frankly both full backs were an irrelevance today. May as well have gone 3-5-2 and had some more bodies in the middle.

Either we need some defenders with pace, or slower defenders that realise they have no pace and hang back. How many games does it take for Maybury to get beaten to a ball by 10 yards from a headstart before he'd think 'hmmm maybe I should just stay back.' Very frustrating.

The periods we kept it on the deck were decent, the switch to humping the ball up the pitch was a return to pre second half semi final annoyances.

hibeesjoe
26-05-2013, 06:13 PM
See ya Fenlon. Shut the door on the way out

26-05-2013, 06:29 PM
Mcgivern always makes me nervous. We give him the ball alot but he never does much positive with it.

Thought he looked good going forward but was suspect in defence. He can only make those forward runs if theirs a capable midfielder ready to slot back in defence the way Whittaker did for us on the occasions he played midfield.