View Full Version : Irvine Welsh book locations
22-05-2013, 09:50 AM
Hi everyone, Ive got a mate visiting Embra this weekend, and hes a huge irvine welsh book fan.
Now i know the majority of the film was filmed in Glasgow, but I was wondering if any of you could reccomend any locations from the actual books about where to take him.
I know Leith Walk features heavily, as did the fort when it was there, but anywhere else?
MOST IMPORTANTLY, PUBS!!!
22-05-2013, 10:20 AM
Heard the 'Guildford' was the pub where Begbie chucked the glass over his shoulder. Never read the book so can't confirm.
southfieldhibby
22-05-2013, 03:13 PM
Pretty sure the trafalgar bar in henderson street features in some of Welsh's books.
22-05-2013, 05:11 PM
The Volunteer Arms and The Spey Lounge both feature in his books as did The Clan Tavern which became The Cabbage & Ribs (now closed).
Barman Stanton
22-05-2013, 06:03 PM
Sure the Port o Leith is what the pub where the filming happens in Porno is meant to be.
The Black Bull is the pub they run past at the beginning of the Trainspotting Movie.
Minder
22-05-2013, 09:10 PM
Unfortunately the original Craigie has been flattened. Good memories of that place though.
23-05-2013, 09:03 AM
Heard the 'Guildford' was the pub where Begbie chucked the glass over his shoulder. Never read the book so can't confirm.
The pub was in Rose Street, I think it was called the White Cockade.
Sure the Port o Leith is what the pub where the filming happens in Porno is meant to be.
The Black Bull is the pub they run past at the beginning of the Trainspotting Movie.
Yep, and a car comes out from St Ninians place, a little cul de sac on the right.
Other locations-
Cables Wynd House (aka Banana Flats) - childhood home of rents and begbie.
The Persevere, where Spuds half black brother is beaten up by Orangemen.
Bookies at pennywell road - the worst toilet in Scotland.
Volunteer arms on leith walk, pool table scene.
To name but four.
The Volunteer Arms and The Spey Lounge both feature in his books as did The Clan Tavern which became The Cabbage & Ribs (now closed).
Wee game ae pool in the volly ya **** ye ;)
23-05-2013, 12:50 PM
Cheers everyone! Great help
Green Man
23-05-2013, 01:38 PM
The pub was in Rose Street, I think it was called the White Cockade.
Yep, and a car comes out from St Ninians place, a little cul de sac on the right.
Other locations-
Cables Wynd House (aka Banana Flats) - childhood home of rents and begbie.
The Persevere, where Spuds half black brother is beaten up by Orangemen.
Bookies at pennywell road - the worst toilet in Scotland.
Volunteer arms on leith walk, pool table scene.
To name but four.
Thankfully it's been done up since then :greengrin
24-05-2013, 11:09 AM
Thankfully it's been done up since then :greengrin
The bookies was actually inside Muirhouse shopping centre, after it's makeover they moved it to the front street on Pennywell Rd. :aok:
24-05-2013, 07:22 PM
A mate of Irvine's told me it was the Corrie Inn.
hibby rae
24-05-2013, 08:40 PM
Begbie gets run over at the Central bar in Porno.
24-05-2013, 10:02 PM
I'm sure the anchor in granton was in his tv play wedding belles. Need to watch that again as it was excellent.
A mate of Irvine's told me it was the Corrie Inn.The Corrie doesnae have a balcony/upstairs level though ..thats where the tumbler was thrown ..
25-05-2013, 08:03 AM
The Corrie doesnae have a balcony/upstairs level though ..thats where the tumbler was thrown ..
Yeah I know but apparently he made that bit up :wink:
Yeah I know but apparently he made that bit up :wink:Aw ..:greengrin
On the subject of Irvine Welsh
http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/video/2013/apr/12/filth-watch-the-trailer-for-james-mcavoys-new-film-video
29-05-2013, 06:55 AM
I was passing the volley yesterday and I noticed since it was done up after thr fire they have put a wee sign up outside about how the pub was made famous by trainspotting, I didn't read it all as I was driving, does anyone know what it says
29-05-2013, 06:59 AM
I was passing the volley yesterday and I noticed since it was done up after thr fire they have put a wee sign up outside about how the pub was made famous by trainspotting, I didn't read it all as I was driving, does anyone know what it says
Enter at your own risk?
29-05-2013, 05:19 PM
"Nae specky, wee radges at the bar during pressure shots"
One of the signs mentions how begbie lost the plot while losing a game of pool to tommy and proceeded to take it out on a speccy wee radge
HibeeB
07-06-2013, 12:39 AM
Hi everyone, Ive got a mate visiting Embra this weekend, and hes a huge irvine welsh book fan.
Now i know the majority of the film was filmed in Glasgow, but I was wondering if any of you could reccomend any locations from the actual books about where to take him.
I know Leith Walk features heavily, as did the fort when it was there, but anywhere else?
MOST IMPORTANTLY, PUBS!!!
Might be a bit late for yer mate but there is a walking tour in Leith...
http://www.leithwalks.co.uk/