View Full Version : Stokesy

NorthRoadHibee
21-05-2013, 11:28 PM
Some nice words from Stokes about us on the Scotsman http://m.scotsman.com/sport/football/top-football-stories/anthony-stokes-celtic-must-win-the-double-1-2938585

Woody70x2
22-05-2013, 07:19 AM
I just hope he has a bad day in front of goals...

22-05-2013, 07:25 AM
Typical Celtic "I wish Hibs well" fan chat.

erskine-hibby
22-05-2013, 07:27 AM
Nice, yes, but they have a hollow ring to them.

22-05-2013, 07:30 AM
"They have a big rivalry with Hearts in Edinburgh, but for me Hibs are as big if not bigger."

But we're the wee team? :confused:

:giruy:

22-05-2013, 07:37 AM
His goals were welcome during his time here but that sectarian bigot can piss off :rolleyes:

22-05-2013, 07:41 AM
no class when scoring against us at ER; he can fck off.

hope he's on the bench, coz he does more damage against us than any other celtc player.

22-05-2013, 07:45 AM
Patronising pish IMO

22-05-2013, 07:58 AM
Ex player in nice words shock. Reaction on heres laughable, no surprised tho

22-05-2013, 08:06 AM
Scotzine ‏@scotzine Stokes to sign a new contract with Celtic. No details yet

sbell1875
22-05-2013, 09:06 AM

hope he's on the bench, coz he does more damage against us than any other celtc player.

This. He has celebrated every single time he has scored at Easter Road since he left like it is against any other team he has had no affiliation with Thanks for the nice words Anthony but you can shove them.

22-05-2013, 09:11 AM
Knob

22-05-2013, 09:15 AM
Terrorist-sympathising arse. Do one 'Stokesy'

22-05-2013, 09:20 AM
I hope he plays no part against us, he is the one I fear the most.

22-05-2013, 09:27 AM
I hope he plays no part against us, he is the one I fear the most.

I said it the other day that they can be got at especially at the back but we need to be on our game and switched on from the off. Mark my words they will take their chances (especially Stokes) if given then.

22-05-2013, 09:32 AM
Stokes is a helmet

TrickyNicky
22-05-2013, 09:34 AM
Stokes is a helmet

Aye, ah cheesy one!

22-05-2013, 10:01 AM
He was only with us for a year.. It's not like he does a massive celebration against us either..

There's a lot of reasons to dislike him, but I wouldn't say 'oh he celebrates when he scores' is one..

22-05-2013, 10:44 AM
Stokes is a helmet

Knob

This. He has celebrated every single time he has scored at Easter Road since he left like it is against any other team he has had no affiliation with Thanks for the nice words Anthony but you can shove them.

Patronising pish IMO

His goals were welcome during his time here but that sectarian bigot can piss off :rolleyes:

22-05-2013, 10:49 AM
I asked him about this at a casino and he said it upsets him that Hibs fans always boo him so he celebrates in 'retaliation'.

Hope you never loaned him any money. :wink: :greengrin

22-05-2013, 10:51 AM

He's a terrorism-supporting bawbag but in what way is he sectarian?

sbell1875
22-05-2013, 11:06 AM
He was only with us for a year.. It's not like he does a massive celebration against us either..

There's a lot of reasons to dislike him, but I wouldn't say 'oh he celebrates when he scores' is one..

If you recall we picked him up from Sunderland Reserves with his career going nowhere. We gave him the platform to perform and get back to his best which he did and he doesn't even have the decency to respect us when he scores against us? Look at Ivan earlier this year when he scored the winner up in Dingwall. Looked like the most uncomfortable man in the entire stadium and you could argue he had a point to prove against Fenlon et al for very little match action.

Ivan = Hibs class
Stokes = Celtic class.

Pat 0-7
22-05-2013, 11:25 AM

22-05-2013, 11:26 AM

Wonder of he's paid back all that cash he borrowed from his team-mates when he was at Hibs?

Anthony Stokes is a fanny.

patlowe
22-05-2013, 12:11 PM
Some pretty angry folk on this thread! I don't particularly warm to the guy but he comes across pretty well and was kinder than he had to be about a club he only spent a year at.

22-05-2013, 03:35 PM
The guy spent one year at Easter Road... It's not as if he had spent a memorable four or five years at us.
I don't personally like or hate him but he is undoubtedly a good footballer and we need to be wary of him on Sunday.
For some reason, it's Stokes and Samaras that seem to be the threats in my mind?
Anyway, we should be concentrating on Hibs on Sunday and if we get a wee bit of luck and we're at our best then we're definitely in with a shout.

22-05-2013, 03:38 PM
I asked him about this at a casino and he said it upsets him that Hibs fans always boo him so he celebrates in 'retaliation'.

He's talking a load of p***. Look at RVP. He scored two goals against the gooners this season and was booed left, right and centre by them lot, every time he touched the ball. He didn't celebrate in the same sort of fashion Stokes does when he scores against us. He just walked away with respect.

22-05-2013, 04:54 PM
He is the player I fear the most. He only has to look at the bloody ball and it ends up in our net.

As for his comments ... fair enough, he said some nice things, but he does seem to enjoy scoring against us a bit too much for my liking. I dont think its personal really ..... having class isnt really something that ever enters his head I would imagine.

22-05-2013, 05:07 PM
If you recall we picked him up from Sunderland Reserves with his career going nowhere. We gave him the platform to perform and get back to his best which he did and he doesn't even have the decency to respect us when he scores against us? Look at Ivan earlier this year when he scored the winner up in Dingwall. Looked like the most uncomfortable man in the entire stadium and you could argue he had a point to prove against Fenlon et al for very little match action.

Ivan = Hibs class
Stokes = Celtic class.

Personally i think the 'not celebrating when you score against your old team' thing is getting a bit daft now. Fair enough if you're a genuine fan like Ivan scoring against us or Carroll against Newcastle or whatever, but you see it almost every week these days. He can bare his hairy arse to us if he likes on Sunday, it certainly won't make me feel any worse.

22-05-2013, 05:15 PM
Look at his family.

That should go some way to explaining why he's such a fud.

22-05-2013, 07:08 PM
Not interested in his words to be honest

jw1410
22-05-2013, 08:49 PM
He's a terrorism-supporting bawbag but in what way is he sectarian?

"Sectarianism, according to one definition, is bigotry, discrimination, or hatred arising from attaching importance to perceived differences between subdivisions within a group, such as between different denominations of a religion, class, regional or factions of a political movement."

How is he not sectarian?

22-05-2013, 08:59 PM
Personally i think the 'not celebrating when you score against your old team' thing is getting a bit daft now. Fair enough if you're a genuine fan like Ivan scoring against us or Carroll against Newcastle or whatever, but you see it almost every week these days. He can bare his hairy arse to us if he likes on Sunday, it certainly won't make me feel any worse.

I agree, most of them are just doing it to make themselves look good

22-05-2013, 08:59 PM
Some pretty angry folk on this thread! I don't particularly warm to the guy but he comes across pretty well and was kinder than he had to be about a club he only spent a year at.

Your sentiment is genuine and always better to see the good than the bad. You are a good person but dont waste your breath on Stokes

An erse of the highest order, picked Sunderland for dosh over his great love smeltic and only there now because hughes took a chance no other club was prepared to at 500k. No time for sectarian idiots who want to hold on to a cause that cant fester in modern times.

Hate to say it but always a genuine threat against us and can do one drinking in Leith hanging on to our good times.

Football is sadly not what is was, we got something he got something. No Hibs legend and a lesser human being.

Hope he enjoys being on the wrong side come Sunday

connerg
22-05-2013, 09:12 PM
Has he payed the youth team players he conned, to lend him money, back yet?

22-05-2013, 09:14 PM
Ex player in nice words shock. Reaction on heres laughable, no surprised tho Aye,he practically destroyed us with his words. cant believe some o' the ******* posted about him. was he gonnae say:hope Hibs win?:rolleyes:

22-05-2013, 09:14 PM
"Sectarianism, according to one definition, is bigotry, discrimination, or hatred arising from attaching importance to perceived differences between subdivisions within a group, such as between different denominations of a religion, class, regional or factions of a political movement."

How is he not sectarian?

Yeah, I can read Wikipedia too.

'Sectarian' is generally used, especially in the context of Ireland, to mean bigotry involving Protestantism or Catholicism. Is there any evidence of Stokes being bigoted towards Protestants?

There are a number of posters on here who support Irish Republicanism. Are they sectarian?

SmallvilleHibee
22-05-2013, 09:22 PM
He basically said he thought we were a good club and wished us all the best. Why are people reacting so badly to this? it's not like he's Adolf Hitler.

22-05-2013, 09:22 PM

'Sectarian' is generally used, especially in the context of Ireland, to mean bigotry involving Protestantism or Catholicism. Is there any evidence of Stokes being bigoted towards Protestants?

There are a number of posters on here who support Irish Republicanism. Are they sectarian?

name and shame...

SmallvilleHibee
22-05-2013, 09:24 PM
name and shame...

Please tell me you're not serious?

22-05-2013, 09:27 PM
Please tell me you're not serious?

as serious as Ireland is already a Republic

22-05-2013, 09:32 PM
as serious as Ireland is already a Republic

I don't think you quite understand what 'Irish Republicanism' means.

jw1410
22-05-2013, 09:33 PM

Sorry I'll use the Oxford Dictionary definition next time... :rolleyes:

He's a proud supporter of the IRA, in terms of evidence, is openly endorsing a group who actively targets those of a specific religion not enough?

You can support Irish Republicanism without supporting the IRA also, I'd dare say a number of the posters on here to whom you refer don't support the IRA in the slightest. Just like how you can support Northern Ireland without backing the UVF...

22-05-2013, 09:34 PM
I don't think you quite understand what 'Irish Republicanism' means.

I do is it not a Celtic fan? please explain further...

22-05-2013, 09:58 PM
He is the player I fear the most. He only has to look at the bloody ball and it ends up in our net.

As for his comments ... fair enough, he said some nice things, but he does seem to enjoy scoring against us a bit too much for my liking. I dont think its personal really ..... having class isnt really something that ever enters his head I would imagine.

Yep, decent player and top goal scorer and the one I fear most on Sunday as wel. He scored goals for us and made us money on his transfer. Good to hear he has good memories of his time at Easter Road but he's the enemy on Sunday:na na:

22-05-2013, 10:18 PM
Yep, decent player and top goal scorer and the one I fear most on Sunday as wel. He scored goals for us and made us money on his transfer. Good to hear he has good memories of his time at Easter Road but he's the enemy on Sunday:na na:

I very much fear Stokes on Sunday if he plays/comes on.Always seems to do well against us too. Would rather face Hooper than Stokes in attack.

He scored goals at Hibs and made us money on transfer I believe 500,000 against 1,200,000? but what was his basic salary(250,000?) and what damage did he do while there in dressing room. Silver linings I suppose and we needed his goals over that season but a definite trouble maker. Could have matured and still young ish but I dont understand the love in. Used us as a stepping stone(not the first and not blaming him for that) but hasnt looked back and left no real legacy. Why does he still pop in Harp and castle? probably more to do with his ego. He will hold no sentiment for us we should hold none for him.

22-05-2013, 11:03 PM
He was in the bar I work in just before New Year and he was very friendly and up to chat about his time at Hibs and spoke highly of the club to me. I don't mind him as a footballer but I do have a bit of an issue with his political ideologies - as I'm sure many do - but on his way out he said that he was glad Hibs are doing better and hopes we win the cup sometime soon. I wonder if he is still thinking that? Not that I would grudge him as I wished him well for the season and hope he scores 6 own goals on Sunday!

23-05-2013, 06:25 AM
Sorry I'll use the Oxford Dictionary definition next time... :rolleyes:

He's a proud supporter of the IRA, in terms of evidence, is openly endorsing a group who actively targets those of a specific religion not enough?

You can support Irish Republicanism without supporting the IRA also, I'd dare say a number of the posters on here to whom you refer don't support the IRA in the slightest. Just like how you can support Northern Ireland without backing the UVF...

The IRA also killed hundreds of Catholics.

Stokes' support of the IRA makes him a twat of the highest order but I don't think you can extrapolate that to claim he's a sectarian bigot too.

jw1410
23-05-2013, 09:14 AM
The IRA also killed hundreds of Catholics.

Stokes' support of the IRA makes him a twat of the highest order but I don't think you can extrapolate that to claim he's a sectarian bigot too.

OK, fair point, I'll admit its a stretch to assume he's a bigot from the evidence we have. Wouldn't surprise me though.