PDA

View Full Version : Winning the Scottish cup - what it means to me?

madhibby
20-05-2013, 09:30 PM
I am a 55 year old Hibby.

Why am I a Hibby? **** knows?

My older brother is a Jambos season ticket holder and my dad was an Aberdeen fan.

I lived as a lad nearer Tynescastle but a few of my mates were Hibs fans and getting a bus to Easter Road from Bruntsfield, as a maybe 10 year old, just added to the experience!

So to date I have seen us lose 4 scottish cup finals - Celtic as a wee boy (travelling through on the Hawkhill bus) to lose 6-1, losing to Rangers after a second replay (I was a student at university at the time and got done from Aberdeen to see us lose 3-2 in the last game, I do remember watching the first game at an Aberdeen University Halls of residence and being denied a certain penalty at 0-0 with ten minutes to go in the first game), losing to Celtic 3-0 under McLeish and then last seasons fiasco.

So our losses have been against teams that we might have been the underdogs to beat apart from the Jambos?

But if the gap is 40 years we should have got there more often? Hibs as a team with their support have underachieved?

So what does Sunday mean to me?

I know there are more important events in my life than the Hibees but I would want before I depart this earth see Hibs win the Scottish Cup.

Do I expect Hibs to win in Sunday? Probably not? But I want to see them compete and at least battle until they have given their all. With a bit of luck it could be our year.

And if we do lose I will stil be back next season with an expectation that Hibs well be stronger and much of our opposition weaker with the likelihood of success increased.

So come on Hibees,despite the odds, believe and make it happen!

clerriehibs
20-05-2013, 09:34 PM

My older brother is a Jambos season ticket holder and my dad was an Aberdeen fan.