View Full Version : Leighs replacement?

17-05-2013, 07:25 PM
Obviously its gonna be hard to replace the wee man, he's almost irreplaceable. I really hope Petrie can make a suitable bid/work something out with Wolves to bring Leigh back here, but if not, who can we bring in (realistically) to fill his boots for the time being?

17-05-2013, 07:32 PM
Presumably no one can be bought in with a proven ability similar to Leigh. But we've got Caldwell, et al coming through. It would be a shame to lose both Griffs and Doyle at once though..:bitchy:

MontrealHibs
17-05-2013, 07:34 PM
Nicky Clark, Lyle Taylor... Michael Higdon will all score goals.

KT on the free kicks?

1875Hibees
17-05-2013, 07:35 PM
Leigh will be at Hibs next season.

17-05-2013, 07:42 PM
Leigh will be at Hibs next season.

Hope you're right!

muzzhfc
17-05-2013, 07:52 PM
Deek & Garry O!!

had to be done

17-05-2013, 07:54 PM
Wee Danny handling , horbine, Ross Caldwell?

17-05-2013, 07:54 PM
Stevie Cowan.

17-05-2013, 07:56 PM
Leigh Griffiths will be irreplaceable for a club like ours.

What he has brought to Hibs over the past season is simply not possible to buy if you've got our kind of budget.

17-05-2013, 07:57 PM
Yet again I ask - for once can we not just live in the %^&$£ moment?

AngusHibby
17-05-2013, 07:59 PM
David Goodwillie was being linked with Hearts... surely we'd be a more attractive prospect?

17-05-2013, 07:59 PM
Realistically? He's irreplaceable on the budget we have.

17-05-2013, 08:00 PM
He's irreplaceable. Gonna have some real luck to unearth a gem of his talent.

Stringer
17-05-2013, 08:08 PM
Leigh Griffiths will be irreplaceable for a club like ours.

What he has brought to Hibs over the past season is simply not possible to buy if you've got our kind of budget.

Do you do samaritians work? :wink:

Harris is key though. Pat should get him to play a freer role, cut inside and shoot more.

17-05-2013, 08:20 PM
Higdon and a partner might score more together than Leigh and a partner?

6 teams above us didn't have Leigh.

17-05-2013, 08:29 PM
I'm sure we heard all the same irreplaceble chat about Riordan, O'Connor, Stokes, Fletcher.....

Players move on, Leigh won't be easy to replace if we have to but we'll survive. We hav been here before.

17-05-2013, 08:34 PM
All of the players you've mentioned were talented guys. But none of them carried a mediocre team in the way Leigh has.

TomoHFC
17-05-2013, 08:55 PM
Ross Caldwell and Danny Handling up front with Jay Doyle on the bench give the youngster a chance

17-05-2013, 08:58 PM
Konte is without a club.

17-05-2013, 09:01 PM
David Goodwillie was being linked with Hearts... surely we'd be a more attractive prospect?
He surely wouldn't fancy playing in division three so it would be us before them? No reason it couldn't be another season's loan?

17-05-2013, 09:02 PM
benji , David zitelli. Dirk Lehman, Eduardo hurtado, Lyndon Andrew. could be the next famous five??

17-05-2013, 09:03 PM
I'm sure we heard all the same irreplaceble chat about Riordan, O'Connor, Stokes, Fletcher.....

Players move on, Leigh won't be easy to replace if we have to but we'll survive. We hav been here before.

All of the players you've mentioned were undoubtedly very good players for Hibs but they all played in Hibs teams that were better than the one we've got just now, in my opinion.

For Griffiths to have scored almost 30 goals whilst playing for a team that had barely won a league match for months up until last Sunday is absolutely incredible.

17-05-2013, 09:09 PM
Goodwillie is a great shout :thumbsup:

Stringer
17-05-2013, 09:15 PM
Griffiths is miles better than Stokes and Deek. He is SPL player of the year, don't think a hibs player has won that in my life time.

Goodwillie is a beast. :cb

Caldwell should start, his derby goal shows he is composed and has talent. He is a proven goalscorer at the levels he has played.

17-05-2013, 09:15 PM
LG has been abfab for us all season
But just think if we play with 2 WINGERS
weve just brought 1 in who is doing the buizzo
Doyle should have scored at least 3 V Killie
All delivered by a winger
Sign LG & ANO & we could be top 4
BT

17-05-2013, 09:29 PM
Does all the answers above not prove my point though?

When each of the players I named left we heard claims they were irreplaceable but each time it wasn't the case, each time we found a player of equal quality or, arguably, better.

If we improve other areas of the team then we may not have to rely on one striker next season as we have done at times with Leigh.

hibs supporter
17-05-2013, 09:45 PM
should be adam rooney he just got released

17-05-2013, 09:50 PM
should be adam rooney he just got released

Blackpoolhibs will approve of another Irish signing :pfgwa

...WentToMowAnSPL
17-05-2013, 09:54 PM

We don't have the same reputation as the big club for grooming talent or ...

17-05-2013, 10:18 PM
Does all the answers above not prove my point though?

When each of the players I named left we heard claims they were irreplaceable but each time it wasn't the case, each time we found a player of equal quality or, arguably, better.

If we improve other areas of the team then we may not have to rely on one striker next season as we have done at times with Leigh.
Naw, I've never heard any of the players you've mentioned described as irreplaceable.
Feel free to suggest someone able to replace Sparky though....

LeithBoozy
17-05-2013, 10:27 PM
I agree with Stringer, the young guys only get better with games. So Ross should get his chance. The composure he showed scoring the winner against the yams was different class. He looks like a natural. :wink:

HibeeBigFly
17-05-2013, 10:28 PM
benji , David zitelli. Dirk Lehman, Eduardo hurtado, Lyndon Andrew. could be the next famous five??

Throw in Konte for Andrews and I'm happy with that.

17-05-2013, 10:59 PM
Michael Ngoo? :dunno:

17-05-2013, 11:10 PM
Leigh Griffiths' replacement will be Griffiths..

I'm staying optimistic :wink:

Up The Bracket
17-05-2013, 11:27 PM
Rhys Griffiths :greengrin

Leigh will be here next year :agree:

Mango Man
18-05-2013, 12:38 AM
Konte is without a clue

18-05-2013, 02:34 AM
I hear a certain club will be having a fire sale come the transfer window.

Too bad they're all completely pish.

18-05-2013, 05:46 AM
I hear a certain club will be having a fire sale come the transfer window.

Too bad they're all completely pish.

Some teams need to lose the dead wood to make way for their superstar, marquee signings.

VickMackie
18-05-2013, 08:38 AM
Am I the only person who wonders why he's not being chased by big clubs?

The way he strikes the ball is very rare, his free kicks are out of this world.

I'd be delighted if he signs again, all the more important we get 7th for the place money.