View Full Version : Hibs side to play in East of Scotland League next season (merged)

15-05-2013, 02:29 PM
"Officials at the East of Scotland FA will consider an application by Hibernian to join the league at a meeting tomorrow (Thursday)" - according to my local rag.

"It is believed the Easter Road Club are looking to follow Berwick Rangers by entering a reserve team into the First Division"

Interesting stuff - I wonder if that means our player pool will be increased next season or whether it means that the Under 20 set up is about to be changed?

I remember many moons ago when Hibs used to have a Colts team in the East of Scotland League and that is where a certain Peter Marinello first appeared in a Hibs jersey.

15-05-2013, 02:32 PM
Maybe just preparing for when the Hearts first team are playing in that league. That way, we'll still get a derby.

15-05-2013, 02:42 PM
Will it be more competitive? If it is I think it is a good idea as it means players who are doing well are immediately available to the first team.

15-05-2013, 02:50 PM
I think one of the main benefits to this could be that fringe players and players returning from injury can play in this set-up where they may not have been allowed in U20's.

A problem that came about when they scrapped the reserve league. Good idea for Hibs to get involved I say. :aok:

leithsansiro
15-05-2013, 03:07 PM
I'd back that as an idea. I don't understand why more teams don't do it. The reserve league used to be a great grounding for developing players and the absence of it is keenly felt.

15-05-2013, 03:12 PM
i think its a great idea, as we have a few players now who are to old for the under 20s and yes will be in the first team pool but need a regular game.

dont think the under 20 set up is changing

15-05-2013, 03:13 PM
The games against Easthouses would be class :greengrin

15-05-2013, 03:15 PM
I'd back that as an idea. I don't understand why more teams don't do it. The reserve league used to be a great grounding for developing players and the absence of it is keenly felt.

oh i imagine the pink mutants will follow suit once they get whiff of our intentions...it's part of their obsession with us

15-05-2013, 03:18 PM
oh i imagine the pink mutants will follow suit once they get whiff of our intentions...it's part of their obsession with us

It may be the only option open to them. :greengrin

15-05-2013, 03:21 PM

Well ---------- funnily enough ------------ the same article goes on to say "speculation continues that Hearts may also apply for a place in the East of Scotland set up."

I suppose it's one way of giving more of their huge, massive, gigantic playing squad a game now and again!

15-05-2013, 03:22 PM

They definitely are.

15-05-2013, 03:24 PM
It may be the only option open to them. :greengrin

one lives in hope :cb

Well ---------- funnily enough ------------ the same article goes on to say "speculation continues that Hearts may also apply for a place in the East of Scotland set up."

I suppose it's one way of giving more of their huge, massive, gigantic playing squad a game now and again!

They definitely are.

see, i just knew it :greengrin

29-05-2013, 12:57 PM
BAnderson has picked up on this story today.

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/local-football/seniors-would-accommodate-youth-from-hibs-and-hearts-1-2947184

Is that the same Andrew Waddell who was a referee in the 90s?

29-05-2013, 01:01 PM

http://www.scotsman.com/edinburgh-evening-news/football/local-football/seniors-would-accommodate-youth-from-hibs-and-hearts-1-2947184

As Berwick Rangers are in there already I can't see a problem with Hibs being admitted.

I also heard that Hearts wouldn't be applying.

29-05-2013, 01:08 PM
Im not sure if I would be keen them joining if I was a club in the EOS. Surly that will impact their chances of winning the league as im sure Hibs and Hearts would wipe the floor with them. I remember playing against Hearts U20s a few years ago when I played for Penicuik Juniors, couldn't get near the we bassas :greengrin

29-05-2013, 01:10 PM
Scotlands best youngsters need somewhere to play!

29-05-2013, 01:28 PM
They definitely are.

As Berwick Rangers are in there already I can't see a problem with Hibs being admitted.

I also heard that Hearts wouldn't be applying.

Make yer mind up you :greengrin

(A lot can happen in 2 weeks :wink:)

therealgavmac
29-05-2013, 02:07 PM

Aye, and not only that he was my boss for a wee while in the mid 80's :shhhsh!:

29-05-2013, 02:29 PM
"Officials at the East of Scotland FA will consider an application by Hibernian to join the league at a meeting tomorrow (Thursday)" - according to my local rag.

"It is believed the Easter Road Club are looking to follow Berwick Rangers by entering a reserve team into the First Division"

Interesting stuff - I wonder if that means our player pool will be increased next season or whether it means that the Under 20 set up is about to be changed?

I remember many moons ago when Hibs used to have a Colts team in the East of Scotland League and that is where a certain Peter Marinello first appeared in a Hibs jersey.

Does this mean we could get two Hibs teams playing in the Scottish Cup? And what would happen if Hibs got drawn against Hibs reserves?

ps if we do join the ESL how long before Celtc apply to have their reserves playing in it too? :greengrin

29-05-2013, 02:34 PM
Im not sure if I would be keen them joining if I was a club in the EOS. Surly that will impact their chances of winning the league as im sure Hibs and Hearts would wipe the floor with them. I remember playing against Hearts U20s a few years ago when I played for Penicuik Juniors, couldn't get near the we bassas :greengrin

My Sunday league team played against Spartans, that was bad enough, couldn't imagine playing against professional and soon to be professional players.

29-05-2013, 03:39 PM
My Sunday league team played against Spartans, that was bad enough, couldn't imagine playing against professional and soon to be professional players.

Exactly mate, there was 15-16 year old kids that just found so much space and you couldn't get near them, mind did bring them back down to earth when I had the chance and halfed the wee twats :greengrin

29-05-2013, 04:03 PM
Just playing the devil's advocate here - but not long ago there was a proposal that in a reconstructed Scottish league set up, the OF would be able to leave "colt" teams in the lower divisions. That caused a bit of outrage among many on here.

Can someone help me by explaining how this might be different? Just want to square the circle.

At the moment, the Hibs team in the EoS league wouldn't end up in the senior league set up however, in a reconstructed pyramid league system (which I think every man and his dog wants in Scotland), there's a chance we'd have a Hibernian FC in the SPL (one would hope) and a Hibs juniors in one of the lower senior divisions.

06-06-2013, 07:40 PM
EastofScotlandFA @ EastScotlandFA (https://twitter.com/EastScotlandFA)52s (https://twitter.com/EastScotlandFA/status/342727457994059776)
@ HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) application to the @ EastScotlandFA (https://twitter.com/EastScotlandFA) league has been approved at tonight's AGM. # eosfa (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23eosfa&src=hash) @ EdinReporter (https://twitter.com/EdinReporter) @ edinburghpaper (https://twitter.com/edinburghpaper)

06-06-2013, 07:47 PM
EastofScotlandFA @ EastScotlandFA (https://twitter.com/EastScotlandFA)52s (https://twitter.com/EastScotlandFA/status/342727457994059776)
@ HibernianFCClub (https://twitter.com/HibernianFCClub) application to the @ EastScotlandFA (https://twitter.com/EastScotlandFA) league has been approved at tonight's AGM. # eosfa (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23eosfa&src=hash) @ EdinReporter (https://twitter.com/EdinReporter) @ edinburghpaper (https://twitter.com/edinburghpaper)

Easthouses vs Hibernian - Pleasing :greengrin

06-06-2013, 07:49 PM
I wonder where Hibs will play their home games, East Mains?

06-06-2013, 07:53 PM
I wonder where Hibs will play their home games, East Mains?

Would make sense I suppose as it would save renting somewhere.

06-06-2013, 07:54 PM
Does this mean we could get two Hibs teams playing in the Scottish Cup? And what would happen if Hibs got drawn against Hibs reserves?

ps if we do join the ESL how long before Celtc apply to have their reserves playing in it too? :greengrin

I was just thinking the same thing, we could double our chances of winning the cup

06-06-2013, 07:59 PM

There was something going around earlier that the SPL under-20 games will be played at Livingston next season.

06-06-2013, 07:59 PM

TBH if the final was Hibs vs Hibs Reserves I'd still expect we'd cock it up somehow.

Fred Perry
06-06-2013, 08:17 PM
I think it will be the age group below the under 20's that will play week in week out. Although any player signed with Hibs would be eligible.

06-06-2013, 08:21 PM
There was something going around earlier that the SPL under-20 games will be played at Livingston next season.

We played our reserve games there a few seasons back, around the time Collins was Manager

06-06-2013, 08:51 PM
We played our reserve games there a few seasons back, around the time Collins was Manager

Hearts may be playing the first team games there next season. Possibly in the same league?

Fred Perry
06-06-2013, 09:22 PM
Hearts may be playing the first team games there next season. Possibly in the same league?

If accepted, I believe the EOSL are a lot stricter than the SPL!!

06-06-2013, 09:28 PM
TBH if the final was Hibs vs Hibs Reserves I'd still expect we'd cock it up somehow.

HibbyAndy would back any Hibs to score any time. Hibs HT/Hibs FT and it would be a 0-0 draw and he'd lose his stake. True story :agree:

06-06-2013, 09:28 PM
I was just thinking the same thing, we could double our chances of winning the cup

Unfortunately twice zero is zero................ :wink:

07-06-2013, 11:11 AM
How will this fit in with league reconstruction / pyramid system? Say a team like Spartans were going for promotion?

I also heard the yams were looking to do something similar - anyone heard anything?

Also heard from a source at Berwick - that Hibs were looking for a link up with their youth set up - not sure if that's going to happen now.

KdyHby
07-06-2013, 11:45 AM
How will this fit in with league reconstruction / pyramid system? Say a team like Spartans were going for promotion?

I also heard the yams were looking to do something similar - anyone heard anything?

Also heard from a source at Berwick - that Hibs were looking for a link up with their youth set up - not sure if that's going to happen now.

Confirmed in tonight's e news that Hibs have joined the set up. Yams have not applied.

07-06-2013, 02:19 PM
Great news, especially this: -

Waddell stressed that Hibs would not encounter any age restrictions, meaning Pat Fenlon could give vital game time to first-team members, either out of favour or returning from injury, as well as youth players. He said: “They can play 17-year-olds, first-team players (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/hibs-secure-berth-in-east-of-scotland-league-1-2959366#), whoever is a registered player, with them which gives them total flexibility as to who can participate in competitive matches.”

CyberSauzee
07-06-2013, 02:31 PM

Waddell stressed that Hibs would not encounter any age restrictions, meaning Pat Fenlon could give vital game time to first-team members, either out of favour or returning from injury, as well as youth players. He said: “They can play 17-year-olds, first-team players (http://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/spl/hibs-secure-berth-in-east-of-scotland-league-1-2959366#), whoever is a registered player, with them which gives them total flexibility as to who can participate in competitive matches.”

Agreed, it's a no brainer really. Some decent sides in the Premier Div, hopefully they can get promoted in their first season.

07-06-2013, 05:16 PM

Hope not prestonfields only a five minute walk for me. Saw the u-20s more than the first team this year!

07-06-2013, 05:21 PM
Does this mean hibs will be playing against leith athletic down the links? That would attract a fair crowd

KdyHby
07-06-2013, 07:48 PM
http://www.eastofscotlandfa.co.uk/pages/BaseFrame.html

Looking forward to trips to the Border sides.

1 Craigroyston 26 21 2 3 77 29 48 65
2 Coldstream 26 18 5 3 80 25 55 59
3 Leith Athletic 26 18 3 5 88 38 50 57
4 Berwick Rangers 26 15 4 7 74 46 28 49
5 Eyemouth United 26 15 3 8 70 59 11 48
6 Easthouses Lily 26 14 3 9 69 63 6 45
7 Gala Fairydean 26 12 3 11 56 69 -13 39
8 Kelso United 26 9 6 11 59 62 -3 33
9 Selkirk 26 8 4 14 34 49 -15 28
10 Duns 26 6 6 14 43 56 -13 24
11 Ormiston 26 6 5 15 46 53 -7 23
12 Peebles 26 6 5 15 36 76 -40 23
13 Burntisland Shipyard 26 3 5 18 34 84 -50 14
14 Hawick Royal Albert 26 2 4 20 32 89 -57 10

07-06-2013, 07:52 PM

Easthouses will be a good day out :greengrin

07-06-2013, 07:54 PM

Great bit of news. Particularly for players coming back from injury and needing a bit of match fitness. Also good for younger lads to show themselves off in an effort to secure first team football.

07-06-2013, 08:05 PM

Games against Eyemouth, Duns, Coldstream, Berwick and Kelso come in handy for me!

KdyHby
07-06-2013, 08:15 PM
Games against Eyemouth, Duns, Coldstream, Berwick and Kelso come in handy for me!

Unfortunately the Streamers got promoted, hopefully meet them the following season.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=qw61xF70e38

VivaHiberña
07-06-2013, 08:22 PM
I see Tynecastle FC finished bottom of the EoS Premier. I imagine this means they're relegated?

Tasty wee derby?

I say play the full first team and wipe the floor with the yam bassas:yw:

KdyHby
07-06-2013, 08:27 PM
I see Tynecastle FC finished bottom of the EoS Premier. I imagine this means they're relegated?

Tasty wee derby?

:faf::faf:

warning, yammish content: http://www.tynecastlefc.co.uk/

07-06-2013, 08:41 PM

Like Hearts at Riccarton.

If they had joined as well where would they have played their games?

07-06-2013, 09:35 PM
Would cards in reserve matches affect suspensions in SPL ? Suppose reserve matches will be on Saturday afternoons so we`ll need 18 players for SPL plus reserve squad at same time some weekends - will this mean a lot of trialists or a very young reserve team ? ( Still have to have some Under 20s in first team squad according to SPL rules ) . Is Under 20 manager likely to manage reserve team too ?

07-06-2013, 09:45 PM
wee day out in Berwick. nice one

07-06-2013, 11:25 PM

good stuff, hope so

Makaveli
07-06-2013, 11:40 PM
I'm well up for this. Brilliant to have a Saturday game for all the weekends we're shifted/shafted for TV.

08-06-2013, 06:26 PM
Daily Rantic confirmed U20's to play games at livi....braw

08-06-2013, 07:04 PM
Like Hearts at Riccarton.

If they had joined as well where would they have played their games?

Murrayfield :D

08-06-2013, 07:05 PM
Daily Rantic confirmed U20's to play games at livi....braw

So where will the eos games be played

08-06-2013, 07:07 PM
So where will the eos games be played

Almondvale. Under 20's are the team that are entering the EOS.

08-06-2013, 07:27 PM

It's said in an earlier post that it was the spl under 20 games that were being played at almondvale

08-06-2013, 07:51 PM

Believe it or not the under 20s will play in the under 20s league.

The EOS team will be Hibernian, no age restriction but my understanding is it will mainly be laddies that aren't old enough to play in the 20s.

08-06-2013, 07:54 PM

Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm, let me think.

Do Berwick Rangers get two teams in the Scottish Cup?

08-06-2013, 07:55 PM
can see a few cricket scores taking place. no disrespect, but some of the lesser clubs in the EOS are rank. Equally, Hibs will find the top teams tough to crack. A good decision fae Hibs here!

blaikie
08-06-2013, 08:12 PM
Excellent move by Hibs, this could be the next step on from the training centre. Giving our youngsters the taste of competitive games will bolster there development.

08-06-2013, 08:21 PM
The structure of the East of Scotland league will be undergoing major changes next season with the onset of the new Lowland league. I suspect that the top teams will apply to join thus the standard of the E of S league will be diluted even further.

10-06-2013, 08:14 AM
Delighted with this!

Question though, will we be able to get promoted to the Lowland league and thus into the SFL?

10-06-2013, 08:53 AM

Tasty wee derby?

My wee brother plays for them , from what I know theres actually a lot of Hibbies in the team :greengrin

10-06-2013, 11:41 AM
Believe it or not the under 20s will play in the under 20s league.

The EOS team will be Hibernian, no age restriction but my understanding is it will mainly be laddies that aren't old enough to play in the 20s.

Or the players that are just to old to play under 20s eg horribine, gold

10-06-2013, 11:57 AM
And first team players looking for match fitness. I'd imagine this could see us sending out less players on loan next season.

10-06-2013, 12:27 PM
And first team players looking for match fitness. I'd imagine this could see us sending out less players on loan next season.

This is a very good point.

Take the goalkeeper situation last year. Williams was established number one and played all but one of the games. Antell was over 20 (born June 1992) and not eligible for the U20 league, so to get him games they had to loan him out.

That then meant the only cover they had available in the club for Williams was Paul Grant (born March 1993), who had minimal senior experience. That then meant they had to sign another goalkeeper (Murdoch), costing a wage but only playing in one game all season. On top of that I doubt whether East Fife were covering Antell's full wage from Hibs.

They couldn't recall Antell from loan outside the transfer window. But if they had a team in the EOS league last season, they could have allowed Antell to play in that competition and use him as sub for the first team games.

10-06-2013, 12:56 PM

Take the goalkeeper situation last year. Williams was established number one and played all but one of the games. Antell was over 20 (born June 1992) and not eligible for the U20 league, so to get him games they had to loan him out.

That then meant the only cover they had available in the club for Williams was Paul Grant (born March 1993), who had minimal senior experience. That then meant they had to sign another goalkeeper (Murdoch), costing a wage but only playing in one game all season. On top of that I doubt whether East Fife were covering Antell's full wage from Hibs.

They couldn't recall Antell from loan outside the transfer window. But if they had a team in the EOS league last season, they could have allowed Antell to play in that competition and use him as sub for the first team games.

Only problem being that the EOS games will be Saturday afternoons aswell! I presume we wouldn't be able to have all our fixtures on say a Friday night at the training centre?

10-06-2013, 06:46 PM

the keeper doesnt have to be under 20 in that league, only outfield players count and you can have 2 over age players

10-06-2013, 06:57 PM
the keeper doesnt have to be under 20 in that league, only outfield players count and you can have 2 over age players

Okay, maybe the keepers situation wasn't the best example.

Most of the five players who they just gave contracts to will be over age for the under-20 league next season. Plus they usually want to use the 2 over age spots on senior players that are on the fringe of first team at the time. Having what is effectively a youth/reserve team in the EOS league gives them greater flexibility than either loaning players out for the full window period or the under-20 age restrictions allow.

Hibspirational
11-06-2013, 09:24 PM
Any idea if our team will have restrictions placed on them because of this;

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22862971

Can't see many other teams being happy at the prospect of two Hibs teams!

14-06-2013, 08:17 AM
With the creation of the lowland league and a pyramid system in place, i'd like to think that within 3 seasons we could be in the lowland league and one step away from the SPFL. the only thing that might go against us is the new governing body might not fancy.

14-07-2013, 09:28 PM
Anyone know where Hibs are going to play their " Home " games in E of S League ?

muthillhibee
14-07-2013, 09:34 PM
Hibernian Training Centre at East Mains

14-07-2013, 09:38 PM
Thank you
Won't be watching many home games then !
Pity as was looking forward to seeing more of the young lads.

14-07-2013, 09:43 PM
i take it it's the U21's that will be playing their home games at Livi then

007 Mickey Weir
14-07-2013, 09:45 PM
Under20s play at East Mains as well do they not?

14-07-2013, 09:57 PM
well it's either the U19's/U20's/U21's/E'oS's whatever that are playing at livi :greengrin

14-07-2013, 09:58 PM
Under20s play at East Mains as well do they not?

no the under 20s will play their league games at livingston's ground this season with kick off being 7pm, last year they were at linlithgow

east of scotland games will be a saturday afternoon, think kick off is 2pm. its annoying it will clash when the first team are playing but after last season we didnt play many first team games on a saturday!

15-07-2013, 02:30 AM
http://eastofscotlandfa.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/2013-2014-fixtures.pdf

Here are the fixtures, can't make sense yet of the fixtures, doesn't seem to be home and away balance against all teams in the first division. I wonder if we can emulate our 14-1 victory over Peebles Rovers? Will be in Borders, so I look forward to games in January v Hawick and Kelso, if we are playing away for the first team.

It seems it may be possible for promotion in future from EoS Premier to Lowland League, if so will Hibs Reserves be vying for place with Lowland League clubs for 3rd Division and potential derbies with the new second and third teams of Edinburgh, City and Spartans?:devil:

Posh Swanny
15-07-2013, 08:57 AM
21 September for the first big derby at East Mains! :agree:

15-07-2013, 11:58 AM
http://eastofscotlandfa.files.wordpress.com/2013/07/2013-2014-fixtures.pdf

Here are the fixtures, can't make sense yet of the fixtures, doesn't seem to be home and away balance against all teams in the first division. I wonder if we can emulate our 14-1 victory over Peebles Rovers? Will be in Borders, so I look forward to games in January v Hawick and Kelso, if we are playing away for the first team.

It seems it may be possible for promotion in future from EoS Premier to Lowland League, if so will Hibs Reserves be vying for place with Lowland League clubs for 3rd Division and potential derbies with the new second and third teams of Edinburgh, City and Spartans?:devil:

Ahem. 15 -1

Baker9
15-07-2013, 01:27 PM
I experienced this type of arrangement many years ago when I played for a team in Bristol. In our league we had both Bristol City and Bristol Rovers '3rd teams'. They seemed to have a core of regular young players but in each game they had several trialists and players recovering from injury including the occasional first team player (Gerry Gow was one I remember). Neither of their teams won the league in my two seasons there but they were always good games and it should work well for Hibs.

15-07-2013, 01:53 PM
Ahem. 15 -1

I'm a typical Hibee, underestimating our greatness.:wink:

15-07-2013, 02:25 PM
Easthouses my local team on 9th Nov, will be attending that!