View Full Version : Dreaming in green around the world...

14-05-2013, 11:44 AM
Hibs stand on the brink of History so why not spread the word?

I'm trying to get messages on forums with a green connection. Based around the theme "Dreaming in Green..."

If you'd like to help out then what I'd need you to do is...
A) Register to forums of clubs with green connections.
B) translate and tweak the letter Ive writer to make things standardised but tailored (see next post)
C) keep an eye and respond to any non-English stuff.
D) once posted please include link to forums thread on this thread.

Teams in Green

Avellino - DevonJock DONE

Bohemians Praha 1905 - assigned to Craig_in_Prague DONE
Brugge http://www.cerclebrugge.be/ - unassigned

Gais - Assigned to Edinburghhibee
Gdansk http://lechia.pl/index.php - unassigned
Groeningen - Vp DONE(?) [dint we have connections with the club?]

Hibernians - Pat Head - email DONE (I could only find a Facebook page, Hibs-ultras was in Chinese! FB posting still up for grabs !!)

Legia Warsaw - unassigned

Palmeiras - Vp(being progressed)
Panathanoikos - Vp DONE
Platense - unassigned (Honduras)
Plymouth - Vp DONE

Real Betis - Assigned to PrettyBoy
Rapid Vienna - Assigned to Peejay but reassigned DONE (1875Hibees)

Seattle Sounders (sp?) - 1875Hibees DONE we also have a ST holder there!
Shamrock Rovers (Oniel connections) - Vp (in progress)
St Etienne LondonHibs FC/Peevemor refine & post -DONE

Werder Bremen - Assigned to Peejay DONE

Yeovil Town - Vp DONE

Japanese team - assigned to Sergey (pls confirm)

(Non-green)
Bohemians (Doyle, Pat) - unassigned
Marseilles reprising game against Sauzeés last final - unassigned

Ill update with any additions ...
thanks once again to all contributors!

cheers Iain

14-05-2013, 11:52 AM
Here's the idea. Register ASAP on the forums and post a translated version of this.
Plymouth have already been posted. Palmeiras are in the process (account blocked for some reason and I'm aiming to follow up with others). Please confirm if you are able and once complete - would be good to post a like to their forum from ours to complete the cross-reference. Gotta get in there NOW THO'
Thanks for your help! Ich habe seit vier Jahre Deutch in der Schule gelernen aber as was dreizig jahre frueh :)

Dreaming in Green...

As an Bremen Fan you'll know what it's like to "dream in green". My team is Hibernian. You'll know we are in the select few who play in green and white.
Today Hibernian stand on the brink of history in our quest for "the holy grail" - The Scottish Cup.
We have not won the Scottish Cup since 1902. If we do, it will arguably be one of the biggest triumphs in world sport - easily beating the Boston Red Sox jinxed World Series Baseball record which ended at only 86 years.
After last years final against our bitter rivals we were supposed to be finished. However we've bounced back are undefeated against them and put them out of the cup they defended for the shortest period.
So our historic match is against Celtic. It will be tough - they are League champions but our players stand on the point of greatness - the realisation of a dream generations of fans who dream in green - winning "the holy grail".
You may ask why choose Hibs over Celtic? We are certainly the underdog however we were the first to wear green and after 111 years dreaming, perhaps have a stronger claim to dreaming in green ;)

I'd like to wish you and Bremen well and to ask you to share in our experience and with other clubs around the world become Hibees for the day on the 26th May. I can't promise a victory but passion and hopefully a wee bit of magic on the day.

We will create a thread "Dreaming in Green around the world" on http://www.hibs.net/forumdisplay.php...net-Main-Forum if you'd like to message your support.

Cheers and thanks for listening,
Iain.

Here's a wee sample.

The Passion:
http://s1317.photobucket.com
The Goals:
<The Derby>
http://youtu.be/WaJKOCkMEsI
http://youtu.be/7lvxnSPgCsY
<Semi final>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d2XkfrPjLEE
<links to Leigh's goals>
http://youtu.be/bNfo2LcBwb8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8pmnmWda6w4
<links to 5-1 cup victory and SOL>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sPXCNwBu_t8
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RwUw9AERohM
<links to 6-2>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4Cmv0TLyE58
<links to Ivan>
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GySIAOO8PZE

14-05-2013, 11:54 AM
Plymouth know...

http://www.pasoti.co.uk/talk/viewtopic.php?f=30&t=76756

14-05-2013, 11:58 AM

Also seen beside the Commie in Edinburgh.

and no I don't work for the company...

AugustaHibs
14-05-2013, 12:04 PM
As i have pals in Bremen, this will be going on the werder bremen forum!:flag::flag:

ChrissyG1875
14-05-2013, 01:52 PM
I was particulaly fond of this plymouth fans sentiments

"ANYBODY but bleddy Celtic (and that obnoxious ginger gimp of a manager). Count me in as a Hibs supporter for the day"

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 02:12 PM
One guy says that we are similar sized clubs. Dont know about that TBH lol. But most are backing us in the final. Fair play to them.

14-05-2013, 02:13 PM
Racing Santander :aok:. Also, Santos Laguna but I think they might already have a bit of a love in with Celtic :dunno:.

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 02:16 PM
Very good idea mate

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 02:18 PM
Can you link the panathinaikos thread please mate. Cant find it.

14-05-2013, 02:27 PM
Can you link the panathinaikos thread please mate. Cant find it.
http://forums.phantis.com/topic/14105-dreaming-in-green/#entry220216

No responses so far - you know any Greek? Not too sure if this is the best forum.

hissed off I don't appear to be able to post on the Palmeiras forum :( Twiglet and the Green Goblin called in - ill give if another go tonight when the missus can have a butchers.

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 02:32 PM
http://forums.phantis.com/topic/14105-dreaming-in-green/#entry220216

No responses so far - you know any Greek? Not too sure if this is the best forum.

hissed off I don't appear to be able to post on the Palmeiras forum :( Twiglet and the Green Goblin called in - ill give if another go tonight when the missus can have a butchers.
Cheers mate. Not too sure about my Greek :greengrin Once again a very good idea and I will sign up to the Bohemians forum a bit later if it has not already been done.

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 02:54 PM
How about the Hibernians of Malta?

14-05-2013, 03:09 PM
Gais in Sweden - if anyone knows their forum youd get plenty love from them they have a hibs branch which regrettably just started after I left Sweden.

Went to their Derby v IFK with my ex and their support is like us they go through a tough time more often than not but when they get to the big time they enjoy it. THEY EVEN HAVE SOME SONGS SIMILAR TO OURS!!!

Ill make enquiries with some old friends.

14-05-2013, 03:12 PM
Great shout!

14-05-2013, 03:27 PM
Gais in Sweden - if anyone knows their forum youd get plenty love from them they have a hibs branch which regrettably just started after I left Sweden.

Went to their Derby v IFK with my ex and their support is like us they go through a tough time more often than not but when they get to the big time they enjoy it. THEY EVEN HAVE SOME SONGS SIMILAR TO OURS!!!

Ill make enquiries with some old friends.

Great if we've got personal connections in there all the better I welcome and its very much intended for folks like yourselves to reach out to the forums my "template" is just a starter for 10. Been a bit rushed in between meetings but this intended to be a collaborative effort to spread the news ;)

14-05-2013, 03:30 PM
As i have pals in Bremen, this will be going on the werder bremen forum!:flag::flag:

Great the more the merrie maybe just check with PeeJay first to avoid any duplication - hopefully complimentary postings.

14-05-2013, 03:32 PM
I could try having a go at Real Betis.

Got a mate who lives in Seville.

14-05-2013, 03:43 PM
AS St Etienne in France

Ferencvaros in Hungary

Feyenoord's new away top is basically a Hibs top with more skillful players wearing them :greengrin

HibeeMG
14-05-2013, 04:10 PM
There's also:

Portland Timbers (USA)
Santos Laguna (Mexico)
Platense (Honduras - really Hibs-like strip)
Banfield (Argentina)
North Queensland Fury (Australia)
Legia Warsaw (Poland)
Lechia Gdansk (Poland - very Celtc like strip though)
FC Groningen (Netherlands)
Zalgiris Vilnius (Lithuania :wink:)
Sassuolo Calcio (Italy - green & black but what the hey)
FC KooTeePee (Finland - purely for the club name!)
Viborg (Norway)
SV Ried (Austria)
Rapid Wien (Austria)
Wacker Innsbruck (Austria - they like green in Austria)
SV Mattersburg (Austria - they really like green in Austria)
Jablonec FC (Czech Republic)

.... just off the top of my head.

14-05-2013, 04:15 PM
Bohemians Praha?

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 04:25 PM
I have just put it up on the Rapid Wien forum: http://www.austriansoccerboard.at/index.php/topic/94828-dreaming-in-green/

WestEndHibee
14-05-2013, 04:26 PM
Sporting Lisbon?

London Hibs FC
14-05-2013, 04:27 PM
Sent you a PM VP, French version on the Private Members Board for you :aok:

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 04:43 PM
Got a response from Rapid Wien. 'GLORY GLORY TO THE HIBEES' Posted by GruneJacke

14-05-2013, 04:46 PM
I was watching the bundesliga highlighs on ITV4 last night and noticed when Werder Bremen scored 500 miles came on.....anyone know why this is?

14-05-2013, 04:46 PM
Sporting Lisbon?

I didn't out them down as a possibility as I thought they were more Celtic orientated but then again after being invaded by them perhaps...

higgy0418
14-05-2013, 04:57 PM
Seattle sounders as well. most passionate fans in the MLS i would say

1875Hibees
14-05-2013, 05:02 PM
Done: http://www.soundersfc.com/Social/Forums.aspx?plckForumPage=ForumDiscussion&plckDiscussionId=Cat%3a3ed350c9-7069-4d55-bb8b-9750526aeeefForum%3ab8e335ac-dbcd-4574-a4e2-e5f5fde4a3fdDiscussion%3a3c34ee1d-a405-4e06-a9f7-566b73660dbb

14-05-2013, 05:03 PM

Portland as well. Used to love their strip till I saw fat Boyd in it.

14-05-2013, 05:36 PM
It's now up on the Werder Bremen fan site: http://forum.werder.de/forumdisplay.php?12-Vereinsfußball

pontius pilate
14-05-2013, 06:05 PM
1 reply from the sounders forum
" I like him lets do it"

14-05-2013, 06:19 PM
Bohemians Praha?

Bohemians 1905 !

My local team :-)

14-05-2013, 06:29 PM

Sent the club and their supporters club an email. (Couldn't find a forum). They don't however wear green! I'll let you know if I hear of anything.

14-05-2013, 06:36 PM
Bohemians 1905 !

Get in there Craig!

14-05-2013, 06:38 PM
Sent the club and their supporters club an email. (Couldn't find a forum). They don't however wear green! I'll let you know if I hear of anything.
Nice one K. I could only see the ultras page (Chinese) or Facebook if someone wants to post up... Putting kids to bed I should be on later.

14-05-2013, 06:43 PM
Get in there Craig!

I will write them but tomorrow as I am only on mobile just now, will write from PC at work; easier to.copy the message etc.
Also not sure if this is their main forum or not (they use facebook etc too)

http://www.bohemians.cz/forum/

ps. Cup final is on Czech Tv.
And they have some Hibs badges on sale at one of the fan stalls in the stadium on match days :-)

14-05-2013, 08:39 PM
BURSASPOR.

Bursaspor is a professional Turkish football club located in the city of Bursa. Formed in 1963, Bursaspor are nicknamed Yeşil Beyazlılar (the Green-Whites) also Yeşil Timsahlar (the Green Crocodiles). The club colours are green and white, with home kits usually donning both colours in a striped pattern.

14-05-2013, 11:26 PM
Rapid Vienna and Celtic "special history" hmmm.... Tasty!

Mango
May 14 2013 23:36
As we have some kind of special history with Celtic, it is a pleasure for me (and I think for quite some others of us) to wish you all the best against them!
I will definitely follow the match and cheer for a win of Hibernian on this day! Go beat Celtic!

15-05-2013, 04:23 AM
1 reply from Werder Bremen (134 hits) - "Werder Wü" writes: "Hey I was over there last summer, it's a fine stadium, close to the heart of the city. Walked down to it from Arthur's Seat http://forum.werder.de/images/smilies/10.gif (Celtic Park is some stadium too mind http://forum.werder.de/images/smilies/ugly.gif )

Despite that, I hope you succeed anyway. You have to support the team in green and white! (although in this case you can't actually lose http://forum.werder.de/images/smilies/02.gif )

I'm on your side too because of the "underdog status":

Go Hibs!"

15-05-2013, 11:20 AM
Yeovil Town know...
http://www.tgr2.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=6984

15-05-2013, 11:31 AM
Bohemians 1905 !

I went to their last game in the old stadium, great day even though it was 0-0 v SK Kladno.

15-05-2013, 11:43 AM
Any French/Spanish speakers able to assist?

(peejay?) you still able to do St Etienne?

15-05-2013, 11:44 AM
I will write them but tomorrow as I am only on mobile just now, will write from PC at work; easier to.copy the message etc.

And they have some Hibs badges on sale at one of the fan stalls in the stadium on match days :-)
Nice one! Thx

15-05-2013, 11:45 AM
Any French/Spanish speakers able to assist?

(peejay?) you still able to do St Etienne?

It's in hand and should be ready later today.

15-05-2013, 11:50 AM
It's in hand and should be ready later today.
Thanks dude!

15-05-2013, 11:53 AM

Even more reason to switch on, tune in, Hibee stress-out ;)

Richibee
15-05-2013, 12:00 PM
Would FC Nantes count?

15-05-2013, 12:04 PM
What about that club "Hearts"?

15-05-2013, 12:34 PM
Would FC Nantes count?

Only if you're dreaming in a yellow Norwich lookalike change strip sort of way. :greengrin

Richibee
15-05-2013, 12:57 PM
Only if you're dreaming in a yellow Norwich lookalike change strip sort of way. :greengrin

http://www.football-shirts.co.uk/fans/fc-nantes-home-away-shirt-1011_8910

http://www.footballshirtculture.com/12/13-kits/norwich-city-2012-2013-errea-home-football-kit.html

OK, Norwich as well - anything with green is good! :greengrin

15-05-2013, 02:51 PM
I have just put it up on the Rapid Wien forum: http://www.austriansoccerboard.at/index.php/topic/94828-dreaming-in-green/

When they played Celtc a few years ago, I was living and working in Vienna. One of they guys at my work was going to the away match in Glasgow so I taught him and his mates to sing 'The Smelly Weegie' song. Sounded a bit strange in their Viennese accents but he promised me they sung it at Darkhied :greengrin

Oh aye, his comment on Darkhied ad surroundings, "it was like arriving in Hiroshima immediately after the Atom Bomb was dropped, but with a great big football stadium dropped in the middle"

15-05-2013, 02:53 PM
Don't forget Celtic. :greengrin

15-05-2013, 06:13 PM
A brilliant idea. Well done.

15-05-2013, 07:28 PM
Letter to the editor of the Boston Globe...

Dear sir,

"I feel your pain"... an often used phrase but do we really?
The Red Sox had to wait for 86 years for "that" win. My soccer team Hibernian is still waiting on our quest for our "Holy Grail" (The Scottish Cup) 111 years on!

We have not won the Scottish Cup since 1902. But today Hibernian stands on the brink. If we win it will arguably be one of the biggest triumphs in world sport - even beating that Boston Red Sox jinxed World Series record.
After last years final against our bitter rivals we were supposed to be finished. However we've bounced back are undefeated against them and put them out of the cup they defended for the shortest period.
So our historic match is against Celtic. It will be tough - they are League champions but our players stand on the point of greatness - the realisation of a dream generations of fans who dream in green - winning "the holy grail".
I appreciate your readers' allegiances may traditionally favour Glasgow Celtic. Hibernian are certainly the underdog however we were the first to wear green and after 111 years dreaming, perhaps have a stronger claim to dreaming in green ;)

So maybe if your readers "feel our pain" perhaps they can spare a thought and maybe a cheer for Hibernian on 26th May.

Here's hoping to be pain-free on the 27th!

Yours sincerely,
Vp

DevonLoch
16-05-2013, 11:51 AM
Great idea to spread the word….now up on the A.S. Avellino forum:

http://forum.pianetabiancoverde.it/showthread.php?t=10776

A bit about the team:

http://www.asavellino.com/index.php?a=1141600243
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A.S._Avellino_1912
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2D0qjSqoGSU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=En7fiWU4siE

16-05-2013, 12:27 PM
Good idea and effort Iain :aok:

Hows this for Dreaming in Green......I bet some of our in house photoshop dudes could 'Hibernian' that as an impressive T-shirt...i'd have one

16-05-2013, 12:39 PM
nice cup run montage to stick up on other sites

https://www.youtube.com/embed/sy5V5wM-TVA

ChrissyG1875
16-05-2013, 12:57 PM
I've seen Legia Warsaw and Lechia Gdansk mentioned, there's also Slask Wroclaw.

16-05-2013, 01:40 PM
Translations required see dreaming in green around the world thread!

cheers
Vp

neilmartinrocks
16-05-2013, 02:13 PM
I've seen Legia Warsaw and Lechia Gdansk mentioned, there's also Slask Wroclaw.

Worked with a couple of Poles who supported the Nobles and they are just a tad right wing for the BHL on this forum.

16-05-2013, 04:11 PM
Great idea to spread the word….now up on the A.S. Avellino forum:

http://forum.pianetabiancoverde.it/showthread.php?t=10776

A bit about the team:

http://www.asavellino.com/index.php?a=1141600243
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/A.S._Avellino_1912
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2D0qjSqoGSU
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=En7fiWU4siE

Nice one Devon.
You gotta love the Italians - put picture up of a Hibernian babe already ;)

16-05-2013, 04:25 PM

Im guessing the Italians spotted "Miss Hibs" at the Semi-final ...

16-05-2013, 05:15 PM

Hahaha that thread is class you have definately grown Hibs fan base. :agree:

barcahibs
16-05-2013, 09:00 PM
On the 26th May at 3pm a green and white army of football fans from all over the world will unite as one to back their team as Hibernian take the field at Hampden Park in the Final of the 2013 Scottish Cup.

We are Hibernian FC. We are the Hibees Family.

Founded as a charity in 1875 to aid impoverished immigrants to our country, we are a club that has always held true to our roots. We pride ourselves that our colours are famous - we were first to wear the green.

We've had our share of success over the years but one trophy has long eluded us. The Scottish Cup. We last won it in 1902 - 111 years ago.
To the fans it has become our Holy Grail, the trophy we covet above all others.
On the 26th we the fans will once again stand behind our team as they attempt to bring this famous trophy - the oldest in World football - back to our home stadium of Easter Road to bask in the Sunshine on Leith.

Some people say our glory days are behind us. Some people say our team as good as died 12 months ago when we lost the previous final to our greatest rivals. Some people say that in these days of outlandish TV revenues, financial doping, billionaire owners and chequebook managers a team such as ours, living and competing within our means, has no chance of success.

We disagree.

23 years ago cynical business interests tried to kill our team. We the fans stood up to be counted - and were mocked as "tribalists" and fools for daring to resist the march of progress. Our club was brought to the very brink of extinction but a combination of fan power, a deep sense of community and a philanthropist White Knight in the shape of Sir Tom Farmer ensured that the Hibernian family lived to fight another day.

On that day 23 years ago a promise was made.

"Hibernian will never die. This old club will rise again like a great phoenix from the ashes"

Next Sunday we have a chance to fulfil that promise. We face a club with ten times our budget, ten times our profile - and one tenth our passion.
A club whose ranks are swelled by thousands of followers from all over the country who chase the easy life of constant success and easy glory. An establishment club who hold every advantage - indeed whose first act on their own founding was an attempt to strangle us in order to promote their own status.

All the odds are stacked against us, we face the league champions, we have no right to even think of success.

But we are the team that wouldn't die. We dare to dream in green.

On May 26th we hope everyone who reads this will dream with us.

Glory Glory to The Hibees.

16-05-2013, 09:23 PM
On the 26th May at 3pm a green and white army of football fans from all over the world will unite as one to back their team as Hibernian take the field at Hampden Park in the Final of the 2013 Scottish Cup.

Founded as a charity in 1875 to aid impoverished immigrants to our country, we are a club that has always held true to our roots. We pride ourselves that our colours are famous - we were first to wear the green.

We've had our share of success over the years but one trophy has long eluded us. The Scottish Cup. We last won it in 1902 - 111 years ago.
On the 26th we the fans will once again stand behind our team as they attempt to bring this famous trophy - the oldest in World football - back to our home stadium of Easter Road to bask in the Sunshine on Leith.

Some people say our glory days are behind us. Some people say our team as good as died 12 months ago when we lost the previous final to our greatest rivals. Some people say that in these days of outlandish TV revenues, billionaire owners and chequebook managers a team such as ours, living and competing within our means, has no chance of success.

We disagree.

23 years ago cynical business interests tried to kill our team. We the fans stood up to be counted - and were mocked as "tribalists" and fools for daring to resist the march of progress. Our club was brought to the very brink of extinction but a combination of fan power, a deep sense of community and a philanthropist White Knight in the shape of Sir Tom Farmer ensured that the Hibernian family lived to fight another day.

"Hibernian will never die. This old club will rise again like a great phoenix from the ashes"

Next Saturday we have a chance to fulfil that promise. We face a club with ten times our budget, ten times our profile - and one tenth our passion.
A club whose ranks are swelled by thousands of followers from all over the country who chase the easy life of constant success and easy glory. An establishment club who hold every advantage - indeed who's first act on their own founding was an attempt to strangle us in order to promote their own status.

All the odds are stacked against us, we face the league champions, we have no right to even think of success.

If you dont mind I am going to copy this onto my facebook page. Nearly in tears reading it.

16-05-2013, 09:23 PM

Some people say our glory days are behind us. Some people say our team as good as died 12 months ago when we lost the previous final to our greatest rivals. Some people say that in these days of outlandish TV revenues, billionaire owners and chequebook managers a team such as ours, living and competing within our means, has no chance of success.

We disagree.

Next Saturday we have a chance to fulfil that promise. We face a club with ten times our budget, ten times our profile - and one tenth our passion.
A club whose ranks are swelled by thousands of followers from all over the country who chase the easy life of constant success and easy glory. An establishment club who hold every advantage - indeed who's first act on their own founding was an attempt to strangle us in order to promote their own status.

Well written piece Barça - deserves a wider airing you firing it off anywhere?

16-05-2013, 09:27 PM
We may have a convert or interloper in Bremen...

barcahibs
16-05-2013, 09:31 PM
If you dont mind I am going to copy this onto my facebook page. Nearly in tears reading it.

Go for it - the more that read these things the more that will dream with us!

Well written piece Barça - deserves a wider airing you firing it off anywhere?

I'm hopeless at stuff like that - cannae think where I could send it! If anyone wants to distribute it anywhere feel free.

16-05-2013, 09:31 PM

:agree: Superb.

barcahibs
16-05-2013, 09:45 PM
If anyone does share it mind and use the new version where I've got us playing on the right day... if we win it on the Saturday someone really is looking after us :wink:

16-05-2013, 09:45 PM
Done: http://www.soundersfc.com/Social/Forums.aspx?plckForumPage=ForumDiscussion&plckDiscussionId=Cat%3a3ed350c9-7069-4d55-bb8b-9750526aeeefForum%3ab8e335ac-dbcd-4574-a4e2-e5f5fde4a3fdDiscussion%3a3c34ee1d-a405-4e06-a9f7-566b73660dbb
Someone advise the boy who said he didn't think this would happen if rangers were in the mix - they were in the mix they just got pumped out by United iirrc!

1875Hibees
16-05-2013, 09:52 PM
Someone advise the boy who said he didn't think this would happen if rangers were in the mix - they were in the mix they just got pumped out by United iirrc!
Done that now mate.

17-05-2013, 07:16 AM
Barca - you've got a PM bud!

17-05-2013, 08:38 PM
Palmeiras know...

https://www.facebook.com/sePalmeiras

17-05-2013, 08:51 PM

Derby v IFK .

Was that the old baseball ground or the new ground.

18-05-2013, 11:42 AM

i know that young lady. It's from last years final.

18-05-2013, 04:10 PM
Groningen know...

http://www.fcgforum.nl//viewtopic.php?f=2&t=3271

18-05-2013, 09:10 PM
The Boston Red Sox know...
http://www.talksox.com/forum/talk-sox-forum/17340-i-feel-your-pain-jinx-shared.html#post840836

18-05-2013, 10:42 PM
Saint Etienne know ...

http://www.poteaux-carres.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=19340

19-05-2013, 12:02 AM
What an outstanding thread this is

Canny put any smilies in,I'm on my tablet,but this is great

19-05-2013, 12:08 AM
What an outstanding thread this is

Canny put any smilies in,I'm on my tablet,but this is great

A tremendous idea :agree:

19-05-2013, 06:21 AM
Saint Etienne know ...

http://www.poteaux-carres.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=19340

Nice one Peevemor and LHFC double-team effort (good luck LHFC today!)

looks like you've hit a rich vein of support there St Etienne I just love that name - Hibs class!

DevonLoch
19-05-2013, 09:57 AM
Update on Avellino http://www.asavellino.com/index.php?a=1062958537

Avellino's league is divided into 2 groups A & B http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lega_Pro_Prima_Divisione. Avellino won group B and will be promoted to Serie B next season. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3WYbRud4BD8

Trapani won group A and will also be promoted to Serie B next season.

Avellino and Trapani now play off over 2 legs for the 'Super Cup', first leg tonight at 8.30.

Avellino as we know play in green and white. Trapani play in maroon! http://www.trapanicalcio.it/

Wish the BiancoVerde well and I'll post a 'link' on their forum - or you can sign up here and do it directly http://forum.pianetabiancoverde.it

19-05-2013, 10:07 AM
There's also:

Portland Timbers (USA)
Santos Laguna (Mexico)
Platense (Honduras - really Hibs-like strip)
Banfield (Argentina)
North Queensland Fury (Australia)
Legia Warsaw (Poland)
Lechia Gdansk (Poland - very Celtc like strip though)
FC Groningen (Netherlands)
Zalgiris Vilnius (Lithuania :wink:)
Sassuolo Calcio (Italy - green & black but what the hey)
FC KooTeePee (Finland - purely for the club name!)
Viborg (Norway)
SV Ried (Austria)
Rapid Wien (Austria)
Wacker Innsbruck (Austria - they like green in Austria)
SV Mattersburg (Austria - they really like green in Austria)
Jablonec FC (Czech Republic)

.... just off the top of my head.

North Queensland Fury are no more. Sadly there are currently no green teams in the A-League!

Good thread though .

19-05-2013, 10:16 AM
Superb thread, love it! Notice a few teams saying 'the link doesn't work' tho.

19-05-2013, 11:14 AM
Saw that! will sweep up!

19-05-2013, 12:07 PM

Some people say our glory days are behind us. Some people say our team as good as died 12 months ago when we lost the previous final to our greatest rivals. Some people say that in these days of outlandish TV revenues, financial doping, billionaire owners and chequebook managers a team such as ours, living and competing within our means, has no chance of success.

We disagree.

Next Sunday we have a chance to fulfil that promise. We face a club with ten times our budget, ten times our profile - and one tenth our passion.
A club whose ranks are swelled by thousands of followers from all over the country who chase the easy life of constant success and easy glory. An establishment club who hold every advantage - indeed whose first act on their own founding was an attempt to strangle us in order to promote their own status.

outstanding! Shared with the Red Sox to fill em in with some background ...

19-05-2013, 12:47 PM

We disagree.

outstanding! Shared with the Red Sox to fill em in with some background ...

19-05-2013, 04:34 PM

I've fixed the link on the Saint Etienne forum and have also posted some you tube stuff (although one of them had already found SOL from 2007).

http://www.poteaux-carres.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=1&t=19340&p=1084760#p1084760

21-05-2013, 02:24 PM
Frankfurt done :aok:

http://www.eintracht.de/meine_eintracht/forum/6/11196567/?page=1#f11685822 :thumbsup:

23-05-2013, 07:29 AM

http://www.eintracht.de/meine_eintracht/forum/6/11196567/?page=1#f11685822 :thumbsup:

Nice one Steve iPhone post fail - I just noticed my earlier reply to this on the day of posting didn't go up.

23-05-2013, 08:06 AM

This is probably a stupid question but... why Eintracht? Their colours are red and black. :dunno:

_hucks_
23-05-2013, 08:10 AM
This is probably a stupid question but... why Eintracht? Their colours are red and black. :dunno:

I believe we have the 'allez allez allez oh' song in common

23-05-2013, 08:10 AM

Fair question. I believe we have a number of converted fans from there plus as i understand it we took inspiration from their fans for a certain song that's exploded into Hibee consciousness this season in particular.

23-05-2013, 08:14 AM
I believe we have the 'allez allez allez oh' song in common

Fair question. I believe we have a number of converted fans from there plus as i understand it we took inspiration from their fans for a certain song that's exploded into Hibee consciousness this season in particular.

Thanks guys

23-05-2013, 08:15 AM
http://youtu.be/PmqB1LXRGW0

"Just give me a sign any sign" Steve Martin - The Man with Two Brains...

23-05-2013, 08:16 AM
http://www.bohemians.cz/forum/forum.aspx

Bohemians (Prague) 1905 know.

23-05-2013, 08:23 AM
We've still got a few more to do - Craig any joy with you Praha Bohemiens? We're also looking to our something out to Real Betis and someone was gonna pick up Bohs. Come on folks final (no pun intended !) push. I'm geared up got Shamrock rovers (ultras).
thanks on e again to all contibutors and translators. Who knows perhaps we might find a suitable club to twin with ;)

23-05-2013, 08:35 AM
http://www.bohemians.cz/forum/forum.aspx

Bohemians (Prague) 1905 know.
Fantastic! Thanks Craig good you'll get to see it live if not in the flesh.

DevonLoch
23-05-2013, 10:11 AM
... Who knows perhaps we might find a suitable club to twin with ;)

Italians up for twinning….particularly with our female fans!

http://forum.pianetabiancoverde.it/showthread.php?t=10776&page=2

http://forum.pianetabiancoverde.it/showthread.php?t=10774&page=8

Weej1875
23-05-2013, 11:07 AM
Great idea, well done. Don't the Chicago Cubs have an even longer record (ongoing)? Over 100 years since they won the World Series I think. Maybe we should reach out to them!

23-05-2013, 03:30 PM
Was that the old baseball ground or the new ground.

It was the new ground I went to mate no atmosphere coming from the IFK fans that night sure it was midweek.

Andy Bee
23-05-2013, 03:56 PM
i know that young lady. It's from last years final.

Here's hoping she's smiling this year A

23-05-2013, 04:24 PM
Italians up for twinning….particularly with our female fans!

http://forum.pianetabiancoverde.it/showthread.php?t=10776&page=2

http://forum.pianetabiancoverde.it/showthread.php?t=10774&page=8

i like the idea of a tie-in with Avellino, Palmeiras and Hibs makes loose sense given history.

Dunno what to make of the miss Hibs appreciaters (I've not ventured to to a google translate but from what I can gather they're a bit hot under the collar...

23-05-2013, 08:45 PM
Shamrock Rovers Ultras know...

http://srfcultrasforum.eu/forum/showthread.php?5432-Dreaming-In-Green&p=169172#post169172

couple of soup takers comments but majority supportive.

24-05-2013, 09:57 PM
Bumping for those that may want to take a look...

Great effort to spread the word to our brothers in green ;)

the French, Germans and Italians have got into the swing of things. Shamrock Rovers and Plymouth supportive despite a few yams and celts along the way. Funnily enough it's the celts (I assume being more hostile than any yamboids) good to see even the Greeks are repulsed by the ugly sisters...

Malonga's Cat
24-05-2013, 10:22 PM
Fantastic thread, keep up the good work guys. I really like the idea of a tie-in with other green fans.

tetley
25-05-2013, 12:08 AM
Great thread guys.......I still remember living near Plymouth and Stack was the goalie down there must have been about 2008

marti1875
25-05-2013, 12:39 AM
We've still got a few more to do - Craig any joy with you Praha Bohemiens? We're also looking to our something out to Real Betis and someone was gonna pick up Bohs. Come on folks final (no pun intended !) push. I'm geared up got Shamrock rovers (ultras).
thanks on e again to all contibutors and translators. Who knows perhaps we might find a suitable club to twin with ;)

Great thread, good reading.....you ever looked at Hammarby from Sweden? they're not in the top league now but green and white and have i think, the biggest independent fan base in Scandanavia, very fanatical and put on some great green n white shows too in the past and very vocal, a typical working class club it is said, i cannot post it all here right now as i am in Dubai airport en-route to Edinburgh eventually....:flag:

25-05-2013, 05:49 AM
Edinburgh airport control tower....is Dreaming in Green (from their twitter feed https://twitter.com/EDI_Airport )

25-05-2013, 06:13 AM
Great thread guys.......I still remember living near Plymouth and Stack was the goalie down there must have been about 2008

got a mate who is a Pilgrims fan. On the thread they mention Blobby - a Scot recommended by another departing Scot - I mean what could possibly go wrong? one wrote ;)

25-05-2013, 06:14 AM
Edinburgh airport control tower....is Dreaming in Green (from their twitter feed https://twitter.com/EDI_Airport )

Nice!

25-05-2013, 06:23 AM
Nice!

Iain - what section are you and your boy in? were in A4

25-05-2013, 07:44 AM
Iain - what section are you and your boy in? were in A4

Q3 in with Mattys clan. South stand hopefully no maddies fighting over seats this time...

28-05-2013, 07:11 AM
And so The dream lives on (apart from HibeeBarcelona).
St Etienne and Avellino in particular seemed to be tuning in and perhaps our German-Austrian freundin.

Wonder what the flight connections are like to there...

28-05-2013, 07:16 AM
And so The dream lives on (apart from HibeeBarcelona).
St Etienne and Avellino in particular seemed to be tuning in and perhaps our German-Austrian freundin.

Wonder what the flight connections are like to there...

You have a girlfriend who's half Austrian and half German?

Or did you maybe mean to write German-Austrian freunden? :wink:

28-05-2013, 07:42 AM
You have a girlfriend who's half Austrian and half German?

Or did you maybe mean to write German-Austrian freunden? :wink:

Loft in translation ... ;) knew it wasn't freund just out on the spelling. Obv my spoke. Is better than my written - there was a cracker that came up tho when someone on there threads had used google translate it was something whale related iirc!

28-05-2013, 08:59 AM
Loft in translation ... ;) knew it wasn't freund just out on the spelling. Obv my spoke. Is better than my written - there was a cracker that came up tho when someone on there threads had used google translate it was something whale related iirc!

Fair enuf, sometimes I get my murds wuddled as well :wink:

Was the whale thing on the Italian site? I think I saw that :greengrin

28-05-2013, 10:01 AM
Fair enuf, sometimes I get my murds wuddled as well :wink:

Was the whale thing on the Italian site? I think I saw that :greengrin

Gotta be careful wishing someone a happy new year in Italian, Spanish and Portuguese to avoid saying happy new rrrrrrs.

barcahibs
28-05-2013, 08:39 PM
The phoenix sleeps - but the embers still burn.

All it will take is a spark.

Persevere.

Good work to everyone involved in the attempts to spread the word - get it going again next year!

28-05-2013, 08:41 PM
The phoenix sleeps - but the embers still burn.

All it will take is a spark.

Persevere.

Good work to everyone involved in the attempts to spread the word - get it going again next year!

:top marks :agree: