View Full Version : Announcement Scottish Cup Final viewing venues - Outside the UK (merged)

13-05-2013, 12:55 AM
http://www.sommetsports.co.nz/

http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/business/8662975/Sommet-turns-sports-feed-back-on-for-Kiwis

Only downside is that I can't seem to get their email address to work to hear guarantee they'll be covering the final. Also to see if it'll be on Sky in time for the match or only freeview.

The first half stream last night was doing my nut in!

Auckland Hibs
13-05-2013, 01:36 AM
http://www.sommetsports.co.nz/

http://www.stuff.co.nz/dominion-post/business/8662975/Sommet-turns-sports-feed-back-on-for-Kiwis

Only downside is that I can't seem to get their email address to work to hear guarantee they'll be covering the final. Also to see if it'll be on Sky in time for the match or only freeview.

The first half stream last night was doing my nut in!

Great news!!!

Keep me in the loop with how you get on if they respond mate - will be organising the final @ The Fox later this week

13-05-2013, 07:34 AM
If the final ends up being on TV here I don't know whether I'll laugh or cry having booked to go to Melbourne!! :greengrin:rolleyes:

13-05-2013, 09:09 AM
Best bet seems to be following their twitter. I've asked about the Scottish Cup Final, see if we get a response. https://twitter.com/SommetSports

My worry is that it'll only be on freeview to begin with so it may not be on at the fox with their sky. But I really dunno!

13-05-2013, 09:14 AM
Best bet seems to be following their twitter. I've asked about the Scottish Cup Final, see if we get a response. https://twitter.com/SommetSports

My worry is that it'll only be on freeview to begin with so it may not be on at the fox with their sky. But I really dunno!

Can get Freeview on most TV's though, no? Don't think it looks like this channel will be on Sky as such at all.

Will need to go out and get myself an aerial if they start showing the SPL. :agree:

ginger_eejit
13-05-2013, 09:40 AM
There doesn't seem to be a thread for this yet - so I'll get the ball rolling

Wellington NZ
Wellington Irish Society
10 Fifeshire Avenue, Wellington CBD
Hosted by the Wellington CSC, so mixed venue
$10 door charge, internet stream, ko 2am NZST Monday 27th

13-05-2013, 09:56 AM
As I posted earlier there's a chance the game could be on free view in nz if this new channel gets going in time.

13-05-2013, 09:57 AM
I thnk you'd need a freeview box. They cost about $60 one off fee I think.

Could be very wrong though.

Danny_Hibee
13-05-2013, 01:06 PM
As briefly mentioned on the Aus thread Mick O'Malleys in Queen Street is definitely showing the game. Only issue being that it seems to be very Celtic themed but could be the only option. Not arriving in Brisbane until the day before the game so if anyone knows of anywhere better to go then feel free to share. And I will keep trying to find somewhere with a bit less of 'them'

Sproule Three
13-05-2013, 01:52 PM
Sydney- Scruffy Murphys ,Goulburn St , CBD

Melbourne - Charles Dickens Inn , Collins Street ,CBD

Perth- Likely to be Floreat Athena Club. TBC

Danny not sure about Brisvegas . will attempt to find out

scott7_0(Prague)
13-05-2013, 01:54 PM
Prague: My house or Craig's :greengrin

If anyone is looking for info on Prague Scottish Cup viewing let me know, :thumbsup:

muzzhfc
13-05-2013, 02:06 PM
Moving to Ireland today and I have been ruled out of all possibility of goin to the final. Anyone know any hibs friendly pubs that will be showing the final?

13-05-2013, 02:13 PM
Moving to Ireland today and I have been ruled out of all possibility of goin to the final. Anyone know any hibs friendly pubs that will be showing the final?

Not sure if you've already tried, but, the Irish Hibbies will help you out on the Bounce:-

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?10-Irish-Hibs

The Czech Inn (Temple Bar) was always a Hibs friendly pub and ive watched a couple in there with Dublin Hibbies. They're a great bunch of lads too :agree:

superbam
13-05-2013, 02:46 PM
Not sure if you've already tried, but, the Irish Hibbies will help you out on the Bounce:-

http://www.hibeesbounce.com/forum/forumdisplay.php?10-Irish-Hibs

The Czech Inn (Temple Bar) was always a Hibs friendly pub and ive watched a couple in there with Dublin Hibbies. They're a great bunch of lads too :agree:

We usually meet in Murray's bar at the top of O'Connell St for all live matches - they make sure there is a TV for us when our matches clash with others

www.murraysbar.eu

I think most of us will be over at the final but Murrays will definitely be showing it :thumbsup:

Auckland Hibs
13-05-2013, 10:15 PM
FAO: NZ Hibees

Just to confirm that The Fox in the Viaduct are showing the game;

http://www.foxsalehouse.co.nz/

I am awaiting a response from the manager on the method of showing the game (either Stream or Sommetsports via Freeview) but it will definately be shown on the big screen.

The manager has confirmed that they have had quite a bit of interest from both sets of fans so expect quite a few people there to see the game even with the 2:00am kick off time.

I will update the thread once I hear back from The Fox regarding the Sommetsports possibility - if anyone hears any news on when the channel starts up or confirmation that the game is 100% being shown live then please drop me a message.

Cheers.

Auckland Hibs
13-05-2013, 10:38 PM

I am awaiting a response from the manager on the method of showing the game (either Stream or Sommetsports via Freeview) but it will definately be shown on the big screen.

The manager has confirmed that they have had quite a bit of interest from both sets of fans so expect quite a few people there to see the game even with the 2:00am kick off time.

I will update the thread once I hear back from The Fox regarding the Sommetsports possibility - if anyone hears any news on when the channel starts up or confirmation that the game is 100% being shown live then please drop me a message.

Cheers.

14-05-2013, 01:40 AM
Good work Paul!

No reply yet to my tweet, all looks rather shoddy but then, this is NZ!

GGTTH.

broonie27
14-05-2013, 01:45 AM
I'm interested to see what happens with this. I'm in Wellington so no Fox for me.

14-05-2013, 08:21 AM
Zurich - Kennedy's Bar, Sihlpost.

I won't be there though, I'll be at Hampden :smug:

14-05-2013, 09:15 AM
I thnk you'd need a freeview box. They cost about $60 one off fee I think.

Could be very wrong though.

I've got it built into the TV :agree: TV is about 3 years old too so I think most or all new TV's probably have it.

14-05-2013, 10:46 AM
I asked a mate who works for 'MediaHub' (TV company) in Melbourne if he had any info on watching the Final for Hibees now in NZ or Oz - he sent back -

" Easy question, that is on setanta. They can get that either on foxtel via subscription or you can buy an online subscription for one month about $15/20 and stream it online"

"http://www.setanta.com/au/Our-Sports/soccer/Scottish/"

Hopefully that helps.

14-05-2013, 11:11 AM
Unfortunately Setanta is only available in Australia. Streaming has been the only option in NZ until this new mystery channel that seems like it's being done by a bloke with a van.

I'll take it if they get the game mind!

muzzhfc
14-05-2013, 08:57 PM
Haha was in murrays bar earlier. Seems a decent wee pub and good atmosphere

Auckland Hibs
14-05-2013, 09:14 PM
Unfortunately Setanta is only available in Australia. Streaming has been the only option in NZ until this new mystery channel that seems like it's being done by a bloke with a van.I'll take it if they get the game mind!

Have been doing a bit of research on the new channel and it all looks a bit dodgy - a bloke in a van isn't far away from the truth!

They were due to screen the AFL game in Wellington over Anzac weekend and they didn't manage to get the channel up and running, they were also due to have a big press conference and party to mark the launch but nobody from the company turned up (and refused to answer media queries or questions about what happened). It will be a bonus if they show the game live on TV but I'm not holding my breath!

15-05-2013, 09:25 AM
I asked a mate who works for 'MediaHub' (TV company) in Melbourne if he had any info on watching the Final for Hibees now in NZ or Oz - he sent back -

" Easy question, that is on setanta. They can get that either on foxtel via subscription or you can buy an online subscription for one month about $15/20 and stream it online"

"http://www.setanta.com/au/Our-Sports/soccer/Scottish/"

Hopefully that helps.

Only in Aussie, which is why I'm going over there to watch it :agree:

15-05-2013, 09:44 AM
They'll let us know on Monday if they've got the Scottish Cup Final. Although as mentioned, if they say AYE, it's still not in stone.

The channel is meant to be doing testing this week.

Sproule Three
15-05-2013, 12:11 PM
Scruffy Murphys in Sydney has confirmed that bar will be open till 7am (Have to close for an hour for cleaning) so need to need to worry about going straight home if we win.:thumbsup:

scott7_0(Prague)
15-05-2013, 12:16 PM
Scruffy Murphys in Sydney has confirmed that bar will be open till 7am (Have to close for an hour for cleaning) so need to need to worry about going straight home if we win.:thumbsup:

Brings back a few blurry memories, is the french bakers still on the opposite corner, had many a post scruffys snack there.

Sproule Three
15-05-2013, 12:19 PM
Brings back a few blurry memories, is the french bakers still on the opposite corner, had many a post scruffys snack there.

No idea! Only time I only go there when Hibs get to semis or finals.(Not very often) I never get past the kebab shop right outside .

scott7_0(Prague)
15-05-2013, 12:24 PM
No idea! Only time I only go there when Hibs get to semis or finals.(Not very often) I never get past the kebab shop right outside .

we were posh travelers..... no actually they had bacon rolls at 6 in the morning :-)

The kebab shop was hit as well......

16-05-2013, 04:15 PM
Any Hibs fans going to this? If so fancy meeting up to watch the game somewhere in Barcalona? I have feeling there will be far more Celtic fans kicking about so looking for back up ;-)

Hibstrooper
16-05-2013, 07:22 PM
Any Hibs fans going to this? If so fancy meeting up to watch the game somewhere in Barcalona? I have feeling there will be far more Celtic fans kicking about so looking for back up ;-)

My mates going to that, says he's found an Irish pub to watch the game. I'll point him to this thread

16-05-2013, 09:40 PM
Ah sound, my fourth year, love it....I managed to get an Irish bar to play a Scotland match a couple of years ago near Jaume but yeah tell him to give me a shout! Cheers dude...

Greesy
17-05-2013, 04:09 AM
Guys,

For those of you that haven't flown back for the game, flown to one of the many Oz supporters clubs or even headed up to Auckland...is there gonna be any Hibs fans in Wellington? I am a backpacker and couldn't afford flights anywhere so gonna be stuck in Wellington...no idea where to watch it?did a wee bit research n there is a Celtic supporters club...it's no ideal but its better than nothing!!if any one can help a brother out n let me know I can watch it...or even come join me...let me know...

I need a miracle a Green n White Miracle

HAIL HAIL

Sproule Three
17-05-2013, 07:58 AM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?264092-Scottish-Cup-Final-viewing-venues-Outside-the-UK

Check out OP . You"re in luck

Hibees here Hibees there

Shammy1875
17-05-2013, 09:13 AM
We're in the same boat...as you well know Greasy...However, you've mare chance than ah huv at watching it wi other people..

Shammy1875
17-05-2013, 09:16 AM
I know this is a long shot, but ye never know...

Anybody know of anywhere in Queenstown (NZ) that might be showing it? Ive asked in both Irish pubs and a couple of other bars but I dont think it's hapnin...Think i'm destined to be watchin it on ma laptop in the hostel...

Feel bad for the other folk in ma room awready..

Baxter's Soup
17-05-2013, 12:40 PM
Hey, i have not posted on here for many many years but myself and another hibby will be in Barca for primavera. I would like to watch the final not surrounded by celtc fans so I am in. If there are a few more we could have a jambo death party too.

Greesy
17-05-2013, 03:32 PM
There doesn't seem to be a thread for this yet - so I'll get the ball rolling

Wellington NZ
Wellington Irish Society
10 Fifeshire Avenue, Wellington CBD
Hosted by the Wellington CSC, so mixed venue
$10 door charge, internet stream, ko 2am NZST Monday 27th

Brilliant , ah stay in Mount Vic, was thinking I was destined to watch on ma own, looking forward to next week now!!

bubblesmorrison
17-05-2013, 03:47 PM
Despite my greatest efforts i will not be traveling back to Edinburgh from my New home in New York for the cup final.

Due to this fact I am looking for somewhere in New York to watch the game I would also like to meet up with as many fellow Hibs supporters as possible to watch the game.

I am gutted that i wont be making my way back to Edinburgh but would like to try and make this a special day surrounded by people in the same situation.

If anyone can point me in the right direction or is even in the same situation get in touch.

17-05-2013, 06:34 PM
I think the standard net reply to this is you are better going to las vegas :greengrin
Hope you meet up with some other Hibs fans. No doubt the Irish bars will be full of tic supporters. :flag:

17-05-2013, 07:21 PM
Despite my greatest efforts i will not be traveling back to Edinburgh from my New home in New York for the cup final.

Due to this fact I am looking for somewhere in New York to watch the game I would also like to meet up with as many fellow Hibs supporters as possible to watch the game.

I am gutted that i wont be making my way back to Edinburgh but would like to try and make this a special day surrounded by people in the same situation.

If anyone can point me in the right direction or is even in the same situation get in touch.

There is a pub called Legends on 33rd street right next to the Empire State building which will no doubt have it on. They have loads of tvs and streams and downstairs is called the Football factory. Given the final is Sunday cant imagine much competition but you never know it had the derby on last Sunday.The guys behind the bar were very good when I was there in October when watching the Belguim Scotland game.

Here is a link:

http://www.legends33.com/index_nm.html

17-05-2013, 10:45 PM
Ah sound, my internets a bit dodgy out here in the country but I'll pm you when I get back on Sunday...ggtth

Green Reaper
18-05-2013, 05:36 AM
A friend of mine will be in Vancouver,any ideas where to see the game there, 7am kick off I believe

18-05-2013, 07:06 AM
I know this is a long shot, but ye never know...

Anybody know of anywhere in Queenstown (NZ) that might be showing it? Ive asked in both Irish pubs and a couple of other bars but I dont think it's hapnin...Think i'm destined to be watchin it on ma laptop in the hostel...

Feel bad for the other folk in ma room awready..

No chance down there, unless you can find some sort of Celtic supporters club. Fly to Wellington for the night!

ginger_eejit
18-05-2013, 11:17 PM
WA Hibs have confirmed, Perth Hibbies will be at Floreat Athena soccer club, 41 Britannia road, Mt Hawthorne 8,o'clock start for kickoff at 10 pm.

21-05-2013, 07:37 AM
Sommet are testing us, get involved Kiwi based Hibees!

Find sommet sports on facebook and demand it! Feel like I should post this on a sellick site but I really dinnae want to register!

Do we have an update if you'll be showing Sunday's (Monday 2am) Scottish Cup Final? pleasepleasepleasepleasepleaseplease
Like ·

Sommet Sports How many people want to watch it?
Like · Reply · 8 minutes ago

21-05-2013, 08:58 AM
Sommet Sports
There are a few requests for the Scottish Cup on Sunday
Unlike · · Share · 33 · 9 minutes ago ·

On it lads! Hadn't noticed this had been stickied, don't tend to look at the top, hope you guys are!

Get them to show it, then we just need to make sure Fox have it and we don't have to endure a stream.

Lozmoz21
21-05-2013, 01:01 PM
Prague: My house or Craig's :greengrin

If anyone is looking for info on Prague Scottish Cup viewing let me know, :thumbsup:

You have a PM.

newmarket_hibbee
21-05-2013, 02:30 PM
anybody know where its on?

erskine-hibby
21-05-2013, 03:16 PM
Google sports bars in ontario

broonie27
22-05-2013, 08:31 AM
Sommet are testing us, get involved Kiwi based Hibees!

Find sommet sports on facebook and demand it! Feel like I should post this on a sellick site but I really dinnae want to register!

They are suppose to be on air tonight but I don't see anything on my freeview channel guide.

22-05-2013, 09:20 AM
They are suppose to be on air tonight but I don't see anything on my freeview channel guide.

You have to press in channel 114, it's still in testing stage. Not looking good for the final but they say they have the rights and it does seem like such an amateur outfit they could decide to show it on the day!

PhoenixHibee
22-05-2013, 02:54 PM
Any chance of any Hibees in Phoenix AZ and a place not full of Celtic supporters?

bob12345
23-05-2013, 06:58 AM
Does anyone know where will be showing the game in Durban SA?

newmarket_hibbee
23-05-2013, 10:31 AM
Google sports bars in ontario

...thanks for the advice, do you know how many sports bars there are in southern Ontario, more then Erskine I would bet!!I would have to call them all to find one that was showing the game....what I was really hoping for was for some of the othere hibbies in the toronto area to point me in the right direction, but thanks anyway.

23-05-2013, 10:25 PM
So this weekend my wife and I will be in Las Vegas. It break's my heart knowing that I won't be in hampden at the game, it truly does, but due to unfortunate circumstances I couldn't make it back home for the game.

The plan is to watch the game in our hotel room. Been told they have high speed internet, and I'm taking my laptop along with the tv hook up cables, to wake up at 7am and cheer the lad's on.

I was thinking about trying to go to a sports bar somewhere that might possibly be showing the game, anyone recommend anywhere? I think I'll end up just sticking with the hotel room plan though, praying that the internet is of a good standard and it doesn't freeze etc! THAT WOULD BE A NIGHTMARE!!!

I've already phoned the hotel up and been reassured that they have medium-high speed internet and that streaming shouldn't been a problem.

Planning on going absolutely MENTAL in Vegas if we do the unthinkable! Face painted, score pictures with randoms, and well, just going abit radge on the strip!

Give the lad's an extra cheer for me guy's!

GGTTH :flag:

23-05-2013, 11:18 PM
You could try the race/sports area in most of the casinos as they have loads of screens with all sorts going on, There is a chance game might be on one of them, what Hotel you in?

Scottiedog007
24-05-2013, 12:48 AM
you could go to this boozer has loads of football and good grub with over 30 draught beers to work your way through in proper pint glasses defo worth a taxi trip
http://www.crownandanchorlv.com/

24-05-2013, 03:23 AM
You could try the race/sports area in most of the casinos as they have loads of screens with all sorts going on, There is a chance game might be on one of them, what Hotel you in?

I'm staying in the Plaza Hotel and Casino on Fremont Street on the Saturday night so that's where I'll be watching it Sunday morning. Then we're off to check into The Mandalay Bay on the strip to stay Sunday night! I'm probably just going to go with the Hibernian Tv International Stream, I just PRAY it's perfect and doesn't stop and start, couldn't handle that with such a massive game!!

Denverhibby
24-05-2013, 03:42 AM
I only live 5 hrs from Las Vegas and streaming it will be your best bet. No tv stations are showing the game here. The casinos do have great Internet speed so you should get a great picture.

Risboro Hibby
24-05-2013, 07:35 AM
I am on holiday in Alcudia Majorca and already see a few bars showing the match. Any other hibbies over here as it would be good to watch it as a group

Russian Hibs Fan
24-05-2013, 12:58 PM
Russian sports tv will ignore the Cup Final. So will be watching by computer. :scarf:

24-05-2013, 01:01 PM
I can offer anyone struggling completely, to call my skype and I will turn the laptop to my TV (not sure how good that works or how good the pic is... )

PM me if you are stressed and would like to give this a go....or want to try this over a 'illegal' stream online.

_hucks_
24-05-2013, 01:02 PM
Anybody in corfu watching? My brother flies out tonight and still doesn't know where to watch it.

24-05-2013, 01:03 PM
Any chance of any Hibees in Phoenix AZ and a place not full of Celtic supporters?

Been to Phx twice (with work), love there!

next time I am going, will drop you a PM.

plhibs
24-05-2013, 03:23 PM
anybody know where its on?

Can't find any place for this, no mention on any tv websites, no bars that i can find. Looks like the internet at home.

25-05-2013, 03:55 AM
My brother is in the MN and will be in Emden on Sunday, bit of a long shot but anyone know any boozers that might show the game?

25-05-2013, 10:01 AM

Cheers.

IS this still happening??? It is not on their website??

Auckland Hibs
25-05-2013, 10:02 AM
IS this still happening??? It is not on their website??

Yes, all booked in.

25-05-2013, 12:24 PM
Yes, all booked in.

Can we turn up just before kickoff or have we got to arrive early??

Is it a private party or is open to all?

Auckland Hibs
25-05-2013, 12:30 PM
Can we turn up just before kickoff or have we got to arrive early??

Is it a private party or is open to all?

You can turn up when you want and it's open to all.

25-05-2013, 01:38 PM
Just arrived in Kefalonia, Greece.

Going on a Reckie mission in the morning to find a sports bar, although think I might be struggling.

Absolutely gutted to be away for the game, anyone any idea of any bars with SKY sports on the island or how I'd get it online?