View Full Version : FA Cup Final: Wigan v Man City

11-05-2013, 04:02 PM
Enjoying the pre-match, can't help but think Wigan being given as much chance of lifting the trophy as Hibs have in the SCF. Are we the equivalent to Wigan and Celtic to Man City ?

11-05-2013, 04:05 PM
Enjoying the pre-match, can't help but think Wigan being given as much chance of lifting the trophy as Hibs have in the SCF. Are we the equivalent to Wigan and Celtic to Man City ?

What channel is it on?

11-05-2013, 04:07 PM
The number of empty seats is pretty poor. Can Wembley debentures not be sold to fans?

11-05-2013, 04:08 PM
What channel is it on?

ITV England. 853 on Virgin or 973 (I think) on SKY.

Joke that this game is being played today and at this time.

11-05-2013, 04:08 PM
Espn

11-05-2013, 04:10 PM
The number of empty seats is pretty poor. Can Wembley debentures not be sold to fans?

:confused::confused::confused:

Doesn't look to empty to me.

11-05-2013, 04:11 PM

Looks Ok from here? Are there many empty seats? F- it's the Nash Anfem. I'm away for a *****.

Hardly. Wigan have not beaten City since 2005 and have not even scored a goal against them since 2008.

Hibs have beaten Celtic this season and drawn 2-2 away with them.

Shows how much attention i pay to English football, i didn't even know it was the FA cup final today, hope Wigan win, but will watch Dr Who instead

11-05-2013, 04:12 PM
ITV England. 853 on Virgin or 973 (I think) on SKY.

Joke that this game is being played today and at this time.

It's not exactly anything new for the fans to be entirely ignored in favour of TV etc., but to stage a national cup final at a time that means fans can't get home the same day is pretty astonishing.

11-05-2013, 04:13 PM

The empty seats belong to those currently eating prawn cocktail sandwiches in hospitality.

:confused::confused::confused:

Doesn't look to empty to me.

Behind the tunnel, especially the middle tier. Not thousand but plenty patches of red.

That's the debenture area though so maybe they couldn't sell to fans, sure City could have sold plenty more.

Anyone in Germany, Austria and Switzerland can watch on this "Legal" live stream http://tv.sport1.de/player/player.php?id=s399933 Good luck to Wigan ....

hibby rae
11-05-2013, 04:15 PM
So Hart's starting and Mancini's stuck two fingers up at Pantilimon.

Seanair
11-05-2013, 04:23 PM
Martinez desperate to win----Caldwell dropped!

11-05-2013, 04:33 PM
Wigan holding their own so far.

andy1875
11-05-2013, 04:34 PM
Good to see 3 Scottish lads starting an FA cup final. Or 2 I should say with McCarthy representing RoI.

Been a while I'd imagine since there was so many?

11-05-2013, 04:34 PM
It's FA Cup Final day??!

11-05-2013, 04:36 PM
An FA cup final at 5.15 is a shambles, however still nowhere near as bad as our final being on a Sunday!!!

11-05-2013, 04:37 PM
Wigan holding their own so far.

Their looking quite good going forward :agree:. That Kone is a cracking player and was very surprised he ended up at Wigan.

11-05-2013, 04:40 PM
Man City are very poor at the moment - Wigan look more up for it and have been the better team up till now...

11-05-2013, 04:42 PM
Best piece of football yet. Good save from Joel.

11-05-2013, 04:43 PM
What a save.

nellio
11-05-2013, 04:44 PM

Wigan sent back a load of tickets and they still couldnt sell their end out! Pretty poor really.

11-05-2013, 04:47 PM
Wigan sent back a load of tickets and they still couldnt sell their end out! Pretty poor really.

It's a town of less than a hundred thousand folk, where rugby league is the main sport, and the timing of the game means that they can't get a train home the same day.

I wouldn't say 21,000-odd is poor.

11-05-2013, 04:48 PM
Looked like a dive from the Wigan lad there in my opinion...

11-05-2013, 04:49 PM
Penalty? Looked it to me.

11-05-2013, 04:50 PM
Another great chance for McManaman... City have been shocking defensively.

11-05-2013, 04:53 PM
Penalty? Looked it to me.

Seeing it again, maybe not.

11-05-2013, 04:53 PM
Think they could have given it myself...

11-05-2013, 04:54 PM

Hardly for a rugby town. They have only started in the English league properly in the late 70s. It's not as though they have generations of fans. They were a lower league side until about a few years ago. They are the equivalent of Gretna I would say.

andy1875
11-05-2013, 04:55 PM
Never a pen. No idea why the lad went down especially with the ball on his favoured left side.

Wigan have been fantastic so far.

11-05-2013, 05:02 PM

Going by per capita Wigan have an excellent support. Some teams just have more fans, plastics and die-hards. End of.

11-05-2013, 05:11 PM
£45, £65, £85 and £115 for a ticket. No wonder there is a shedload of empty seats.

11-05-2013, 05:14 PM

What channel is it on?

11-05-2013, 05:24 PM
just turned it on to see what you guys were on about, there is a lot of spare seats. Rubbish KO time and ticket prices?

11-05-2013, 05:35 PM
what channel is it on?

espn

TAHibby
11-05-2013, 05:39 PM
Dave whelan was saying there's no trains back. Pretty good turnout tbh considering. Small town, ridiculous kick off times, prices and transport etc

hibby rae
11-05-2013, 05:41 PM
Joe Hart is Head and Shoulders above everyone else.

11-05-2013, 05:45 PM
Jack Rodwell?

Genuinely forgot he existed. Who was the other young Everton player who went to Newcastle?

11-05-2013, 05:49 PM
Jack Rodwell?

Genuinely forgot he existed. Who was the other young Everton player who went to Newcastle?Gosling

11-05-2013, 05:49 PM
Jack Rodwell?

Genuinely forgot he existed. Who was the other young Everton player who went to Newcastle?

Dan Gosling ?

11-05-2013, 05:50 PM
Joe Hart is Head and Shoulders above everyone else.

Hair hair.

11-05-2013, 05:50 PM
Whats the score for us with cooncil telly?

LALthehibeeGAL
11-05-2013, 05:51 PM

you can get it on 973 apparently

Lal:wink:

Matty_Jack04
11-05-2013, 05:51 PM

0-0 you'll get it on the itv website I'm sure mate

11-05-2013, 05:55 PM
you can get it on 973 apparently :thumbsup:

Dont think my box is that sophisticated, it goes up to 300 odd, I don't watch it much so never really explored it:greengrin

Lal:wink:

0-0 you'll get it on the itv website I'm sure mate

Thanks, checking that out :thumbsup:

11-05-2013, 05:56 PM
Zabaleta off.

2 cynical fouls, had to go.

11-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Come on Wigan. Goal in the last minute would do fine.

Mancini really needs to ditch the jumper. Doesn't go well with the shirt and tie.

Man City down to 10 men..

hibby rae
11-05-2013, 05:57 PM
Hair hair.

Zabaleta will be getting the hairdryer treatment now.

Matty_Jack04
11-05-2013, 05:58 PM
Zabaleta off.

2 cynical fouls, had to go.

thought he was unlucky there no way the boy was catching that and left himself there to be hit

11-05-2013, 05:59 PM
ITV web site wont let me watch cos im in Scotland? Should have put my old Manchester postcode in :(

11-05-2013, 06:01 PM
thought he was unlucky there no way the boy was catching that and left himself there to be hit

It's a fair point but throw yourself in like that and you're asking for it.

He seemed pretty accepting off the decision, it was his own team mates who got the mouthful.

As an aside the lad McManaman looks some player.

shamo9
11-05-2013, 06:02 PM
This is going surprisingly like what I've been dreaming for the big cup final. Celtic start brightly in the first 5 then get a little slack and one paced due to being heavy favourites and in holiday mode.

We grow in confidence as the game goes on and eventually all you can hear is the Hibs fans. We start to believe and become more offensive in the second half with Harris in particular having the game of his life (a la Wigan's young blood Callum Mcmanaman).

The Celtic team and fans get anxious. They miss a couple of sitters and then in the last ten up steps Leigh Griffiths to win us the cup:cb

In the last few minutes Celtic pile on the pressure but McPake rises to the occasion with some of his last ditch tackles and then Big Ben saves from point blank in injury time.

Anthony Stokes gets a second yellow for dissent and Neil Lennon is sent to the stand for being an ungracious fanny. Then, at last, the full-time whistle blows and hell freezes over, 1-0 Hibs. James McPake is the last man up the steps to lift the cup proudly toward the Hibs fan, not a single dry eye in the stadium.

Hibs, Hibs, Hibs for the cup:flag:

Stringer
City rested players wigan didn't, it shows. Fenlon take note

Tell you what Maloney was penalised for the ball hitting his arm when it was near his body.

Barry hit the exact same way yet nowt.

Poor ref poor

11-05-2013, 06:03 PM
Go on Wigan

Yas!!!!!! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Yessssss! :thumbsup: Mon Wigan!!!

Brilliant! 1-0 Wigan! :thumbsup:

11-05-2013, 06:04 PM
Get in there !!!! :tee hee:

TAHibby
11-05-2013, 06:04 PM
Yaaaaaaas!

11-05-2013, 06:05 PM
Well done wigan :thumbsup:

11-05-2013, 06:06 PM
Goodbye Mancini. :aok:

Full time! :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Full time;

Wigan 1-0 Manchester City

:faf: GIRUY City.

:giruy:

After a crap day at work, that has really cheered me up!

Matty_Jack04
11-05-2013, 06:07 PM
It's a fair point but throw yourself in like that and you're asking for it.

He seemed pretty accepting off the decision, it was his own team mates who got the mouthful.

As an aside the lad McManaman looks some player.

Yeh it was a bit of a desperate lunge, that boy looks a player big offers will be in for him, McCarthy had a good game as well he's came on massively down there

Absolutely brilliant! :thumbsup: Well done Wigan! :thumbsup: So pleased for Martinez too!

Sweet Left Peg
Well done Wigan. Thoroughly deserved and a victory for the underdog. Let's hope it continues!!!!

11-05-2013, 06:08 PM
Inspiration for Hibs

11-05-2013, 06:08 PM
Delighted for Wigan.

Well deserved.

First of the upsets?

11-05-2013, 06:09 PM
Amazing, Wigan were far the better team and went for it from ko.. Come on hibs.

11-05-2013, 06:09 PM
What a performance Wigan everyone in the park played their part excellent.

(Ps PF get yur team watching this TEAM performance)

11-05-2013, 06:10 PM
Inspiration for Hibs

Amazing what a lot of application and belief can do.

We shouldn't fear Celtic.

robinp
11-05-2013, 06:11 PM
Great to see a bunch of players and fans win a trophy and it appear to mean something to them, those celebrations were great.

11-05-2013, 06:11 PM
Martinez must have replaced Laudrup as fave for the Everton job. What Wigan are doing down in the relegation area is anyone's guess.

They play a tremendous passing game. Inconsistent over the whole season obviously.

11-05-2013, 06:14 PM
Delighted for Wigan.

Well deserved.

First of the upsets?

11-05-2013, 06:14 PM
Wigan thoroughly deserved that win, fantastic performance! :thumbsup:

Scoring so late gave them no time back into it.....hopefully we can do the same!

11-05-2013, 06:16 PM
GIRUY City :na na::na na::fenlon

I was in Wigan for a couple of hours yesterday and what a hole it is! The town is behind the team though and I am delighted for them. I hope they stay up too.

Nice touch of class from Kompany to stop and congratulate Whelan.

11-05-2013, 06:18 PM
doesnt that mcmanaman's style of play remind you of someone? :wink:

think harris might be the difference in our final, and he needs to only watch todays game to see what he needs to do, run at people - no need for the fancy flicks or tricks, simply run at them. it can be very effective :flag:

well done wigan desevered the win from start to finish

http://i.minus.com/ibmIXgRFTHcMTg.gif

Anyone else getting a bit bored with this?

Amazing what a lot of application and belief can do.

We shouldn't fear Celtic.

Hibs should watch that match before they step onto the Hampden turf. Wigan were fantastic and the perfect example of what application and belief can do in the most difficult circumstances. IMHO Hibs are the Wigan of the SCF and have so much to win. Come on the Hibs.

So Hart's starting and Mancini's stuck two fingers up at Pantilimon.

I reckon he would've saved the header :greengrin

TomoHFC
11-05-2013, 06:21 PM
Man city team cost 118 million, wigan team only cost 11.5 million

11-05-2013, 06:22 PM
Wigans whole team cost £11M.

That's a far bigger financial gap for them to overcome than we have against Celtic.

andrew70
11-05-2013, 06:22 PM
For McManaman see Harris, For Kone see Griffiths and For Watson see any boy in the Green and White of Hibs I couldn't care less as longs we win it

11-05-2013, 06:23 PM
doesnt that mcmanaman's style of play remind you of someone? :wink:

think harris might be the difference in our final, and he needs to only watch todays game to see what he needs to do, run at people - no need for the fancy flicks or tricks, simply run at them. it can be very effective :flag:

well done wigan desevered the win from start to finish

Reminds me a bit of Kevin McAllister. More robust obviously but the same rushing style.

11-05-2013, 06:24 PM
Bit class there from City.

11-05-2013, 06:25 PM
To all the glory hunters standing/sitting in Edinburgh pubs decked out in Man City colours. :fenlon

11-05-2013, 06:25 PM
Bit class there from City.

Showing a touch of class in defeat.

11-05-2013, 06:26 PM
Wigan thoroughly deserved that win, fantastic performance! :thumbsup:

Scoring so late gave them no time back into it.....hopefully we can do the same!

Only difference will be in the celebrations at the winners end. You'll have scrape the Hibs fans off the rafters :greengrin

11-05-2013, 06:28 PM
Hibs should watch that match before they step onto the Hampden turf. Wigan were fantastic and the perfect example of what application and belief can do in the most difficult circumstances. IMHO Hibs are the Wigan of the SCF and have so much to win. Come on the Hibs.

That's so true, we should go out there with no fear and play our hearts out and if we do that we have a chance

11-05-2013, 06:29 PM
A team sitting third bottom of their league win their domestic cup. Got a good ring to it.

11-05-2013, 06:32 PM
Great stuff! Delighted for Wigan and Martinez. Thoroughly deserved. Hopefully it's the year of the underdog.:aok:

11-05-2013, 06:33 PM
Wigan have shown no team is invincible, as Killie showed in last year's final against Celtc. We can win the cup, application is the key....

pontius pilate
11-05-2013, 06:36 PM
Thoroughly deserved by Wigan first part of my underdog trilogy up just need Dortmund and the mighty cabbage now

11-05-2013, 06:39 PM
A team sitting third bottom of their league win their domestic cup. Got a good ring to it.

Honduran connection too.

TAHibby
11-05-2013, 06:40 PM
No affiliation whatsoever with wigan but so happy :thumbsup: All I could think throughout this match, watching wigan play is that there is no reason we can't replicate something like this if we just turn up on the day. Players like Mcmanamon putting in constant effort the full 90, hibs take note! :flag::flag:

11-05-2013, 06:41 PM
ESPN interviewer of Mancini is all that is bad about journos. Pathetic intrusive questions straight after a cup final. Just leave it for a day.

11-05-2013, 06:42 PM
Wigan Casino rules!

11-05-2013, 06:42 PM
Only difference will be in the celebrations at the winners end. You'll have scrape the Hibs fans off the rafters :greengrin

I'll no see anything cos ill be greeting ma heart oot ( and no ashamed tae say it)

11-05-2013, 06:43 PM
[QUOTE=Tory Hibby;3595523]ESPN interviewer of Mancini is all that is bad about journos. Pathetic intrusive questions straight after a cup final. Just leave it for a day.[/QUOTE

Eh? Win or lose they have a duty to answer questions.

11-05-2013, 06:44 PM
I'll no see anything cos ill be greeting ma heart oot ( and no ashamed tae say it)
X2 (not scared either)

Leishy1995
11-05-2013, 06:48 PM
X2 (not scared either)

I can confirm I will be in tears

11-05-2013, 06:51 PM
ESPN interviewer of Mancini is all that is bad about journos. Pathetic intrusive questions straight after a cup final. Just leave it for a day.

:top marks Reminds me of Liverpool's 2005 European Cup win over AC. Arguably the most amazing game in European Cup history where Steve Gerrard payed the match of his life and the first question was... are you signing for Chelski. Crass journalism doesn't come close. In fact I think it was the same jouro ? Complete plonkeR.

11-05-2013, 06:58 PM
reminded me of the birmingham/arsenal final, brum went on to get relegated>.>.>

11-05-2013, 07:00 PM
If Wigan can do it..

11-05-2013, 07:01 PM
Who cares? This is just a side-show and the really important games such as Palace v Brighton are the real deal. The £200 million race to get into the big league is on!

Seriously, it's sad that the FA cup had been punted to some random Saturday at five. It was great when the two season finales were played at the same time.

Sky would have us believe that a league game between Norwich and Stoke is more important.

mmmmhibby
11-05-2013, 07:15 PM
To all the glory hunters standing/sitting in Edinburgh pubs decked out in Man City colours. :fenlon

makes a change from man utd, the original glory hunters choice!!

Stringer
11-05-2013, 07:18 PM
A 3 4 3 formation might work for us.

McPake Hanlon Steveson

Wotherspoon Claros Thompson McGivern

Harris Griffiths Handling

http://www.hibs.net/images/smilies/helmet%20smiley.gif

'Mon the Hibs
11-05-2013, 07:28 PM

McPake Hanlon Steveson

I'd be happy with this. Better going out full on attack and surprise celtc instead of 9 men behind the ball and waiting for them to come at us.:thumbsup:

11-05-2013, 07:29 PM

McPake Hanlon Steveson

Your kidding ha ha. Thank god your no the manager. Honking

This will be the team (my opinion mind)

Williams

Clancy McPake Hanlon McGivern
Taiwo Claros KT
Doyle Harris
Griffiths

This is just my opinion mind. If McGivern is nae fit the Lewis at LB

11-05-2013, 07:30 PM
We can all just imagine Kuqi doing that in 2 weeks folks :greengrin

DAVE1875
11-05-2013, 07:34 PM

McPake Hanlon Steveson

Swap McGivern & Stevenson. Go with that so we can drop Wotherspoon to RB if we take a surprise lead and park the tank from there

11-05-2013, 07:52 PM
Really pleased for the Wigan supporters. :aok:

Gus Fring
11-05-2013, 07:55 PM
Rumour doing the rounds that Mancini was told he was sacked last night. Plausible? Or excuses?

11-05-2013, 07:57 PM
Rumour doing the rounds that Mancini was told he was sacked last night. Plausible? Or excuses?

So he was sacked last night and just turned up for work today. :confused:

11-05-2013, 07:59 PM
Wigans whole team cost £11M.

That's a far bigger financial gap for them to overcome than we have against Celtic.

I don't think it is. The resource gap between Hibs and Celtic is massive. I don't think we've paid for any of our players. Celtic have spent a few million. Our wage budget will be a tenth at best of Celtic's.

11-05-2013, 08:01 PM

Why would he turn up today if he had been informed that he had been sacked yesterday? :confused:

That makes absolutely no sense at all.

11-05-2013, 08:02 PM

Doubt he would be sacked on the Eve of the Final. Reports that Pelligrini will be new Manager next Season must be growing arms and legs now?

Gus Fring
11-05-2013, 08:05 PM
He didn't get the team bus home, he got a Tube to the train station instead

http://i39.tinypic.com/sdmp0z.jpg

11-05-2013, 08:06 PM
I don't think today's result makes it any more or less likely that we'll win the Scottish Cup to be honest.

I already knew that we had a chance of winning the cup, Wigan beating Manchester City doesn't really change that. If we play at our best then we are capable of beating Celtic.

It's all about which Hibs team turns up on the 26th May. If we don't turn up, Celtic will hammer us and if we do turn up, we'll give ourselves a chance.

DAVE1875
11-05-2013, 08:15 PM

Isn't that picture a few months old?

11-05-2013, 08:19 PM

Old photo. Likeable guy but his job was always under threat from day one. The new guy will have to hit the road running.

Gus Fring
11-05-2013, 08:21 PM

Possibly, admittedly I took it off Twitter and we know how accurate that can be.

11-05-2013, 08:22 PM

It was in January.

http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-2271115/Roberto-Mancini-takes-London-Underground-watch-Arsenal-v-Liverpool.html

11-05-2013, 08:44 PM
So he was sacked last night and just turned up for work today. :confused:

Jupp Heynckes has been doing it for months.

11-05-2013, 08:53 PM
Not looking forward to the week at work.

Renfrew_Hibby
11-05-2013, 09:23 PM
Fantastic, well done Wigan! Amazing that they won it with two boys they got from Hamilton Accies. The guys involved in bringing them up through their youth system must be so proud tonight.

11-05-2013, 09:35 PM
Jupp Heynckes has been doing it for months.

Not quite.

Heynckes is retiring as a manager at the end of the season, he hasn't been sacked.

Big difference.

11-05-2013, 09:39 PM
Not quite.

Heynckes is retiring as a manager at the end of the season, he hasn't been sacked.

Big difference.

I'm well aware that the situations are not equivalent, but I think it's more the case that Heynckes was told he will be replaced at the end of the season.

11-05-2013, 10:14 PM
Fantastic, well done Wigan! Amazing that they won it with two boys they got from Hamilton Accies. The guys involved in bringing them up through their youth system must be so proud tonight.

:agree: and Shaun Maloney who has been fantastic for them. Caldwell on the bench as was Fyvie I think. Maybe SPL players aren't so bad after all especially when they have a coach that allows/encourages them to play high quality passing football with belief and bravery.

Same goes for McNaughton, Conway, Marshall at Cardiff.

11-05-2013, 10:18 PM
I'm well aware that the situations are not equivalent, but I think it's more the case that Heynckes was told he will be replaced at the end of the season.

I understand that but it's still been Heynckes decision to retire at the end of the season, no-one has forced him out at Bayern Munich. Whereas the assumption at Manchester City, on this thread anyway, is that Mancini was told yesterday that he had been sacked against his will and yet he had still turned up today at Wembley for the FA Cup final.

The Heynckes situation is very similar to the situation with Sir Alex Ferguson over the next two games. He's taken the decision to retire but he will continue to be in charge over the next two matches, knowing full well that David Moyes will replace him in a couple of months' time.

In my opinion, there's a big difference between a manager deciding himself to leave at the end of a season and that club already having a replacement lined up and a club forcibly removing a manager and that manager still turning up for work 24 hours later.

It just doesn't make sense to me, if Mancini has been told last night that he was being sacked, that he's still turned up for work today.

I don't get that at all.

11-05-2013, 11:29 PM
well shocked at that result :) i hope some lucky wigan fans had enough faith to stick a few squid on them at the bookies

11-05-2013, 11:33 PM
Watching the game today has given me a renewed sense of optimism for the final :thumbsup:

12-05-2013, 12:43 AM
well shocked at that result :) i hope some lucky wigan fans had enough faith to stick a few squid on them at the bookies

William Hill were offering 33-1 for 1-0 Wigan after 90 minutes.

12-05-2013, 02:00 PM
William Hill were offering 33-1 for 1-0 Wigan after 90 minutes.

and this for a nice wee double

With Scotbet.com, you can back the Hibees to win at a price of 5/2 and the team in green are priced at 11/1 to win 2-1.

gawd i wish i was a gambler :(

12-05-2013, 03:37 PM
and this for a nice wee double

With Scotbet.com, you can back the Hibees to win at a price of 5/2 and the team in green are priced at 11/1 to win 2-1.

gawd i wish i was a gambler :(

I backed us at 14/1 at half time.

12-05-2013, 03:39 PM
I backed us at 14/1 at half time.

well done, how much did you put on :) if the winnings covered your expenses then a good day all round

12-05-2013, 04:39 PM
well done, how much did you put on :) if the winnings covered your expenses then a good day all round
A whopping £1.67....I put the rest of a fiver on the draw! Waiting for Motherwell to win for another 79 quid (from £2) now!

Togs91
13-05-2013, 11:28 AM
Managed to get free tickets through the work to this in the city end, dont support either team, obviously!! Wigan were briliant played the perfect game, but big up to the man city supporters after the game, didnt see one going mad. Infact, everyone was congratulating wigan, and the city fans were singing more and dancing more than they were inside wembly, i think the song went something along the lines of : (To the tune of bertie me...)

We are the boys who support city
We lost last week and we lost today
We dont give a F*&^ 'cause were all pissed up!
MCFC ayeup.

... on another note, GIRFUY hertz.:flag: