View Full Version : PFA Awards

05-05-2013, 07:08 PM
Lyle Taylor for Division 1, Nicky Clark Division Two and Wallace the Gun Division Three POTYs so far.

Pa Broon given a Special Merit Award.

05-05-2013, 07:11 PM
Lyle Taylor for Division 1, Nicky Clark Division Two and Wallace the Gun Division Three POTYs so far.

Pa Broon given a Special Merit Award. For what, boring every **** tae death?

05-05-2013, 07:13 PM
Recon Leigh will get YPOTY and Higdon POTY

05-05-2013, 07:13 PM
For what, boring every **** tae death?

For fooling all of the media, all of the time.

05-05-2013, 07:15 PM
Leigh to pick them both up.

05-05-2013, 07:16 PM

Pa Broon given a Special Merit Award.

Does this mean that 2 out of 3 can play for Scotland

05-05-2013, 07:23 PM
When do the main awards get announced?

05-05-2013, 07:28 PM
When do the main awards get announced?

Still got Goal of the Season, Manager, YPOTY and POTY to go

05-05-2013, 07:35 PM
Still got Goal of the Season, Manager, YPOTY and POTY to go

Is Griffiths shortlisted for goal of the season?

East Coast Hibe
05-05-2013, 07:38 PM

Yes

05-05-2013, 07:39 PM

Vigurs v Caley should win that tbf.

05-05-2013, 07:44 PM
Yes

Which one(s)?

05-05-2013, 07:47 PM
Which one(s)?

The winner in the semi

05-05-2013, 07:48 PM
Vigurs v Caley should win that tbf.

The st Mirren goal v them would be my goal of the season :agree:

Purehibee_MYB
05-05-2013, 07:49 PM
Here's hoping for a hattrick of awards for Leigh!

A lot of tension right now!

:pray:

05-05-2013, 07:51 PM
For what, boring every **** tae death?

davhibby
05-05-2013, 07:51 PM
When are the rest going to happen?

lugz
05-05-2013, 07:57 PM

If the English one was anything to go by the main award won't be till 10:30/10:45

05-05-2013, 07:59 PM

Where are you following this

05-05-2013, 08:00 PM
Various radio stations / sports writers and the SPFA themselves are tweeting the results as they come up.

davhibby
05-05-2013, 08:04 PM
If you have twitter they're posting them on here
https://twitter.com/PFAScotland

05-05-2013, 08:05 PM
lennon will win MOTY, which will be absolutely ludicrous. I could've managed Celtic to the title this year.

Forthview
05-05-2013, 08:05 PM
Anybody know if Reginald is on the bill tonight?

05-05-2013, 08:07 PM
One of the highland team managers should get it imo.

05-05-2013, 08:11 PM

Somebody has just tweeted that the main awards are after 10.

05-05-2013, 08:21 PM
Somebody has just tweeted that the main awards are after 10.

drink time :thumbsup:

05-05-2013, 08:27 PM
One of the highland team managers should get it imo.

Steve Paterson apparently doing a good job at Fortmartine.
Not sure he got nominated though......

05-05-2013, 08:46 PM
If Sparky wins, I hope he mentions (or dedicates his award to) the Killie fan. Would be a nice gesture.

05-05-2013, 08:59 PM
Got my fingers crossed for Leigh :not worth

05-05-2013, 09:21 PM
Dumbarton player wins goal of the season.

05-05-2013, 09:21 PM
Prunty gets goal of the season.

05-05-2013, 09:22 PM

Overhead kick from the edge of the box was it against livi?

05-05-2013, 09:22 PM

To be fair it is well merited IMO

05-05-2013, 09:23 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Drw0YZZT-zU

05-05-2013, 09:24 PM
Alan Johnstone wins manager of the year.

That'll go down well at Celtic!

05-05-2013, 09:28 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Drw0YZZT-zU

Hard to argue with that but lucky to be included as I'm assuming that's on Livi's in house TV.

05-05-2013, 09:28 PM
Delighted Lennon got humped again lol

05-05-2013, 09:31 PM
Delighted Lennon got humped again lol

They'll not be happy, but he definately din't deserve it.

05-05-2013, 09:35 PM
Alan Johnstone wins manager of the year.

That'll go down well at Celtic!

Ha ha!! No one likes you neil!!

05-05-2013, 09:37 PM
Young Player: SuperLeigh!!

05-05-2013, 09:39 PM

Beating Wanyama, meaning absolutely no awards to the old firm :greengrin

ozzie
05-05-2013, 09:40 PM

well done leigh :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

05-05-2013, 09:40 PM

Get it right up ye Graham 'fanny' Spiers and Stewart 'talking pash' Cosgrove:greengrin

05-05-2013, 09:41 PM
Congrats Leigh, now make it a double :aok::greengrin

05-05-2013, 09:42 PM
Well done Sparky!

hibby rae
05-05-2013, 09:45 PM
I see Catriona Shearer is there. I love her. Seeing as Sparky's there it looks like she'll be preggers tomorrow!

Glesgahibby
05-05-2013, 09:47 PM
fully deserved:wink:
well done sparky:top marks

05-05-2013, 09:47 PM
I see Catriona Shearer is there. I love her. Seeing as Sparky's there it looks like she'll be preggers tomorrow!

Aw aye, ad fling one right up her :agree:

05-05-2013, 09:48 PM
Aw aye, ad fling one right up her :agree:

Eloquently put :greengrin

05-05-2013, 09:50 PM
Higdon player of the year

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2

Higdon wins player of the year

SPL Player of the Year: Michael Higdon.

Acht well. Mibbe the double's for next year. Well done to them all.

05-05-2013, 09:51 PM
Pigdon? :giruy:

ozzie
05-05-2013, 09:51 PM
booo higdon has been successful due to the success of his team, leigh has had to work harder for his success & i believe his all round game is better. just my opinion though.
through my hibee tinted glasses.

05-05-2013, 09:53 PM
Recon Leigh will get YPOTY and Higdon POTY

Always going to be the case, well done M Higdon, disappointed it wasn't Leigh but good he got some recognition

05-05-2013, 09:53 PM
booo higdon has been successful due to the success of his team, leigh has had to work harder for his success & i believe his all round game is better. just my opinion though

Agreed, I bet Leigh ends up with more goals than him too!

Would deffo take Higdon at Hibs though!

05-05-2013, 09:54 PM
Hmmm not an outrage but think Griffiths should have won it. Higdon has had a good season too though.

05-05-2013, 09:54 PM
As much as i like someone outwith the OF winning for a change, Higdon seriously!!!

05-05-2013, 09:57 PM
Higdon is SPL player of the year

Shows how far the SPL has fallen.

Ken
05-05-2013, 09:57 PM
Griffiths should have won both, but to be fair to Higdon he has had a great season too

05-05-2013, 09:59 PM
booo higdon has been successful due to the success of his team, leigh has had to work harder for his success & i believe his all round game is better. just my opinion though.

I agree, Higdon has scored a lot of goals this year but he has chances put on a plate for him nearly every game. I dont really think he has much else to his game, and I couldnt see him scoring as many as the likes of Griffiths or McGinn (who have both carried their clubs this year) if he was in their position.

05-05-2013, 09:59 PM
If that cart horse is the best player in the land this year we might as well shut the curtains and turn out the lights.

05-05-2013, 10:00 PM
Quite some reaction to Higdon getting the award! Remember folks, it was his fellow professionals who voted for him so you know who to blame :greengrin

merritthibees
05-05-2013, 10:03 PM
Ahk I'm just glad there were no awards to that fanny Neil Lennon or his team! Can see him crying tomorrow... ' I got to the last 16 of champions league and won the league... Why did I not win manager of the year?... It's a conspiracy! Haha... Congrats sparky, and Higdon and the rest...:thumbsup:

05-05-2013, 10:03 PM
Get it right up ye Graham 'fanny' Spiers and Stewart 'talking pash' Cosgrove:greengrin

:thumbsup: Yip, pity he didn't win the main award, but those two a***s really annoyed me last week, especially Cosgrove who is a total hypocrite when it comes to what he deems "acceptable". If Griffiths DOES stay, hopefully he can get the big one next year.

05-05-2013, 10:06 PM

:agree: Motherwell would still have done ok without Higdon. I dread to think where we would be without Griffiths this season.

05-05-2013, 10:07 PM
POTY Higdon. Dodds just sayed he'd like to see him and Sparky as a partnership, then Thomson says "that would be frightening!" haha, love it!

05-05-2013, 10:08 PM
Let's try and be positive, they said when Bale won both awards it added a few extra million to his value. With Leigh possibly you'd be looking at a few more clubs sniffing about him if he'd done the double so maybe this help us keep him at ER!

05-05-2013, 10:13 PM
Let's try and be positive, they said when Bale won both awards it added a few extra million to his value. With Leigh possibly you'd be looking at a few more clubs sniffing about him if he'd done the double so maybe this help us keep him at ER!

:agree: The same goes for him NOT finishing top of the goalscorers list. And, for that matter, him NOT scoring a hat trick in the Final :wink:.

PerfectlyFranck
05-05-2013, 10:27 PM
http://i766.photobucket.com/albums/xx309/HibernianFitbaClub/GriffithsASDAToryglen_zps0055f65f.png

05-05-2013, 11:19 PM
Did any of the yams' "World Cup Superstars" win anything or are we still waiting for them to arrive?

Congratulations Super Leigh!

06-05-2013, 07:00 AM
What about the best newcomers award? surely went to the rangers, some achievement winning the 3rd division at the first attempt in the first year of your existence.

06-05-2013, 07:18 AM
[QUOTE=hfc rd;3589679]Did any of the yams' "World Cup Superstars" win anything or are we still waiting for them to arrive?

There is usually a biggest debt section but the organisers declared it a no contest this time and as the yams have won it 3 times in a row they get to keep it.

06-05-2013, 08:20 AM
Ronnie MacKay‏@RonnieMacKay11m (http://www.hibs.net/RonnieMacKay/status/331319831313932288)8.30am press conference with Michael Higdon cancelled coz he's too pished! Love it. Rock n Roll!

East Coast Hibe
06-05-2013, 10:30 AM
Ronnie MacKay‏@RonnieMacKay11m (http://www.hibs.net/RonnieMacKay/status/331319831313932288)8.30am press conference with Michael Higdon cancelled coz he's too pished! Love it. Rock n Roll!

I heard (tho not confirmed) that he was arrested last night and is in custody. Won't get out today as it's a holiday :drunk::drunk:

Skanko79
06-05-2013, 10:40 AM
Higdon was clearly that shocked himself he went and got tanked up and got into a swedge. storys going about he was lifted last night.

06-05-2013, 10:40 AM
I heard (tho not confirmed) that he was arrested last night and is in custody. Won't get out today as it's a holiday :drunk::drunk:

Confirmed noo. Not so much "too pished to attend" as "still in the tin pail at the time" :greengrin

Michael Higdon arrested after winning player of the year

http://news.bbcimg.co.uk/media/images/67436000/jpg/_67436791_8601581.jpg Higdon picked up the player of the year award at a ceremony at Glasgow's Hilton hotel on Sunday
Motherwell striker Michael Higdon has been arrested over an alleged assault hours after being crowned Scotland's Player of the Year (http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22424675).
The 29-year-old was held after a disturbance at the Corinthian nightclub in Glasgow in the early hours.
BBC Scotland understands Higdon was released from police custody at 09:00.
He was named Professional Footballers' Association Scotland Player of the Year at a ceremony on Sunday night.
Higdon is the Scottish Premier League's top scorer this season, having netted 26 league goals for Motherwell.
The club said it was aware of the situation.
A Police Scotland spokeswoman said: "A 29-year-old man is the subject of a report to the procurator fiscal in connection with an alleged assault at a nightclub in Ingram Street in Glasgow at 1.25am today."
Liverpool-born Higdon had been due to meet journalists for a media conference at 08:30 on Monday, but the event was cancelled.
He won the award voted for by his peers ahead of Leigh Griffiths of Hibernian, Andrew Shinnie of Inverness and Aberdeen forward Niall McGinn.
Higdon has described this season as the "best of his career" and credited his success to "confidence, playing in a good team and having a manager who believes in me".
He began his career at Crewe before moving to Scotland to sign for Falkirk in 2007.
After two years with the Bairns, he joined St Mirren before leaving for Motherwell in 2011.

06-05-2013, 11:03 AM
Outstanding Sparky! Well deserved! :thumbsup::flag:
https://fbcdn-sphotos-d-a.akamaihd.net/hphotos-ak-snc6/s480x480/197654_10151398931633263_322685542_n.jpg (https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151398931633263&set=a.10150103163938263.272867.9749593262&type=1&relevant_count=1&ref=nf)