View Full Version : Match Updates Kilmarnock 1 v 1 Hibernian (match abandoned)
05-05-2013, 03:40 PM
It surely can't be played after the cup final?
We've got two weeks it can be played in (this week and next), it can't be that difficult to rearrange.
Definitely should be played after the CF - extend season - more squeaky bum time for the Yams going into Admin.
The presenter is a stuttering arse. Amateur.
SKY boot Tanner into touch. Honestly man how is this guy on the telly.
To be fair he's there to talk about football and its not an easy situation for him to talk round for so long.
05-05-2013, 03:41 PM
Definitely should be played after the CF - extend season - more squeaky bum time for the Yams going into Admin.
There's no way they'll extend the season imo. Still, we'll see!
Two things most fans can agree on:
1) Correct decision and everyone's best goes to the family of the bloke involved.
2) Gary Deegan shouldn't feature for Hibs again.
Well. That makes you the most self absorbed, uncaring person ive ever come across.
Im leaving it at that. Im out of this thread.
Maybe you're too sensitive? If a boy had a heart attack 20-50 yards away from me I don't think I'd get a flyer. Maybe says something about my employer?
The decision is correct but gonna be a tough decision when to rearrange. I know it won't happen but shame they can't just take a point.
To the Dens game, reckon it could kick off big time if they go down to a dodgy penalty!
05-05-2013, 03:42 PM
How long does a game have to go before the result can stand?
I think it might be 60 mins, we'd played 55 mins. Could have just sent the teams out to pass the ball between them for 5 mins, if that is the case.
Could both teams not just agree on a 1-1.
05-05-2013, 03:43 PM
There's nothing more you can do but there's also no way they should play on. No-one questioned the decision to abandon the spurs bolton game after muamba's cardiac arrest so there's no difference here! I imagine that seeing an incident of this kind is traumatic for everyone there and a paltry football game (and yes even its effects on our scottish cup) are completely irrelevant.
Is the difference here that it was one of the players in the Bolton game?
Stringer
Sun 12 May 2013 - Scottish Premier League
Hearts v Hibernian 12:00
Sat 18 May 2013 - Scottish Premier League
Hibernian v Dundee 15:00
Sun 26 May 2013 - Scottish Cup
Hibernian v Celtic 15:00
Don't know where it fits in.
Maybe you're too sensitive? If a boy had a heart attack 20-50 yards away from me I don't think I'd get a flyer. Maybe says something about my employer?
Sometimes it's best to keep opinions to yourself.
How can you be too sensitive when it comes to a persons life?
05-05-2013, 03:44 PM
What we have to remember is this is a football game. It's a sport for fun. When someone has taken Ill and has to have medical treatment to save their life in full view of players and fans, the fun then goes and concern takes over. 100% correct decision. Its not like any team where winning 4-0 or that, not that it should matter but with it being 1-1 there is nothing lost from abandoning the match.
Thoughts are with him and his family right now and let's hope this guy has the chance to see his team play again.
Nailrod
Since the match has been called off I think we have to assume the guy has died.
None of us are immortal, and if he's an oldster who's had a good innings there must be worse ways of going that at the fitba' with your mates watching your team.
I hope that is the case, and that he didn't have a young family.
Hibs should insist that it's played after the cup final. The manager clearly has a plan in place in terms of resting some players and giving some a run out and an extra game throws it completely.
hstn747
Remember Killie have previous experience with this at their cup final last year. Perhaps that has played a role in how their players feel about playing on.
05-05-2013, 03:45 PM
Are you off your head? It doesn't matter whether its a player or someone in the crowd.
Well. That makes you the most self absorbed, uncaring person ive ever come across.
Im leaving it at that. Im out of this thread.
A bit of an over reaction that is it not? You must live a sheltered life. Ultimately though, the correct decision was made.
This week or next
I could see us potentially forfeiting this game if it's placed just before the final.
I wouldn't blame the club for doing so and I don't think anybody else would either.
05-05-2013, 03:46 PM
Sometimes it's best to keep opinions to yourself.
I'll say it again if the boys dead the game should've been abandoned.
Saturday 25 May :greengrin
I hope the Killie fan is ok and I'm sure the decision to abandon the game was after consultation with both teams, but this gives Hibs their own, albeit not life threatening, problem.
We'll have to replay this before the cup final or before the hearts game.
So either we put a weakened team out and likely lose to Killie or we'll have knackered players at the PBS.
If somehow the league is extended, which is unlikely given what happened when Rangers wanted an extension, we'll have a similar decision to make.
Bugger.
Since the match has been called off I think we have to assume the guy has died.
None of us are immortal, and if he's an oldster who's had a good innings there must be worse ways of going that at the fitba' with your mates watching your team.
I hope that is the case, and that he didn't have a young family.
I read that like you hoped he is dead, but i surely must be misunderstanding. He was 60, that's not too old.
Wednesday 15th May seems logical.
Has to be this midweek
05-05-2013, 03:47 PM
It surprises me this doesn't happen more often. When you look at the health of the average football fan, the diet of pints,pies, burgers coupled with the stress of watching what passes for entertainment on the pitch. Multiplied by the thousands that watch week in, week out, it really should, statistically, be happening more often. Anyone that works for large supermarkets, shopping centres and places like train/bus stations will testify to the fact that there are more occurences of people taken ill more often than some would expect.
Hope the guy pulls through, best place to take a dive with all the medical support available.
Just said to my wife...not many places you could have a heart attack and have 4 doctors on the scene....hope it proves enough!
I could see us potentially forfeiting this game if it's placed just before the final.
I wouldn't blame the club for doing so and I don't think anybody else would either.
Do you have someone working you from the back?
Just give Killie the points
G15 Hibs
05-05-2013, 03:49 PM
A nice a wee extension of the season would be ideal.
05-05-2013, 03:49 PM
Right decision to call it off I reckon, wouldn't have been right to keep playing under the circumstances. Horrible, sombre atmostphere around the ground and I'm sure both the fans and players will be quite shaken after seeing such horrible scenes. Thoughts and prayers with the supporter and his family, hope he can pull through.
However, having another game between now and the cup final disrupts the cup final preparations and I reckon is not great news in that respect. But like I said, right decision, football is put into perspective when things like this happen.
05-05-2013, 03:50 PM
Do you have someone working you from the back?
Aye. because playing a game that may make no real difference at the end of the season, just before the cup final should be of great significance to us. :rolleyes:
WestEndHibee
05-05-2013, 03:51 PM
So is his life more special than the life of a Killie fan? At your reasoning why didn't they just sub muamba off and carry on? Take a step back man. Football is nothing compared to a guy's life.
05-05-2013, 03:52 PM
Aye. because playing a game that may make no real difference at the end of the season, just before the cup final should be of great significance to us. :rolleyes:
So you think they will just let us not play it? :faf: I really do think you are as daft as you appear to be.
05-05-2013, 03:52 PM
Just said to my wife...not many places you could have a heart attack and have 4 doctors on the scene....hope it proves enough!
Yes, it's like with Muamba, he was a ticking time bomb so its a blessing it happened on the football field of all places where there are paramedics and doctors on stand by that could reach him within seconds. If it had happened at home or say out walking the dog or whatever, he proberly wouldn't have been so fortunate.
05-05-2013, 03:53 PM
So you think they will just let us not play it? :faf: I really do think you are as daft as you appear to be.
Any team has the right to forfeit any game. Or did you not realize this? :confused:
We'd lose 3-0 by default. But it wouldn't really make any difference.
05-05-2013, 03:54 PM
Time for defibliators at all grounds. Hope the guy pull through
Dundee relegated
so the killie fans who have bought ST's get one less game because some folk cant be arsed?
The game will be replayed
Any team has the right to forfeit any game. Or did you not realize this? :confused:
Stop it, please stop it.
Just give Killie the points
Normally a crazy suggestion, but there is really only one game that matters for Hibs. The Killie game has no bearing on relegation but could now further reduce Hibs cup chances. If there is a rule that would allow the SPL to declare a draw then they should do that.
05-05-2013, 03:55 PM
so the killie fans who have bought ST's get one less game because some folk cant be arsed?
The game will be replayed
You think the Killie fans are going to care anymore about this game than we do?
05-05-2013, 03:55 PM
Ideally rearranged after the cup final
But whats the chance of that happening ?
05-05-2013, 03:56 PM
Dundee relegated
Hmmm, not quite yet :greengrin
Big Sexy Dave
05-05-2013, 03:56 PM
Had lot's of texts from my Killie supporting mates saying the Hibs fans were a credit to the club, it puts everything into perspective, I'd hate for it to happen to someone I know.
05-05-2013, 03:57 PM
It would, a draw today would take us up a place in the league which is £80k more prize money. Might not sound much of an incentive but in terms of next seasons budget.....
hibbybob
Ideally rearranged after the cup final
But whats the chance of that happening ?
IIRC we played rangers AFTER the cup final in 1979!
why on earth would hibs forfeit a game :confused: and there would be a monetary difference for final league placings
You think the Killie fans are going to care anymore about this game than we do?
nice fishin :spammy:
Abandoning the game had no impact on whether the guy survived or not
The decision was based completely on respect
Correct decision I think
05-05-2013, 03:59 PM
Hmmm, not quite yet :greengrin
the yamboids will escape, unfortunately :(
It would, a draw today would take us up a place in the league which is £80k more prize money. Might not sound much of an incentive but in terms of next seasons budget.....
That would depend on the results of the next game.
Correct decision I think
Agreed
Sent from my LT30p using Tapatalk 2
Not sure, but didn't we play the Huns in the league at ER after the 79 final?
Not without precedent to extend the season for one game and surely not a big problem?
LeighLoyal
05-05-2013, 04:01 PM
Dundee relegated
boo the Sheep!! :rolleyes:
Just play it midweek, no problem?
05-05-2013, 04:02 PM
He thinks we play in the Maybury league, best to let him live in his own little world. :greengrin
05-05-2013, 04:03 PM
Correct decision I think
Everyone dies, crap decision if respect was the basis of it. If I died at a match I wouldn't want to spoil everyone elses day. I am amazed that there isn't a death at a football match every week, just with the numbers involved.
05-05-2013, 04:06 PM
Just play it midweek, no problem?It's a problem for the manager if he's trying tae rest players and minimize injury risk before the cup game. Now He'll either have tae play a weakened team and risk losing points, places and therefore dosh in league placings. Or he can put out a decent team and risk losing players to injury.
05-05-2013, 04:07 PM
Forget this argument of should it have been shouldn't it have been abandoned. Can't everyone just spare a thought for his family instead.
Stringer
05-05-2013, 04:07 PM
Everyone dies, crap decision if respect was the basis of it. If I died at a match I wouldn't want to spoil everyone elses day. I am amazed that there isn't a death at a football match every week, just with the numbers involved.
I won't bite. I won't bite. I won't bite. I won't bite. I won't bite.
05-05-2013, 04:08 PM
deary me . . . .
05-05-2013, 04:08 PM
Jeezo!!!!!! A crap decision? A guy was fighting for his life. The players all seen it, the fans all seen it. Who the **** wants to play after that? Just because "we all die" doesn't mean we as a human race can't show some compassion to others when fighting for their lives.
05-05-2013, 04:11 PM
Jeezo!!!!!! A crap decision? A guy was fighting for his life. The players all seen it, the fans all seen it. Who the **** wants to play after that? Just because "we all die" doesn't mean we as a human race can't show some compassion to others when fighting for their lives.
05-05-2013, 04:11 PM
In all my many years following football I think this is the first time that I know of where someone in the crowd taking ill has stopped a top league game. Best wishes to the guy and I hope he makes a full recovery , but the abandonment certainly opens up a whole new precident. It was easy today with the scores tied, but lets say Hibs are 3-0 up in the cup final and someone takes ill in the crowd , me for example which would be highly likely, should the game be stopped and would I want it stopped?
05-05-2013, 04:12 PM
If you are going to respect the individual with the health issue today and the family then also respect the views of this poster.
I also agree that if I die at the football then play on after.
If it was in Asda would it close out of respect after it?
Lets not confuse having a different view on this with not having respect or compassion with the individual or the family.
Hundreds of thousands of people take ill or die somewhere in the world every day. The rest carry on.
PerfectlyFranck
05-05-2013, 04:12 PM
If the boys not dead they should be playing. We don't need a midweek fixture prior to the cup final.
http://i1245.photobucket.com/albums/gg584/celtic1958/big-cup-backgrnd.jpg
05-05-2013, 04:14 PM
In all my many years following football I think this is the first time that I know of where someone in the crowd taking ill has stopped a top league game. Best wishes to the guy and I hope he makes a full recovery , but the abandonment certainly opens up a whole new precident. It was easy today with the scores tied, but lets say Hibs are 3-0 up in the cup final and someone takes ill in the crowd , me for example which would be highly likely, should the game be stopped and would I want it stopped?
I think it was more to do with the treatment happening at the side of the pitch in full view of everyone and also the need for an Ambulance entering the stadium. Quite often if someone takes ill during the game the get taken under the stand.
It was because the fan had to be put next to the pitch. 9/10 times the medics treat the fan in the stands. That's when players are none the wiser to this and the game carries on. But as this was in front of everyone the only decision was to abandon it and they got it spot on.
Gus Fring
Watching someone die of a heart attach generally has the affect of spoiling your day anyway. Judging by the fans reaction they agreed with the decision.
05-05-2013, 04:15 PM
Funny how in this push to control respect its fine to abuse people for a different view? Funny old world.
Big Sexy Dave
Everyone dies? if it was someone close to me I'd be ****ing distraught.
That would depend on the results of the next game.
If it was up to you we'd not turn up, and forfeit the points get a 3-0 defeat, and for doing so throw in a hefty fine. :faf:
05-05-2013, 04:16 PM
Being realistic, the game probably would have overrun it's slot in the schedule, and SKY wouldn't allow that for a Hibs Killie game, the viewing figures are unlikely to be good enough.
Folk have suspected heart attacks at football matches quite frequently. It's unusual for them to need to be treated on the pitch, but perhaps Rugby Park's concourses are too tight to treat the guy in there. I don't think it was really stopped because of concern for the ill fan, and I don't think it should be. The players don't know the guy, nor do the majority of the crowd, and although I'm sure they're naturally concerned for the well-being of the killie fan, as any other man in the street, the players would have been able to play on, with a warm up. I also don't see the family really benefiting from the game being called off.
As regards to rearranging the fixture, it could be a wee blessing in disguise for us, because in my opinion, Thomson and Deegan in the middle was just showing up as far too slow, although I thought Done was playing well when he got on the ball. Didn't think Handling was covering himself in glory today, and needs to build himself up a bit.
Stringer
05-05-2013, 04:18 PM
If Hibs were 3 - 0 up against celtic in the cup final Neil Lennon would have a heart attack
05-05-2013, 04:18 PM
Another sensitive soul.
05-05-2013, 04:19 PM
Bit of respect please!
05-05-2013, 04:20 PM
Funny how in this push to control respect its fine to abuse people for a different view? Funny old world.
Agreed - some strange comments on this thread.
WestEndHibee
05-05-2013, 04:21 PM
Just stop, please.
Big Sexy Dave
05-05-2013, 04:21 PM
Being realistic, the game probably would have overrun it's slot in the schedule, and SKY wouldn't allow that for a Hibs Killie game, the viewing figures are unlikely to be good enough.
Folk have suspected heart attacks at football matches quite frequently. It's unusual for them to need to be treated on the pitch, but perhaps Rugby Park's concourses are too tight to treat the guy in there. I don't think it was really stopped because of concern for the ill fan, and I don't think it should be. The players don't know the guy, nor do the majority of the crowd, and although I'm sure they're naturally concerned for the well-being of the killie fan, as any other man in the street, the players would have been able to play on, with a warm up. I also don't see the family really benefiting from the game being called off.
As regards to rearranging the fixture, it could be a wee blessing in disguise for us, because in my opinion, Thomson and Deegan in the middle was just showing up as far too slow, although I thought Done was playing well when he got on the ball. Didn't think Handling was covering himself in glory today, and needs to build himself up a bit.
The ambulance van needed to go on the pitch and you could see the where it had reversed.
05-05-2013, 04:27 PM
The guy had beed taken out the stand and was being resuscitated at the side of the pitch.
Both club Doctors were required and they had to bring an ambulance onto the pitch. Did you just want the game to go on around this happening.
It's quite a horrendous situation to witness, to see someone have there heart massaged and being resuscitated. Some players could have played on but for others, especially 17 or 18 year old laddies, I would doubt they would be in the mind set for continuing having seen what was happening.
05-05-2013, 04:27 PM
Just stop, please.
Stop what?
patch1875
05-05-2013, 04:28 PM
Should be played this Tuesday:agree:
05-05-2013, 04:30 PM
The ambulance van needed to go on the pitch and you could see the where it had reversed.
I'd imagine they were worried that he may have done some spinal damage if he collapsed and hit the ground hard, so wouldn't have wanted to stretcher him far.
Don't get me wrong, I've got my practical head on when I say the game should have carried on, had it not been for Sky coverage. I've got every sympathy with someone in such a grim situation.
05-05-2013, 04:33 PM
Just stop, please.
Ah! the voice of outraged youth -sensitive wee chap you are.:wink:
05-05-2013, 04:34 PM
I'd imagine they were worried that he may have done some spinal damage if he collapsed and hit the ground hard, so wouldn't have wanted to stretcher him far.
Don't get me wrong, I've got my practical head on when I say the game should have carried on, had it not been for Sky coverage. I've got every sympathy with someone in such a grim situation.
Sky had nothing to do with it being called off. Also the full game would have been shown.
05-05-2013, 04:35 PM
Firstly, stop acting dumb^.
Secondly stop trying to take the moral high ground by even having the audacity to compare other's disrespect with the disrespect that you have been showing here.
Thirdly, stop baiting other people with views that you know are controversial. This is another human being's LIFE.
I'm out of this thread.
Okay bye. Having a discussion about aspects of the decision isn't being disrespectful and its daft to say so.
hibs4thecup1988
05-05-2013, 04:36 PM
First of all I want to say I hope the guy pulls through. The abandonment was the correct decision.
Secondly all these people saying ah just carry on playing the guy is at hospital, yep easy to say but a different thing to do having witnessed what had happened in my book.
However, what would happen if this happens in the cup final with 52,000 fans there, Hibs 1-0 up with 5 minutes to play and a Hibs fan collapses? Would the game be stopped then too?
Also...surely the game gets played Wednesday 15th May 2013 with a 7.30pm KO...? Why are people even talking about the week before the cup final? Yes week after Cup final would be good to extend the league, but the SPL won't go for that.
05-05-2013, 04:36 PM
The guy had beed taken out the stand and was being resuscitated at the side of the pitch.
Both club Doctors were required and they had to bring an ambulance onto the pitch. Did you just want the game to go on around this happening.
It's quite a horrendous situation to witness, to see someone have there heart massaged and being resuscitated. Some players could have played on but for others, especially 17 or 18 year old laddies, I would doubt they would be in the mind set for continuing having seen what was happening.
As mentioned as well this could have been even more upsetting for the Killie players and mangement after Liam Kelly's father's tragic death.
wilbertorama
05-05-2013, 04:40 PM
Unfortunately the fan in question died.
05-05-2013, 04:41 PM
Honestly? They'd have compassion Im sure. I doubt too much trauma. I'd bet the players would have played. Anyway, that's my view and not going to say anymore on it as most disagree.
The Kilmarnock players didn't want to play on as its still very raw memories of seeing Liam Kelly's dad take ill at the cup final last year.
WestEndHibee
05-05-2013, 04:41 PM
Okay bye. Having a discussion about aspects of the decision isn't being disrespectful and its daft to say so.
Looking back, it wasn't you being disrespectful. It was Danderhall and Sahib. Apologies for the over the top reaction.
05-05-2013, 04:42 PM
sad news, where did you hear that?
05-05-2013, 04:43 PM
This. Absolutely. No appetite for the game after witnessing this. Not one person leaving the ground having a moan only folk on here. Sums it up perfectly.
05-05-2013, 04:44 PM
Looking back, it wasn't you being disrespectful. It was Danderhall and Sahib. Apologies for the over the top reaction.
Not a problem. Terrible situation and a real shame.
davhibby
05-05-2013, 04:46 PM
It was the worst thing I've ever seen at a match, hope the guy's alright
05-05-2013, 04:48 PM
I hope this isn't true..
05-05-2013, 04:51 PM
Malcolm you do know he was lying at the side of the pitch being given CPR for nearly 15 mins by both clubs medical staff before an ambulances eventually arrived. Witnessed by players officials and fans alike? I don't think anyone had an appetite for football after those scenes. As said before not one dissenting voice heard on the way out. I think you might want to look at what you have written.
05-05-2013, 04:55 PM
Looking back, it wasn't you being disrespectful. It was Danderhall and Sahib. Apologies for the over the top reaction. Have another look back and see if you can take it in at the 3rd time of asking.
Scònaldò
05-05-2013, 04:59 PM
Deary me, there's some strange views from some posters on here.:crazy:
05-05-2013, 05:01 PM
Malcolm you do know he was lying at the side of the pitch being given CPR for nearly 15 mins by both clubs medical staff before an ambulances eventually arrived. Witnessed by players officials and fans alike? I don't think anyone had an appetite for football after those scenes. As said before not one dissenting voice heard on the way out. I think you might want to look at what you have written.
This ain't good, for him to have had to have CPR his heart must have stopped.
Hope this poor guy is ok...............
Hibby91
05-05-2013, 05:02 PM
I hope this isn't true..
I have also heard the same that the person sadly passed :/ such a shame! Just goes to show nobody knows what lies ahead of them but the respect shown when first aiders etc attended the situatuion was really nice.. Few folk where confused as to what was going and someone shouting that these kind of situations have to be rehearsed but c'mon the first aiders are trained for these things already what more could be done, I did have a lump in my throat when I seen what had happened though. Thoughts go out to all!
05-05-2013, 05:10 PM
I have a close mate who is a Motherwell supporter and he was at Fir Park the day Phil O'Donnell sadly collapsed and died on the field and he always tells me how much of a horrible atmosphere it was after he was taken off and how it should have been abandoned after that because clearly everyone was very shaken up by the horrific events. I know that if I was a player and I had just seen someone lie dying next or on the pitch and trying to be revived I wouldn't feel like playing on and certainly wouldn't be in a good frame of mind to play on. Particularly for Kilmarnock players who only last year witnessed a similar event when Liam Kellys father sadly collapsed and died, must have brought back those sad memories.
I wasn't at the game but you could even seen on the telly that the atmostphere turned eery and grim. No way could you have continued, the whole stadium was in shock.
Very sad for the guy who apparently has sadly passed away. Thoughts very much with his family and friends tonight.
05-05-2013, 05:49 PM
Why talk ***** like that? they just said on BBC he was progressing in Hospital.
05-05-2013, 05:56 PM
I said to my laddie I bet when we get home there will be some tosser on .net complaining about the game being abandoned and showing a complete lack of respect, I was wrong there is a couple not just one.
05-05-2013, 06:00 PM
Why talk ***** like that? they just said on BBC he was progressing in Hospital.
Brilliant to hear! Hope he makes a speedy and full recovery.
05-05-2013, 06:00 PM
I have a close mate who is a Motherwell supporter and he was at Fir Park the day Phil O'Donnell sadly collapsed and died on the field and he always tells me how much of a horrible atmosphere it was after he was taken off and how it should have been abandoned after that because clearly everyone was very shaken up by the horrific events. I know that if I was a player and I had just seen someone lie dying next or on the pitch and trying to be revived I wouldn't feel like playing on and certainly wouldn't be in a good frame of mind to play on. Particularly for Kilmarnock players who only last year witnessed a similar event when Liam Kellys father sadly collapsed and died, must have brought back those sad memories.
I wasn't at the game but you could even seen on the telly that the atmostphere turned eery and grim. No way could you have continued, the whole stadium was in shock.
Very sad for the guy who apparently has sadly passed away. Thoughts very much with his family and friends tonight.
It's different with it being a player though. Of course you can't expect players to play on after a teammate dies. However, this one I do find strange. If it had happened to a guy who was at the pie stand, would it have been called off?
05-05-2013, 06:01 PM
I said to my laddie I bet when we get home there will be some tosser on .net complaining about the game being abandoned and showing a complete lack of respect, I was wrong there is a couple not just one.
I would include myself in that however to be honest you obviously didnt see on the box what the fans at the game obviously saw. With hindsight the right decision however at the time personally was questioning the decision to abandon.
05-05-2013, 06:03 PM
It's different with it being a player though. Of course you can't expect players to play on after a teammate dies. However, this one I do find strange. If it had happened to a guy who was at the pie stand, would it have been called off?
Probably not, but clearly you've never witness some die or struggle for their life infront of you. Stuff playing a game of football after that...
05-05-2013, 06:03 PM
I think the very public nature of the resuscitation makes it different also adding on the Liam Kelly situation only last season.
Big Sexy Dave
05-05-2013, 06:07 PM
No but the bloke was 4 or 5 rows from the pitch at most, the ambulance couldn't get into the ground without going on the pitch.
05-05-2013, 06:08 PM
I think the very public nature of the resuscitation makes it different also adding on the Liam Kelly situation only last season.
:agree: If this had happened at the pie stand, the players and officials would not know anything about this, but the fact that it was all played out in front of them, makes this so much different.
Big Sexy Dave
05-05-2013, 06:09 PM
No but the bloke was about 4 or 5 rows from the pitch, the ambulance couldn't get into the ground without going on the pitch.
05-05-2013, 06:09 PM
I agree that the incident of O'Donnell was slightly different as the players were his friend and teammates but still, having to watch someone (weather you know them or not) die in front of you is still pretty distressing.
DAVE1875
05-05-2013, 06:16 PM
Anyone heard anything regarding the guy's condition? Numerous tweets on Twitter saying that's he's passed away, however we all know how reliable twitter is
Ceebs
05-05-2013, 06:17 PM
Having been in the situation with close family, I totally agree with the decision, fingers crossed the supporter in question makes a full recovery. After all it is only a game.
05-05-2013, 06:17 PM
I agree that the incident of O'Donnell was slightly different as the players were his friend and teammates but still, having to watch someone (weather you know them or not) die in front of you is still pretty distressing.
Did he die like?
05-05-2013, 06:18 PM
Shiels also indicated that preliminary discussions had taken place regarding a replay date for the match, with Wednesday 15 May one possible opportunity.
not much rest for the players after the game at the wongadome
05-05-2013, 06:19 PM
I'll reply to these when I get home - can't reply to all these on my phone.
05-05-2013, 06:20 PM
Shiels also indicated that preliminary discussions had taken place regarding a replay date for the match, with Wednesday 15 May one possible opportunity.
not much rest for the players after the game at the wongadome
Wouldn't be surprised if we rest most of them.
05-05-2013, 06:21 PM
Just back, harrowing scenes. The person collapsed on staircase, whereby some of the fans, were screaming for medical attention. Medical staff slightly slow to react, but I thought it was about 20 odd minutes, receiving CPR treatment.....Ambulance pulled away with flashing lights, no sirens....... (I thought all grounds had to have a defibrilator in case of these incidents after Muwamba, it only appeared to arrive with the ambulance)
I really hope the supporter makes it, but if unconscious for that length of time, there may sadly be brain damage as a consequence. Eerie to be in the Ground, when that was happening.
Think it was the right decision to abandon, the Killie players thoughts would not have been on the game in the circumstances. Bit of a bummer having to go back probably a week on Wednesday, but when you see what happened Today to the supporter, and those in the vicinity, it put's everything into perspective.
Hope the supporter makes a recovery.....
05-05-2013, 06:23 PM
Why not this week? Would make more sense imo.
05-05-2013, 06:26 PM
Just back, harrowing scenes. The person collapsed on staircase, whereby some of the fans, were screaming for medical attention. Medical staff slightly slow to react, but I thought it was about 20 odd minutes, receiving CPR treatment.....Ambulance pulled away with flashing lights, no sirens....... (I thought all grounds had to have a defibrilator in case of these incidents after Muwamba, it only appeared to arrive with the ambulance)
I really hope the supporter makes it, but if unconscious for that length of time, there may sadly be brain damage as a consequence. Eerie to be in the Ground, when that was happening.
Think it was the right decision to abandon, the Killie players thoughts would not have been on the game in the circumstances. Bit of a bummer having to go back probably a week on Wednesday, but when you see what happened Today to the supporter, and those in the vicinity, it put's everything into perspective.
WestEndHibee
05-05-2013, 06:38 PM
05-05-2013, 06:47 PM
Were you not willing to respect the views of these "tossers" you mention?
05-05-2013, 06:50 PM
Did he die like?
don't know, hearing mixed reports but the guy was being resucitated so obviously the players and fans knew he was fighting for his life which I can imagine would be horrendous to see.
05-05-2013, 06:54 PM
Were you not willing to respect the views of these "tossers" you mention?
They don't deserve respect, it has to be earned.
05-05-2013, 07:12 PM
They don't deserve respect, it has to be earned.
How did the boy that collapsed earn your respect?
05-05-2013, 07:14 PM
It's called Compassion!
05-05-2013, 07:15 PM
You really are sounding like a twat
05-05-2013, 07:16 PM
He knows that!
05-05-2013, 07:17 PM
Disappointing that debate has to fall to this level.
05-05-2013, 07:18 PM
Hibs.net in poster sounding like a tosser shock :wink:
05-05-2013, 07:19 PM
Disappointing that debate has to fall to this level.
ask yourself why then
It's called Compassion!
You can have both compassion and respect and still have the opinion that the game could have been concluded.
Looking forward to being able to come on and call people tossers who have a different opinion is a strange way to show that you have respect for people though.
ask yourself why then
I think it's due to a lack of intelligence.
05-05-2013, 07:20 PM
You can have both compassion and respect and still have the opinion that the game could have been concluded.
Looking forward to being able to come on and call people tossers who have a different opinion is a strange way to show that you have respect for people though.
Spot on Andy.
I sincerely hope that any friends or family of the fan who collapsed don't have a look on here and have to see some of the comments from certain posters. I work as a nurse and I can assure you, no matter how much training/experience you have of death/cardiac arrests, you never get used to it. We have to carry on as before after an emergency but the adrenaline is still flowing and it takes ages to get back to normal. I wish people would also appreciate that other folk can see their posts, ie the press and they would love to put the boot in to Hibs and their fans, by highlighting the lack of basic humanity some people have displayed.
Aye whatever.
05-05-2013, 07:21 PM
Spot on Andy.
Two cheeks
05-05-2013, 07:21 PM
its all fine and well having a difference in opinions but try and show a bit of respect for another human being who may be seriously ill or worse
05-05-2013, 07:23 PM
ask yourself why then
Some people feeling they have to abuse people for thinking about something in a different way? Not being able to differentiate someone's views on calling off a game with respect and compassion?
The link between feeling so strongly about respect and compassion for someone you haven't met but happily coming on to dish out abuse in conversation is an interesting one.
I sincerely hope that any friends or family of the fan who collapsed don't have a look on here and have to see some of the comments from certain posters. I work as a nurse and I can assure you, no matter how much training/experience you have of death/cardiac arrests, you never get used to it. We have to carry on as normal after an emergency but the adrenaline is flowing and it takes ages to get back to normal. I wish people would also appreciate that other folk can see their posts, ie the press and they would love to put the boot in to Hibs and their fans, by highlighting the lack of basic humanity some people have displayed.
Over reaction.
Just wondering why the game was abandoned is a legitimate question/debate. Folk got on their high horse awfy quickly though and started dishing out abuse to those asking.
I think the boys family will have more on their mind than reading .net.
i'd like to think im quite an intelligent guy
05-05-2013, 07:24 PM
Two cheeks
Ask yourself who is lowering themselves here. There wasn't a need for it really.
05-05-2013, 07:25 PM
Spot on Andy.
It's fair enough having your own view guys. But I bet everyone of those players who seen him fight for his life would rather the game was abandoned. Along with what is clearly most fans opinion that its the right decision. How can we have enjoyed the game knowing someone could have lost there life and all the folk there seen the medics give him heart massage. Believe me it's a horrible thing and very off putting. To go on and focus on a game or even try and enjoy it would be almost impossible.
Some people feeling they have to abuse people for thinking about something in a different way? Not being able to differentiate someone's views on calling off a game with respect and compassion?
The link between feeling so strongly about respect and compassion for someone you haven't met but happily coming on to dish out abuse in conversation is an interesting one.
People will always have a difference in opinion but there are ways of saying/writing things and certain people need to have a think first before posting. All in my opinion of course
If that's your excuse you're forgiven.
05-05-2013, 07:26 PM
its all fine and well having a difference in opinions but try and show a bit of respect for another human being who may be seriously ill or worse
Where are you getting that respect isn't being shown?
05-05-2013, 07:27 PM
I sincerely hope that any friends or family of the fan who collapsed don't have a look on here and have to see some of the comments from certain posters. I work as a nurse and I can assure you, no matter how much training/experience you have of death/cardiac arrests, you never get used to it. We have to carry on as before after an emergency but the adrenaline is still flowing and it takes ages to get back to normal. I wish people would also appreciate that other folk can see their posts, ie the press and they would love to put the boot in to Hibs and their fans, by highlighting the lack of basic humanity some people have displayed.
The medical staff did a tremendous job, to even get the guy into the Ambulance, had a quick look on Killie fans site, and they seem to think the Man is still fighting for his life. He must be a tough cookie, to still be hanging in there, and the Medical staff deserve enormous praise to help the Man to fight on.....:applause:
Hope he remains able to fight on and fully recovers....:pray:
05-05-2013, 07:27 PM
Ask yourself who is lowering themselves here. There wasn't a need for it really.
You're right I don't know why you bothered TBH you should have just kept your mouth shut.
05-05-2013, 07:28 PM
I don't see anything that bad on here that would cause any concern to be honest. Why do people automatically assume that every man and their dog looks through clubs fans forums to find a snippet of something even resembling controversial in a situation like this? This is a forum where people will post their views, we may not agree that's life. How can you attribute a faceless potentially not even a Hibs fans comments, as a foundation that the press would run a story on.
05-05-2013, 07:28 PM
Over reaction.
Just wondering why the game was abandoned is a legitimate question/debate. Folk got on their high horse awfy quickly though and started dishing out abuse to those asking.
I've tried to explain it, in my other post without any arguing. See it from a players perspective. Some were very shocked, and Alex Harris tweeted it was the right thing to do.
05-05-2013, 07:31 PM
Over reaction.
I'm sure you will see the irony in your reply to my post as an 'over reaction' when I am only posting MY opinion. I didn't call you any names or insult you, I merely asked that a bit of respect was shown. Yes, I am absolutely certain the man's family and friends will have more pressing things on their minds than looking on here. The bit that seems to be missed here is that, from a sports point of view, it may well have been classed as too risky for the players to come back out without warming down properly and then having to start the game off again 'cold'. The schedule of Sky would also have to be disrupted.
Where are you getting that respect isn't being shown?
Eh have a read through previous posts
You're right I don't know why you bothered TBH you should have just kept your mouth shut.
Aye your posts on this just get better. I'd believe your respect line if you showed any basic level of it.
05-05-2013, 07:33 PM
Aye your posts on this just get better. I'd believe your respect line if you showed any basic level of it.
I have none for you, like I said it has to be earned.
05-05-2013, 07:34 PM
I'm sure you will see the irony in your reply to my post as an 'over reaction' when I am only posting MY opinion. I didn't call you any names or insult you, I merely asked that a bit of respect was shown. Yes, I am absolutely certain the man's family and friends will have more pressing things on their minds than looking on here. The bit that seems to be missed here is that, from a sports point of view, it may well have been classed as too risky for the players to come back out without warming down properly and then having to start the game off again 'cold'. The schedule of Sky would also have to be disrupted.
I hope the boys ok as well. Just questioned that the match had to be called off. Respect your opinion as a medical professional also.
05-05-2013, 07:36 PM
I don't see anything that bad on here that would cause any concern to be honest. Why do people automatically assume that every man and their dog looks through clubs fans forums to find a snippet of something even resembling controversial in a situation like this? This is a forum where people will post their views, we may not agree that's life. How can you attribute a faceless potentially not even a Hibs fans comments, as a foundation that the press would run a story on.
The fact that this incident happened during a game which was being shown live on Sky will, of course, be a major talking point. The press have a habit of making a story fit their agenda and Hibs and their players have certainly been on the receiving end many times. Not that long ago, Hearts fans were blasted for making jokey comments about some women in a West Lothian beauty competition and that made the news. Who's to say that comments on here won't also? Yes, it's a forum but also a public forum.
05-05-2013, 07:37 PM
Radio Clyde News@RadioClydeNews21s (http://www.hibs.net/RadioClydeNews/status/331130883190947841)A man who collapsed at the Kilmarnock vs Hibs game earlier has died.
Very sad news.
05-05-2013, 07:38 PM
Good post. It doesn't matter whether others come on here or not, it's what we do that matters. I've watched folk die as well and it isn't something you shrug off. It's never wrong to do the right thing and, whilst I was surprised to see play stopping today when watching on TV, now having full possession of the facts it was clearly the right thing to do and I struggle to see why folk are arguing about it.
05-05-2013, 07:38 PM
Eh have a read through previous posts
Everyone has been very clear on the fact that its tragic and that we should have every sympathy and respect for the individual and their family.
Thinking that a game could have been concluded doesn't change that.
I've said if it was me I'd hope the rest of the game would be played.
We've had heart attacks in my office and we've worked the rest of the day. People have heart attacks in gyms and they stay open for others. Would Asda close for the day in those circumstances?
It's a reasonable thing to debate and people getting into the abuse or accusing people of lack of humanity or respect - well that is what is lowering the tone.
05-05-2013, 07:39 PM
Very sad indeed, always strikes a chord when someone go to the match and doesn't return. RIP Killie Supporter.
05-05-2013, 07:39 PM
I have none for you, like I said it has to be earned.
Ah well, says way more about you.
05-05-2013, 07:41 PM
Very sad. RIP. :(
05-05-2013, 07:41 PM
R.I.P :(
So sad to hear he passed away! Thoughts with his family & friends.
05-05-2013, 07:42 PM
Out of respect to the poor man, please can this thread now be locked admins?
davhibby
05-05-2013, 07:43 PM
James McDonaugh @Jamesmcdonaugh (https://twitter.com/Jamesmcdonaugh)2m (https://twitter.com/Jamesmcdonaugh/status/331131592321937408)
Still stunned with what happened at football to the #killiefan (https://twitter.com/search?q=%23killiefan&src=hash) today. Conflicting reports,we were told before leaving he was unresponsive??
05-05-2013, 07:44 PM
Radio Clyde News@RadioClydeNews21s (http://www.hibs.net/RadioClydeNews/status/331130883190947841)A man who collapsed at the Kilmarnock vs Hibs game earlier has died.
Very sad news.
Sad news indeed.....RIP
HibeeSince85
05-05-2013, 07:45 PM
Where has it been confirmed that he has passed away? I hope he pulls through but if he has died then my condolences to his family. Very sad.
davhibby
05-05-2013, 07:46 PM
Very sad news.
Very sad news, thoughts go out to his family RIP
Stringer
RIP. There should be a minute silence at the replay.
This thread is a car crash.
Out of respect to the poor man, please can this thread now be locked admins?
I agree.
very sad news
05-05-2013, 07:47 PM
Very sad news, RIP.