03-05-2013, 06:35 AM
27 years and still laughing!

What is this? Who is Albert Kidd?

03-05-2013, 06:38 AM

Great Year That 1986.

03-05-2013, 06:40 AM
Please God let today be the day they die. I think we'd have to make May 3rd a public holiday in Leith!

03-05-2013, 06:51 AM
27 years on and it still really riles them :)

Barman Stanton
03-05-2013, 07:09 AM
Thank you :)

03-05-2013, 07:20 AM
Is it really 27 years, seems like yesterday. What a fantastic weekend that was, will never forget that day as long as I live, being picked up and hugged by an old man with a walking stick,fans going wild, Hibs players celebrating and D.Utd going up the pitch and scoring, nobody gave a s--- about the goal in a meaningless game, funny thing is, most Hibs fans thought hertz would just turn up and walk all over Dundee. To think they could well be outdone again by Dundee when hertz go to the wall.Its a funny old world innit.
Happy 27th anniversary,

Arise, Sir Walter of Kidd.

03-05-2013, 08:28 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=UCjEsN4E85s
Spolier - 7:(0) minutes into the video and with 7:(0) minutes to go in the game ...... the great man pops up.

Pat 0-7
03-05-2013, 08:29 AM
http://nfs.stvfiles.com/imagebase/2/623x349/2353-albert-kidd-did-the-damage-to-hearts-title-hopes-in-1986-but-st-mirrens-capitulation-against-celtic-remains-raw.jpg

:not worth:not worth:not worth

I had left the game early, had a radio stuck to my ear walking along Albion Place, just remember jumping about shouting 'Dundee have scored!!' and hearing the cheer from the stadium.......

03-05-2013, 08:32 AM
Thanks Sir Albert, a day never to forget, and neither will they

:not worth

LeighLoyal
03-05-2013, 09:05 AM
Smith made one of the best saves I've seen at 0-0, then Sir Albert came on… :greengrin

03-05-2013, 09:08 AM
God bless Sir Albert.

03-05-2013, 09:27 AM
I'm well versed on the Hearts side of things but what did that game mean to Dundee? Did them winning save them from the drop or qualify for Europe or something or were their players and fans celebrating so enthusiastically as a GIRUY as the Yams were loved as much by other Scottish teams then as they are today?

PS - loving the fashion of the "casuals" back then. Pastile coloured thin pringle type golf style jumpers. Grey or white lightweight trousers, again looking a bit golfy.

03-05-2013, 09:29 AM
I'm well versed on the Hearts side of things but what did that game mean to Dundee? Did them winning save them from the drop or qualify for Europe or something or where their players and fans celebrating so enthusiastically as a GIRUY as the Yams were loved as much by other Scottish teams then as they are today?

PS - loving the fashion of the "casuals" back then. Pastile coloured thin pringle type golf style jumpers.

Think it was just the idea that they had prevented Hearts from winning the title on their ground. Would have been the same for any team.

In the great scheme of things, the Dee fans would probably have preferred Hearts to win the league over Celtic or Rangers, but not on their patch.

03-05-2013, 09:35 AM
Just a perfect day
Drink sangria in the park
And then later, when it gets dark
We go home

Just a perfect day
Feed animals in the zoo
Then later a movie, too
And then home

Oh, it's such a perfect day
I'm glad I spent it with you
Oh, such a perfect day
You just keep me hanging on

Just a perfect day
Problems all left alone
Weekenders on our own
It's such fun

Just a perfect day
You made me forget myself
I thought I was someone else
Someone good

Oh, such a perfect day

You're going to reap just what you sow

scuttle
03-05-2013, 09:43 AM
Just a perfect day
Drink sangria in the park
And then later, when it gets dark
We go home

Just a perfect day
Feed animals in the zoo
Then later a movie, too
And then home

Oh, such a perfect day

Just a perfect day
Problems all left alone
Weekenders on our own
It's such fun

Just a perfect day
You made me forget myself
I thought I was someone else
Someone good

Oh, such a perfect day

LOVE IT......very apt

03-05-2013, 09:44 AM
Is it really 27 years, seems like yesterday. What a fantastic weekend that was, will never forget that day as long as I live, being picked up and hugged by an old man with a walking stick,fans going wild, Hibs players celebrating and D.Utd going up the pitch and scoring, nobody gave a s--- about the goal in a meaningless game, funny thing is, most Hibs fans thought hertz would just turn up and walk all over Dundee. To think they could well be outdone again by Dundee when hertz go to the wall.Its a funny old world innit.
Happy 27th anniversary,

:confused: :greengrin

03-05-2013, 09:55 AM
Happy 27th anniversary,

If only there was clip of THAT game V D'dee Utd at Easter Road on THAT day - it would maybe help show younger Hibees of the joys of THAT day !!

03-05-2013, 10:27 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4LWjGMwAjo

Official Sir Albert Kidd day song? It's called 86, it's by Green Day and contains the opening lyric:

"What brings you around? Did you lose something the last time you were here?" :greengrin

:brokenyam:

1875er
03-05-2013, 10:36 AM
How painful must it be to lose the league to a double from Bobby Ball....

Rock on Tommy.....:thumbsup:

gillythehibby
03-05-2013, 10:48 AM
If only there was clip of THAT game V D'dee Utd at Easter Road on THAT day - it would maybe help show younger Hibees of the joys of THAT day !!

Agreed. I was in the East terrace that day with my cousin and when the news came through It was mayhem. lol. Hibs/Utd players virtually stopped playing to view the madness on the terraces. Good times :flag:

03-05-2013, 11:11 AM

Wish there was. :agree:

I can only go on the stories told by Hibees that were at the game, my dad wasn't but was still a happy man. :greengrin May be too young to have experienced this brilliant year but it will be celebrated by me none the less. :thumbsup:

03-05-2013, 11:28 AM
:confused: :greengrin

Farq,what an erse, my humble apologies, in my haste to post my glee I got it wrong.

03-05-2013, 11:55 AM
Farq,what an erse, my humble apologies, in my haste to post my glee I got it wrong.

Forgivable mistake - I've a feeling that Walter may have been the centre of events the following week - didn't he lift the cup or something?

speedy_gonzales
03-05-2013, 12:18 PM
Someone has been nice enough to post some light hearted reading on the matter over on Kickback!

http://londonhearts.com/scores/images/1986/1986050301.jpg
http://londonhearts.com/scores/images/1986/1986050302.jpg
http://londonhearts.com/scores/images/1986/1986050305.jpg
http://londonhearts.com/scores/images/1986/1986050307.jpg

03-05-2013, 12:41 PM
I'm well versed on the Hearts side of things but what did that game mean to Dundee? Did them winning save them from the drop or qualify for Europe or something or were their players and fans celebrating so enthusiastically as a GIRUY as the Yams were loved as much by other Scottish teams then as they are today?

PS - loving the fashion of the "casuals" back then. Pastile coloured thin pringle type golf style jumpers. Grey or white lightweight trousers, again looking a bit golfy.

Dundee needed to win to have a chance of the UEFA cup IRRC but were pipped by Rangers who qualified by finishing 6th...again IRRC.

03-05-2013, 05:29 PM
Even though I was 14 at the time, I still remember it fondly......Remember a massive roar in terracing, one of our player's actually stopped playing, due to the roar:greengrin

Everyone singing and dancing, I got back to Longstone, bought a huge bag of chocolate fudge, and waited at chippy for the merrick's in my class, to get back, so I could rip the total pish out of them......

Still makes me smile, happy days indeed......

03-05-2013, 05:32 PM
How painful must it be to lose the league to a double from Bobby Ball....

Rock on Tommy.....:thumbsup:

:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

I kinda wish a Russ Abbott look-a-like had scored a couple, then we could have sang "I love a party with a happy atmosphere":cb

03-05-2013, 06:48 PM
Having not been born until two years later, I'm not up to speed with it all.

Who is this Sir Albert Kidd you speak of and why is he of such importance on a Hibs fansite? :dunno:

SadiesBhoy AKA FannyBhoy
03-05-2013, 06:59 PM
You've given him the wrong title. We call him SAINT Albert Kidd!

03-05-2013, 07:31 PM
You've given him the wrong title. We call him SAINT Albert Kidd!

Thought you would have called him Shaint Albert Kidd? :confused:

03-05-2013, 07:51 PM
Someone has been nice enough to post some light hearted reading on the matter over on Kickback!

Magnificent!

HibbyRod
03-05-2013, 08:20 PM
Having not been born until two years later, I'm not up to speed with it all.

Who is this Sir Albert Kidd you speak of, and why is he of such importance on a Hibs fansite? :dunno:

Aye right FH !!!

Just, as you really know, the Yams got GUBBED that day that lost ""them"" the jammiest championship it would ever had been!!!

Thankfully, the Great Sir Albert (off Kidd!!!) finished them off good style for one of the best laughs ever!!!

Just ha ha ha ha!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :aok:

Just saying likes!

Aaron
02-05-2017, 11:16 PM
Bttt

02-05-2017, 11:29 PM
27 years and still laughing!

Is it no 31 years?

02-05-2017, 11:48 PM
Only just this moment realised, Hearts lost that game, to a team containing the legendary John 'Show us the deeds' Brown -

- No shame in losing to a team who had a player that would go on to become the Huns most respected, intellectual and cultured wordsmith, eh !

03-05-2017, 12:03 AM
Is it no 31 years?

I got caught with this one too. This Kiddology thread started in 2013.

03-05-2017, 02:05 AM

Jambottlers

03-05-2017, 04:33 AM
St Alby, as he is known in Oz is as far as I know still a resident of Adelaide.

We had a function in Melbourne honouring him back around 2005, but haven't heard from him recently.

However I've emailed the address I have for him and reinforced our eternal gratitude and referred him to this thread.

Lang may his lum reek!

03-05-2017, 04:43 AM

10 Across is Error. :greengrin

03-05-2017, 06:33 AM
Happy 'Hearts'd It' day.

03-05-2017, 08:30 AM

I was celebrating with the rest, but ...

... maybe we should remember where we were ourselves.

Bottom right corner, last page - "Sick Hibs have own ills to cure".

Team list's quite interesting - Rough: Sneddon, Munro; May, Rae, Fulton: Weir, Chisholm, Cowan, Kane, Collins; Subs, Tortolano and Harris. Enough talent in that side to have done a damn sight better than third bottom. Cowan was the top scorer in the Premier Division with 28 goals, too - three more than John Robertson.

Still, I notice the Monarchs beat the Tigers in the KO Cup. Just as well one of my teams had some clue about what they were supposed to be doing. :wink:

03-05-2017, 10:19 AM
A very good pal of mine is part of a band who pay homage to the great man through the name, The Suns of Albert.

The ultimate tribute to the wee maestro.

https://thesunsofalbert.bandcamp.com/

They are also very talented musicians, with a fine line in psychedelic, guitar based, poptastic tunes.

03-05-2017, 10:34 AM
Still have very fond memories of this day, loitering about Longstone with my scarf after our game, waiting for the greetin jumbos to return:greengrin

03-05-2017, 12:48 PM
:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth:not worth

Brunswickbill
03-05-2017, 01:03 PM
Only just this moment realised, Hearts lost that game, to a team containing the legendary John 'Show us the deeds' Brown -

- No shame in losing to a team who had a player that would go on to become the Huns most respected, intellectual and cultured wordsmith, eh !

Also interesting to note that Arcie Knox was the manager of Dundee. He was a big Dundee supporter then before he became Gers man.

I believe that Sir Albert is now a very successful business man - building contractor I believe - and also owns a radio station.

IlDiavola
03-05-2017, 04:46 PM
:giruy2: Hearts!!

03-05-2017, 05:03 PM
The video footage of the celtic fans at paisley getting the news of the Dundee goal was similar to Easter road.

03-05-2017, 09:04 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170503/3dfa443e39721c917a6a288f541c62b4.png

03-05-2017, 09:05 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20170503/3dfa443e39721c917a6a288f541c62b4.png

Would have been good, but sure he came on with 10 minutes to go:greengrin

Brunswickbill
03-05-2017, 09:41 PM

So what's wrong with alternative facts?

03-05-2017, 09:48 PM

He came on after 61 minutes.

03-05-2017, 10:37 PM
Happy 27th anniversary,

Frank McGarvey wasn't shy about his allegiances that day either 😂

03-05-2017, 10:39 PM
Still have very fond memories of this day, loitering about Longstone with my scarf after our game, waiting for the greetin jumbos to return:greengrin

My goodness..you were brave..most of Longstone mob at Firrhill were Jambo's..

03-05-2017, 11:38 PM
Happy 27th anniversary,

I seem to remember the score coming through at ER that day got the biggest cheer of the day. A pretty poor game against DUFC lit up by the scorelines spreading through the crowd that joyous day. Sir Albert Kidd!!!

:giruy2:

glory glory

04-05-2017, 12:31 AM
Here's a few more pictures from the great day
18499 18500 18501 18502

NZ Green
04-05-2017, 02:43 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p4LWjGMwAjo

Official Sir Albert Kidd day song? It's called 86, it's by Green Day and contains the opening lyric:

"What brings you around? Did you lose something the last time you were here?" :greengrin

:brokenyam:

What brings you around?Did you lose something the last time you were here?
You'll never find it now
It's buried deep with your identity

So stand aside and let the next one pass
Don't let the door kick you in the ass

There's no return from 86
Don't even try

Exit out the back
And never show your head around again
Purchase your ticket
And quickly take the last train out of town

So stand aside and let the next one pass
Don't let the door kick you in the ass

Don't even try

Hahahaha

04-05-2017, 09:58 AM

Aye, there was a spattering of Hibees around too though

04-05-2017, 10:04 AM
He came on after 61 minutes.

You are correct, I was thinking he was a super sub coming on with ten to go and bagging a brace.....Still a legend:greengrin

04-05-2017, 10:58 AM
It brought tears to their eyes and joyous hugs at ER. Bottlers then. Bottlers now.

Frank Moon
04-05-2017, 05:00 PM
Will never forget playing amateur football that day at Saughton and folk with radios on at the sidelines. Our game finished and back in the changing rooms when he scored the first and the place erupted as most of the teams playing that days players were Hibbys. It's my JFK moment and never forgotten!

04-05-2017, 07:34 PM

I can go one better.
Tynecastle High School on the Monday morning. If Carlsberg done Monday mornings at High School.
Remember going past Thomsons in Gorgie they had the League Champion T shirts in the windae.

04-05-2017, 07:49 PM

I've had a wee watch of the goals again.

Is it fair to credit Duff Jimmy with a fair old contribution to the game?

Was it he who knocked down the corner for the first goal? Was it he who lumped the long clearance up the park that soon broke to Sir Albert to do the rest?

04-05-2017, 08:09 PM
https://thesunsofalbert.bandcamp.com/

Last time, ya bunch o' philistine cantz.

No greater tribute to Sir Albert than this.

Amazing how people reply to loadsae mundane Tome Kite on here and yet they ignore the near incredible posts of the Hibees avant garde.

Used to think Hibs were for the purveyors of refined left-field outlook om life and football. Since yon damn interweb, my illusions are shattered.

magpie1892
04-05-2017, 08:23 PM
Dundee needed to win to have a chance of the UEFA cup IRRC but were pipped by Rangers who qualified by finishing 6th...again IRRC.

Hun finished 5th - one place above Dundee on a goal difference of one, so DFC had something to play for.

F***ing hilarious regardless.