View Full Version : New Forth Bridge name
29-04-2013, 12:34 PM
The five shortlisted names are Caledonia Bridge, Firth of Forth Crossing, Queensferry Crossing, Saltire Crossing and St Margaret's Crossing.
It's going to a public vote here (http://www.namethebridge.co.uk/), but let's see how the Holy Ground aficionados feel about the matter.
For me, it's a choice between the Caledonia Bridge or the Queensferry Crossing.
The rest are awe sheite and yees are radge if you vote fur yin o thaim. (just trying to stir up some controversy on what really should be a tame subject...)
29-04-2013, 12:40 PM
I voted for the Caledonia Bridge.
HibeeEmma
29-04-2013, 01:10 PM
What is this new bridge? Haven't heard of or seen it?
29-04-2013, 01:19 PM
The five shortlisted names are Caledonia Bridge, Firth of Forth Crossing, Queensferry Crossing, Saltire Crossing and St Margaret's Crossing.
It's going to a public vote here (http://www.namethebridge.co.uk/), but let's see how the Holy Ground aficionados feel about the matter.
For me, it's a choice between the Caledonia Bridge or the Queensferry Crossing.
The rest are awe sheite and yees are radge if you vote fur yin o thaim. (just trying to stir up some controversy on what really should be a tame subject...)
I think they are all pretty guf to be honest but I think the Caledonia Bridge at least sounds sensible...WTF the Saltire Crossing would look like I have no idea!!
29-04-2013, 01:20 PM
It's not built yet :wink:
29-04-2013, 01:22 PM
I think they are all pretty guf to be honest but I think the Caledonia Bridge at least sounds sensible...WTF the Saltire Crossing would look like I have no idea!!
Agree with that.
If there was really 7000+ suggestions and those are the best 5 theb some must have been really bad.
Would probably agree Caledonia Bridge is the best of the bunch.
Firth of Forth Crossing? Someone must have put real thought into that!
29-04-2013, 01:37 PM
Looks like a list drawn up by a committee of 50 year-old civil servants.
Captain Emerald
29-04-2013, 01:52 PM
When I'm on it it'll be Saltire2k Crossing.
29-04-2013, 02:03 PM
Agree with that.
If there was really 7000+ suggestions and those are the best 5 theb some must have been really bad.
Would probably agree Caledonia Bridge is the best of the bunch.
Firth of Forth Crossing? Someone must have put real thought into that!
I can hardly believe those are the best 5 names either.
Of those 5 though I probably WOULD go for the Firth of Forth Crossing - describes what it is exactly!
29-04-2013, 02:12 PM
When I'm on it it'll be Saltire2k Crossing.
29-04-2013, 02:12 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-edinburgh-east-fife-22335189
29-04-2013, 03:03 PM
Caledonia Bridge for no reason other than it sounds "right."
29-04-2013, 03:55 PM
I think 'Caledonia' or 'Saltire' are a bit tacky. Whatever it's officially named, it'll be the Forth bridge to most folk IMHO.
29-04-2013, 07:01 PM
will call it the forth bridge, agree with Beefster that caledonia etc is tacky
29-04-2013, 07:34 PM
Will call it the new one, just like the Mersey tunnels both have names but I refer to them as new and old simple.
29-04-2013, 07:35 PM
I think people will call it the new bridge and the current one will be the old bridge
29-04-2013, 07:36 PM
Will call it the new one, just like the Mersey tunnels both have names but I refer to them as new and old simple.
Beat me to it
29-04-2013, 08:10 PM
With the existing bridge being the Fourth bridge will the new one not be the fifth bridge ?
29-04-2013, 09:11 PM
Fenlon out, Caledonia Bridge in
29-04-2013, 09:17 PM
Some of the other suggestions included ......
Bob
Kevin
May the Forth be with you
Back and Forth
and my personal favourite ...
A waste o' effin money :greengrin
29-04-2013, 10:53 PM
What's wrong with calling it The Forth Road Bridge?
30-04-2013, 05:49 AM
Will be called the New Forth Bridge and for that reason I have voted for naming it Sports Direct Arena, which is at least as good as any of the five short-listed.
30-04-2013, 09:18 AM
I would've called it the Fifth Road Bridge.
Rubbish options I have to say.
30-04-2013, 10:20 AM
I voted for the Caledonia Bridge.
Ditto.
30-04-2013, 01:23 PM
With the existing bridge being the Fourth bridge will the new one not be the fifth bridge ?
I would've called it the Fifth Road Bridge.
Rubbish options I have to say.
I suggested "The Third Forth Bridge". :greengrin
HKhibby
30-04-2013, 02:24 PM
I can hardly believe those are the best 5 names either.
Of those 5 though I probably WOULD go for the Firth of Forth Crossing - describes what it is exactly!
What Bridge is this? is it another bridge accross the river Forth?....what for? there is a perfectly good bridge already there is there not?, if so is it being funded by the Tax payer? and why?
30-04-2013, 02:25 PM
What Bridge is this? is it another bridge accross the river Forth?....what for? there is a perfectly good bridge already there is there not?, if so is it being funded by the Tax payer? and why?
Nope. That's why they are building another one.
30-04-2013, 04:39 PM
What Bridge is this?
We don't know yet, hence the point of the thread.
is it another bridge accross the river Forth?
what for?
Crossing the River Forth by means of pedestrianism or most forms of common vehicular transport.
there is a perfectly good bridge already there is there not?
Nope.
if so is it being funded by the Tax payer?
Yes, but probably more than one.
and why?
That's how bridges which will be used by tax payers are generally paid for in this country. I don't think that's changed since you left.
26-06-2013, 08:57 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/news/transport/new-forth-bridge-named-queensferry-crossing-1-2975344
Queensferry Crossing
meh
26-06-2013, 09:05 AM
http://www.scotsman.com/news/transport/new-forth-bridge-named-queensferry-crossing-1-2975344
Queensferry Crossing
meh
Could've saved themselves a lot of effort.
It'll be the "new bridge" and the "old bridge" for a generation.
26-06-2013, 09:31 AM
Could've saved themselves a lot of effort.
It'll be the "new bridge" and the "old bridge" for a generation.
:agree: auld bridge, new bridge, train bridge.
hibby rae
26-06-2013, 10:16 PM
:agree: auld bridge, new bridge, train bridge.
Old bridge, new bridge, the bridge.
27-06-2013, 08:03 AM
Old bridge, new bridge, the bridge.
Forth bridge, fifth bridge, rail bridge.
27-06-2013, 11:03 AM
Forth bridge, fifth bridge, rail bridge.
red bridge, empty bridge, tailback
27-06-2013, 08:54 PM
Is it true that they only got permission to build because the government claimed the 'Auld bridge' :greengrin was done and now they've started building it they've now realised it can be maintained after all. :rolleyes:
28-06-2013, 01:46 AM
Train bridge, road bridge and half built bridge.
28-06-2013, 01:03 PM
Is it true that they only got permission to build because the government claimed the 'Auld bridge' :greengrin was done and now they've started building it they've now realised it can be maintained after all. :rolleyes:
Pretty much.
28-06-2013, 03:26 PM
Train bridge, road bridge and half built bridge.
Farquing americanisations.
Railway station
Railway bridge
I'm glad Salmond didn't get his suggestion considered.
The "5-1big team wee team 1902 we killed you last may crossing" just didn't sound right.
29-06-2013, 02:45 PM
Which is a rather good thing I would say.
The current road bridge can't deal with peak volumes and the new one has been scaled back from a 6 lane dual modal proposal to a 4 lane road only....this was never going to alleviate the problems suffered with the current bridge so having the use of both should actually make everyone's life easier.
29-06-2013, 08:19 PM
Farquing americanisations.
Railway station
Railway bridge
Forth Bridge
Forth Road Bridge
The Queensferry Crossing.
Decent choice, imo.
30-06-2013, 05:44 AM
The Queensferry Crossing.
Decent choice
Not sure. Crossing the river is what Mary QoS did in the 17th C in a wee boatie. This new bridge flies over the river rather than crosses it.
And whereas on a map the Forth Road Bridge leaves the Lothians at Queensferry (and Mary was careful to start and end her journeys exactly at places called Queensferry), the new bridge starts off a fair bit west of the town.
I am afraid I have no real option but to think of it as the Port Edgar Flyover.
30-06-2013, 08:24 AM
Mary wisnae alive in the 17th century ;)
30-06-2013, 11:12 AM
Mary wisnae alive in the 17th century ;)
True. I should have said 16th. But she would have been alive in the 17th if it wisnae for they murdering English ********. Has Chubby Eck not mentioned this yet in the run up to the independeferendum?
01-07-2013, 11:19 AM
I am afraid I have no real option but to think of it as the Port Edgar Flyover.
Has a certain ring to it :thumbsup:
Corstorphine Hibby
12-07-2013, 06:22 PM
I think 'Caledonia' or 'Saltire' are a bit tacky. Whatever it's officially named, it'll be the Forth bridge to most folk IMHO.
But we've already got the Forth Bridge. That was the first bridge that was built. It's just adds to the confusion calling the second second bridge the forth bridge when the rail bridge is called the forth bridge :panic:
13-07-2013, 06:02 AM
The reason, as I understand it, for building a new crossing was that the cables on the old one were ropey, and once the new one's completed the old bridge will be restricted to carrying much lighter traffic. The real heavy traffic - including wagons of all sorts - will use the new bridge.
The name for the new bridge might have reflected its use, for wagons, with perhaps a nod to history (serving as it does to maintain an essential link to the ancient kingdom of Fife). The old name for wagon being wain, it could have been called The Wain Bridge.
The next problem, after so naming it, would have been deciding which minor celebrity should be engaged to officially open it.
13-07-2013, 06:50 PM
The reason, as I understand it, for building a new crossing was that the cables on the old one were ropey, and once the new one's completed the old bridge will be restricted to carrying much lighter traffic. The real heavy traffic - including wagons of all sorts - will use the new bridge.
The name for the new bridge might have reflected its use, for wagons, with perhaps a nod to history (serving as it does to maintain an essential link to the ancient kingdom of Fife). The old name for wagon being wain, it could have been called The Wain Bridge.
The next problem, after so naming it, would have been deciding which minor celebrity should be engaged to officially open it.
John Terry :agree: