View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 3 v 3 Saint Mirren (ft)

hibs4thecup1988
27-04-2013, 10:30 AM
Today we welcome Saint Mirren to Easter Road. Will we do a guard of honour?

Griffiths favourite team to score against. 4/1 to score first and 1/1 anytime. LUMP

Youngsters get a chance, or go for points to pull away from Hearts?

Nice and sunny here in north Edinburgh.

Predictions? 3-1 hibs

27-04-2013, 10:31 AM
Hahaha we should do a guard of honour.

HibeeN
27-04-2013, 10:43 AM
Hahaha we should do a guard of honour.

:thumbsup: At the very least, the announcer has to welcome them onto the pitch by introducing them as 'League Cup Winners St Mirren'

Would like to see Hibs really go for this - Monday night was good in terms of keeping a clean sheet but if we start scoring goals then that's what will raise confidence going towards the final. Having said that, going for points doesn't necessarily mean that we can't give some youngsters a chance too. Would expect Harris, Handling and Caldwell all to feature in some capacity. Would be even better to see one of Forster, Donaldson or Horribine feature, seeing as they've all been on the bench at one point or another this season, but maybe that's just being greedy. :greengrin

Otherwise, Griffiths wants to hit 30 goals by the end of the season, so hope he makes a stride towards that today!

Time For Heroes
27-04-2013, 12:10 PM
2-1 Hibs, lets do a guard of honour and then show the **** how to beat them!

27-04-2013, 12:55 PM
other games

East stirling 2- sevco 2

hertz just need a draw in dundee to win the league

FT st.johnstone 1 ten-men caley 0

Hibernian defender Ryan McGivern returns from suspension while Gary Deegan (foot) and Scott Robertson (knock) have returned to training.
Pat Fenlon could rest defender Tim Clancy and midfielder Kevin Thomson.

27-04-2013, 01:10 PM
@HibernianFCClub: Hibernian: Williams, Maybury, McPake, Hanlon, McGivern, Handling, Taiwo, Claros, Harris, Doyle, Griffiths #hibees

AJWisme
27-04-2013, 01:12 PM
Deegan back but on the bench. No Thommo at all. - Two things I am not happy about.

27-04-2013, 01:19 PM
Still no Kuqi on the bench. Unbelievable. Fenlon out :greengrin

27-04-2013, 01:20 PM
Deegan back but on the bench. No Thommo at all. - Two things I am not happy about.

Think PF has already said he was going to be rested today :agree:

Nothing sinister

27-04-2013, 01:24 PM

Nothing sinister

Yep, same with Clancy I think, they've played a lot recently and are still getting back to full fitness.

AJWisme
27-04-2013, 01:45 PM

Nothing sinister

Yeah just read that, so that's not so bad. :greengrin

27-04-2013, 01:48 PM
is it on radio?? does anyone have a link?

27-04-2013, 01:50 PM
is it on radio?? does anyone have a link?

Just Open All Mouths. Hertz's title coronation at Dens is the commentary game, for obvious reason.

27-04-2013, 01:52 PM
Very empty. These final ticket threads are a sick joke.

27-04-2013, 01:54 PM
any team news?

27-04-2013, 01:57 PM
any team news?

read the thread mate before you post - idiot :agree:

27-04-2013, 01:59 PM
Struggling to get a seat.

27-04-2013, 02:09 PM

Are you at Easter road?

27-04-2013, 02:10 PM
read the thread mate before you post - idiot :agree:

27-04-2013, 02:11 PM

And people are trying to suggest I shouldn't get as many as I want for the final! Should have been done. I've almost a whole section here.

27-04-2013, 02:13 PM
And people are trying to suggest I shouldn't get as many as I want for the final! Should have been done. I've almost a whole section here.

You might have noticed some people running around kicking a ball around. How is that going for the team in green?

27-04-2013, 02:14 PM

27-04-2013, 02:15 PM
Come on people we are flying blind here, what is going on????

27-04-2013, 02:17 PM

Loads.

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 02:17 PM

Reasonable start from both teams, Doyle shot from a Hibs corner just over the bar:aok:

27-04-2013, 02:19 PM
Reasonable start from both teams, Doyle shot from a Hibs corner just over the bar:aok:

Thanks for the update :thumbsup:

27-04-2013, 02:20 PM
Taiwo having a great game so far

27-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Passing well. Defending comfortably. Not much by way of penetration going on though.

27-04-2013, 02:21 PM
Open all mics - What on this living earth are they rambling on about?

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 02:22 PM
Some good play from Hibs on the ball, but after these 2 CL semis this week, you can't help but notice the lack of movement off the ball.

St. Mirren making a few small mistakes....

DAVE1875
27-04-2013, 02:25 PM
Bit baffled as how the Inverness team made to Aberdeen from Perth that quick, according to Sky Sports it's Aberdeen 1 - 0 Inverness CT

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 02:26 PM
Good play from Danny Handling leads to corner.

Cleared....

27-04-2013, 02:27 PM
Some decent half chances now. Lots of ball in the box with no aerial threat though.

27-04-2013, 02:28 PM
taiwo having a good game by all accounts

Teuchter Hibbie
27-04-2013, 02:29 PM
Webster off for the Jambos

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 02:30 PM
Sparky shot saved - from his right foot..

Griffiths free. Saved easily enough. Nice build up.

Great shot by sparky saved!

27-04-2013, 02:31 PM
Not a high ball in sight by the way for those convinced otherwise.

sparky 1-0 :thumbsup::thumbsup:

Goal Leigh!!!

Super Leigh goal!!

Goal Griffiths. Lovely stuff.

Teuchter Hibbie
Griffiths 1-0, supposedly a cracker! :flag:

HiBremian
Sparky shot scores - from his left foot :greengrin

1-0

27-04-2013, 02:32 PM
he's one of our own

Nailrod
27-04-2013, 02:33 PM
taiwo having a good game by all accountsGiven that there appears to be nobody at the game and nobody on this thread, "by all accounts" would seem to mean: "ITHOO me, Taiwo himsef, and his maw..." :wink:

Cut in, beat a couple, left foot drive.

hibs4thecup1988
4/1. Told you.

What a goal it was too. Brilliant passing movement from back to front. Tremendous

27-04-2013, 02:36 PM
Great pass from Claros for the goal

27-04-2013, 02:36 PM
Sparky shot scores - from his left foot :greengrin

1-0

Still not good enough for POTY :greengrin

DAVE1875
27-04-2013, 02:37 PM
Andy Webster sent off for Yams

27-04-2013, 02:38 PM
This is, hereby, my official marriage proposal to Leigh Griffiths.

What? We're all gay anyway. :flag:

27-04-2013, 02:38 PM
This is almost a joy to watch again.

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 02:43 PM
Doyle misses simple chance..

27-04-2013, 02:44 PM
Great work handling sets up Doyle but easy saved by keeper when he should have buried it

27-04-2013, 02:44 PM
Nice play Handling. Doyle should have hot the cut back better. Harris and Hanfling doing well getting in behind.

AllyF
27-04-2013, 02:45 PM
This is almost a joy to watch again.

Where are you watching it? I need to experience this "almost" historic day.

hibs4thecup1988
Played well first half. Enjoyable to watch. Cracking goal. Now just for 3-1 and that's cup final day out paid for

Good run Doyle. Poor shot.

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 02:47 PM
HT 1-0. Not a bad half.

27-04-2013, 02:48 PM
Encouraging, midfield is playing well

27-04-2013, 02:49 PM
That was good. Nice short passing, good wide play, great goal. Defending comfortably. Taiwo and Claros well in control.

27-04-2013, 02:50 PM
Webster sent off for them.

27-04-2013, 02:52 PM
Taiwo playing well. some more composure on the wings and we'll get a few more.

27-04-2013, 02:53 PM
Twice?

27-04-2013, 02:55 PM
That was good. Nice short passing, good wide play, great goal. Defending comfortably. Taiwo and Claros well in control.

Superb goal, had the ball for ages and worked it out of some really tight spaces, and unbelievable strike.

Really good half.

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 02:56 PM

Hibs TV saying he'll miss the derby :wink:

27-04-2013, 02:57 PM
Doyle misses simple chance..

He only scores goals from 30+ yards. :agree:

27-04-2013, 02:59 PM
Hibs TV saying he'll miss the derby :wink:

27-04-2013, 02:59 PM
So does Thomson get back in when he's fit again?

27-04-2013, 03:00 PM
Down the slope. Mon the cabbage

27-04-2013, 03:05 PM
Another great opening by Doyle but powderpuff shot past the post

27-04-2013, 03:07 PM
Centre halfs are having an odd few minutes. Misjudged almost every ball.

27-04-2013, 03:08 PM
Great chance Handling well wide. Good play again.

HiBremian
Great attacking move from Hibs, sadly poor finish from Handling.

Should be 2 Handling

27-04-2013, 03:09 PM
Fantastic play by Hibs creates a chance for Handling who blasts just wide

27-04-2013, 03:13 PM
Good cross Harris but too high for Doyle

27-04-2013, 03:13 PM
Great play by Harris cross just too high for doyle head

27-04-2013, 03:14 PM
Has Albert Kidd came on for Dundee yet?

AllyF
27-04-2013, 03:15 PM
According to the BBC, Dundee are now playing 2 at the back. Hopefully that means 4 up front. C'mon lads.

1-1 ah well

ben furious with the defence...shockerooni

1-1

HiBremian
Saints equalise. 1-1

27-04-2013, 03:16 PM
Has Albert Kidd came on for Dundee yet?

Patience...

27-04-2013, 03:16 PM
St Mirren score. Don't deserve this. Harris good cross one end just behind forwards then they break.

27-04-2013, 03:18 PM
get young caldwell on for doyle

good save ben williams,

27-04-2013, 03:19 PM
Great save Williams

Great save Williams. A few of the crowd obviously been waiting a good hour to get the booing going!

HiBremian
We've not been taking our chances. Now Saints on the front foot..

27-04-2013, 03:20 PM
St mirren missed a sitter!

27-04-2013, 03:21 PM
Bianca Westwood is a pleasing addition to Soccer Saturday, thought it was worth a mention! ;-)

Caldwell for Doyle.

wazoo1875
Bianca Westwood is a pleasing addition to Soccer Saturday, thought it was worth a mention! ;-)

Agreed

27-04-2013, 03:22 PM

O yes indeed. Hubba Hubba 😉

Caldwell on for Doyle

HiBremian
get young caldwell on for doyle

good save ben williams,

As you wish....

Doyle off Caldwel on and scores

caldwell super sub :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: 2-1

27-04-2013, 03:23 PM
Goal Caldwell !!

Goal Caldwell.

HiBremian
Caldwell scores with first touch. Yas :flag::flag:

Humo
GOAL Caldwell! Brilliant!

Great move again

Macaroon
:flag::pfgwa:flag:YES ROSS!!

27-04-2013, 03:24 PM
As you wish....

credit has to go to PF...he took my advice :greengrin

yass!!!! No better feeling as a fan for one of our own to score first SPL goal :thumbsup:

HiBremian
caldwell super sub :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: 2-1

Are you PF's subs adviser? :greengrin

Delighted for Caldwell. Obviously read my critique where I said he should score more!

27-04-2013, 03:28 PM
'bomber' brown will take all the credit if we win here :whistle: unfortunately...his own team still cant score against the 10 yamboids

27-04-2013, 03:29 PM
Another brilliant move. Long shot Claros a bit tame to finish.

Fantastic play again by Hibs sets up Claros but **** saved

Stringer
Wolves losing aswell! They look likely for the drop! :greengrin

27-04-2013, 03:31 PM
Wolves losing aswell! They look likely for the drop!

:giruy::greengrin

27-04-2013, 03:31 PM
hibs 'jittery' at the back

27-04-2013, 03:32 PM
McPake mistake. Williams drops one. Defence a bit ropey this half.

and there we have it 2-2

2-2

And they score.

HiBremian
Saints put the pressure on again. 2-2:confused::confused:

Indecision in defence.

27-04-2013, 03:34 PM
**** sake.

27-04-2013, 03:35 PM
McPake needs dropped.

27-04-2013, 03:35 PM
Brilliant! Typical.

27-04-2013, 03:37 PM
1-0 dundee :) some young guy called albert kidd

Dundee are beating Hearts. Come on Hibs!

Goal at Dens. :agree:

27-04-2013, 03:38 PM
**** off

HiBremian
2-3 Jeez.

AllyF
Imagine if Hibs actually wanted to win a league match for once in their lives.

3-2 st.mirren ah well same old

For the love of s**tting Christ...

3 big boys up front and we have no idea how to cope.

27-04-2013, 03:39 PM
Bizarre, soccer Saturday just said st mirren were losing!

i have a dream

one day we WILL win another home game :agree:

AllyF
How long to go?

What the hell is going on?!

To be honest i'm not even the slightest bothered.

O dear

27-04-2013, 03:40 PM
5 goals and maybe more to come... this is what football is all about :thumbsup:

TomoHFC
**** off man

DAVE1875
Ding

27-04-2013, 03:41 PM
Imagine if Hibs actually wanted to win a league match for once in their lives.

We do but defence has crumbled. Played very well otherwise.

3-3 :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup: :thumbsup:

Macaroon
Yay

HiBremian
Sparky 3-3 :flag::flag:

sparky :thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Brilliant move. Grifiths taps in.

Offside apparently... :giruy:

Dundee fans are going crazy haha. Come on lets get the winner.

Stringer
27-04-2013, 03:42 PM
McPake needs dropped.

This! Clancy. Hanlon. McGivern Stevenson.

27-04-2013, 03:42 PM
Offside goal! :tee hee:

The dee's giving the fuds pelters.

:giruy:

AllyF
27-04-2013, 03:43 PM
Number 27!

C'mon boys. How much time left? And keep the f***ing head this time Paul and James.

This! Clancy. Hanlon. McGivern Stevenson.

Clancy is a nightmare, IMO. I'd have Stevenson right back.

Unbelievable Jeff! I decide not to go due to monday and then i miss a 3-3! Learnt my lesson, never again.

The dee's giving the fuds pelters.

Such a shame.

27-04-2013, 03:44 PM
red card for riley of dundee...retaliation silly boy

bringbackbenny
Chick Young screaming for offside, nae luck lol

AllyF
Is it just me or does this sounds like a tale of two woeful defences?

Dundee down to 10 men. Harris so close!!!!

Taiwo should have won it. Harris immense.

Near miss Harris

2 red cards in Bomber Brown's match. Lovely man.

red card for riley of dundee...retaliation silly boy

I hope he got the Hertz prick. :aok:

HiBremian
27-04-2013, 03:45 PM
Another great Hibs move. Taiwo just past the post..

27-04-2013, 03:45 PM
Is it just me or does this sounds like a tale of two woeful defences?

Maybe just 2 good forward lines?

Macaroon
27-04-2013, 03:46 PM

It's Hibs, which do you think it is.

AllyF

You think? Obviously can't comment as I'm not there, but two goalmouth scrambles doesn't sound too pretty.

Hammers fan too, good girl!

27-04-2013, 03:48 PM
Ft 3-3

27-04-2013, 03:48 PM
FT

27-04-2013, 03:49 PM
My phone said it was 1-0 after 40 mins and it kept refreshing until it said 1-0 after 81 mins......then i came on here to see it was actually 2-2 not 1-0 and seconds later they go ahead.......then i refreshed again and its 3-3. :dizzy:

Stringer
27-04-2013, 03:49 PM
Being only 2 points above hearts is pathetic!

27-04-2013, 03:50 PM
FT at dens....hertz title hopes lay in tatters

And, here they come.

Being only 2 points above hearts is pathetic!:rolleyes:

ColintonHibs
27-04-2013, 03:51 PM

Fud

27-04-2013, 03:52 PM

Yes, that it definitely how we should define success and failure.

27-04-2013, 03:52 PM

Beating them in the cup before advancing to the final was pretty good though.

27-04-2013, 03:53 PM

Being 2 points below Hibs is pathetic :greengrin

27-04-2013, 03:54 PM
Does Webster miss the derby now? Isn't the rule something like suspension takes place 10 days after the last booking?

Chibs

Why?
Please explain.

Stringer
Yes, that it definitely how we should define success and failure.

I am talking about this season! They are a woeful team with a terrible manager! This season we have been good but should have built up a significant points gap.

27-04-2013, 03:55 PM
Misses a good chance to put the whole who will finish highest thing to bed though. Really need to tighten up at the back. Thought we were looking good after Monday but back to square 1.

27-04-2013, 03:55 PM
We need to learn to close a game out.

Imagine being 1 up on Celtic with 5 minutes to play with defending like that.

Got ourselves in front then just dropped miles too deep. We didn't need to scrape a win today so why not try and go and kill it and get 3 or 4.

As for McPake, words really fail me.

LeighLoyal
27-04-2013, 03:57 PM
It'll be a nice day out at Hampden but that's all it will be.

kdhibees1
27-04-2013, 04:01 PM
We never lost folks, bad it may have been, yip! But we never lost!! God help us if Griffiths wasnae in the team!!!

27-04-2013, 04:01 PM

Not worth commenting on, but I'm going to.Why bother turning up? We just give them the cup now? Save us all a wee fortune? Dinnae think so.

27-04-2013, 04:03 PM
Great going forward today. Some brilliant football. Undone by not coping with 3 big guys the other end. Do wonder if the sun was an issue second half as we were never happy with the ball in air after half time.

27-04-2013, 04:03 PM

Pass the ticket on then. Loser.

27-04-2013, 04:04 PM

For long spells of that game we played well.

Sort the defence and we'd be ok. Personally i'd start with dropping McPake. Clancy, Hanlon, McGivern, Stevenson is worth a go imo.

27-04-2013, 04:06 PM
Enjoyed our attacking play today, minus Doyle. It's so nice to have two wingers who want to attack and take on their opponent. Sparky is just a special player, a real cut above most if not all in the league. Really terrible defending from us at the corners, couldn't cope with any of the big guys that they had attacking the ball.

27-04-2013, 04:07 PM

Sort the defence and we'd be ok. Personally i'd start with dropping McPake. Clancy, Hanlon, McGivern, Stevenson is worth a go imo.

Just said the same thing.

We should have won that game comfortably, we gifted them their 3 goals. McPake needs to be dropped, just because he's captain doesn't mean he should automatically be in the team. He's not been right for months and it's affecting the other players too, Hanlon was all over the place today trying to cover for McPake's mistakes.

Stringer
27-04-2013, 04:07 PM
Does Webster miss the derby now? Isn't the rule something like suspension takes place 10 days after the last booking?

We want him playing! He is awful like the rest of that team

27-04-2013, 04:08 PM
Pass the ticket on then. Loser.

If he's an ST holder, he's 100% entitled to his ticket. He's also 100% entitled to his opinion without name-calling. Try telling him why he's wrong.

A cup final is great but our league form is absolutely woeful. One SPL win in four full months isn't good enough.

27-04-2013, 04:12 PM

Was just saying the same. McGivern has looked best when played alongside Hanlon in the middle, he was suspect at LB again today, and **** knows what's happened to McPake.

Chibs
27-04-2013, 04:13 PM
Are you really this boring in real life or do you have some attention seeking disorder.

27-04-2013, 04:14 PM
If he's an ST holder, he's 100% entitled to his ticket. He's also 100% entitled to his opinion without name-calling. Try telling him why he's wrong.

A cup final is great but our league form is absolutely woeful. One SPL win in four full months isn't good enough.

He's wrong because its a cup final and its all to play for. The nice day out attitude will hold us back and if that the mindset it's best not to go.

27-04-2013, 04:14 PM

Imo he is one of their better players and certainly the most experienced. I'll be happy if he's out for the derby because with Sallyookas also out they will have a very young inexperienced back line. Although that probably won't matter if the last derby at the asbestos arena is anything to go by

27-04-2013, 04:15 PM
An enjoyable game, all in - very good going forward but very suspect at the back. Another home game that we should have won, but I'd rather see an end to end 3-3 than a dull 0-0.

No point worrying about the cup final - we are capable of putting in a very good performance against Celtic, lets hope we get one.

27-04-2013, 04:17 PM

He'll miss their next game and then if he's gone over the disciplinary points he'll be banned for the derby as it kicks in 14 days after IIRC

27-04-2013, 04:20 PM

Did you enjoy the game today, Beefster? I know you've been (understandably) critical of some of our more negative performances, did you find the more open approach more appealing even though we lost shocking goals?

I thought we passed the ball pretty well and scored good, well made goals and made good chances from our forward play. Sadly, St. Mirren's goals were very cheap and came simply from putting us under pressure in the most basic fashion.

27-04-2013, 04:22 PM
He'll miss their next game and then if he's gone over the disciplinary points he'll be banned for the derby as it kicks in 14 days after IIRC

Along the lines of what I thought. Is he over the points limit?

27-04-2013, 04:22 PM
Along the lines of what I thought. Is he over the points limit?

27-04-2013, 04:36 PM
Did you enjoy the game today, Beefster? I know you've been (understandably) critical of some of our more negative performances, did you find the more open approach more appealing even though we lost shocking goals?

I thought we passed the ball pretty well and scored good, well made goals and made good chances from our forward play. Sadly, St. Mirren's goals were very cheap and came simply from putting us under pressure in the most basic fashion.

Yup, it was a relatively enjoyable game. Both teams are pretty poor though IMHO.

27-04-2013, 04:39 PM
Yup, it was a relatively enjoyable game. Both teams are pretty poor though IMHO.

I thought we showed some real quality. The first goal we scored today was some brave, passing football, culminating in a great finish. A great goal at any level.

27-04-2013, 04:39 PM

It was worth it today just to watch Griffiths.

HibeeN
27-04-2013, 04:42 PM
I actually really enjoyed today - give me that over Monday night any day! We were absolutely shocking at the back but looked really good going forward and if we were a bit more clinical we could have finished them off earlier. Definitely positives to take from our attacking play.

27-04-2013, 04:50 PM

Webster along with Zaliukas has shut us out in many a derby. Having him out greatly increases our chances of getting a result, especially if we're not playing Griffiths.

27-04-2013, 04:53 PM
@jonnythegreek: #Hibs refuse to let 3 best players today - Griffiths, Harris and Handling - speak to media. In unrelated news, crowd was just over 9000.

Don't know if anyone else spoke but this seems a bit strange?

27-04-2013, 04:55 PM
Just back and I thought that's the best Hibs have played going forward in a long time. If we defended like we did on Monday we would be looking at 3 points no problem. 3 gifted goals and that's why we drew. We were far the better team for long spells in that game. I enjoyed it!

Another point regarding the Yams and Webster, if he doesn't play it's a huge loss to them. Don't Kidd yourselves on with the "Webster" is rubbish. He's far from rubbish.

27-04-2013, 04:57 PM
@jonnythegreek: #Hibs refuse to let 3 best players today - Griffiths, Harris and Handling - speak to media. In unrelated news, crowd was just over 9000.

I've been listening to Sportsound since just before 5pm and there's been no comment on the game other than the implications the result has for Dundee.

27-04-2013, 04:59 PM
Just back and I thought that's the best Hibs have played going forward in a long time. If we defended like we did on Monday we would be looking at 3 points no problem. 3 gifted goals and that's why we drew. We were far the better team for long spells in that game. I enjoyed it!

Another point regarding the Yams and Webster, if he doesn't play it's a huge loss to them. Don't Kidd yourselves on with the "Webster" is rubbish. He's far from rubbish.

Naughty but nice.

27-04-2013, 05:03 PM

Just in case they were asked what they thought of our defence :confused:

27-04-2013, 05:11 PM
Was that the 'rubbish' Webster who was the only player ready for the rebound when the ball 'came back off the crossbar' during the derby at ER? Much prefer if he wasn't playing tbh. Won't help their moral any either

27-04-2013, 05:14 PM
Really enjoyed our forward play today and all our goals were the result of excellent passing play. The flip side to that was our defending. We just didn't cope and panicked like a bunch of amatuers. Pretty mixed feelings on leaving ER after that as it's clear we can score but equally clear that we cannot defend.

27-04-2013, 05:25 PM
Naughty but nice.

Haha I didn't even notice I done that! :D

WestEndHibee
27-04-2013, 05:27 PM
Haha I didn't even notice I done that! :D

Is this a reference to when Hearts get deducted 18 points and Matty scores the goal that puts then down?

27-04-2013, 05:31 PM
They didn't have 3 goals in them, they are rank rotten but as usual our defence gifting teams goals. At the first goal we had countless chances to clear the ball but we fannyed about as usual. I am still a McPake fan but his performances of late have been poor.

Though Harris and Handling had good games. Obviously both their confidence levels are pretty high right now especially after hampden and you can see it in their performances, not afraid to take players on.

27-04-2013, 05:37 PM
When we score 3 we concede 3. When we keep a clean sheet we can't score. There was some decent stuff going forward but all round we're just not all that good.

Should have won the game easy, the defence let the team down.

Mcgirven was poor again. No coincidence that he is st left back two of the last three games we lose six goals. Game he is not playing we lose none. I think he is s center half playing out of position

27-04-2013, 05:42 PM
Is this a reference to when Hearts get deducted 18 points and Matty scores the goal that puts then down?

Correct I'm glad someone noticed ;)

27-04-2013, 05:44 PM
When we score 3 we concede 3. When we keep a clean sheet we can't score. There was some decent stuff going forward but all round we're just not all that good.

Going forward is not the problem, we have the young lad Harris and Handling with pace and not afraid to take players on and obviously Sparky. It the defence, we are giving away far too much! We just don't seem to be doing the simple things right.

27-04-2013, 05:49 PM
Going forward is not the problem, we have the young lad Harris and Handling with pace and not afraid to take players on and obviously Sparky. It the defence, we are giving away far too much! We just don't seem to be doing the simple things right.

I disagree about Handling, he was part of the problem defensively in the 2nd half, he did ok going forward but I don't see him as a right midfielder.

27-04-2013, 05:58 PM
Defence couldn't cope when Parkin came on which was pathetic. Thought Taiwo played well and when we passed the ball we looked good. Spoony did well when he came on.

Losing McGivern on that form would be no big loss. Can't make the Dundee game so will not have seen us win at home in the League this year.

27-04-2013, 06:47 PM
Eventually found my seat in amongst the packed house at ER today.

Good 60 minutes from Hibs today then the defence went on holiday and gifted St Mirren back in to the game, at the end lucky to come away with a point, Sparky goal at end looked way offside, was it anyone, ? you only get one chance to see it when your at ER, :wink: :greengrin.

Home form this season has been a joke, still looking for our first league win this year. Just not good enough.

27-04-2013, 06:55 PM
Defence couldn't cope when Parkin came on which was pathetic. Thought Taiwo played well and when we passed the ball we looked good. Spoony did well when he came on.

Losing McGivern on that form would be no big loss. Can't make the Dundee game so will not have seen us win at home in the League this year.
I thought Taiwo as I did on Monday night was MOTM. One blemish from him with a slack pass that led to the corner they scored off. Other than that first class. He should be in the middle of midfield with either Thomsom or Claros beside him.

27-04-2013, 07:06 PM
Our home form is terrible. Last season we had 2 home league wins, this year we have an improvement with 6 but none since December 2012. We seem unable to build upon a lead and get a 2 goal advantage.

27-04-2013, 07:23 PM
I disagree about Handling, he was part of the problem defensively in the 2nd half, he did ok going forward but I don't see him as a right midfielder.

Danny isn't a right midfielder, a right winger, nor a 'behind the striker' player - Fenlon seems to be yet another manager not content to play players in their natural position and try and 'cultivate' them into playing a position they have no concept of. Really really infuriates me the way he plays Danny wide right, Doyle on the wing and favours this 'right footed, play left' or vice versa type tactic (thus forcing players to cut inside onto their good foot all the time).

Danny Handling is a striker - it's as simple as that !!!

27-04-2013, 07:24 PM
I thought Taiwo as I did on Monday night was MOTM. One blemish from him with a slack pass that led to the corner they scored off. Other than that first class. He should be in the middle of midfield with either Thomsom or Claros beside him.

Agree he gives the midfield an energy and combativeness. As for Thomson or Claros it would be Thomson for me as long as fit. Why was he not involved today given his lack of games? Claros use of the ball was excellent at times however he was caught out about 4 times with guys getting goal side the second half and he was defending like a pub league player when he didnt close the short corner for the second goal. He was out slow and let them work an easy cross which ended in a goal, amateurish to be honest.

27-04-2013, 07:31 PM
Webster along with Zaliukas has shut us out in many a derby. Having him out greatly increases our chances of getting a result, especially if we're not playing Griffiths.

Webster would walk into our central defence.

27-04-2013, 07:34 PM
Danny isn't a right midfielder, a right winger, nor a 'behind the striker' player - Fenlon seems to be yet another manager not content to play players in their natural position and try and 'cultivate' them into playing a position they have no concept of. Really really infuriates me the way he plays Danny wide right, Doyle on the wing and favours this 'right footed, play left' or vice versa type tactic (thus forcing players to cut inside onto their good foot all the time).

Danny Handling is a striker - it's as simple as that !!!

Fair enough however he is a young kid making his way and I am sure he was delighted to be starting whether at right mid or not. Thought he was very good in the first half and gave us some energy we have been missing. He is young and has loads to learn but he did much more good than bad today.

27-04-2013, 07:41 PM
Fair enough however he is a young kid making his way and I am sure he was delighted to be starting whether at right mid or not. Thought he was very good in the first half and gave us some energy we have been missing. He is young and has loads to learn but he did much more good than bad today.

Thought he was left high and dry a couple of times by Maybury too, once when he tried to let the ball run out and secondly at the third goal - Teale was left one on one with him with no one within 20 yards of Handling to back him.

Not sure he's a wide player at all. Certainly not for the final.

27-04-2013, 07:50 PM

Wasn't a criticism of Danny at all Jim, more Fenlon - Danny has been played in some weird and wonderful areas in the U20's but put him up front, he will ALWAYS make and take chances - always ! I said last year he reminds me of Kenny Miller in his youth and I still think he is a star in the making. But not where Pat is playing him. And that is my big worry, that Danny gets a little despondent and allows it to affect his game. Strikers want to score goals, it's that simple - take that away from their natural game and play them away from the front two area, you'll notice a wee confidence dip. It's just human instinct/behaviour in footballers in my opinion.

I'd really be tempted to play Ross and Danny, up top, last 3 games - rest Leigh and keep him fresh (or have him sub and played sparingly). I really believe we have a chance in the final. And I'd like Ross, Danny, Jordon and Dean Horribine to all get game time this season for their efforts in the 20's.

27-04-2013, 07:58 PM
Wasn't a criticism of Danny at all Jim, more Fenlon - Danny has been played in some weird and wonderful areas in the U20's but put him up front, he will ALWAYS make and take chances - always ! I said last year he reminds me of Kenny Miller in his youth and I still think he is a star in the making. But not where Pat is playing him. And that is my big worry, that Danny gets a little despondent and allows it to affect his game. Strikers want to score goals, it's that simple - take that away from their natural game and play them away from the front two area, you'll notice a wee confidence dip. It's just human instinct/behaviour in footballers in my opinion.

I'd really be tempted to play Ross and Danny, up top, last 3 games - rest Leigh and keep him fresh (or have him sub and played sparingly). I really believe we have a chance in the final. And I'd like Ross, Danny, Jordon and Dean Horribine to all get game time this season for their efforts in the 20's.

Wouldnt disagree with that. Would be good to give some more young guys a chance as long as PF is able to have a fully fit and sharp 11 on the pitch in the final, not sure that was the case last season.

HibeeN
27-04-2013, 08:31 PM
Leigh isn't going to want that though. He's got a target of 30 goals this season and wants to reach it. If Fenlon "rests" him for the cup final he runs the risk of having a frustrated player who wants to play and wants to achieve his personal goals but can't. I totally understand the reasoning behind it, and giving the young guys their chance is of course important, but our number one priority has to be keeping LG motivated and keen - he loves scoring goals, simple as that. And chances are we won't have him beyond the final so I'd like to see us making the most of him while we do.

27-04-2013, 08:46 PM

Absolute wage thief.

27-04-2013, 09:13 PM
Leigh isn't going to want that though. He's got a target of 30 goals this season and wants to reach it. If Fenlon "rests" him for the cup final he runs the risk of having a frustrated player who wants to play and wants to achieve his personal goals but can't. I totally understand the reasoning behind it, and giving the young guys their chance is of course important, but our number one priority has to be keeping LG motivated and keen - he loves scoring goals, simple as that. And chances are we won't have him beyond the final so I'd like to see us making the most of him while we do.

Who would you rather have fit and raring to go for the most important game of our season ? Absolutely agree that Leigh will want to top the scoring charts and it's a tough decision to make - but I can guarantee he'd rather know he's fit to face Celtic and have the chance to become a Hibernian 'immortal' by helping us win the Scottish Cup - hopefully scoring in the process :greengrin

Hearts will try and kick the lad off the park - it's an absolute shoe-in - so I'd rather not risk him, much as that would annoy Leigh. I just can't wait for Alex Harris to rip McHattie and Dylan McGowan a new one :agree:

HibeeN
27-04-2013, 09:22 PM
Who would you rather have fit and raring to go for the most important game of our season ? Absolutely agree that Leigh will want to top the scoring charts and it's a tough decision to make - but I can guarantee he'd rather know he's fit to face Celtic and have the chance to become a Hibernian 'immortal' by helping us win the Scottish Cup - hopefully scoring in the process :greengrin

Hearts will try and kick the lad off the park - it's an absolute shoe-in - so I'd rather not risk him, much as that would annoy Leigh. I just can't wait for Alex Harris to rip McHattie and Dylan McGowan a new one :agree:

Of course I'd rather he be fit for the final - I'd just worry about his mindset if he was rested for all three games leading up to it. I'd definitely agree with resting him against Hearts, but would start him against Killie and certainly against Dundee - last home game of the season, against his old club, chance to say goodbye to Easter Road etc.

Agreed on looking forward to seeing Harris against them. :thumbsup:

27-04-2013, 10:51 PM

Which is why we hardly ever beat anybody in the SPL.

28-04-2013, 08:03 AM
Which is why we hardly ever beat anybody in the SPL.

Keeps you in business though. We wouldn't hear from you otherwise.

28-04-2013, 08:05 AM
Keeps you in business though. We wouldn't hear from you otherwise.:top marks

WestEndHibee
28-04-2013, 08:06 AM

:top marks Was just thinking the same thing.

28-04-2013, 09:45 AM

:top marks Was just thinking the same thing.

Its bloody true though, and as folk can see with attendances since reaching the final, people cant be bothered. Even with the chance of a cup final ticket.

Fenlon HAS to get it right next season, we have to play more attractive football and be at the right end of the league fighting for a European place, or his erse it out the window.

28-04-2013, 10:04 AM
Its bloody true though, and as folk can see with attendances since reaching the final, people cant be bothered. Even with the chance of a cup final ticket.

Fenlon HAS to get it right next season, we have to play more attractive football and be at the right end of the league fighting for a European place, or his erse it out the window.I have nae problem with people having opinions (I have plenty of my own), only the ones who appear on here with monotonous regularity (like flies around a *****) efter every game tae continually put the boot in and for nae other reason, never seen when there is anything good tae be said.

28-04-2013, 10:10 AM
I have nae problem with people having opinions (I have plenty of my own), only the ones who appear on here with monotonous regularity (like flies around a *****) efter every game tae continually put the boot in and for nae other reason, never seen when there is anything good tae be said.

28-04-2013, 10:43 AM
I have nae problem with people having opinions (I have plenty of my own), only the ones who appear on here with monotonous regularity (like flies around a *****) efter every game tae continually put the boot in and for nae other reason, never seen when there is anything good tae be said.

Myth perpetuated by the happy clappers.

28-04-2013, 10:44 AM

A+* They piss me right off.

28-04-2013, 11:52 AM
Myth perpetuated by the happy clappers.aye, whatever