View Full Version : Match Updates Hibernian 3 v 3 Saint Mirren (ft)
28-04-2013, 03:15 PM
Leigh isn't going to want that though. He's got a target of 30 goals this season and wants to reach it. If Fenlon "rests" him for the cup final he runs the risk of having a frustrated player who wants to play and wants to achieve his personal goals but can't. I totally understand the reasoning behind it, and giving the young guys their chance is of course important, but our number one priority has to be keeping LG motivated and keen - he loves scoring goals, simple as that. And chances are we won't have him beyond the final so I'd like to see us making the most of him while we do.
Then he'll have to score three in the cup final. I'd take that.
hibsitis
28-04-2013, 04:06 PM
Its bloody true though, and as folk can see with attendances since reaching the final, people cant be bothered. Even with the chance of a cup final ticket.
Fenlon HAS to get it right next season, we have to play more attractive football and be at the right end of the league fighting for a European place, or his erse it out the window.
Why didn't he HAVE to get it right this season?
28-04-2013, 04:20 PM
Because we were recovering from such a bad season last year and as much as this doesn't suit football fans it takes time to turn rubbish like last season around.
28-04-2013, 04:25 PM
I have nae problem with people having opinions (I have plenty of my own), only the ones who appear on here with monotonous regularity (like flies around a *****) efter every game tae continually put the boot in and for nae other reason, never seen when there is anything good tae be said.
Correct.
28-04-2013, 04:28 PM
Myth perpetuated by the happy clappers.
On the contrary, there are a few folk who only ever appear when there's something to moan about. And then it's post after post after post after post...........
28-04-2013, 04:30 PM
Because he was starting pretty much from scratch and in the time he's been here he's put together half a team. Hopefully next season he'll manage to get 90% of a team together and we'll push on.
Most are willing to give him the chance.
28-04-2013, 04:38 PM
On the contrary, there are a few folk who only ever appear when there's something to moan about. And then it's post after post after post after post...........
Check the threads after decent perfomances and/or results just as many positive ones as there are after days like yesterday. Suits the narrative for some folk to pretend this isn't the case.
28-04-2013, 04:41 PM
Check the threads after decent perfomances and/or results just as many positive ones as there are after days like yesterday. Suits the narrative for some folk to pretend this isn't the case.
Aye, ok.
Look around. There are a few names missing.
28-04-2013, 05:31 PM
Anyone know when highlights will be up- Hibs TV or BBC :thumbsup:
28-04-2013, 05:34 PM
Anyone know when highlights will be up- Hibs TV or BBC :thumbsup:
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/scotland/22331501
28-04-2013, 05:36 PM
Cheers - was looking for them on the Beeb site.
28-04-2013, 08:06 PM
Not the point he was getting at.
Some people only turn up to put the boot in and disappear when there's nothing bad to say.
28-04-2013, 08:42 PM
Some people only turn up to put the boot in and disappear when there's nothing bad to say.
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:00 PM
well they have been in their glory cos there has been nothing good to say for months and months its a good job we won some ugly and lucky games in the early part of the season or we would have been scrapping it out with Dundee.
Some people think that we have made progress this year....... I would love to find out where
28-04-2013, 09:02 PM
well they have been in their glory cos there has been nothing good to say for months and months its a good job we won some ugly and lucky games in the early part of the season or we would have been scrapping it out with Dundee.
Some people think that we have made progress this year....... I would love to find out where
May I suggest opening your eyes?
28-04-2013, 09:06 PM
Right, ok then, I admit defeat. The season has been a wash out. There has been no progress. I mean, qualifying for a second, consecutive Scottish Cup final since the 1920's, qualifying for Europe, beating Celtic at home, beating the holders of the Scottish Cup, Hearts, at home, beating Aberdeen and Kilmarnock in the cup, coming back from 3-0 down v Falkirk in the Semi-Final at Hampden...........it all counts for nothing. There are no positives. Hibs are pash :agree:
28-04-2013, 09:06 PM
Maybe they're just contented and don't have to let off steam.
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:07 PM
May I suggest opening your eyes?
well show me where we have made improvements this season
28-04-2013, 09:09 PM
That's a blatant foul on Caldwell for St. Mirren's third. Climbing all over him.
28-04-2013, 09:12 PM
Maybe they're just contented and don't have to let off steam.
Back to reality, maybe they can't have a go at everything to do with the club they're supposed to support.
28-04-2013, 09:13 PM
Right, ok then, I admit defeat. The season has been a wash out. There has been no progress. I mean, qualifying for a second, consecutive Scottish Cup final since the 1920's, qualifying for Europe, beating Celtic at home, beating the holders of the Scottish Cup holders, Hearts, at home, beating Aberdeen and Kilmarnock in the cup, coming back from 3-0 v Falkirk in the Semi-Final at Hampden...........it all counts for nothing. There are no positives. Hibs are pash :agree:
See here
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:14 PM
Right, ok then, I admit defeat. The season has been a wash out. There has been no progress. I mean, qualifying for a second, consecutive Scottish Cup final since the 1920's, qualifying for Europe, beating Celtic at home, beating the holders of the Scottish Cup holders, Hearts, at home, beating Aberdeen and Kilmarnock in the cup, coming back from 3-0 v Falkirk in the Semi-Final at Hampden...........it all counts for nothing. There are no positives. Hibs are pash :agree:
i asked for progress..... We were in the final last year so no progress.......we are only in Europe as Celtic have won the spl........we beat hearts due to a deflected Wotherspoon effort...... And why should we ever be 3-0 nil down to a Falkirk side........
if you think that is progress then you need to get a grip
28-04-2013, 09:16 PM
Early doors we were miles better than previous seasons, We have more points than last season, we are unbeaten against them, have beaten and drawn against celtic and we are in Europe next season for the first time since Hughes tenure.
If you cant see that then i also suggest you open your eyes. Its not been great for quite a while, but to ignore all the good is just daft. :confused:
28-04-2013, 09:17 PM
i asked for progress..... We were in the final last year so no progress.......we are only in Europe as Celtic have won the spl........we beat hearts due to a deflected Wotherspoon effort...... And why should we ever be 3-0 nil down to a Falkirk side........
That's the most bizarre and desperate thing I've possibly ever read on this site.
28-04-2013, 09:18 PM
OK but only if you show me where you have made any positive comments about Hibs on this site
28-04-2013, 09:20 PM
Wrong, we are in Europe because we have reached the cup final again, if you want to talk about deflected goals lets have a look at other decisions that could have seen us in the top six had they been given, 3-0 down to any side is a massive task yet we came back and won. You need to get a grip and appreciate the positives.
28-04-2013, 09:27 PM
Wrong, we are in Europe because we have reached the cup final again, if you want to talk about deflected goals lets have a look at other decisions that could have seen us in the top six had they been given, 3-0 down to any side is a massive task yet we came back and won. You need to get a grip and appreciate the positives.
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:27 PM
OK but only if you show me where you have made any positive comments about Hibs on this site
are we only allowed to make positive comment on the site before we are allowed to post..... positives for me are we are in the final and ave got two tickets, well I will have soon. And we cannot be relegated
28-04-2013, 09:32 PM
are we only allowed to make positive comment on the site before we are allowed to post..... positives for me are we are in the final and ave got two tickets, well I will have soon. And we cannot be relegated
So there aren't any then?
As another poster has said, try looking for the positives rather than depressing yourself looking for the negatives
28-04-2013, 09:33 PM
Thought that wasn't really much achievement, seeing as we got there last season too?
28-04-2013, 09:36 PM
No, you are not only allowed to post positive comments on 'this site' but you are expected to post comments with at least a modicum of fact/truth/intelligence. So, given the examples of your recent posts, you have failed so I politely suggest that it's you that needs to 'get a grip' :aok:
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:38 PM
So there aren't any then?
As another poster has said, try looking for the positives rather than depressing yourself looking for the negatives
Hows there no positives in that. you need to take a look at yourself
28-04-2013, 09:40 PM
Nice try on your :fishin: trip. :faf:. :bye:
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:43 PM
Nice try on your :fishin: trip. :faf:. :bye:
Lol. Is that your comeback
28-04-2013, 09:44 PM
Tell you what, at that first goal of theirs McPake could have seen red, and he was 100% at fault for their second.
Lost faith in him to be honest, there's 'off form' but he's been 'off form' for way too long.
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:48 PM
Tell you what, at that first goal of theirs McPake could have seen red, and he was 100% at fault for their second.
Lost faith in him to be honest, there's 'off form' but he's been 'off form' for way too long.
he will be magnificent in the final
28-04-2013, 09:49 PM
At the first goal, McPake successfully blocks the shot, hence why the ball breaks to Goncalves. It would have been an outrage if he was sent off for that!
28-04-2013, 09:50 PM
Are you 12? You certainly come across that way :aok:
28-04-2013, 09:53 PM
At the first goal, McPake successfully blocks the shot, hence why the ball breaks to Goncalves. It would have been an outrage if he was sent off for that!
Struck me as a high boot, studs up with his weight behind it that caught the player. Would have been harsh but seen it given for that.
Think he needs a couple of games out to be honest, even if just for a rest and to reflect on his poor form and how to turn it around. He's certainly not good enough for the starting eleven right now.
stewpot
28-04-2013, 09:53 PM
Are you 12? You certainly come across that way :aok:
Positives for me is that I will be at the final with my daughter. So if that makes me 12 then fair enough
28-04-2013, 09:58 PM
Positives for me is that I will be at the final with my daughter. So if that makes me 12 then fair enough
I'm delighted you'll be there and that your daughter will be with you. Will you be positive about our chances or still spouting all that negative stuff?
stewpot
28-04-2013, 10:02 PM
I'm delighted you'll be there and that your daughter will be with you. Will you be positive about our chances or still spouting all that negative stuff?
yes am positive about our chances.
if st midden can do it then so can we..... We beat then at Easter road and drew 2-2 early in the season and I think they will still be in holiday mode..... I think we will need to score at least twice though as I can see Celtic not scoring.
i will take 5-4 on penalties as long as we win
28-04-2013, 10:04 PM
yes am positive about our chances.
if st midden can do it then so can we..... We beat then at Easter road and drew 2-2 early in the season and I think they will still be in holiday mode..... I think we will need to score at least twice though as I can see Celtic not scoring.
i will take 5-4 on penalties as long as we win
Me too although the old ticker might suffer a bit :greengrin
stewpot
28-04-2013, 10:10 PM
Me too although the old ticker might suffer a bit :greengrin
am sure you will survive..
one thing is for sure, if that's the outcome, you and me both will be celebrating BIG style
28-04-2013, 10:12 PM
am sure you will survive..
one thing is for sure, if that's the outcome, you and me both will be celebrating BIG style
Agreed :aok:
stewpot
28-04-2013, 10:17 PM
Agreed :aok:
surely that can't be rite......
someone agrees with me lol
well we have no got long to wait now
LeighLoyal
28-04-2013, 10:33 PM
From the highlights, bad defending by McPake for goal #2, he's surely better than that, caught dozing. Young Caldwell showed his inexperience at #3, but he shouldn't be the guy defending that. Harris showed up well again, Taiwo and Handling decent also. Doyle should have done a lot better with that chance he created. St Mirren were fortuitous to get a draw despite the late equaliser.
stewpot
28-04-2013, 11:24 PM
From the highlights, bad defending by McPake for goal #2, he's surely better than that, caught dozing. Young Caldwell showed his inexperience at #3, but he shouldn't be the guy defending that. Harris showed up well again, Taiwo and Handling decent also. Doyle should have done a lot better with that chance he created. St Mirren were fortuitous to get a draw despite the late equaliser.
Probably agree with most of that but tbh I don't think that Handling had his best game.
Am also sure that someone has told Claros he is not allowed to have a shot, he passed a few times where a shot would have been better.
all in all I don't think it was a bad game but we really need to up the tempo in the final and we just mite get the rewards
29-04-2013, 05:27 AM
You mean the sad Yam fuds pretending to be Hibbies?
You get used to them, they're a bit like flies buzzing round your food. Just ignore them and don't rise to the bait coz by doing so you'll be giving them a wee thrill in their otherwise tragic existence.
29-04-2013, 06:16 AM
I think we've also got to realise that in both recent home games, Hibs have been the team pushing for the win and even on Saturday could and should have nicked it if TT had had his shooting boots on.
One thing about this season is you simply cannot fault the overall effort the players put in. They do keep plugging away. There was some neat, crisp, pacy football on Saturday which is something to be positive about and build on.
Finding a level of consistency is key and you only get that by being allowed the time to build - Pat needs 2 or 3 more windows yet. Adding a couple here and there and allowing youth to get a chance.
Motherwell are where they are because yes they're a good side - but Hately, Law, Hammell, Humphrey, Lasley, Murphy (although sold now) have been a constant. It's been a team allowed to grow.
29-04-2013, 08:45 AM
I think we've also got to realise that in both recent home games, Hibs have been the team pushing for the win and even on Saturday could and should have nicked it if TT had had his shooting boots on.
One thing about this season is you simply cannot fault the overall effort the players put in. They do keep plugging away. There was some neat, crisp, pacy football on Saturday which is something to be positive about and build on.
Finding a level of consistency is key and you only get that by being allowed the time to build - Pat needs 2 or 3 more windows yet. Adding a couple here and there and allowing youth to get a chance.
Motherwell are where they are because yes they're a good side - but Hately, Law, Hammell, Humphrey, Lasley, Murphy (although sold now) have been a constant. It's been a team allowed to grow.
I see what you are saying but unfortunately it is going to need to be 5 or 6 this window as we are likely to lose some key players as well as having to add to what we had anyway.
Cups in their nature are to me not necessarily a sign of progress they are 4/5 matches out of over 40 that is not to say its not a very good achievement to reach any final and then winning it. My reasoning is JC won a cup great achievement but in cold light of day thereafter we have struggled. We have had better teams and better managers not win a cup or get to final. On the whole I have been disappointed in PF and feel that after a year we shouldn't be as low down and on a SPL run that isnt very good.
The nature of the cup means that even losing every match up until final could mean nothing as it could still be won or we win all our league but lose final. I have no fears over final if we click then we can win it. Cup final fantastic achievement no doubt, progress on whole? I am not so sure.
29-04-2013, 12:11 PM
Yup, it was a relatively enjoyable game. Both teams are pretty poor though IMHO.
I see where you're coming from but it was two teams that were miles better than what was on display last Monday!
The team I was most reminded of in our style of play on Saturday was Killie, actually - some really good, incisive attacking play, and lots of players happy to take the ball in tight situations and trying to pass the ball. All sadly marred by surrendering really cheap goals, and an inability to do the basics at the back.
29-04-2013, 12:24 PM
:wtf: :greengrin
29-04-2013, 12:28 PM
Just watched the highlights and I cannot believe that they didn't show the whole passage of play in the lead up to the goal.
29-04-2013, 12:42 PM
Timing is everything. At the mo, the semi comeback and CF means there's a low tollerance to negativity on the board. Don't upset the dynamic :greengrin