View Full Version : Leigh nominated for Player of the Year, Celtc moaning

24-04-2013, 02:09 PM
Keith Downie‏@STVkeith6m (http://www.hibs.net/STVkeith/status/327059928378392576)YOUNG PFA player of year nominations for 2012/2013 are Leigh Griffiths, Gary Mackay-Steven, Victor Wanyama and Stuart Armstrong.

24-04-2013, 02:24 PM
Sky Sports Scotland ‏@ScotlandSky (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky) 15m (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/327062009587834880) Hibernian striker Leigh Griffiths nominated in both categories. Last player to win both awards was Aiden McGeady in 2008

Sky Sports Scotland ‏@ScotlandSky (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky) 19m (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/327061036857446400)
The nominations for PFA Scotland SPL player of the year are - Leigh Griffiths, Michael Higdon, Niall McGinn & Andrew Shinnie

http://i.minus.com/ic9PgoqIenzqj.gif

24-04-2013, 02:29 PM
Sky Sports Scotland ‏@ScotlandSky (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky) 15m (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/327062009587834880) Hibernian striker Leigh Griffiths nominated in both categories. Last player to win both awards was Aiden McGeady in 2008

Sky Sports Scotland ‏@ScotlandSky (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky) 19m (https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/327061036857446400)
The nominations for PFA Scotland SPL player of the year are - Leigh Griffiths, Michael Higdon, Niall McGinn & Andrew Shinnie

I missed the grown-up one. Thread title amended!

24-04-2013, 02:32 PM
Actually it isn't. Don't know how to. Admin help, please?

24-04-2013, 02:41 PM
Massive shock that there is no Celtic player in the main award! Given Wanyama is only in the young player category think he will get that with LG battling Higdon for the main award. If no Celtic player can win the pfa award them the writers will make sure Wanyama wins that. LG would then be a stick on for their young player award. Unless the rangers minded sections of the media all vote for a non Celtic player. Then LG has a good chance.

24-04-2013, 02:41 PM
What age is Wanyama

bruno
24-04-2013, 02:43 PM

Well deserved. Great t see on old firm winner main award. Griffiths for young player and between him and higdon for main one

24-04-2013, 02:44 PM
Very harsh on billy McKay of ict that he has not been included. Suppose his form has maybe tailed off a wee bit whilst others have remained a bit more consistent.

24-04-2013, 02:44 PM
No Celtic players? Surely the nomination panel are all members of the Order? :shocked:

24-04-2013, 02:51 PM
No Celtic players? Surely the nomination panel are all members of the Order? :shocked:

Definite conspiracy.

No other explanation.

hibby rae
24-04-2013, 02:58 PM
http://www.talkceltic.net/forum/showthread.php?t=133092

It's a "joke" that no Celtic players are included. Apparently.

24-04-2013, 03:08 PM
Between Griffiths and Higdon for the main award, surely got to be Griffiths for doing most of it on his own. Would probably say Wanyama or GMS for the young player as they wouldnt give Griffiths both I wouldnt have thought.

24-04-2013, 03:24 PM
Surely if Griffiths wins the main award then he must win the young won. If any the other young players were in contention then surely they would have been nominated in both awards too.

Humo
24-04-2013, 05:01 PM
Griffiths is on it come on Sparky!

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22276619

24-04-2013, 05:34 PM
What age is Wanyama

28 :wink:

24-04-2013, 05:51 PM
So why did Hibs refuse to let Leigh talk to the media today about his nominations? Anyone know why?

merritthibees
24-04-2013, 05:54 PM
So why did Hibs refuse to let Leigh talk to the media today about his nominations? Anyone know why?

just what i was thinking… very strange! :confused: … congrats to sparky though! GGTTH

24-04-2013, 05:55 PM

Did they?

If true then I'm sure there will be a valid reason.

24-04-2013, 06:04 PM
Did they?

If true then I'm sure there will be a valid reason.

According to BBC yes. They had all the other nominees and interviewed them, so all there except Leigh. Then said that Leigh was desperate to talk to media but Hibs refused. Bit strange.

PerfectlyFranck
24-04-2013, 06:11 PM
28 :wink:

21 - I thought he was younger

24-04-2013, 06:12 PM
Well deserved nomination.

I can understand Hibs not letting LG speak to the media. The last thing Hibs want is to be associated with having a contender at the club for player of the year. Thats just the sort of bad publicity the club can do without.

Remember what happened the last time a Hibs player was nominated. Well .... no actually I cant.

Hibs need to explain this !!!

hibby rae
24-04-2013, 06:21 PM
Well deserved nomination.

I can understand Hibs not letting LG speak to the media. The last thing Hibs want is to be associated with having a contender at the club for player of the year. Thats just the sort of bad publicity the club can do without.

Remember what happened the last time a Hibs player was nominated. Well .... no actually I cant.

Hibs need to explain this !!!

Hibs didn't allow him to speak to the media after he got player of the round from the Killie game either.

24-04-2013, 06:42 PM
Hibs didn't allow him to speak to the media after he got player of the round from the Killie game either.

He was interviewed on the tv after the game.
Dont know why he's not talking now. Very strange if the club have stopped him although thats what they said on the news. Showed some clips from today at Hampden and all the other players were there holding up a big t-shirt. Leigh was nowhere to be seen.

24-04-2013, 06:47 PM
There was a thread on here the other day complaining about the ***** the media were spewing about the Aberdeen game and how it was about time we stopped being a soft touch and not co-operate with them.
Its a funny old game, innit.

Torto7062
24-04-2013, 07:14 PM
Congrats on being shortlisted for both PFA and Young PFA Player of the year.

Does anyone know why Leigh wasn't allowed to attend the media call
about the nominations today. BBC said Hibs didn't allow him to attend.

F*** the Hertz

The_Sauz
24-04-2013, 07:21 PM
I think it will be down to all the negative off field reports about LG that the BBC are quick to make big headlines, but fail to give him any credit for the footballing skills :agree:

24-04-2013, 07:31 PM
Canny see sparky being allowed to win poty because of his racist slur on twitter, he deserves it though.both him and higdon have had cracking seasons.

hibby rae
24-04-2013, 07:40 PM
He was interviewed on the tv after the game.
Dont know why he's not talking now. Very strange if the club have stopped him although thats what they said on the news. Showed some clips from today at Hampden and all the other players were there holding up a big t-shirt. Leigh was nowhere to be seen.

Yeah he was after the semi as well but when he received the award a few days before the semi he wasn't allowed to speak to the media.

24-04-2013, 08:44 PM
Canny see sparky being allowed to win poty because of his racist slur on twitter, he deserves it though.both him and higdon have had cracking seasons.

Was higdon not banned for hooking someone? Or was that last season? Was it even higdon? Anyway my point is that the award is about performances on the pitch.

24-04-2013, 09:53 PM
Was higdon not banned for hooking someone? Or was that last season? Was it even higdon? Anyway my point is that the award is about performances on the pitch.

Luis Suarez ;)

24-04-2013, 11:17 PM
There was a thread on here the other day complaining about the ***** the media were spewing about the Aberdeen game and how it was about time we stopped being a soft touch and not co-operate with them.
Its a funny old game, innit.

:cb

24-04-2013, 11:21 PM
Sparky should win both awards, the best player in the SPL this season.

But, can see Higdon getting POTY and Wanyama getting YPOTY. :rolleyes:

25-04-2013, 11:23 AM
Lennon miffed that there aren't any of his players up for POTY.

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/football/22292163

I think it's one of those occasions when he'd be better keeping his thoughts to himself. Describing it as abysmal, ridiculous and unbelievable, and saying his players are bewildered and angry is, unfortunately, celtic class.

25-04-2013, 11:45 AM
Democracy in action, Neil.

25-04-2013, 11:52 AM

I think it's one of those occasions when he'd be better keeping his thoughts to himself. Describing it as abysmal, ridiculous and unbelievable, and saying his players are bewildered and angry is, unfortunately, celtic class.

Maybe Neil should look on the positive side that Celtc have so many fabulous players that their vote was obviously split while teeny weeny clubs only have one good player each and get more votes. Why is he mentioning Commons he has only started playing in the last month or so? Wanyama I would give to be honest, dont think Hooper has been as good also. I am sure every other club have players they consider should be in so tough luck.

25-04-2013, 11:59 AM

I think it's one of those occasions when he'd be better keeping his thoughts to himself. Describing it as abysmal, ridiculous and unbelievable, and saying his players are bewildered and angry is, unfortunately, celtic class. :agree:
Its best player of the year Nelly boy., not best team. If your strikers are that good, why are they not top goal scorers? quit your whinging and move on.

25-04-2013, 12:07 PM

His response was as predictable as it was classless, just surprised he didn't allude to a conspiracy.

Skanko79
25-04-2013, 12:26 PM
this is the first time in 23 years a non old firm player will win player of the year.

25-04-2013, 12:52 PM
Maybe Neil should look on the positive side that Celtc have so many fabulous players that their vote was obviously split while teeny weeny clubs only have one good player each and get more votes. Why is he mentioning Commons he has only started playing in the last month or so? Wanyama I would give to be honest, dont think Hooper has been as good also. I am sure every other club have players they consider should be in so tough luck.

Bit in bold is bang on and a rational reason why there are no Celtic players included. Do you think any journos who heard his rant will have suggested this to him? No, me neither. They are all either too thick to think of it, too pally with "Lenny" to question any thing he says or to scared to pee off Celtic and alienate their paper/station from Celtic news in the way that The Rangers Football Club have frozen some of them out due to their coverage of the club from which they arose from.

Yet again Lennon shows himself up as the classless person he is. Another thing, why are we not allowed to "detract" from Celtic's "achievement" by saying it how it is in that the league was easy for them this season and if anything, them not winning it long before now given the gulf in reasources bewteen them and the rest is an underachievement on their part.

They may rip us a new one in the cup final as they are more than capable of doing to anyone in Scotland but to start saying how great they are off the back of this season's championship win and subsequent likely double is over doing things a bit.

I'd love it if we beat them at Hampden on May 26th! Love it!

25-04-2013, 12:53 PM

I bet you nobody in the dressing room is even that bothered and no Celtic player has feelings anywhere near as strong. Those will be his words driven by his own bitter paranoia.

25-04-2013, 01:06 PM
Bit in bold is bang on and a rational reason why there are no Celtic players included. Do you think any journos who heard his rant will have suggested this to him? No, me neither. They are all either too thick to think of it, too pally with "Lenny" to question any thing he says or to scared to pee off Celtic and alienate their paper/station from Celtic news in the way that The Rangers Football Club have frozen some of them out due to their coverage of the club from which they arose from.

Yet again Lennon shows himself up as the classless person he is. Another thing, why are we not allowed to "detract" from Celtic's "achievement" by saying it how it is in that the league was easy for them this season and if anything, them not winning it long before now given the gulf in reasources bewteen them and the rest is an underachievement on their part.

They may rip us a new one in the cup final as they are more than capable of doing to anyone in Scotland but to start saying how great they are off the back of this season's championship win and subsequent likely double is over doing things a bit.

Agree with all of that. He is a loathsome bully to be honest, his behaviour in the semi final v United was despicable IMO.

25-04-2013, 01:38 PM
On the telly talking about how they looked at Lewandowski.

Zzzzzzzzzz

25-04-2013, 01:42 PM

http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/apr/25/celtic-scottish-pfa-player-of-year

This article suggests that at least one journo did point out the voting system to him... His reaction suggests he's either a moron or an *rse.

25-04-2013, 02:30 PM
http://www.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/apr/25/celtic-scottish-pfa-player-of-year

This article suggests that at least one journo did point out the voting system to him... His reaction suggests he's either a moron or an *rse.

Yip, he just doesn't help himself does he?

"I have no idea what way the voting goes but you can't tell me that Fraser Forster, Victor Wanyama, Kris Commons, Kelvin Wilson, Gary Hooper weren't in the forefronts of people's minds when the votes were made. It's ridiculous."

I'm sure the players he mentioned were at the forefront of many players' minds when they were casting their votes and indeed many will have voted for them. I'd actually wager that Celtic got more player votes than any other club, it just happens that they were spread across 5 or 6 players whereas, for example, I bet no other Hibs or Aberdeen players outwith LG and McGinn got any votes to speak of.

He's always going on about how great his team is and how he doesn't like singling players out so he can't have it all ways. Why can't he console himself with the fact that, and rightly so, when the SPL team of the season is announced it will be littered with Celtic players? This particular award is about individuals and relative to opportunity and where they play, these four players have all excelled as individuals in tougher circumstances than the cushy number his players have.

While Gary Hooper is a great player and probably the best striker in the league, scoring goals for Celtic in the SPL is easy. The amount of goals LG and McGinn have scored for their teams is outstanding considering the standard of their respective teams creative attacking play which for me (and the SPL professionals) makes them more worthy candidates.

All we need now is a bitter outburst from Derek Adams about Ross County players which I am sure is in the offing it just takes longer for the press reports to make it down from the Highlands.

PS - how funny would it be if he wins the cup (the dissappointment of us losing it aside) and either McCall, Butcher or Adams get manager of the year!

Off the bar
25-04-2013, 04:10 PM

I think he's proven himself to be both! As well as being a graceless, classless twat. As for it being a disgrace etc nah all the tic players he mentions have done well this year but they were expected to, all those nominated performed above and beyond what was expected in teams not expected to do well in the league or reach cup finals. Easy to be a good player in the best team whilst pishing the league not so easy to score 20+ goals in any other SPL team. Lennon is a massive fud and should get over himself and have the decency to congratulate players playing well in other teams.

GIRFUY 'Lenny' ya fud

TomoHFC
25-04-2013, 04:16 PM
Boohoo Neil Lemmon none of your players are nomated for poty. Scottish football isn't only about you know. have some common sence and let other good players a chance of the award. Cry baby

lugz
25-04-2013, 04:16 PM

See trying to explain your reasoning to Celtic fans...nightmare. Just can't take any logical reasoning.

25-04-2013, 08:05 PM
Just watched his interview online.

What a tool Neil Lennon truly is. Is he now saying that not only officials, other clubs, other fans and now other proffesional football players have an agenda against Celtic?

Please god let us beat these chumps.

25-04-2013, 08:18 PM
It's Lennon who's showing no respect to the SPL players. Managers should know when to shut up

25-04-2013, 08:21 PM
It's Lennon who's showing no respect to the SPL players. Managers should know when to shut up

:agree: His players might not go to the ceremony now because there's no reason to go. Cock.

25-04-2013, 09:59 PM
Looks a poor choice to choose from, shows how far standards have dropped, having said that- looking at the list of previous winners, how the F*** did Sandy Clark win it in 1982?

25-04-2013, 10:29 PM
:agree: His players might not go to the ceremony now because there's no reason to go. Cock.

Apart from Wanyama being up for young player of the year, you mean?

26-04-2013, 06:43 AM
Apart from Wanyama being up for young player of the year, you mean?

yes, that's what he said.

26-04-2013, 07:10 AM
Once again, Neil Lennon displays his total lack of class.

His comments show a lack of humility, generosity of spirit and understanding of the voting process. In short, a mean spirited and ignorant little man.

His final comments about probably not going to the awards are an utter disgrace and an insult to Scottish football but just what we have come to expect from him. How pathetic.

26-04-2013, 07:11 AM
wanyama is over rated in my opinion, sure he has some decent games, but he is nowhere near as good as they think he is

If he was that great he would have been tearing the league apart all season, although they play in different positions id rather have Griffiths than him

26-04-2013, 07:15 AM
Once again, Neil Lennon displays his total lack of class.

His comments show a lack of humility, generosity of spirit and understanding of the voting process. In short, a mean spirited and ignorant little man.

His final comments about probably not going to the awards are an utter disgrace and an insult to Scottish football but just what we have come to expect from him. How pathetic.

vanNISHtelroy
26-04-2013, 07:23 AM
He says what he wants, he's Kenny Shiels, he says what he wants
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/celtic/4903688/Kenny-Shiels-on-Celtic-Youre-paranoid-FC.html

"KENNY SHIELS insists Neil Lennon is boss of PARANOID FC.The Hoops gaffer is furious his star players were snubbed in the PFA Player of the Year shortlist.
But Kilmarnock manager Shiels blasted: “Celtic make a song and dance about everything, don’t they? Paranoid FC. I think they deserve to maybe have one in with Kris Commons, who is a good shout, but I wouldn’t get all paranoid about it. It’s the players’ thing, they deserve credit for how they vote.”
When asked if he understood why the Celts gaffer was standing up for his stars, Shiels added: “Certain managers are egotistical.
“I think the four nominees is a fair assessment of who’s done well.”
Asked who he’d have voted for, Shiels responded: “Andrew Shinnie has been right up there as one of the best this season.
“I can only judge against us and Shinnie, Michael Higdon and Leigh Griffiths have all done well.
“Who from Celtic would come into the category? How many games did Kris Commons play?
“James Forrest got Young Player of the Year last season and he only played about 20 games.”
Shiels also claimed Lennon has FIVE men ahead of him in the Manager of the Year race.
He added: “If you are going to go into managers, then Stuart McCall and Terry Butcher are the top two for me and then Derek Adams.
“Steve Lomas gets overlooked and Allan Johnston has done well.
“If you’d said to me at the start of the season that out of all the domestic leagues Celtic would be one of the last to win it in Britain, I’d have been surprised.
“To not win the league until the end of April, I would have said that wasn’t possible.”

"

26-04-2013, 07:27 AM
The chip on Lennon's shoulder has grown and grown this season.

The fact that he is being heralded as a "great" manager on the back of title wins when Rangers were in complete disarray and not there at all seems to be ignored by many. The amount of money he has had to spend compared to Rangers last season and all the rest this season almost makes the title wins not worth talking about.

I know he puts up with a lot of bad stuff but he really is an angry little man. I'm actually not sure if he believes what he is saying half the time or if he is just on a wind up fishing for reactions like the ones on this thread.

Moon unit
26-04-2013, 07:31 AM
So Neil Lennon does not think Leigh and the other nominated candidates are good enough to get into his team?- This guy has no class what so ever,just expects one of his players to win the award year after year!
Pat should pin this up in the changing room before the cup final!...what better motivation for sparky to stick it right up them!!!

26-04-2013, 07:39 AM
Haha. The new name for Smeltic. About right Mr Shiels.

26-04-2013, 07:46 AM
Ok let me ask - what did Lennon actuall say?

VickMackie
26-04-2013, 07:50 AM
Ok let me ask - what did Lennon actuall say?

He said its crazy that no Celtic players were nominated for players player of the year because of what they've achieved.

I'm sure they'll clear up at the sports writer awards.

26-04-2013, 07:51 AM
Its the players who vote for the POTY, Lennon should be asking his squad who they voted for.

Most probably there would be votes for all the nominees. :rolleyes:

26-04-2013, 07:52 AM
He said he looks like a thumb and and he couldn't lace Hurtado's laces.

26-04-2013, 07:53 AM
He said its crazy that no Celtic players were nominated for players player of the year because of what they've achieved.

Correct even the Sun missed the OP thread titles sensational "quote".

http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/4903708/Lenny-and-stars-in-rage-at-Celtic-PFA-snub.html

Moon unit
26-04-2013, 07:59 AM

Check Andy Devlin..sports writer..."none of them would get into my team"!

26-04-2013, 08:01 AM
Lennon and ceptic can **** off, people are entitled tae vote for who they want.

boo hoo naebody voted for ma players, it's ma baw and I'm no playing :boo hoo: We're no going boo hoo hoo, toys oot the pram :boo hoo:

I'm sure it'll be a great occasion and the old squirm winnae be missed.

OFGTF :bye:

26-04-2013, 08:01 AM
He says what he wants, he's Kenny Shiels, he says what he wants
http://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/scotsol/homepage/sport/spl/celtic/4903688/Kenny-Shiels-on-Celtic-Youre-paranoid-FC.html

"KENNY SHIELS insists Neil Lennon is boss of PARANOID FC.

The Hoops gaffer is furious his star players were snubbed in the PFA Player of the Year shortlist.
But Kilmarnock manager Shiels blasted: “Celtic make a song and dance about everything, don’t they? Paranoid FC. I think they deserve to maybe have one in with Kris Commons, who is a good shout, but I wouldn’t get all paranoid about it. It’s the players’ thing, they deserve credit for how they vote.”
When asked if he understood why the Celts gaffer was standing up for his stars, Shiels added: “Certain managers are egotistical.
“I think the four nominees is a fair assessment of who’s done well.”
Asked who he’d have voted for, Shiels responded: “Andrew Shinnie has been right up there as one of the best this season.
“I can only judge against us and Shinnie, Michael Higdon and Leigh Griffiths have all done well.
“Who from Celtic would come into the category? How many games did Kris Commons play?
“James Forrest got Young Player of the Year last season and he only played about 20 games.”
Shiels also claimed Lennon has FIVE men ahead of him in the Manager of the Year race.
He added: “If you are going to go into managers, then Stuart McCall and Terry Butcher are the top two for me and then Derek Adams.
“Steve Lomas gets overlooked and Allan Johnston has done well.
“If you’d said to me at the start of the season that out of all the domestic leagues Celtic would be one of the last to win it in Britain, I’d have been surprised.
“To not win the league until the end of April, I would have said that wasn’t possible.”

"

:faf: never thought I'd say this, but nice one Kenny.

26-04-2013, 08:06 AM
I heard him on the radio and he came across like a pathetic babby. show some class.

26-04-2013, 08:07 AM
Sour grapes from that wee twat. That's what's wrong with Scottish Football IMHO.

Just because you play for Celtic it doesn't mean you should win the POTY etc.

Arse of a man

26-04-2013, 08:10 AM
Check Andy Devlin..sports writer..."none of them would get into my team"!

good to know Leigh wont be off tae sellik next year then.

oh aye, and **** the ginger heided leprechaun, for sure for sure

26-04-2013, 08:11 AM
Give us less information.

26-04-2013, 08:13 AM
Haha. The new name for Smeltic. About right Mr Shiels.Is anybody going tae start a thread today about what somebody said and then actually tell us what they said? :greengrin

26-04-2013, 08:16 AM
I heard him on the radio and he came across like a pathetic babby. show some class.

:agree: Overgrown toddler. But without the self-control, self-awareness or manners.

26-04-2013, 08:17 AM
If he did think he was good enough, then he'll be a Celtic player next season. What do you want Lennon to say? - "Griffiths is far better than all my strikers and would be first choice here every week".

He thinks he has better players than Griffiths. So what.

26-04-2013, 08:17 AM
Love how him and Brown are mentioning the champions league, which strangely enough is utterly irrelevant, morons. Would love it if we beat them in the final.

26-04-2013, 08:20 AM
read ParanoidFC aswell, nice that someone actually comes out and says it,

26-04-2013, 08:29 AM
If he did think he was good enough, then he'll be a Celtic player next season. What do you want Lennon to say? - "Griffiths is far better than all my strikers and would be first choice here every week".

Nowt. Throwing a public tantrum because none of his players have been nominated is classless and unsporting. But typical.

26-04-2013, 08:32 AM
Fluked a win against Barca and have dined out on it ever since.

Matt92
26-04-2013, 08:35 AM
Funny how in the league champions, Hooper, Stokes et al never got more league goals than Leigh despite him playing for a far inferior squad/team?

**** off Lennon.

26-04-2013, 08:41 AM

It's early in the day but this could be post of the day. :hilarious

26-04-2013, 08:46 AM
read ParanoidFC aswell, nice that someone actually comes out and says it,

Really beginning to like this bloke,he is so right with this headline,well done Kenny:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

26-04-2013, 08:46 AM

All he had to say was he is disappointed that none of his players were nominated and just leave it at that

Green Fish
26-04-2013, 08:51 AM
Who cares what Lennon says, absolute bellend of a man.

Lets face it, on footballing terms and secterian issues aside hes got the easiest job in Scottish football. Even colin calderwood would look good there.

26-04-2013, 08:52 AM
What a bitter bitter man. He should be asking his players why they are not in the vote. It's because you under preformed. None of his players are close to top goal scorer. CL means nothing in this vote as its for the league, to which they were always going to win due to there budget. And they all seem to think the cup is a given! Get a grip. He should be happy the spot light is not on his players as he will have a better chance of keeping them now and as a manager be happy to see other players getting credit. One of which he help produse in McGinn

26-04-2013, 08:55 AM
All he had to say was he is disappointed that none of his players were nominated and just leave it at that

You obviously didnt hear the interview. He said a lot more, he went on and on and on about how it was ridiculous, how his players were angry, how it was a slap in the face; embarrassing.

26-04-2013, 08:56 AM
Really beginning to like this bloke,he is so right with this headline,well done Kenny:thumbsup::thumbsup::thumbsup:

Softening up the Sevco fans so he can take over the reigns?

26-04-2013, 08:58 AM
He lists getting to the semis of the league cup as an achievement for him :tee hee:. They've been mediocre domestically, and there definitely hasn't been a stand out performer for them. He can get himself to ****.

26-04-2013, 09:07 AM
I liked his comment about it not being possible to not win the SPL until the end of April. :faf:

26-04-2013, 09:16 AM
Kenny Shiels would be top of my list of the 'biggest slavering idiots in Scottish football EVER' but on this particular occasion he actually made me spit out my cornflakes with laughter. I await the ginger tasmanian devil's response to this one with great excitement.:greengrin

26-04-2013, 09:17 AM
Lennon is a welt, and there is a way to conduct yourself that he just seems incapable of....but, to be honest I'm surprised that no Celtc players are nominated for player of the year. I can understand why they'd be pissed off about it as well.

26-04-2013, 09:24 AM
So Neil Lennon does not think Leigh and the other nominated candidates are good enough to get into his team?- This guy has no class what so ever,just expects one of his players to win the award year after year!
Pat should pin this up in the changing room before the cup final!...what better motivation for sparky to stick it right up them!!!

And so the pre cup final attempts at psychological warfare begins, no doubt the Daily ****** will be along to join him soon.............this is the award that the players vote for I think, says it all really. Hope this one comes back to bite him in the bum.

WestEndHibee
26-04-2013, 09:39 AM
You obviously didnt hear the interview. He said a lot more, he went on and on and on about how it was ridiculous, how his players were angry, how it was a slap in the face; embarrassing.

I think Bunberry mean't that that was all Lennon needed to say in his interview.

26-04-2013, 09:50 AM
Mr Shiels has said a few sensible things lately.

He better watch or he might develop a reputation.

26-04-2013, 09:52 AM

Hahaha

Milandinho
26-04-2013, 09:55 AM
Thats actually quite funny for Mr Shiels. Although I guess if you slaver enough Pish, your bound to get something right at some point. :thumbsup:

26-04-2013, 10:34 AM
He looks to be controversial in everything he says whether he's right or wrong. He is bang on in this case it must be said. Enjoyable reading

26-04-2013, 10:36 AM
Kenny Shiels would be top of my list of the 'biggest slavering idiots in Scottish football EVER' but on this particular occasion he actually made me spit out my cornflakes with laughter. I await the ginger tasmanian devil's response to this one with great excitement.:greengrin

I think Lennon will just let it go.:wink:

26-04-2013, 10:38 AM
Tin hat on here but if Lennon (I've had a go on him about his "abysmal" POY nominations comments on another tread) did actually say that none of the four nominees would get in his team then I agree with him. Like for like, could I personally see any of them getting in his team? The answer is no.

Could I see Higdon playing in the Champions League and doing better than Samaras? No.

Could I see McGinn being as effective a performer as Commons or even Forrest? All play similar positions but no I'd go for Commons or Forrest when fit and on form.

Would I want Shinnie in my midfield ahead of Ledley or Brown. No way.

If I was a manger at this moment in time who would I rather have as my main striker in all competitions out of Griffiths and Hooper. For me, for now, it would be Hooper. LG may yet turn out to be as good as Hooper or even better but right now Hooper is a better and more proven striker.

I don't have any arguments about the nominee and stand by the fact that though there have been several Celtic players who have had great seasons, when you look at where the others play and who they play with, their individual achievments this season have been better and harder to achieve than any of the Celtic players. The award is for player of the year not who is the best player, who you would rarher have in your team or who would create the highest transfer fee. This means that you have to take account of the individual's performance this year and their circumstances and how they have dictated how difficult it is for them to achieve these performance levels.

26-04-2013, 10:43 AM

You obviously didn't read my post properly

26-04-2013, 10:56 AM
You obviously didn't read my post properly

No i didnt, apologies :aok:

26-04-2013, 10:58 AM
Tin hat on here but if Lennon (I've had a go on him about his "abysmal" POY nominations comments on another tread) did actually say that none of the four nominees would get in his team then I agree with him. Like for like, could I personally see any of them getting in his team? The answer is no.

Could I see Higdon playing in the Champions League and doing better than Samaras? No.

Could I see McGinn being as effective a performer as Commons or even Forrest? All play similar positions but no I'd go for Commons or Forrest when fit and on form.

If I was a manger at this moment in time who would I rather have as my main striker in all competitions out of Griffiths and Hooper. For me, for now, it would be Hooper. LG may yet turn out to be as good as Hooper or even better but right now Hooper is a better and more proven striker.

I don't have any arguments about the nominee and stand by the fact that though there have been several Celtic players who have had great seasons, when you look at where the others play and who they play with, their individual achievments this season have been better and harder to achieve than any of the Celtic players. The award is for player of the year not who is the best player, who you would rarher have in your team or who would create the highest transfer fee. This means that you have to take account of the individual's performance this year and their circumstances and how they have dictated how difficult it is for them to achieve these performance levels.

I'd rather Higdon than Samaras. In fact, I'd rather have Christie Brown from off of My Left Foot than Samaras.

I think Leigh would have a great case for getting in the Celtc team - he has scored in the big games when it's mattered this season - including a winner against Celtc, and 2 derby goals (I'm giving him the one from the last game, he did 'score' that so far as legitimately getting the ball over the line, only a dick of a referee and linesman stopped that being an official goal).

26-04-2013, 11:16 AM
So Lennon didn't actually mention Sparky ?
show me the direct quote otherwise we are playing mind games with ourselves.

GlenrothesHibee
26-04-2013, 11:20 AM
Maybe if Lennon had a player like Griffiths they would have won a league they shold have absolutley romped before mid April

26-04-2013, 11:20 AM

I tried playing mind games with myself before and list badly. Turns out you need a mind in the first place to stand a chance!

tanfield
26-04-2013, 11:23 AM
The while thing is a total non issue! Celtic have 7 players who had received nominations which has therefore diluted their impact on the end nominations.

If they had only 2 or 3 players who had received nominations you would probably see at least 2 of them in the final for. The fact that Lennon does not have the intelligence to grasp this concept didn't really surprise me.

But back to the OP. I agree that none of the 4 would walk into Celtics team

TrinityHibs
26-04-2013, 11:25 AM

I would take Higdon over Samaras every day of the week. I would be happy if he signed for Hibs. I would be unhappy if Samaras was seen as the answer to anything. I would also take Daly over Samaras.

McGinn has had an excellent season in a poor Aberdeen team. He has been fit and on form so is easily better than Forrest. Commons is a reasonable player in a good team. Despite that he has not had the same impact as McGinn. 18 goals to 10 in the SPL if nothng else.

I underdstand what you are saying about Shinnie and to be honest I have not seen him enough to make a meaningful comment but the guys he plays against rate him so there must be something. I would take your injured Brown and Ledley in a Hibs top but I would also take Johnny Russell or MacKay Steven who I think have been outstanding this year.

Griffiths has been outstanding this year and given the choice he would be in my team in front of Hooper but I do appreciate its all about opinions.

26-04-2013, 11:33 AM
I'm starting to quite like Mr Shiels. It's a shame he's only saying this because he's probably a hun.

26-04-2013, 11:55 AM

Is that baby or boaby? :greengrin

IndieHibby
26-04-2013, 11:55 AM
That article is well worth the read. Lennon will be spitting fire!

Every word of it is fair comment.

Who was being interviewed again?..... Kenny Shiels you say?

Well I never!

VickMackie
26-04-2013, 11:56 AM

We've got problems when we start borrowing money from ourselves! A little mind games is okay. :greengrin

patlowe
26-04-2013, 12:05 PM

I think if people are upset about his comments then it's more to do with a lack of respect for fellow professionals. To say that the other nominees wouldn't get in his team is probably true but is there a need to say that? It lacks class IMO and I would be disappointed if a Hibs manager behaved like that.

As far as I'm concerned the nominees deserve it as what they've achieved for their team outweighs what any individual Celtic player did this season. Maybe that's not the 'right' way to vote but it will mean a hell of a lot more for a guy like Higdon to win it than it will for a bunch of players that sample glory on a yearly basis.

Time For Heroes
26-04-2013, 12:22 PM
Haha Brilliant!

PeeKay
26-04-2013, 01:33 PM
While what he says might be true, it's a bit rich coming from Kenny Shiels after his claims earlier in the season of SFA/referees' conspiracies against him.

26-04-2013, 02:33 PM
I think if people are upset about his comments then it's more to do with a lack of respect for fellow professionals. To say that the other nominees wouldn't get in his team is probably true but is there a need to say that? It lacks class IMO and I would be disappointed if a Hibs manager behaved like that.

As far as I'm concerned the nominees deserve it as what they've achieved for their team outweighs what any individual Celtic player did this season. Maybe that's not the 'right' way to vote but it will mean a hell of a lot more for a guy like Higdon to win it than it will for a bunch of players that sample glory on a yearly basis.

26-04-2013, 02:51 PM

" Lennon said: “None of them would get in my team" "

The Sun.

26-04-2013, 03:08 PM
I could almost grow to like Shiels if he keeps this up.

Okay, I did say 'almost'.

26-04-2013, 03:24 PM
'When asked if he understood why the Celts gaffer was standing up for his stars, Shiels added: “Certain managers are egotistical"'

Right you are, Kenny. :aok:

26-04-2013, 04:19 PM
League won and cup final coming up, so kicking up a fuss and turning the whole thing into a snub is a way of firing up his own players in the run up to the final, eg "go out and show them how good you are".

FWIW a lot of celtc fans seem to think he is making a fuss about nothing and that none of their team has performed all that well over the entire season.

26-04-2013, 04:42 PM
" Lennon said: “None of them would get in my team" "

The Sun.

The Sun?

Isn't that the paper that never produces one legitimate piece of news?

26-04-2013, 05:08 PM
Haha brilliant cabbage.i deserved that.
Thanks for putting the Link on phil i'm a computer dafty.

26-04-2013, 05:12 PM
The Sun?

Isn't that the paper that never produces one legitimate piece of news?

They'd have some neck to make up something and pass it off as a direct quote from a press conference that every other national paper was at!

Big Sexy Dave
26-04-2013, 05:35 PM
There like 2 wee wains arguing over who's ball it is.

26-04-2013, 05:39 PM
Is that baby or boaby? :greengrin

Both. Although with Operation Yewtree still ongoing I should probably avoid mixing my metaphors like that:paranoid:

26-04-2013, 05:48 PM
If it is true that Mr Lennon thinks that none of the nominees would get into his team. That is to say the best players ( in the opinion of their peers ) from the rest of the SPL are not good enough to play for celtic, then here is what he is saying:

At celtic I have by far and away the best players in Scotland and I can think of no player from any other SPL club who would make my team.

Or to put it another way ........ The gym teacher from any of the High Schools in Glasgow could have guided celtic to the SPL title given the much higher standard of player they have compared to any other club.

Lets hope folk have that in mind when the time comes to vote for manager of the year.

26-04-2013, 05:57 PM
Well I watched the interview with Lennon and don't recall him saying that none of the 4 nominated players would get into his team. On the contrary, he actually said he wasn't being disrespectful to the players that had been nominated. And whether people like it or not, if it was me Wanyama should definitely have been nominated, and not just for young player. Higdon has scored a lot of goals this season and looks an improved performer because I really wasn't impressed with him at the other Scottish clubs he was at. Griffiths and McGinn have both been outstanding in average teams, although the versatility of Griffiths as far as goal scoring is concerned, makes him a better candidate IMO. Shinnie's a good enough player, but I actually thought if anybody from ICT was going to be nominated it might have been McKay for his goalscoring exploits up till recently. but the players have voted for these players, so Lennons criticism should surely be directed at them. And by the way, I'm listening to John Robertson as I post this and soooo hope that Dundee beat them for the 3rd time tomorrow.

Stringer
26-04-2013, 06:20 PM
After the barca result some premiership clubs probably took notice of him. The ***** he comes out with in interviews has surely counted him out of progressing further.

26-04-2013, 06:29 PM
This either makes Neil Lennon look both a bad loser, and also quite ignorant - he dismissed any attempt for the vote to be explained.

OR it is an attempt to wind up his players for the Scottish Cup Final...

HibernianJK
26-04-2013, 08:05 PM
Neil Lennon is a little ginger rodent and I hope we **** them in the final just to see the look of embarrassment on the smelly little scrotums face. That is all.

26-04-2013, 08:13 PM
What about his quote along the lines of how Celtic have made Scottish football this season.. :rolleyes:

I hope the BBC cameras get a long picture of his greeting face when we pump Paranoid FC at Hampden.
Lets do it for the rest of the SPL

:pfgwa

27-04-2013, 08:24 AM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kz_6jagv_D4