View Full Version : Match Updates Bayern Munich vs Barcelona

23-04-2013, 06:06 PM
Is there any legitimate place to watch this game online?

I have Sky Go but it only seems to go as far back as C4 and as far as I can see, it's unavailable to watch on Iplayer online?

I'll resort to less legitimate means if need-be but thought I'd see if anyone knew if it will be shown somewhere first.

23-04-2013, 06:11 PM

I have Sky Go but it only seems to go as far back as C4 and as far as I can see, it's unavailable to watch on Iplayer online?

I'll resort to less legitimate means if need-be but thought I'd see if anyone knew if it will be shown somewhere first.

Its on council telly. STV or ITV

EDIT - Just read your online part. You can watch all ITV matches on the ITV website , just enter an English postcode and your in.

23-04-2013, 06:17 PM

EDIT - Just read your online part. You can watch all ITV matches on the ITV website , just enter an English postcode and your in.

Link :

http://www.itv.com/sport/football/champions-league/match/bayern-munich-barcelona-3619462/ :aok:

23-04-2013, 06:19 PM
Come on Bayern :agree:

23-04-2013, 06:21 PM

TV-Catchup. Free and very good!

23-04-2013, 06:23 PM
Come on Bayern :agree:

I'll 2nd that.

23-04-2013, 06:28 PM

Link :

http://www.itv.com/sport/football/champions-league/match/bayern-munich-barcelona-3619462/ :aok:

Thanks very much - just moved house and haven't brought everything with me yet, hence no TV!

23-04-2013, 06:28 PM
Here's looking to a good game and hopefully a crushing Bayern defeat (unlikely, I fear) - just to please Ulli... :greengrin

23-04-2013, 06:30 PM
An astonishing collection of players on show tonight.

Added to the defence-splitting passes I was spraying around at fives tonight, I think football is the real winner. :agree:

23-04-2013, 06:34 PM
An astonishing collection of players on show tonight.

Added to the defence-splitting passes I was spraying around at fives tonight, I think football is the real winner. :agree:

That is a tenuous hypothesis and conclusion at best :greengrin

In saying that, I'm expecting an absolute exhibition on the pitch tonight.

In an added bonus, I get to avoid Adrian Chiles (is it him again on ITV?? Or has Roy Keane abducted him to his dungeon of people who have mildly irked him) et al by having the commentary in French.

23-04-2013, 06:35 PM
That is a tenuous hypothesis and conclusion at best :greengrin

In saying that, I'm expecting an absolute exhibition on the pitch tonight.

In an added bonus, I get to avoid Adrian Chiles (is it him again on ITV?? Or has Roy Keane abducted him to his dungeon of people who have mildly irked him) et al by having the commentary in French.

It is indeed Chiles, and he's already used the phrase 'aura of uninvincibility'. Could be a long night.

23-04-2013, 06:37 PM
It is indeed Chiles, and he's already used the phrase 'aura of uninvincibility'. Could be a long night.

:faf::faf:

23-04-2013, 06:42 PM
I liked Adrian Chiles before he became a football presenter. Now I despise him. I despise his voice, his scrunched up wee rodent obese-borne face and his p1ss poor patter. Hope Keane hits him.

23-04-2013, 06:52 PM
Looks like bayern have heavily watered the pitch to prevent the barca passing game.

Look really heavy in and around centre of pitch

23-04-2013, 06:57 PM
It's a joy to watch already. Personally I prefer the way Bayern play than Barca, but they both look very good tonight.

23-04-2013, 06:59 PM
Is it just me or is the camera very low

23-04-2013, 07:00 PM
Is it just me or is the camera very low

Try sitting on the back of your sofa.

23-04-2013, 07:01 PM
Try sitting on the back of your sofa.

I am, just feels when the ball moves to the other side of the park, you can't see the full move. Probably cause I'm used to watching live football

23-04-2013, 07:07 PM
1-0 Bayern :thumbsup:

23-04-2013, 07:07 PM
Muller! 1-0 Bayern

23-04-2013, 07:08 PM
1-0 to Bayern. Yaldy. Barca having a 2nd goalie in the form of Pique is a bit off IMO.

23-04-2013, 07:12 PM

I caught that as well, makes no sense!!

Cracking game here.

23-04-2013, 07:12 PM
Busquets is a good footballer, but he isn't half a moaning-faced s****bag.

IndieHibby
23-04-2013, 07:13 PM
If Carlsberg made full backs, they'd all be Dani Alves

23-04-2013, 07:14 PM

Nope, they'd all be Philipp Lahm.

23-04-2013, 07:16 PM

i prefer Lahm, he's the best right and left back in the world

My favourite is Sweinsteiger though, he's the most German person ever outwith the third Reich, he just looks German and he's a fantastic player

23-04-2013, 07:16 PM
Javi Martinez is a monster for Bayern, playing the Deegan role well. Dante from Sly and the Family Stone also dominant.

23-04-2013, 07:17 PM

Surely they would be jimmy boco?

23-04-2013, 07:18 PM

You're not being entirely honest with us.

Lahm is the best. Only player to make him look stupid was Jonaton Johnansen.

:agree: Alves is fantastic, but he's defensively suspect. Lahm is a complete full back, and the best in the world without question.

Lahm is Murphy; Alves is Gathuessi.

23-04-2013, 07:19 PM
The balls out from Bayern defence are immense at times. Very McPake!

23-04-2013, 07:19 PM
Bayern have been class so far.

Would love to see an all-German final. Thoroughly enjoyed watching the Bundesliga in recent years and both Borussia and Bayern have been excellent this season.

23-04-2013, 07:20 PM
Bunch o' German cloggers. Ha-way Barca.

IndieHibby
23-04-2013, 07:20 PM
Lahm is decent ( ok, world class ), but Alves has been more impressive so far. Just sayin likes ...

23-04-2013, 07:21 PM
Lahm is decent ( ok, world class ), but Alves has been more impressive so far. Just sayin likes ...

That's because Phil hasn't had to do anything yet, he's strolling it

23-04-2013, 07:22 PM
That's because Phil hasn't had to do anything yet, he's strolling it

Five foot nothing of liquid cool.

23-04-2013, 07:25 PM

My favourite is Sweinsteiger though, he's the most German person ever outwith the third Reich, he just looks German and he's a fantastic player

I think Muller looks even more German than Schweinsteiger. He could run his own Hoff fan club.

23-04-2013, 07:25 PM
How do I see flags for new posts without having to constantly refresh? Or am I just inventing that concept?

23-04-2013, 07:26 PM
I don't understand the hype (or pricetag) attached to Alexis Sanchez.

A poor man's Amadou :agree:

23-04-2013, 07:27 PM
I liked Adrian Chiles before he became a football presenter. Now I despise him. I despise his voice, his scrunched up wee rodent obese-borne face and his p1ss poor patter. Hope Keane hits him.

Chiles will never beat his question to the gang of three prior to the PSG-Barca 1st leg:

"Do you think Xavi, Busquets and Iniesta will be star struck playing against David Beckham ?"

I shi* you not.

23-04-2013, 07:27 PM
I think Muller looks even more German than Schweinsteiger. He could run his own Hoff fan club.

Ooh, she was nice.

Anyway, yep Muller has the right cross between big/fit/physical and brute-not-quite-ugly. Uber German

23-04-2013, 07:28 PM
And Ribery exemplifies cheese eating surrender monkey too.

23-04-2013, 07:29 PM
Chiles will never beat his question to the gang of three prior to the PSG-Barca 1st leg:

"Do you think Xavi, Busquets and Iniesta will be star struck playing against David Beckham ?"

I shi* you not.

I remember that... I assumed it was tongue-in-cheek. Perhaps I'm giving him too much credit.

23-04-2013, 07:33 PM
You're not being entirely honest with us.

Ok, full disclosure: if I were ever to be physically intimate with a man, then Lahm would be my second choice, after Dennis Bergkamp.

23-04-2013, 07:34 PM

Nothing sounds more German than shouting SCHWEINSTEIGER in the accent.

23-04-2013, 07:34 PM
What's that Secret Escapes bird doing being interviewed at half time?

23-04-2013, 07:36 PM
What's that Secret Escapes bird doing being interviewed at half time?

That's Gareth Southgate!

23-04-2013, 07:36 PM
Nothing sounds more German than shouting SCHWEINSTEIGER in the accent.

Oh I don't know about that. I can think of some others....

23-04-2013, 07:37 PM
That's Gareth Southgate!

She's got an Irish accent. Wait, its Roy Keane

23-04-2013, 07:38 PM
Ok, full disclosure: if I were ever to be physically intimate with a man, then Lahm would be my second choice, after Dennis Bergkamp.

Bergkamp's face reminds me of a seagull. Always has.

23-04-2013, 07:40 PM
What are these Gazprom adverts like?

It's as though Blofeldt or Scaramanga decided to take out an ad campaign for their secret world domination organisation.

23-04-2013, 07:43 PM
What are these Gazprom adverts like?

It's as though Blofeldt or Scaramanga decided to take out an ad campaign for their secret world domination organisation.

In this age they would definitely have a PR firm.

23-04-2013, 07:45 PM
Scaramangas third nipple would be all over the tabloids.

23-04-2013, 07:47 PM
In this age they would definitely have a PR firm.

:agree: Run by Pussy Galore

2-0 :not worth

IndieHibby
Wow. Bayern are class. 2-0

boom, i want an all German final

23-04-2013, 07:48 PM
boom, i want an all German final

Pretty confident you won't get one

23-04-2013, 07:49 PM
Looked like Alves was playing him on, close though.

IndieHibby
23-04-2013, 07:51 PM
Offside. But Alves was close to playing him on - harsh considering he was challenging for the ball.

23-04-2013, 07:51 PM
Looked like Alves was playing him on, close though.

Actually, from the replay it looks like Supermario was just off.

FFS Thomson! :grr:

23-04-2013, 07:52 PM
I take it Craig Thomsons doing the other semi ?

IndieHibby
23-04-2013, 07:55 PM
Ok, point taken - Alves is a poor man's Hart.

23-04-2013, 07:56 PM

I shi* you not.

The.......what......I don't even......unbelievable.

Wow. Just, absolute wow.

23-04-2013, 08:00 PM
Sanchez has been awful.

23-04-2013, 08:01 PM
Gomez, Martinez and Muller are incredible tonight. They're all about 15 stone and 6 foot2 but they've been running about like sprinters for over an hour. Imagine how fit theyd be with a facility like East Mains:cb OstMainz?

23-04-2013, 08:02 PM
I'm not watching the game but Bayern sound like they are doing class. And to make things better for them they have agreed to sign Mario Gotze who is a fantastic player!

23-04-2013, 08:03 PM
Gomez, Martinez and Muller are incredible tonight. They're all about 15 stone and 6 foot2 but they've been running about like sprinters for over an hour. Imagine how fit theyd be with a facility like East Mains:cb OstMainz?

Martinez said that what most attracted him to Bayern was the chance to get back to his roots, and train tripping over dug s**** in Munich's public parks.

23-04-2013, 08:06 PM
http://gomezbutton.de/?fb_action_ids=4838664804714&fb_action_types=og.likes&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map=%7B%224838664804714%22%3A1015087 5915208341%7D&action_type_map=%7B%224838664804714%22%3A%22og.lik es%22%7D&action_ref_map=%5B%5D :greengrin

23-04-2013, 08:07 PM
I'm not watching the game but Bayern sound like they are doing class. And to make things better for them they have agreed to sign Mario Gotze who is a fantastic player!

They walk the Bundesliga and then sign Dortmund's star player. No wonder the rest of Germany hates them:greengrin

23-04-2013, 08:10 PM
They walk the Bundesliga and then sign Dortmund's star player. No wonder the rest of Germany hates them:greengrin

Me too.

23-04-2013, 08:10 PM
Bayern in the final :thumbsup:

23-04-2013, 08:11 PM
Oustanding breakaway goal. 3-0

23-04-2013, 08:11 PM
http://i.minus.com/ibajNHwGioqP2w.gif

23-04-2013, 08:12 PM
That block from Muller was hilarious :greengrin

23-04-2013, 08:12 PM
Great 3rd goal on the counter :)

23-04-2013, 08:13 PM
id fancy Bayern to win the cup if they weren't playing Hearts in the final :(

23-04-2013, 08:14 PM
3-0. Dani Alvez gave the ball away which led to the goal. Illustrates why he's no match for the Lahm:greengrin

IndieHibby
23-04-2013, 08:17 PM
3-0. Dani Alvez gave the ball away which led to the goal. Illustrates why he's no match for the Lahm:greengrin

Ok, ok, you win! :greengrin:

23-04-2013, 08:19 PM
Ok, ok, you win! :greengrin:

Not to mention crap tattoos...

23-04-2013, 08:20 PM
3-0. Dani Alvez gave the ball away which led to the goal. Illustrates why he's no match for the Lahm:greengrinIt isn't even close when it comes down to it, Lahm is much better.

4 - 0

4-0

Lahm wouldn't have went off injured like Alves did so its his fault again!!

4-0 Outstanding football from Bayern.

While we're talking full-backs, that David Alaba is a wee bit tasty too.

23-04-2013, 08:21 PM
4-0.

Sid Lowe, who knows his Spanish football, has been predicting Barca would implode for a while. He'll be smug as **** on Football Weekly tomorrow:greengrin

23-04-2013, 08:21 PM
http://i.minus.com/ic9PgoqIenzqj.gif

23-04-2013, 08:22 PM
Waterloo awaits in Barcelona, I hope.

23-04-2013, 08:22 PM
Not to mention crap tattoos...

He also parks in disabled spaces.

23-04-2013, 08:23 PM
I've lauded Barcelona copiously in the past but they're a shadow of their potential tonight, as they have been for a while now.

Bayern have been absolutely outstanding tonight (though have been helped to a degree) and deserve their comfortable lead.

Now for Dortmund to cause an upset tomorrow! Gehe Borussia!

23-04-2013, 08:25 PM
When was the last time Barca were down by 4 goals?!

23-04-2013, 08:26 PM
with Lahms ice cool demeanor and the power of Dante's afro it was never in doubt

23-04-2013, 08:27 PM
Does Ribery ever smile? He goes off 4-0 up against Barca to an ovation and he looks like his cats been run over.

23-04-2013, 08:28 PM
I'm amazed that Bayern player was able to get up again. That ball to the face nearly killed him.

23-04-2013, 08:29 PM
with Lahms ice cool demeanor and the power of Dante's afro it was never in doubt

Dante is a cool Cat:cool2:

23-04-2013, 08:29 PM
Does Ribery ever smile? He goes off 4-0 up against Barca to an ovation and he looks like his cats been run over.

He's French and that

23-04-2013, 08:33 PM
Was Messi playing?

23-04-2013, 08:33 PM
Martinez said that what most attracted him to Bayern was the chance to get back to his roots, and train tripping over dug s**** in Munich's public parks.

:hilarious just seen that

23-04-2013, 08:35 PM
Was Messi playing?

Yes, but you would have struggled to have realised.

lugz
23-04-2013, 08:37 PM
Yes, but you would have struggled to have realised.

Even a fully fit Messi couldn't have changed that. Barcas defence is horrible!

23-04-2013, 08:38 PM
If PF goes in for Messi after that performance, I am officially finished with all things Hibs.
0-3 and were in the final, 0-3 and were in the final...

23-04-2013, 08:58 PM
While we're talking full-backs, that David Alaba is a wee bit tasty too.

FFS what an irresponsible thing to write on the main board! Don't you think Suarez has access to a PC?

24-04-2013, 12:55 AM
Bayern were lethal and thoroughly deserved to win, but I don't think that either the 2nd or 3rd goals should have stood. Just my opinion.

ChooseLife
24-04-2013, 02:12 AM
Barca to win CL 33/1, well worth £5.

24-04-2013, 02:23 AM
The Bayern squad is so strong. They will dominate Europe for the next decade IMO. They have 8 Germans in their squad who start for Germany on a regular basis in Neuer, Lahm, Badstuper, Boetang, Muller, Schweinstiger, Gomez, Kroos and it looks like they are about to sign Gotze from Dortmund. Thats the core of the team and they also have class like Robben, Ribery, Martinez, Dante and Mandzukic. Its scary how good this team can become.

24-04-2013, 04:11 AM
The Bayern squad is so strong. They will dominate Europe for the next decade IMO. They have 8 Germans in their squad who start for Germany on a regular basis in Neuer, Lahm, Badstuper, Boetang, Muller, Schweinstiger, Gomez, Kroos and it looks like they are about to sign Gotze from Dortmund. Thats the core of the team and they also have class like Robben, Ribery, Martinez, Dante and Mandzukic. Its scary how good this team can become.Agreed, they have a top keeper for at least 10 years in Neuer, very good defense, top class young midfielders in Martinez, Kroos and from next year Gotze then the experienced ''killers'' going forward in Robben, Ribery, Gomez and Mandzukic. Schwienstiger is also such a brilliant player, people always go on about Xavi and Iniesta but he is certainly up with them and has been for a while, a joy to watch. Whoever they get in the final (assuming Barcelona don't pull a Hibs in the second leg) should be worried. Imagine what they will do with Pep in charge.

Special mention for Claudio Pizzaro as well, speaks volumes for him as a professional that he is still playing at that level at 34 and getting into double figures, probably the best 3rd choice striker in the world.

24-04-2013, 04:24 AM
Bayern are probably the best in Europe at the moment and they throughly deserved their win - much as it pains me to admit it - they are not yet in the final though, an early goal for Barcelona in the second leg and anything could happen ... looking forward to the second game. Hope Dortmund win this evening... I think the talk of Bayern dominating for the next decade is somewhat premature myself -

24-04-2013, 04:36 AM
Bayern are probably the best in Europe at the moment and they throughly deserved their win - much as it pains me to admit it - they are not yet in the final though, an early goal for Barcelona in the second leg and anything could happen ... looking forward to the second game. Hope Dortmund win this evening... I think the talk of Bayern dominating for the next decade is somewhat premature myself -
Suppose time will tell. None of the English teams are near that level just now. Barca have been slowly getting sussed out over the last few years in Europe. Madrid look to be going through a new transitional period as it looks like Jose will be away in the summer. Dortmund are well of Bayern in the league and are about to lose one of their best players to them. They have won 6-1, 4-0, 6-1 and 9-2 in the last 6 weeks. They are crushing anyone that stands in their way and they have the strongest squad in the world and thats just the football side of things. The German football model is 10 year ahead of the rest with little debt. All the other top clubs like Barca, United, City, Chelsea, Madrid all have about 200 million pounds worth of debt. United, Madrid and Barca having the most and the way the worlds economy is working the debt will have to get recalled at some point.

24-04-2013, 05:10 AM
Suppose time will tell. None of the English teams are near that level just now. Barca have been slowly getting sussed out over the last few years in Europe. Madrid look to be going through a new transitional period as it looks like Jose will be away in the summer. Dortmund are well of Bayern in the league and are about to lose one of their best players to them. They have won 6-1, 4-0, 6-1 and 9-2 in the last 6 weeks. They are crushing anyone that stands in their way and they have the strongest squad in the world and thats just the football side of things. The German football model is 10 year ahead of the rest with little debt. All the other top clubs like Barca, United, City, Chelsea, Madrid all have about 200 million pounds worth of debt. United, Madrid and Barca having the most and the way the worlds economy is working the debt will have to get recalled at some point.

Fair points - the problem with Bayern here in Germany (IMO) is usually not so much what happens on the park, but what happens off it: one or two bad seasons for Bayern and "pressure" will ensure that will sack the manager and move players on - it's all happened before. Pepe G. will be an interesting manager in Munich: looking forward to seeing how he copes with the influence exerted by Hoeness, Rummenigge et al ... As to the Bundesliga, it has actually been a farce this year (this is not usually the case) - Bayern have dominated it to an embarrassing degree - they are always "in with a shout" in any of the seasons, but to be so far ahead of all the others is not good for the future of German/Bundesliga football. While in many ways I sort of despise the club, I have to grudgingly admire everything that Hoeness (old tax doger that he is!) and cohorts have achieved with this club and the standing on the global stage that they have desevedly achieved... if only we had that at ER...:greengrin

24-04-2013, 08:21 AM
Bayern, Real Madrid, Chelsea and Benfica all to win was at 35/1 on paddy power, well worth £5! This would be the hardest result to predict as well.

24-04-2013, 09:58 AM
Agreed, they have a top keeper for at least 10 years in Neuer, very good defense, top class young midfielders in Martinez, Kroos and from next year Gotze then the experienced ''killers'' going forward in Robben, Ribery, Gomez and Mandzukic. Schwienstiger is also such a brilliant player, people always go on about Xavi and Iniesta but he is certainly up with them and has been for a while, a joy to watch. Whoever they get in the final (assuming Barcelona don't pull a Hibs in the second leg) should be worried. Imagine what they will do with Pep in charge.

Special mention for Claudio Pizzaro as well, speaks volumes for him as a professional that he is still playing at that level at 34 and getting into double figures, probably the best 3rd choice striker in the world.

Put Germany up against Italy and you have a different story. They always seem to come undone against the Ayeties.
But na the bayern team are vey strong.
The German sides are teams, the Spanish sides are players.
Hopefully dortmund can shadow their rivals tonight and do Madrid

24-04-2013, 11:41 AM
Fair points - the problem with Bayern here in Germany (IMO) is usually not so much what happens on the park, but what happens off it: one or two bad seasons for Bayern and "pressure" will ensure that will sack the manager and move players on - it's all happened before. Pepe G. will be an interesting manager in Munich: looking forward to seeing how he copes with the influence exerted by Hoeness, Rummenigge et al ... As to the Bundesliga, it has actually been a farce this year (this is not usually the case) - Bayern have dominated it to an embarrassing degree - they are always "in with a shout" in any of the seasons, but to be so far ahead of all the others is not good for the future of German/Bundesliga football. While in many ways I sort of despise the club, I have to grudgingly admire everything that Hoeness (old tax doger that he is!) and cohorts have achieved with this club and the standing on the global stage that they have desevedly achieved... if only we had that at ER...:greengrin

not nit picking just like to mention that almost every league in Europe at this moment has one team dominating, except for the top two in Holland and Belgium. German fitba as has just been mentioned is light years ahead of many countries, I knew bayern were going to walk it last night, just like most of Germany, Bayern are awesome, German fitba at the moment is awesome and great to watch, there is a gap between 1st and 2nd but the quality from 2nd place down can match anything Europe can throw at them and its far better than the EPL. I hope Dortmund win tonight.

24-04-2013, 11:53 AM
Celtic, Barca, United, Juve and Bayern have all hammered their respective leagues tbf.

24-04-2013, 01:19 PM
Bayern deserved to win however goals 2 and 3 were ridiculously given and killed the tie. 2-0 would have been interesting but 4-0 no chance. Thought the ref let Martinez and particularly Schweinsteiger away with numerous fouls which stopped Barca's flow however Barca were as bad as I have seen them in a while. Villa must have been going mad on the bench seeing Sanchez and Pedro playing until 80 mins or so. Their defence is awful Bartra would struggle to get a game for Hibs and amazed Song didnt play centre half instead of him,

24-04-2013, 01:23 PM
not nit picking just like to mention that almost every league in Europe at this moment has one team dominating, except for the top two in Holland and Belgium. German fitba as has just been mentioned is light years ahead of many countries, I knew bayern were going to walk it last night, just like most of Germany, Bayern are awesome, German fitba at the moment is awesome and great to watch, there is a gap between 1st and 2nd but the quality from 2nd place down can match anything Europe can throw at them and its far better than the EPL. I hope Dortmund win tonight.

Fair points, you're quite right: it is just that something seems to have changed in the Bundesliga this year - Bayern have almost always been in with more than a shout of the league title, but this year they have not only outplayed they have outclassed most, if not all of the other teams, with 1 exception perhaps - the Bundesliga has been boring as hell (and I'm not just saying that because I am not an FCB fan - honest :rolleyes:) - I hope it's a Dortmund v Bayern final, and may the best team win as long as it's not FCB ...:greengrin

24-04-2013, 01:35 PM
Put Germany up against Italy and you have a different story. They always seem to come undone against the Ayeties.
But na the bayern team are vey strong.
The German sides are teams, the Spanish sides are players.
Hopefully dortmund can shadow their rivals tonight and do Madrid

:confused: Is that not racist?

Teo10
24-04-2013, 01:59 PM
Barca have had this coming for a while, they are so weak at defending corners and set pieces, something which needs to be addressed in the summer! they are too heavily reliant on Messi and with supposedly Neymar on his way can sprice up the attack. Alexis has been well off the boil this year also.

Bayern did totally dominate them last night, a very well played game tactically too, managed to mark Messi (albeit half fit) out the game and capitalise on the defensive weakness from set pieces and corners.

Lionel is still the man though:agree:

24-04-2013, 05:05 PM
Sid Lowe on the Gotze signing...

http://m.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/apr/23/borussia-dortmund-mario-gotze-transfer

24-04-2013, 05:19 PM
Sid Lowe on the Gotze signing...

http://m.guardian.co.uk/football/2013/apr/23/borussia-dortmund-mario-gotze-transfer

Nothing new: Bayern have a history of disrupting their closest rival by buying their best players (sound familiar?) and doing their best to mentally unsettle their opponents. - This Götze move seems to have been a genuine surprise, and the time of its leaking to the press certainly knocked the story on Hoeness' tax shame off the front page (for a small while at least) - Typical Bayern gamesmanship, here's to a Dortmund win this evening so they can get to that final and spoil it for "them"...

24-04-2013, 05:21 PM
Nothing new: Bayern have a history of disrupting their closest rival by buying their best players (sound familiar?) and doing their best to mentally unsettle their opponents. - This Götze move seems to have been a genuine surprise, and the time of its leaking to the press certainly knocked the story on Hoeness' tax shame off the front page (for a small while at least) - Typical Bayern gamesmanship, here's to a Dortmund win this evening so they can get to that final and spoil it for "them"...

Hear hear :agree: i tipped Bayern at the start but id love it if Dortmund won the whole thing, especially after this.

24-04-2013, 06:03 PM

Isn't it the case that Götze's agent leaked it, and then once it was out, Bayern were asked directly about it and confirmed it?

Or is the idea that the agent is in cahoots with Bayern to unsettle Dortmund?

24-04-2013, 06:52 PM
All Im saying is that I hope this result goes some way to ending the love in that 90% of this board have for Barca. That and the Bayern fans singing to the Barca fans in Spanish :)

24-04-2013, 08:14 PM
Pretty confident you won't get one

still confident?

24-04-2013, 08:18 PM
still confident?

I've been saying all weekend It would be an all German final, I really should learn to go to the bookies more often:rolleyes:

24-04-2013, 08:19 PM

I've been saying all weekend It would be an all German final, I really should learn to go to the bookies more often:rolleyes:

I backed a draw in both games. :rolleyes:

24-04-2013, 08:21 PM

if i put a bet on i would have jinxed it so im glad i left it

24-04-2013, 08:24 PM
There is more twitter stories claiming Bayern are going to sign Lewandowski. That would be insane.

24-04-2013, 09:37 PM
Lewandowski/Manduzic/Gomez

Ribery/Robben-------Götze/Kroos-------Muller/Shaqiri

Gustavo/Schweinsteger-------Martinez

Alaba------Dante/Boateng-------Badstuber/Van Buyten-------Lahm

Neuer

I think we are beginning to see a team that will upsurge Barcelona's dominance in European football.